soham priyasya suhrda: paradevataya lila kathas tava nrsimha virinca gita:
anjas titarmy anugrnan guna vipramukto durgani te pada yugalaya hamsa sanga: 7.9.18 [/color]
O my Lord Nrsimhadeva, I shall easily be able to cross all hurdles in my path by chanting the glories of you just like Brahma and other enlightened devotees who are constantly meditating over your lotus feet.
[color =red]balasya neha saranam pitarau nrsimha nartasya cagadam udanvati majjato nauh
taptasya tat pratividhir ya ihanjasestas tavad vibho tanu bhrtam tvad upeksitanam7.9.19 [/color]
My Lord Nrsimhadeva, O Supreme, souls neglected and not cared for by You cannot do anything for their betterment. Whatever remedies they accept, although perhaps temporarily beneficial, are impermanent. For example, a father and mother cannot protect their child, a physician and medicine cannot relieve a suffering patient, and a boat on the ocean cannot protect a drowning man.
pRahLaada continued his stuti. He offered his praNaams with gratitue to his GURU Naaradji. HE explains the paramaatma tattvam which keeps him in 'sarvam vishNumayam jagat'.
kwaaham raja: prabhava: Isa tama: adhike asmin
jaata: suretarakule kwa tava anukampaa
na brahmaNa: na tu bhavasya na vai ramaayaa:
yat me arppita: sirasi padmakara: prasaada: 7.9.26
(Oh! Bhagavan, where am this insignificant who is born in asurakula that is filled with rajo guNa and tamo guNa? And where is the compassion that you showered on me? Both in extremes. Oh! My Lord, you put your blessing, lotus hand on my head. How easily available are you and how loveale are you! Nothing other than your compassion can explain this. You did not do this to Brahma, Siva or not even your Devi Rama. This shows your bhakta vaatsalyam.)
evam janam nipatitam prabhava ahi koope
kaama abhikaamam anu ya: prapatan prasangaat
kRutwaa aatmasaat sura RushiNaa bhagavan gRuhIta:
soham katham nu visRuje tava bhRutya sevaam 7.9.28
(Oh! Lord, I was like others who have fallen into the well filled with powerful sankes (fell into the womb). I was also running after all desires with so much desire (prahLaada is talking on our behalf and let us not include him in this list and do the bhaagavata apacaaram!). Fortunately, I got the wonderful satsangham of Naarada. He took me as HIS. How can I ever give up serving your favorite devotee. So, please unite me with them. (ANYONE WHO HAS A SADGURU IS BLESSED.
cintaamaNir loka sukham suradru: swargga sampadam
prayacchati guru: prIta: vaikunTham yogi durllabham - maahaatmyam 1.7
(The great gem cintaamaNi gives worldly pleasures. The heaven tree (kalpavRuksham) gives heavenly happiness. But, a GURU WHO IS PLEASED WITH A DESCIPLE GRANTS VAIKUNTHAM WHICH IS HARD EVEN FOR YOGIS. SO SINCERE, SELFLESS GURU SEVA IS THE PATH TO VAIKUNTHAM.)
twam vaayu: agni: avani: viyat ambu maatraa:
praaNa indriyaaNi hRudayam cit anugrahasca
sarvam twameva saguNa: viguNasca bhooman
na anyat #### asti api mana: vacasaa niruktam 7.9.48
(Oh! Lord you are everything. Your the five elements air, fire, earth, space, water and you are the five subtle elements associated with these. (touch, form,smell,sound and taste). You are the praaNa, five karma and 5 jnaana indriyas and the 3 anta: karaNaas (hRudayam, cittam and ahankaaram). You are the only sthoola (solid) and sookshma (subtle) form and anything that can be conceived by mind and explained by words.)
Durvaasa Maharshi is teaching us a lesson – ‘price to pay for harming a sadhu/bhakta’. Maharshi is telling us, “if this is my plight, imagine what it would be for ordinary mortals”!!
ambarIsho mahaa bhaaga: sapta dwIpapatIm mahIm
avyayaam ca sriyam labdhwaa vibhavam ca atulam bhuvi 9.4.15
vaasudeve bhagavati tat bhakteshu ca saadhushu
praapto bhaavam param viswam yena idam loshTavat smRutam 9.4.17
(Srisukar introduces AmbarIsha as ‘mahaa bhaagyavaan’. He was the ruler of the 7 continent. He had eternal wealth and unparalleled aiswaryam on earth.
