i just finished watching 'yaarmirukka bayamey'. it was scary and at the same time it was funny too.unbelievable story though.usual haunted house and ghost,
but enjoyable,scary music made me jump with terror every time i heard it.
i just finished watching 'yaarmirukka bayamey'. it was scary and at the same time it was funny too.unbelievable story though.usual haunted house and ghost,
but enjoyable,scary music made me jump with terror every time i heard it.
Naan Sigappu Manidhan (2014)
Fairly interesting revenge story. For Adults only! Rape+Violence+Revenge are what brings it closer to Rajini,SAC's NSM (1985). Otherwise it looks more like Pandiyanadu-2. Only thing that differentiates this movie from regular revenge drama is narcolepsy. Yet another disorder for producers to make money. But both the director & Vishal have made sure audience doesnt get bored watching the lead man fall each time.
Vishal is getting better in each film. Remarkable improvement in emotions and dialogue delivery. Its nice to see him play the angry young naive man again, after Samar and Pandiyanadu. Jayaprakash's wish and the way his daughter fulfill's it are weird. Even the twists in the 2nd half are somewhat believable, when compared to this. Villains who are menacing in the beginning get weaker as the film progresses. Addition of the main weak villian, in the second doesnt help. Climax is somewhat similar to Sundarapandian.
Liked the movie too. But was a bit let down the way the film wanders here, there & everywhere and again trying to get back on track. Felt that it lost its charm by doing so. The film had an interesting opening, a kind of Enid Blyton-ish mystery, only here the crime is a bit nasty. The 3 lead kid artisit did a great job, well all the kids who participated in the movie did a great job. The music is the main element that grips you with the visuals. I noted 2 extrodinary pieces - one while they help the Iron-Man to drop the clothes, second while a character is tied up and tortured (non-violently though). There were so many wonderful BGM throughout the movie. The music is by Aruldev (www.aruldev.com). Hope he gets recognised.
Where the film stammers is with the triangular love and 2 episodes on friendship breaks. They were quite stretched and long. All the mystry parts were engaging. They could have avoided the gore towards the end. Until then the film was neat, and thanks to Goli Soda, the film makers are motivated to include such scenes in films invloving kids. The Sathukku Bootham & Communinal Riot were funny. Also I liked the whole idea behind the Radio and the day to day limitless items that can be transformed to better use by simply applying a bit of science to them. Casting was great, eventhough Kali was not seen much. Basically I would have loved to see the kids VS Bad Guys, what they do parallely - kids trying to unearth the mystry while the bad guys trying to keep the mystry buried. It would have been more fun.
Poovarasan PeePee : Pasionate PeePee
Manjapai - Turned out exactly like what I had expected it to be. Somehow liked it despite melodramas, cliches and the 90s feel. Rajkiran's performance was superlative.
Un Samayal Arayil - Looks classy and all but was uninteresting for the most part. Worked in parts part for me.
watched 'Tamil padam' on another day.. got to knw tat actor satheesh was introduced in tis film :) ..
Manja Pai - a movie made to tug at your heart-strings with all the usual cliches. Full exploitatation of Raj Kiran, who acts flawlessly, and is the only worthwhile factor in the movie.
Vimal is a total waste of an actor and I think even Vishal would have done better. Heroine is ugly, but being Vimal's favourite, manages to get the role again.
First half hour is sheer torture until Raj Kiran steps into Chennai, literally with a bang. From them on its just his and his alone, show.
May impress today's generation, but people like us have been there, seen it all. :)
Watch for Rajkiran, but be prepared for a cliched, boring climax.
Vimal linked with Lakshmi Menon? News to me. He was linked with Oviya and Bindhu Madhavi. Lakshmi menon was linked with Vishal.
Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
Naan Dhaan Bala released today. Reviews are fairly good & Vivek's performance is appreciated by critics.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/naan-than-...e-review-18330
http://www.moviecrow.com/News/4576/n...an-bala-review
http://www.onlykollywood.com/naan-th...-movie-review/
Mundasupatti - Yaarum indha padam innum pakalaya... dont miss it! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :lol:
Mundasupatti [2014 : Tamil : 2h20m : Humour (Rom-Com, Fantasy)]
Written & Directed by Ram Kumar
Adopted from a short film of the same name filmed by Ram for Nallaya Iyakunar Season 2
Produced By C.V. Kumar (you are awesome man)
Music : Sean Roldan
Cinematography : P.V.Sankar
Editing : Leo John Paul
Banner : Thirukumaran Entertainment
Starring : Vishnu, Kaali, Ramdoss, Nandita & others along with Anand Raj
Mundasupattians suffers from photogophobia, simply put fear of having their picture taken. Apart from that, Mundasupatti has a middle name - Superstition. The fear & superstition gathered from few events during the post-independence time was passed on from generation to generation until the present day, year 1982. The villagers beloved God Vana Muni turns to be a certain big value, which the Komalapatti Jameen eyes upon; he also accounts to a few failed thieving attempts. Gopi and his assistant Azhagumani hold a still photo studio in a nearby town. They are hired by the Mundasupattians to take the final snap of their village leader who is on his death bed. A bit reluctant and impatient in the beginning, Gopi decides to stay in the village until the D-Day(read Death Day) arrives, the main reason being Kalaivani, the 'house-girl' with whom he had gained a ‘love-at-first-sight’ jackpot. An unexpected photo-shoot-incident, put them as prisoners in the village. Even though under ‘village-arrest’, Gopi seems to be happi, as he could be close to Kalalivani. But his joy short lives when Kalaivani's marriage is arranged to another localer. Gopi & Azhagu, taking the advantage of the superstitious villagers, plot to move the ‘God-idol’ from the temple to stop the marriage. The successful duo can be proud as the marriage gets staled, but their gladness sinks when the misplaced idol disappears. When the villagers come to know their ‘evil-plan’ for love, all diapers explode into an amazing finale which would surely stretch your lips from ear-to-ear.
The films main forte are the well sketched characters. The dialogues and the speechless moments are well co-ordinated which provokes laughter at a steady mileage. All the villagers are newbies that makes the whole village set-up and their behaviour quite believable. Even though so many things happen in the movie, the film advances only with 3 characters which is not only neat, but are hilarious too - Gopi played by Vishnu, Azhagumani essayed by Kaali and Romdoss as Muniskanth [extrodinary performence by Ramdoss]. The slapstick comedy works out well - whether its during romance or a chase or a life & death situation, they have executed it with items on the foreground. With that try, they have succeeded a lot - most credits goes to the director and the rest should be shared with the artists.
I enjoyed all the branches in the story :
- Post independence photogophobia
- Vana Muni Episode
- Mundasupatti Village events - festival & Photo session
- Komalapatti Jamen Cat story
- Muniskanth
- Crime plot by a villager to kill his wife => this one was hillarious
- The Poojari Story
- Theft of Vana Muni
- Climax => LoL
- End Credits
Vishnu, Kaali and Nandita have done an impressive job. Nandita was pretty and all her expressions are solid, esp. rolling the eyes and moving the lips at the same time. It was amazing to watch her do that. Kaali was more energetic than Vishnu. His timing and measured dialogue delivery increases the tickles by few counts. The best part is, he travels along with Vishnu, and his presence is at its fullest, excellent role. Vishnu, I have not seen him around for a while, transforms to Gopi-the photographer. There are few chances for him to perform and he uses them quite well. Ramdoss is the show stealer. His voice and his body language are interesting to note. The village & town market set-ups are good. The scenery is pleasant, and adding it with white villagers attire draws in the needed beauty. The Bike gets a special mention along with the kid who acts as Nandita's Brother. Anand Raj does a comeo as the Jameen. He is still in form - its quite nice to watch him again. The side Kicks were funny. Costumes were great.
The film did not give me ample time and space to get the music. There were so many things occupying a scene, that music became a part of it. Out of few moments where I had a chance to hear the melody, I could say that Sean Roldan had modernised the sounds of the 80's. It was like how ARR gave modernity to the village backdrop and IR stayed authentic. Sean Roldan's work in Mundasupatti is somewhere in the middle and was amazing. Sometime back I had posted a song sung & composed by Sean Roldan - "Mayakura Poovasam". The songs sound more like its accompaniment. But the BGM score is entirely different from "Close the Mouth and Talk". The theme-music is naughty and teasing and is played at catchy intervals which is just awesome. Another promising and original composer that I am placing after my favourite musician Santosh Narayanan.
