test
Printable View
test
Noo.....I meant, even tho ur not from India/not living in India, ur showing so much concern over wats happening here in the present scenario.......:DQuote:
Originally Posted by a.ratchasi
NOV: *phew* when I din't find this thread the last time I logged in, I was rather surprised/puzzled!
haha, I got it the first time, dear Lambretta (Do you really want us all to type your id in full?:wink:). When it comes to entertainment such as mainstream movies, we all are affected by it. These are afterall our movies.Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambretta
Why? Because the movies, to an extent, are part of our heritage irregardless of our location. :smile2:
Tat makes sense.....:)Quote:
Originally Posted by a.ratchasi
Um....u cud call me Lamby..... :wink:
Much better than being called a lamb! :shock: :roll:
From today’s “The Times of India”:
Aspirations of the Indian woman have changed
…Kushboo must be relieved. But the people she had in a moment of dare spoken up for, women who did not set much store by their virginity and so quickly got rid of it before they tied the knot, must worry.
For the new Indian woman, life before marriage is not as straight or easy to explain as it was for her mother or grandmother. There was not much to do outside home, and, in any case, the world outside was not so alluring, not so beguiling in its promises as it is now. In the movies, Meena Kumari and Asha Parekh by and large wore saris and spoke in self-less rhetoric. They were pretty, coy, demure. Only the vamps, say Helen, Bindu, and, to a lesser extent, Padma Khanna, were empowered to drink, dance and seduce heroes.
The heroines now get to show their skin all they want-body is power-and in the end they don’t have to stop a stray bullet with their bust and so help the movie to a happy ending. Housewifery is not the only career option. Jump-cut to the call centre in your neighbourhood and you will know why. Money is the greatest liberator.
All is indeed flux. But one thing has remained constant- after a fashion. As recently as a decade ago, the average female sex ratio was 945 per 1000 men. It has dropped to 927 now. In Tamil Nadu, where Kushboo spoke the truth and shed tears of shame afterward, the female ratio is above national average, but still not quite healthy; 974. Clearly women in short supply. They are actually in a position to hike their price and call the shots. And one way or the other, that’s happening. The Indian woman, at least her urban counterpart, is getting a face.
You can see the change in advertisements, media, corporate offices, finance sector, hospitality industry and movies. At home as well. Almost all of it is happening with an assertive, even aggressive, vengeance.
Virginity, or the lack of it, then, is only one of the things that the Educated Indian Male may find missing in action. The morning tea, more movingly, is another..The last few years though have taken their toll. The average marriage age for women has gone up from18-22 to 25-27.
Equally interestingly, perhaps, matrimonial ads themselves have undergone a paradigmatic medium change. In the last three years or so, matrimonial ads have been dropping from the print medium to the advantage of Net-based online wedding sites. A good number of the brides on show here have a foreign academic background. It’s hard to accept that after spending around five years in Australia or America, the prospective bride will be the proverbial milk-serving virgin.
Memphis-bred or Mumbai born, the virgin bride is no longer the Indian male’s birthright. As the pro-Kushboo coverage of the controversy showed, the media is all for the new reality. The upwardly mobile, unisex urban reality. But the trouble is, as a class or income analysis of DPI or PKM will show, there is another India, rurally-rooted in mores and of uncertain material means; an India unable to articulate its speech and identity in a massively expropriated media-structure. This is the India of the Silent Majority.
(THE LAST TWO SENTENCES NEED TO BE UNDERLINED IN MY OPINION)
Informative but at the same time depressing! :( Esp. the 2nd & 3rd paras........*sigh*!!
Btw, pardon my ignorance but wat exactly is DPI or PKM?? I assume they hav sumthing to do w/ population?
Sailing in the same boat of ignorance!
From today’s “The Times of India”:
Why are today’s teenagers on a violence trip?
Experts, from psychiatrists to college counselors, say that teenage violence has been increasing over the years. Although brutal youth crimes have occurred before, they must now be seen in the context of “rampant smaller psychopathic behaviour”, says psychiatrist Harish Shetty.
Psychiatrist Rajesh Parekh cites a ‘Time’ magazine article which compared the top ten problems in American schools today to ten years ago, and found only truancy was common. “But ten years ago, truancy was Number 1 on the list, and now it isNo 10. It had been replaced by violence, pregnancy and drugs,” he says. “We can’t, of course, say it would be the same here, but certainly, in my time, bunking class was pretty much the worst you could do.”
