So, I guess I wasn't far off when I said Vijayashanti.
narayanan - thanks for the link. That is the song I was talking about. Next time I will just google before I repeat questions that were already answered.
Printable View
So, I guess I wasn't far off when I said Vijayashanti.
narayanan - thanks for the link. That is the song I was talking about. Next time I will just google before I repeat questions that were already answered.
Neel D -
I found myself humming a VJ solo the other day, but could not recall the name of the film. All I remember is that it is the debut film of Ramya Krishnan :P Title?
The song goes:
Aaththora Nilavae
Aagaaya Malare
Eeraezhu Vayasae
Neeraaduthae
Koyil Koovum Thoppukkulae
Muththaththathin Saththangalo
Kaetum Muththaththin Saththangalo
Some of the lyrics could be my own in the above :shock:
I think it was composed by SG.
And while I'm on the subject of SG, have you heard (do you have) the duet: Hey, Maamaa Ponnu, Rosappovae Vaamaa Kannu, by VJ/TMS? It was a Radhika / Sudhakar venture. Title?
Naaz,
Ramya Krishnan's first film is Vellai Manasu. But I can't recall the song AththOra nilavE.
yE mAmA poNNu is from Ethir Veettu Jannal, correct? It was popular when it came out. There are some very rare TMS-VJ duets that many of us have never heard. I will try to bring a few of them out in the next few days. But here is a popular one for you to hum till then. "oru aRai koduththAl theriyum" from Ilaiya Thalaimurai.
antha aRai paLLi aRai Aga irunthAl....uhhhhhhh....
Hi Neel
I recollect a beautiful duet by TMS, VJ. I forgot the film. can u help me "chozhanin magaLe vA, sunthara tamizhE vA, yEzhaiyin madi meedhu vA""
Rajesh : the film mentioned by you - madhavi/jahnavi/banuchander is "needhi devan mayakkam".. a remake of "insaaf ka tarasu"
Madhu,
I think we discussed chOzanin magaLE some time ago briefly. It is from the film "Nenjukku Neethi".
thanks Neel.. I think I hv to go through the complete thread ! ( enna seyyaradhunga.. time illama pochunga)
Neel D -
Right on! Yes, Vellai Manasu is the film! I am sure that the solo is from VM.
Wasn't Ilaiya Thalaimurai another latter day Sivaji flop? I vaguely recall the song, but I have to hear it again to get the drift of the tune.
Madhu -
Have to go through the complete thread? You'd better apply for an extended sabbatical! :)
Naaz,
I think Ilaiya Thalaimurai was a flop but it was not that much latter day Sivaji. It is from 1977. It was covered in the Tamil Songs Chronology series by Saravanan.
I will look around for Vellai Manasu song.
Neel D -
Who was the female lead in Ilaiya Thalaimurai? Do you remember any other songs from the film? And while you are looking around for Vellai Manasu...may I urge you to go the distance and also find "Ilankuyilin Ilaiya Raagam" from Dhooram Athigamillai? :) This is one song I've been waiting to hear again for many years!
Also, do you know if Fetna is planning any VJ concerts on the north american west coast?
A much deserved thanks to your website! A producer from CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation) heard the VJ interview from the site and called me yesterday. They said it was one of the best "music" interviews they had heard, and added that VJ was "passionately eloquent"! Thank you for making this interview available to the world at large!
Hi Naaz !
heroine of Ilaiya thalaimurai is Vanisri.
one Sangeetha got introduced in this film.
Two more songs I remember - "kettaye oru kelvi nan varthaiyil badhil solla mudiyamal" - a TMS, PS duet and "oru naaL iravu thanimaiyil irundhen thirudan vandhan " a PS solo !
madhu -
PS-oda Oru Naal Iravu Thanimaiyil is from Ilaiya Thalaimurai? I would never have guessed! This film must have come around the time of Rojaavin Rajaa, Unakkaaga Naan...? Wonder why a fine artiste like Vanisri got stuck in the quicksand of bad and badder Sivaji films? Vaani Raani was perhaps the last hit with this pair?
Naaz,
I am glad to know that CBC appreciated the interview. It was your brainchild. Credit goes to you. Of course VJ was brilliant and eloquent as always.
I am not aware of any FETNA concerts other than the NY concert. I will post here if I have any information.
its my favourite also. another song by her which i like very much - though in hindi - is "bole re papi hara".Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldposts
I recently discovered a TMS-VJ duet "kayalvizi pArvaiyilE" opening in TMS's voice. VJ's line begins "nAn nalla rasigai". Film is "thEn sittukaL". Does anyone have any details about this film or other songs from this film?
ramky,
Welcome to the thread. Is that you in the avatar?