Even though the casting is apt, I felt that few more prominent faces and artists could have elevated the movie. For ex: Arul Das as the guy who lives outside the village or the artist who says "Karuppan Kusumban, 1/4 Kekuran" from VPVS as the villager who wants to get rid of his wife ... so on so forth. They could have nailed themselves into the role. There are few scenes that are dragged without purpose and many silent moments which take away the interest then and there. And yes, short-film syndrome can be felt in this feature film also. Too much precision tests one's patience at times. Should have avoided the Sherlock Holmes styled Slo-Mo Jameen escape attempt, puts a mark on the so far original attempt. Following Rummy, the ‘death-house’ humour does not click, but the song was funny though.
Ram Kumar has organised a field trip of humour in and around a fabulous village called Mundasupatti, don't miss it.
Mundasupatti - Magicube
Vadacurry - was watchable .... most of RJ Balaji's so called jokes in the first half did not entertain me .....second half was slightly better
Vadacurry [2014 : Tamil : 2H15m : Thriller (Mystery, Suspense, Drama)]
Written & Directed by Saravana Rajan
Music : Vivek Shiva & Mervin Solomon (YSR credited for a song)
Banner : Meeka Entertainment
Starring : Jai, Swathi, RJ Balaji, Ajay Raj, Kasthuri, Arul Doss & others, along with Venkat Prabhu
Satish life is miserable. Surrounded by friends and family who don't take him seriously, but thats all he has got, along with another item, his mobile phone, an outdated model. Even the mobile phone is not quite nice wtih him, it puts him into ‘noisy’ trouble here and there. Not able to afford a fancy phone, Satish has one more worry to be depressed, when an ultimate page tuner happens - he comes across a stranded i-Phone. Hesitant but later, he keeps the phone from himself and enjoys the radical changes it brings in his life, until he is taken over by guilt. He decides to return the phone to its owner and makes that one call, which not only changes his life upside down but washes away all his hopes when one by one his dear and near are pushed towards danger.
The film is not as serious as it should be. Its just a light hearted thriller, where the whole spin in life is taken for granted and presented in a jovial way. It does not stop ticking, even after long romance episodes and its intervention when the movie tries to convert itself to suspense. The mystery is well guarded and there are few interesting moments in the film that can put you in alert mode. The plot is a bit similar to "Yenamo Nadakuthu". When Yenamo Nadakuthu was a bit dry, Vadacurry removes the draughtiness through humour, which certainly makes a mark at several places.
Jai was super. He has got a whole big stunt sequence all for himself, and he does it thoroughly. He is sharp and active throughout the movie. But at places he reminds a lot "Raja Rani - Surya". Swathi does a IAPBK, and can be quite irritating. But along with the situation in which Jai puts himself, her irritation gets funny, pathetic guy ! RJ Balaji sweeps his dialogues in a single motion. His fast delivery and few of his naughty actions are sure laughter. Aruldoss, Kasthuri & "Pey Babu" do an impressive extended cameos. Venkat Prabu shows his face here and there and makes it a point to scold Jai. Ajay Raj gets a gripping role and he plays it well. I liked his accent.
Even though the Saw Movie theme was rehashed during the “Jai meeting the i-Phone” episode, the rest of the BGM were wonderful. Catchy, at the same time elevating the humour in each scene was quite brilliant. Moodar Koodam had a single for a dog, Vadacurry got a song for the i-Phone. A well made song, where the contacts become zombies chasing Jai along with the game villans. That’s my favourite song in the album, and the visuals make sense to the lyrics that I had been wondering since I listened to it the 1st time : "Ullangaiyil Ennaivaithu Ulagai vella ninaithaaye" - a direct menace from a phone ! The rest of the songs were catchy, with a song by Gana Bala which introduces us to everyone in the film. Editing and Camera works get a special mention.
The film tries to search itself, which lands as a big drawback. Even though the editing was crisp, the movie runs forward and backward as though the gear box is jammed, before finding a way, any way, to advance. There are a lot of distractions that cut down shiftiness of the film. Few characters were annoying at places, esp. the villain does not do justice to the 2H suspense when it was torn apart. It was as though the aspect itself is a big joke, just like the movie, I would never know. Apart form few other hic-ups, the movie is thoroughly enjoyable, Jai nails it this time.
For the title, if anyone who is wondering how its related to the movie, check the spoilers if you have watched the movie :
Spoiler:
Would be glad if Jai gets a decent hit through this film, followed by "Thirumanam-Nikha".
Vadacurry : Thirudathey Papa Thirudathey
BCOOLSTUDIO presents Nattamai (Facebook Version)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m85p2SfhMuc
^ Hilarious...:lol:
(MY) Top 5 Intros in Tamil Cinema
N°5
Avan Ivan Vishal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ad1swIKjnxA
N°4
Ravanan Vikram
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRCbeV1kfVw
N°3
Vettaiyadu Villaiadu Kamal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASVVA1gYleU
N°3
Mankatha Ajith
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zU38erRgEiU
N°2
Sathriyan Vijayakanth
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdYpeTVKP8s
N°1
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/pr...cz=w426-h240-n
(MY) Top 5 Awesome 'Transformation' Scenes in Tamil Cinema
N°5
Villan => Elloram pottu Adikiranga Sir.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PB1-QG98Dz0
N°4
Amaithi Padai => Mani thaney un Peru.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=606xxLIiF1o
N°3
Annamalai => Intha Naal Un Calender-la kurichi vachi ko
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=shw42F7-78c
N°2
Vishwaroopam => Pray Panna vidunga, please.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDlQDNb669g
N°1
Basha => Ullay Pooooo.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVUqeFssESo
(MY) Top 5 EPIC scenes in Tamil Cinema
N°5
Inaitha Kaigal aka Hanging Dragons
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFejGLsXWes
N°4
Nan Kadavul aka Janma Karma
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6IstUG6BLQ
N°3
Mankatha aka King Maker
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0kEOv1KOso
N°2
Oru Kaithiyin Dairy aka My Son
(Spoiler alert)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2kLjfxhFpQ
N°1
Annamali aka MalaDA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bK-i_FAcpoY
will.i.am worked with our a.r.rehman to produce this english version of urvasi urvasi
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuM7hObGjWI
Nee nege en anbe
- weak screenplay compared to Kahani
- highlight of kahani is a pregnant lady coming in search of her missing husband.. the very essence of this is missing in NEEA
- forced scenes of kaali madha .. it was very natural in kahani since it happens in kolkata
- overall.. just another film
poovarasam pe pe..
- very good attempt by the director
- must watch for school kids
wow..Urvasi, after all these years...thanks mexicomeat! From 2:53 onwards its exactly the same.
Arima Nambi [2014 : Tamil : 2h30m : Action-Thriller(Suspense, Crime, Social)]
Written & Directed by Anand Shankar
Music : Sivamani
Cinematography : R.D.Rajasekhar
Edited : Bhuvan Srinivasan
Banner : Kalaipuli Films International
Starring : Vikram Prabhu, Priya Anand, Chakravarthy, MS Bhasker, Arul Doss, 'Karuppan Kusmban', Yog Japee & others.
Arjun's life takes a wrong turn when his blind date transforms into a crime night. He closes in almost towards death while trying to stop his company, Annamika, from being kidnapped by the "mystry-men". The emotional momentum drives him to get her back, which only turns more disastrous. Gaining confidence from "nothing-is-lost-yet" syndrome, he pursues his search for Annamika. What he unearths in the process of escaping her takes a crooked deviation from the initial wrong turn, which almost puts the entire national security behind him. A detailed 'rat-hunt' is run by the efficient police department leading him into the corner of no escape. Now its upto his wits energized by his guts to retaliate sending a strong signal to his trackers that they are not trapping a rodent, but an Arima (Nambi).
Priceless film, just awesome. Anand Shankar has given us a raw Action-Thriller which is convincing. The neat presentaion without over stretching scenes, be it action or romance, is the major highlight of the film. The movie gets fixed to its objective right from the word go, and does not fluctuate at any point of time. An easy to follow execution not only pushes our interests but holds our attention throughout its runtime, well, if you agree to surrender yourself and accept the 'over-the-top' technology usage in the film. Quite a mature take and an unique presentation style - they use the word 'Convoy', how perfect it is. At lot of places I got the same interest that I had while watching the Bourne Series. Dialogues are top notch esp., the conversations between couples are quite authentic. Hats off to the whole team.
