Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Delicious Dals

Junior Member Admin HubberNewbie HubberTeam HubberModerator HubberPro Hubber truebluemoon's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Delicious Dals

Inspired by the contributions of so many people on this forum, I decided to do some work too and thus this thread.
    I have been interested in cooking ever since I was 11. (My mom is a moody cook and that helped a lot ) I started learning the complicated dishes like gobi manchurian, stuffed capsicum etc just out of curiosity. In the process I have been collecting vegetarian and egg recipes for about 15 yrs now.....from tv shows, from cook books, from newspaper and magazine cut-outs and some by experimenting myself.
    I will start to post all the dal recipes in my collection on this thread. There may be about 20-25 of them

Lets see how it goes.

Feed back from readers is appreciated.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Junior Member Admin HubberNewbie HubberTeam HubberModerator HubberPro Hubber truebluemoon's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

JEERA DAL

A very simple dal that can be served along with dinner with some vegetable side. The cooking procedure is fairly simple

JEERA DAL

Prep time: 45 mins Start to finish: 3 hrs

Makes 3-4 servings

1/3 cup masoor dal
    1/3 cup toor dal
    2 medium sized onions, sliced lengthwise
    2 medium sized tomatoes, sliced lengthwise (remove pulp before slicing)
    1 tsp cumin seeds;
    1 tsp turmeric powder
    1/2 tsp sugar(optional)
    6 flakes of garlic, crushed and chopped
    3-4 green chillies, finely chopped
    a few sprigs of curry leaves
    salt to taste
    1 tbsp oil/butter

1. Wash and soak the dals atleast for 2 hrs. Cook with lots of water. It should be of a consistency not too thin or not too thick

2. Heat oil in a pan and season with cummin seeds. Add green chillies and garlic. Stir fry for a few seconds on medium heat.