wow! got the picture aunty. now it is very clear. kids wanted me to do crab, planning to do next week. crab looks big in the picture.
Printable View
wow! got the picture aunty. now it is very clear. kids wanted me to do crab, planning to do next week. crab looks big in the picture.
பாசிப்பயிறு முட்டை கறி
This green gram egg curry is a tasty and simple one which goes well with chappathis as well as parottas. This is one of the most favourite dishes in my family! Hope every body enjoys cooking this!!
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/_2...2/CIMG3187.JPG
GREENGRAM EGG CURRY:
Ingredients:
Greengram- half cup
Onion-1[ finely chopped]
Tomto [finely chopped] – 2 cups
Green chillies-6
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- half sp
Ghee-1 sp
Oil- 1 tbsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Chooped coriander- half cup
Egg-2
Shredded coconut- 2 tbsp
salt to taste
procedure:
Boil the green gram with turmeric powder and enough water.
When the green gram is almost done add all the vegetables and the greens with enough salt.
Add the chilli powder after a few minutes of boiling.
Add the coconut and mix well.
Heat a small pan and pour both the oil and the ghee.
Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter add the fennel seeds.
Immediately pour this over the curry and mix well.
Pour the eggs one by one in circular motion.
Do not stir the gravy immeditely.
After a few minutes of cooking, the egg scrambles will float on the surface.
Then mix well.
The delicious hot green gram egg curry is ready now!
vanakam nga mrs mano......will try the greengram...without the eggs & let u know....:-)
hope all is well...:-)
Wow!!!... this is a simple and very diff curry...will def try it...:)
aunty,
awesome receipe will try definitely.
Ma'am...Gentle reminder for the soup recipes when time permits.
Would be great if you could post recipes for vegetable soup, milagu thanni soup etc
Also kadalai(black channa) kuzhambu recipe podugala please.
A lot of requests..what can I say..we just cant get enough of your delicious recipes.
Hello nga mrs mano....last nite...inga.....dinner ku onga greengram dal with chapathi....it went very well also with thayir sadam....ty nga for another :thumbsup: recipe.. simple to make.
RICE FLAKES POTATO BONDA
This is a different bonda with a delicious taste. I have recently found an old diary with full of recipes which were written some 25 years ago. I was thrilled to see so many different recipes in it. This is one of them. The combination of rice flakes and potato with a spicy batter gives a very different taste.
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/_2qhfWJltZTY/Tca-JPG.
உருளைக்கிழங்கு அவல் போண்டா
Ingredients:
For the filling:
Potato-250gm
Rice flakes [poha]- 250 gms
Finely chopped onion-1
Finely chopped green chillies-5
Finely chopped coriander-3 tbsp
Salt to taste
Oil- 4 tbsp
For the batter:
Gram flour- 1 cup
Chilli powder- half sp\
Soda bi carbonate- 1/4 sp
Salt to taste
Grind the following ingredients to a paste:
Fried cumin seeds- half sp
Green chilli-1
Chopped coriander- 2 tbsp
Ginger- half sp
Procedure:
Boil the potatoes and mash them finely.
Soak the rice flakes for 5 minutes and drain the water completely.
Heat a pan and pour the oil.
Add the onion with the green chilies
Fry them until the onion turns golden brown.
Add the mashed potato with enough salt and the chopped coriander.
Cook on slow fire for some minutes.
Add the rice flakes, mix well and cook for a few minutes.
Now the filling is ready.
Allow it to cool down.
Make small balls.
Mix all the ingredients for the batter with enough salt.
Prepare the batter as dosa batter adding enough water.
Dip the balls in the batter and deep fry them to golden brown.
Now the tasty rice flakes potato balls are ready to serve!!
hello nga mrs mano................Happy Mom's Day!!!
ahaaaa....25 yrs ago recipes ah..amazinggg....will wait for it one by one slowly...:-)
urulai kizhangu aval bonda kelvi pattathilai........sounds very interesting....will try it baking & will keep u posted..;-)
Yes Dev! This is a very simple but delicious curry. Do dry and give me your feedback!
Dear Sinrultz!
As I am in Tamilnadu now immersing in an important work, I am unable to post the remaining soup recipes which i have earlier promised. But i am often thinking about them. I will be returning back within a few days to my residence at Sharjah. Then I will post the recipes you have requested definitely. I regret for the delay indeed!
Dear Selvi!
Thanks for the nice comment. Hope you will soon try this green gram curry!