Vikram Prabhu is just getting better and better. What he missed in Kumki he covered it in AVM, and now he has filled the gap he had left thru Arima Nambi. Eventhough the first few minutes he is like "height sir-tight sir", when the film picks up, he becomes "height sir-weight sir". He has put in a lot of energy and spontaneity in this film. He just does mind to fall down, get up, run, fall down, jump - a lot of physical effort has been put by him, that makes the character beleivable. But still he has got a long way to go, for instant he has to again check on his delivery and voice modulation. He seems to be quite mono toned. Many places his expressions does not suit his voice. Moreover eventhough he looks tough enough he is not yet capable of bringing it on screen, he looks too soft. Other than that he is awesome. And he got to get his face familiar by atleast doing a couple of movies par year, then he is sure to reach places.
The main element that got me hooked to the movie is that there are some pretty ladies in the film. On top of it, there is a gorgeous belly dance. See its not vulgour, its quite elegant and plesant to see dazzling dames breezing around. Puts a natural color to the scenes. Not much to say about Priya Anand though, except her presence is quite attractive, but she should have put more efforts on performence too. Her close-ups are hicups. I don't know why I confuse her with Pooja Kumar, another awesome lady.
The second element is the casting, a very apt one. Chakravarthy crosses the scenes just with his eyes. MS Bhaker has an awesome cameo - he does a stealth and sneak neck snap. Arul Doss as the local goon was menancing at the same time funny. He actually nails such roles. "Karuppan Kusumban" appears in few scenes and he is just amazing. Yog Japee gives a neat entry at the needed moment, but the way his character is designed does not meet our expectation. He seems to be doing a Unnaipol Oruvan Mohan Lal and this time too gets shot. There is this new guy who comes as a prime side-kick, thought he had a good menancing presence and he carried himself quite well.
Thirdly its the stunt sequences. They were crisp and blow the flame to get the temperature mounting. There is a wonderful alley chase sequence, and the location was great. A bit similar to ... well never mind. Then there is an interesting 'lodge' fight sequence inside trapped corridors and closed kitchen space. All these parts had some extrodinary camera work and editing which maintains the flow. The team has put enormous effort to perfect things, and its quite visible. Finally, its the music, esp. the BGM. Felt it was working so well with the sequences and helped a lot to elevate our interest. The minute and detailed sounds were not missed during the action blocks which puts a realism label onto them. I liked the Belly Dance song.
The last half an hour or so makes you think whether you are watching the events happening in Chennai. Namba valarantha Chennai-ya idhu! It gets transformed into a technology hub and all the tracking system and devices along with thier explantions brings you fingers directly to your chin. Several things happen so fast which allows your eyes to meet the nose. Personally I felt that they could have avoided battering women. There is exactly a scene which I detest - a kick in the stomach. They could have handled it softly just like the murder in the server room. Anyway, everyone gets their pick of violence in films. Apart from few flaws and "battery-downed-toy" moments, Arima Nambi is quite an interesting watch.
Arima Nambi - Pouncing Puma
Mappi,
I enjoyed the film. A doubt....
spoilerr ##
what was the thing about Goa at the start. Did Priya Anand lie to her dad that she will be going to Goa. Or does he know what happened and to avoid the police is he telling that she is off to Goa for a vacation.
spoiler##
^^ You can actually hide the spoilers using spoiler tag - [ spoiler]Spoiler[ /spoiler]. Remove the spaces, of course :)
Arima Nambi - Cliche but racy screenplay makes it good.
Arima Nambi : Reply to Movie Buff and others who have watched the film -
Spoiler:
Watched Saivam last night
Felt like Vikraman is director of this movie :P
I enjoyed the message that they want to convey and Family feel.At a point even we feel like to be part of that family.
Nasser :Bow: whattey body language this character deserves special mention in his career
one line: Watch it if you enjoy family drama
Simbhudevan sits on the panel of judges in the programme Naalaya Iyakkunar and passes all kinds of comments on directing a film.
And then he directs a film-for-the-garbage-can called Oru Kanniyum Moonu Kalavaaniyum. :banghead:
Easily the worst movie of the year. No saving grace.