But, with all these, he had supreme love for Vaasudeva and his devotees. Because of this he treated the world as well as a block of soil was exactly the same. (There was no pride in him and he ruled the country under his guidance.) Prayers to Krishna to bless us with this kind of a ruler.
Sa vai mana: kRushNa padaaravindayao: vacaamsi vaikunTha guna anuvarNane
Karou hare: mandir maarjjanaadishu Srutim cakaara Acyuta sat kathodaye 7.4.18
Mukunda linga aalaya darsanE dRuSou tat bhRutya gaatra sparse anga sangamam
ghraaNam ca tat paada saraoja sourabhe srImat tuLasyaa rasanaam tadarppite 7.4.19
paadou hare: kshetra pada anusarppaNe siro hRushIkesa padaa abhivandane
kaamam ca daasye na tu kaama kaamyayaa yathaa uttama sLoka jana aasrayaa rati:7.4.20
(His mind stuck on the lotus feet of Lord kRishna, words describing Lord’s gunas all the time, hands doing the temple cleaning etc., and ears listening to acyuta’s wonderful stories – this is ambarIsha.
His eyes were on seeing Mukunda’s temples and his moortties, body in having contact with Lord’s devotees, nose in enjoying the tuLasi that has the fragrance of the lotus feet, and tongue on tasting only those that were offered to him – that is ambarIsha.
His feet on visiting temples and teertaas, head for touching the feet of hRushIkesa (one who controls all the indriyaas), desires only for serving and he lived in such a way that he will become the favorite of the lord and his devotees. – That is ambarIsha.) Krishna, please give us that devotion too.
This gave ambasrIsha the vairaaghyam and supreme bhakti, Pleased Hari, gifted him with his cakra and ambarIsha made cakra as the king and he became cakra raja’s servant.
Once ambarIsha started the karttika dwaadasi vratam. (start in sukla kaarttika ekadasi and observe all ekaadasis and conclude it with next sukla kaartti ekadasi.) The concluding ceremony is in progress and being dwaadasi, great ambarIsha is respecting the guests who had gathered for dwaadasi paaraNa (feast). There walks in DURVAASA BHAGAVAAN (his anger is to highlight the devotees and the lord). ambarIsha was delighted as Lord Siva himself has walked in for paaraNa. MAharshi promised to come back soon after finishing his morning karmas. But, took his own sweet time meditating upon ‘what is ambarIsha doing’ Dhyaanam. Dwaadasi paaraNa has to be done with in the muhoortta. It was crossing. So as per the advice of paNDits, ambarIsha took tuLasi tIrttam. This infuriated Durvaasa Maharshi. He created a monster to destroy ambarIsha. The kRuta charged towards ambarIsha.”Maharshi is getting mad means and that means I have done a crime and if that is so, let this destroy me’ ambarIsha stood there to accept the punishment. Cakraraja could not take this injustice. It killed the kRuta and started chasing Durvaasa Maharshi. Brahma and Siva expressed their helplessness in saving Maharshi.
Aham bhakta paraadhIna: hi aswatantra iva dwija
Saadhubhi: grasta hRUdaya: bhaktai: bhakta jana priya: 9.4.63
Oh! maharshe I can’t help you either! I am under the influence of my devotees. They have attracted my heart and feelings. I am not independent. I love them and act per their wish!
Upaayam kathayishyaami tava vipra SruNushwa tat
Ayam hi aatmaabhicaara: te yata: tam yaatu vai bhavaan
Saadhushu prahitam teja: praharttu: kurute aSivam 9.4.69
Because you came to me, I will tell you a solution. You created this monster aabhicaaram) to kill ambarIsha, right? Please go to him. If you abuse power against sadhus it will harm you.