While adolescence has always been a potentially explosive cocktail of hormones, uncertain identities and peer pressure, a constellation of factors from media exposure to the breakdown of the family is increasing the frequency and intensity of teenage violence today, say experts. “On the one hand, pressures have increased, on the other, there is a loss of ability to cope with anger and stress,” says Nilima Mehta, chairperson of the Child Welfare Committee.
Mehta feels that the growth of a consumerist, media-driven society has much to do with this phenomenon. “People are becoming used to instant gratification of impulses. Humans are now defined by what they have, not by what they are.” Agrees Anuradha Chavan, head of the Parent Teachers Association United Forum, “Blame the influence of the media and peer pressure which makes material goods and branded products all-important.”
It doesn’t help that current youth icons are largely film stars with fabulous lifestyles.
But psychiatrist Rajesh Parekh also sees some physiological factors at work. He notes that children are growing up much faster physically than they used to –girls attain puberty earlier, boys are taller than their dads were at the same age- a hormonal phenomenon that is sometimes attributed to changed diets and poor environment. “Physical growth is accelerated while emotional growth is not as fast, so physically many teens are like adults yet emotionally still children,” he says.
But poor parenting has also a role to play. The joint family is long gone, and this is increasingly the age of latchkey kids, whose parents often make up for their inability to spend time with their kids by spending money on them.
A survey done by the Parents Teachers Association last year showed that only 30-40% of the respondents actually kept track of their children’s movements.
Parenting is far more challenging today than it ever has been,” says Mehta, adding that there have been many cases where children have even run away on being denied something.
Very interesting article, ma'am!
Agreed ...my cousins children are taller and bigger in size that my cousins were at their age!
And, some parents I know do spoil the kids as mentioned in the para....
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavalamani pragasam
Autobiography of a Sex Worker
Her long, wavy, black hair tied loosely in a knot, 50-year-old Nalini Jameela looks like any other housewife.
But this attractive, largely uneducated mother of two is a best-selling author and prostitute whose outspoken views of sex work as a career choice have stirred a controversy.
Her Oru Lyngikathozhilaliyude Athmakatha (Autobiography of a Sex Worker), has angered both feminists, who say it glorifies sex work, and conservatives, who think prostitutes should keep quiet.
"I have written this book for other sex workers. I wanted to talk about it to remove the stigma," Jameela said
"People think we are bad because we have sex for money. Nobody understands our grief."
Jameela was forced into prostitution 25 years ago when her first husband died, leaving her with a child to support.
Sex work paid more than she was earning as a factory worker. She charges her clients between Rs 500-1,000 per visit. Her first customer was a policeman.
When she came out of the room the next morning, she was beaten up by police on orders of another policeman she had turned down.
"I felt humiliated, but I had no option but to continue." Jameela estimates she has had sex with more than 1,000 men since then — she took some time off after her later marriages — and feels her work is an important social service.
"If there is no sex work, it would lead to a situation comparable to a pressure cooker with its safety valve locked on. The truth is that sex workers are doing a great service," she says in her book in Malayalam.
:roll: :oops: :cry:
Sandeep : You left out these lines which I found the most bugging !
"It is not just my daughters. I will tell other women also about the hardships of sex work and then if they want to get into it, I won't stop them," Jameela says.
For her part, Jameela intends to continue with sex work as long as she stays healthy, saying she has had more freedom as a sex worker than she has ever had as a wife.
"Looking back, I find life as a sex worker more enjoyable. As a wife one has to listen, to always be dominated by someone," Jameela said.
"I like being a sex worker. Some become lawyers, doctors. It was my choice to become to a sex worker."
Its not a career choice .Will they be offering studies next :roll:
Incase any of you wantto read the full article..
http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20051215/...NlYwN5bmNhdA--
Dangerously misleading! Disgracefully awesome!
My post MAY NOT be appreciated by many. But just wanna give my 2 cents.
I always feel sex workers need to be respected. They do it as their profession. I remember reading (and also acknowledging it) somehwhere that if not for sex workers, RAPE, SEXUAL ADVANCES, SEXUAL HARASSMENTS etc would increase in multitude.
Like in many countries, India has legalised this profession. We need not glorify them, then again I find its not right on our part to PUT THEM DOWN. Its their career.
Sex is urged everywhere in india via media. We, who cant question those repulsive dance moveents, close-to-nude clothings, suggestive dialogues, are ready enough to question or look down upon sex workers.
This woman in her autobiography, I agree, is shockingly open. Her statement about encouraging sex-work as a career to ANY WOMAN, sounds very abhorrent. yes.
When the question of accepting sex-workers with ease amognst the society IS IN-ITSELF IS A QUESTION, such statements are not welcomed by many.
We encourage women being sold as sex symbols in many field around. Some Women in the name of fashion, do expose themselves unashamedly. Fashion shows and beauty shows are carried on and has become the talk of COMMON MAN.
This, I guess is one more step. When we keep mum about all those, we are helpless here too.
Isn't dating a form of prostitution? With the entry of dating culture has not prostitution gained surreptious entry into our society?
SP, you wrote my thought!!!...
But I didn't know that it has been legalised in India...
Dev,
They were fightin for it. As much as I know, I think it is legalised . (not sure on this part. someone can clarify)
PP maam,
Dating does not mean prostitution. Dating is just meeting of similar minds, and spending some memorable moments with them. Dating is mistaken by many youngsters and older gen ppl TO INVOLVE SEX.
One can have a date with DAD, MOM, FRIEND OR boy/girl friends(lovers). It need not necessarily result in sexual adavances.
A date is just PLEASNT time spent together.
SP:
In one thing I agree with you.A Sex worker also should be given equal respect in society.Afterall to them prostitution is work.
But what I cant accept is recognising prostitution as quality work.IMHO its demeaning to the feminine gender, to mankind itself as a whole.How can an act of nature existing soley as a display of affection/love and/or for the purpose of procreating be reduced to this?
Ssajinika,
I hear there are male sex - workers too :shock:Quote:
But what I cant accept is recognising prostitution as quality work. IMHO its demeaning to the feminine gender, to mankind itself as a whole
sad. I agree wtih u 500 percent ON THIS. Sex which actually is a display on love and affection, ruthlessly, sold out. Sold out everywhere in different names. :cry:Quote:
.How can an act of nature existing soley as a display of affection/love and/or for the purpose of procreating be reduced to this?
Well, if everyone wants only love and affection then this wont happen ssajinika. What ppl want is LUST. Thats when they go to these places.
If the world is a perfect place, many things wont be here.
I do welcome legalising them, and respecting them SO THAT ATLEAST THEY GET EDUCATED ON SAFE SEX. Aids and other dangerous diseases would reduce .
SP, my knowledge of present day 'dating' gathered from contemporary western novels gives me a fair insight into the lifestyles of western countries & what really "dating" is. The tragedy is our people are blindly aping the west in this also!
SP,
It's sanjinika's post U've answered to...not mine... :)
If a woman,specially a mother wants to be a sex slave,is proud about it and boasts that she is doing a great social service, the words in my vocabulary won't be enough to describe it.Quote:
Originally Posted by ssanjinika
It is evident that she chose to be here because this offers better money and comforts than the hardships of the factory work.And didn't she make more money from that nasty book by selling it to 10000 real idiots who enjoys third rate sex stories! :x
By the way Kerala appears to be a good market-500 to 1000 rupees to visit an ugly fifty year old whore! :banghead:
Thanx, blahblah for understanding & revealing the true colours of an "enterprising" "personality"!
You have simply highlighted my sentiments, blahblah! :lol: :lol: :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by blahblah
Legalising prostitution will not eliminate the social issues highlighted here.
If at all the woman highlighted the trials and tribunals in her life, my reaction would have been totally different.
Instead, here's a woman who not only takes pride in selling herself, but also goes to the extent of preaching it as a career choice for the young. Taking precautions is one thing, glamorising and encouraging it is another!
sorry dev. I changed my messege :smile:
Quote:
Murder of call centre worker shocks Bangalore
BANGALORE: Being the largest BPO hub in the world, over 200 domestic, multinational, captive and pure-play companies in Bangalore employ two lakh call centre executives, of which women account for 50%.
Probably, this could be the only industry in the country that believes in a fair gender formula of 50:50.
This large army of young things, in the age bracket of 19 to 26, has so far been a happy and carefree lot.
The rape and murder of a 24-year-old city woman BPO worker has actually nicked off the "security feel" that existed among the agents community, especially among women employees and their parents.
