I havent read the article, but if there is no mention about the enormous contribution by the fans then its a shame..it would seem as if the entire TIS-USA team had been taken for a ride. I hope someone could translate the whole interview here.
Printable View
I havent read the article, but if there is no mention about the enormous contribution by the fans then its a shame..it would seem as if the entire TIS-USA team had been taken for a ride. I hope someone could translate the whole interview here.
Dear all,
It has been a while since i have placed my thoughts on this forum, mostly i just read and keep my thoughts to myself. But i really do not know what made me to place my few thoughts on this forum, now.
A great salute to Fr.Gasper and SSSAV and his team. Well finally you have done it, atleast according to you. Now by the postings posted by many and ofcourse your goodself, i come to know that the release of the TBI is getting delayed due to many reasons, the prime being the inability to rope in Big Labels so that we can be assured of the money invested ( so as to clear the debts).
But i have few questions for the core of the team(Rev.Fr and SSSAV)...did you people tried any of the ideas proposed by many genuine fans of IR during the making of TBI and i happened to read many worthful ideas....i do remember many of those and i do myself placed my few cents of ideas like releasing of the BGM of HeyRam and Lajja, which incidently had the Symphony orchestra doing the score. And many in this forum came with many brilliant ideas, but that has been washed away in the drain.
Now i could hear that they have huge financial burden. Many a times IR has himself told that the Musical score is the property of the particluar MD. Why not you people didnot pursue in that direction.
"Aalukku ainthu Dollar could have been easily aalukku paththu dollar"
I personally feel that many workable ideas were not considered. And how could you realize the money without mean. You have a commodity and you can easily sell it. By having a virtual commodity how will you be able to sustain it. I really do not understand, i may even sound harsh, since there is no real problem in publishing/selling his creations which is "selected, edited and remastered" it could have been sold like hot cakes. There would have no necessity to look for money from different sources.
And the problem still continues.....thappu panrathu thappu illa athai thiruppi panrathu than thappu.....AIMHO.
I really do not know when it will be released.....but still then i will be liteneing to the immortal creations of my MASTER...just like 'dog listening the gramaphone....HMV LOGO'
Luv,
Raaja Rasikan
(in kumudam fonts. http://216.65.197.170/Kumudam.ttf )
F¼õ£êè‹ â‹ Ý¡Iè îI› Þô‚Aòˆ¬î àôè‹ º¿¶‹ ªè£‡´ ªê™½‹ Mîñ£è Þ¬÷òó£ü£M¡ Þ¬êJ™ C‹ªð£Q Þ¬ê êKˆFóˆ«î£´ à¼õ£‚AJ¼‚Aø£˜ 舫î£L‚è ð£FKò£˜ ªüèˆ è£vð˜.
å¼ A¼v¶õ ð£FKò£¼‚° Þ‰¶‚èO¡ ¹Qî Ëô£ù F¼õ£ê般î Þ¬ê õ®õñ£è ªè£‡´ õ¼Aø â‡í‹ âŠð® àFˆî¶?  Mò‚¬èJ™ Ü¬î‚ °Pˆ¶ ï‹Iì‹ îù¶ 輈¬î ðKñ£P‚ ªè£‡ì£˜ ªüèˆ è£vð˜.
‘‘ °ñK ñ£õ†ìˆ¬î ꣘‰îõ¡. ê£î£óí Mõê£ò °´‹ð‹ â¡«ù£ì¶. ÜŠð£ Þ‰¶, Ü‹ñ£ A¼v¶õ˜. âù¶ Þ÷õòF«ô«ò ÜŠð£ Þø‰¶M†ì  º¿‚è Ü‹ñ£M¡ õNJ«ô«ò õ÷˜‰«î¡.
âù¶ °´‹ð‹ Þó‡´ ñîŠ H¡ùE¬ò ªè£‡ì  Þ‰¶, A¼v¶õ ñî ªïPèœ Þó‡¬ì»‹ ï¡° ÜP‰¶ªè£‡«ì¡. Þ¼ ñ¬ìò ê샰èœ, ï‹H‚¬èè¬÷ à혉¶ ªè£œAø õ£ŒŠ¹ A¬ìˆî  Þó‡´ ñîˆF¡ Ü®Šð¬ì Mûòƒèœ ܬùˆF½‹ ð‚°õ‹ ܬ쉫î¡. Þó‡´ ñîƒèÀ‹ â¡Â¬ìò Þóˆîˆ«î£´ èô‰F¼‰î ªð£¶ˆî¡¬ñ«ò£´ â™ô£õŸ¬ø»‹ ܵ°Aø ñùG¬ô âù‚° A¬ìˆî¶. ܉î ÅöL™ Þ¬øðEJ™ ß´ðì ñù‹ M¼‹Hò A¼v¶õ ð£FKò£ó£è à¼õ£è G¬ùˆ«î¡. Üîù£™ ðˆî£‡´èœ ÜŠðE‚è£è ðJ¡«ø¡. 𮈶 º®ˆî¶‹ °ñK ñ£õ†ìˆF™ ° õ¼ìƒèœ ð£FKò£ó£è ðEò£ŸP«ù¡. Üî¡Hø° HLЬð¡v ®™ «õKˆî£v õ£ªù£OJ™ Þò‚°ùó£è ðEò£ŸP«ù¡.
