Whether IRs spiritual side affects his musical output or not is a different issue - what it appears to have done is def affect his PR skills!
Printable View
Whether IRs spiritual side affects his musical output or not is a different issue - what it appears to have done is def affect his PR skills!
26 June 2009 - Ilaiyaraaja’s new album on Ramana Maharishi in production. It will be available in itunes soon. The Physical CD will be available only in Ramana Ashram, Thiruvannamalai. Raaja donating the album for the Ashram.
Plum..i am sure your memory is more accurate than mine. I also dont fully agree with Udhaya, but mentioned that as an extreme view of spirituality/philosophy affecting his work.I am aware of the joyous songs of IR, but by fun I am referring to popular hits like "Oram pO", "ilamai idho" etc. These sort of songs and those that are in style have slowly dried up in IR's repertoire. Recent 'chal chalein' is a valiant attempt in this front.
[kiru said] Plum..i am sure your memory is more accurate than yours. [/kiru said]
Well kiru, I think the fun element was always intact but what is considered fun had changed !! Just listen to all the techno beats nowadays and everyone praises it sky high. BTW, have you heard 'Hodadavane' of Prem Kahani. It definitely has all the fun factor you mentioned.
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies...-director.html
'சீச்சீ, இந்தப்பழம் புளிக்கும்' ஸ்டைல் நியூஸோன்னு சந்தேகமா இருக்கு...
Thanks for catching the bug .. probably was too sleepy while posting :-)Quote:
Originally Posted by Sureshs65
Yes, hodadavane is good..but now fun songs mean Rahman ..starting with muqabala.
kiru,
You are in a time wrap. The days of Rahman are gone, atleast in Tamil movies. 'Muqabula' gave way to 'Manmada Raasa'. Now it is all 'kuthu' songs and the MD is no longer important. 'Nakka Mukka' and its clones dominate.
Starting from Yesterday, there is a new program being telecasted in Sun Music --- "Ninaithale Inikkum".. between 11 PM to 12 AM..
as the name suggests, this program is mainly for playing old songs.. especially from early 80's... following songs were there in yes.. progr..
Of course, if it is 80's in TFM, then it should be IR....
En Vaanile (Johny)
Kanne Kalaimaane (Moondram Pirai)
Kadhal Oviyum (AO)
Kanmaniye (AA)
Thaalattuthe (KM)
Pattu vanna (EKK)
Vellai Pura (PK)
it is a daily live program.. so we can call them and ask for our favouite songs..
progrm nalla than irukku.. enna andha VJ kavidhaingra perla solra mokkai than thaanga mudiyala..
:evil:
Paa's premise looks interesting with this pic ..
http://movies.rediff.com/slide-show/...cool-looks.htm
News Courtesy: IR Yahoo Groups:
---------------------------------------------
http://thatskannada.oneindia.in/movi...r-chandru.html
The Director Chandru who's beaming with success after the hit of "Taj Mahal" is once again trying to put his hands to a big budget movie. A budge of approx. Rs. 4 crores is anticipated for the next movie "Prem Kahani". The hero of the movie is Ajay who happens to be the hero in "Taj Mahal" as well. Whereas the heroine is Sheeba who has acted in Telugu, Tamil & Malayalam movies. Discussions are ongoing with Prakash Raj (his original name is Prakash Rai) for a very prominent role. The Muhurtam is scheduled for Nov. 10th
The news here is that for the the first time in history of Kannada movies "all time record" of Rs. 70 Lakhs has been paid for music direction to the south india's most famours Music director "Ilaiyaraja" for this movie is the rumor that's floating around in Gandhinagar (a.k.a Koadambakkam of Tamil Cinema) circles. Even the background score is entrusted to him. "Ilaiayraja" who composes his tunes normally in Chennai as come to Bangalore and stayed in "Leela Palace" to tune the 8 songs in the movie
Director chandru quotes "Earlier he had give fabulous music to movies such as "Geetha", "Janma Janmada Anubandha", "Nee Nanna Gellalaare" and more recently to "Aa Dinagalu". All the 8 songs in the movie "Prem Kahani" are haunting and that's Ilaiyaraja's strength." Would "Prem Kahani" be Kannada movie world's another "Prema Lokam" is the question for now?