Dear Mr. Badri and Mr. Nov
Again , I am not able to read the postings of Mr. Hari Krishnan
Please address this problem
Printable View
Dear Mr. Badri and Mr. Nov
Again , I am not able to read the postings of Mr. Hari Krishnan
Please address this problem
Viggop,Quote:
Also, i read that she was exceptionally beautiful that Hanuman initially mistook her for Sita.But,saliva was flowing from her mouth in sleep and hence he identified her as a member of rakshasha race.is this true?
Hanuman , on seeing Mandodari, was amazed by her divine looks and respectable looks and thought for a moment, whether it could be Sita. But immediately he realized his mistake when he recollected , the way Sri Ram described about their relationship and the way Sri Ram loved Sita, and the extent how Sri Ram missing his dear Sita , it is absolute madness to imagine Sita sleeping so peacefully and happily.
That’s how he clears his momentary doubts and starts searching for Sita again.
Here I also have a query… I wish Hanuman ought not to have first searched for Sita in the palace of Ravana….
Balaji,Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Balaji
To wish that way is to presuppose everything. A good, honest, diligent investigator must first eliminate all remote possibilities of the truth going otherwise.
Reliability means not giving in to personal opinions and judgements. As a reliable investigator - Hanuman was not a mere messenger - Hanuman had to do that unpleasant job as well. Then, it may be asked, 'OK, why then he had to start from Ravana - and other's - houses, first? He could have searched other places and later come here.' One has to remember that what the entire Sundara Kandam covers are the events that took place within a matter of 24 hours. The time available for Hanuman was exceedingly short. He therefore started with the negative possibility first.
That is one thing. Another aspect is that, who knew where was Sita kept imprisoned in Lanka? He might have put her in his own gynaeceum («ó¾ôÒÃõ). Or he might have placed her in some other person's house, like Kumbakarna, Indrajit, Vibishana, etc. Nothing was clear at that time. And the puzzing question is, why Ravana, who had access to all the three worlds chose the Asoka Vana for keeping her in prison. What was the reason behind this peculiar preference, when he had more secure places to keep her imprisoned. Now, if I go into that, we would be branching off into what is known as «§º¡¸ÅÉ¢¸¡ ¿¢Â¡Âõ in ¾÷ì¸ º¡Š¾¢Ãõ.
Therefore, either way, Hanuman had to search all over Lanka. He did not merely search. He practically scoured through the city. [/tscii]
Mr. Hari Krishnan,
Nice thought provoking posting … Thanks… My point is …. Hanuman was a highly intelligent thinker and with great presence of mind.. All his steps were measured and calculated :
1. While appearing before Sri Ram when he landed at Thandakarunyam, enquiring about Ram and in a very diplomatic way puts forth Sugrivaa’s plight and the bad treatment from Valee and immediately making the attention of Ram focus on Sugriva as a friend and Valee as a bad element. I would say that it was Hanuman who successfully established the relationship between Ram and Sugriva and paved way for Valee’s end. Infact Sri Ram himself will appreciate to Lakshmana that Hanuman is an ideal minister and counsel for a successful King.
2. Even after Sita , Hanuman wishes that there should be some message to Ravana and he choses the ransacking of Asoka vanam and proves his might before smartly absorbing Bramasthiram of Indrajit for few moments. He created panic on Ravana by that act
3. When he meets Sri Ram , knowing the anxiety of him, he starts with the words… Kanden Karpinukaniyay kangalaal… Probably , Hanuman thought that even that micro second of anxiety should not be given to Sri Ram and he chose Kanden as the first word
When such an intelligent person – Hanuman , could think for a moment that Mandodari may be Sita….
Dear HariKrishnan Sir
I heard the story that Rakshasha race people will have saliva flowing from their mouth from my grandmother. :-)
I thought that the "pancha kanya" in Hinduism also included Kunthi.Kunthi was granted boon to be kanya forever as she begets karnan before marriage and gets afraid.
Donno whether Sita was mentioned.Also, did Mandodari marry Vibishana after ravana is killed? is this mentioned in Valmiki Ramayana?
I know that tara marries sugriva according to Valmiki Ramayana but kambar shows her as an ascetic.I read your explanation about this in chennaionline that times changed as well as moral values.
when you have time,tell us about the Asokavani ka nyayam.
let us keep this thread moving.
panchakanyas:-
http://www.indianest.com/hinduism/panchkanya/pk01.htm
À¡Ä¡ƒ¢,
þó¾ì §¸ûÅ¢¸¨Ç «ÛÁý ÌÈ¢ò¾ ¬öÅ¢ø ¨¸Â¡ñÊÕ츢§Èý. «ÛÁý: Å¡÷ôÒõ ÅÉôÒõ ±ýÈ ¦ÀÂâø Òò¾¸Á¡¸×õ ¸¢¨¼ì¸¢ÈÐ. «øÄРŨÄò ¾Çò¾¢ø þí§¸ À¡÷ì¸Ä¡õ:
http://www.harimozhi.com/ListArticle...ngArticleId=26
Áñ§¼¡¾Ã¢¨Âô À¡÷òÐ º£¨¾§Â¡ ±ýÚ ÁÂí¸¢Â¨¾ì ÌÈ¢ò¾ Ţš¾õ:
http://www.harimozhi.com/Article.asp?id=234
þó¾ þ¼ò¾¢ø «ÛÁÛ째¡, º£¨¾ì§¸¡ º¢ÈôÀ¢ø¨Ä. Áñ§¼¡¾Ã¢ì§¸ º¢ÈôÒ. «ÛÁ¨É§Â ´Õ¸½õ 'º£¨¾§Â¡' ±ýÚ ¿¢¨Éì¸ ¨Åò¾ «Ç×ìÌ º¢ÈôÒ.
Å¡øÁ£¸¢ þáÁ¡Â½ò¾¢ø, þó¾ À¡¾¢ô§À¡Î «§º¡¸ ÅÉò¨¾ «¨¼ó¾Ðõ, ¯ñ¨ÁÂ¡É º£¨¾¨Âì ¸ñ¼Ðõ 'þÐ º£¨¾¾¡ý' ±ýÀ¨¾ò ¾÷ì¸ Ã£¾¢Â¡¸ ¬öóÐ ÓÊ×ìÌ ÅÕ¸¢È¡ý. (1) þÅÙ¨¼Â §º¨Ä ´Õ Àì¸õ ¿£Ç š츢ø ¸¢Æ¢ÀðÊÕ츢ÈÐ. (2) ¿¨¸ô ¦À¡¾¢¨Âì ¸ðÊ¢ÕìÌõ н¢Ôõ, þó¾ §º¨ÄÔõ ´§Ã Á¡¾¢Ã¢Â¡É Ũ¸¨Âî §º÷ó¾¨Å. (3) «ó¾ò н¢ þó¾î §º¨Ä¢ĢÕ󾾡ý ¸¢Æ¢ÀðÊÕ츢ÈÐ. (4) «ó¾ô ¦À¡¾¢Â¢ø ±ó¦¾ó¾ ¬Àýí¸û þÕó¾É§Å¡ «¨Å þÅû §Áɢ¢ø ¸¡½ôÀ¼Å¢ø¨Ä. (5) «ó¾ ¬ÀÃ½í¸¨Ç «½¢ó¾¢Õó¾ «¨¼Â¡Çõ þÅû ¯¼Ä¢ø ¦¾Ã¢¸¢ÈÐ. («¾¡ÅÐ Å¡î ¸ðÎõ þ¼ò¾¢ø ¦ÅÙôÀ¡¸ò ¦¾Ã¢Ôõ þø¨Ä¡, «ôÀÊ.)