Dear Suvai!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on GREEN GRAM CURRY. I felt happy to know that you have enjoyed this curry.
About Rice flakes potato bonda, it will be a nice snack in the evening time with coconut chutney as a side dish. Do dry it and give me your feedback.
aunty,
yesterday i tried green gram curry, as always it was a superhit.
we all liked it. we had it chapathi. also i had tried that rice flakes potato cutlet. it will be very tasty. but bonda version is new. will try definitely and give u the feedback.
Dear Mrs Mano,
Told my cook to make the Chicken Rasam yesterday. It came out very well, and was a welcome change from our usual chicken soup. Very flavourful and tasty. Am considering puréeing the tomatoes next time though, as my daughter doesn't like tomato chunks in her food. Would that make too much of difference to the taste? My husband really liked it and said it was like the soup one gets in Chettinaad hotels. My parents were also home and they also appreciated it a lot. Thanks again :)
Dear Mrs. Mano,
Had the mutton voor kuzhambu with chapattis for dinner tonight. It was very tasty. I think it may have tasted even better with rice. But very good with rotis too. Nice and thick gravy. My hubby and daughter loved it as well! Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Dear Thattai!
Felt happy to see you here after a long time!
And thank you very much for the nice feedback on Mutton oorkuzhambu as well as chicken rasam. As for the chicken rasam, keep the tomatoes in boiled water for 20 minutes, peel off the skins, mash them and use it in the chicken rasam. Definitely it will be delicious! Regarding the oorkuzhambu, even though it is preferred with hot rice for most of the people, I prefer it with chapathis and parottas always! With pulao varieties also, it acts as a super side dish! Convey my heartiest thanks to your daughter, husband and parents!
Dear Selvi!
Thank you very much for the warm appreciation on green gram egg curry as well as rice flakes potato cutlet.
Dear Sinrultz!
I am posting here the recipe for Milagu thanni soup! This is the vegetarian soup. This is also prepared with chicken as well as mutton. In fact, this recipe has been given to me by one of our chefs in our restaurant! I have tasted it and appreciated him very much! Here comes the recipe for you! Hope you will enjoy it!
MILAGU THANNI SOUP: [Mulligatawny Soup]
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/_2...4/SP_A0040.jpg
Ingredients:
Coconut oil- 1 ½ tbsp
Fennel seeds- ½ tsp
Cumin seeds- ½ tsp
Bay leaves-2
Salt to taste
Peppercorns- 1 tsp
Crushed garlic flakes [small]-5
Gram flour- 5 tsp
Chilli powder- ¼ tsp
Coriander powder- ¼ tsp
Cooked green gram- 2 tsp
Cooked raw rice- 2 tbsp
Butter- 2 tsp
Ground coconut paste- 2 tsp
Shredded carrot-1 [small]
Chopped onion-half
Procedure:
Add the fennel seeds, cumin seeds, bay leaves and the peppercorns and fry them on slow fire until an aroma floats on air.
Then add the vegetables with the garlic and fry them until they become soft.
Then add the gram flour and fry it smoothly.
Pour 5 cups of water and allow it to boil.
Add the powders, and salt and let it boil for a few minutes.
Mix it continuously to avoid the lumps.
Finally add in the ground paste and the green gram and boil for a few minutes until the soup is thickened to desired consistency.
Put off the fire and strain the soup.
Heat another saucepan, add the butter and fry the rice softly on slow fire for a few seconds.
Do not allow them to brown.
Pour this in the soup.
The delicious Milagu Thanni soup is ready now!!
Thank You very much for the Recipe Ma'am
Cant wait to try it out...
Dear Sinrultz!
I am again posting here another interesting soup recipe. It is very easy to prepare but the taste will be very delicious.
TOMATO EGG DROP SOUP:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-s...Y/SP_A0050.jpg
Ingredients:
Finely chopped ginger- ½ tsp
Finely chopped garlic- ½ tsp
Tomato sauce- 3 tsp
Chilli paste- 1 tsp
Salt to taste
White Pepper powder- 2 pinches
Sugar-2 pinches
Egg white-1
Corn flour-2 ½ tsp
Water- 3 cups
Butter- 1 tbsp
Ripe tomatoes-2
Procedure:
Put the tomatoes in boiled water for 30 minutes and peel off the skins.
Grind the tomatoes in to a puree.
Heat a pan and add the butter.
Add the ginger and garlic and fry them on slow fire for a few seconds.
Pour the water along with the tomato puree, pepper powder, chilli paste, sugar, tomato sauce and salt.
