Raghu ji,
What on earth makes u think that everyone is soooooooo much older than u?!!!!
Anyway, thanks for the link and I have started doing some weights. Hope to see some results soon.
Anandi
Printable View
Raghu ji,
What on earth makes u think that everyone is soooooooo much older than u?!!!!
Anyway, thanks for the link and I have started doing some weights. Hope to see some results soon.
Anandi
summa joke :wink:Quote:
Originally Posted by Anandi
aamma etho naa vanthu intha spirituality/philosophy patri pesina ennaiyum ji aakiteenghala, naa onum guru ji illaingo :lol:
I have increased my cal burning from 500 to 650 a day, it is very hard, but I will do it for a while, There were some Aloo Paratha for dinner, now how can resist such foods :cry: :cry:
Hi Raghu,
Why are u burning those many calories?Are u trying to lose some weight??
Hi Anandi,Quote:
Originally Posted by Anandi
No I am not trying to loose weight at all, as i don't need to, but because of my shoulder injury I am a bit scared to do weight training for a whille, that's why :cry: :cry:
Hmmm... I don't understand what U r upto Raghu!!!...
Anyways, I'm back in Singapore after my exams... So,how have u guys been doing?... Kelly, have u made a list of ur diet?...if yes,pls send it to me...
Hi Dev,
This is what i'be taking for the past 1 week
Mon - Fri : 40g oats + 2 tbsp skim powder milk (bf)
Lunch and Dinner : 2 capati lunch and 2 for dinner (the 4 capati is made out of 75gm atta flour)
Mon : lunch : 2 capati ,taugfu and 1/4 apple
Dinner : 2 capati and 2 bendi
Tue : lunch : 2 capati ,long beans and 1/4 apple
Dinner : 2 capati and dhal
evening : 50ml soya milk
Wed to Fri same menu except i change the veg.
Sat : morning : 2 slice of whole bread and 1 yolk
lunch : 4 tbsp rice, 1 fish (steam), 1/4 brinjal
dinner : 5 tbsp ponggal
Sun : morning : 2 thosai with dhal
lunch : 4 tbsp rice, 1 pcs chicken, beans,taughu
dinner : 1 tosai, 1 vadai
Mon to sat i went waking (4 km) - 45 min and Sun i did Strecting exercise 1 hour.
Loads of things :wink: :lol2:Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Hi Kelly,Quote:
Originally Posted by kelly
I don't understand what taughu is!!!...pls explain... also give me the weight of the raw ingredients U eat...Hope U've a kitchen weiging scale!!!... U've not mentioned anything abt oil & sugar intake...pls let me know the details abt it... what do u mean by 5 tbsp pongal?...is that the cooked one?...do u eat just 5 tbsp of pongal for a meal???!!!... also,is 4 tbsp rice the measument after cooking???... If yes,this defanitely is not the right diet... This ,I would say is starvation... & 1 yolk...does it mean the egg yolk(yellow)?... I have specifically mentioned in my previous posts to avoid egg yolks as much as possible...egg whites r rich in protein...whereas,egg yolk is rich in cholesterol & other minerals... & vadai or any other fried snack is defenitely not the right thing when on a diet to reduce weight... 1 pcs chicken?... Hmmm...how do I interpret this 1 pcs... :roll: I recommend that U buy a kitchen weiging scale before U start the diet...it's a worthy investment... Pls let me know if U find it difficult to understand/interpret/apply my diet chart ... Also,I will try to chart a diet plan for you for 7 days so that it'll be easier for U... pls give me sometime coz I'm still struggling with the jet lag... will be alright in a day or 2...I'll try to give the meal plan then...
Hi Dev
Hope u did ur exams very well .Wish u the very best .
I'm waiting for ur diet chart for my friend who is pregnant .
Hoping to c u active after ur jetlag is over .
Thanks and Regards
PR
Aiyoo...sry PR... jetlag ellam over...aanal somberi thanamai iruku... Am leaving to India on june 8th for a short trip... Will do something abt the diet before I leave... Pls let me know any complications she has... even minor complications coz as she's carrying, I need to be very careful with the diet...
Hi DEv
No complications Except she has to gain only 15 to 20 pounds max as she is already overweight .
PR
Dear dev,
Hope u remember me and u finished ur exams well. I expect my diet plan from you,u told will give in june. I like to hear from you soon. thks.
Kavitha & PR,
Pls chk ur PM...
Dear Dev,
I have a aunty who is 63 years old.
She is 5 feet and 6 inches tall.
She weighs 80 kg.
She suffers from pressure and has diabetic.
She has asked me to ask you for a complete diet list for a week.
She assures you that she will strictly follow it.
She does not go for any walks, just the house work.
( Looking after 3 naughty grandchildren is enough excercise she thinks )
Please help her if you have the time.
Kavitha ravi
Hi Kavitha Ravi,
Hope you've read thru my previous posts... I'll not be able to do any diet plans until august ... Until then ask her to follow these simple rules...
1. Oil/fat consumption limited to 3 teaspoons(ie,1 tbsp or 15ml) a day.
2.avoid eating egg yolk,coconut as much as possible.
3. Do not eat red meat.
4. Chicken & fish can be had but remove the skin & visible fat before cooking.Never deep fry foods.
5.Reduce the quantity of rice consumed & eat more of veg & fruits. make sure to eat dhal everyday but in moderation.
6. Use non-fat or very low fat milk & curds. Avoid full fat milk pdts unless it's for growing childern.
7.limit sugar consumption to the mini possible.
8.Avoid any form of fried foods. U may have it in moderation,say once in a month or so.
9.try to add whole grains wherever possible...ex:have chapathis instead of maida parota , have wheat(brown) bread instead of white bread etc.
10. Try to dedicate 1/2 hr for walking...atleast 5 days a week... Unless U do all housework urself without the help of modern household equip like grinder,mixie,washing machine etc... Looking after kids,I don't think is enough of exercise...It's just the mental pressure that makes you feel tired when U r looking after kids...
11.Never skip any meal. Try to have dinner 3-4hrs before bedtime.
Avoid heavy dinners.
12.Drink atleast 2 litres of water per day unless advised otherwise by ur physician.
Since ur aunt has diabeties,it'll be of much help if she can go for regular walks. Walking at moderate speed also will do as she's already 63yrs old...
If she can follow all the above said,she'll surely feel better & may reduce some weight too. Will do something abt the diet plan in aug... Sry to put you waiting for so long... But it's unavoidable due to my personal work schedule...Sry abt it... Also,I'll give a diet plan as to what U can eat per day...u can plan ur weekly diet accordingly...
Pls let me know what her goal is...does she want to reduce weight or just maintain it?...
Dear Dev
Here R the details u have asked for .
Current weight : 163 LBS
Target weight : 175 to 180 LBS
She is in second trimester , She will be completing 5 months in another 10 days .
I think weight gain allowed per week is half pound .
Height : 5 feet 2 inches .
AS she has staretd gaining weight after her first trimester nausea is over , she is very much concerned . Hoping to receive a diet plan from u soon . I know u will be busy with india trip preparations .. Have a nice trip ..
Enna ore trip mela trip aaa poitu irukiringo . ??
PR
Thanks PR... I understand ur friend's situ... that's Y I've kept her diet need on the top of the list... Next comes Kavithasenthil's diet... Also,I'm planning to stop charting diets due to time constraints + I lost the enthusiasm to chart diets coz I find that not many who got the diet chart from me are serious abt it... So no point in just burning my time for it... I consider my time to be precious... I'll just post info whichever I come across so that whoever is interested can be benefited from it...
What is a Calorie?
A calorie is a unit of energy. We tend to associate calories with food, but they apply to anything containing energy. For example, a gallon (about 4 liters) of gasoline contains about 31,000,000 calories. Actually, calorie is the amount of energy, or heat, it takes to raise the temperature of 1 gram of water 1 degree Celsius (1.8 degrees Fahrenheit). One calorie is equal to 4.184 joules, a common unit of energy used in the physical sciences.
Most of us think of calories in relation to food. It turns out that the calories on a food package are actually kilocalories (1,000 calories = 1 kilocalorie). The word is sometimes capitalized to show the difference, but usually not. A can of soda containing 200 food calories contains 200,000 regular calories, or 200 kilocalories. A food calorie contains 4,184 joules. The same applies to exercise -- when a fitness chart says you burn about 100 calories for every mile you jog, it means 100 kilocalories.
From now on, for the discussion,I'll use calorie in place of kilocalorie.
The number of calories in a food is a measure of how much potential energy that food possesses. A gram of carbohydrates has 4 calories, a gram of protein has 4 calories, and a gram of fat has 9 calories. Foods are a compilation of these three building blocks. So if you know how many carbohydrates, fats and proteins are in any given food, you know how many calories, or how much energy, that food contains.
Our bodies "burn" the calories through metabolic processes, by which enzymes break the carbohydrates into glucose and other sugars, the fats into glycerol and fatty acids and the proteins into amino acids . These molecules are then transported through the bloodstream to the cells, where they are either absorbed for immediate use or sent on to the final stage of metabolism in which they are reacted with oxygen to release their stored energy.
Hi PR...I'm extremely sorry to tell U this... I'll not be able to do the diet plan for ur friend as promised... I wanted to read a bit about pregnancy wait gain before charting the diet...But due to personal commitments,I'm not able to find time for it... Am very sorry about it... I feel very guilty for not being able to keep up my promise...
All I can do now is give some suggestions... Pls see my reply to Kavitha Ravi's query... but ur friend can be a bit more lenient like taking egg yolk once or twice a week,adding a bit more oil etc... Ask her to avoid fried foods & eat more of vegs & fruits... She can have small meals often...say 5 small meals instead of 3 heavy meals... Ask her to go for short walks daily...maybe 15-20 mins or as much as she feels comfortable... i don't believe in putting one on strict diet when she's carrying... Just ask her to be watchful abt fat & carb intake... It would be better if she can avoid store bought food/snacks as most of the ready to eat food contain huge amts of sodium/sugar... being a bit watchful by itself will help one to avoid too much weight gain...I wish her all the best for a pleasant & safe pregnency...
Dear Dev
Thats fine . Thank u very much for ur efforts ..
Pr
Thanks for understanding my situ,PR...:)
Dear Dev,Sorry for the late reply.Even though disappointed, I really understand your situation.I have explained to my aunty about you.
She wants to loose about 10 kg.
I explain to her about calories. I will guide her with your informations.We will wait till you are free.
I know that it takes lot of time and effort on your part.
Thanks Dev.
Dear all
I will take charge of this thread till dev returns back in about a month time, any questions regarding loosing weights, fire away :D
Hey Raghu,
That would be great... :thumbsup: Keep going pa...
No problem that's what friends are for :wink:Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Rajsand
Can you post the spinach recipe which dev posted :D
GV
I hope nobody minds posting a recipe here..anyways, its a health recipe
Here it is gv
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I did some alterations..I cooked everything together , dals and vegetables and spinach in the cooker for 1 whislte. Just left it there.
I didnt blend it as it got mushy as it is..add all spices. Very healthy and tasty too.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is a healthy wholesome subzi...It's Spinach veg subzi...
- by DEV
Ingredients:
Yellow moong dhal : 50 gms
Spinach : 1 medium bunch or 1 cup( 1.5 litres cup)
garlic : 2
ginger : 1' piece
green chillies : 1
vegetables(carrot,cauliflower,yellow(sweet) corn) :500 gms
salt & chilli powder : to taste
Boil the veg in water seperately...there should not be any water left after cooking the veg...so add minimal water...
cook the moong dhal,coarsely chopped spinach,garlic,ginger & g.chilles in a cooker for 1 whistle...let cool & churn in a mixie to make a coarse paste(needn't be very smooth)...
add the spinach paste,salt & chilli powder to the veg & let it simmer for a minute...Serve hot with chapathis... the final product must be thick & not watery...So take care in adding water to the veg...
Variations:
1.can add tomatoes while cooking the dhal & add a bit of garam masala for a more spicier version...
2. can do the same using boiled eggs instead of vegetables...
3.spinach chicken will also be good...in this case make it a bit spicier to make it tastier...
Tip:
The bitterness of spinach varies...I've added dhal to mitigate the sourness...The traditional recipe uses cream instead of dhal & paneer instead of vegetables...In order to make it healthy,I've made these modifications...
The sweetness of the carrot & corn also helps in mitigating the sourness of spinach to some extent...U can vary the amount of spinach if u find it's bitter using the measurements given above...
bye
Thanks Rajsand
Will try and let u know
GV
Devuda Devuda ezhumalai devuda
where are you, these days :roll:
:D ... Am in India pa...
Hi all,
I'm back after a long break... Anyone in need of tips on healthy lifestyle,post ur queries... Will try to help out...:)
welcome back dev, Trip eppadi irrunthathu...nalla enjoy panningala?Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Thanks Ani...Trip was pretty good pa... The most exciting thing is that I've cleared the CPA exams... Am very happy abt it...:) 8)
congrats ....Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Hi Dev,
well come back. Congrats on passing the exam. So how are things with u.
Hi Kelly,
Thanks a lot... Are you sticking on to the diet these days?.... In case u need any help,let me know...
Hi Dev,
I'm still on the diet plan. in 1 1/2 month manage to lose 1 kg only. I'm finding it difficult to exercise regularly.
Kelly,
If U stick to the diet very strictly+3 to 4 days exercise(1/2 hr walk),U can lose more than what U've lost ...1 kg in 1 1/2 months is too less...Anyways,try ur best...:)
devuda,
nee eppa Moderator Hubber aanapa aana? :roll: :shock: :twisted: :lol: