Page 40 of 59 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast

Thread: Kannada film music

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    Here is one more song from the film ‘kanya rathna’.

citra: kanyAratna (1963)
    gAyana: es jAnaki
    saMgIta: ji ke veMkaTEsh
    sAhitya: ku rA sItArama shAstri

manava kadda nannaya celuva
    manege iMdu tAne baruva
    avana saMgadi bereyuta kuNive
    nanna nAne mareyuta taNive /manava/

duMDu mallige hArava hAki
    muttinArati beLaguta sOki..
    kai hiDidu kuLitu
    hRudaya gAna hADuve
    hRudaya gAna hADuve /manava/

nanna rAjanu kUDuvanilli
    oMTiyAgi ODuvanelli
    nanna kUDi ADuvanilli
    hEgO aMtU malaguvanilli.. /manava/

Meaning of the song:

Handsome (celuva) who stole (kadda) my (nannaya) love/mind (manava)
    he will be coming (baruva) at home (manege) today (iMdu)
    I will join (bereyuta) him (avana) and dance (kuNive)
    I will forget (mareyuta) myself (nanna nAne) happily (taNive)

present (hAki) him a garland (hAra) of jasmine (duMDu mallige)
    welcome him with muttinArati
    (Arati-is a ritual procedure at the main door to welcome a person/diety)
    Sit (kuLitu) with him holding (hiDidu) his hand (kai)
    will sing (hADuve) a song (gAna) of love (hRudaya) with him

My (nanna) king (rAja) will sit (kUDuva) here (illi)
    where (elli) can he go (hOguva) alone (oMTiyAgi)
    He will play (ADuva) here (illi) with (kUDi) me (nanna)
    Some how (hEgO aMtU) he will sleep (malaguva) here (illi)

Video courtesy: www: youtube.com
    View the song here:
    Leelavathi on the screen:
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Here is a song from the film ‘bAMdhavya’, which means ‘Relationship’, a b/w film released during 1971. Starring Rajesh, B V Radha,
    K S Aswath, Gangadhar, Dinesh, Pandaribai, B Jayashree and others. Music by Rathnam.

citra: bAMdhavya (1971)
    gAyana: es jAnaki
    saMgIta: ratnaM
    sAhitya: yOganarasiMha

jagaveMba guDiyalli bALeMba maMTapadi kuLita
    navavadhuvarare hRudayagaLu besedAytu
    bhayavEke kaNNige

kaddu nODuve Eke ele kaNNe
    kadivudella nalumeyaladdiruvAga /kaddu/

rUpava nODi Aturave
    dRuShTi tAkIteMba kAturave
    AraMbhavIga baduku kAdiruvAga
    avasaravEkIga ellavu ninnade AgiruvAga /kaddu/

nODuva Asege taDeyEnu
    mamateya kaMgaLu kuruDEnu
    saMtasadA nOTa tuMbi niMtiruvAga
    kadiyuve Enannu ellara edurali nIniruvAga /kaddu/

Meaning of the song:

This world (jagaveMba) is like a temple (guDiyalli)
    new (nava) couples (vadhu varare) sitting (kuLitiruva) in the
    pandal (maMTapadi) called Life (bALeMba)
    both the hearts (hRudyagaLu) are united (besedAytu)
    why should be the fear (bhayavEke) in the eyes (kaNNige)

what you want to steal (kadivudella) is all immersed (addiruvAga) in lot of love (nalumeyalli)
    hey eyes! (ele kaNNe) why do you play hide and seek (kaddu nODuve Eke)

is it craving (Aturave) after seeing (nODi) the beauty (rUpava)
    anxiety (kAturave) of evil sight (dRuShTi tAkIteMba)
    it is just started (AraMbha) now (Iga) long-life (baduku) is awaited (kAdiruvAga)
    why is the hurry (avasaravEkIga) when everything (ellavu) belongs to yours (ninnade AgiruvAga)

any obstruction (taDeyEnu) to the desire (Asege) of seeing (nODuva)
    are the affectionate (mamateya) eyes (kaMgaLu) blind (kuruDEnu)
    when happiest moments (saMtasadA nOTa) are around you (tuMbi niMtiruvAga)
    what (Enannu) do you want to steal (kadiyuve) infront (edurali niMtiruvAga) of everybody (ellara)

View the song here:

Rajesh, B V Radha, K S Ashwath, Gangadhar, Dinesh, Pandaribai, B Jayashri and others on the screen.
    Listen to the song here:
    http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=169...99563510102566
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

snEhitarellArigU ‘makara saMkrAMti’ habbada shubhAsharagaLu.
    Wish you all a happy Pongal greetings.
    Here is a song from the film ‘dEvara guDi’ a b/w film released during 1974.

