ok.. how many non-masala/action movies touched 1M at the US box office ?? the answer is zero .. VR is not masala.. but still its action ..
the fact of the matter is, the historical portion in UV was not upto Kamal standards .. the contemporary part of the movie has appealed to a significant section of the audience and thats why its not a debacle at the BO .. for a class movie, it has collected very well, inspite of losing the first two days..
For almost 7 years now I am hearing many commenting KH as narcissistic for doing all the thing and not going for other directors?
Some 5-7 years back these people commenting KH must work with selvaraghava,Ameer,Bala,myskin etc..now where are they?
Selva,ameer,bala already out..Myskin after Mugamoodi debacle all the films are just average and doesnt have new idea..ARM,gautam surviving on Aracha maavae araikurathu..
Now the people are commenting he must work with nalan kumarasamy,karthik subbu,blah blah..how many movies they made and what are the varieties..Baring few movies all they do is gangster/don/thriller kind of movies or intense love stories..first let them make another 2 movies and they also will be out like Selva,Ameer,bala..But kamal will stand tall..
Its stupid to put the break on kamalhaasan creativity for his experimental movies like UV,VR..may be the producer can stop as its his money and for the same reason i want kamal to produce all his experimental movies..There will be some negatives like some scenes in 2nd half periodic portions in UV but Kamalhaasan creativity in UV is far far better than so called selvaraghavan,ammer,bala,myskin,etc..
For Blockbuster sake kamal can work with these directors as the combination will bring more anxiety but definitely not from creativity point of view..
Age wise, there is none who ages much more slowly and beautifully as kamal sir. And he is not using Botox too. Botox will make ones skin hard and kamal cannot act in the scene with ajayram where even his கன்னக்கதுப்பு was acting! The above lines can be said as the most funniest dumb lines, on kamal! Sorry sir, but i mean it.
So if any of these so called young talented directors were given a chance, would them hav made the 8th century portion a superhit?!? And what eamples? Selva's period attempt Aayirathil Oruvan flopped badly.
Very sincere request ..... lets not discuss NT in the thread. NT and KH span different generations and also acting genre. When fans of non sense heroes are coming and throwing shit here, lets hear positively to comments from senior NT fans. At least the discussion will be healthy. KH and NT compare and contrast mattum vendaam.
lets take the case of so-called young directors.. actually these guys are no more young..
Selvaraghavan - total waste of time
Bala - he is repetitive but impactful..
Gautam - lacks creativity and very very repetitive
ARM - lacks sarakku.. but does make an impact with the masses.. ideal candidate for a mass masala BB .. best substitute for Shankar (old shankar) .. new shankar is a waste of time and money
Mysskin - the only worthy candidate ... dropping his movie is a big disappointment .. Kamal needs to understand that mysskin's writing wont be up to his liking, but he makes up for it with this direction and presentation ..
i dont think bala can be boxed along with the aforementioned directors. he is class apart in terms of characterization and story telling - except for the weak avan ivan....
but i do not think there is any chance of kamal as a creator needing to be in a bala film - coz bala already brings out powerful performances from everyone ...rajkiran in nanda etc
other than that kamal in anyother directors movie is gonna be a kamal movie...
Kamal should work with other directors only for mass blockbuster movies..for that he can go for ARM ..
MMA pola mokkai padam koduthuruntha intha discussiona jeeranichikalaam but his last 2 movies VR and UV were classic and good compared to other directors movies..than why do we need other directors?
iMoviesUSA @SIMoviesUSA · May 15
#Lion 2 days BO $74K from 60 locs. Avg!! Today is key
#UttamaVillain 2 wks (Tamil) USA & Canada - $660K, Average!! (Telugu) - $56K, Poor!!
Selva and Bala are waste according to me.
I feel he should collaborate with ARM. Gautham is good but only if his second half is tighter in storytelling. But ultimate is Shankar. He is the money maker. I would like to see Indian-2 following Senapathi's escape to Singapore.
Ayya ..... adutha kamal padam appo naan 40s la thaan paakanunaa .....
Thalaivan irukkindraan ...... loosely based on the early evolution of the mumbai underworld highlighting the role of police in foddering Dawood in order to curtail trail groups of Haji Mastan, Varatharaja muthali etc etc and how they burn their fingers by developing their own number one underminer ......... KH as D , Nagarjuna as Mastan, ....... itha vidavaa shankar kizhichira poraaru ? ?
If he doesnt announce thalaivan irukkindraan by 2015 end , we are the unluckiest fans on earth.
Kamal as D ? post Basha none of the Mumbai based movies succeeded. That's why KH is keeping the script, but not starting..
என்னமோ ஏதோ அமெரிக்காவுல உள்ள தமிழ் மக்கா எல்லாரும் அப்படியே இலக்கியத்துலயும் இதிஹாச நூல்களையும் படிச்சு, எல்லாம் கரைச்சு குடிச்ச மாதிரி பேசறீங்க?
17D இல்ல 25E/B busல footboard அடிச்சு Albertலயும் Devi complexலயும் ல black டிக்கெட் எடுத்து முதல் நாள் முதல் show பார்த்த அதே கும்பல் தான் இங்கயும் குப்ப கொட்டுது - அதோ Dr garu சொன்னாரே, Hyderabadல தியேட்டர்குள்ள ரகள பண்ணின மக்காஸ் - அதே attitude தான் இங்க இருக்கற தேசி மக்களுக்கும்.
இந்தியாவிலேர்ந்து அமெரிக்கா வந்துட்டா உடனே ரசனையும் மாறிடுமா என்ன? ரசனை ஒன்னும் பார்த்து புரிஞ்சு மாறனும் இல்ல, attitudeல மாறனும் - அந்த மாதிரி எல்லாம் பெரிய paradigm shift in appreciative senses எல்லாம் இன்னும் ஏற்படவில்லை.
ஐயா - அடிப்படை அளவுல there is a HUGE GAP not only between Tamil cinema and Hollywood, but even Mexican directors make phenomenal strides - while we continue to insist on item songs, punch dialogs etc - something very weird about what we expect - நம்ம ஊர்ல எடுக்கற படங்கள்ல 'வச்சா குடுமி சிறைச்சா மொட்டை' கதை தான்..
Example: தசவதாரம் படம் ஒரு மாசத்துக்கு மேல இங்க ஓடுச்சு - எனக்கு ஒரு தடவைக்கு மேல போக விருப்பமில்லை ($15 ஒரு காரணம்) - UV is relatively a far better, nuanced film - and its taken off after 2 weeks just when I wanted to take some ppl with me to watch something far different from the regular bollywood fare they are all familiar with.
If such films are not encouraged by fans, then there is not much scope for Tamil cinema…
Uthama Villain- The Revealed and the Unrevealed
May 4, 2015 by karthik S
In an era where social networking rules every day and every moment of our lives, where virtual contacts take precedence over the real ones, a life which we seemingly assume exists for eternity – What if out of the blue, you are told that eternity is indeed an illusion and that you might not even have sufficient time to bid people good bye. Uthama Villain explores this theme and much more and has an indelible impact long after we leave the screens.
Kamal Haasan plays the role of Manoranjan, a matinee idol revered by his umpteen fans. Aided by his influential financier father-in-law, he reaps the benefits of commercial cinema, only to be jolted by a life threatening crisis (brain tumor), which urges him to introspect and leave behind a legacy. As with success, even disaster hunts in pairs- Manoranjan gets to know from Zakaria (played by Jayaram) that he has a daughter Manonmani through his lover Yamini, who was unfortunately left in the lurch years ago, courtesy his father in law’s deceit. When you lose your way, who better to reach out than your mentor?
And who better than his also real life mentor K Balachander, who plays the role of the aptly coined ‘Marghadharisi’. The scene where KB misconstrues Kamal’s real life story for reel has been deftly handled. The same scene mocks how scripts are written on the fly and also takes a dig at how cancer has been beaten to death in cinema, long before the audience get to do so for this film. They decide to make a comedy movie called ‘Uthama Villain’ (Not only is the irony in the title, but also in making a comedy movie, which dates some centuries back, as Manoranjan’s last creation). As Marghadharisi narrates to the heroine Pooja Kumar, he very deftly explains to the audience what to expect in the movie within the movie (I shall term them as ‘Uthaman portions’ henceforth)- “Villu Paattu kathai sollum, Thaiyyam kalam sellum’’; True to his statement, we see Villu Pattu sequences narrating the story of Uthaman, a Thaiyyam artist who repeatedly escapes death and is believed to have attained the power of immortality. The soon to be dead artist playing an immortal artist- Irony continues.
The movie cuts back and forth between the Manoranjan and Uthaman sequences, but with real purpose. Uthaman escapes death after being pushed in water and we cut to witness Manoranjan bleeding profusely as he plays the role. How artists indeed depict roles that are in total contrast to what they experience in real life?
As the timid Uthaman character develops love towards the seemingly mad princess Karpagavalli played by Pooja Kumar, we cut to Manoranjan portions showing how he opens up to his family about his health crisis. As the thought of his inevitable death haunts them, we cut back to Uthaman portions which depict him singing the curse of immortality ‘Saagavaram Pol Sogam Undaa?’- Irony continues. After an emotional moment with his wife played brilliantly by Oorvasi, Manoranjan also reveals his affection for his doctored lover (lover doctor?), played by Andrea. We cut back to the Uthaman portion where we have a similar triangular love story -Uthaman, Karpagavalli and Mutharasan, the king played by Nasser. Uthaman wins the trust of the people around him, like how Manoranjan did.
The best part is yet to come- Manoranjan can never die peacefully till he is accepted by his daughter Manonmani; The moment it happens, it marks the completion of transformation of ‘Manoranjan, the Villain’ to ‘Uthaman, the hero’. To illustrate it further, we have the dialog panning out ‘En Uthirathin Vithai En Uyir valartha Sathai’ as Manonmani accepts Manoranjan as her dad, and we cut to a similar conflicting father child story in ‘Iraniyan and Prahaladhan’.
As they agree to make Uthama Villain, Manoranjan and Marghadharisi do not have a readily available script, the time was in fact running out. I assume that to address this, Manorajan takes inspiration from his personal story- The characters in the present day portions do not map exactly with the Uthaman portions, but their character sketches definitely draw a parallel. And what better way to summarize it than the climax- The soon to be mortal Manoranjan becomes immortal through art after playing the role of Uthaman, who was seemingly immortal to start with and transformed himself to the mortal king. The whole story is in fact how the Villain Manoranjan becomes a Uthaman in real life as he progresses playing his role.
This review would be incomplete if I fail to mention this gem of a scene- Manoranjan explaining his son Manohar about his imminent death. Manohar angry at his dad because of his rift with him mom Oorvasi throws the cricket ball hard at his dad. As his dad explains his medical condition, Manohar quickly reconciles and even volunteers to gather the ball for his dad. Death reconciles people, isn’t it? When Manoranjan enquires his son about his dream and his plans for life, the son politely asks him why he was doing so now. The dad replies he wanted to always, but never did so. That moment makes us really think -What a great leveler death is ? How we assume everyone and everything would stay with us, only to be proved on the contrary. And in that moment, comes out the lovely truth that despite his aversion, the son’s dream was to write a great script for his dad. The scene also depicts a few fans peeping over thinking it is some movie scene and remarking that Manoranjan would get an award for this- If you cannot cry seeing this scene, I doubt you would ever so.
Ghibran’s soul stirring music is as important as the screenplay. The Thaiyyam number, Saagavaram, Kaadhalaam Kadavul Munn and the folklore stories are an absolute treat to watch, and so are the background scores for Uthaman-Karpagavalli romantic scenes, Yamini letters, Guru-Sishya, Father-Son/daughter.
Uthama Villain indeed has its own set of flaws- the less engaging screenplay on occasions (First half party scene, talk show scene, second half Kamal Haasan-Pooja Kumar love sequences and some repetitive comedy); The VFX reveals itself on occasions; The sharp dialogs with amazing word play can be savored only if your Tamil language skills are good, which isn’t definitely an unfair expectation. Intense movies like this definitely take time to grow on you; The first time I watched, I was looking for a seemingly familiar format, and the randomness made me slightly disappointed. Only to realize, so is life. The movie made a huge impact on watching again; It was unfair of me to expect a movie depicting ‘a life cut short’ to be cut short to make a racy script.
Apart from narrating his artistic ambition of living beyond his life and creating a legacy, Kamal Haasan also succeeds in narrating how the ones whom we hold dear are all it matters over other commercial pursuits. Uthama Villain narrates that death is not one to be feared; Rather than living a life of death (monotony), it is better to find life in death, Let us celebrate death by leaving a lasting legacy!
https://karlara.wordpress.com/2015/0...he-unrevealed/
Beg to differ. UV is quite well received in the US ... just cannot be compared to VR or Dasa. Those are action oriented fast paced movies unlike UV. Despite, UV rated an average Kamal movie has grossed more than 1/2 million, $660k to be precise which is more than what the best next gen star movies have achieved in the United States. UV continues to do its 3rd week run in my location and a few others which is pretty good considering most successful movies baring a few from TN are out in 2 weeks.
என்ன இப்படி பேசுறேள்? முகத்தை கோரமாக்கிக் கொண்டு, தாடைகளை கடினமாக அசைத்து அசைத்து பேசும் நல்லசிவத்தின் நடிப்பை ஒத்த ஒன்றை நான் இதுவரை எந்த இந்தியப் படங்களிலும் கண்டதில்லை.
உத்தமவில்லனில் நடிப்பில் ஜொலித்த இடங்கள் நிறைய. நீங்கள் படத்தைப் பார்த்துவிட்டுத்தான் இப்படி பேசுகிறீர்களா?
If it happens that will be great. One thing is would kamal listen to other people's scripts, if he can open up himself a little there could be some interesting collaborations. Not sure why such things never materialize, he could have collaborated with crazy on UV for humor quotient...
No. Impossible. Who confirmed and when ?
If its that Pankaj kapoor film producer Arora statement few months back that you mean ....... I can tell you be prepared to get disappointed.
There were rumors that Kamal would do Amar hain after Uttama villain release...
http://indianexpress.com/article/ent...-a-hindi-film/
No. There is no producer available for the 200 crore project.
After Viswaroopam, I started thinking that he should not try for any High cost movies except Marudhanayagam. His scripts should be simple and powerful like Mahanadhi which would have scope for acting and less controversial. Taking a movie based on real stories might bring in controversies and unwanted delay in release. Even if he is going for pucca commercial movies, let that be having lesser budget. He has proved enough that his movies can rake in collections even if it is High budgeted. UV is a classic example. If the first two days collection is not lost, it would be sitting pretty now with reasonable profit.
Off screen romance irukkalaamolyo ......