app & V_S,
PPA was released on Deepavali day of 1989 along with Vetri Vizhaa, Mappillai etc.
btw, congrats app for triple century!
Printable View
app & V_S,
PPA was released on Deepavali day of 1989 along with Vetri Vizhaa, Mappillai etc.
btw, congrats app for triple century!
Thanks Murali sir for confirmation.:smile:
idhu umakkE nyAyamA irukkA?
However, I still stand by QSQT as one of the finest albums ever in IFM :-) Take the saraNam rhythm arrangement for gazan kA hai din, for e.g. One of the finest ever! (For that QSQT album, I don't care where A-M looted them from...also, I don't worry about all those looted IR stuff, avangaLala mudinja aLavukku kalaichchEvai seidhirukkAnga :wink:)
nanRi Murali sir, for the thakaval & your kind wishes!
Couldn't write on 'eduththu nAn vidavA' today...As usual, the weekend backlog thingy:-(
Will try to clear the backlog when possible...However, raaga_kann has hosted 'eduththu nAn vidavA' in the IR-sung-duets thread yesterday :-)
One interesting thing I caught today when playing the SPB -LM - Kamal - KB Hindi song 'hum banE tum banE ek dujE kE liyE', a song I always loved despite some comical things (Bala's englees, the 'kow-kow' qurbAni sound).
Though many praise 'terE mErE beech mEin', it was not that much of a fav with me with it's screechy violins, typical L-P / northie stuff. However, for some reason, I loved the prelude of hum banE and used to love that string stuff before the singer starts.
Today it hit me - that prelude portion is exactly similar to 'iLankiLiyE' of sankarlal, SPB-SJ-IR-KH-SD sweetie. (This too has the englees comedy, plus Kamal connection - I'm more or less sure the 'made for each other' song had some inputs to L-P from the souththu).
hum banE tum banE youtube :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Jt-pUq2xag
iLangiLiyE youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0a_ep4xGhE
#308 எடுத்து நான் விடவா என் பாட்டை தோழா?
(புதுப்புது அர்த்தங்கள், 1989 , இளையராஜாவுடன்)
eduththu nAn vidavA (PPA, with IR)
It's interesting that we had to cross three centuries (# of songs) & > a decade (13 calendar years) before hitting a song sung by both the thread nAyakarkaL :-) rAsA had really been careful not to co-sing with SPB, it appears :wink: In comparison, he had sung with even KJY much earlier (kadalOram kadalOram shoud have been at least 5 years prior). In any case, this song is for comical purposes and just an average number (both musically and "hit status" wise).
raaga_kann has recently covered this song in detail in the IR duets thread :-)
I was debating with myself whether this song deserves a story :roll: and then decided yes, simply because it is the first we host of both the nAyaks singing...
It has to be a comical one, involving two boys and thus our "room mate friends" now make a come back to the thread (the bulky restless one & the lean, artist, lazy guy).
When they stayed in the "downtown", they always had the 'lazy-guy-losing-the-nav-tal-key' problem.('nav-tal' was the padlock sold by godrej brand those days).
http://www.godrejlocks.com/godrej/Go...es/Nav-tal.jpg
Though each occasion used to start a fight over the issue, typically it was my team lead and not the artist who suffered the most. And each occasion was a tale of difficulty, tension and frayed nerves for him. One occasion was especially interesting, when both were about to leave for a few holidays (deepAvaLi?). They had changed the lock only recently and the artist was reminded many times not to lose the key and take it with him during the travel.
Holidays were over and late on the Sunday night, our 'restless friend' reached back the room - after a long bus travel, ready to hit the bed. Well, in the dark, he tried to open the lock and it didn't work. Tried a few times the key and was shocked to learn that his friend had changed the lock before he left for holidays. (Lost the key, bought another and locked the room - simple, know :lol:)
Our friend couldn't find a tool to cut / break and no shop was open that late. So, he walked to the nearby hotel, paid the cost of some 10 locks as room rent and slept for the night. After getting freshened up in the morning, rushed to the room to get some important things before catching the bus for workplace. When entering the corridor, what he saw made him really mad - his dear room mate was 'hacksaw blading' the new lock, since he left the keys back home :rotfl:
Well, they had later placed that hacksaw permanently on the ventilator above the door...just in case...
