thiruppathi malaiyil(vaazhvu en pakkam)
Pick #106
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/thiru_vep.rm
Song: thirupathi malaiyil
Film: vaazhvu en pakkam
Singer: MSV
Lyrics: kaNNadasan
Music: MSV
Actress Lakshmi can infuse life to even ordinary roles. When she is given a role that needs good performance, she makes it even better with her subdued but powerful performance.
'vaazhvu en pakkam' is one such film. in VEP Muthuraman ( the favorite hero of heroine oriented films), plays a rich guy who marries a dumb girl Lakshmi. His family is against this marriage and they physically abuse her . Unable to tolerate their abuse she flees. Todays song is played in this sequence. Lakshmis expression in this song is a treat to watch.
MSV, a talented singer with so so voice, wisely chooses the song he gives voice to. He always sang the asareeri song or for some unimportant character. Todays song is for a train beggar-saamiyar.
VEP is another inspiration of geetha aur seetha. Lakshmi played a dual role. The movie was just ok but her acting made it watchable.
kanavodu aengum(anbe odi vaa)
Pick #107
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/kanav_aov.rm
Song: kanavodu aengum
Film: anbe odi vaa
Singer: SJanaki
Lyrics: Vairamuthu
Music: iLaiyaraja
The mikes, Mohan and Murali, are the 2 heroes who benefitted the most from IR' s songs. Even their worst movies had best songs.
AOV is one such bad film. The film had Mohan, urvasi , Raasi etc. Only the songs are memorable.
The joyful 'azhagaana pookaL' (SPB's version of todays pick)
the soulful 'jodi nadhigaL'(SPB) and the romantic duets
'kaadhil kettadhu'(MV,UR) and 'idazhil amudham'(KJY,VJ) are all musical treats.
Todays pick is one of SJ-IR-VM combos best. The songs sounds like hindustani based one but i'm not sure.
oru keLvi unnai ketkiren(priyam)
Pick #108
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/orukelvi_pm.rm
Song: oru keLvi unnai ketkiren
Film: Priyam
Singers: Sujatha, UnniKrishnan
Music: Vidyasagar
'Priyam' could be called a debut of disasters. Neither the vaarisu arunkumar nor the voluptuous Manthra could help this sorry piece from sinking. I happen to watch a few minutes of the film and couldnt make out whats happening or why the film was even made.
Vidyasagar, who was slowly making his mark in the music scene ,was the only saviour. Though his dilruba hogged the limelight, today's pick and 'udaiyadha vennilla' is best of all. Unni and Sujatha gives their best. To my untrained ears, this song, too , sounds like a hindustani tune.
On ahot summer morning(raaNi yaar kuzhandhai)
Pick #109
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/onahot_ryk.rm
Song: on a hottu summer morning.
Film: Rani yaar kuzhandhai
Singer: SPB
Lyrics: ?
Music: TVRaju
Though the temperature here is close to freezing, from my window, it does look like summer outside.
When i combine this with todays SPB's freak out song, it does feel like summer even inside:).
I think Raju was also the MD for 'raadhaiyin nenjame' song film?
ennenbadho aedhenbadho(Lorry driver raajaakkaNNu)
Pick #110
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/ennen_ldrk.rm
Song: ennenbadho aethenbadho
Film: Lorry Driver Rajakannu
Singers: SPB , Vani Jairam
Music: MSV.
Finally i was able to find this beautiful song. This is one of my favorite Vanijairam songs. SPB doesnt try too hard to sound like Sivaji and this works to song's advantage.
LDRK was one of the many unwatchable and unbearable 80's sivaji movies. Sripriya was his jodi and sathyakala acted as his sister. Todays pick is for sivaji and sathyakala
thaamtha theemtha(pagalil or iravu)
Pick #111
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/thaam_poi.rm
Song: thaamtha theemtha
Film: pagalil oar iravu
Singer: Sjanaki
Music: iLaiyaraja.
Another less known gem of SJ and one of her best songs for Sridevi. 'POI' became popular for skimpily clad sridevi and the heavenly 'iLamai enum poongaatru'. Other songs like todays pick, 'ponnaaram poovaaram','thottam konda' and 'kalaiyo silaiyo'
were rarely played on radio.
IMO, Sridevi is the only actress who has paired with likes of sivaji, vijayakumar to young stars like arvind swamy, salman, shah rukh etc. In POI she had 2 pairs (i think)-ravikumar and vijaykumar.
I have not watched the film and only recently watched the 'iLamai enum poonkaatru' and was quite shocked with the picturisation.
thoduvaanam romba dhooram(nyaaya vayasu)
Pick #112
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/thodu_nt.rm
Song: thoduvaanam romba thooram
Film: nyaya tharasu
Singer: PSuseela
Music: Shankar Ganesh
Malayalam films of early 80s can be classified into 2 categories: slow or sleaze. Then a crop of new directors like bhadran, sibi malayil , hariharan etc brought in an excellent change and malayalam films started getting notice for their brilliance.
'Panchagni' directed by Hariharan is one such film. DD's regional service showed this film on a lazy sunday afternoon. I started watching without any interest or prior knowledge of the film.
The story starts in a jail. A female prisoner(played by actress Geetha) is released on parole to visit her dying mother. The story then travels with her. We are shown flashbacks of her past, the reason for her imprisonment. She has a drug addict brother, a sister(Played by Nadhiya) married to heroine's ex boyfriend. No one wants to speak to a prisoner. A journalist (Mohanlal) befriends her and they fall in love. Her only confidante is her close friend(idhayam nallennai chitra) who is married to a abusive husband.
Geethas mother dies and she moves out of the house to live with Mohanlal. When you think the film is going to end on a happy note, a shocking twist comes in the end .
The film was excellent. Geetha, Mohanlal, chitra, thilakan each and every actor were at their best.
Panchagni was remade in tamil as 'nyaya tharasu'. Radha chosen played Geethas role and nizhalgal ravi for Mohanlal. I think Anand babu played the junkie brother. I did not watch the tamil version but know it was a flop. Shankar Ganesh, who were at the tail end of their career, came out with few good songs.
Vaanam arugil oru vaanam(KJY)
vennilla ennodu (Mano)
yaarukku aarudhal(KJY,PS) and today's pick.
Todays pick has a brilliant violin interlude after the first charanam. Though PS voice sound jaded, it still expresses the desired emotion of the character.
pagai koNda uLLam(ellorum nallavare)
Pick #113
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/pagai_en.rm
Song: pagai koNda uLLam
Film: ellorum nallavarae
Singer: KJYesudoss
Lyrics: Pulamaipithan
Music: Vkumar
This is my fav KJY solo of 70's. Pulamaipithan's lines are outstanding. If given an opportunity, i bet he will come out with good lyrics.
My sisters keep talking about this film but i have never watched it. I think it had Muthuraman and ManjuLa. 'Padaithaane bhramadevan' and
'sivappukallu mookuthi' are other popular numbers from EN.
ninaithaal podhum(nenjirukkum varai)
Pick #114
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/ninai_nv.rm
Song: ninaithaal podhum
Film: nenjirukkum varai
Singer: SJanaki
Lyrics: Vaali/Kannadasan?
Music: MSViswanathan
Silirppu. Thats what i feel whenever i listen to this immortal beauty. The range SJ shows in this song is absolutely amazing. I feel this song has one of the best interludes by MSV in 60's.