±ýÚ þùÅÇ× ¾÷ì¸í¸¨ÇÔõ ¾ÉìÌò ¾¡§É ¦ºöÐ ¿¢ÚŢ즸¡û¸¢ýÈ ºÁÂò¾¢ø þáŽý ÅÕ¸¢È¡ý. Å¡ìÌ Å¡¾õ ¿¼ì¸¢ÈÐ. þÐ º£¨¾¾¡ý ±ýÚ ÓÊ×ìÌ ÅÕ¸¢È¡ý «ÛÁý.
MY DEAR ADMINISTRATORS AND MODERATORS...
THIS IS MY THIRD POSTING ... I AM NOT ABLE TO VIEW THE POSTINGS OF MR. HARI KRISHNAN.
PROBABLY ITS COMING IN TAMIL ??
PLEASE HELP ME OUT..
I wish to read all his last 3 postings
My god! Let not the progeny of Ravana sue you for libel! :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by viggop
She dropped dead on the body of Ravana, lamenting.
People get confused between the abduction of Ruma (wife of Sugriva) by Vali, and Sugriva's marrying Tara after his death. The custom according to Valmiki's version is for the race to marry a brother's wife, after his death. (Sugriva was a king for sometime, when Vali was 'believed' to have been killed by Mayavi. At that time, it has to be noted, Sugriva and Tara had no mariltal relations.)
Balaji,
May be the reason why you are not able to read my three posts is that I have written in them in Tamil (tscii). I prefer writing in Tamil, in a Tamil group. I would also suggest that the discussions may be carried on in Tamil from hereon.
as mentioned by Hari, his posts are in Tamil. You need to have your Murasu Anjal open, to see them.Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Balaji
Hari, dont you think it is better to have the discussion in English, so that it has a wider reach.
alternatively, you can be bilingual.
HariKrishnan,Quote:
Originally Posted by Hari Krishnan
Appreciate your preference to write in Tamil but pls note that this thread will be viewed by others as well who may not be able to read Tamil and hence from now kindly do your postings in English only.
The ultimate objective should be that the message shall reach everyone , not to a limited set of people.
Best regards
S.Balaji
Rama was Lord Vishnu's 9th avatar in Satya Yuga, prior to Dwarpara Yuga, in which Ram, Lakshman, Bharatha and Satrughna, were born to King Dhasratha and his 3 wives, Sumitra, Kaikeyi, and Kausalya in Ayodhya.Quote:
Let's discuss about Ramayana, just like we have been discussing Mahabharath,in full depth, chapter by chapter.
Rama was Lord Vishnu's 9th avatar in Satya Yuga, prior to Dwarpara Yuga, in which Ram, Lakshman, Bharatha and Satrughna, were born to King Dhasratha and his 3 wives, Sumitra, Kaikeyi, and Kausalya in Ayodhya.
Dear Raghu,
I just now was going through your first posting… when you created this thread..
Ram’s avatar is Lord Vishnu’s 7th Avatar…
1.Macha
2.Koorma
3.Varaha
4.Narasimha
5.Vamana
6.Parasurama
7.Rama
8.Balarama
9.Krishna
10.Kalki
Ok,Ravana is mad after hearing sambulami is dead.He himself is willing to go and capture this monkey.But his generals(pancha senathipathis) stop him and remind him of his stature."World will laugh when they hear Ravana went to fight with a monkey.Even trimoorthis will laugh.People will think you have ineffecient generals.So let us go" they begged.Ravana agreed.
நீ குரங்கின்மேல் செல்லின்,
முறுவல் பூக்கும் அன்றே, நின்ற மூவர்க்கும் முகங்கள்?
'அன்றியும், உனக்கு ஆள் இன்மை தோன்றுமால், அரச!
வென்றி இல்லவர் மெல்லியோர்தமைச் செல விட்டாய்;
நன்றி இன்று ஒன்று காண்டியேல், எமைச் செல நயத்தி'
என்று, கைதொழுது இறைஞ்சினர்; அரக்கனும் இசைந்தான்
Generals this time took no chances.They prepared a msasive army.50,000 charriots,100,000 horsemen,200,000 cavalry,elephents which were so war hungry that their saliva became a river and charriots which run through that river made it a muddy pool.
ஆறு செய்தன ஆனையின் மதங்கள்; அவ் ஆற்றைச்
சேறு செய்தன தேர்களின் சில்லி;
ஆழித் தேர்த் தொகை ஐம்பதினாயிரம்; அஃதே
சூழிப் பூட்கைக்குத் தொகை; அவற்று இரட்டியின் தொகைய,
ஊழிக் காற்று அன்ன புரவி; மற்று அவற்றினுக்கு இரட்டி,
பாழித் தோள் நெடும் படைக்கலப் பதாதியின் பகுதி
But the rakshasa women knew the outcome already.They begged their husbands not to go and get killed by that monkey.Lovers,Children,wives and mothers all sorrounded asuras and cried and tried to prevent them from going to yamapuri."Not one of you is going to return" they cried.What a bad omen?
தொக்கது ஆம் படை, சுரி குழல் மடந்தையர், தொடிக் கை
மக்கள், தாயர், மற்று யாவரும் தடுத்தனர், மறுகி;
'ஒக்க ஏகுதும், குரங்கினுக்கு உயிர் தர; ஒருவர்
புக்கு மீண்டிலர்' என்று, அழுது இரங்கினர், புலம்பி
Asuras dint listen to their wives.The massive army went like an occean.'Pancha senathipathis went like panchaboothas' writes kamban.And kavichakravarthy himself has he couldnt find any uvamai(simility) to describe the panchasenathipathi's going to war with rage.
கை பரந்து எழு சேனைஅம் கடலிடைக் கலந்தார்;
செய்கைதாம் வரும் தேரிடைக் கதிர் எனச் செல்வார்-
மெய் கலந்த மா நிகர்வரும் உவமையை வென்றார்,
ஐவரும், பெரும் பூதம் ஓர் ஐந்தும் ஒத்து அமைந்தார்
what was their strength?The panchasenathipthis looked so strong that even if attacked with vishnu chakra,rope of varuna,yema's divine weapon,and shiva's trishul ,these pancha senathipathis will feel like needle prick.They had such massive physiques.
These were the senathipathis who opposed indhra earlier.Indhra was on iravatham,the divine elephent.These senathipathis held that massive elephents tail and silenced it by theatening it.They tied Yema with his pasa(rope) and threw him in Ravana's feet earlier.Their massive chest rivals mountains.Their massive shoulders insult occean waves.They were so skilled in murdering that yema himself looked like an apprentice before them.Their eyes are so fiery that even a blacksmith's pyre looked miniscule before them.
இந்திரன் இசை இழந்து ஏகுவான், இகல்
தந்தி முன் கடாவினன் முடுக, தாம் அதன்
மந்தர வால் அடி பிடித்து, 'வல்லையேல்
உந்துதி, இனி' என, வலிந்த ஊற்றத்தார். 20
'பால் நிறுத்து அந்தணன் பணியன் ஆகி, நின்
கோல் நினைத்திலன்' என, உலகம் கூறலும்,
நீல் நிறத்து இராவணன் முனிவு நீக்குவான்,
காலனை, காலினில், கையில், கட்டினார். 21
மலைகளை நகும் தட மார்பர்; மால் கடல்
அலைகளை நகும் நெடுந் தோளர்; அந்தகன்
கொலைகளை நகும் நெடுங் கொலையர்; கொல்லன் ஊது
உலைகளை நகும் அனல் உமிழும் கண்ணினார்
war started.It wasnt much of a war.Vini,vidi,vici....within a second the war was over.The massive army was finished off in a second says kamban
வார் மதக் கரிகளின் கோடு வாங்கி, மாத்
தேர் படப் புடைக்கும்; அத் தேரின் சில்லியால்,
வீரரை உருட்டும்; அவ் வீரர் வாளினால்,
தாருடைப் புரவியைத் துணியத் தாக்குமால். 33
இரண்டு தேர் இரண்டு கைத்தலத்தும் ஏந்தி, வேறு
இரண்டு மால் யானை பட்டு உருள, எற்றுமால்;
இரண்டு மால் யானை கக இரண்டின் ஏந்தி, வேறு
இரண்டு பாலினும் வரும் பரியை எற்றுமால். 34
மா இரு நெடு வரை வாங்கி, மண்ணில் இட்டு,
ஆயிரம்-தேர் பட அரைக்குமால்; அழித்து,
ஆயிரம் களிற்றை ஓர் மரத்தினால் அடித்து,
'ஏ' எனும் மாத்திரத்து எற்றி முற்றுமால். 35
உதைக்கும் வெங் கரிகளை; உழக்கும் தேர்களை;
மிதிக்கும் வன் புரவியை; தேய்க்கும் வீரரை;
மதிக்கும் வல் எழுவினால்; அரைக்கும் மண்ணிடை;
குதிக்கும் வன் தலையிடை; கடிக்கும்; குத்துமால்
Panchasenathipathis were mad to see this.They attacked hanuman.Within seconds one senathipathi was killed.Seeing this the other 4 fought like kalagni.Hanuman killed one more senathipathi by stamping him on the floor,like how we kill an insect by stamping it.
மதித்த களிற்றினில் வாள் அரிஏறு
கதித்தது பாய்வதுபோல், கதி கொண்டு
குதித்தனன்; மால் வரை மேனி குழம்ப
மிதித்தனன்-வெஞ் சின வீரருள் வீரன்
Seeing this the other 3 became suiciide squads."Why should we live" they roared and fought with hanuman.They went for malyuddha(wrestling).Hanuman hugged two and crushed their bones.He stamped the fifth person's head and killed him.
தாம்பு என வாலின் வரிந்து, உயர் தாளோடு
ஏம்பல் இலார்இரு தோள்கள் இறுத்தான்;
பாம்பு என நீங்கினர், பட்டனர் வீழ்ந்தார்-
ஆம்பல் நெடும் பகைபோல் அவன் நின்றான்
நின்றனன் ஏனையன்; நின்றது கண்டான்;
குன்றிடை வாவுறு கோள் அரி போல,
மின் திரி வன் தலைமீது குதித்தான்;
பொன்றி, அவன், புவி, தேரொடு புக்கான்.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As usual the guards run to tell this to Ravana.He sees them running in.He guesses what they are going to say.This is the third time its happening.The suspense is out.But still he has to hear it from the guards' mouths.Ravana stares at them with fire in his eyes.
"The monkey killed the army and the generals" cried the guards."Only we were spared.After killing all of them the monkey now looks as if its bored" say the guards.
Some funny verse."The monkey looks bored....."....in reality no guard will say like this to Ravana.But kavi chakravarthy finds his own funny sequences.
'தானையும் உலந்தது; ஐவர் தலைவரும் சமைந்தார்; தாக்கப்
போனவர் தம்மில் மீண்டோ ம் யாம், அமர் புரிகிலாமை;
வானையும் வென்றுளோரை வல்லையின் மடிய நூறி,
ஏனையர் இன்மை, சோம்பி இருந்தது, அக் குரங்கும்' என்றார்
Ravana fumed after hearing this news.He rose as fire rises in anger.But his son atchaya kumaran stopped him.
"If you want to fight with an animal you can fight with the vehicle of 3 eyed lord(nandhi),the mother like bird which carries the one who measured 3 worlds(Garuda),The bed in which that lord sleeps(adisesha) or Asta dig Gajas.Fighting with these animals is befitting your valor.But if you fight against a monkey that is an insult.Dont" he said
'முக்கணான் ஊர்தி அன்றேல், மூன்று உலகு அடியின் தாயோன்
ஒக்க ஊர் பறவை அன்றேல், அவன் துயில் உரகம் அன்றேல்,
திக்கயம் அல்லதேல், புன் குரங்கின்மேல் சேறி போலாம்!
இக் கடன் அடியேற்கு ஈதி; இருத்தி ஈண்டு இனிதின்; எந்தாய்
Tamil plays in this verse.Kamban just doesnt say "nandi,garuda" he praises nandhi as 'முக்கணான் ஊர்தி thus hailing shiva as well as nandhi.But when it comes to Garuda he sings a small sahsranama on it.மூன்று உலகு அடியின் தாயோன் ஒக்க ஊர் பறவை.Kamban brushes of asta dig gajas as 'திக்கயம்'.Nothing special to say about them.Kamban clearly shows he is a sri vaishnavite here.
Akshaya kumara speaks very brave words."what is this animal?It is nothing.Send me.Even if it is an avathar os lord shiva, I will capture it.If this monkey is a reincarnation of the lion that came out of the pillar or the varaha that dug the earth, It doesnt matter.Send me.I will not spare it even if it crosses this universe" he says.
இமையா முக்கண் ஈசனே என்ற போதும்,
நொய்தினின் வென்று, பற்றித் தருகுவென், நொடியில் நுன்பால்.
'தூண்டத் தூண் அகத்துத் தோன்றும் கோளரி, சுடர் வெண் கோட்டு
மண் தொத்த நிமிர்ந்த பன்றி ஆயினும், மலைதல் ஆற்றா;
அண்டத்தைக் கடந்து போகி அப் புறத்து அகலின், என்பால்
தண்டத்தை இடுதி அன்றே, நின்வயின் தந்திலேனேல்!
(There are many sri vaishnavites who claim that Hanuman is lord shiva incarnation.In some hanuman temples we can see a linga image on the wall and hanuman idol standing as a silhoutte.Maybe kamban refered to this itheeka when he equated hanuman with shiva.)
Ravana was happy after hearing this brave words.Which father will not be happy hearing brave words from his son's mouth?He did not think about his son's safety.Akshaya kumaran wasnt as valorous as Indrajit,kumbakarna or pancha senathipathis.But Ravana forgot it.Hearing the brave words of his son he started believeing that his son will defeat this monkey.
He sent akshaya kumara to war like how a father sends his son to school picnic."Go in Indira's charriot" said Ravana.Indira was working as a slave in Lanka.His beautiful charriot was charrioted by Mathalai,Indiras favorite charrioter.Ravana gave that charriot to akshaya kumara.
என, இவை இயம்பி, 'ஈதி விடை' என, இறைஞ்சி நின்ற
வனை கழல் வயிரத் திண் தோள் மைந்தனை மகிழ்ந்து நோக்கி
'துனை பரித் தேர்மேல் ஏறிச் சேறி' என்று இனைய சொன்னான்;
புனை மலர்த் தாரினானும், போர் அணி அணிந்து போனான். 6
ஏறினன் என்ப மன்னோ, இந்திரன் இகலின் இட்ட,
நூறொடு நூறு பூண்ட நொறில் வயப் புரவி நோன் தேர்;
கூறினர் அரக்கர் ஆசி; குமுறின முரசக் கொண்மூ;
ஊறின உரவுத் தானை, ஊழி பேர் கடலை ஒப்ப
A massive army followed akshaya kumara.Kamban gives the number of elephents,charriots and horses that went to war with pancha senathipathis.But now he says that he is unable to count the army that went to war with akshaya kumara."If it is possible to count fish in occean,bubbles in occean,sand in sea shore then it is possible to count the horses,charriots and elephents that went to war with akshaya kumara" he says.
பொரு கடல் மகரம் எண்ணில், எண்ணலாம் பூட்கை; பொங்கித்
திரிவன மீன்கள் எண்ணில், எண்ணலாம் செம் பொன் திண் தேர்;
உரு உறு மணலை எண்ணில், எண்ணலாம் உரவுத் தானை;
வரு திரை நிரையை எண்ணில், எண்ணலாம் வாவும் வாசி
sons of akshayakumara,his close friends,his ministers,their children,children born to Ravana from devaloka women all sorrunded akshayakumara.4 lakh soldiers went as just his body guards.They carried very cruel weapons.Kamban spends one stanza describing these weapons.
மந்திரக் கிழவர் மைந்தர், மதி நெறி அமைச்சர் மக்கள்,
தந்திரத் தலைவர் ஈன்ற தனயர்கள், பிறகும், தாதைக்கு
அந்தரத்து அரம்பைமாரில் தோன்றினர் ஆதி ஆனோர்,
எந்திரத் தேரர், சூழ்ந்தார்-ஈர்-இரண்டு இலக்கம் வீரர். 10
தோமரம், உலக்கை, சூலம், சுடர் மழு, குலிசம், தோட்டி,
ஏ மரு வரி வில், வேல், கோல், ஈட்டி, வாள், எழு, விட்டேறு,
மா மரம், வீசு பாசம், எழு முளை, வயிரத் தண்டு,
காமரு கணையம், குந்தம், கப்பணம், கால நேமி.
"Not only this massive army went to war" says kamban."Crows,vultures,ghosts that eat corpses,yema and karma accumulated over years all followed this doomed army" writes kamban.Crows and vultures were happy about the feast that awaited them.Hearts of wives and lovers followed the army says kamban.
காகமும், கழுகும், பேயும், காலனும், கணக்கு இல் காலம்
சேகு உற வினையின் செய்த தீமையும், தொடர்ந்து செல்ல;
பாகு இயல் கிளவிச் செவ் வாய்ப் படை விழிப் பணைத்த வேய்த் தோள்
தோகையர் மனமும், தொக்க தும்பியும், தொடர்ந்து சுற்ற
Akshayakumara was not known for his valour,but was known for his beauty.Seeing him hanuman wondered whether this was Indrajit,Ravana or lord subramanya himself.Then by seeing that he doesnt have 10 heads he realized that he wasnt ravana."He did not have 6 heads,so he wasnt subramanya.This is somebody else.Who is it?" wondered maruthi
'பழி இலது உரு என்றாலும், பல் தலை அரக்கன் அல்லன்;
விழிகள் ஆயிரமும் கொண்ட வேந்தை வென்றானும் அல்லன்;
மொழியின், மற்று அவர்க்கு மேலான்; முரண் தொழில் முருகன் அல்லன்;அழிவு இல் ஒண் குமாரன் யாரோ, அஞ்சனக் குன்றம் அன்னான்
But Akshayakumara was disappointed after seeing hanuman.'Did I bring this massive army to fight with this monkey" he wondered.He started abusing Hanuman.But mathalai,the charrioter knew what ego is.He has seen indra suffering from ego and underestimation of opponents.So he warned akshaya kumara."Your father was defeated by a monkey(vali) remember that" he said.
என்றவன், உவந்து, விண் நோய் இந்திர சாபம் என்ன
நின்ற தோரணத்தின் உம்பர் இருந்த ஓர் நீதியானை,
வன் தொழில் அரக்கன் நோக்கி, வாள் எயிறு இலங்க நக்கான்;
'கொன்றது இக் குரங்கு போலாம், அரக்கர்தம் குழாத்தை!' என்றான். 21
அன்னதாம் நகு சொல் கேட்ட சாரதி, 'ஐய! கேண்மோ!
இன்னதாம் என்னல் ஆமோ உலகியல்? இகழல் அம்மா;
மன்னனோடு எதிர்ந்த வாலி குரங்கு என்றால், மற்றும் உண்டோ ?
சொன்னது துணிவில் கொண்டு சேறி' என்று, உணரச் சொன்னான்
War started.First the army fought with hanuman.Nobody knew how the army was destroyed."The fate of charriots was cruel" argued some spectators. "No,no see how the elephents suffered and died.They suffered the most" argued others.The patti mandram went on.Soon there werent anybody to conduct a patti mandapam.All were dead.
'தேரே பட்டன' என்றார் சிலர்; சிலர், 'தெறு கண் செம் முக வயிரத் தோள் பேரே பட்டன' என்றார்; சிலர் சிலர், 'பரியே பட்டன பெரிது' என்றார்;'காரே பட்டன நுதல் ஓடைக் கட கரியே பட்டன கடிது' என்றார்;நேரே பட்டவர் பட, மாடே, தனி, நில்லா உயிரொடு நின்றாரே
Hanuman caught akshayakumara.It wasnt much of a war."He just rubbed him in earth and killed him"says kamban.It was over very quickly.
நீத்து ஆய் ஓடின உதிரப் பெரு நதி நீராக, சிலை பாராக,
போய்த் தாழ் செறி தசை அரி சிந்தினபடி பொங்க, பொரும் உயிர் போகாமுன்,மீத் தாம் நிமிர் சுடர் வயிரக் கைகொடு பிடியா, விண்ணொடு மண் காண,தேய்த்தான்-ஊழியின் உலகு ஏழ்தேயினும்,ஒரு தன்புகழ் இறை தேயாதான்
Something very funny happened.Some asuras were alive.They dint want to fight.They disguised as bhramins thinking hanuman will not kill bhramins.Some took the form of cows thinking that hanuman will not kill cows.Some started chanting Rama nama.Some said "Aiya we surrender to you.Save us"
மீன் ஆய், வேலையை உற்றார், சிலர்; சிலர் பசு ஆய் வழிதொறும் மேய்வுற்றார்;ஊன் ஆர் பறவையின் வடிவு ஆனார் சிலர்; சிலர் நான்மறையவர் உரு ஆனார்;மான் ஆர் கண் இள மடவார் ஆயினர் முன்னே, தம் குழல் வகிர்வுற்றார் ஆனால் சிலர்; சிலர், 'ஐயா! நின் சரண்' என்றார்; நின்றவர் 'அரி' என்றார்
Nobody went to tell this news to Ravana now.Asura women came running and started crying over the corpses.mandothari herself heard the news and went and fell in feet of Ravana and cried in pain and anguish.Oh, what a sight.....Queen of lankapuri was crying for the first time....who else can describe this pathos more better than kamban?
குண்டலக் குழை முகக் குங்குமக் கொங்கையார்,
வண்டு அலைத்து எழு குழல் கற்றை கால் வருடவே,
விண்டு, அலத்தக விரைக் குமுத வாய் விரிதலால்,
அண்டம் உற்றுளது, அவ் ஊர் அழுத பேர் அமலையே
தா இல் வெஞ் செரு நிலத்திடை, உலந்தவர்த(ம்)மேல்,
ஓவியம் புரை நலார் விழுதொறும், சிலர் உயிர்த்து,
ஏவு கண்களும் இமைத்திலர்களாம்; இது எலாம்
ஆவி ஒன்று, உடல் இரண்டு, ஆயதாலேகொலாம்?
