:rotfl3: :rotfl3:
Printable View
Kuganji...Tempeh romba tempting-a irukkudhe ? thanks. Mayflower kitte senju thara solli saapittuvittu ezhudharen.
but ingE reliance fresh/More supermarket-a kEttA thiru thiru-nnu mariyathaiyaa muzhikkaraanga .. They only have tofu. adhu chennai-la enge kidaikkum-nu any idea ?
simple vazhakkai curry tasty-a irukkumnu ninaikiren. adhaiyum seidhu sapittu vittu solluven.
ippO inge mor-milagai (thanjavur kudai milagai -kutti size), maavadu ( pollachi /azhagar kovil/nidamangalam sivappu kambu ) ellame kidaikkudhu.. veyyil suda aarambichachu.. dust storm season varadhukku munnale special vathal / vadagam recepies ellam post-unga..
Suvai-nga ! seeyali meendhu ponaa enna seiveenga ? :rotfl:
hello nga madhu...:-) seeyali packed for lunch ;-)....romba tastya irunthichinga....
athennaa nga azhagar kovil...any special saapaadu there?.....& nidamangalam sivappu kambu???
ellorum vidha vidhama padam pottu recepie solreenga..
enakku hot water vaikka mattume theriyum. anyway.. Mayflower latest-a கடலைப்பருப்பு போளி senjathai padam pottu en pangai niRaivu seigiREn.
ithu romba easy-nga..
thengai araichi... pooranam (filling ) senju, melmaavu pisainju tava-vil pottu ghee vittu (psss) rendu pakkam suttu edutha... yummy....!! ( senju pathavangalukkuthane kashtam theriyum. naan saapittavan. so no problem :) )
suvai-nga..
adhellam mavadu varieties..
vathiyarayya... yaaravadhu india vandha sollunga. koduthu anupparen.
aaahaaa...pic looks good nga madhu...apadiye avanga recipe yum podunga.....plzzz...naangalum senji paarkirom....enaku oru sweet nga...ty
ohhh vidha vidha maavadus ah....wowiee!
raj nga naan antha oor per kooda kelvi pattathilai....hope aunty had a good time...:-)
ipo theriyum maavaduku prasidhi nu...;-)
vathiyarayya... ada ada... needamangalam varai aunty poyirukkangala ? appo maavadu-vai aLLi eduthukittu vandhirukkalame ?
suvai-nga..
thats a normal kadalaiparuppu boLi only.. ungaLukku recepie theriyadha enna ? anyhow Mayflower kittE kEttu post seyyaren :)
suvai nga
ennai mannichidunga.. adhu kadalaiparuppu boLi illaiyaam... thEngAi bOLi-yam :.. enakku enna theriyum ? manjal color-a irundhadhal appadi nenachutten. :kikiki:
Aiyoo Suvai... kalakkureenga ponga...dibbaseeyali ...:lol:
I read in few sites that pulikaadha idli maavu can be used for dibba roti...chk out the spicy version here... http://edivyaraj.blogspot.in/2010/05...picy-idly.html
Madhu, vaanga vaanga... boli pics super... I just love thengai boli...kadalai paruppu boli is a big no no...:)
Mayflower nalal irukaangala?... hub pakkam vara sollunga when she finds time...:)
Dev,Kugan:
I had my dinner and realized that aunty had made more thant I could consume before she returns. Would you like some. Pick your choice. The dishes are frozen solid. Will last till they reach you! :)
Suvai, thanks thanks for all your nice posts.
Suvai, I think you should not take the risk. Please try it with tofu or panner.
The gravy is really yummy. My friend actually made a coarse powder of the spices.
I felt that the smell was a bit strong of the spices, so I just added in whole spices.
I am glad that you likes the seeyali.
It is nice for a change instead of the same idli and sambar.
You can try many ways, tomato idli, masala idli and so on.
Suvai, I still use the ammi to grind kettai chutney.
Also use the atukal for urad dal vadai, seeni vadai and so on.
Ennaku, araika nalla varum, for my maid does not know how to use it.
Thanks, Take care, Kugan
Dev, thank you very much for your nice post.
Dev thank you very much for the link.
Suvai is the queen for finding strange names for recipes.
Neenga is the queen for new, new links. Anyway I am the lucky one.
I get to know new links and new recipes.
Let me try out the roti and see.
Thanks, Dev take care, Kugan
Madhu, Madhu Shree:confused2: I was really confused for some time.
Our beloved Dev, cleared it for me. Thanks.
Dear Madhu, nice to have you in the forum.
I think you will not get the tempeh in Chennai.
Try it with panner or tofu, it will be nice.
Thank you very much for the boli pictures and explanations.
Will be very happy to receive more recipes from you.
Our thanks to madam Mayflower, ask her to join us.
Madhu as for for the maavadu, kari vadagam, vatral , vadavasms are all posted by me before.
If you can let me know what you need , I will repost it for you.
I know it is not that easy to hunt for old recipes.
Thanks and take care, Kugan
Uncle Rajraj, waiting eagerly for the Fedex van to come calling to my house.:happydance::happydance:
Also will be calling NOV anneh to come, as only he can enjoy the chicken, fish, prawns and turkey.
Thanks uncle, hope aunty had a nice time in India.
Take care, my wishes to your grand child.
Kugan
Nowadays seldom people make this curry vadagam.
Its easier to buy than to make. I make my own so that I use all clean ingredients and make it clean. I do it 6 months once.
My aunt makes a very tasty chutney using the ridgegourd skin and the vadagam. I will get the recipe soon.
vadagams are used for seasoning in the gravy, poriyal,
kutoo and chutneys. vadagams give a special aroma and flavour for the dishes.
The dal are raw and ground into coarse powder.
Suvai nga when we want to cook a gravy, normally we will pour oil in the pot, then break up the vadagam into pieces, and use little or more according to the amount of gravy or poriyal you want to do.
these vadagams are only seasonings.
CURRY VADAGAM
Ingredients:
250 grms small red onions
200 grms garlic pips
125 grms toor dal
20 grms urad dal
20 grms cumin seeds
20 grms mustard seeds
20 grms curry leaves
15 grms tumeric powder
¼ cup of oil
2 tbs of salt
Method:
Skin the onions and garlic, wipe them dry.
Chop both the onions and garlic into fine pieces
Chop also the curry leaves also into fine pieces
Grind the toor dal and urad dal into coarse powder.
Add all the other ingredients except the oil.
Crush them lightly so that they can be moulded into balls.
Dry them in the hot sun.
In the evening break all of them, add half of the oil and mix well.
Make them into balls again. Next morning dry them in the sun again.
Again in the evening do the same process using the other half portion of the oil.
Now dry the balls in the hot sun for about 15 days, till it becomes hard.
Store them in a air tight container.
NOTE: Normally castor oil is used. Since this oil is banned in Malaysia,
I use gingelly oil.
Vadagams made 4 days ago, still drying:
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-RHuHja4p6v...vadagamone.jpg
Vadagam made 6 months ago
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-15ox_zq7Ee.../img0016oa.jpg
VADU MANGGA
Ingredients:
25 tender young green mangoes (vadu mangga )
2 tbs gingelly oil (normally they use castor oil)
¼ cup salt
¾ cup red chillie powder
¼ cup mustard seeds powdered
Method:
Wash the mangoes and dry well.
Leave about quarter inch of stem intact.
Cut off the remaining stem.
Put the mangoes in a glass jar, pour the oil and shake
the jar so that the mangoes are coated with oil.
Now sprinkle the salt and do the same.
Now cover the jar tightly and set aside for four to five days.
Open the jar daily and stir the mangoes with a dry spoon.
After five days the mangoes would have absorbed the salt
and shrunk in size.
Mix the chillie and mustard powder and sprinkle over the mangoes.
Cover well and allow the pickle to absorb all the seasonings
for at least two weeks.
Serve with tayir saatham.
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-VpdEYOA5Su...ngasoaked1.jpg
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-RVv1SA4NuZ...gaseasoned.jpg
ENNA MANGGA
Ingredients:
3 firm green mangoes medium size
Sesame oil for frying
2 tbs chillie powder
1 tbs fenugreek seeds dry roasted and powdered
1 tbs salt
Method:
Wash and wipe the mangoes. Cut them up into thin
Long pieces.
Heat the oil and fry the mango pieces until crispy.
Remove them from the oil and drain.
Combine the chillie powder and fenugreek powder.
Spread the mango pieces in a ceramic or glass jar.
Sprinkle with salt and mix well.
Now sprinkle the chillie, fenugreek powder and mix well.
Now pour about 3 tbs sesame oil on the top.
Once its cooled, put the lid and cover tightly.
It takes about 10 days for the mango pieces to absorb the
Salt and spices and become tender.
Note: If your mango is very fleshy, you can dry the pieces in the sun for a day before frying.
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-sWQrzHmmwY...ennamaanga.jpg
RICE VADAGAM
Ingredients:
500 grms cooked rice, preferably yesterday’s rice
5 green chillies more if you like
1 tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp asafetida powder
1 sprig curry leaves (optional)
Salt to taste
Method:
Mix every thing together and blend in a mixie.
Do not add water, if needed sprinkle little.
Spread a clean thick plastic sheet in the sunlight.
Use a murukku press with “one star hole plate.
Fill the ground dough into the press.
Press straight lines on the plastic sheet.
Finish all the dough.
Allow to dry in the hot sun for the whole day.
In the evening you can gather and break into desired lengths.
Dry it for a another day if not fully dried.
Another way is to make a hole in a piece of cloth.
Put in the dough and press dots on the plastic sheet.
Or use your hands to dish out small small rounds.
Note: modern times, I have seen people cooking the rice
flour with water and all the ground ingredients into a kool.
Then they press it on the sheet to dry.
This is how my old folks taught me
Before Frying:
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-VLXDXGQ_FX.../img0023bg.jpg
After Frying:
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-yiZaS1F6O5.../img0028iz.jpg
how can you be confused with madhu annaa...? :p
avar ellOrukkum annaa... aanaalum avar innum chinna paappaa :p
avarOda loving wife thaan Mayflower
arumaiyaana thambadhigal :thumbsup: neenga mattum chennaikku pOi paarunga, avar arumai ungalukku puriyum.
annaa, I will buy frozen tempeh for you, if you really desire ;)
Thanks NOV anneh, I feel very happy to know about Madhu annaa and his family.
May God Bless the couple and give them, health, wealth and long life.
Thanks. Kugan
Dear Gulabjamun, here is your request for the dinner rolls.
Suda, suda out of the oven. Enjoy. Kugan
DINNER ROLLS
Ingredients:
2 ¼ tsp dry yeast
¼ cup warm water
2 tbs sugar
1 cup of warm milk
3 tbs of melted butter
¾ tsp of salt
3 cups of flour + little flour if needed
¼ cup warm water if needed
2 tbs olive oil
Method:
Mix in the sugar, yeast and warm water. Let it froth.
In a bowl, add in the warm milk, melted butter, and salt.
Add in the 3 cups of flour, add in the yeast mixture.
Give a good mix with a spatula.
Now use your hands and knead the dough, till it is smooth.
Sprinkle little flour if you feel the dough a bit sticky.
Knead until you have a smooth and elastic, but soft dough.
Apply some olive oil, all over trhe dough. Cover with a moist cloth.
Allow it to rise for about an hour.
Now remove the dough and punch down the dough again.
Use little flour, roll the dough and cut into 12 pieces.
Take a piece of dough and roll it into a round shape in your palm.
Grease a tray, put the round shaped dough, about 1 inch apart.
Let it rise and double in size.
Bake in a preheated oven at 200 degrees C for about 25 minutes.
Cook till they are golden in colour. Remove and serve with butter.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7205/6...a7607bba_c.jpg
Hai guys, how are you all? Sorry. for. not logging in for a long time.
Hope to come soon with a nice recipe. Nice buns, kugan.
Thanks. Meerra
Dinner rolls looks great kuganka !!!
Happy to see u meera :)
How r u ?
hye kugan ka....am not feeling well....still waiting for ur receipes.....
Thanks Meerra for your post.
Hope you will post for us a nice recipe.
Thanks and take care. Kugan
Thanks Aarthii for your post. How was your birthday?
Hope you had a nice time.
How is spring now? Did little one enjoy the winter?
Thanks and take care. Kugan
Dear friends, I have a request, one of our hubber friend, recently delievered a child.
Since she is away in the West, she has no help.
She is a vegetarian, can you all please post for her simple recipes, as to what she can eat.
I suggested some vege soups and poondu kulambu.
Any other recipes that you all know.
Thanks, Kugan
Dear Lathz, please visit a doctor if you are not feeling well.
Do not take the risk, by not seeing the doctor.
Please read the pm, that I have sent you.
Take care, Kugan
Kuganka,
One small help,can u please post vallarai keerai recipe.
Any kootu or poriyal kind of vallarai keerai kuganka.
Lathz take care of ur health.
Will try to find out some healthy recipes for you from my friends and Will send to u soon.
Dear Aarthii, thank you very much for your post.
Aarthii, normally we cook vallarai keerai about 3 times in a week, for the children.
It will be poriyal, kutoo, or even thuvayal.
It did not strike me to take any pictures.
I will post soon all the recipes for you.
Take care, Kugan
NOTE: Where are all our friends:think::think:
Try this coconut rasam, very cooling for the heat:-D
Kugan
COCONUT MILK RASAM
Ingredients:
2 red tomatoes chopped fine
Lime sized tamarind soaked in ½ cup of water
2 tbs toor dal, cooked till very mushy in 1 cup of water
2 cups of thick and thin coconut milk
3 pips of garlic smashed
½ tsp pepper powder
½ tsp cumin powder
Salt to taste
1 tbs oil
¼ tsp asafoetida powder
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp urad dal
¼ tsp funugreek seeds
¼ tsp tumeric powder
2 dry red chillies broken into pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
Little coriander leaves for garnishing
Method:
Add the chopped tomatoes to the tamarind juice.
Crush it with your hands to extract all the juices.
Discard the pulp.
Now in a bowl , add in the tomato tamarind juice.
Add in the toor dal, coconut milk, smashed garlic, pepper powder,
cumin powder and enough salt to taste.
Heat a pot with the oil, add in the spices in order.
Let them splutter well, add in the coconut milk mixture.
Cook on a very low flame, do not allow the the mixture to boil.
The rasam will start frothing, add in the coriander leaves.
Off the flame and cover the rasam with a lid immediately.
Serve with rice after 10 minutes.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7071/6...374cab78_z.jpg
Kuganji..
coconut milk kodhikka vaithaal kasappa aagi vidadha ? thick and thin milk ellam onrAga sErthu kodhikka vaikka venduma ?
indha rasam rice kooda kalandhu saapidalama ? or soup madhiri kudikkanuma ?
innaikku nanE senju pakka try seyya pogiren. ( aduppil soodu padamal irundhal eppadi irunthadhu enru post seiven :) )