Page 82 of 154 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492132 ... LastLast

Thread: Hindi songs of Emotional Impact - nostalgic, favorites etc

Senior Member Veteran Hubber rajraj's Avatar

Back to Jaijaiwanti- A song from Malati Madhav(1951)

I think I posted the movie clip of this song by Lata Mangeshkar long time back.

Here is the rendition by the music director of that movie, Sudhir Phadke:

Bandh preeti phool dor manleke chit chor.............

The movie clip, if you like to listen again:

This one of the very few songs I listen to often ! Of course, I like Jaijaiwanti (Dwijawanti in carnatic system).

Have a good weekend!
    " I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber V_S's Avatar
    raj sir,
    Completely bowled hearing this composition. Wow! what a rendition by Lata ji . Many thanks for introducing this wonderful composer, Sudhir Phadke and his rare video footage. I just checked some more details on this composer here. Looks like he has done a lot of marati films. Thanks again for the raaga info. On hearing Dwijawanthi, I keep hearing MSS's akhilandeshwari.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sudhir_Phadke

From the above site, I found one more song by Lata ji; Jyoti kalash chalke, beautiful song.

Dwijawant compostion in Tamil

You are welcome V_S ! Phadke probably has composed more for Marathi movies. There are some Marathi songs I like. May be, I will post some later!

There is a Tamil compostion in Dwijawanti by Periyasami Thooran I like and sing in our party. It is;

'engu naan selven ayyaa enai neer thaLLinaal..........'

I posted the lyrics in 'Lyrics,queries,meaning - Tamil' thread under Indian Classical Music. The audio link does not work!

But, here is Bombay Jayashri:

Bombay Sisters have also rendered this composition.
    " I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

Thanks again raj sir for 'engu naan selven ayyaa'. Baandh preeti bol is very close to this song. I could clearly relate dwijawanti to this now. Great singing by Bombay Jayashree. Thamizh'la kEtta sugame thani!

A little fun

A song from the comedy movie Albela(1951)

mere dil ki ghadi tik tik............

From Tamil dubbed version

maNi adithadhanaal......

V_S: I already posted 'Jyoti kalash chalke' in Dec . It is in Bhupali ( Mohanam in Carnatic system). I also posted Giridhara gopala by M.S in Mohanam !

I think it is time to make a list of the songs posted I will take a break and do that for my own convenience so that I can avoid repetitions!

oops! How did I miss it? May be I was absent from this thread that time. Thanks for reminding raj sir!

One of Naushad ji's best composition in early 40's and it seems he shot to fame with this film Ratan (1944), a blockbuster. Can't take ears from this song; O Janewale Balamwa by Amirbai Karnataki and Shyam kumar. A revolutionary concept in composition that time, breaking out of the shackles. Imagining how this song would have been received, that too before our independence.

Another song from AAH(1953), my favourite movie

Aah (1953)

Rajaa ki aayegi baraat.........

kalyaaNa oorvalam varum.......

I sing this song in our annual musical evening (by demand! ). One of our north Indian friends sings the Hindi version, like jugalbandi! Fun!

The lyrics for the Tamil version is a close translation of the original Hindi version.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber Shakthiprabha's Avatar
    baroque, rd,

thanks for all those ravi's neelkamal songs...

baar baar dekho - cool.
    "yeh ratein yeh mausam"...-so soothing...
    Wish we get transported to a place where are there are no species around
    except the concerned two! lol...

joy mukherje...never could manage romantic aura...songs however
    carried it.

aa ja re aa zara...hearing after AGES! surprisingly jm is quite convincingly
    a good romantic in this song :P

I am sure I am gonna keep murmuring "yeh ratein yeh mausam" for next two days lol

raj,

amaithiyillathen maname and kalavaramayi madhilo.... loved it better than hindi. Ghatasala is the main reason.
    I cant leave behind, sugar coated p.leela.

//You said something about Miyan ki Malhar, another raga I like. Miyan refers to Tansen who was a
    court musician in Akbar's court. I think Miyan means scholar or Sangeetha kalanidhi in our parlance !
    Some Hindustani ragas are attributed to him as the creator.
    //

Post some songs mentioning the raaga

Dwijavanthi....I think vs added more understanding as to how much I have listened to the raaga with "akhilaandeshwari"
    Raaga is capable of shifting u elsewhere...literally...mayangiye pogalam....beautiaful raaga.
    Drip by drip, need to be soaked in this raaga. oh wow.

Thankyou for engu naan selven ayya
    so well dipped in bhakthi.... what more can I say!

I should say most voices prior to 60s....has something very natural in them...so very easy to relate.

rajkapoor, nargis....cant help being reminded of one of my most fav song of old times.
    peps me...even during lowest mood. Probably the lyrics has its magic.

"more saajan lechal mujhe thaaron ke paas
    lagta nahin hai dil yahaan..."

magic of some unknown land always does it. easy from sajan's side too as its cost nothing