Let it boil for a few minutes until the raw taste of the tomatoes disappears.
Mix the corn flour with half cup of water.
Pour this in to the soup mixing thoroughly.
Boil the soup to the desired consistency.
Beat the egg well and pour on the soup in a circular motion.
Allow the soup to boil for a few seconds without mixing the soup.
The aromatic Tomato egg drop soup is ready now!
Tried "Milagu thanni"..simple wow..very delicious.
Thanks again Ma'am
Dear Sinrultz!
Here is the recipe for chickpeas curry. I have learned this from a friend. Hope this will satisfy you! This is a fine accompaniment for puttu as well as chappathies.
KADALAI CURRY [ BLACK CHICKPEAS CURRY]:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-g...0/CIMG4734.JPG
கொண்டக்கடலை கறி
Ingredients:
Cooked chickpeas-1 cup
Finely chopped onion- 1 cup
Finely chopped green chillies-1
Finely chopped tomato-1 cup
Ginger paste- 1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Chilli powder- 2 tsp
Coriander powder- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- half sp
Finely chopped coriander- half cup
Salt to taste
Oil- 4 tbsp
Grind the following ingredients to a fine paste:
Shredded coconut- ¼ cup
Curry leaves-15
Cooked chickpeas- 1 ½ tbsp
Green chilli-1
Procedure:
Add the onion with the GG pastes and fry them to golden brown.
Then add the tomatoes with the turmeric powder and the green chilli and cook them until they are mashed and the oil floats on the surface.
Add the cooked chick peas with salt and 2 cups of water.
Let the curry boil for 10 minutes.
Then add the ground paste and mix well.
Boil for just 2 minutes.
Sprinkle the coriander and mix well.
The delicious chickpeas curry is ready to serve!!
awesome kadalai curry aunty. kids like this very much. ur receipe sounds good. kids like this for puttu, chapathi and bread. i will prepare this next week and give the feedback.
aunty can u please post bread aval uppma. i want to try that too.
hello nga mrs mano..........:-)
your kadalai curry looks & sounds exactly like the one I had in india...kandipa try pannaren...........
i am positive its going to be another one of your hits.....;-)
hope all is well.
aunty made kadalai curry, very tasty. very easy to prepare too. we all loved it.
The Kadalai curry was so good with chappathi. Thank you Mrs.Mano
Dear Suvai!
Thanks a lot for the nice appreciation. i am sure you will soon try this Kadalai curry and give your nice feedback as always!
Dear CDJ!
Thank you very much for the warm appreciation and nice feedback on kadalai curry.
Dear Selvi!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on Kadalai curry.
I said that I will post the ‘Bread aval upma the previous day. But I could not post it due to some problems in the computer. Here I am posting it now!
BREAD AVAL UPMA [ BREAD RICEFLAKES UPMA]:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-o...0/CIMG4773.JPG
பிரெட் அவல் உப்புமா
Ingredients:
Bread slices-8
Rice flakes [aval]- 2 cups
Medium ripe tomatoes [ finely chopped ]-2
Onion finely chopped-2
Finely chopped spring onion- half cup
Finely sliced babycorn-3
Chopped coriander- half cup
Ginger garlic paste- half sp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tbsp
Asafoetida powder- half sp
Frozen Mixed vegetables- half cup
Frozen peas- half cup
Salt to taste
Oil-3 tbsp
Turmeric powder- half sp
Butter- 1 tbsp
Procedure:
Cut the bread slices to small pieces.
Wash the aval and drain it without any water.
Heat a pan and pour the oil and the butter.
Add the mustards and when they splutter add the black gram with the asafoetida.
Add the onion pieces and fry them to golden brown.
Add the tomatoes, ginger garlic paste, turmeric powder and the coriander leaves.
Cook them until the tomatoes are cooked like a paste and the oil floats on top.
Add the vegetables with a little salt and fry them until they are well cooked.
Add the aval with enough salt and cook for 5 minutes mixing well in intervals.
Finally add the bread pieces and mix well.
Cook for 3 minutes on slow fire.
The delicious bread aval upma is ready to serve now!!
thanks a lot aunty for sharing this delicious receipe, tomorrow i am planning to try this. i will give u the feedback.
This is a very diff combination!!! will try it...:)
aunty,
made bread aval uppma for breakfast today. it came out very well. as u said it was very delicious, different combination. kids took that uppma for their box today.
thanks a lot aunty. For dinner i made kadalai curry for puttu. it was also super duber hit in my house. thanks aunty.