Some details of the film:
    S G Rathnam Iyer presents
    Sreerama Enterprises
    Starring: Leelavathi, Manorama, Manjula, Bharathi
    K S Ashwath (guest appearance) Shrivaram, Rajesh, Vishnuvardhan
    Music by Rajan-Nagendra
    Singers: PBS, SPB, PS, SJ, Vani Jayaram
    Dialogue/Lyrics by Chi Udayashankar
    Produced by Shri R Ramasheshan, R Kashi vishvanathan
    Directed by R Ramamurthy

Very beautiful/melodious song sung by Vani Jayaram written by Chi Udayashankar.
    Mother (Manjula) of the child in this movie is in same situation of Krishna’s mother Devaki in prison and
    having lot of hopes on the child to remove all hurdles in their life.

Lyric goes here:

citra: dEvara guDi (1974)
    gAyana: vANijayarAM
    saMgIta: rAjan-nAgEMdra
    sAhitya: ci udayashaMkar

gADAMdhakArada iruLalli kArmODa nIrAda vELeyali

shrIkRuShNa janisida dhareyalli
    dEvaki iruvAga sereyalli..
    taMdeyu kaNNIra kaDalalli
    mAvanu kAvalu bAgilalli /shrIkRuShNa/

tAya sereya biDisaleMde
    kRuShNanaMte baMdeyEnu
    gIteyannu bOdhisaleMde
    bhuvige iLidu baMdeyEnu
    nInu baMda GaLigeyiMda
    shOkavella tIrali
    shAMti sauKya tuMbali /shrIkRuShNa/

nUru ogaTu biDisi naguva
    jANe ninna tAyi aMdu
    bALinogaTu oDeva dAri
    kANadAgi aLuvaLiMdu
    nUru nOva tIri naliva
    dAri bEga tOrisu
    tAya Ase tIrisu /shrIkRuShNa/

Meaning of the song:

At the time (vELeyali) when black-clouds (kArmODa)
    turned into pouring rain (nIrAda) and
    pitch darkness (gADAMdhakArada) in the night (iruLalli)

ShriKrishna (shrIkRuShNa) born (janisida) on this earth (dhareyalli)
    when Devaki (dEvaki) was in (iruvAga) prison (sereyalli)
    His father (taMdeyu) was in tears (kaNNIra kaDalalli) and
    His father-in-law (mAvanu) was waiting (kAvalu) at the door (bAgilalli)

Have you come (baMdeyEnu) here as Krishna (kRuShNanaMte)
    to release (biDisaleMde) your mother (tAya) from her prison (sereya)
    Have you come (iLidu baMdeyEnu) to earth (bhuvige) to
    teach (bOdhisaleMde) Geetha (gIteyannu)
    from the moment (ghaLigeyiMda) of your (nInu) arrival (baMda)
    let all the sorrows/pains (shOkavella) go away (tIrali)
    and fill (tuMbali) the home with peace (shAMti) and wealth (saukhya)

Your (ninna) mother (tAyi) was clever (jAne)
    enough then (aMdu) to solve (biDisi)
    hundreds (nUru) of quizes (oagaTu) happily (naguva)
    but today (iMdu) she is crying (aLuvaLu) and unable (kANadAgi) to
    solve (oDeva dAri) problems (ogaTu) in her own life (bALina)
    Show (bEga tOrisu) me the way (dAri) to remove (tIri)
    all these hundreds (nUru) of hurdles (nOva)
    and live with happiness (naliva)
    fulfill (tIrisu) mother's (tAya) desire (Ase)

Audio/Video courtesy: www.youtube.com/www.raaga.com
    View the song here:
    Manjula, Vishnuvardhan, Leelavathi, Rajesh on the screen

Listen to the song here:
    http://www.raaga.com/channels/kannad...p?mid=K0000947
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Here is a song from the film ‘nanna tamma’ a b/w film released during 1970. Remake of
    ‘jaragina katha’ 1969 in Telugu. A melodious and lilting tune composed by Shri Ghantasala.
    The same tune is used for the song ‘Bhale manchi roju’ in Telugu.

