Page 61 of 154 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371111 ... LastLast

Thread: IR News and Other Titbits Ver.2009

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    IR relies on his creativity and talent. I don't think the current MD's would even stand a chance at those times with minimal technology.

Now current MD's are surviving because of technology. They are able to cleverly steal others work, modify them as much as possibe to avoid being 'seen'.

so, the talent for them is how clever they are in cloaking themselves.

To this day, to me, IR is the greatest composer on earth.

Senior Member Devoted Hubber ananth222's Avatar
    to call "entha poovilum" or "aha vanthudichi" as plagiarism is sheer stupidity and ignorance. In both cases (and most other cases where there are "similarities"), the song applies to a different situation/mood. It is very nicely adapted, to be a tribute to the "copied" tune while bringing in an original viewpoint. Using the humming for a comical situation or building an Indian folk song over a spanish classical dance piece is sheer originality in art. What really defines it is the additional original stuff in the song, not the little bit that is reproduced. There are other composers who "reproduce" complete songs, devoid of any original contribution.

Would anyone here say that "And we had a talk" from HTNI is a "copy"? But the same ppl who call the above songs a copy would also call this one a copy. The only reason they don't is because they are too ignorant and stupid to know there was someone called Bach and that he composed such a piece.

ananth222, while I do understand what you are implying here, it does bug me that IR shd have taken even the first two lines of some of these tracks - not that his stature as a genius is in question, but it does leave a certain bad taste in my mouth - cant explain it

Senior Member Devoted Hubber ananth222's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by irir123
    ananth222, while I do understand what you are implying here, it does bug me that IR shd have taken even the first two lines of some of these tracks - not that his stature as a genius is in question, but it does leave a certain bad taste in my mouth - cant explain it
    Why? IMO, starting a pallavi with the danza tune and developing it into a folkish song is more original than forming tunes in established carnatic raagas formulated 100 years ago.
    I feel that all these "copying" allegations come out of the jubilation of the accuser at having unearthed a similar sounding tune. If someone had heard the original tune first, they'd actually react pleasantly to the innovative adaptation.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber rajasaranam's Avatar
    'வேண்டாம் ரீமிக்ஸ்… ராஜாவின் ஒரிஜினல் போதும்!'

ரீமிக்ஸும் தமிழ் சினிமாவும் பிரிக்க முடியாத சமாச்சாரம் எனும் அளவுக்கு இன்று எல்லாப் படங்களில் ஏதாவது ஒரு ரீமிக்ஸ் பாடல் இடம்பெற்று விடுகிறது.

பெரும்பாலும் இளையராஜாவின் பாடல்களைத்தான் ரீமிக்ஸ் என்ற பெயரில் போட்டு குதறி வைப்பார்கள்.

இதைவிட, அந்தப் பாடலை அப்படியே அதன் ஒரிஜினல் வடிவிலேயே போட்டுவிடலாமே… மனம் குளிர ரசித்துவிட்டுப் போகலாம் என பல ரசிகர்கள் ஏங்கியிருக்கிறார்கள்.

இப்படி ஏங்கியவர்களில் புதிய இயக்குநர் சுந்தரபாண்டியும் ஒருவர் போலிருக்கிறது. தான் முதன்முதலில் இயக்கும் ‘வைகை’ படத்தில் இசைஞானியின்ஒரு இனிய பாடலை அப்படியே அதன் ஒரிஜினாலிட்டி கெடாமல் ஒலிக்கவிட்டு அதற்கேற்ப காட்சிகளை அமைத்துள்ளார் (அந்தப் பாடல் காட்சியை படமாக்கிய இயக்குநரும் சாதாரணமானவரில்லை… அதை மனதில் வைத்துக் கொண்டு படமாக்கியிருந்தால் நல்லது!).

இதுகுறித்து சுந்தரபாண்டி கூறியதாவது:

இசைமேதை இளையராஜாவின் இசையில் ஒரு பாடலை கேட்கும்போதே, முடிவு செய்துவிடலாம், இந்தப் பாடலின் முதலும் முடிவும் இப்படித்தான் இருக்கும் என்பதை. அதை இப்படி அப்படி சின்ன மாற்றம் செய்தால்கூட பாடலின் ஜீவன கெட்டுவிடும். அந்த அளவு கச்சிதமான இசைக் கோர்வைதான் அவரது ஆர்மோனியத்திலிருந்து பிறக்கும்.

ராஜா சாரின் இசையில் ‘அலைகள் ஓய்வதில்லை’ படத்தில் இடம்பெற்ற ‘ஆயிரம் தாமரை மொட்டுக்களே…’ பாடலை, ‘வைகை’ படத்தில் ரீமிக்ஸாக வைக்க நினைத்தோம்.

