Page 58 of 59 FirstFirst ... 84856575859 LastLast

Thread: Kannada film music

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    Here are two beautiful songs from the movie – Chandavalliya Thota (meaning – Garden of the village called CHANDAVALLI), a b/w film released during 1964. The movie was great hit of that time; story of a happy family in a village has to face the worst situations created by the neighbours and at the end re-uniting them with a happy ending. Starring Rak kumar, Udayakumar, Balakrishna, Jayanthi and others, directed by T V Singh Thakur.
    Music scored by T G Lingappa, and lyrics by T R Subba rao ( tha ra su) and also by R N Jagagopal.

More details about the movie here: https://kannadamoviesinfo.wordpress....ya-thota-1964/

This is a duet song with Raj kumar and Jayanthi on the screen. Jayanthi’s 2nd movie of her carreer (recently expired on 26-07-2021).

Lyric goes here:

citra: caMdavaLLiya tOTa 1964
    gAyana: pi bi shrInivAs/es jAnaki
    saMgIta: Ti ji liMgappa
    sAhitya: Ar en jayagOpAl

O... hO.. ho..
    baLLiyaMge baLakutali maLLiyaMge nODutali bAre
    nI bAre I haLLigella cheluve nIne O nIre nI bAbArE

chiguru mIse tIDutali hurupu mAtanADutali bArA
    nI bArA I Urigella huliyu nIne O dhIrA nI bAbArA

keMduTiya aMchinali kirunage bIri ninna....
    bAre enna siMgAri
    nA baMdivini taMdivini roTTi taTTi bA baLisAri /baLLi/

cheluvina chinnigane kannaDada kulamagane
    ninna nanna prItiya sama kANe
    araLida malligeye sobagina saMpigeye
    nInE nanna prANavu jANe
    manasOte nA ennANe ninna mechchi baMde nAnE..
    eMdeMdU AnaMda namageMde kAdidE /baLLi/

Meaning of the song:

Twirling (baLukutali) like a creeper (baLLiyaMge),
    giving an innocent (maLLiyMge) look (nODutali) come (bAre bAbAre)
    You (nIne) are a beauty queen (cheluve) of this
    village (I haLLigella) come please come (O nIre nI bA bAre)

smearing (tIDutali) the moustache (chigure mIse)
    talking (mAtanADutali) with enthusiasm (hurupu) come (bArA)
    You (nIne) are like a tiger (huliyu) of this village (I Ureigella)
    brave man (O dhIra) come please come (nI bAbArA)

Throwing (bIri) a smile (kirunage) with your red-lips (keMduTiya aMchinali)
    come (bAre) my love (enna siMgAri)
    I came (nA baMdivni) and brought (taMdivini)
    bread/roti (roTTi taTTi) for you come near me (bA baLi sAri)

Handsome person (cheluvina chennigane)
    son (kulamagane) of this kannada province (kannaDada)
    I don't see (kANe) the equivalent (sama) to our (ninna nanna) love (prItiya)
    Bloomed (araLida) jasmine (malligeye) charming (sobagina) Champaka flower (saMpigeye)
    You (nIne) are my (nanna) life (prANavu) clever lady (jANe)
    I swear (ennANe) I surrendered (manasOte nA) to you (ninna)
    and came myself (mechchi baMde nAne)
    Happy/Joy (AnaMda) is awaiting (kAdide) for us (namageMdE) forever (eMdeMdU)

View the song here:
    Raj kumar and Jayanthi on the screen:
    Spoiler: 

One more song from the same movie. Song describes about the happiness in a family after the arrival of boy child.

citra: caMdavaLLiya tOTa 1964
    gAyana: es jAnaki
    saMgIta: Ti ji liMgappa
    sAhitya: ta rA subbarAv

namma maneya naMdana
    iduve bRuMdAvana
    ninna daniye gAyana
    vENu gAna dEvana /namma/

ADi pADu mOhana
    namma bhAgya sAdhana
    ninna ATa pATadoDane
    nalivudemma jIvana /namma/

dEva ninna kaMdana
    kAyo parama pAvana
    A.. A..
    nUru kAla bALaleMdu
    harasu namma rAjanA /namma/

Meaning of the song:

Our's (namma) is joyful (naMdana) house (maneye) and holy place (iduve bRuMdAvana)
    your (ninna) voice (daniye) is a like a melodious song (gAyana)
    of flute (vENugAna) by Lord Krishna (dEvana)

Mohana (mOhana) play (ADi) and sing (pADu)
    You are the treasure of this house (namma bhAgya sAdhana)
    With your (ninna) play (ATa) and study (pATadoDane)
    Let our life (jIvana) be spent happily (nalivudemma)

O Almighty (dEva) look after this child (ninna kaMdana)
    and protect him safely (kAyo parama pAvana)
    Please bless(harasu) our (namma) king (rAjana) to
    live (bALaleMdu) hundred years (nUru kAla)

View the song here:
    Jayanthi and child on the screen:
    Spoiler: 
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Here is a song from the movie naMjuMDa nakkAga 1975 means ‘Nanjunda smiles’. The song describes the journey of human being’s life in this world.

More details about the film: https://kannadamoviesinfo.wordpress....-nakkaga-1975/

Lyric follows:

chitra: naMjuMDa nakkAga 1975
    gAyana: pi bi shrInivAs
    saMgIta: upEMdra kumAr
    sAhitya: varada rAju

O payaNiga ..
    bALu oMdu baMDi O payaNiga
    bayasidaMte ODadu vidhiye chAlaka

eShTo kanasu kANuve kuLitu baMDiyalli
    ella nannadennuve iMdu baMdu illi
    monne kaMDa kaNNige..
    nenne kANadAdaru - nALe oMdu baralu
    ella illi hosabaru.. /bALu/

ajja baMdudille ajji joteyalle
    taMde kuLitudille tAyi pakkadalle
    iLidaravaru alle..
    avara Urinalle - iLisaliruva nammanu
    ella iLida Urale /bALu/

Meaning of the song:

Hey Man (O), 'LIFE' (bALu) is a cart (oMdu baMDi) and
    you are just a traveller in it (payaNiga)
    This cart will not run (ODadu) at your wish (bayasidaMte)
    since Destiny (vidhiye) is driving (chAlaka) it.

How many (eShTo) dreams (kanasu) you see (kANuve)
    sitting (kuLitu) in this cart (baMDiyalli)?
    You came (baMdu) here (illi) today (iMdu) and
    say it is all (ella) mine (nannadennuve).
    What you have seen day before yesterday.. (monne kaMDa kaNNige)
    Will not see next day (nenne kANadAdaru) - When tomorrow (nALe oMdu) arrives (baralu)
    Here (illi) all are (ella) strangers (hosabaru)

Grand-father (ajja) came (baMdudu) here (ille)
    along with (joteyalle) Grand-mother (ajji)
    Father (taMde) also sat (kuLitudu) here (ille)
    at the side (pakkadalle) of Mother (tAyi)
    They all alighted there.. (iLidaravaru alle)
    At their place (avara Urinalle) -
    making us to alight comfortably (iLisaliruva nammanu)
    At the place (Urale) where they all (ella) alighted (iLida)

Listen to the song here: Audio by Shri PBS
    Spoiler: 
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Here is a song from the film ‘tAyigiMta dEvarilla’, means ‘no other GOD than mother’, colour movie released during 1977.
    This film was hit movie during those days, especially this song tuned by Shri Rajan-Nagendra. Song narrates the painful expressions of a girl who lost her Mother in child-hood, grown up as orphan in a rich family. Subsequently came to know that the maid in that house is her real mother. Super combination of Rajan-Nagendra – Music, Chi.Udayashankar - lyric, S Janaki’s singing for Actress Manjula on the screen.

More details of the film: https://kannadamoviesinfo.wordpress....evarilla-1977/

Lyric goes here:

chitra: tAyigiMta dEvarilla 1977
    gAyana: es jAnaki
    saMgIta: rAjan-nAgEMdra
    sAhitya: chi udayashaMkar

amma eMdare maimanavella hUvAguvudamma
    eraDakSharadali Enide shakti hELuvarAramma
    hELuvarAramma ammA ammA

tAyige miMchida dEvare illA A... A...
    ennuvaru ellA
    tAyiya hAlina amRutavannu kuDidavare ellA
    honnina beleya baDavarigiMta ballavaru illA
    tAyiya Asare tabbaligiMta bayasuvarArilla
    bayasuvarArilla
    kaMdanu nuDiva modalane mAte ammA amma
    nOvO nalivo horaDuva daniye ammA amma /amma/

eMdO omme kanasali baMdu kaMdA ennuvaLu
    kaNNali kaNNa beresuva munna karagE hOguvaLu
    haMbalisidarU bAraLu avaLu bayakeya sallisalu
    kaMbani miDidaru ammana kANenu eMdu sanihadoLu
    eMdu sanihadoLu
    ammana kANada kaNNugaLEke nIne hELamma
    ammanigEkI kOpavo ariye hELuvarillamma /amma/

Meaning of the song:

Calling (eMdare) you as Mother (ammA),
    my body and mind (maimanavella) will bloom like flowers (hUvAguvudamma)
    Mother (ammA ammA), who will tell (hELuvarAramma) me me that two letters (eraDakSharadalli)
    have that much power (Enide shakti)

Everybody says (ennuvaru ellA) there is no any other GOD (miMchida dEvare illa) than mother (tAyige)
    All of them had drunk (kuDidavare ellA) the nector (amRutavannu) of Mother's milk (tAyiya hAlina)
    Poor knows (baDavarigiMta) the value (beleya) of Gold (honnina) than any other people (ballavaru illA)
    None other than (bayasuvarArilla) the orphan (tabbaligiMta) knows the value of mother's refuge/support (tAyiya Asare)
    First word (modala mAte) spoken (nuDiva) by the child (kaMdanu) is Mother (amma amma)
    Whether it is pain (nOvO) or joy (nalivO), first sound (horaDuva daniye) is mother (amma amma)

One day (eMdO omme) appeared in my dream (kanasali) to call me 'my child' (kaMdA ennuvaLu)
    Will disappear before I realise her (kaNNali kaNNa beresuva munna karagE hOguvaLu)
    She won't appear (bAraLu avaLu) even I yearn (haMbalisidarU) for and want to say some thing to her (bayakeya sallisalu)
    Even if I cry for her (kaMbani miDidaru), I don't see her near me (ammana kANenu sanihadoLu)
    O mother, you tell me (nIne hElamma), why we should have eyes (kaNNugaLEke) without seeing you (ammana kANada)
    There is none to tell (hELuvarillamma) the reason of her angry with me (ammanigEkI kOpavo ariye)

View the song here:
    Manjula, Jayashree, Lokanath, Jayanthi and others on the screen:
    Spoiler: 

Listen to the song here:
    Spoiler: 

Complete film is available here:
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

It is a great loss for the Kannada film Industry on 29th October 2021. Shri Puneeth Rajkumar, also known as power-star (Appu) of Karnataka, third son of legend Dr. Raj kumar, who left this world towards abode at the young age of 46 years. Young, Energetic, very friendly, down to earth and loved by all.

More information on Shri Puneeth Rajkumar:
    https://npsc.co.in/news/puneeth-rajk...ily-age-death/

Here is a song from the movie - Bettada hoovu 1985 (means Mountain flower), a National award winning moive as Best Kannada movie, and Best Child Actor awards. Shri Puneeth won the best child actor for this movie during the 1986. The film was directed by Shri N Lakshminarayan.

More details about the movie: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bettada_Hoovu -
    https://kannadamoviesinfo.wordpress....da-hoovu-1985/

This song – bisile irali maLeye barali – sung by SPB and Master Lohit (Puneeth).
    Song needs no lyric to be written here. Every word is translated in the song itself.
    Chi. Udayashankar’s lyrics and Rajan Nagendra has provided the music.

Chitra: beTTada hUvu 1985
    Singers: S P Balasubramanyam/Master Lohit (Puneeth)
    Music: Rajan Nagendra
    Lyrics: Chi. Udayashankar

View the song here:
    Shri Aravind, Puneeth and others on the screen:
    Spoiler: 
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Senior Member Senior Hubber rajeshkrv's Avatar
    Sudharshan ji, thank you for keeping this thread alive

Quote Originally Posted by Sudarshan C R View Post
    Here is a beautiful song from the movie ‘chaduranga’ means Chess game, a b/w film released during 1968.
    Song is sung by P Susheela and S Janaki for Bharathi and Chandrakala in the film. Song is about the two lovers of a person praising each other.
    The ‘god’ in this song refers to husband. Meaningful lyric by R N Jayagopal and melody composed by R Rathna.

Lyric follows:

chitra: chaduraMga 1968
    gAyana: pi susheela/es jAnaki
    saMgIta: Ar ratna
    sAhitya: Ar en jayagOpAl

mamateya tOTada malligeye
    maruguve Etake nI nuDiye
    dEvara hUvidu bADihudu
    pUjege hosa hUvu bEkihudu /mamateya/

vINe haLatu AdarEnu
    hommuva nAda haLatEnu
    taMti harida vINeyoLage
    maMjuLanAda bahudEnu /mamateya/

mellane gALi bIsidarEnu
    tEluva nauke muLuguvude
    sAvira harake hottarEnu
    muLugida nauke tEluvude /mamateya/

dEvanu olidu nelesalu baMda
    maMdiravallave nI munna
    dEvana guDiya maMgaLa beLake
    Aralu biDenu nA ninna /mamateya/

Meaning of the song:

Jasmin flower (malligeyE) bloomed in the garden (tOTada) of affection (mamateya)
    Tell me (nI nuDiye) why (Etake) are you feeling pity (maruguve)
    Flower (hUvidu) belongs to the god (dEvara) is withered (bADihudu)
    need (bEkihudu) fresh flower (hosa hUvu) for the worship (pUjege)

Though (AdarEnu) Veena (vINe) is old (haLatu)
    melody (nAda) it produces (hommuva) is it old? (haLatEnu?)
    Veena (vINeyoLage) with the string (taMti) cut off (harida)
    can it produce (bahudEnu) melody (maMjuLa nAda)

Will the floating (tEluva) ship (nauke) sink (muLuguvude?)
    because of slow (mellane) moving (bIsidarEnu) breeze (gALi)
    Even if you pay (hottarEnu) thousands (sAvira) of vows (harake)
    will the sinked (muLugida) ship (nauke) float again (tEluvude?)

You (nI) are the one (maMdiravallave) who came (baMda) early (munna)
    for dwelling (nelesalu) here after loved (olidu) by god (dEvanu)
    Sacred (maMgaL) light (beLake) of this god's (dEvana) temple (guDiya),
    I (nA) won't allow (biDenu) you (ninna) to dry up (Aralu)

Listen to the song here:
    Spoiler: 
    my fav song .. beautiful one

Thank you Rajesh.
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Kannada film industry has lost one more legendary veteran actor Shri Shivaram on 4th December 2021, at the age of 83 years.

More details about Shri Shivaam:
    https://www.indiatoday.in/movies/reg...090-2021-12-04

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shivaram

Here is a comedy/reality song from the film - Edakallu guddada mele 1973 - directed by Shri Puttanna kanagal.

Lyric follows:

chitra: eDakallu guDDada mEle 1973
    gAyana: es pi bAlasubramaNyaM
    saMgIta: eM raMgarAv
    sAhitya: eM narEMdra bAbu

guMDina mattE gammattu
    aLate mIridare Apattu
    kuDukanigE irOdu niyattu
    idE bATli mahattu /guMDina/

heNNina mattu drOhake mUla
    honnina mattu bhItige mUla
    maNNina mattu vairake mUla
    padaviya mattu prANake mUla /guMDina/

vidyeya mattu garvake mUla
    rUpina mattu shIlake mUla
    shauryada mattu sEDige mUla
    kIrtiya mattu.... patanake mUla /guMDina/

bAyige ghATAdarU brainige svITu
    mahanIyara snEhake sulabhada rUTu
    hE bhakta jana.. hechchiralu Eride rETu
    AdarU bArugaLu Opan DE aMD naiTu /guMDina/

Meaning of the song:

guMDina mattu - intoxication/kick from hot drinks
    Ostentation (gammattu) of a kick (matte) from hot drinks (guMDina) is defferent
    Gives trouble (Apattu) if you cross (mIridare) the limit (aLate)
    Only drunkard (kuDukanigE) has (irOdu) honesty/loyalty (niyattu)
    This is the importance of this bottle with hot drinks (idE bATli mahattu)

Too much desire (mattu) towards - is common to all eight lines

women (heNNina) leads (mUla) to fraud (drOhake)
    treasure (honnina) leads (mUla) to fear (bhItige)
    land (maNNina) leads (mUla) to enimity (vairake)
    status/position (padaviya) leads (mUla) to one's life (prANake)

education (vidyeya) leads (mUla) to arrogance (garvake)
    beauty (rUpina) leads (mUla) to bad manners/conduct (shIlake)
    valour (shouryada) leads (mUla) to revenge (sEDige)
    fame/glory (kIrtiya) leads (mUla) to downfall (patanake)

Though it has pungent smell to mouth (bAyige ghATAdaru),
    but very sweet to the brain (brainige svITu)
    Easiest (sulabhada) way (rUTu) to gain the friendship (snEhake) of honourble persons (mahanIyara)
    Rates are hiked (Eride rETu) because of increase (hechchiralu) in liking people (bhakta jana)
    Even then (AdarU) BARs (bArugaLu) are kept open (Opan) day and night (DE aMD naiTu)

Shri Shivaram and Chandrashekhar on the screen:
    Spoiler: 
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Quote Originally Posted by Sudarshan C R View Post
    Kannada film industry has lost one more legendary veteran actor Shri Shivaram on 4th December 2021, at the age of 83 years.

More details about Shri Shivaam:
    https://www.indiatoday.in/movies/reg...090-2021-12-04

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shivaram

Here is a comedy/reality song from the film - Edakallu guddada mele 1973 - directed by Shri Puttanna kanagal.

Lyric follows:

chitra: eDakallu guDDada mEle 1973
    gAyana: es pi bAlasubramaNyaM
    saMgIta: eM raMgarAv
    sAhitya: eM narEMdra bAbu

guMDina mattE gammattu
    aLate mIridare Apattu
    kuDukanigE irOdu niyattu
    idE bATli mahattu /guMDina/

heNNina mattu drOhake mUla
    honnina mattu bhItige mUla
    maNNina mattu vairake mUla
    padaviya mattu prANake mUla /guMDina/

vidyeya mattu garvake mUla
    rUpina mattu shIlake mUla
    shauryada mattu sEDige mUla
    kIrtiya mattu.... patanake mUla /guMDina/

bAyige ghATAdarU brainige svITu
    mahanIyara snEhake sulabhada rUTu
    hE bhakta jana.. hechchiralu Eride rETu
    AdarU bArugaLu Opan DE aMD naiTu /guMDina/

Meaning of the song:

guMDina mattu - intoxication/kick from hot drinks
    Ostentation (gammattu) of a kick (matte) from hot drinks (guMDina) is defferent
    Gives trouble (Apattu) if you cross (mIridare) the limit (aLate)
    Only drunkard (kuDukanigE) has (irOdu) honesty/loyalty (niyattu)
    This is the importance of this bottle with hot drinks (idE bATli mahattu)

Too much desire (mattu) towards - is common to all eight lines

women (heNNina) leads (mUla) to fraud (drOhake)
    treasure (honnina) leads (mUla) to fear (bhItige)
    land (maNNina) leads (mUla) to enimity (vairake)
    status/position (padaviya) leads (mUla) to one's life (prANake)

education (vidyeya) leads (mUla) to arrogance (garvake)
    beauty (rUpina) leads (mUla) to bad manners/conduct (shIlake)
    valour (shouryada) leads (mUla) to revenge (sEDige)
    fame/glory (kIrtiya) leads (mUla) to downfall (patanake)

Though it has pungent smell to mouth (bAyige ghATAdaru),
    but very sweet to the brain (brainige svITu)
    Easiest (sulabhada) way (rUTu) to gain the friendship (snEhake) of honourble persons (mahanIyara)
    Rates are hiked (Eride rETu) because of increase (hechchiralu) in liking people (bhakta jana)
    Even then (AdarU) BARs (bArugaLu) are kept open (Opan) day and night (DE aMD naiTu)

Shri Shivaram and Chandrashekhar on the screen:
    Spoiler: 
    very natural actor and a great comedian. he even paired with manorama in many kannada movies .

Hi Rajesh,

Indeed they have made a very good comedy pair in films like “heNNu saMsArada kaNNU’, “ninagAgi nAnu”.
    Shivaram teaching the bicycle riding to Manorama, Manorama insists Shivaram to fight against
    Dinesh are very funny comedy scenes from the movie ‘ninagagi nanu’.

Ninagagi naanu 1976 - Kannada movie is available here:

Spoiler: 
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Page 58 of 59 FirstFirst ... 84856575859 LastLast