24 year old Pratibha was picked up by the car driver Shivakumar from her house in South Bangalore around 0200 hrs on December 13 under the pretext of ferrying her to office. But he had driven her to an isolated spot near Anjanapura, raped and murdered her. He later dumped her body in a ditch and fled the scene. Prathiba was recently married to Pavan, also working for a BPO firm, a year ago.
Swathy,
I posted the link in 'picked from papers' thread.
I am not able to get over the shock and sadness. All along I was thinkign callcentre job is a safe one :cry:
I reminded of famous deduction that, 'Freedom is considered achieved only when a woman goes out alone at 12 midnight wearing all jewellery...and yet safely reach her destination'(Was it bharathiyar?!)
SP,
I guess it was Gandhiji who said that...
I stand corrected dev. (Gandhiji)
Looks like no country would have that kinda freedom after all. :cry:
Shakti: I should say it used to be safe in Bombay. I've had a few experiences of travelling alone in the night in Bombay so has my mother... I remember when my dad was in hospital and we used to do rounds.... one of us would stay till 11:00 or 11:30 in the night and take a bus/taxi home.... we've never had a problem coming back home alone at that time of the night!
Even a couple of years ago, I landed in Bombay in the middle of the night, didn't have a problem taking a taxi from the Internation airport to Gateway at that time of the night.. and I've done that a few times before as well!
I am not sure if it still the same there....I've never felt that safe in Madras at all though....
Hmmm... I feel Singapore is more safer... We sometimes used to go out for mid-night walks & I've seen girls on the road even at such odd hours... & I've always seen this young lady, who lives in the same condo where we live... She goes for jogging almost everyday at around 11.30PM!!!!!!...She'll be back after a long jog(an hr or so) in the neighbourhood... though I've not tried any such things myself, I've always felt it safer ever since I landed here... I lived in B'lore previously & never have I had the guts to keep the door open,when I'm alone at home, even during day time!!!...
I know what u are talkin about anou and dev.
Few months back, I wanted to take a citi-taxi to my aunt's house which is quite far off(1.5 hours drive from my place and in a relatively lonely area too)
I was under the idea of starting at around 9pm(due to some work) so that I reach by 10.30 and sleep over there. My aunt was SO STUBBORN and refused rightaway, commanding me TO START by 6.30 so that I dont travel alone after 8 pm (esp near her area)
Even when I argued about cititaxi drivers can be tracked down or that they are decent or that they maintain records, above all I have a small child too to accompany me.....
My aunt refused to give way and I had to travel early to reach there by 8. pm.
Sometimes we feel, world is not a dangerous a place anymore, but alas we are proved wrong. Elders are right after all MANY A TIMES.
Very true, SP... When we r living with good ppl all around us, we feel the whole world is good... But such incidents keep reminding us that it's still not as good as we think it is... When we were in B'lore we had an rick driver who was almost like one among our family... Such a friendly guy with whom I've never hesitated to travel any time of the day... Anytime, anywhere you'll see ppl with diff faces & we r the ones who need to be vigilant always... sad truth!!!...
I believe this is the first incident in Bangalore.
For the past 1.5 years i have traveled several times in the late night so as my colleagues.. We have never faced any problem.
Just one day before the incident I traveled in a call taxi by 11.30 p.m. Now I am getting more phone calls from my friends and relatives. All advise.
This has shaken the entire city.It’s a very big shock for software and BPO people.
The incident here is more appaling since the Vehicle was provided by the company and not some City Taxi. The driver and the vehicle are registered with the Company in question. The regular driver was not able to pick the lady and hence was replaced by this guy. If you are not safe in the vehicle provided to you by your company then what is safe.Please remember this is not some small time company but one of the biggest MNC's.
//I believe this is the first incident in Bangalore. //
No swathy this is not the first incident. Thought the combination of rape and murder is for the first time. Last year an Intel employee was killed by hitting on his head. People are regularly mugged, beaten for petty cash. Ther has been incidents of forced withdrawals from ATM stations. So much so that City commisioner had requested employees to hide thier ID Tags while out of your office and not to travel alone in night (after 7).
You and your colleagues are lucky but dont try it hard. There is much less to loose in being safe.
Almost all of us are in great shock. Even this Friday I was supposed to stay back .I went to office on Saturday instead of staying back on friday. Today we should discuss with our manager in Hyderabad regarding this.Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandeep
FYI...