Some details of the film:

Vijaya picture circuit presnets
    Starring Rajkumar, Jayanthi, Gangadhar, R Nagendra Rao. Balakrishna, Dinesh, Nagappa and others
    Vijayabhanu, Ramadevi, Papamma, B Jayamma and others
    Story and Direction: K Babu Rao
    Dialogue: Kanagal Prabhakar Shastri
    Lyrics: Kanagal Prabhakar Shastri, Vijayanarasimha
    Music by Ghantasala
    Playback singer: P B Srinivas, P Susheela, L R Eshvari

Lyric goes here:

citra: nanna tamma 1970
    gAyana: pi bi shrInivAs
    saMgIta: GaMTasAla
    sAhitya: kaNagAl prabhAkar shAstri

idE hosa hADu hRudaya sAkShi hADu
    hRudayAse bhAShe I hADu
    A...
    hRudayAse bhAShe I hADu /idE/

manadi neneda mAtugaLella
    madhuvAgi saviyuva hADu
    saviyAda jIvanavella
    hAyAda olavina hADu
    olavu celuvu oMdAddella
    eMdU yArU mareyada hADu /idE/

caMdrakAMti cimmida hADu
    maimaresi nagiso hADu
    muMbALveya munnaDe hADu
    tAyidEvi harasida hADu
    A... A...
    janma janmada puNyada hADu
    kannaDAMbe kalisida hADu /idE/

Meaning of the song:

hADu means song

This is (idE) the new (hosa) song (hADu)
    heartfelt (hRudaya sAkShi) song (hADu)
    song reveals heart's (hRudaya) desired (Ase) language (bhAShe)

words (mAtugaLella) remembered (neneda) in the mind (manadi)
    song of relishing (saviyuva) honey (madhuvAgi)
    sweetness (saviyAda) of all life (jIvanavella)
    song of love (olavina) feeling relieved (hAyada)
    joining (oMdAddella) of love (olavu) and beauty (celuvu)
    unforgetalbe (mareyada) song forever (eMdU) by anybody (yArU)

song of spilled (cimmida) moonlight/jasper (caMdrakAMti)
    song which makes forget oneself (maimaresi) and make one laugh (nagiso)
    song which makes to march ahead (munnaDe) towards future-life (muMbALveya)
    song blessed (harasida) by Mother-god (tAyidEvi)
    A.... A...
    virtuous (puNyada) song of birth by birth (janma janmada)
    song teached (kalisida) by goddess Kannada (kannaDAMbe)

Audio/Video courtesy: www: raaga.com /www: youtube.com
    View the song here:

Rajkumar, Gangadhar and Jayanthi, R Nagendra Rao on the screen
    View the Telugu version song fron the film ‘Jaragina Katha’ here:

Listen to the song here:
    http://www.raaga.com/channels/kannad.../K0001074.html
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

snEhitarellArigU ‘mahAshivarAtri’ habbada shubhAshayagaLu.
    Best wishes to all our friends on the occasion of ‘Mahashivarathri’ festival.
    Here is a song from the film ‘eDeyUru siddaliMgEshvara’ , directed by Shri Hunasur Krishnamurthy.

citra: eDeyUru siddaliMgEshvara
    gAyana: es pi bAlasubramaNyaM
    saMgIta: Ti ji liMgappa
    sAhitya: huNasUru kRuShNamUrti

ellA shivamayavu jagadoLu
    ellA shivamayavu

gaganadi beLaguva ravicaMdraru..
    jala surisuva A mEGagaLu..
    suLisuLidADuva taMbelaru..
    usirADuva ellA jIvakOTiyu /ellA/

nitya nirmala satyavu shivane..
    tatvake AdhAra parashivane..
    parama nirguNa niraMjana shivane..
    saccidAnaMda shAshvata shivane /ellA/

Meaning of the song:

