Kamal-Ilayaraaja-Singeetham Rao-MUMBAI EXPRESS
Topic started by gfn (@ 210.210.33.45) on Mon Nov 8 23:27:27 EST 2004.
Kamals new film announced!
By Moviebuzz
Monday, 08 November , 2004, 09:37
Kamal Haasan celebrated his birthday with a lot of fanfare and announced the launch of his new film. He started his day by lighting a lamp in front of his parents' photograph, in his office.
Kamal announced that his home production Raj Kamals next film will be Mumbai Express in Tamil and Hindi. Singeetam Srinivasa Rao will direct the film and the cast will also have Nassar, Pasupathi and Vayyapuri. The Hindi version will have Mahesh Manjrekar, Om Puri and Shourab Shukla. Music will be composed by Ilaiyaraaja.
Says Kamal: It will be launched in ten days time and will be released in April next year (probably will clash with Chandramukhi?). It will be a hilarious film and my character's name is Avinasi, a real funny man. As this film is a breezy comedy with sentiment and action I think it is in the safe hands of Singeetam Srinivasa Rao, who has done some great rib ticklers with me".
The search for the heroine is continuing as Kamal is trying to get the dates of a busy Mumbai heroine. If the English title will cause resentment among Tamil politicians who are against English titles Kamal commented: Some English words have become colloquial and part of our daily sayings.
Kamal Haasan distributed the prizes to the winners of Annai Rajalakshmi Memorial elocution contest for college students. Apart from this, he also handed nearly Rs. 1.25 lakhs to various other organisations and individuals who have done social service.
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13606512
Kiran (@ 202.*) on: Tue Nov 9 00:02:27 EST 2004
100% this will be biggg hit......from name itself we can guess
Kanna (@ 168.*) on: Tue Nov 9 06:31:28 EST 2004
Vandhuttangayyaaaaaa vandhuttangayya
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11345.html
Wonder, how did "M.B.B.S" in Vasool Raja...escaped??
Kanna (@ 168.*) on: Tue Nov 9 06:32:08 EST 2004
Vandhuttangayyaaaaaa vandhuttangayya
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11345.html
Wonder, how did "M.B.B.S" in Vasool Raja...escaped??
T Muthu (@ 68.7*) on: Tue Nov 9 15:54:48 EST 2004
How much Kamal pay these guys for making noise? See, these days people are under the impression creating furore is better than putting good that effort in making a good movie. Culture- a maathiteegnaley. Velaya parunga pasungala. stop the noise, i say. switch off the fan hey you. laaaats of noise.
Jyothi (@ 213.*) on: Sun Nov 14 08:23:40 EST 2004
If kamal & Ilaiyaraaja are working on a hindi bilingual could this mean we will hear SPB Bala render songs for Kamal?? and if that is the case then this could mean SPB Bala Sirs come back to hindi Cinema.......EXCELLENT.
But the other option could be that..Kamal insists on singing all his songs in both tamil and hindi..meaning we end up with a really crappy music albumn......What do u think guys?
fan (@ 219.*) on: Tue Nov 16 00:07:12 EST 2004
it is absolutely true. kamal songs has lost all its sheen and he is singularly responsible. only spb can do justice to kamal and only songs sung by spb for kamal will stay in history.
Music_lover (@ 203.*) on: Fri Nov 19 01:32:16 EST 2004
http://autofeed.msn.co.in/pandorav3/output/Cinema/081d9b81-24fb-442c-afc7-d2c015c83ecb.aspx
Kamal finally finds his heroine
After a long search, Kamal Haasan has finally zeroed in on the 'heroine of his dreams' - KAJOL !
karthik (@ 61.2*) on: Sat Nov 20 07:07:25 EST 2004
Sorry i think the heroine is Manisha and not Kajol
F e r r a r i (@ 192.*) on: Sun Nov 21 03:02:18 EST 2004
Yesterday TOI Bangalore said it is Manisha
Todays Dinamani says it is kajol.
No clue who?
karthik (@ 193.*) on: Mon Nov 22 01:25:09 EST 2004
Dear friends,
Its Manisha only
j (@ 61.1*) on: Mon Nov 22 01:52:47 EST 2004
Kamal Hassan's Mumbai Express
[Pic : hindu.com]
After the comical Vasool Raja MBBS, it's Kamal's turn to care for a movie for himself. And this formula of one-mass-movie-one-class-movie has been continuing for some time now[except for Panchathanthiram following PKS]. Expectedly, Kamal Hassan pens the story/screenplay and packs bag to board Mumbai Express.
Mumbai express is said to be a family entertainer and will be directed by the veteran Singeetham Sreeenivasa Rao. As remarked by Kamal himself Singeetham and Kamal Hassan, though generations apart by age, have a great chemistry between them that makes this duo an interesting combo. As Kamal is tight-lipped about the story line, it makes me speculate that the movie could be of the genre of Anbe Sivam where the classy theme was mixed in propotion with the comedy.
When the bi-lingual Mumbai Express was announced publicly on his birthday, there weren't many details to decipher the feel of the movie. Now with Kamal Hassan engaging Manisha Koirala on the lead role and having illayaraja to tune it's getting a lot clearer. The tamil train will include Nasser, Ramesh Aravind and Pasupathi while the Hindi express will have Om Puri and Mahesh Manjirekar.
Here's the link to Hindu's article on this. BTW, who comes to your mind after you see this new makeover of Kamal Hassan ? It reminds me of Bally Sagoo.
http://www.lazygeek.net/
http://www.hindu.com/lf/2004/11/22/s...2210140200.htm
gfkj (@ 61.1*) on: Mon Nov 22 01:59:02 EST 2004
Ramesh Aravind to do a guest role in Kamals film!
By Moviebuzz
Monday, 22 November , 2004, 11:09
The gentleman actor of Kannada film, Ramesh Aravind has agreed to play a guest role in Kamal Hasans new film Mumbai Express. This comedy film will be directed by Singeetham Srinivasa Rao and is a bilingual in Hindi and Tamil.
Music maestro Ialayaraja scores the music and Siddarth is the cameraman. Ramesh Aravind dons a different look for the film with an additional clip to his teeth and thick spectacles.
Ramesh and Kamal were together in Sathi Leelavathi and Panchatantram. And recently for Diwali, Ramesh interviewed Kamal for Jaya TV a leading Tamil satellite channel
Vazhipokkan (@ 40.0*) on: Mon Nov 22 15:25:21 EST 2004
Is it true IR recorded music for Mumbai Express in US?
neruppu (@ 65.1*) on: Mon Nov 22 16:54:35 EST 2004
F e r r a r i (@ 192.*) on: Tue Nov 23 05:20:30 EST 2004
Good and funny trailer :-)
BTW audio blurred when manisha was introducing herself. Her name is Arya or aaya?????
Mr. Koirala (@ 198.*) on: Tue Nov 23 10:14:20 EST 2004
I heard Ahalya.
I too agree that the music was a bit too loud.
mnt (@ 198.*) on: Tue Nov 23 10:36:39 EST 2004
babu (@ 216.*) on: Wed Nov 24 14:52:24 EST 2004
Dear Kamal Fans,
Please follow the link to learn more about kamal's next directorial venture..
http://www.fff.se/katalog/katalogfilm_eng.asp?ID=355
cho (@ 209.*) on: Wed Nov 24 15:10:01 EST 2004
"BTW audio blurred when manisha was introducing herself"...
besh.. besh!!! already people have started reviewing the music... konjam porungappa, padam release aagattum!!
MumbaiRamki (@ 151.*) on: Wed Nov 24 17:59:06 EST 2004
Babu ,
Kamal has indeed bought rights for this film ....but this is not mumbai Express !!!
curses (@ 203.*) on: Thu Nov 25 02:42:49 EST 2004
Cho,
Audio does not always mean music. Who was reviewing the music?
Cinefan (@ 61.9*) on: Thu Nov 25 06:33:21 EST 2004
I am not able to place the actors playing the characters in the hindi/tamil versions.While Kamal&Manisha are the constants,Om puri is most likely to play Nasser's role.But who will play Pasupathi's,Kovai Sarala's,Hritik Deena's(Sarala's husband in the film),Vyapuri's&Ramesh Aravind's roles?We have only Mahesh Manjrekar,Vijai Raj&Sharat Saxena to choose from.Will Sarala do the role in Hindi too,very unlikely.Is Saurabh Shukla a part of both the versions or only Hindi?I don't think the casting has been completed&Kamal has done the photo session with the actors he had on hand.By the way can anybody give me gist of the trailor.
paran (@ 203.*) on: Thu Nov 25 06:52:45 EST 2004
THIS WILL ANSWER UR QUESTION!
http://www.indiafm.com/scoop/04/nov/2511kamal/index.shtml
South superstar and talent-house Kamal Hassan will be back on the Bollywood screen next year. Hassan's last Hindi film was Abhay in 2001 after which he reigned high on the Southern arena with films like Anbe Sivam, Virumaandi and the recent Vasoolraja MBBS. Now he has teamed up with director Singeetham Srinivasa Rao (with whom he had earlier given entertainers like Pushpak and Appu Raja) and the duo are working together on the Hindi-Tamil bilingual titled Mumbai Xpress. Manisha Koirala is paired opposite Kamal Hassan in the film. (Earlier Hassan has Tabu in mind for the role). The film also stars Om Puri, Vijay Raaz, Dinesh Lamba and Kannada film star Ramesh Arvind. Bharat Shah is presenting the venture that has dialogues by Sourabh Shukla and music by Illayaraja.
Manisha Koirala The shooting for the film has already commenced from November 22 on different locations in Mumbai with a start-to-finish schedule. The film is slated for an April 2005 release.
F e r r a r i (@ 192.*) on: Thu Nov 25 07:23:05 EST 2004
cho,
I was referring to the audio quality of the file, they had uploaded onto Kumudham site. Music pathi naan edhuvum sollalai.
Kanna (@ 168.*) on: Thu Nov 25 07:45:24 EST 2004
Cinefan,
Download the trailor from http://www.kumudam.com/lightsonline/...mumbai-exp.swf and open it in Internet Explorer, but keep the window small, don't maximize it
mnt (@ 198.*) on: Thu Nov 25 17:33:25 EST 2004
Why is Pasupathi missing from the trailer?
Cinefan (@ 203.*) on: Fri Nov 26 00:21:12 EST 2004
Thanks Paran&Kanna.BTW,what slang of tamil was Kamal using?
Mnt,
Even i was wondering about it.maybe he was busy shooting for some other film&was not able to give time for this trailor.
Cinefan (@ 203.*) on: Fri Nov 26 00:33:32 EST 2004
F e r r a r i (@ 192.*) on: Fri Nov 26 00:49:15 EST 2004
Cinefan. For a second I thought Kamal had talked to you :-)
And after looking at lazygeek's site, I was abt to post the same link ;-)
x (@ 202.*) on: Fri Nov 26 01:56:48 EST 2004
Mumbai express is a definite flop! Look at Kamal, everytime when he talks about success he relates only two films. One is Sakalakala vallavan and the other is Devar Magan ... which means that only these two films made a decent profit. And Rajkamal films has the record of giving good number of flops... i think this guy will go bankrupt in another 2 years .... mostly he will come to street when the ultimate Marudanayagam comes!
paran (@ 203.*) on: Fri Nov 26 01:58:11 EST 2004
x,
yennapa pesaringe ninge....
i thot IR single handedly can decide whether a movie should be a hit or a flop...so in that case......it's up to IR rite?
x (@ 202.*) on: Fri Nov 26 02:06:37 EST 2004
You may be right Mr.paran, but even though IR comes with some magic numbers, Kamal is capable of scr**ing it!
paran (@ 203.*) on: Fri Nov 26 02:37:37 EST 2004
yennapa pesaringe....
if IR can make Ramarajan's movie super hit...why can't he make Kamal's movie super hit!....
rendu kaaka, 1 yaanai, 1 naai kutti vachi padam yeduthaalam...athukku IR isai potta pothum..padam velli vizhathaan naan ninachikittu irunthatellam poiya??!?!!?!?
irfan (@ 219.*) on: Fri Nov 26 03:41:15 EST 2004
"No Rajkamal production is complete without Ilaiyaraja's compositions. Only once did we make an exception ... for `Nala Damayanti.'-Kamal.....aapdi podu aruvale....
Cinefan (@ 61.9*) on: Fri Nov 26 07:08:54 EST 2004
X,
The list of hits from RajKamal are Sathya,ApoorvaSahodarargal,Kadamai Kanniyam Kattupadu,Thevar Magan,Magalir Mattum,Kuruthippunal,Chachi 420&Virumaandi.The flops would be RajaPaarvai(Excellent film),Vikram(disaster)&Hey Ram(again an excellent film).Nala Damayanthi like the film was average at the BO.So on what basis do you say that RajKamal has a record of giving flops?
Ferrari :),that's why 'ME'(Mumbai Express)was in capitals.
Kanna (@ 168.*) on: Fri Nov 26 09:29:13 EST 2004
Cinefan,
Sariyana badhiladi to people who don't know the facts about the hits from Rajkamal
Guess Me (@ 203.*) on: Fri Nov 26 09:42:09 EST 2004
Chachi 420 was an utter flop and Kuruthipunal, inspite of being a good movie, just managed to escape from loss.
cho (@ 209.*) on: Fri Nov 26 10:45:23 EST 2004
Ferrari, curses,
Audio pathi chumma thamashukku sonnenppa, thappa eduthukkadheenga!
cho (@ 209.*) on: Fri Nov 26 10:49:02 EST 2004
kuruthippunal, hey ram were 2 great movies from kamal but they didn't run well... but all Kamal's comedy movies have run well so far (except kathala kathala).. and I am sure this will run quite well... btw, who is writing the dialogues? Is it crazy mohan? I hope it's either him or Mouli.