Neel D -
VJ is a TMS rasigai! She mentions her great admiration for him, and how overjoyed she was when she sang her first duet with him (interview.)
I think TMS should be just as proud to have a rasigai with VJs rasanai!
Have not heard the song you refer to...maybe if I hear it, it will all come back!
I was listening to Paalodu Thaen Kalandha Abishekam the other day. This duet takes an earthy turn at the end, and both the singers infuse it with such rustic fragrance...Do you know who the composer is? (KVM? Kunnakkudi? Or?)
ramky -
Welcome!
This interview clip was sent by Prabhu to the VJ egroup.
Click on the link below to listen:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/tamil/tamilfilmmusic53.ram
hi Neel D & Naaz ! Neel D : the avatar i had b4 was Keanu Reeves.Quote:
Originally Posted by Neel D
Naaz,
KVM is the MD for the song you mentioned - pAlOdu then kalantha abishegam. Film NyAnakkulzhanthai - the story of Thirunyana Sambanthar. I don't know the name of baby artiste.
The same film have another gem by VJ "poothatu kamalam purinthathu kAraNam ponvaNduk kAga vendru".
other songs in NyAnakkulzhanthai:
1) Thodudaiya Seviyan - PS - baby artiste
2) Osai Kodutha - PS- baby artiste - dance by Gemini Ganesh & V.A.Nirmala
3) Poothathu kamalam - VJ - Sujatha
4) paLOdu then - TMS & VJ - Latha & Jai Ganesh
5) koLLimalai kAttukkule - LRE - Jayachithra (athiradiyaana , nalla bootham paattu)
6) mAsil vInaiyum & sotrunai vEthiyan - TMS - S.V.Suppaiah
7) few more
Friends, i owuld like to share something with you all.
I've interview VJ during her visit to Malaysia in 2002. I host her programme in KL too. During the interview I have asked her sing Nitham Nitham nelluchoru song but dhe refused. She said the lyrics are not that good and ignore it. But at last, in the medley she have sang the nitham -nitham as last song.
It's a nother great and golden time, I set beside her, interviewed and requested my favourite songs from my favourite singer. (another artiste was Aachi Manorama)
premanath : Very nice to hear that you have interviewed Vani Jeyaram !Quote:
Originally Posted by premananth
I just now watched Manorama's programme on Southern Spice - she recalled her trip to Singapore and Malaysia some time back and how the crowd there applauded joyfully when she spoke a few lines in Malay to them !
Btw "Nitham Nitham nellichOru" ( from "Mullum Malarum" ) featured Rajinikanth and "Fadafat" Jayalakshmi in the sequence. This was a
landmark film in which Rajinikanth and Sarath Babu acted together for the first time.
prem ananth -
Thank you for the details on the Paalodu duet. I have also heard the solo from the film, which is a rare one, and a good composition by KVM.
I'm delighted to hear about your interview with Vani Jairam. Thank you for sharing your memories about that encounter. VJ has great regard for her Malaysian and Singaporean rasikas, and makes it a point to mention this in her interviews in India/elsewhere. What show do you host in KL? Is it a radio programme? Can one listen to it on the internet? Please give me a few more details.
VJ has sung a duet with Manorama - Paarththaale Theriyaadho Naekku, Adiyae Sarasu... it's from Sri Raagavaenthar, I believe
Ramky :
adhu Sarath Babu illaiyO ? :roll:Quote:
This was a
landmark film in which Rajinikanth and Sarath Kumar acted together for the first time.
Ramky and Naaz,
It's my pleasure.
It was her solo stage performance. She has sang nice karnatic songs and few TFM songs. It was different feeling when hear the TFM songs with very few instruments - which using for normal kacheri. I still remember Muthamilzhil Paada Vanthen, Malligai En Mannan, Malligai Mullai, Meghame.... in the show.
Actually I just was a announcer for the show. But before that I've interviewed her for Local ASTRO (satellite TV) News. The Nitham Nitham incident happen during the interview time.
I have the photo which I've taken with her. Sorry I was rushed to the interview.
I've lost contact with the show producers. I try to get any visuals of the show. Kindly be patient. I'm too eager to watch it.
In my 5 years experience in the Broadcast line, there were three visits by Aachi to Malaysia and I have interviewed her twice where one for news and onther was special one hour interview.
In all her Malaysia visits she has spoken in Malay during the stage performances.
Sorry friends,
I don't know how to insert the photo.
madhu : athu Sarath Babu-ve thaan. my mistake. m.c. !Quote:
Originally Posted by madhu
(meaow gulped) :lol:
premananth : Pl click the link below, of an Image Hosting site :Quote:
Originally Posted by premananth
http://www.imageshack.us/index.php
At this site, you must click "browse" and select the image in your computer (which you want to insert here ), and then click "host it!". After a few seconds, the site will say that your image has been uploaded, and will show some links. Among those links will be one link labelled as "direct link to image". Copy this link into Notepad or some other text editor in your computer, and save it. Then copy that link and post it here. Thats all. Now when anyone click your link, they will be able to see the picture or image. In case of any problem, you can mention it here or you can pm me also.
Ramky,
Thanks for the guide.
naan Unggala maathiri style-a vo, alzhaavo irukka maatten. Ana isai rAni pakkathula nikkirathula perumai paduren.
ok. view it.
prem ananth : naanum azhagu illai, this is avatar of Superstar.
and external form doesnt matter in the long run, internal substance is more important.
btw where is the link to view the photo in your post ?
Ramky, nenja nenachutteengga. Sorry for the delay. Some technical problems.
http://img48.imageshack.us/img48/9712/vjprem5iu.jpg
Lets see our IsaiVaani!
Prem :
photo-la nikkaradhukku oru mugam, udambu irundha podhum.. azhagu edhukku..
VJ pakkathula ninnu irukkeenga.. avanga kitte pesi iruppenga.. adhu poradha ?
Prem :
Ramky oru Mr.Delhi.. adhai maraichuttar !
Prem: Great to see you alongwith VJ. It must have given you a great sense of pride :-)
Nalla velai madhu, neenga sonnathu ellam en kitta irukku; athuvum photo-la.... ha... haa.. just kidding.
anyhow, it was a wonderful time and feelings. Vivarikka vaarathaigal kidaiyaathu.
Enakku antha photo-va paarthaathaan athu nijamnu thonum; nenachu paartha kanavu pola irukku.
"Manathukku piditha paadagiyai petti kandavan - antha
Kadavulukku Nandri solluvaan"
athu Naan thaan.
prem ananth : nice photo and a treasurable one !Quote:
Originally Posted by madhu
madhu : neengal oru Mr.Internet endru maraichuteengaLE ?!
Ethethu ennala ingga periya pore vanthidum pola irukku. (ana nalla private info-vum varuthu) Namma pathi pesinathu pothum; vaangga isai arasiya pathi pesuvom.
VJ has sang nice devotional songs in some movies:
Here is the list. Pls amend it if I missed any songs.
1) pAlile veNNei uNdu - with LRE - Devi Sri Karumariamman
2) nIyindri yArumillai - with SGR- VaruvAn vadivElan
3) sathiya thirukkOlam - with TMS - VaruvAn vadivElan
4) VaruvAn vadivElan - varuvAn vadivElan
5) AdunggaL pAdunggaL - with SPB - ?
6) kALi puRappattAL - with TMS, SGR, Sasireka - ?
7) nenjil vaithAl nEril varuVaL - with Ragavendrar - sarvam sakthi mayam
8) ammA un karuNaikku - with SGR - Deviyin Thiruvilaiyaadal
9) muthu maNi bullaakkuthaan - with PS - Raja or Veera pAndi (Sivaji, Sumithra, Vijayakanth, Rathika)
10) mAtharin kungumam - Ayiram kaNNudaiyAL
11) Ayiram kaNNudaiyAL - with ? - Ayiram kaNNudaiyAL
12) ammA thAye karumAri - with PS - Ayiram kaNNudaiyAL
13) Bannari MAriyadi - Maggamma Sabatham
14) sannithiyin uLLirukkum - Samaya purathaale saatchi
15) mAri thirisooli - mElmaruvathU AthiparAsakthi
16) ettu thikkilum - Bathil solvAL BathrakALi
if we notice, ovvoru sollaiyum poruL uNarnthu, antha sollai uNarnthu pAduvAr.
The word "vanjam" in Nenjil vaithaal song - kobam koppaLikkum.
Hi Prem ..
there are some more beautiful devotional songs are there by VJ
kettal ketta varam - durga devi
pandiya mannanin rajakumari - velum mayilum thunai
maruvathooril valar maragadhamE - Melmaruvathoor Adhi parasakthi
Thanks madhu....
I think, kettal ketta varam her first song in IR music.
Haiyo, madhu valarnthaachu....!
rajarishi had some good songs by VJ, like
maan kanden,
azhaghiya kalai nilavae endrum vazhgha vazhghavae
Mani sir,
thanks for the list.
but the rajarishi song are normal love songs and a puraNap padam.
What I listed are samiyaattam/thiruvilzha songs.
Can add Thanggam Vairam Navamanigal from Theiva thirumaNanggal also.
Prem :
then u can add "thirumAlE seerarum maNivaNNA" from dheiva thirumaNangaL