܉î õ£ªù£OJ™ ðFªù†´ ÝCò ªñ£NèO™ åLðóŠðŠð´Aø¶. ÜF™  îI› HKM¡ Þò‚°ùó£è 㿠݇´èœ ðE¹K‰«î¡.
Üî¡Hø° èì‰î ݇´ Þ‰Fò£ F¼‹Hò¶‹ îI› ¬ñò‹ â¡Aø ܬñЬð à¼õ£‚A«ù¡. Þ‰î ܬñŠH¡ Íô‹ ïñ¶ ñ‡ ꣘‰î è¬ô Þô‚Aòƒè¬÷ àôè‹ º¿¶‹ ªè£‡´ ªê™õ«î âƒèœ Þô‚°.
܉î Þô‚°èO™ 塸£èˆî£¡ ï‹ ñ‡ ꣘‰î Ý¡Iè Þô‚Aòñ£ù F¼õ£ê般î àôè Ü÷M™ ªè£‡´ ªê™ô Þ¬êò¬ñŠð£÷˜ Þ¬÷òó£ü£M¡ àîM«ò£´ Þ‰î ºòŸC¬ò «ñŸªè£‡«ì£‹.
îIN™ âšõ÷«õ£ Ý¡Iè Ë™èœ Þ¼‚Aø¶. ÜF™ °PŠð£è F¼õ£ê般î Þ¬ê õ®M™ ªè£‡´õó cƒèœ ºò¡øFŸ° â¡ù‚ è£óí‹?
ªð£¶õ£è Ý¡Iè Þô‚Aò‹ â¡ð¶ ñQî ñùƒè¬÷ ܬñF 𴈶‹Mîñ£è ꣉FòO‚°‹ Mîñ£è è¬óò£î ñù¬î»‹ è¬óò ¬õ‚°‹ Mîñ£è Þ¼‚°‹. ÜF™ °PŠð£è F¼õ£êèŠ ð£ì™ â¡ð¶ ñùFŸ° ܬñF»‹ ²èº‹ F¼ŠF»‹, ꣉ î¼Aø ð£ì™è÷£è Þ¼‚Aø¶.
F¼õ£ê般î ð£®ù£™ à¼è£î ñùº‹ ༰‹ è¬óò£î ñùº‹ è¬ó»‹. ܶñ†´ñ™ô. àôè‹ ªð£¶ˆ ñò£ù¶. Þ¬øõ¡ å¼õ«ù ñî„ ê샰èœ, ê‹Hóî£òƒè¬÷ Mì Þ¬øõQì‹ êóí£èF ܬìõ¶ Cø‰î¶ â¡Aø 輈¬î àœ÷‚Aò ð£ì™èœ àôè‹ º¿¬ñ‚°‹ ªð£¶õ£ùî£è Þ¼‚Aø¶. â™ô£ ìõ¼‚°‹ ªð£¼ˆîñ£ù ñ£QìˆF¡ à¡ùîˆ¬î ªê£™Aø Þ‰î ð£ì™è¬÷ «ð£¡Á Þ¶õ¬ó  ð®ˆî «õÁ â‰î Ë™èO½‹ Þ™¬ô. Üîù£™î£¡ F¼õ£ê般î Þ¬ê õ®õñ£è àôè‹ º¿¶‹ ªè£‡´ ªê™ô G¬ùˆ«î¡.
Þ Þõ˜î£¡ Þ¬êò¬ñ‚è «õ‡´ªñù Þ¬÷òó£ü£¬õ «î˜‰ªî´ˆîF¡ «ï£‚è‹ â¡ù?
Þ¬÷òó£ü£ Üõ˜èœ F¬óŠðì Þ¬êò¬ñŠð£÷˜ â¡Aø G¬ô¬òˆ ® C‹ªð£Q, Ý¡Iè Þ¬êŠ ð£ì™èœ â¡Aø àò˜‰î G¬ôJ™ Þ¼Šðõ˜ Üîù£™ ªð£¶ ï‡ðK¡ õNò£è ï£ƒèœ Üõ¬ó ê‰Fˆ¶ âƒèÀ¬ìò «ï£‚èˆ¬î ªê£¡«ù£‹. àì«ù Üõ˜ ï‹ ñ‡ ꣘‰î Ý¡Iè Þô‚Aòˆ¬î C‹ªð£QJ™ ªè£‡´ õ¼õF™ ñA›„C âù 効‚ ªè£‡ì£˜. ãø‚°¬øò ÜÁð¶ ï£†èœ Iè‚ è´¬ñò£è à¬öˆ¶ àôè Þ¬ê ÜPë˜èO¡ õ£CŠ«ð£´ Iè„ Cø‰î ð¬ìŠð£è Þ¬î ªè£‡´ õ‰F¼‚Aø£˜.
°PŠð£è ªê£™õªî¡ø£™ Þ¬÷òó£ü£¬õ ªð£Áˆî õ¬ó‚°‹ Þ‰î ºòŸC¬ò å¼ îõñ£è G¬ùˆ¶ ªêŒF¼‚Aø£˜.
àƒèÀ¬ìò ºòŸC â‰î÷M™ Þ¼‚Aø¶?
º¿¬ñò£è îò£Kй ðE º®‰¶ ð£ì™èœ ªõOJìˆ îò£ó£ù G¬ôJ™ Þ¼‚A¡øù.
àôè Þ¬ê õ™½ï˜è÷£ù v¯ð¡ v†õvì¡ K„꘴ Cƒè£ «ð£¡«ø£˜èO¡ H¡ùE Þ¬ê„ «ê˜ŠH™ Iè Üöè£è, ÜŸ¹îñ£è ªêŒòŠð†®¼‚Aø¶.
Þ‰Fò Þ¬ê õóô£P™ Þ¶õ¬ó ò£¼‹ ïìˆFì£î ºòŸCò£è Þ¶ Iè Cóñˆ«î£´ îò£K‚èŠð†®¼‚Aø¶. Ý¡ñ£¬õ õ¼´Aø... Þîòˆ¬î ªî£´Aø ñ£FKò£ù Þ¬êò£è à¼õ£AJ¼‚Aø¶.
Þ¬ê ªõOf´ ⊫ð£¶?
º¿¬ñò£ù åLï£ì£ à¼õ£‚èŠð†´ Þó‡´ ñ£îƒèœ G¬ø‰¶M†ì¶. Ýù£™ ªõOJ´õF™î£¡ C‚è™ Þ¼‚Aø¶. ãø‚°¬øò Þ¼ËÁ àôè Þ¬ê‚ è¬ôë˜èO¡ à¬öй‚è£ù áFò‹ ðòí„ ªêô¾èœ,ªõO´ ªêô¾ âù å¼ «è£®«ò Þ¼ð¶ ô†ê‹ õ¬ó ªêôõ£AM†ì¶. Ýù£™ Ý®«ò£ ç¬ðóC â‹.H. ˆK C®‚èO¡ õó¾, âçŠ â‹ v«ìû¡èO¡ ÝF‚è‹ «ð£¡ø¬õè÷£™ MŸð¬ù â¡ð¶ I辋 «ñ£êñ£ù G¬ôJ™ àœ÷¶. ⡬ùŠ ªð£Áˆîõ¬ó âù¶ ªê£‰î ðíñ£ù â‡ð¶ ô†êƒèÀ‚è£è  èõ¬ôŠðìM™¬ô. Ýù£™ ð¶ ô†ê Ï𣌠èì¬ù ªðŸÁ îò£KˆF¼ŠðF™î£¡ C‚è™. Fù‹ Fù‹ õ†® MAî‹ ãP‚ªè£‡«ì Þ¼Šð¶ I°‰î èõ¬ôòO‚Aø¶.
å¼¹ø‹ ï™ô ð¬ìЬð ï‹ ñ‡ ꣘‰î Ý¡Iè Þô‚Aòˆ¬î àôè‹ º¿‚è ªè£‡´ ªê™ôŠ «ð£A«ø£‹ â¡Aø ꉫî£ûI¼‰î£½‹ ñÁ¹ø‹ ï™ô ð¬ìЬð ò£¼‹ ܃WèK‚è ñÁŠð¶ «õî¬ùòO‚Aø¶.
àôè‹ º¿¶‹ Þ¼‚Aø îIö˜èO™ ðˆî£Jó‹ «ð˜ ÝÀ‚° ðˆ¶ C.®. õ£ƒAù£«ô «ð£¶‹. ºîh´ ªêŒî ªî£¬è¬ò F¼‹ð ªðŸÁMì º®»‹. Ýù£™ Ü‰î ºòŸC¬ò âŠð® ªêŒõ¶? e‡´‹ ÜŠð® ªõOJ´õîŸè£ù ºîh†¬ì ⃫è èì¡ ªðÁõ¶ â¡Á ¹KòM™¬ô.
Þ¼ŠH‹ âù¶ Þ‰î ºòŸC Þ¶ «ð£¡ø ¹¶ ºòŸC â´‚èŠ «ð£°‹ ÷ò ê‰îFJù¼‚° å¼ º¡ àî£óíñ£è Þ¼‚è «õ‡´‹ â¡Aø Ýîƒèˆ«î£´ ªî£ì˜‰¶ «ð£ó£´«õ¡ 臮Šð£è àôè‹ º¿¶‹ ï‹ îI¬ö»‹ Ý¡Iè Þô‚Aòˆ¬î»‹ ªè£‡´ ªê™«õ¡.’’
ï‹H‚¬è«ò£´ ªê£™Aø£˜ ªüèˆè£vð˜.
ê‰Fй: ªð.è«íw,
ðìƒèœ: Cˆó‹ ñˆFò£v
Mobile: 9444072217
E-mail: jegath66@yahoo.co.uk
(not in [tscii])
Thanks very much RR! Nice to read it in tamil fonts. Has come out very well.
Krishnan
Info from TIS-USA site
US$ INR
Orchestra-Hungary 58,000 2,726,000
English Lyrics Stephan Schwartz 15,000 705,000
Richard King Sony Mixing 27,000 1,269,000
Ilaiyaraaja-Travel Stay Hospitality 10,000 470,000
Chorus recording India 50,000 2,350,000
Admin Overheads 4,000 188,000
Total 164,000 7,708,000
Loans India 100,000 4,700,000
Loans USA 50,000 2,350,000
Total 150,000 7,050,000
The Tamil Maiyam web site gives a donation list totaling to Rs.10.5 lacs.
The TIS-USA site lists the names of the donors but not the amount. Hence we don’t know the total donation inflow from the USA. Some time back Fr.Jegath mentioned a loan of USD 100,00 for him self and USD 40,000 for Mr. Sankar Kumar.
When I thought even Rs.77 lacs is a mind-boggling sum for a 60-minute album, Fr. Jegath talks of a total expense of Rs.1.2 crores. I just don’t understand many things here. Some of the expense figures are obnoxious, to say the least.
On what basis some one could have spent so much on a single album ?
And his talk of audio piracy, MP3, FM broadcast etc. have not come out just now. They are there for quite some time. And they are the reasons even major labels have stopped spending so much in creating new albums. Even when they do, they take into consideration these aspects before estimating a realistic sales figures and expected revenue. Based on which they plan and fix their project cost. Not the other way round.
A simple back of the hand calculation would tell you the kind of numbers TIO has to sell before even recuperating your investment.
And in this condition, the proud decision to donate all the profits this and that only looks like a crude joke.
Total Cost USD 255,319 Rs. 12,000,000
Pre release/Post Release Publicity USD 30,000 Rs. 1,410,000
Sales Estimation to break even:
Assuming a base price of USD 10 or INR 470 per CD as the final sales price
Inflow after Distri Commission/Freight expenses will be USD 4 per piece or INR 188 per piece.
Assuming the total production cost of Rs.1.2 crores plus the pre-release/post release publicity cost of Rs.14 lacs the total is Rs.1.34 lacs.
At this return rate of Rs.188 per piece, you have to sell about 71,330 pieces of CDs to break even. It would be very easy to get carried away with imaginary number of fans and the nos they may buy. But the reality may not be that easy.
Any rough idea how many copies a "Hit" (movie album) CD will sell In TN ?
Are they planning to release cassettes or not ?
NagaS
Because of piracy, now a days, achieving a figure of 30,000 to 50,000 cassettes is a very big figure for a hit Tamil film. Hardly one or two film albums in a year reach that level. Very rarely they reach the 75,000 to 100,000 mark. CD market still in its infancy as far as Tamil audio market goes.
From the interview and kannan's comments, it seems that the most difficult part is only ahead. It makes all the more sense for this album to be marketed by SONY or universal at an international level. Even then the sales will pick up in a great way only after a Grammy or a similar award in WCM section nomination. Added to all that is the need to transcend cultural barrier in introducing Thiruvacagam and IR to the world community. On the brighter side, what better opportunity than this to break the barrier! To take a cultural spark that is global in intent in a format that is apt for that purpose is by no means a simple undertaking. Being a simple fan of music, I can only hope that this materialises sooner than later. If the divinity to which this project is dedicated wills nothing is impossible!!!
http://www.webindia123.com/news/show...1933&cat=India
Does the above news mean that release and new objectives of TBI go back to the original intent?
Guys ,,
I think they have done aright thing by delaying teh proj in the wake of Tsunami ...
Look what's happening to Pongal releases ...Ayya inspite of excellent reviews and good wor dof teh Mouth is not running ...
Infcat none of teh Pongal Movies have been successfull..