Take a look at @ATMUSent's Tweet: https://twitter.com/ATMUSent/status/...460691968?s=08
Printable View
Take a look at @ATMUSent's Tweet: https://twitter.com/ATMUSent/status/...460691968?s=08
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTFVMRb6lUY
ARR speking in telugu
Man Commits Suicide Because of 'O Kadhal Kanmani'?
http://www.newindianexpress.com/stat...cle2774957.ece
Sreedhar Pillai @sri50 21h21 hours ago
#OKKanmani -Rocks TN B-O,Opening Weekend Apr 17-19 =Rs 6.30 Cr Gross.Very Good 4 #ManiRatnam film. Well done @MadrasTalkies_ @StudioGreen2
cheers!!!
You got to check 'foley' and the other terms, technics and technology related to it.
'Kanchana 2' and 'OK Kanmani' are super hits!
http://www.sify.com/movies/kanchana-...Engjjhfde.html
Yet to watch the movie, good reviews so far... but Mani sir's "mokkai" heroine selection continues.. after Raavan ..
Enakkum appadithan thonuchi paramashivan sir,first time pakkum bothu..but now I feel this very suit for this role..sariyana thervuthan..no over acting..
Nithya doesn't have the curves and height of the regular movie heroines but she did complete justice to the role. The scene where she watches Dilquar getting his measurements taken by the tailor with moist eyes is one example. And kudos to PC too, for showing her so beautiful.
When did Mani have ravishing looking heroines except A.Rai in his films? Revathi, Nirosha, Nandita Das, Shalini all are just 'women next door' types.
Yeah. I didnt like her dialogue delivery, modulation too. Otherwise, she did great - at least for me :)
RGV's sarcastic tweet and Dulquer's humble denial
Ram Gopal Varma could be rightly called as the man of controversy, every single day his tweets stir some kind of controversies among some group. The recent victim of Ram Gopal Varma is Dulquer Salmaan, the fast-rising actor and son of ace Malayalam actor Mammootty.
Ram Gopal Varma is a close friend of Mani Ratnam and it is worth to recall that the former wrote the script of Thiruda Thiruda directed by the latter.
Recently Ram Gopal Varma watched Mani Ratnam’s OK Bangaram, the Telugu version of the successfully running OK Kanmani.
As usual, Ram Gopal Varma started praising OK Kanmani with a sarcastic tweet “Just saw Mani's film and if the award committee members have any sense they will take back all awards of Mammootty and give it to his son”.
The director went on and also tweeted “Mammootty is a junior artiste compared to his son, followed by another tweet saying Mammootty should learn acting from his son..I mean realistic”.
Ram Gopal Varma also posted “Mammootty’s son will make Kerala proud In the non Kerala markets in just years which Mammooty couldn't do for decades”
Dulquer Salmaan has reacted to Ram Gopal Varma’s tweets but without mentioning the director’s Twitter handle by posting “In ten lifetimes I won't be one millionth the actor my father is, no matter what I accomplish”.
http://www.sify.com/movies/rgv-s-sar...18dfdcjbc.html
Mahen,
We are getting into analysis, which is very difficult for me to be short, but I will try my best.
Sounds can be anything - dialogues or a noise or Music - and going live is not only to be clear, but to create a realistic environment by capturing (or re-producing) the sound events as a wholesome sound bubble and enveloppe the audience inside it to make them experience the moment. Sound can be written. Yes, a film maker who knows what he is doing includes sound in his script. Its nothing to do with the MD & his BGM score, but purely an end-to-end cover of his imagined scene. Take for exemple, the temple scene in Thalapathi where Rajini and Sujatha turn to the sound of the goods-train whistle. Or the way Subbu runs up and down the stairs all the while her 'Golusu' rythms her happiness. It depends on the film maker, how convincingly he adpats paper (script) medium into motion (film) medium.
Loudness is entirely different from Sound. And that is entirely a different topic. Talking about English film/Live sounds :
"
The boom operator's job is to clearly record the dialogue, and only the dialogue. Going for live sound, every noise is captured including the disturbances in the indoor shooting spot or traffic noise during the outdoor. During post production the same ambience is created and added to the original dialogue bits making it look quite real and live. These needed noises are created by engineers in a lab with the mediums which are the originators of these desired sounds. An average audience member may not take note of every detailing, but they will notice an indefinable realism and professionalism to the film that sets it apart from the others.
"
On the other hand, the major drawback that we cannot use the recorded live sounds entirely into a film is due to editing. Editing cuts the footage into meaningful sequences, thus, there are lot of missing noise particles and lose of continuity. Apart from the sound engineering on the sets, they team up in a studio, re-record these noises over the full cut film.
Also, the sound is similar to cinemotography while it comes to cover a moving or static element. It also depends on the POV - First person or Third person, location - indoor or outdoor : Here an indoor is quite complicated as the outdoor. Imagine 2 people sitting and talking in a room with open window. The sound also changes whether its an urban or rural or industrial or natural setup. It gets even more complicated in 'indoor-outdoor' suituation, for eg., while driving a vehicle - sounds heard from a car is different from a truck, is different from an auto-car with wide glass windows which are comanded by the outdoor scenary - city drive, highway, hills etc. In a Live Sound scenario, all these are considered, filmed, sounds recorded live, film edited, sounds re-recorded (enhanced or sometimes re-produced) - just to give the audience ample experience. BGM/ added musical bits are yet another huge topic.
Last month in a film festival, I was very much interested to know how they pulled 2 shots sequenced together with a jumpcut, and the sound setup was extra-ordinary. I asked the film maker how they did it. He explained to me some fabulous techincs on my favorite field - editing - and how they recorded the sound and pre-prepared it for the editing which was already deceided that it should be like that. Just a scene which is less that 10 seconds, these guys had not only spent time, but a whole lot of imagination and new ideas. There is an Palestinian Film - Omar - and in it the whole market place chase sequence is one of the best Live Sound experience I had.
There is much more to it, but I end here by giving you this term, if you are interested to know about Dubbing - ADR: Additional Dialogue Recording. This should allow you to come at a full circle and depending on your interest you can explore more.
https://balakarthiga26.wordpress.com...adhal-kanmani/
SIX REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD NOT WATCH O KADHAL KANMANI
No matter which direction I turn, all that I see now are girls who want to have Dulquer’s babies and boys who would kill to have a live in with Nithya.
So, obviously, here are six reasons as to why you should NOT watch Ok Kanmani.
1. The Female Protagonist.
Tara has guts. She’s fearless and ambitious. Now why would we want to see such a confident and self-motivated girl on screen? I mean, we could’ve had the typical dumb glam-doll we see in all Kollywood movies. You know, the girl who just sings, dances, flashes smiles at the camera and has nothing to contribute to the screenplay except her glamour quotient.
I mean, she’s absolutely fearless. She refuses to budge, be it her mother or her friend who proposes to her, or her girlfriends or even if it’s Aadhi, she refuses t step down from her standards.
The questions she asks are daringly sensible. For example, when Aadhi’s sister-in-law threatens her to marry him and accuses of her moral and values she says ‘Idha neenga Aadhi kittayum ketrukalam’ or when she says ‘Marriage enna certificate ah’ we see her as a strongly opinionated and sometimes, much more heroic than Dulquer himself.
Now, why would we want to watch such a painfully confident girl?
2. It’s Fresh Plot.
So, here’s the one liner of the film : Two young professionals, a game designer and an architect, dcide that they do not agree with principles of marriage and commitment, decide to live in together, under the shadow of an elderly couple, Ganapathy Uncle and Bhavani Aunty. They later fall for each other and decide to marry.Everything about this plot, is fresh and new.
Interestingly though, Ok Kanmani is Alaipayuthe in reverse. Karthik and Shakthi marry, fall in love,live together and have those annoying little fights driving a wedge between them. Tara and Aadhi, however do it all in reverse. They meet, decide to live together, have those little fights, fall in love and finally get married.
Wow.
We could’ve easily gone back to the old stereotyped commercial flick, where the hero swings a huge helicopter single handedly, abducts the girl from her wedding and dances to an item song when the city is on fire. That would’ve been really comfortable to watch. Just saying.
3. Aadhitya Varadharajan
The hero is just as interesting as Tara. I mean, he is not the usual jobless rogue we see in a usual tamil flick. He is a professional who has responsibility. He doesn’t cuss around or blame the society. He is also a very practical young person. He doesn’t let romance blind him. He doesn’t stereotype women. He respects his girlfriend Tara just as much as he respects his Sister-in-law or his elderly landlady with Alzheimer’s or his little niece.
The nerve! Why would we want to see something so sensible and nice?
4. Bhavani Aunty and Ganapathy Uncle.
They are, probably the pair that lifts up the romance quotient of the entire movie. Bhavani Aunty, is a darling. She’s not the stereotyped moral police we see old people to be. She’s open minded and is adorable when she calls her husband outdated and approves of the Live-In relationship in her apartment.
That’s just pushing it. Definitely not worth a watch.
So, on a personal note, here’s a little wish I have. I really hope they make Ok Kanmani Part Two and give us more of Bhavani Aunty and Ganapathy Uncle! Please Please Please!
5. A.R.Rahman and P.C.Sreeram:
One my friends rightly said, ‘After forty-five minutes, it’s a competition between Mani Ratnam, Rahman and PC Sreeram to outdo the others!’
Why would anyone want to have a treat to their eyes, ears and intellect, at the same time? Huh?
6. The movie has class:
You’ll see that the movie has nothing that’s other than super-classy. You have a neatly dressed female protagonist. You have the hero who doesn’t swear or write songs, degrading and cursing women. You don’t hear cheap abusive language. We don’t have a group of lets-get-drunk-and-dance-in-the-streets guys. So tell me, why would we really want to watch it? we don’t seem to be getting much out of this, are we?
And Yes!!
They do sleep together before getting married.
There, I said it!
It annoys me how people dwell on that one fact and blindly decide to hate a brilliant movie, that’s sheer excellence in every domain it touches. You have the best of everything. O Kadhal Kanmani is a complete package, but only for the audience that it’s targeted at.
This is definitely not for the narrow minded judgmental Indian.
But it’s definitely a treat for people like Bhavani Aunty, people who keep pace with the changing trends and accept the younger generation just the way they are, instead of scrutinizing them.
XOXO,
Bala.
P.S: If you liked this review, don’t forget to share it with your freinds, and do check out my Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/balakarthiga.m
Did MR really come back? Not sure yet..
He missed the train..so planed to come this evening don't worry..
Maniratnam need hit very badly and he has done that very smartly by attracting the youth audience who were the people deciding the fate of the movie..
He will be relaxed now and will be careful in approaching the next project..
He is on the verge of announcing his next project with Dhanush
#OKKanmani $520,084 crosses #YennaiArindhaal to bcom #9 alltime in USA & #2 in 2015 after I. Weekday crowd is great! Xpect a strong 2nd wknd
Massss :poke:
Want 2 watch second time tomorrow.
A Take on "O Kadhal Kanmani’s" Soundtrack usage in The Film.
In recent times or so the utilisation of Songs projected in Indian Movies has somewhat been relegated and it seems the days are gone when there were lavish sets, extravagant dancing and most importantly lip-syncing.
Many Indian cinema goers have opened their horizons and have started appreciating and accepting material that may mock traditional establishments or infringe upon Taboo matters hence some Films can do without songs in the foreground but if a Movie promotes itself extensively on the basis of its soundtrack then its Music content should definitely be given proper treatment on screen.
What is proper treatment? The Mood of a song must be taken into consideration and then whether it need be shot in exotic locations or rich and vibrant sets, etc. is a different story e.g. as much as a Romantic Duet deserves to be sung on screen, hearing it as Background Music (BGM) seems awkward and this may be unfair treatment towards its sound and worth(?)
I'm personally One of the Biggest sceptics regarding this case and occasionally dissent with people who don't mind favouring Songs used as BGM. I don’t exactly vehemently oppose this concept but don’t personally find the logic behind it being rational.
With the exception of “I” many recent projects of A.R. Rahman (ARR) have had his material relegated to BGM, some of these Songs are Completely Earth Shattering and due to lack of TV/Radio airing promotion/videos their longevity is tampered for the average listener but fortunately there are many who purposely don’t dwell on these ‘minor’ facets and love the songs equally as if it were lip-synced and so forth.
ARR recently expressed unhappiness over this issue and showed desire to accept offers focusing on Musical stories whereby Actors can Sing on screen allowing his creativity to have a more prominent outlet.
ARR and Mani Ratnam have worked on Twelve Projects till now and their recent collaboration O Kadhal Kanmani (OKK) is definitely the least Intense from their respective repertoire. When initial promos started airing the Film gave a light and airy aura to this Romantic story involving late teens cum early adults. I personally approached this project with Zilch expectations as I’m not one for these sorts of fluffy urban stories.
When the single ‘Mental Manadhil’ released I honestly did not know what to make of it but second time round I closed my eyes and was transported to many Outgoing Social events where the fun factor and duration flew by in no time and as a parallel the Song had finished too before I knew it. I felt I spoke to soon but deep in me there is a “Never Doubt Rahman Ji” Loyalty Seal and this is not a result of repeated listening to songs to appreciate them more but rather a Natural Instinct that is Uncontrollable. Whilst listening to this song I felt this song can only be justified on screen over a montage of social activities involving friends or platonic dating i.e. shopping, leisure, fun fairs, clubbing, bars, restaurants, etc. all in the vicinity of a metropolitan lifestyle. When the song’s teaser video released my satisfaction over my prediction came with much joy.
After this song came the Album’s impressive track list and without much delay arrived the Full OST. Breezy, Sensual, Pulsating and Rich were the definitions I concluded from the soundtrack and bearing in mind I didn’t have any expectations I couldn’t help but give it a Thumbs Up verdict straight away. Conversely I started being doubtful of treatment the songs would receive in the Film but the creativity in music occupied me as a listener thus disabling me to ponder this aspect.
The Film released and was greeted with unanimous positivity, there were people who wanted to go and still are going for repeated viewings and alas I was tempted to watch a project which I wasn’t concerned about as a viewer but only as listener...
Without giving much away, Yes, the film uses the songs as BGM with the exception of one or two. ARR and his band of KMMC musicians, 'Qutb-e-Kripa’ handle the background score department. Other then the songs themselves there is extensive use of Dub-Step in the background, probably being the first of a kind related to any ARR project and it’s definitely Jaw Dropping. The film regardless of issues and themes seems like a God Send for people like me, who are single and content and it’s films like these which hope to arouse passion in Non-lovers and Lovers alike. I’m certainly all praise for this film as it does a Solid job in trying to convince Non-believers of Love into Believers. Just like the soundtrack, the film boosts of numerous impactful parts, at some instances you will be stitches laughing from the belly and in others you will need to grab a tissue box to comfort your tears. Whatever the case, these scenes should inevitably sediment their way into you for the coming time.
IMO the Film and Soundtrack could well have been unrelated and yet still be equally as popular and widely accepted but their respective marriage is Truly a Massive Bonus. Be it the use of Mental Manadhil as a Ringtone or a Party Athem, Maula Wa Salim complimenting the Magnificent and Outstanding architecture of the Sub-Continent or Paranthu Sella Vaa being a bridge from Infatuation to Love. Everything just falls into place flawlessly but beyond that there are those songs in the OST that have had a complete turn over in treatment to what one might have in mind when listening to it individually. A couple of light effervescent songs that one would expect to be present during the early days of dating arrive at some highly sensitive, emotional and intense junctures whereas some extravagantly layered songs have been placed during light hearted moments. This tactic has further given birth to more indecisiveness in coming that step closer in selecting my favourite song from the OST. Woah, the songs are even more haunting now!
For me the Film is incomplete without the OST and Vice Versa and as a standalone they will always remain "OK" Kanmani but their merging has evolved them both together unitedly to what I will always address as "Super" Kanmani!
Bravo, ARR-Mani, the Timless Classic Duo. From now on my perception of Songs used as BGM has as I believe changed forever and I've definitely become a Bigger Fan for Romantic Films but will anyone or even ARR-Mani pull off another project like this? I highly doubt it!
Happy Listening!
Sunil
Double OK Kan-Mani - Part 1
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmpI...ature=youtu.be
nice simple film, except for the living together without serious commitment part.
From amitabh ji :)
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.n...7ea932ffe2e026
Btw, surprisingly Shankar ji praised Kanchana but nothing abt OKK..guess he didnt like it