i saw arumugam for 15 min .. thaanga mudile
apdiye annamalai ulta
Printable View
i saw arumugam for 15 min .. thaanga mudile
apdiye annamalai ulta
a classic case of being a spoilt brat
[Carrying forward an ongoing discussion from elsewhere.]
Yes, it should, shouldn't it? On the one hand, we know that Bharath is city-bred, and on the other hand, we find it unsurprising that Bharath has problems playing what's thought of as a "proper" suave urban role. Surely something remains unexplained?Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
To state the obvious, an urban character doesn't mean the same thing in different parts of India. Or anywhere else for that matter. There's always the local nuance in display. Just to pick a random sample space, consider Tamil film stars (Chennai) vs. Hindi film stars (Bombay). The social and economic status of the star-sons (for instance) here and there are quite the same (relatively speaking). But why is it that most of the star-sons here predominantly speak Tamil whereas the ones in Bombay hardly ever speak in Hindi? Not just linguistically, there's a lot of difference between the well-to-do class of Chennai (or more broadly Tamilnadu) and that of Bombay.
idhai vida theLivA solla mudiyAdhu. Even a Harman Baweja vs Ravi Krishna comparsion paNNi pArunga.Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
But as equa observed, Bharath should have tried to be himself rather than channel BSKappoor for JWM remake. Even then, I am unsure of how he'll be able to tackle a *rich, suave* businessman(just like Kappoor can never be the lowly kaadhal mechanic), even accounting for the above difference. nEpALi is a case in point.
ennammO software engineer-Am, stylish party-Am, oNyum thErala. When it comes to 'cool', I think our guys have a built-in disadvantage. And the ones that can manage it - Madhavan etc - are literally outsiders.
(In BR's space, I had expressed a wish for a ambient remake of Jab We Met, with possibly, say, a specific Chettiar community with the location playing a prominent part. Although I suppose Pirivom Sandhippom covered it alread. Instead, we have the generic madurai-gramam-periyamanushar family instead. YNM had the generic Brahmin stereotypes, and that perhaps illustrated the difference between bolly and us more. Where is the effort to make your characters more in resonance with their background?
Not sure which is the most boisterous identifiable community in TN. Any pointers? )
Tamannah plays a Thevar girl in the film, if I'm not mistaken. Some of the news portals mentioned this some time back. This is again one of the beaten-to-death stereotypes in recent Tamil cinema.
One question - baradhan seems to have had a series of 'commercial' duds - wherefrom he gets the illusion that he is a 'massy' hero?
Plum - maybe his recent movies like Aarumugam, Pazhani would have forced him to say that he was massy and has changed his style in KK.
Coming back to Bharath's ability, browsing through some of the movie's gallery, Bharath may well look like a businessman as it is being said here. On the other hand, we have usual tamil songs where the hero's costumes are out of the world and there are couple of stills with Bharath's upper sleeves showing his muscles.
I think his character will be hard hit with the frequent interruptions in the form of songs (with the tamil flavor, as claimed by Yaar Kannan)
The movie has some stills showing Theni which might prove equa right on Tamannah's caste. Santhanam is also seen with a "ottu meesai" which is obviously visible in the pictures and as director said, has added more tamil body into hindi soul.
Ok, here's the thing - I think tamannah's whole problem would be to pass off as a theni girl, isnt it? AngeyE praablem start...
To reiterate, I have seen the trailer and I think tamannah is better than kari na in terms of individual expressions and carrying off the seshtais. Kareena played a sardarNi role which suited her-ngaradhu vEra vishayam.
PR maadhiri naanum Pooja-lerundhu(where's she, btw) tamannah-ku convert aayittEn.
See, that's because in that film, the well-paid software engineer was imagined as someone from an entirely different world, which is hardly the case. "vERa mAdhiri pEsaNum sir..." 'nu avaru kitta pOi solliruppAnga. avarum enna thAn paNNuvAr, uLaRik kottittAr.Quote:
Originally Posted by Plum
Eq is right. Tamanna says "Naan Theni ponnu" in one of the scenes in trailer.Quote:
Originally Posted by Aalavanthan
:lol: True.Quote:
Agreed. But that is only part of the picture. I claim that the well to do of Mumbai are more authentically represented than the well to of Chennai.Quote:
Peak, peak, peak wonly. It is only fitting in this discussion to discard any consideration for averages. And it is not even about well-to-do actually. It is authenticity in general. What is the last Tamil movie where the conversations seemed effortlessly believable ?
Plum will accuse me of comparing crests to troughs, but I have to let go here. When Madurai Sambavam attempts to ride on 'authenticity' it does not just make me cringe, it gets on my nerves. Something they consider central to the film has been done so poorly. What is wrong ? Difficult to articulate...you just know it. Pretty much like Satyaraj's assault on Madras Tamil as quarter Goindan in ulagam piRandhadhu enakkaaga. I exaggerate of course, but trust me not much. But nobody seems to have problem with that.
Well, I'd like to give him that benefit of doubt but sondha abimaanamnu oNNU irukkilla...Quote:
Sedhuvinayagam: naamellAm college-la padikkirache...
Sandhanabarathy: naama eppo college-la padichOm ?
Yeah, and most of the Madurai-based (so-called "maNNin maNamuLLa") films fail to look beyond Thevars anyway. Again goes on to prove that it's actually a privilege to be stereotyped in Tamil cinema.Quote:
Originally Posted by littlemaster1982
I didn't mean to say that in defence of Bharath per se. What I'm trying to say is the makers look for "something else" altogether (sAdharaNamAvE vittirukka vENdiya vishayaththai) and hence muck up.Quote:
That Shahid was closer to himself and Bharath tried to be someone else (heck we are already talking in past tense :-) ) is indeed a problem.Quote:
But in it there seems to be an underlying suggestion that Hindi acting is good 'because' people are allowed to play closer to their personalities. That line of argument does not give them sufficient credit IMO.
To stay with the current comparison. I am more certain that Bharath can't pull JWM than I am about that Shahid not pulling off a Kaadhal equivalent. (Movie won't work is another issue, I mean just the performance)
Idha thaan naan eppadi solradhunnu muzhichitu irundhaen. Its not only becoz of the personality, it is also the similar kind of movies that they have made in the past.Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
But tamil-la appadi endha actors-um illai enbadhu ennoda karuthu. All I can think of is Madhan from MMKR.
Adhukaaga thaan ennavo namma heroes ellam choosing movies like Thirumalai, Pudhupettai, Thaamirabharani which more suits to their personality.. I think this conversation would go to a stage where personality of hero in JWM cannot be met by any heros in Tamil.. I maybe wrong here !
This is because you're still mixing this up with the Tamil cinema vs. Hindi cinema debate. andha case'la nAn unga katchi 'nga!Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
I am not so confident of BSKapoor. Even in Kaminey, I didnt realise he came from such a lower economic strata in the society until the flashback. The men's hostel the social worker stayed in - I wrongly thought of it as a women's hostel where Priyanka stays and BSK has sneaked into until she runs the corridor screaming and other occupants are shown watching. As for teh gangster, there was not an iota of the supposed economic and social strata of his character in him. Mechanic to door ki baat hai, yeh bachcha lower middle class bhi nahin kar sakta. Dhanush in Polladhavan-E kashtam ivanukku.Quote:
To stay with the current comparison. I am more certain that Bharath can't pull JWM than I am about that Shahid not pulling off a Kaadhal equivalent. (Movie won't work is another issue, I mean just the performance)
While rightly pointing fingers at Tamil Cinema for failing to provide authentic urbane, we should not fail in our duty to laugh at Hindi cinema for its inability to see beyond certain economic and social strata.
A word of appreciation for Chopra's character in Kaminey, though. Well performed. I'll even accuse Bhope of being inconsistent and doing as per the director's whims.
Dig
Idhellam nyaayamae illai makkalae.. Naanum evvalavu dhaan JWM padam paakaama ezhudhitae irukardhu.. Idhu pathaadhunu Plum avargal Kaaminey vera inga kondu vandhutaar.. Ebbaa, aduthu dhayavu seidhu Taal pathi pesunga. andha padathula Asha Bhonsle songla Shahid oru sidela varuvan. adha pathi naan pesa thaayaar oops thayaar
End Dig :lol:
AV avanoda munnetrathai paathengala , athai neenga paarattanum :P
Kandipaa paaraatiyae aaganum :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Appu s
[Picking once again from elsewhere... :)]
Yes, this captures what I was trying to say, but this is only one side of the story (that of Gautham Menon and Nepali*). There are regular filmmakers who are not at all conscious of this specific sort of suaveness and they don't have much trouble showing a suave businessman or a yuppie. Yes, we do keep seeing them on and off in our films. The same applies for the college-going youngster archetype, which isn't mucked up unless they decide to channel the Brad Pitts and the Hrithik Roshans of the world.Quote:
Originally Posted by Bala (Karthik)
Yes, indeed, this applies to most of our heroes. Isn't that striking?Quote:
* -- With the former, the problem is that there are only few actors (like Maddy) who can do justice to the sort of yuppieness he has in mind. But in the latter case, that sort of "coolness" doesn't even exist.
kanden kadhalai looks positively disastrous. can't they even change the dance moves? and the addition? the ever-annoying santhanam. "sikhni hoon mein bhatinda ki" makes way for imported, cute-dubbed tamanna trying to pass off as theni ponnu. you can almost see the assistant director swearing backstage after the extended prompting session. so much for localisation. bledy.
:rotfl2:Quote:
Originally Posted by Poornima
Pattavathu tamil a irukkean nu santhosha padunga. BTW Thamizhukketra matram- JWM la Batinda Sikhni,ithula theni ponnu avlothan :banghead:Quote:
What a wasted talent.