‘ஆயிரம் தாமரை மொட்டுக்களே…’ பாடலை எப்போது யார் எங்கே கேட்டாலும், பாடல் முடியும் வரை அங்கேயே நின்று கேட்டுவிட்டுத்தான் நகர்வார்கள்.

உலகின் உயர்தரமான எந்த இசைக் கருவிகளைக் கொண்டு மாற்றி இசையமைத்தாலும் கூட இப் பாடலை ரீமிக்ஸ் வடிவில் நம்மால் ரசிக்க முடியாது என்பதே உண்மை.

ராஜாவின் இசையை மீறி எந்த ஒரு சாதனையையும் எங்களால் செய்துவிட முடியாது என்பதால், அவரது பாடலை சிறு சேதாரமும் இல்லாமல் அப்படியே படத்தில் பயன்படுத்தியிருக்கிறோம். ரீமிக்ஸ் என்ற பெயரில் அந்தப் பாடலைக் கெடுக்க விரும்பவில்லை. அதுதான் இந்த மண்ணுக்குப் உலக கவுரவம் தந்த இளையராஜாவுக்கு நாங்கள் செய்யும் மரியாதை…” என்றார்.

அவரது பாடலை சிறு சேதாரமும் இல்லாமல் அப்படியே படத்தில் பயன்படுத்தியிருக்கிறோம்.
    A blatant lie

Senior Member Veteran Hubber crajkumar_be's Avatar
    Interesting Q&A Irir/Ananth ,

Quote Originally Posted by ananth222
    to call "entha poovilum" or "aha vanthudichi" as plagiarism is sheer stupidity and ignorance. In both cases (and most other cases where there are "similarities"), the song applies to a different situation/mood. It is very nicely adapted, to be a tribute to the "copied" tune while bringing in an original viewpoint. Using the humming for a comical situation or building an Indian folk song over a spanish classical dance piece is sheer originality in art. What really defines it is the additional original stuff in the song, not the little bit that is reproduced. There are other composers who "reproduce" complete songs, devoid of any original contribution.

Would anyone here say that "And we had a talk" from HTNI is a "copy"? But the same ppl who call the above songs a copy would also call this one a copy. The only reason they don't is because they are too ignorant and stupid to know there was someone called Bach and that he composed such a piece.

Quote Originally Posted by ananth222
    Quote Originally Posted by irir123
    Why? IMO, starting a pallavi with the danza tune and developing it into a folkish song is more original than forming tunes in established carnatic raagas formulated 100 years ago.
    I feel that all these "copying" allegations come out of the jubilation of the accuser at having unearthed a similar sounding tune. If someone had heard the original tune first, they'd actually react pleasantly to the innovative adaptation.

ananth222 - its a similar feeling I got when I discovered that some of (the late) Sujatha's and Kamal's movies were blatant inspirations/takeoffs from English novels and movies respectively

its not that either of these men could NOT have done everything entirely original, it sucks when they do NOT acknowledge the original creator in their works (at the time of composing/writing) and later we discover them

in IR's case, the only excuse can be, if the producer/ director asked/insisted IR to compose a tune based on the same and IR had no other choice and had to oblige

irir123,

Your views on films and novels being inspired and you being disappointed is fine. Mostly because the whole film or novel is taken and changes made to suit local taste, but the whole thread is taken from the movie. Case in point could be 9 to 5 and Magalir Mattum.

In case of these songs, I would rather think them to be similar to what many poets / lyricist do. That is, take a couple of lines of another poem and build a new poem / lyrics on that. For example, Gulzar takes Ghalib's couplet, "Ji Doondtha Hai" and then builds his song on that and it is beyond doubt an original song. Similarly, Veturi takes 'Dorakuna Ituvanti Seva' of Tyagaraja and builds his lyrics on that and it is original. I would take these songs in the same fashion.

(If you see the poster who had posted these samples, his intention is clear. I mean if someone can call MSV as 'Copy Cat' and put up a disclaimer when he talking about Rahman's 'inspirations', you can see where is his coming from.)

As dochu says lot of current MDs are masters in hiding their inspirations and also getting their 'inspirations' from far off and not oft heard places like Azerbaijan / Armenia etc. I listened to the links you posted and the other youtube links and could marvel at Raja's talent for seeing something that no one could possibly see. Like 'kadhal vandiduchu' in a hard rock number.

Sureshs65

what would you call this then ?

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=f...eada0a1ae8665a

This is from John Williams (the guitarist) classics - Williams playing some famous works - I think IR adapted it for Johnny's main theme!!

but the resemblance is startling!