தீட்டு வாள் அனைய கண் தெரிவை, ஓர் திரு அனாள்,
ஆட்டில்நின்று அயர்வது ஓர் அறு தலைக் குறையினைக்
கூட்டி, 'நின் ஆர் உயிர்த் துணைவன், எம் கோனை, நீ,
காட்டுவாயாதி' என்று, அழுது கை கூப்பினாள்
"You said we have one life and two bodies.Now where is that life and body" cried a rakshasa woman who couldnt find her lovers body or life.Some fell on the corpses and dint speak anything.Some forgot to even blink.
கயல் மகிழ் கண் இணை கலுழி கான்று உக,
புயல் மகிழ் புரி குழல் பொடி அளாவுற,
அயன் மகன் மகன் மகன் அடியின் வீழ்ந்தனள்,
மயன் மகள்; வயிறு அலைத்து அலறி மாழ்கினாள். 48
தா அருந் திரு நகர்த் தையலார் முதல்
ஏவரும், இடை விழுந்து இரங்கி ஏங்கினார்;
காவலன் கால்மிசை விழுந்து, காவல் மாத்
தேவரும் அழுதனர், களிக்கும் சிந்தையார்
Mandothari fell at feet of Ravana and cried in agony.The guards came slowly.Now they dint have anything to say.They too fell at ravana's feet and cried in pain.
Ravana did not fume this time.He was thunderstuck.He did not react.But another guy reacted.He was Indrajith."Did that monkey stamp my brother?No it did not.It stamped my father's glory under its feet" he roared.Tears oozed like rivers from his eyes.
தம்பியை உன்னும்தோறும், தாரை நீர் ததும்பும் கண்ணான்,
வம்பு இயல் சிலையை நோக்கி, வாய் மடித்து உருத்து நக்கான்;
'கொம்பு இயல் மாய வாழ்க்கைக் குரங்கினால், குரங்கா ஆற்றல்
எம்பியோ தேய்ந்தான்? எந்தை புகழ் அன்றோ தேய்ந்தது?' என்றான்
He went to meet Ravana.Ravana was not fuming this time.He was in deep thought..Indrajit went and fell at his feet and cried.
"You know what a monkey can do.Vali did that to you.After seeing it why did you send people seperately and get them killed?Kinkaras are no match to it.You sent them and killed them.Next sambumali,panchasenathipathis and akshayakumara..all these are no match to that monkey.Yet you sent them thinking what this monkey can do.You forgot vali." said Indrajith
தாள் இணை வீழ்ந்தான், தம்பிக்கு இரங்குவான்; தறுகணானும்
தோள் இணை பற்றி ஏந்தித் தழுவினன், அழுது சோர்ந்தான்;
வாள் இணை நெடுங் கண் மாதர் வயிறு அலைத்து அலறி மாழ்க,
மீளிபோல் மொய்ம்பினானும் விலக்கினன்; விளம்பலுற்றான்
'ஒன்று நீ உறுதி ஓராய்; உற்றிருந்து உளையகிற்றி,
வன் திறல் குரங்கின் ஆற்றல் மரபுளி உணர்ந்தும், அன்னோ!
"சென்று நீர் பொருதிர்" என்று, திறத் திறம் செலுத்தி, தேயக்
கொன்றனை நீயே அன்றோ, அரக்கர்தம் குழுவை எல்லாம்
"What can I do?I thought this was an ordinary monkey.Now only I realize that it has power of trimoorthis" said Ravana.He clearly avoids vali.That defeat still irks him.So he brings in trimoorthis into the topic.When hanuman meets him, there will be a hilarious incident on vali.Hanuman will refer to him and see Ravana's reaction to it.
'கிங்கரர், சம்புமாலி, கேடு இலா ஐவர், என்றுஇப்
பைங் கழல் அரக்கரோடும் உடன் சென்ற பகுதிச் சேனை,
இங்கு ஒருபேரும் மீண்டார் இல்லையேல், குரங்கு அது, எந்தாய்!
சங்கரன், அயன், மால், என்பார்தாம் எனும் தகையது ஆமே
Indrajith then went to war.He was deeply disturbed.'This is just one monkey.To fight this almost all my armies have been wiped it.If Rama comes with a monkey army,with which army will I oppose him?" he thought.This is exactly why Hanuman started this war.He wanted to psychologically destroy asura confidence.He wanted them to shiver in fear.He did not want them to think hust monkeys and humans are coming.He succeeded in that mission.
வெப்பு அடைகில்லா நெஞ்சில், சிறியது ஓர் விம்மல் கொண்டான்;
'அப்பு அடை வேலை அன்ன பெருமையார், ஆற்றலோடும்
ஒப்பு அடைகில்லார், எல்லாம் உலந்தனர்; குரங்கும் ஒன்றே!
எப் படை கொண்டு வெல்வது, இராமன் வந்து எதிர்க்கின்?' என்றான்
While going to war Indrajith saw corpses all around.He went there fuming and crying.He saw his brother's mutiliated body.He couldnt control himself."yema himself is afraid of you.He will run and hide in another world if he sees you.To which world then did you go after your death?" he cried.
'வெவ் இலை அயில் வேல் உந்தை வெம்மையைக் கருதி, ஆவி
வவ்வுதல் கூற்றும் ஆற்றான்; மாறு மாறு உலகின் வாழ்வார்,
அவ் உலகத்து உளாரும், அஞ்சுவர் ஒளிக்க; ஐயா!
எவ் உலகத்தை உற்றாய், எம்மை நீத்து, எளிதின்? எந்தாய்
After Hanuman saw Indrajith he knew that the game was over.He knew that he couldnt kill Indrajith.In whole of lanka only two people were there who could have defeated hanuman.One was Indrajith and the other was Kumbakarna."Ok now its either defeat or victory.This is indrajith" thinks hanuman
'வென்றேன், இதன் முன், சில வீரரை என்னும் மெய்ம்மை
அன்றே முடுகிக் கடிது எய்த அழைத்தது அம்மா!
ஒன்றே, இனி வெல்லுதல் தோற்றல்; அடுப்பது உள்ளது
இன்றே சமையும்; இவன் இந்திரசித்து!' என்பான்
Asura army came first.As usual kamban plays a word game here.writing war descriptions isnt easy.Vyasa and homer are renowned for their descriptions of war.Kalki says
லட்சக்கணக்கான வீரர்களும் ஆயிரம் பதினாயிரக்கணக்கான யானைகளும் குதிரைகளும் ஈடுபட்டிருந்த அந்த மாபெரும் யுத்தத்தை நடந்தது நடந்தபடி வர்ணிப்பது நம்மால் இயலாத காரியம். வால்மீகியையும் வியாசரையும் ஹோமரையும் கம்பரையும் போன்ற மகா நாடக ஆசிரியர்களுக்குத்தான் அதன் வர்ணனை சாத்தியமாகும்
So we can understand that kamban is matchless in his war descriptions.See how he describes the war between rakshasa army and hanuman here.
Hanuman vs elephents
உதையுண்டன யானை; உருண்டன யானை; ஒன்றோ?
மிதியுண்டன யானை; விழுந்தன யானை; மேல் மேல்,
புதையுண்டன யானை; புரண்டன யானை; போரால்
வதையுண்டன யானை; மறிந்தன யானை, மண்மேல்
Hanuman vs charriots
முடிந்த தேர்க் குலம்; முறிந்தன தேர்க் குலம்; முரண் இற்று
இடிந்த தேர்க் குலம்; இற்றன தேர்க் குலம்; அச்சு இற்று
ஒடிந்த தேர்க் குலம்; உக்கன தேர்க் குலம்; நெக்குப்
படிந்த தேர்க் குலம்; பறிந்தன தேர்க் குலம், படியில்.
Hanuman vs horses
சிரன் நெரிந்தவும், கண் மணி சிதைந்தவும், செறி தாள்
தரன் நெரிந்தவும், முதுகு இறச் சாய்ந்தவும், தார் பூண்
உரன் நெரிந்தவும், உதிரங்கள் உமிழ்ந்தவும், ஒளிர் பொற்
குரன் நெரிந்தவும், கொடுங் கழுத்து ஒடிந்தவும் - குதிரை
Hanuman vs cavalry
பிடியுண்டார்களும், பிளத்தலுண்டார்களும், பெருந் தோள்
ஒடியுண்டார்களும், தலை உடைந்தார்களும், உருவக்
கடியுண்டார்களும், கழுத்து இழந்தார்களும், கரத்தால்
அடியுண்டார்களும், அச்சமுண்டார்களும்-அரக்கர்
These are the words of a Genius play writer.Nowhere in world,no author except vyasa and homer comes closer to describing war as beautifully as kamban.
Indrajith then started a massive war with hanuman.He saw a smiling hanuman.He swore.See the word game here.See how kamban writes the swearing in beautiful 'konju tamil' words.See the simility(uvamai)
'நல்லை! நல்லை! இஞ் ஞாலத்துள், நின் ஒக்க நல்லார்
இல்லை! இல்லையால்! எறுழ் வலிக்கு யாரொடும் இகல
வல்லை! வல்லை! இன்று ஆகும், நீ படைத்துள வாழ்நாட்கு
எல்லை! எல்லை!' என்று, இந்திரசித்துவும் இசைந்தான்
Kamban goes to the zenith when describing this war.Before this all wars were between unequals.Nobody was a match to hanuman.But now this is a clas of titans.Two giants fight with each other.Words flow like torrent from the mouth of kamban.
Indrajith sees hanuman and is awestruck by his valor and strength.See the simility of this verse.
அனுமனனப் பார்த்தான்;
மாக வன் திசை பத்தொடும் வரம்பு இலா உலகிற்கு
ஏக நாதனை எறுழ் வலித் தோள் பிணித்து ஈர்த்த
மேக நாதனும், மயங்கினனாம் என வியந்தான்
Hanuman destroys charriot of indrajith
நீண்ட வீரனும், நெடுந் தடக் கைகளை நீட்டி,
ஈண்டு வெஞ் சரம் எய்தன எய்திடாவண்ணம்,
மீண்டு போய் விழ வீசி, ஆங்கு அவன் மிடல் தடந் தேர்
பூண்ட பேயொடு, சாரதி தரைப்பட, புடைத்தான்
Indrajith hides hanuman in panatha karam(darkening of sun by rain of arrows)
ஊழிக் காற்று அன்ன ஒரு பரித் தேர் அவண் உதவ,
பாழித் தோளவன், அத் தடந் தேர்மிசைப் பாய்ந்தான்;
ஆழிப் பல் படை அனையன, அளப்ப அருஞ் சரத்தால்,
வாழிப் போர் வலி மாருதி மேனியை மறைத்தான்
Hanuman jumps on indrajith,destroys his bow and piles of arrows.
கொற்ற மாருதி, மற்றவன் தேர்மிசைக் குதித்து,
பற்றி வன் கையால், பறித்து எழுந்து, உலகு எலாம் பல கால்
முற்றி வென்ற போர் மூரி வெஞ் சிலையினை, முறித்தான்
Devas come in sky to see this war.They cannot control their joy.They dance and whistle like spectators.
ஆர்த்த வானவர் ஆகுலம் கொண்டு, அறிவு அழிந்தார்;
Hanuman now is bleeding.He is tired.He loses his power.But still Hanuman hits head of indrajith
ஊறு, தன் நெடு மேனியில், பல பட, ஒல்கி,
ஏறு சேவகன் தூதனும், சிறிது போது இருந்தான்
தூர்த்த வாளிகள் துணிபட முறை முறை சுற்றி,
போர்த்த பொன் நெடு மணி முடித் தலையிடைப் புடைத்தான்
Hanuman now takes viswaroopa.Indrajith now has no options.He has to use the bhrammasthra.He uses it.
பூவும், பூ நிற அயினியும், தீபமும், புகையும்,
தா இல் பாவனையால் கொடுத்து, அருச்சனை சமைத்தான்;
தேவு யாவையும், உலகமும், திருத்திய தெய்வக்
கோவில் நான்முகன் படைக்கலம் தடக் கையில் கொண்டான். 54
கொண்டு, கொற்ற வெஞ் சிலை நெடு நாணொடும் கூட்டி,
சண்ட வேகத்த மாருதி தோளொடும் சாத்தி,
மண் துளங்கிட, மாதிரம் துளங்கிட, மதி தோய்
விண் துளங்கிட, மேருவும் துளங்கிட, விட்டான்
"Mountain fell" writes kamban."when Maruthi fell , Dharma had tears in his eyes" writes kamban.
திண்ணென் யாக்கையைத் திசைமுகன் படை சென்று திருக,
அண்ணல் மாருதி, அன்று, தன் பின் சென்ற அறத்தின்
கண்ணின் நீரொடும், கனக தோரணத்தொடும், கடை நாள்,
தண்ணென் மா மதி கோளொடும் சாய்ந்தென, சாய்ந்தான்
Asura army was over joyed.Their joy knew no bounds.Kamban spends rest of this chapter describing the mad rantings of asura army."They hooted more happily than the day they saw their archrival indira being tied and dragged into lanka by indrajith" says kamban
வந்து இரைந்தனர், மைந்தரும், மகளிரும்; மழைபோல்,
அந்தரத்தினும், விசும்பினும், திசைதொறும் ஆர்ப்பார்;
முந்தி உற்ற பேர் உவகைக்கு ஓர் கரை இலை; மொழியின்,
இந்திரன் பிணிப்புண்ட நாள் ஒத்தது, அவ் இலங்கை.
Ohh..maruthi...we leave you tied and bound today.Tears flow not only from your eyes but from our eyes also.Nobody can tie you except love and affection.You cannot be tied by bhrammasthra also.But you willingly got tied by it because of your love on sathur muga bhramman.
Viggop,
One query....
I understand, Hanuman knew that Brahmastra is coming but he had obtained a boon from Brahma that it will not kill him but for few moments.... ( sila muhurtha neram ) it will make him powerless However, as he is a Chiranjeevi......it will not harm him....
Hanuman also will respect the Brahmastram and will surrender to the astra...
Besides , he wanted this to take it an opportunity to see Ravana eye to eye ...
Can you please clarify this
Balaji
I think you are right.He knows that the brahmaastra will not kill him as he is a chiranjeevi.But it'll render him unconscious for a while.Hanuman will regain conciousness even when he is dragged through the streets of lanka but will not do anything because he wants to see Ravana now.He could have easily freed himself.
Dear Viggop,
Thanks for the clarification. Pls continue with your good work. Pl continue with the same sequence of events….so that we can follow your postings……
Great show by you….
Can you also pls ref to Valmiki Ramayanam simultneously and enlighten us
Can you also pls explain us on the various occasions where there is a disconnect between Valmiki ramayan and Kambaramayanam by giving reference to both the quotes...
Hi Balaji
I have put this in this thread before.I'm just copying and pasting this from another place.You can read www.harimozhi.com where HariKrishnan Sir has written lot of articles on the Ramayana and Kambar/Valmiki
Asuras were angry."'எய்யுமின்; ஈருமின்; எறிமின்; போழுமின்;
கொய்யுமின் குடரினை; கூறு கூறுகள் செய்யுமின்; மண்ணிடைத் தேய்மின்; தின்னுமின்; they roared.கொலை செய்ய முயல்கின்றார், சிலர்.
Now the guards finally had some good news to tell Ravana."Bhrammasthra worked.Your son captured that monkey" they shouted in glee.
தூதுவர் ஓடினர்; தொழுது, தொல்லை நாள்
மாதிரம் கடந்தவற் குறுகி, 'மன்ன! நின்
காதலன் மரை மலர்க் கடவுள் வாளியால்,
ஏதில் வானரம் பிணிப்புண்டதாம்' என்றார்
See Ravana's reaction
ஆரம் கொண்டு, எதிர்
நீட்டினன் - உவகையின் நிமிர்ந்த நெஞ்சினான்
"He lifted his chest in happiness" writes kamban.It was his son who attained this victory.Naturally he was happy.He gave a necklace as gift.
Indrajith introduces hanuman to Ravana.See the introduction'அரி உருவான ஆண்தகை,--"Lion like male"-he says.He doesnt even say 'monkey'.He now has full respect for hanuman.Valor recognizes valor.
'நேமியோ? குலிசியோ? நெடுங் கணிச்சியோ?
தாமரைக் கிழவனோ? தறுகண் பல் தலைப்
பூமி தாங்கு ஒருவனோ?-
"who are you?Are you shiva?Vishnu?Yema?"-Roared Ravana.
'என் இவண் வரவு? நீ யாரை?
why are you?Why did you come here? He asked.
see how hanuman introduces himself.
வாலி-தன் மகன், அவன்தன் தூதன் வந்தனென், தனியேன்' என்றான்
"I am messenger of vali's son angatha" says hanuman.
Angatha played with ravana when he was a kid.Vali tied ravana on the pram of angatha and angatha used to tease ravana.That thought kills self respect of ravana,whenever he thinks of it.Now after Hanuman says angatha he is reminded of that incident.Immeditly he asks about vali as if vali was his long time friend and hanuman came on a good will visit.Ravana doesnt know that vali is dead till now.He fears that he might offend vali by injuring hanuman.So he starts talking smoothly to pacify hanuman.
'வாலி சேய் விடுத்த தூத!
வன் திறல் ஆய வாலி வலியன்கொல்? அரசின் வாழ்க்கை
நன்றுகொல்?' என்னலோடும், நாயகன் தூதன் நக்கான்
"How is vali?How is his life?" asks Ravana.Hanuman laughs sarcastically.
'அஞ்சலை, அரக்க! பார் விட்டு அந்தரம் அடைந்தான் அன்றே,
வெஞ் சின வாலி; மீளான்; வாலும் போய் விளிந்தது அன்றே;
அஞ்சன மேனியான்தன் அடு கணை ஒன்றால் மாழ்கித்
துஞ்சினன்; எங்கள் வேந்தன், சூரியன் தோன்றல்' என்றான்
"Dont be afraid ravana.Vali is dead.His tail is also dead.My lord killed him with one single arrow" said Hanuman.
See the sarcasm.he reminds ravana about the tail of vali.The tail in which he tied Ravana and dragged him all over the forest.
Ravana couldnt believe himself."Who killed him?How this happened?Where is that Raman now?" he asks.
'என்னுடை ஈட்டினான், அவ் வாலியை எறுழ் வாய் அம்பால்
இன் உயிர் உண்டது? இப்போது யாண்டையான் இராமன் என்பான்?
Hanuman then narrates vali vatham.Ravana is disgusted at act of sukreeva.His brothers never left him till now for any of his acts.So how can sugreeva let vali down?So Ravana starts abusing sugreeva.
'உம் குலத் தலைவன், தன்னோடு ஒப்பு இலா உயர்ச்சியோனை
வெங் கொலை அம்பின் கொன்றார்க்கு ஆள்-தொழில் மேற்கொண்டீரேல்,
எங்கு உலப்புறும் நும் சீர்த்தி? நும்மொடும் இயைந்தது என்றால்,
மங்குலின் பொலிந்த ஞாலம் மாதுமை உடைத்து மாதோ! 83
'தம்முனைக் கொல்வித்து, அன்னாற் கொன்றவற்கு அன்பு சான்ற
உம் இனத் தலைவன் ஏவ, யாது எமக்கு உரைக்கலுற்றது?
எம் முனைத் தூது வந்தாய்! இகல் புரி தன்மை என்னை?
நும்மினைக் கொல்லாம்; நெஞ்சம் அஞ்சலை; நுவல்தி' என்றான்
"Shame on sugreeva.He has become slave of the murderer of his brother.And you say you are the messengher of such a cheap natured person.I dont want to listen to anything which you say.I can even kill you.It isnt a sin" said Ravana.
Hanuman then advised him to let off seetha.After a very long advise he says "சீதையைத் தருக"
Ravana laughs at this."A monkey advising me.Great " he laughs.Then he gets wild."To hell with your advise.Monkey coming as messenger to humans.Nice humor.By the way,If you are a messenger,you should not have killed my men.Why did you do so?" he roared.
'இவை சொல்லியது, எற்கு, ஒரு
குன்றின் வாழும் குரங்குகொலாம்! இது
நன்று! நன்று!' என மா நகை செய்தனன் -
வென்றி என்று ஒன்றுதான் அன்றி வேறு இலான்
'குரக்கு வார்த்தையும், மானிடர் கொற்றமும்,
இருக்க; நிற்க; நீ, என்கொல், அடா! இரும்
புரத்தினுள் தரும் தூது புகுந்தபின்
அரக்கரைக் கொன்றது? அஃது உரையாய்!' என்றான்
'I dint know how to find you.So i tortured guards to show you.They tried to kill me.So I killed them" said hanuman.Actually now his job is over.He is no more interested in talking to Ravana.He wants to go back soon before the 1 month dead line of seetha.
'காட்டுவார் இன்மையால், கடி காவினை
வாட்டினேன்; என்னைக் கொல்ல வந்தார்களை
வீட்டினேன்;
Ravana is totally infuriated.' கொல்மின்' he roared.
'நில்மின்' என்றனன், வீடணன் நீதியான்
'Stop' said veebeshna.
After veebeshnas advise ravan orders Hanuman's tail to be burnt.lanka dhaganam happened next.
Kamban describes burning of lanka in one full episode.Whole lanka burns.Ravana's palace also burns.He escapes with his family in pushpaka vimana."How did this happen?" he asks."Monkey did that" reply his guards.Ravana's rage knows no bounds."Great,great.devas will laugh at my valor" he laughs.
அனைய காலையில் அரக்கனும், அரிவையர் குழுவும்,
புனை மணிப் பொலி புட்பக விமானத்துப் போனார்;
நினையும் மாத்திரை யாவரும் நீங்கினர்; நினையும்
வினை இலாமையின், வெந்தது, அவ் விலங்கல்மேல் இலங்கை
'இறையோய்!
தரங்க வேலையின் நெடிய தன் வால் இட்ட தழலால்,
குரங்கு சுட்டது ஈது' என்றலும், இராவணன் கொதித்தான். 39
'இன்று புன் தொழில் குரங்குதன் வலியினால், இலங்கை
நின்று வெந்து, மா நீறு எழுகின்றது; நெருப்புத்
தின்று தேக்கிடுகின்றது; தேவர்கள் சிரிப்பார்;
நன்று! நன்று! போர் வலி' என, இராவணன் நக்கான்
Kamban ends this with Hanuman leaving lanka.
Actually, Vali was performing his prayers in the morning.At this time, Ravana goes to Kishkinda palace and calls out to Vali to come and fight with him.Sugriva answers the door and sarcastically tells Ravana where to find Vali.Ravana goes there to find Vali in his morning prayers.Instead of challenging Vali to a fight after he has finished his prayers, he sneaks up behind Vali trying to attack him in stealth.But, Vali comes to know about this and captures Ravana using his tail.Then, as if nothing happened, he jumps into the sea and dips himself 3 times in it holding ravana under water for a long time.
Then, he comes to kishkinda and then shows it to baby angada."See my son, i've got a 10 head insect for you to play with".
That is why Hanuman says that Vali's tail is also dead to infuriate Ravana
Viggop,
Pl clarify on this….
I understand, Ravana got a boon that he cannot be killed by any living being… however he did not bother to ask for Human being as in his opinion…. Human beings can dare to touch him….
I wonder how Valee could trouble Ravana as … asper the boon he had obtained Valee should have been an easy prey for Ravana….Valee is from ape race…… How there is a disconnect here…..
Ravana when asking for the boon ignored animals and humans.
He only asked that he should not be killed by asuras,devas,Gods etc. Vali is not a asura or deva race.he is a monkey.
Viggop,
I understand, Indrajit had high respect for Hanuman as a warrior…. He was also worried about the way.. the asuras tied Hanuman with various things… and was damn sure that all these will make Bramastra very weak and Hanuman will come out soon….He will express his anguish to the soldiers to stop from doing such things but it would have been too late for they had already taken Hanuman to the streets and finally to Ravana…
மன்றலின் வந்து, மணத் தவிசு ஏறி,
வென்றி நெடுந் தகை வீரனும், ஆர்வத்து
இன் துணை அன்னமும், எய்தி இருந்தார்;
ஒன்றிய போகமும் யோகமும் ஒத்தார்
Rama and the swan,seetha sat in the pandal like yogam and bogam being together.(Married life is not only boga,but is also a yoga..)
இராமனுக்குச் சீதையைச் சனகன் தாரை வார்த்துக் கொடுத்தல்
கோமகன் முன் சனகன், குளிர் நல் நீர்,
'பூமகளும் பொருளும் என, நீ என்
மா மகள் தன்னொடும் மன்னுதி' என்னா,
தாமரை அன்ன தடக் கையின், ஈந்தான்
My lakshmi like daughter from today is your daughter" said janakan.He gave the lotus like hand of seetha to Ishvaku dynasty.
இராமன் சீதையின் கையைப் பற்றி, தீ வலம் வருதல்
இடம் படு தோளவனோடு, இயை வேள்வி
தொடங்கிய வெங் கனல் சூழ் வரு போதின்,
மடம் படு சிந்தையள், மாறு பிறப்பின்,
உடம்பு உயிரைத் தொடர்கின்றதை ஒத்தாள்
When the divine couple went around the fire,seetha followed Rama like how body follows life even in rebirth.
கேகயன் மா மகள் கேழ் கிளர் பாதம்,
தாயினும் அன்பொடு தாழ்ந்து வணங்கி,
ஆய தன் அன்னை அடித் துணை சூடி,
தூய சுமித்திரை தாள் தொழலோடும்
Rama worshipped the feet of kaikeyi first.Rama worshipped her feet with more love than that of his mother kousalya.Then he sought the blessings of kousalya and sumathra.
அன்னமும், அன்னவர் அம் பொன் மலர்த் தாள்
சென்னி புனைந்தாள்; சிந்தை உவந்தார்,
கன்னி, அருந்ததி, காரிகை, காணா,
'நல் மகனுக்கு இவள் நல் அணி' என்றார்
The 3 mother-in-law's were happy when the swan like seetha also worshipped their feet."You are a crown jewel to our good son" they said.
'எண் இல கோடி பொன், எல்லை இல் கோடி
வண்ண அருங் கலம், மங்கையர் வெள்ளம்,
கண் அகல் நாடு, உயர் காசொடு தூசும்,
பெண்ணின் அணங்கு அனையாள் பெறுக!' என்றார்
"Let this queen of women get countless amount of wealth,vessels,land and all wealth" blessed the 3 mother-in-law's.
devas showered flowers,kings showered gold,others showered flowers..the whole sky glowed by this showers.
வானவர் பூ மழை, மன்னவர் பொன் பூ,
ஏனையர் தூவும் இலங்கு ஒளி முத்தம்,
தான் நகு நாள்மலர், என்று இவை தம்மால்,
மீன் நகு வானின் விளங்கியது, இப் பார்
The interesting thing here is that Rama falls at the feet of Kaikeyi first.Only then , he falls at the feet of his mother Kaushalya.He loved Kaikeyi equally as his own mother.But Kaikeyi was also the favourite of Dasaratha.
Actually, when Kooni goes and tells that Rama is going to be crowned king, Kaikeyi is very happy and gives her a pearl necklace.Kooni gets angry and says that this event will bring her lot of danger.Kaikeyi asks kooni,i'm the mother who bore Rama.What harm will come to Rama's mother? Even though she did not give birth to Rama,she loves him like her own son.Finally, Gooni uses her insecurity and clouds her mind.
Harikrishnan Sir has dealt with this extensively in www.harimozhi.com and also in his chennaionline series.
Dear Viggop,
From Sundara Gandam, you have gone backwards !!
I thought you are going to maintain the sequence... Hanuman meeting Ravana and what happens afterwards...
Request , pls follow a sequence... You are doing a great job.....
Through you , we are all having a go at Kamba ramayanam...
Continue this good work...
Balaji
I'm copying and pasting here and whatever the author posts in another forum,i'll paste it here. It is not my original work.Sorry!
Its ok but still I will request you to follow a sequence...Quote:
Originally Posted by viggop
I wish you pls continue with where you left ... Hanuman meeting Ravana...
So that the sequence is followed easily... whatever queries or questions that come up can be easily responded...
Dear all
I have question about Rameshwaram, Rama was Shiva baktha, he before crossing the Indian ocean to lanka will perform a ritual on the sea side by making a Shiva Lingam on the sea shore and conduct a pooja with Laksman and Hanuman. Maheshwar will appear infront of Rama and grant him a boon, does any one remember what this varam was?
and so this Place became Rameshwaram, i heard that Shiva lingam made out of sand is still there, any clarification on this?
Raghu,
Pl browse the website and you will get the answer for your query…
http://www.urday.com/rameshwarnath.htm
There is also another version saying that... Rama , after the war, came here and did pooja to Shiva to get rid of the Brahmahathi Dosham which he got because of killing Ravana..
I am not sure on the second version..
Another interesting feature is, while people from South India travel to Varanasi to have a dharshan of Lord Kasi Vishvanathar and to have a dip at Ganga...
People from North India always make it a point to visit Rameshwaram amongst all the temples of the South to have a dip in various wells... to purify themselves...
Balaji anNe
Thanks for the Wonder full link abt Iswar, I hear that if you stand on the Rameshwaram Gopuram, that you can see Maanar or Jaffna, is this true?
Dear Raghu,Quote:
Originally Posted by Raghu
Actually the distance is several nautical miles... I am not sure about this...as the distance should be roughly 30 kms...
The gap which is very very close between India and SriLanka is from Kodikarai.. I think
I thought that a place called Nagabooshanam was nearest to Lanka.
DanushKodi was wiped out by sea recently."danush" means bow and so the name is asscociated with Lord Rama