Durvaasa ran to ambarIsha. In the meantime ambarIsha requested cakra to come back and cool down, if he or any of his forefathers have done any sat karmas. (That is the greatness of sadhus – saadhava: sadhu bhooshaNaa:) By then one year passed. ambarIsha welcomed Durvaasa Maharshi and did the paaraNa. Durvaasa praised ambarIsha fro his greatness and devotion.
Why kRushNa avataaram?
- To reduce the bhoobhaaram (he can very well do that sitting in vaikuntham - sankalpa maatram)
- To attract people in to his fold - bhakti maargga (Kunti Devi and all bhaktas like this)
So all put together - DUSHTA NIGRAHAM, SISHTA PARIPAALANAM, BHAKTA AAKARSHANAM.
The scene is in Mathura. Ugrasena is the king who unfortunately is blessed with a wicked son Kamsa - Rebirth of asura Kalanemi. Ugrasena Maharaja has a brother Devakan and his lasut daughter is divine mother Devaki. Kamsa loves (!?) Devaki more than any of his own sisters. Soorasena is the 'muDicooDaa mannan' of yaadava dynasty. His son Vasudeva is a man of words.
enter the most enchanting 'dasama skandham' of Srimad Bhagavatam.
kathito vamaSa vistaara: bhavataa soma sooryayo:
raajnaam ca ubhaya vamsyaanaam caritam parama adbhutam: 10.1.1
(Sri Sukar concluded kRushNa story in hardly 16 slokas in navama skandham while he was narrating soorya vamSam and candra vamSam!
drouNyastra vipLushTam idam mat angam santaana bIjam kuru paaNDavaanam
jugopa kukshim gata aatta cakra: maatusca me ya: saraNam gataayaa: 10.1.6
(When I was in the womb, Aswathaama's Brahmaastram burned me to death. I was the only one to carry the lineage of kauravas as well as paaNDavaas. (Their family is one.) My mother Uttaraadevi took refuge in HIM. He entered her womb with a ready to attack cakra and protected THIS BODY OF MINE. (kRIshNa bhakti is a wonderful privilege for parIkshit's family - satrting from Bheesha to him! Who won't feel jealous of them!!)
na eshaa ati dussahaa kshunmaam tykata udam api baadhate
pibantam twan mukha amboja cyutam harikathaa amRutam 10.1.13
(I am hungry and have not even drank a drop of water (ParIkshit entered SamIka's asramam with this, insulted the Rushi, returned to the palace and heard the curse by SRungi, went to Ganga shore, rUshIs came, SriSukar appeared, started the bhaagavata saptaaham and today is the 4th day of bhaagavata saptaaham!). But, that does not bother me as I am enjoying the nectar (amRutam) of harikatha that is flowing from your mouth, GURU.)
bhoomi: dRupta nRUpa vyaajai: daitya anIka sata ayutai:
aakraantaa bhoori bhaareNa bhramaaNam saraNam yayou 10.1.17
(UNDER THE PRETENTION OF RULERS, COUNTLESS ASURAS ARE RULING THE EARTH. Mother earth is, unable to bear this weight, approached Brahma and with Brahma as the leader proceeded to ksheera abdhi and prayed to LORD Naaraayana.) The karuNaamoorthy announced that he has decided to incarnate in Mathura as Devaki adn Vasudeva's son and all devas welcome to join his drama on earth. Now, Devaki is given in marriage to Vasudeva. Kamsa decided to do the saarathyam himself to show his love for his dear sister!
LET US GO THERE TOO TO PRAY TO THE KSHEERAABDHI VAASA (HE IS OUR HRUDAYA KAMALA VAASA TOO). HE WILL MOVE THE COINS THE RIGHT WAY SO AS ACCOMPLISH HIS GOAL.
Scene: Vasudeva marries Devaki with much pomp and show. Prince Kamsa, the son of the King Ugrasena assumed the role of a charioteer and was driving the newly married couple.
pathi pragrahinam kamsam abhashyahasarira vak
asyas tvam asamo garbho hanta yam vahase abudha 10.1.34
when the evil Kamsa was driving in his chariot a voice from the heavens thus spoke about Devaki “You fool! eighth child of the woman you are carrying will kill you!"
ity uktah sa khala: papo bhojanam kula pamsana:
bhaginim hantum arabdha: khadga panih: kace agrahit 10.1.35
Upon hearing these words Kamsa the disgrace of the Bhoja family immediately drew out his sword and held Devaki by her hair and proceeded to kill her.
vasudeva uvaca
Vasudeva Said:
Shlaghaniya guna: shurair bhavan bhoja yashaskara:
sa katham bhaginim hanyat striyam udvaha parvani 10.1.37
Upon seeing this Vasudeva tried to pacify Kamsa by saying the following:
esha tavanuja bala kripana putrikopama
hantum narhasi kalyanim imam tvam dinavatsala: 10.1.45
As your younger sister, this poor girl Devaki is like your own daughter and deserves all your affection. You are merciful, and therefore you should not kill her.
sri-shuka uvaca
Shri Shuka thus spoke to Parisksit
evam sa samabhir bhedai: bodhyamano api daruna:
na nyavartata kauravya purushadan anuvratah:10.1.46
Thus Vasudeva tried his best to desist Kamsa from carrying out this evil deed by pleading and trying to put some fear of God into him. However Kamsa who was filled with rage would not listen to Vasudeva’s advise and proceeded to kill Devaki.
'IF YOU OPPOSE YOU ARE IN JAIL BECAME THE LAW OF LAND' Under Kamsa! That much attrocity was needed for the neela ratnam to incarnate.
(neela ratnam is blue gem - Sweet kRushNa)
na hi asyaa: te bhayam soumya yat vaak aaha aSarIriNI
putraan samarppayishye asyaa yata: te bhayam uthitam 10.1.54
(Vasudevaji thought and thought. He has to save this innocent soul Devaki now. He got a solution. Oh! Softhearted one (praising to save a life is OK), that divine voice (from formless) did not say that you have fear from Her right? How about this? I will surrender her children to you as the fear for you is only from them. (Look at the way LORD is planning to make his father a satyasandha. As his master plan is in place, HE did not make him say 'how many children'!)
kIrttiman tam prathamajam kamsaaya aanakadundubhi:
arppayaamaasa kRucchreNa sa: anRUtaat ati vihvala: 10.1.57
(Devaki gave birth to her first son 'kIrttiman'. Vasudeva carried tha baby to Kamsa and offered. He was not happy. But, the fear of 'lie' was stronger than the suffering from attachment.)
kim dussaham nu sadhoonaam vidushaam kim upekshitam
kim akaaryam kadaryaaNaam dustyajam kim dhRutaatmanaam 10.1.58
(What is impossible for sadhoos? What is impossible for the ones who knows the supreme reality? What is impossible for the wicked ones? what is impossible for one who enjoys the aatman? In all these cases the anser is 'nothing'!) DON'T WE KNOW THAT?)
Even kamsa was impressed by vasudeva's truthfulness and he returned the baby saying I will deal with the eighth! This does not excite Vasudeva as he knew that a wicked can not eb trusted based on a momentary act of good! He was right!. Naradji approached Kamsa and shared the deva secrets. (He did noy advice killing though. THAT IS KAMSA'S OWN BRAIN CHILD!) ANYONE OPPSSED ENDED UP IN JAIL. THIS INCLUDES HIS FATHER UGRASENA MAHAARAJA, ALL TEH GREAT MINISTERS. 'IF YOU OPPOSE YOU ARE IN JAIL!!
The scene is ksheerabdhi (milk ocean). Mountain madara is the churning rod and serpant VaasukI is the rope. Asuras on the head side and devas on the tail side are churning the ksheeraabdhi. Lord NARAYANA was pulling the head side with one hand and the tail side with the other while holding the peak with the other (so that it will not go here and there on the shaky surface!) and supporting the mountain on his back as turtle (koorma avattaram) (So what did all the devas and asuras do? Pretended that they are churning!! Exactly what we are doing now.)
That lord is
megha Syaama: kanaka paridhi: karNa vidyota vidyut
moordhni bhraajat viluLita kaca: sragdhara: rakta netra:
jaitrai: dorbhi: jagat abhayadai: dandaSookam gRuhItwa
mathnan mathnaa pratigiri: iva aSobhata atha udhRuta adri: 8.7.17
(That beautiful Naaraayana was wearing gold like dress, his dangling eardrops were like lightning. His head covered with beautiful hair, wearing garland, eyes a little bit reddend, he is personification of victory. With the protecting (the world) hands he was holding the serpant. Thus standing in splendor, it was like one (blue) mountain using another (brown) mountain to churn the (white) milk ocean. A beautiful rainbow there.)
nirmathyamaanaat udadhe: abhoot visham
maha ulbaNam haalahalaahwam agrata:
sambhraanta meena makara ahi kacchapaat
timi dwipa graaha timingala aakulaat 8.7.18
(Becasue of the churning all the water living animals got agitated. The first thing that emerged was the most poisonous enitity called haalaahalam.)
pumsa: kRupayata: bhadre sarvaatmaa prIyate hari:
prIte harou bhagavati prIye aham sacaraacara:
tasmaat idam garam bhunje prajaanaam swasti: astu me 8.7.40
(The devas could not stand the poison. they rushed to aaSutoshi (one who can be pleased very easily) Sambho Mahaadeva, who was with his Devi Uma and prayed for protection. Shankara addressed Umadevi and said, 'oh! Dear, Lord Hari gets pleased with one who is very compassionate to all beings. This is becasue he dwells in everything. When HE is happy everything and I get very pleased. May the whole universe enjoy the peace and protection. As compassion is the best, I am going to drink this poison Devi.' Thus with Uma's permission Shankara drank the poison. Mother cought hold of Deva's neck and Shankara became nIlakaNTha.) The churning continued, Dhanvantari came with amRuta, Asura's ran away with amRuta, Mohini came and got it back and served the amRutam to the Deva's - the force in nature.
Let us offer our praNaams to Umaamaheswara and Lord NaaraayaNa.
Kamsaas freinds and kRsuhNa's master plan - I
pralamba baka caaNoora tRuNaavartta mahaasanai:
mushTika arishTa dwivida pootanaa kesi dhenukai: 10.2.1
anyaISca asura bhoopaalai: baaNa bhoumaadibhi: yuta:
yadoonaam kadanam cakre balI maagadha samSraya:10.2.2
(These are all Kamsa's freinds who will not hesitate to do anything! Just a few to k now the quality! To escape from the torture many yaadavaas escaped to other neighboring countries.) Devaki lost 6 of her children by now.
saptamo vaishNavam dhaama yam anantam pracakshate
garbho babhoova devakyaa harsha Soka vivardhana: 10.2.5
(The seventh one was Aadisesha's amsam. Devaki felt unusual happiness. At the same time, the thought of Kamsa tortured her.)
LORD decides when to intervene.
bhagavaanapi viswaatma vidittvaa kamsajam bhayam
yadoonaam nijanaathaanaam yogamaayaam samaadiSat 10.2.6
(The Lord is the soul of everything. He understood the fear caused by Kamsa to his devotees. So, he invited his yoga maaya and said-)
gaccha devi vrajam bhadre gopa gopi: alankRutam
rohiNI vasudevasya bhaaryaa aaste nandagokule 10.2.7
devakyaa jaThare garbham Seshaakhyam dhaama maamakam
tat sannikRushya rohiNyaa: udare sannivesaya 10.2.8
(Oh! Devi please go to Gokula. They place is beautiful becasue of the presence of wonderful Gopas and Gopis and cows. Vasudeva's wife Rohini is also living there. The baby in Devaki's womb is my own amsa that is known as AadiSesha. Please attract it and deposit in RohiNi's womb. (Order for transplanting Balarama.))
athaa aham amsa bhaagena devakyaa: putrataam Subhe
praapsyaami twam yaSodaayaam nanda patnyaam bhavishyasi 10.2.9
(Hey, Subhe, immediately, I will enter mother Devaki's womb as a poorNam and you enter mother yoSoda's womb. Devi was blessed with various names and places for worship.
sA devaki sarva jagan nivAsa nivAsa bhutA nitarAm na reje
bhojendra gehe qgni shikheva ruddhA sarasvati jnAna khale yathA sati 10.2.19
The same lord who holds the entire universe within HIM was now inside the womb of Devaki! Devaki had become very beautiful due to the presence of the lord. She was as radiant as the flames of the fire, as wise as goddess Sarswati. It’s a real pity that others could not enjoy this because she was locked up in the prison of Kamsa.
tAm vikshya kamsa: prabhayAjitAntarAm virocayantim bhavanam shucismitAm
Ahaisha me prAnaharo harir guhAm dhruvam shrito yan na pureyam idrishi 10.2.20
Because the Lord Narayana was within her womb, Devaki illuminated the entire atmosphere in the place where she was confined. Seeing her jubilant, pure and happy, Kamsa thought, "It must be the Lord Vishnu, who is now within her born to kill me. Devaki has never before looked so brilliant and jubilant."
kim adya tasmin karaniyam Ashu me yad artha tantro na vihanti vikramam
striyA: svasur gurumatyA vadhoyam yasha: shriyam hanty anukAlam Ayu: 10.2.21
Kamsa thought: What is my duty now? If I wait for my enemy to be born before I make an attempt on HIS life, I might not survive it since this is no normal baby. Devakî is a woman, she is my sister, and moreover she is now pregnant. If I kill her, my reputation, prosperity and duration of life will certainly be reduced.
Satya vratam satya param tri satyam satyasya yonim nihitam ca satye
satyasya satyam rita satya netram satyAtmakam tvAm sharanam prapannA: 10.2.26
The sages headed by Narada and Gods ccompanied with their attendants (gandharvas), Brahma and Shiva glorified Lord Vishnu:
O Lord, You never deviate from Your vow, which is always perfect because whatever You decide is perfectly correct and cannot be stopped by anyone. Being present in the three phases of cosmic manifestation: creation, maintenance and annihilation: You are the Supreme Truth. Truth is the highest means of attaining you. You are the active principle, the real truth, in all the ingredients of creation. You treat everyone fairly, and Your instructions apply for everyone, for all time. You are the beginning of all truth. Therefore, offering our prayers, we surrender unto You. Kindly give us protection.
Devas and Rushis headed by Brahma continued the stuti of Lord Narayana who was still in Devaki’s womb.
tathA na te mAdhava tAvakA: kvacit bhraSyanti mArgA: tvayi baddha sauhRudA:
tvayAbhiguptA vicaranti nirbhayA: vinAyakAnikapa moordhasu prabho 10.2.33
(“Even if some of your bhakata’s stray from the path of bhakti they do not fall as other non-bhakta’s.; you still continue to protect them.Your bhakata’s continue to make spiritual progress and find all their enemies and obstacles vanquished.”
Such is Krishna’s kRupa on his bhakta’s! )
sRuNvan gRuNan samsmarayan ca cintayan nAmAni rupANi ca mangalAni te
kriyAsu ya: tvat caranAravindayor AvishTacetA na bhavAya kalpate 10.2.37
(Those who constantly hear, chant, contemplate and cause others to remember your name and form and meditate upon your lotus feet have no need to be born again.)
Matsya ashva kacchapa nRusimha varAha hamsa rAjanya vipra vibudheshu kRutAvatAra:
tvam pAsi na: tribhuvanam ca yatha adhuna ISa bhAram bhuvo hara yaduttama vandanam te 10.2.40
(O Lord, You accepted incarnations as a fish, a horse, a tortoise, Narasimhadeva, a boar, a swan, Lord Rama, Brahmana ( Parasurama) and Vamanadeva, to protect the entire world by Your mercy. Now please protect us again by Your mercy. O Krishna, best of the Yadus, we respectfully offer our prayers unto You.)
distyA amba te kukshigata: para: pumAn amSena sAkshAd bhagavAn bhavAya na;
mA bhood bhayam bhoja-pate: mumurshor goptA yadoonAm bhavitA tavAtmaja: 10.2.41
(O mother DevakI, fortunately, the Supreme Lord Narayana Himself, is now within your womb. Therefore you need not fear Kamsa, who is courting his own death (by prosecuting you and your husband). Your son, Krishna will be the protector of the entire Yadu dynasty.)