#309 எல்லோரும் மாவாட்டக்கத்துக்கிடனும்
(புதுப்புது அர்த்தங்கள், 1989 , ஷைலஜாவுடன்)
ellOrum mAvAtta (PPA, with SPS)
Not that much of a personal favourite, just an average number with 'mAmAvukku kudumA kudumA' kind of feel with slightly inferior arrangements. However, surprisingly, this song too had its airtime / buscast time etc and even at the bachelor home people listened to this number without much complain.
So, I'm getting this recorded in the list...the fifth SPB number from this KB movie. In other words, all the SPB numbers from this movie had their time - some quite a lot and are evergreen (the first three that we've covered) and others only limited appeal, that too only around the time of arrival (eduththu nAn & ellOrum mAvAtta). That way, this album cannot be compared with some of the "100%-IR-SPB-hit" albums of the same time period, in which it wasn't easy to spot very weak numbers like these. Sometimes, oppukku sappANi numbers too had their glory (like the 12th man who never had to even field but still gets to touch the trophy after the win, in an one-day tourney) ...
PPA is done now and Monday should have another movie from 1989 :-)
app :lol: on the lock incident. Seriously, I agree with others, there's a good movie, a comedy, script in there.
groucho,
Sometimes real life incidents are as hilarious as or more than what we read / watch on screen :-)
BTW, please check out that iLankiLiyE youtube, Kamal actually throws away Sridevi - flings her - at 1:00 - 1:03 :shock:
Also, there's a milli second lip kiss at 0:57 :wink: Sridevi is really wild in this number :shock:
I'm not sure whether I'm a loner in finding the similarity between the preludes of both the Kamal songs...
பாலச்சந்தர் - ராஜா கூட்டணியில் பிறந்த பாடல்கள் - எனது வரிசை
1) Sindu Bairavi (All*)
2) Punnagai Mannan (Enna Satham, Singalathu Chinnakuyile, Kavidhai Kelungal, Ethetho Ennam, Maamavukku Kuduma, Theme Music)
3) Unnal mudiyum thambi (All*)
4) Manathil Uruthi VeNdum - (Manathil Uruthi, Kannin Maniya, Kanna Varuvana, Sangathamizh Kavi, Vangala Kadale )
5) Puthu Puthu Arthangal (Guruvaurappa Guruvaurappa, Kalyana Maalai, Keladi Kanmani Paadagan )
App,
:lol: too much. These are the people make our life more interesting!
I even love maamaavukku kuduma, eduthu naan vidavaa and ellOrum maavaatta. The mainstream films down south only has all these fun elements in the songs more, because they reflect our every day activities closely. We can witness a lot in our films. I agree, sometimes it might be silly. I believe, every time when we tend to compare with the other great melodies from the same film, definitely these songs sounds average. Where is the fun element and variety otherwise, if every song has to sound melodious (like we see in Hindi and malayalam films)? I really loved the situation in ellOrum maavaatta kathukidanum song, where it comes as a relaxation moment for the people who get lost behind the kitchens in hotels. They cannot sing a melody song inside the kitchen. A very rare situation conceived by KB and wonderfully composed by Maestro. Just my thoughts...
Well sung by IR - like a clown. Clown's job is the most difficult in a circus - A juggler just juggles, but a clown needs to juggle as he is going to drop at any time.
This song featured Janankaraj ("தங்கச்சிய நாய் கடிச்சிருச்சுப்பா") on screen in IR voice. Also in this movie there is a funny scene where Janankaraj brushes and changes dress while driving a car. Well, this scene seems to have "inspired" from one of the Mr.Bean episodes.
Apart from Jananakaraj, there is another comedian featured in a smaller role in this movie. His dialogue from this movie was quite popular then - "இன்னைக்கு செத்தா நாளைக்குப் பால்". I had seen Vivek in Doordarshan few times before, but I believe this was his first Tamil movie.
Kamal did the brushing in the car routine much later in punchthanhtram. What is the dateline of Mr Bean? Is it before 1989?
Eduthu naan vidava ranks higher than Ellorum maavatta. The charanam has a melody quotient. Right from vaasikkireengalaa nalla vas(sh)ingo, it is ilayarajjiyam. IR actually outdoes SP here (abachaaram abachaaram!. The normal sa in vaasikkirengalaa vs slurred ssh in vaashingo just two words later I have seen in typical drunken moments of friends. Oru sentencela naalu vaarthai theLivAna ucharippOda irukkum, adhE syllable rendu word thaLLi slurredA varum. Exclend singing, emoting and enunciating by the maestro. He must be a great observer of people.
It seems the pal thEikkal is a 1992 episode (one of my Detroit friends once showed me this on his computer, hilarious) :
So, KB / Janakaraj didn't refer to Mr Bean TV show :-)Quote:
Bean oversleeps and is late for his dental appointment. To save time, he decides to get dressed and brush his teeth while driving to the dentist, using a brick to hold down the accelerator while he changes his trousers and puts on his shoes and socks and shooting screenwash into his mouth to rinse it after brushing his teeth. When he spits out the toothpaste, it lands on the backside of a man whom Bean passes in his car.
However, it's possible the same was taken from an englees book (or older movie)...
Yeah I thought so. I had an inkling bean was in the 90s. Might be from a common source like Jerry Lewis or someone? I know Nagesh was a big fan of Lewis and there are stories of him incorporating Lewis stuff in KB movies so presumably, KB was a fan or atleast knowledgable about Lewis?
Nagesh's wiki too says the same :
Interestingly, the wiki article talks about Manorama & Nagesh being not in good terms :shock:Quote:
Nagesh's style of comedy was largely inspired by Hollywood actor Jerry Lewis. Similarities between Nagesh and Lewis earned Nagesh the sobriquet "Jerry Lewis of India".
"History" is quite interesting :-)
#310 வைகாசி மாசத்துல பந்தல் ஒன்னு
(நினைவுச்சின்னம், 1989 , சித்ராவுடன்)
vaikAsi mAsaththula from ninaivuchchinnam with KSC
Soft, enjoyable and melodious duet where both SPB & KSC sing nicely together. Looks like in this year, KSC has a decisive lead over any other female singer in duetting with our man. (We've hosted nine songs so far, which is more than the # of SPB-SJ duets in this year, perhaps for the first time in a given calendar year). The saraNam portion of the song somehow reminds me of the singaLaththu sinnakkuyilE. Nice tabla work enhances the listening pleasure. The interludes are mostly routine rAsA stuff with nothing out of the world, IMHO. Nevertheless, the song gives one a very soothing feeling and a recommended listen for bed time.
My connections with this number were strictly limited to bus travels in TN those days - as neither this movie nor the song was a biggie at Palakkad. Prabhu, Murali & Radhika are seen in the images if one googles for ninaivuchchinnam, with Prabhu in both young and old make-ups. If one browses through the other songs (no SPB in them), most without any familiarity to me, it sounds like a grAmaththu movie. Absolutely no idea what kind of run it had or the general reception of the other songs inside TN. However, without a doubt, this vaigAsi number was well-known :-)
Looking for the next film for tomorrow...
1989 thiraippAdal list has a movie called 'aNNanukku jAy' directed by GA - it has 3 SPB numbers but none I've heard before...thookkippOttAchchu...
Let's see nextu...
nexttu 'chinnappa dAs'.
Direction C V Rajendran, Sathyaraj acting-AmAm, has one SPB song - never heard before case - vittuththaLLu case again...
'dharmam vellum' - K Rangaraj direction (who had colloborated with IR in the past for some fantastic IR songs)...Vijayakanth Gowthami acting it seems...
There's a dEvi dEvi song with KSC, kEttadhE illai, chapter closed
idhayaththai thirudAthE - all Mano - so cannot host here, even though the Telugu originals supposedly had SPB :-(
idhu unga area...please do the needful...nAn indha Attaththil illai...
So, it will be pAttukkoru thalaivan tomorrow :-)
Vijayakanth movie, yes I have some nostalgia with the song too :-)
I recollect KB recounting the PPA janakaraj comedy track as a direct tribute to Nagesh - not in any Jerry Lewis connection, but the
personality called Nagesh - A man who worked 20 hours round the clock, with little sleep, managing shaving, brushing teeth etc., with the
help of assistants in his car - The man was on a literal inertia scurrying between sets of movies and yet delivering comic moments without failure...
Yeah, I guessed it right. There IS a Nagesh connection, isn't there? App - Dharmam Vellum: "Devi Devi" was mildly popular in Radio stations. I guess the lack of bus airtime shows the steady decline of IR songs' popularity. Where every obscure movie/song became popular, I guess this period started the oblivion of unknown movie songs. Annanukku Jey had Arjun-Seetha and the song "solai ilangiliye", a loveduet-shaped rework of "kudhiriaiyle naan", a sad song from the 70s. Can't remember which movie. Chinnappa Das is the one with vaanam thodaatha recently highlighted by Querida in the other thread?
Ofcourse, these weren't SpB songs so won't feature here. I used to think Devi Devi was by Mano. Is it really SpB? Appo spiritually also it doesn't belong here, if it sounded like Mano to me.
There is this metallic clang after "Devi Devi",(devi devi -tuttosh - nee en devi. - tutoosh) an interesting sound that made its appearance in IR songs during this period. I think he meant it as some sort of stylish city-lovers, or club song appendage. Also heard in thathom thalangu and "poongatre idhu podhum" in padicha pulla. What would you call that filler sound?
App:
"Devi Devi" from DV was reasonably popular song and yes it was by SPB (not Mano) based on the AIR station announcements made when this song used to get played.
So the missed song count is slowly inching towards double digits :) I remember CD also had 1-2 SPB songs that had some air time. Let me double check.
Have been hearing Uzhaippali songs for the past few songs and finding it challenging to figure out the songs sung by Mano in this album.
Guess Mano's purple patch was in early 90s when he was sounding almost similar to SPB. IMHO in late 80s songs (for e.g. like GS in 1988), it's quite easy to make this out.
DV was a 1989 Deepavali release (when biggies like RK, KH had releases) and hence expectedly got overshadowed by them.
VK acted in double role (father & son) in this movie if I remember it right. Murali sir will have more details.
@ Genesis: Vivek's debut movie was MUV (You are right about KB introducing him).
Plum: Raghuman brings back traumatic memories of Nadhiya - anbulla appa in particular so please go easy on Raghuman references
>>>> Aaah Rahman....what an innocent face! I first noticed this guy in IV Sasi's Malayalam movie Kaanamarayathu around 1988 and used to wonder about this guy's resemblance to Wasim Akram.
App_Engine: However, the basic nature doesn't change a lot, in my observation. I've seen tons of people who continue to deliberately speak untruth - make up stories etc, even after 3 or 4 large(drinks).
>>> I am actually reminded of a story narrated some years ago by former state cricketer V.Ramnarayan(husband of the Hindu's music reviewer Gowri Ramnarayan). Apparently in the the 60s, a Tamil Nadu cricket team went for a state tournament in Bombay around New Year. The team manager was one Mr.Annadurai and accompanying the team was Chepauk stadium's groundsman Perumal. The party had drowned one too many drinks that New Year night and in that state Perumal roguishly approached the manager and waved a finger saying, "Annaduraiiii, I the manager, you the groundsman now!". The poor man showed up the next day repentant and shamefaced.
App's visit to erumappatti: App, that sounds like an orthodox syrian christian marriage, in their tradition the prayers/rituals are said in Syrian which is why you could not understand head or tail of the ceremony.
App: I don't know for sure, however, whether the movie(Pandinattu Thangam) is really set in the pANdiya nAttuppakuthi.
As far as the fight scenes of the movie go, it was shot near the Hogenakkal falls close to Dharmapuri.
Plum: A severe reprimanding session in the Principal's room followed, with me turning approver, and thus began my exile from the Superstar camp and the eventual drift to the enemy camp. That was the last we heard of the "Talent Session" on Fridays. Mappillai, thus became a turning point in my "cultural appreciation" career, and remains the one of the movies of Rajini that I haven't seen ever.
>>>>> Bwahahaha! Plum, I havent laughed this hard in weeks....thanks for making my day :D
App:I was privileged to sit and watch the river in it's complete beauty on a fantastic sunny day, after attending the marriage of a co-worker in his home which was in a walkable distance from this! My view was very similar to this picture on wiki...
>>>> App, &*!%@!?$$%^%&^$*&^*^*^%#^%#$%@#!!! Kindly allow me to swear(lovingly) at you for once as I burn with jealousy! Indeed what more can you ask from life Sir??? You were treated to Raja at his scintillating and scorching best during the best and most adventurous part of life : college and bachelor days. Apart from living in a picturesque location and exploring the best of Mother Nature's wonders in God's own country. Rombave kuduthuvechirukeenga Sir!
Param,
Here is the link for the "dEvi dEvi" number - please comment :
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer...7'&lang=en
A_S,
Thanks for catching the missed ones. At the current rate, we should be done with the completion of my listing in a month or so...so, the 'missed-by-app' can be done in summer :-)
al_gates,
nanRi for reading thru the posts and highlighting those that touched you :-)
#311 அழகிய நதி என
(பாட்டுக்கு ஒரு தலைவன், 1989 , சித்ராவுடன்)
azhakiya nadhi ena from pAttukku oru thalaivan, with KSC
First of all, I encourage all to read this interesting, hilarious, detailed post by a fellow IRF, HonestRaj, in the TF section on this film :
HR's post on pAttukku oru thalaivan
The most interesting part :
:lol2:Quote:
Originally Posted by HR
A big favourite song for me those days (despite the soththakkadalai 'jumcha jumcha chakka' chorus), IR played around with harmony in this song and SPB-KSC relish singing the sweet melody. The saraNam part sounds almost like some MSV-TKR number of the MGR-Sivaji days - though it has some distinct IR marks :-) Much like current web popularity, the Jikki song 'ninaiththadhu yArO' was more popular during the arrival time too (on public address systems, i.e. as much as I heard). I'm not sure which of the two songs got telecast more on TV channels...
Before I write yet another wedding function tale, let me state the connection to this song. Since this wedding was in the nadoo center of TN (Samayapuram near Trichy), I was treated with this number on the city bus, as soon as I got into it, after the wedding was over :-) In real loud volume, that bus with shiny aluminium body work was playing the sweet number. I thoroughly enjoyed it while riding it from Samayapuram to Main guard gate, before travelling back to Palakkad, while thinking and smiling about the surprises I had during that day.
He's a close buddy with some similarities to me in life - from kukgrAmam, appA vAththiyAr, +2 varai Thamizh medium, same hostels for 4.5 yrs (but different engg branch), same company-la first job and thus a Palakkadan for a few years. He then took off to gulf, came back to get married to his mAmA poNNu plus childhood love. That was this wedding. (He never went back to gulf because the Kuwait crisis started...but prospered inside the country to be on top positions in many companies - now VPs report to him in a big corp - a good example for 'kaRROrukku senRa idamellAm siRappu').
However, the question - what was peculiar about the wedding?
Well, for one, this was the first time I was attending a marriage of 'peN koduththuppeN eduththal', with both brother & sister getting married on the same stage to their complements - a sister & brother. The interesting part is our man having his "love" for the girl for many years - right from the days he hurried from time to time during college hostel days to her village to help her in her studies etc. We were used to making a lot of fun of him on his 'childhood luvvu' and I was hoping to tease him a lot that day.
The morning of the day of wedding, when I reached there, he had an interesting surprise for me. That was this marriage of his elder brother, in the same town, on the same morning, in a different maNdapam :shock: So, break-fast in aNNan's marriage. Lunch in thambi-thangachi double marriage. Same day 3 siblings got married :-) While the morning affair was relatively simple, our engineer-foreign-return boy had grander plans for his, including having an elephant garland him :lol:
That was a real memorable day for me to tie in this 'azhakiya nadhi ena' song!