With the incidents happening around us and the crime that is been reported we can SAFELY say that each day is getting worse in our good old garden city. Under this situation we will always have a question in our conscious mind which asks us AM I SAFE ? No one can give you an accurate answer to this .... crime is like an accident which we can meet up with at anytime.The best way not to meet with it is to follow the doctors proverb "PRECAUTION IS BETTER THAN CURE" . Crime happens only if there is opportunity given to it or when there is chance for it.
A few tips that can definitely help everyone,
1) Avoid speaking to people whom you don't know (au to rickshaw driver, taxi drivers ....)
2) Avoid late night parties.
3) Do not mix drinking with your wonderful ability to drive.
4) Avoid taking ladies to the late night parties, if you cannot avoid then try going in groups.
7) Avoid taking short cuts when going out in the nights.
8) Avoid restaurant/dhabas in the outskirts of the city as these are places where anti social elements usually hang out.
9) Report incidents to the police if you feel it is the correct information that you are providing to them.
10) Make sure you inform any one before you visit them late at night and also specify time frames.
11) Avoid arguing with auto rickshaw drivers and also when you find people who are fighting on roads(it could be a trap)
12) Avoid having personal and friendly conversation with taxi d rivers, auto rickshaw drivers , Cab drivers (Specially women)
13) If the driver behaves suspiciously/ rudely try to divert the vehicle to some public place and then immediately get off. Inform the transport department and your manager.
14) Women make sure that you are carrying something to protect yourselves such as a bottle of pepper spray and also make sure that you are wearing a jacket or a shawl if you are not escorted by a man whom you know.
Below attached are the list of phone numbers of police stations of your respective areas in Bangalore. Please keep them handy so that it will be of some use to you some day... As the famous Theory of Charles Darwin goes " Survival of the fittest" . When there is no mercy from the assailant why then should be the sa me from you.
Contact Numbers of ACP's (EAST DIVISION)
NAME OF SUB-DIVISION & PHONE NO
OFFICE
A.C.P.ULSOOR,
P.I.ULSOOR,
P.I.INDIRANAGAR,
P.I.H.A.L,
P.I.BYAPPANAHALLY,
P.I.MAHADEVAPURA,
P.I.J.B.NAGAR,
P.I.AI RPORT,
A.C.P.FRAZER TOWN,
P.I.FRAZER TOWN,
P.I.BHARATHINAGAR,
P.I.D.J.HALLY,
P.I.COMMERCIAL STREET,
P.I.SHIVAJINAGAR,
P.I.BOWRING HOSPITAL,
A.C.P.K.R.PURAM,
P.I.K.R.PURAM,
P.I.BANASAWADI,
P.I.K.G.HALLY,
P.I.R.M.NAGAR,
P.I.HENNUR,
Contact Numbers of ACP's South Division
NAME OF SUB-DIV & PHONE NO
OFFICE
A.C.P.CHAMARAJPET,
P.I.CHAMARAJPET,
P.I.CENTRAL,
P.I.VICTORIA HOSPITAL,
P.I.SHANKARAPURAM,
P.I.N.T.PET,
P.I.HANUMANHANAGAR,
P.I.GIRINAGAR,
P.I.K.G.NAGAR,
A.C.P.JAYANAGAR,
P.I.JAYANAGAR,
P.I.BASAVANAGUDI,
P.I.BANASHANKARI,
P.I.J.P.NAGAR,
P.I.SUBRAMANYAPURA,
K.S.LAYOUT,
A.C.P. ADUGODI,
P.I.MADIVA LA,
P.I.MICO LAYOUT,
P.I.ADUGODI,
P.I.KORAMANGALA,
P.I.THILAKNAGAR,
P.I.SIDDAPURA, B.
Contact Numbers of ACP’s WEST DIVISION
OFFICE
RES
A.C.P.CHICKPET,
P.I.CHICKPET,
P.I.UPPARPET,
P.I.CITY MARKET,
P.I.KALASIPALYA,
A.C.P. KENGERI GATE,
P.I.COTTONPET,
P.I.KENGERI,
P.I.BYATARAYANAPURA,
P.I.J.J.NAGARA,
P.I.JNANABHARATHI,
P.I.CHANDRALAYOUT,
A.C.P.VIJAYANAGARA,
P.I.VIJAYANAGAR,
P.I.MAGADIROAD,
P.I.BASAVESHWARANAGARA,
P.I.KAMAKSHIPALYA,
P.I.K.P.AGRAHARA,
Contact Numbers of ACP’s NORTH DIVISION
OFFICE
A.C.P YESHWANTHAPURA,
P.I.YESHWANTHAPURA,
P.I.JALAHALLI,
P.I.R.M.C.YARD,
P.I.PEENYA,
P.I.GANGAMMANAGUDI,
P.I.SOLADEVANAHALLI,
A.C.P.MALLESWARAM,
P.I.SRIRAMPURAM,
P.I.RAJAJINAGAR,
P.I.MAHALAKSHMI LAYOUT,
P.I.SUBRAMANYANAGAR,
P.I.RAJAGOPALANAGARA,
A.C.P.J.C.NAGARA,
P.I.HEBBALA,
P.I.R.T.NAGARA,
P.I.YELAHANKA NEW TOWN,
P.I.SANJAYNAGARA,
P.I.VIDYARANYAPURA,
Contact Numbers of ACP's (Central Division)
NAME OF SUB-DIV & PHONE NO
OFFICE
A.C.P.ULSOOR GATE,
P.I.ULSOOR GATE,
P.I.ASHOKANAGAR,
P.I.WILSON GARDEN,
P.I.S.R.NAGAR,
P.I.S.J.PARK,
P.I.VIVEKNAGAR,
A.C.P.SESHADRIPURAM,
P.I.SESHADRIPURAM,
P.I.HIGH GROUNDS,
P.I.VYALIKAVAL,
P.I.SADASHIVANAGAR,
A.C.P.VIDHANA SOUDHA,
P.I.VIDHANA SOUDHA,
P.I.CUBBON PARK,
WOMEN HELPLINE
VANITHA SAHAYAVANI (VSV) -- CALL 1019
SEND IT TO YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY MEMBERS.
I don't know if this is yet a matter of shame, but it certainly should be a matter of concern.
Here’s what inspired this write-up:
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/mazdak/20051203.htm
http://www.rediff.com/news/2005/dec/16rajeev.htm
http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=60153
My attention has of late been caught by articles and press reports regarding the marriage of Hindu women to Muslim men. In case you missed the point, Indian Islamic civil law stipulates that Muslims can only marry Muslims, with the consequence that the said Hindu women need per-force to convert to Islam as a prerequisite to experience the bliss (or is abyss?) of married life. Concepts of pseudo-egalitarianism http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewt...411&highlight= and pseudo-secularism, propagated by the English media, have inured us to such events and the (religious) majority of the populace of this nation quietly goes about its mundane tasks without taking cognizance of the fact it has just lost an entity invaluable to the propagation and perpetuation of its own existence. Those who do take due cognizance are immediately labeled as being “communal”, and no effort is spared to tarnish and rubbish their reputation (which, in the first place, never existed in eyes of the “secular”).
While it is not my intention to advocate the proscription, or even restriction, of the fundamental right to marriage off free will, it pains me to see the misrepresentation and misuse of this clause of the Indian Constitution, like many other such clauses, to serve the narrow interests of a particular community, and those that feed off it, at the detriment of others. The point I wish to make is that while “grown” humans have every right to decide who they wish to live with, in many such (i.e. these cross-religious) cases these choices are less often based on informed judgment than on coercion, intimidation or a combination thereof.
It is also important to realize that these cases of Hindu-Muslim lovey-dovey union almost always involve a Hindu woman and a Muslim man (yes, there may be genuine exceptions, but I am only addressing the general trend here). Of course, given that she risks real, immediate and debilitating physical harm not only to self, but also to those associated with her, it is easy to understand that the Muslim women would be rather less inclined to participate in adventures of elopement with a Hindu man. While the flight of Hindu women (and, mind you, this is certainly a flight, perhaps yet only a turbo-prop, but still a flight), may be a marker of the social emancipation achieved by these (Hindu) women, such incidents must serve to raise the hackles of those more initiated into concepts of social equality and true egalitarianism and secularism.
The articles by Rajeev Srinivasan and Irfan Husain (listed above), seem to strongly indicate that the cases they analyzed almost certainly involve a high degree of coercion and intimidation, while the episode in Gujarat (also listed above) seems to involve either the call of true love, or a fair amount of brainwashing or a bit of both. I am not an investigative reporter and as such do not possess access to information to which you are not privy, and hence am unable to ascertain for sure the true causal relationship behind each of the above incidents. However, allowing for the possibility that a majority of the cases involving the flight of the maidens are indeed due to the call of love, I wish, and seek your inputs, to ascertain the reasons of why such intelligent species tend to end up making such foolish life-changing decisions (and oh, if willful entry into a restrictive, repressive and regressive patriarchal society isn’t foolish, then pray do tell me what is).
With the limited exposure I have had to this alternative world (yeah, never been there, never done that), I now embark on a reason-finding mission to penetrate the mind of the Hindu woman and ascertain why, pray why, would she even be remotely interested in associating herself with a Muslim man. What follows are a few thoughts currently running through my Hippocampus.
1. The shortcomings of the Hindu religion: Flexible and convenient is a catch-all phrase that sort of sums up a comparison of Hinduism against Islam and Christianity. Most people like it, perhaps some do not. Or perhaps some do not realize the benefits (and the importance) of these traits. Yes, for “lower caste” people, it is easy to get disillusioned even otherwise with this religion: a definitive stain that needs to be bleach-washed.
2. Misinformation: Young people are impressionable and young Hindu females are no exception. It should not be too hard for the initiated to put up and maintain pretenses if the juice is worth the squeeze.
3. The influence of Bollywood: While the negative social influences of Bollywood would fill an encyclopedia, I shall limit myself to the glamorization of the Muslim male brought about by the perpetual insistence on the casting of leading men (not ladies, mind you) with surnames ranging from all types of Khans to all types of Shahs. Sure, there exist non-Khans and non-Shahs too, but honestly
a. What is the proportion of their numbers?
b. How many of them are not supported by surnames such as Bachan?
4. The lure of petro dollars: I am not aware how much of a problem this poses in the northern reaches of the country, but I am convinced that a vast majority of southern Muslim households are powered by the profits of OIC countries. Needless to say, Riyals and Dinars hold much more allure than the RBI-issued Rupee.
5. Physical appearance of the Muslim male: I have had a few Muslim (boy) friends in school and college, and a noticeable connecting cord between them was the singularly exceptional good looks that they were endowed with. However, if our women (yes, our, though not in a possessive but rather in an associative sense), were to fall for appearances, rather than substance, I must say that our Hindu women would fall drastically from the scales of high esteem I have held them in.
6. Lack of physical appeal of the Hindu male: Being a Hindu male myself, I am unable (and unwilling) to comment on this. Would a few women be so generous as to help out here?
7. Mental cockiness of the Hindu male: Eh?? Never would have thought so.
8. True love: Yeah, right.
9. Others: You tell me.
As I started out saying, I wish to learn what could possibly drive these unfortunate creatures into making the disastrous decisions they seem to be making. Every comment is welcome.
Ram
Came across this thread y'day but was too tired from my trip to post nething......:)
Exactly! When I first started reading the article posted by Sandeep, abt how this woman's first customer was, of all the persons, a policeman ( :hammer: ), I felt pity.......until the ending where I came across these statements from her glorifying her trade & encouraging more women to join this "service"! :evil: :hammer:Quote:
Incidentally, I wonder now wat those who call themselves as womens' libbers (ie, the ones who, aided by the media, publicly go on bitching abt how women hav been "mistreated" & "deprived of freedom & dignity" by our "outdated" culture/traditions....no I don't mean Kushboo!) wud hav to say abt this type of "freedom" tat is being encouraged by this one "bold" woman here! 'wonder if they wud be proud to see an otherwise low-profile woman "opening up" (in her case, literally!) & bulldozing our "antiquated" social mores so boldly!! :hammer:
Oh yea, if this book tat she wrote abt promoting her "business" disguised as a tragedy story of her life, ever manages to reach bookstalls in TN & never manages to stir a stronger-than-Kushboo controversy there (esp. from parties like PMK) , I'd request those of u living in TN to do us a favour & pelt those hypocrites w/ rotten eggs/watever u can find! :evil:Quote:
And didn't she make more money from that nasty book by selling it to 10000 real idiots who enjoys third rate sex stories! :x
Looks like many men r turning into really desperate, lonely, broken-down souls! Sounds like a rather dangerously alarming trend tho!Quote:
By the way Kerala appears to be a good market-500 to 1000 rupees to visit an ugly fifty year old whore! :banghead: