Dear Suvai!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on mint rasam!!
Printable View
Dear Suvai!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on mint rasam!!
Dear Dev!
Thank you very much for the warm feedback on Jeeraka rasam!
Dear Sinrultz!
Thank you very much for the nice compliment on my Jeeraka rasam.
Here is the recipe for milaku rasam
MILAGU RASAM [PEPPER RASAM]
மிளகு ரசம்
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-N...6/CIMG5364.JPG
Ingredients:
Cumin seeds- 1 tsp
Peppercorns- 1 1/2 tsp
Tamarind- a small lime size
Small ripe tomato-1
Turmeric powder- half sp
Asafoetida- a pea size
Small garlic flakes-5
Salt to taste
Curry leaves- a few
Chopped coriander- 1 tbsp
Slit green chilli-1
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Gingelly oil- 1 tsp
Procedure:
Soak the tamarind in hot water for an hour and extract its juice.
Add enough water to make it 4 cups
Mash the tomatoes and add it to the tamarind water with turmeric powder, asafoetida, green chilli, greens and the salt.
Chop the garlic and add it to the tamarind mixture.
Grind the pepper and the cumin seeds coarsely and add them to the tamarind water.
Heat a pan and pour the oil.
When it becomes hot, add the mustard seedsa.
When they splutter, pour the tamarind mixture.
Let it boil for 2 minutes.
The delicious milagu rasam is ready now!!
Hello nga mrs mano!!
Hope all is well.......:-) onga milagu rasam is similar to what i make too....but gingely oil use panninathu kidaiyaathu....will surely try with it.....& let u know.....ohhh ya onga mint rasam/ sambar sadam....is made very often by me......onga vegetarian recipes are keepers ;-)
Merry Christmas to all who celebrate!!
hello mrs mano, i'm a long time follower of ur recipes. Recently i had misplaced your recepies .so lost some of ur best . tried looking for rasam powder through the links and it fails to show up . Can you kindly give it one more time. Pleaseeeee.
thanks ,
latha.
hello luz.....here it is mrs mano's rasam powder enjoy! I am copy pasting it for u...
Hello arrecipes!
I have already posted the recipe for sambar podi. You can fry the spices including the fenugreek seeds light before grinding them. There is no need to fry them to golden brown colour.
Here is the recipe for RASAM POWDER.
RASAM POWDER:
Ingredients:
Coriander seeds- 2 tbsps
Lentils- 2 tbsps
Cumin seeds- 1 tbsp
Peppercorns- 1 tbsp
Curry leaves- ¼ cup
Red chillies- 10
Ghee- 2 tbsp
Procedure:
Fry all the ingredients in the ghee to a golden brown colour and then powder them little coarsely.
hi suvai,
thanks a million for ur prompt and quick reply. yeah got it!!
luz.
u r welcome luz..:-)
Hello nga mrs mano.....:-)
I take this to wish you & your family a Wonderfullllll New Year!!!
May 2012 bring in more joy & good health!!
I also wish mrs mano's friends on here a Very Happy New Year!!!
Dear Suvai!
Thank you very much for your nice wishes. I wish you a very Happy new year with all the happiness in the world!!
And again thanks a lot for the warm feedback on my sambar sadham and mint rasam as well as giving the rasa podi recipe for Luz!!
i wsh all my friends here a very happy and prosperous new year!!!
அனைவருக்கும் எனது இனிய பொங்கல் வாழ்த்துக்கள்!!!
Hello nga mrs mano............:-) Happy Pongalo o o o Pongalllllll!!
inga naalaiki thaan kitchen la oru kalaku kalakanum nu neenaichikitu iruken...:noteeth:
I take this to wish Happy Pongal to all here on Mrs mano's thread!...:-)
Thank you Mrs Mano and same to you and your loved ones!
Hi Mrs.Mano, I've been an avid fan of your recipes but lost my collection. Could you send ur recipe collection to my email sangii77@gmail.com or let me know where I can download it from. I also follow ur blog, great recipes as always. TIA.
Dear Suvai!
I regret for my delayed reply. I went to Thanjavur after Pongal and returned back only a few days back.
Any way, thanks a lot for the beloved Pongal Greetings!!!
Hope you would have celebrated it in a grand manner.
Dear brother Nov!
Thank you very much for your warm Pongal Greetings!!
Dear Sangii77!!
Thanks a lot for the warm appreciation. You can view my recipes of Forumhub in the follwoing link. Mrs.Devasena and Mrs.Chithra are patiently updating my recipes here !!
http://manosdelicacies.blogspot.com/
I am posting here a recipe of Idli podi using horse gram. It tastes better than the usual idli podi. Adding a few spoons of horse gram in any recipe of every day’s cooking is a healthy way to live!
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-w...0/P1260170.JPG
IDLI PODI
Ingredients:
Horse gram- ¼ cup
Split Black gram with skin- ¼ cup
Bengal gram- ½ cup
Raw rice- 1 tsp
Small garlic flakes with skin- 2 tbsp
White sesame seeds- 2 tsp
Asafetida- a small piece
Red chillies- 1 ½ cup
Curry leaves- a handful
Salt to taste
Oil- 1 tsp
Procedure:
In a tsp of oil, fry the asafetida first to golden brown.
After taking it away, fry all the ingredients except the red chillies to golden brown.
At the last stage, add the red chillies in it and fry for a few minutes.
When cooled, grind all the ingredients with salt to a coarse powder.
Then add the asafetida and grind again until it is powdered along with all the ingredients.
This is a divine accompaniment especially for hot idlies!!
Hello nga mrs mano.............thank u for yr wishes.....hmmm ingeyum pongal anniki...sooriya bhagawan nalla suleernu kaatchi thanthutaar in the morning....made ven & chakarai pongal as usual..glad that u were able to spend pongal in india....athu ennaa sollunga oru viseysham na namma ooru pola varungala.:noteeth:
aunty,
made idli podi today, came out very nicely. colour also came same like urs.
thanks for sharing the receipe.
selvi
hello nga mrs mano....:-)
onga idly podi vithyaasamaa iruku....try pannaren....horse gram (kollu nu neenaikaren) indian store ponaa thaan vaanganum...but will surely try it & let u know.
Dear Mrs Mano,
Recently I have been getting a lot of "Vendhaya Keerai" is my local ethnic grocery and would like to try dosa out of it.
Could you post a recipe to make "Vendhaya Keerai Dosa" at your convenience?
Dear Selvi!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on idli podi.
Dear Sinrultz!
I will soon post the recipe for ' Fenugreek leaves dosa'!!.
Usually chicken kola is prepared with lots of coconut and spices in some places of Tamilnadu. Some use more Bengal gram or gram dal. Some people use raw chicken for this kola. The recipe I am posting here consists mild spices only. This is a favourite dish for lunch. It goes well as an accompaniment for hot chichen kuzhambu, mutton kuzhambu and sambar. Also it suits well with a mild type of pulao variety.
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-B...0/P2170302.JPG
CHICKEN KOLA:
Ingredients:
Chopped chicken pieces- 3 cups
Onion-2 [sliced]
Green chillies-5
Red chillies-2
Ginger- 1 tsp
Small garlic flakes-10
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Cinnamon- 1” piece
Cardamom-1
Cloves-2
Gram dal- 1 tbsp
Corn flour- 1 tbsp
Bread slices-2
Curry leaves-1 arc
Mint leaves-10
Chopped coriander- 2 tbsp
Small tomato-1 [chopped]
Peppercorn- ½ tsp
Shredded coconut- 1 tbsp
Enough oil to fry and use
Turmeric powder- half sp
Procedure:
Heat a pan and pour 2 tbsp of oil.
Add the spices and when they start to splutter, add the onion pieces and fry them well.
Then add the chopped tomato, green chillies, garlic, turmeric powder, red chillies, ginger, coconut and the greens.
Fry them well.
Add the chicken pieces and cook on slow fire with salt until all the water is evaporated from it.
When cooled, grind the chicken coarsely.
Powder the gram dal.
Put the bread slices in a mixi and switch on for I second to make fine breadcrumbs.
Add these and the corn flour to the chicken mixture and mix well.
Make small balls and fry them in hot oil on medium fire to golden brown.
Delicious kolas are ready now!!
hellp nga mrs mano....:-) nalama?
onga idly podi try pannitennnn.....superrrrrrrrr taste.......virunthu saapida vanthavanga....ziplock ley pottu eduthu ponaanga na paarungalen :noteeth:
that tells you that i have to make another batch now..;-)
thank u for another recipe for keeps nga......
Hi Mrs.Mano,
I WISH U A VERY HAPPY HOLI & WOMEN'S DAY !!!!!
Dear Sinrulz!!
Here is the recipe for fenugreek leaves dosa for you! This is my new innovation for you. I regret for the delay in posting this recipe. Really I have to wait for fresh greenish venthayakeerai for this recipe. There are many variations in preparing this dosa. Mostly this fenugreek leaves is added directly in the dosa or adai batter without being cooked. But this method would give a very different taste as it is cooked with other spices. Hope you will try soon. The fenugreek paste can be used as a thuvaiyal. This is also can be mixed with hot cooked rice and ghee and could be served as ‘ venthaya keerai sadham!’.
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-D...0/P3100305.JPG
FENUGREEK LEAVES DOSAI: [VENTHAYAKEERAI DOSAI]
Ingredients needed:
dosa batter- 3 cups
For the paste:
Fenugreeks- 2 cups
Small onions-8
Ripe big tomato-1
Red chillies- 7
Tamarind- a small gooseberry size
Black gram- 1 tbsp
Bengal gram- 1 tbsp
Salt to taste
Gingelly oil-2 tbsp
Procedure:
Add the grams and the red chillies and fry them to golden brown.
Take them away.
In the same oil fry the onion first to golden brown.
Then add the tomato and the fenugreek leaves.
Fry them until the tomato is well cooked.
When cooled, first grind the grams and the red chillies with the tamarind to a fine paste.
Then add the tomato, onion and fenugreek leaves and grind them coarsely.
Mix this with the dosa batter smoothly.
Now you can cook the spicy fenugreek dosai on both sides to golden brown!!
Dear Suvai!!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback! This kind of feedback really gives me the energy and interest to try more and more new recipes always!
Dear karthika!
I really must thank you for your loving wishes!! Accept my belated wishes for the same!!
hello nga mrs mano....:-) onga venthaya keerai dosa is absolutely very differenttttt....intha maathri kelvi patathey illai for a dosai varaiety.
Inga we have started getting vendhaya keerai already.....so kandipa pannitu solren ongaluku the outcome.
oru kelvi...when u say fenugreek 2 cups.....i am sure you mean the leaves ileengala???
fantastic idea of thogayal & also mixing it with rice nga mrs mano..;-)
All recipes that I have tried so far of yours are all keepers thank you nga for your tireless efforts.
thank you very much ma'am.
that was absolutely sweet of you for trying it out before posting the recipe, can't thank you enough for giving the best for us very single time.
Hello nga mrs mano...............Iniya Puthaandu Vaazhthukul to you as well as members of this thread..........:-)
Dear Suvai!
Thanks a lot for the greetings. As I was not well for the past 20 days, I could not reply to you immediately.
LIMA BEANS SNAKE GOURD KOOTTU:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-J...0/CIMG4581.JPG
This is a traditional koottu in Tamilnadu. In the month of January we can get fresh and young lima beans in the market. These lima beans are very tasty They enhance the taste of the usual sambar varieties. They can be even added in non-veg curries.
Ingredients:
Lima beans- 100gms
Chopped snake gourd- 1 cup
Split green gram- ¼ cup
Chopped tomato- half cup
Chopped onion- ½
Turmeric powder- half sp
Chopped coriander- ¼ cup
Cumin seeds- ¼ sp
Chilli powder- ¼ sp
Salt to taste
Oil- 2 tbsp
Grind the following o a fine paste:
Shredded coconut- ¼ cup, cumin seeds- ¼ sp, peppercorn-1/4 tsp
Procedure:
Add the cumin seeds and when they splutter add the onions.
Fry them well and then add the tomato with the turmeric powder and the coriander leaves.
Fry until the tomato is cooked well.
Add the vegetables with the salt as well as the chilli powder.
When the vegetables are almost cooked, add the ground paste and mix well.
After the vegetables are fully cooked in the coconut gravy, put off the fire.
The tasty kootu is ready now to serve!!
vanakam nga mrs mano.........hope all is well....:-)
I will surely try this kootu with lima beans...coz enaku pudalangai kidaikarthu kashtam...;-)
Dear Suvai!
After a long time, I am seeing you here! Hope all is well with you!
About this koottu, you van add ridge gourd, palakkottai or avaraikkai instead of snake gourd.
JOWAR IDLI
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-D...2/P3110313.JPG
Ingredients:
Jowar - 1 cup,
Par boiled rice ( idli rice) - 1 cup
Urad dhal - 1 cup
Fenugreek seeds-1 tsp
Salt
Preparation:
Mix jowar, rice & urad dal & wash well.
Soak in enough water for 6-8 hrs.
Grind to a fine batter adding enough water as we do for usual idlies.
Steam hot idlies in the morning!
Add salt & ferment the batter for 10 hrs .
Soft dosais also can be prepared with this idli batter with minimum oil.
It is best not to make it very thin.
Mrs Mano ma'am,
Can we make soup with crab meat only? can you give me directions on how to do it?