In this World/Universe (jagadoLu)
    everything (ellA) belongs to Lord Shiva (shivamayavu)

Sun (sUrya) and Moon (caMdra) who light-up (beLaguva) the sky (gaganadi)
    clouds (mEGagaLu) pouring (surisuva) rain (jala)
    swirling (suLisuLidADuva) cool breeze (taMbelaru)
    all (ellA) living-beings (jIvakOTiyu) who breaths (usirADuva)

Lord Shiva is clean/clear (nirmala) everlasing (nitya) truth (satyavu)
    Parashiva is base/foundation (AdhAra) of all principles/facts (tatvake)
    Lord Shiva is supreme (parama) flawless (nirguNa)
    Lord Shiva is permanent (shAshvata) who gives joyous pleasure (saccidAnaMda)

Video courtesy: www:youtube.com
    View the song here:
    Shri Lokesh and others on the screen:
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Here is the another song from the film ‘nanna tamma’ sung by Smt. P Susheela.
    Telugu version is ‘ee natikaina ee moogaveena’.

Lyric goes here:

citra: nanna tamma 1970
    gAyana: pi sushIla
    sAhitya: vijayanArasiMha

kRuShNA.. kRuShNA..
    AshAvitAne I mUgavINe
    tApADaleMto nInoliyade /AshA/

manasAra pADuva madhurAbhilAShe
    manadEno mAyada mahAnirAshe..
    manedEvarANe mananoMdiruve..
    mamatAmaya nInu managoDu svAmi /AshA/

IrIti vEdane IrIti shOdhane
    shOkAnurAgade ArAdhane..
    innEnu kANike taMdilla nAnu..
    kaNNIre pannIra abhiShEka svAmi /AshA/
    kRuShNA.. kRuShNA..

Meaning of the song:

This (I) dumb (mUga) Veena (vINe) having many desires (AshAvitAne)
    until you (nInu) grace (oliyade) how can it will play (tApADaleMto)

A strong desire (madhurAbhilAShe) to sing (pADuva) whole heartedly (manasAra)
    but illutioned (mAyada) great disappointment (mahAnirAShe) in the mind (manadEno)
    I swear (of home-god) (manedEvarANe) suffered a lot with pains (mananoMdiruve)
    Lord (svAmi)you are kind-hearted (mamatAmaya) listen (managoDu) to me

This type (I rIti) of agony (vEdane) and exploration (shOdhane)
    Adoration (ArAdhane) with sorrow and affection (shOkAnurAgade)
    I (nAnu) have not brought (taMdilla) any (innEnu) offerings (kANike)
    Lord (svAmi) here is the holy-bath (abhiShEka) of rose-water (pannIra) with tears (kaNNIre)
    kRuShNA...

Audio and video coutesy: www:raaga.com/www:youtube.com
    View the song here:
    Jayanthi, Master Prakash, Gangadhar and Rajkumar on the screen:

Telugu version of the same song:
    'ee natikaina ee moogaveena’
    (deleted)
    Listen to the song in Telugu:
    http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu.../A0001926.html
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

snEhitarellarigU ‘yugAdi’ habbada shubhAshayagaLu. Yugadi festival greetings to all our friends.
    Here is another song from the film ‘nanna tamma’. Duet song by PBS and PS.

Lyric goes here:

citra: nanna tamma (1970)
    gAyana: pi bi shrInivAs/pi sushIla
    sAhitya: kaNagAl prabhAkarashAstri/vijayanArasiMha

nInagalu hagalalli mUDuvudu hosa beLLi
    nI baralu iruLalli mUDuvanu caMdrama
    madhu saMbhrama A A madhu saMbhrama /nInagalu/

baLLi maiya hUvinalli aMda ceMda gaMdha taMda
    mODiyella ninniMda ninna celuviniMda /nInagalu/

mEghanAda mOdadalli Enu navya bhAva taMda
    guMgu gAna ninniMda ninna olaviniMda /nInagalu/

AnaMda I nAve yAna
    saMgIta sudheyAge mauna
    bALella gaMdharva gAna
    shRuMgAra rasadalli snAna
    innilla nammIsamAna
    oMdoMdu kShaNavu asamAna
    A... A....

Meaning of the song:

new (hosa) star (beLLi) will arise (mUDuvudu), if you (nI) smile (nagalu) during day-light
    moon (caMdrama) will arise (mUDuvanu), if you (nI) come (baralu) in the night (iruLalli)
    It is the sweet (madhu) occassion (saMbhrama)

your (ninna) beauty (celuviMda) and charm (mODiyella) has brought (taMda)
    elegance (aMda ceMda)/fragrance (gaMdha) to flowers (hUvinalli) on the slender plant (baLLi maiya)

what (Enu) new (navya) impression (bhAVa) has brought (taMda) with fondness (mOdadalli) in the
    sky (mEGanAda)
    hang-over (guMgu) of your (ninna/ninniMda) song (gAna) and love (olaviMda)

This (I) boat-ride (nAve yAna) is a pleasure (AnaMda)
    silence (mauna) has become sweet/honey (sudheyAge) song (sMgIta)
    Life is full (bALella) of devine music (gaMdharva gAna)
    dip (snAna) in poetic sentiment (rasadalli) of embellishment (shRuMgAra)
    nobody can beat us (innilla nammIsamAna)
    each and every second (oMdoMdu kShaNavu) priceless (asamAna)

Video courtesy: www.youtube.com
    View the song here:

Gangadhar and Jayanthi on the screen:
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Dear friends,

Here is a sad news for music lovers. Veteran Play Back Singer Shri P B Srinivas is expired today in Chennai. A great loss for Indian Film world.
    May his soul rest in peace.

More news here:
    http://www.ianslive.in/index.php?par.../LatestNews/31
    http://newindianexpress.com/entertai...cle1544675.ece
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

A tribute to legendary singer Shri P B Srinivas who passed away on 14th April 2013.

Dr. P B Srinivas is singing the song written by Shri D R Bendre’s song ‘iLidu bA tAyi iLidu bA’ .
    This song is from the film ‘arishina kuMkuma’ a b/w film released during
    1970. Here we can see PBS himself singing the song on the screen.

Video coutesy: www: youtube.com

Here is a though provoking song written by Shri Hunasur Krishnamurthy. Before writing this song
    he got burnt in fingures by the cigarette he was smoking. Same incident has motivated him to pen this song
    with beautiful lyrics. Beautifully sung by Shri P B Srinivas for Rajkumar from the film ‘Bhaktha Kumbara’.
    The film was directed by Shri Hunasur Krishnamurthy. Music is by Shri G K Venkatesh

citra: bhakta kuMbAra (1974)
    gAyana: pi bi shrInivAs/kOras
    saMgIta: ji ke veMkaTEsh
    sAhitya: huNasUru kRuShNamUrti

paratatvavanu balla paMDitanu nAnalla
    harinAma oMduLidu nanagEnu tiLidilla

mAnava dEhavu mULe mAMsada taDike
    idara mElide togalina hodike
    tuMbide oLage kAmAdi bayake

navamAsagaLu holasali kaLedu
    navaraMgagaLa taLedu beLedu
    baMdide bhuvige I naraboMbe
    naMbalu Enide saubhAgyaveMde /mAnava/

usirADuvatanaka nAnu nanadeMba mamakAra
    niMta maruGaLige masaNade saMsAra
    maNNali beretu mellage koLetu
    mugiyuva dEhake vyAmOhavEke /mAnava/

baruvAga bettale hOguvAga bettale
    baMdu hOguva naDuve bari kattale
    bhaktiya beLaku bALige bEku
    muktige viThalana koMDADabEku /mAnava/

Meaning of the song:

I am not (nAnalla) the scholor (paMDitanu)
    who knows (balla) about philosophy (paratatvavanu)
    I don't know anything (nanagEnu tiLidilla) except (oMduLidu)
    chanting the name of 'Hari' (harinAma)

this human (mAnava) body (dEhavu) is a mat (taDike)
    made up of bones (mULe) and flesh (mAMsada)
    and is all covered (idara mElide) by the skin (togalina hodike)
    but inside (oLage) is full (tuMbide) of
    inumerable desires of yearning (kAmAdi bayake)

after remained (kaLedu) in the filth (holasali)
    for nine (nava) months (mAsagaLu)
    grown up (taLedu beLedu) with numerous forms (navaraMgagaLa)
    born (baMdide) as man (naraboMbe) in this world (bhuvige)
    what (Enide) is there to believe (naMbalu) for fortune (saubhAgyaveMde)

Attachment (mamakAra) of me (nAnu) and mine (nanadeMba)
    remains till the breath (usirADuvatanaka) is there
    next moment (maruGaLige) of breath stops (niMta),
    burial ground (masaNade) is the home (saMsAra)
    mixed (beretu) with soil (maNNali), slowly (mellage) getting stink (koLetu)
    why should have infatuation (vyAmOhavEke) about this body (dEhake) ending like this (mugiyuva)

Nudity (bettale) while born (baruvAga) and after death (hOguvAga)
    there remains darkness (bari kattale) between (naDuve) birth (baMdu) and death (hOguva)
    light (beLaku) of devotion (bhaktiya) is necessary (bEku) for the life (bALige)
    to get emancipation (muktige) one should priase (koMDADabEku) Vittala (viThalana)

View the song here:
    Video coutesy: www: youtube.com
    Rajkumar, Leelavathi, Rajashankar, Shanimahadevappa and others on the screen
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Here is one more melodious song from the film ‘dEvaraguDi’.

Lyric goes here:

citra: dEvaraguDi 1974
    gAyana: es pi bAlasubramaNyaM/es jAnaki
    saMgIta: rAjan-nAgEMdra
    sAhitya: ci udayashaMkar

kaNNu kaNNu oMdAyitu
    nanna ninna mana sEritu
    dina rAtriyu kaMDa kanasu nanasAyitu /kaNNu/

Ene barali cenna biDalAre eMdu ninna
    nija hELalEnu nIne nanna prANa
    yAru munidarEnu I Ure siDidarEnu
    naMbiruva heNNa kai biDe nAnu
    mAtina jEnu savidenu nAnu
    olavige maNidu sOtenu nAnu
    ninnoDaniralu hRudaya tuMbitu /kaNNu/

hUvigiMta ceMda I ninna mogada aMda
    kANuva kaNNige EnO AnaMda
    nUru mAtu Eke nUrAru Ase Eke
    ninnoDaniruvAga innU bEre bEke
    ninnI nuDige nA maimarete
    ellA maretu ninnali berete
    nInolidiralu bALu beLagitu /kaNNu/

Meaning of the song:

eyes (kaNNu kaNNu) are united (oMdAyitu)
    minds (mana) of you (ninna) and me (nanna) joined (sEritu)
    dream (kanasu) we saw (kaMDa) day (dina) and night (rAtriyu) realised (nanasAyitu) now

whatever (EnE) may come (barali) I never (eMdU)
    desert (biDalAre) you (ninna) my love (cenna)
    let me tell (hELalEnu) you the truth (nija) you (nIne) are my (nanna) life (prANa)
    let anybody (yAru) became angry (munidarEnu)
    let this (I) city (Ure) burst off (siDidarEnu)
    I (nAnu) never let off(kai biDe) the lady (heNNa) who accepted (naMbiruva) me
    I enjoyed (savidenu nAnu) the sweetness (jEnu) of your talk (mAtina)
    I (nAnu) accepted my defeat (maNidu) towards your love (olavige)
    when I am with you (ninnoDaniralu) my heart (hRudaya) filled (tuMbitu) with affection

your (ninna) beautiful face (mogada) is better (ceMda) than the beauty of flower (hUvigiMta)
    un-known (EnO) pleasure (AnaMda) to seeing (kANuva) eyes (kaNNige)
    why (Eke)to speak of hundreds (nUru-nUrAru) of talks (mAtu) and desires (Ase)
    what else (innU bEre) is required (bEke) when you are with me (ninnoDaniruvAga)
    Forget myself (nA maimarete) for your (ninnI) sweet talks (nuDige)
    united (berete) with you (ninnali) forgetting (maretu) all (ellA)
    life (bALu) enlightened (beLagitu) with your affection (nInolidiralu)

view the song here:
    Vishnuvardhan and Bharathi on the screen

Listen to the song here:
    http://www.raaga.com/channels/kannad.../K0000947.html
    Sudarshan Jeeyar

Page 40 of 59 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast