I downloaded these vids to my hard drive. Netthudhan paarthen :|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
Printable View
I downloaded these vids to my hard drive. Netthudhan paarthen :|
Quote:
I am chappal (Read Ian Chappel) has included annan in world xi less than two years after he said annan should retire.
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/maga...ry/392791.html
This is what we call "eating his own words" :PQuote:
India bank on Tendulkar for ODI boost
6 hours ago
NAPIER, New Zealand (AFP) — India are set to recall record-breaking batsman Sachin Tendulkar as they head into a one-day series against New Zealand this week looking to bounce back from two Twenty20 defeats.
Tendulkar, who sat out the Twenty20 games, was brought on the tour specifically for the one-day internationals and Tests and Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is confident he will boost the tourists.
"When you're playing against him, it plays on your mind," he said of Tendulkar, who has amassed a record 16,440 runs in 422 ODIs.
"It's not just his batting and bowling, you see the amount of contributions he makes with his experience," he added.
But the home side will be be hoping they can repeat their successes against the master batsman during India's 2002-03 tour of New Zealand, when Tendulkar had a dismal run with innings of a duck, one and one.
Skipper Daniel Vettori said New Zealand had strategies in place to deal with Tendulkar but they would have to be precise.
"You can have plans for him but it has to be inch-perfect," he said.
Dhoni played down the opening losses, saying the games had given his side valuable time in the middle.
"We know everyone is in good nick and each and every one is playing his shots that he normally plays," Dhoni said.
"I feel we are batting in the right areas and hopefully the mistakes are quite easy to avoid."
And Vettori is not getting carried away with his side's two victories in the 20-over version of the game.
"I think our team will be feeling good, but in saying that, India have played some great cricket over the last year or so, so they will still be confident," Vettori said.
"They know they can bounce back from these performances (in the Twenty20s). We knew right from the start we had to play some very, very good cricket if we want to compete and beat India and that's the same mantra we will have throughout the one-day series."
New Zealand will be at full strength for the first ODI on Tuesday, with the injury-prone Jacob Oram returning to bowling duties after playing as a batsman in the Twenty20s.
"I'll look to bowl him a few overs. It definitely won't be a full spell, but even a little bit of him makes a big difference so we'll probably choose between Ian Butler and Tim Southee in terms of the final seamer," Vettori said.
Kyle Mills also returns after recovering from an Achilles problem and will be a valuable addition to an attack that was battered in the opening overs of the Twenty20s by Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Suresh Raina.
The right-armer, and world's third-ranked ODI bowler, has enjoyed success against India, taking 16 wickets at 27.87 in 13 matches.
Vettori said New Zealand are likely to bat first if they win the toss because the lights at McLean Park are less bright than others around the country.
India have one injury concern, with fast bowler Ishant Sharma a doubt after injuring his shoulder in the second Twenty20.
http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp...zOnZi8XSD08UaA
Tendulkar changes dressing room atmosphere completely: Dhoni
Joseph Hoover
Napier, Mar 2 (PTI) On the back foot after twin Twenty20 losses to New Zealand, Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni today said Sachin Tendulkar's return to the side has boosted the team's morale ahead of the one-day series.
"He is a great player. Not only from a batting or bowling point of view, if you see the amount of contribution he can make to the side from his experience is amazing. He changes the dressing room atmosphere completely," said Dhoni ahead of the day-night ODI series opener.
Dhoni said he cannot quantify Tendulkar's influence on the team and the opponents.
"That is very difficult for me to answer. But when he was playing against us (Chennai Super Kings) for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League, it played on your mind. The amount of ideas he has got apart from being a very talented and aggressive cricketer is phenomenal.
"And there are lots of things you have to be careful about him. You have to be careful about each and everything you do out on the field," said Dhoni.
India, the pre-series favourites, have been pulled back by defeats in the Twenty20 matches, which were given a miss by Tendulkar. PTI
http://www.ptinews.com/pti%5Cptisite...8?OpenDocument
http://www.voxy.co.nz/sport/little-m...ce-felt/5/9776
Monday, 2 March, 2009 - 18:07
Little Master Makes Presence Felt
By Chris Barclay of NZPA
Napier, March 2 NZPA - New Zealand's new generation of cricketers have been urged not to be overwhelmed when sharing a ground with Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar for the first time tomorrow.
Attempting to limit Tendulkar's wide array of shots is hardly unique for New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori, but he concedes less experienced members of his attack could be distracted by their assignment against the "little master".
Pace trio Tim Southee, Iain O'Brien, Ian Butler plus part timers Grant Elliott and Jesse Ryder have never had the dubious honour of bowling to the 35-year-old cricketing legend -- though that will change for the majority when the five-match one-day series starts at McLean Park here tomorrow (2pm NZT).
Tendulkar, on his seventh tour of New Zealand, is poised to make his first appearance against the Black Caps for six years in a much-anticipated series opener.
Vettori accepted Tendulkar's glowing reputation might play on the minds of his relatively inexperienced bowling line-up.
"There's an immense amount of respect for the player he is and I suppose for a lot of our younger guys he could almost be their favourite player when they were growing up," Vettori said.
"Guys all have their own stories of sitting round watching Sachin play but, like when you go to Australia, you've got to quickly go past your boyhood heroes and realise it's an international game."
Vettori said the team had sought to downplay Tendulkar's imminent arrival but there was no escaping the influence he could add to an already potent -- if under-performing -- batting line-up.
"He brings a wealth of experience, he has been to New Zealand on a number of occasions and he understands the conditions," Vettori said of the 422-ODI veteran.
Coaching staff have been probing for weaknesses in Tendulkar's set-up and are aware he struggled on his last visit here in 2003, scoring just two runs in three ODI innings.
And his most recent ODI series in Sri Lanka last month only amounted to scores of five, six and seven before he was dismissed leg before wicket each time.
Vettori said strategies were in place to curb Tendulkar but they had to be precise.
"You can have plans for him but it has to be inch perfect," he said.
"You see how guys have succeeded against him in the past but there has to be a lot of hard work and you have to be consistent.
"If you miss slightly against these guys you're going to get hurt."
Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who plays against Tendulkar at domestic level, admitted the diminutive right hander was an intimidating presence.
"When you're playing against him, it plays on your mind .... `Sachin is there'," he said.
"It's not just his batting and bowling, you see the amount of contributions he makes with his experience."
While Tendulkar bolsters an already impressive top order, Vettori felt New Zealand had the capacity to counterbalance their contributions as Brendon McCullum, Ryder, Martin Guptill and Ross Taylor meld as a unit.
The quartet all fired at various stages as the Twenty20 series was won 2-0, Vettori rating them the most promising top four he had batted behind since his 235-game ODI career started 12 years ago.
"This is probably the most exciting top four that I've played with and they could be around for a long, long time.
"It means we've got match winners there as well as guys that can adapt to situations," said Vettori, who predicted a score of 280-300 would be required tomorrow on what appears another perfect batting surface.
Both sides have issues with their bowling stocks. Vettori has to decide between Southee and Butler -- who played his last ODI in Melbourne in 2004 -- as the third seamer behind Mills and O'Brien.
India, meanwhile, are set to omit right arm quick Ishant Sharma after he landed heavily on his right shoulder during the Twenty20 in Wellington last Friday.
Dhoni was unfazed at the prospect of losing a strike bowler, saying he would rather rest Sharma now than risk his causing more damage ahead of the three-test series.
Munaf Patel or Praveen Kumar will join the pace attack.
http://www.stuff.co.nz/4865834a1823.html
Kiwis in awe of Tendulkar
By JONATHAN MILLMOW - The Dominion Post | Tuesday, 03 March 2009
It seems everyone has the same wish today to watch Sachin Tendulkar bat for a couple of hours and for the home side to continue on their winning roll.
The man with a bat as wide as an elephant's tongue and over 80 international hundreds enters the stage when the one-day series between New Zealand and India opens in Napier.
Yesterday, Tendulkar was able to lunch without fuss on the main street and on his plate today will be a pitch very much to his liking and short square boundaries.