உங்களுடைய பிரட் உப்புமா செய்தேன் திருமதி.மனோ. நல்ல சுவையுடன் அமைந்தது. இம்முறை whole wheat bread + சிவப்பு அவல் கொண்டு செய்ததில் சுவை சிறிது மாறுபட்டு இருக்கும் என்பது என் கருத்து. மற்றொரு முறை வெள்ளை அவல் + white bread கொண்டு செய்து பார்கிறேன். மற்றொரு சுவையான குறிப்பிற்கு நன்றி.
Dear Selvi!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on bread aval uppuma and the kadalai curry! Convey my thanks to your boys!
அன்புள்ள Cdj!
ரொம்பவும் தாமதமாக பதில் எழுதுவதற்காக வருந்துகிறேன். இந்தியப் பயணம் இருந்ததால் பதில் உடனேயே எழுத* முடியவில்லை.
பிரெட் அவல் உப்புமா whole wheat bread, சிகப்பு அவல் -இரண்டையும் உபயோகித்து செய்த*து மிகுந்த சுவையாக வந்ததறிந்து மகிழ்ச்சியடைந்தேன். பின்னூட்டத்திற்கு அன்பு நன்றி! வெள்ளை பிரெட், வெள்ளை அவல் உபயோகித்துச் செய்யும்போது இன்னும் அதிக சுவையுடன் இருக்கும்.
This is a new type of karuvadaka thuvaiyal. This suits well with idli, dosai and thayir sadham.
KARUVADAKA THUVAIYAL
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-C...0/CIMG4671.JPG
கருவடகத் துவையல்
Ingredients:
Gingelly oil- 3 tbsp
Green chillies-5
Tamarind- a gooseberry size
Karuvadakam- 2 tbsp
Shredded coconut- 11/2 cup
Black gram- 2 tsp
Asafoetida- a pea size
Salt to taste
Procedure:
In a tsp of oil, fry the karuvadakam to golden brown and take it away.
In the same pan, pour the remaining oil and fry the asafoetida and the black gram first.
Then add the green chillies and fry for a few seconds.
Add the coconut and fry it for a few seconds.
When cooled, grind all the ingredients with the tamarind and enough salt to a coarse mixture.
Hello nga mrs mano.....:-)
Hope you had a good trip to India & is now back home.
What is karuvadakam nga? if its vegetarian, kindly post the recipe too if u have, would surely like to try out this new type of chutney .:-)
I had passed on your potato aval bonda recipe to a friend of mine & she said that it came out very well........:thumbsup:....thanks to u nga!..
Dear Suvai!
Thanks for the enquiry. Yes, I came back here last week. Frequent travels really affect every thing, health and relaxation, especially posting recipes in the forum hub as well as in my blogs.
Karuvadagam is common in all parts of Tamilnadu. This is a combination of small onions, garlic fakes, fenugreek seeds, etc and making this is a long process. Usually this is being prepared in hot summer days. This karavadagam is used for making delicious chutney varieties and also used in meen kuzhambu. Old people will peel off kilos of sambar onions and garlic flakes before the preparation of this karuvadagam. This can be stored for years. I am keeping them in a glass jar. This is the third year and still I have some. Hopefully I will prepare this next year when I go to Thanjavur.
I have already posted this recipe a long time ago in this forum hub. Here I am posting this recipe for you again.
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-2...6/CIMG4823.JPG
KARUVADAGAM: [கருவடகம்]
Ingredients:
Small onions-3 kg,
6 whole garlic pods,
Mustard seeds-200gms,
Fenugreek seeds-100gms,
Split black gram-250gms,
Cumin seeds-250grams,
Salt especially crystal salt-2 handfuls,
Castor oil-200ml.
Procedure:
Peel off the outer skins and chop onions and garlic finely.
Add all the other things with it.
These combined ingredients are always smashed in an ‘ural’ lightly.
Instead you can crush them in a mixi lightly so that they can be shaped into lemon sized balls.
Take care not to crush them in full force then the juice will ooze out.
Make the balls and place them all in a flat plate especially bamboo plate.
Dry them in hot sun.
In the evening, break all of them, add half of the castor oil, mix well and make balls again.
In the morning, place them on the plate and again let them dry on the heat of the sun.
Again in the evening do the same process using the other half portion of the castor oil.
These balls must be dried in the hot sun for 4 or 5 days until they are well dried.
Then you can store in ajar.
You can keep them for a whole year-even for more days.