New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori is watching over a group of young players and hopes the occasion will not get to them. "There is an immense amount of respect for him and, for a lot of our players, he could almost be their favourite player growing up.
"Tim Southee was two when he toured out here for the first time. Guys all have their stories of sitting around watching Sachin bat but, like when you go to Australia, you have to quickly go past your boyhood heroes and realise that it is an international game."
New Zealand have a bowling plan for Tendulkar.
They know the 35-year-old plays all around the wicket, they know he is strong off both feet and hits gaps, but they also know he has a moderate record in New Zealand.
The tactic in the past has been to dry him up and string together as many dot balls as possible.
Few teams scout their opponents as well as New Zealand. They generally kept Australia at bay in the Chappell-Hadlee series and their execution in the Twenty20 matches against India was impressive. Still, if Tendulkar or Virender Sehwag get into stride, it hardly matters where you pitch it.
"The big thing with the bowlers is just to put the ball in the right spot. If it gets hit for six, I can live with that," Vettori said. "If we go searching and give them width, then we get ourselves into trouble."
India arrived as the form one-day side in the world, but the Twenty20 series has lessened their invincibility and given New Zealand some belief. Team news yesterday was good for New Zealand and disappointing for India.
Jacob Oram will return to the bowling crease for a handful of overs and either Southee or Ian Butler will carry the drinks.
Praveen Kumar, a lively swing merchant, is tipped to replace Ishant Sharma, who has a minor shoulder problem.
Tendulkar Test Match World Record
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFFTpilfLtQ
A better quality video.
[tscii]The Day Sachin Gifted Rs.12 Crores for the Great Indian Dream!
Posted: Nov 21st, 2008
The world has been written about Sachin, but this is something that has gone completely unreported. That’s how Sachin wanted it to be.
It was 2003. Without much expectations, my team had gone to Sachin to invite him for the launch of my book, The Great Indian Dream. He obviously was busy but he kept the copy of the book. One fine afternoon in 2004, we were overjoyed to receive a call from Vinod Naidu, then the Director of Worldtel, informing us that Sachin had gone through the book and wanted us to meet him. We had no clue what was in store for us. My colleague Deepak Shah went to meet him and what followed was a dream come true for anybody. Yes!! The Master Blaster had agreed to endorse our Great Indian Dream Foundation advertisements!! An association that lasted for 3 years!!! At that time, the market rate for a Sachin Tendulkar endorsement was Rs.4 crores per year and he had decided not to charge a penny for the same from us. Not just that, he had decided to give us one day to shoot an ad film with him too. And that’s where I met Sachin. A day that will forever remain etched in my memory. I was to shoot the ad film myself and (with my wife and son) had reached an hour early – completely unable to control my excitement. Like all thoroughly professional people, in the most unpretentious manner, in a simple crushed looking shirt, Sachin landed up right on time at 10 am!! Our shoot went great… not just because along with cricket, Sachin had also mastered by then the art of acting and given lovely first takes, (those who have never realised this fact consciously should try and remember his ad for Pepsi with the Big B some years back; it was tough to say who was better... at least in that ad!!) but more because Sachin was in love with the lines he had to say. He believed in the lines – he made that very clear to us – spoke out each word from his heart, and we all knew he was most genuinely involved. After all, how many times have such big people – in all senses – on their own offered to campaign for a cause without any kind of returns whatsoever.
There were three things that I would perhaps never forget from that day’s meeting. First... Those days, Sachin had taken a few breaks from cricket due to his tennis elbow. Even on that day, he was in evident pain. And he was hurt the way media doubted his reasons. There was pain in his eyes when he was explaining how bad the pain could be and how impossible it was to play with that pain. And I knew he would not even bother to explain it to any media person – the hurt in his heart, more than the elbow, was all too clear. Second... We had asked him if he would want to change his shirt. He said he didn’t want to, as the ad was for the masses and he wanted to look like the man on the streets rather than Sachin the celebrity. And finally, we of course wanted to give a press release about this great philanthropic act of his; but Sachin requested us to not tell the media about it, since he was doing it more for the cause of India and from his heart rather than for any publicity (and at that time he had no clue that one day I would start a magazine of my own and reveal it all here). I remember his parting words; he told us, “Do anything for the cause of making India free of its ills and I am there with you guys.”
Before he was to leave, his son Arjun, daughter Sara and wife Anjali too came down to the sets. We had a small cake cutting ceremony to thank him and like a little kid, he enjoyed the cake (and the carrot and orange juice) and asked for more of it since he couldn’t hide the fact that he loved the cake too much. We were too thrilled. After he went home, we sent across another of the same chocolate cake from the Taj Mumbai for him! And yes, most of you might have seen the print campaign of The Great Indian Dream Foundation with Sachin in it (at least FEMA noticed it and promptly sent us a notice for it, wanting to know how much foreign exchange we made through our foundations activities!!!), but not the related TV campaign. The Foundation couldn’t manage enough funds to go for it. But I must write the lines that Sachin so loved and spoke... He said, “Let us work towards an educated, healthy and poverty free India... You may say I am a dreamer... Let me not be the only one... Come share the dream...” And he ended by saying something that he would say for nothing else – and for no money – but the dream for a better India. His ending punch line was, “There’s more to life than cricket!!!”
I don’t think anything can better describe the real greatness and humaneness of this man whom the entire country so loves. I wrote about his gift of Rs12 crores on the heading, more to grab the attention of you all towards his great deed than for the monetary value of what he did. It will be too demeaning of me to even try and quantify the value of what he did for us for the sake of the dream of a better India. As they say, some things in life are priceless.
http://www.articlesbase.com/strategi...am-651743.html
Vettori on the Tendulkar Phenomenon
Tuesday, 03 March 2009
As the New Zealand cricket fans looking forward to seeing Sachin Tendulkar in action, so are the Kiwi players looking forward playing against someone who is a legend in his own right; one who has been the “boyhood hero” of many players of the team.
Carrying on with the ‘defeat by praise’ and ‘undermine with stealth’ campaign, Kiwi captain Daniel Vettori has declared himself a fan of the Indian team as well as Tendulkar, who is in his opinion the best batsman, as was reported recently in the cricket news. Vettori spoke about how the Kiwis would be trying their level best to win the series, “But there is a lot of respect within our camp for the Indian side, and that's only grown since they beat Australia during the spring series.”
Kiwi captain has great awe and respect for Tendulkar and has the belief that Sachin is one of the best batsmen to have ever played the game of international cricket. According to Vettori, Tendulkar brings with him a wealth of experience. Among the present Indian squad he alone has the distinction of having toured New Zealand on a maximum number of occasions, which is why, according to Vettori, he understands the conditions.
According to Vettori, Tendulkar is arguably one of the best batsmen ever to have played the game. “As soon as you put him in the side, it definitely makes a difference,” according to Vettori. When asked “Who according to him was the best from among Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara and Sachin Tendulkar”; Vettori said “I think Tendulkar is. Ponting runs him pretty hard but I think Tendulkar, for the manner in which he's handled the pressure; for the no-nonsense, lack of drama, even-keeled approach, has to rank as the best in my lifetime - at least so far.”
Vettori spoke about how, for a lot of the younger guys, he could almost be their favourite player when they were growing up and how Tim Southee was two when Sachin toured New Zealand for the first time. “Guys "Tendulkar better than Lara & Ponting", Comments Vettorialways have various stories of sitting around and watching Sachin play. But like when you go to Australia, you have to quickly go past their boyhood heroes and realise that it is an international game,” said Vettori.
Vettori also spoke about the way that the team prepared to face Tendulkar and how the players were required to be ‘inch perfect’. “You can (plan in advance). But it has got to be inch perfect. You see how guys have succeeded against him in the past, but it has taken a lot of hard work and being consistent a lot of the time,” said Vettori.
Vettori’s words are a tribute to the nature of Sachin’s appeal that bridges the gap of oceans and earns respect of cricket players the world over
http://www.cricket360.com/1442-vetto...henomenon.html