Page 123 of 194 FirstFirst ... 2373113121122123124125133173 ... LastLast
Results 1,221 to 1,230 of 1932

Thread: Super Star in & as LINGAA ♠Anushka ♠ARR ♠KS Ravikumar

Quote Originally Posted by hattori_hanzo View Post
    This interview makes sense. Looks like he is being approached (read tortured) by media for the reports that are coming out every minute. Unfortunately directors and actors have to take the blame for blunders committed by Producers and other financiers. I don't know to which extent Rajini gets involved in the business of his movies. Kamal does it (negotiation & selling) all by himself or through Chandrahasan. I recently heard that he almost completed shooting Ladies Only in Hindi, a decade back but did not sell it as the price he quoted was not offered by distributors. Can't say whether this was a good or bad marketing decision but NI folks missed a good movie.

The distributors expecting to break even and start making profits within 5 days is the height of peraasai. But the ones who created this hype should be equally blamed. They want to create records right from the day the title is announced - by saying "Movie was sold at a record price". And now the fame-hungry media is just playing around with it by satisfying fans one day & haters on the next day. Almost all tamil dailies and magazines (Dinamalar, Dinamani, Hindu, Sify, Vikadan) now say that Lingaa made losses in TN, but all these are based on one single interview uploaded by Red Pix(!). What are they going to do now, as the video is now removed? They don't have the guts to apologize because they never know whats going to happen tomorrow. Say if the same distributor group holds a bigger press conference, they will have to eat their words again. Producers official reports release panra varai mediavukku kondaattam dhaan.
    Thats the pathetic state of our media unfortunately (starting from National to local).

Coming to that video, it was pretty hilarious when the distributor started bashing Rajini's Birthday not being a National holiday, Rajini fans are 45+, kids are having exams etc etc.. Didn't he knew all these prior to investing 8 crores in distribution of the movie. For record, in the audio launch neither Rajini nor KSR hyped the movie to any extent. KSR infact quoted indirectly the sorry state that was met by Anjaan team & said we have given a good movie & it is for the audience to give their verdict. If I remember it was Shankar who said he felt the movie will be like 10 Padayappa....

Lastly as KSR has said, if the movie had collected 50% by the end of 4th or 5th day it must be terrific indeed. What else did he expect?
    Then the movie being replaced in Baby Albert being an indicator? Are you guys serious?? Movie released in record number of screens in Chennai & everyone knew that a good chunk of the theaters must have been only for the opening weekend. Is it even possible for any movie to run in all the screens, given the spectra wide release it had?

Even if the movie is not doing good, this is way too early to come up with all this crap. Lets wait & see.
    But already enough damage had been done by the so called social media. All for the last 5 minute climax.
    Rajini being the easy target for anything and everything.
    Last edited by omega; 20th December 2014 at 05:54 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by venkkiram View Post
    Oh.. thanks. That means it was not running at all in Edison Big Cinemas hall? Interesting to see that a star movie not getting screened in Edison area where there is more indian population.
    This means you really don't have anything better to do than be a Seat counter !! Enna Saami nee yapadi irundha nee ipadi aitea?
    My onions and Signature changes according to my desperate need to be in lime light as the BIG Brother :0 - just saying..

Yes Yes...Thank you...Thank you. (sathiyama oru dashum puriyala )
    I refered you as "Naughty Boy" and said don't try to escape from few cups of filter kappi coming your way (at least 3 of em) !! By calling Mr, Hassar a modern dressed buddha!
    Last edited by Dilbert; 20th December 2014 at 06:27 AM.
    My onions and Signature changes according to my desperate need to be in lime light as the BIG Brother :0 - just saying..

- Danksna - you can post here also !

simple and crisp , to the point review ! No Oppari No kamarkattu fight !

Junior Member Senior Hubber
    Linga Box Office Report - Direct & to the point.

Deceived by Lingaa, Distributors Seek Relief from Rajini

http://www.newindianexpress.com/citi...cle2580351.ece

CHENNAI: Rajinikanth-starrer Lingaa’s purported poor show at the suburban box-office has forced distributors and theatre owners to ask for their money back.

A week after the flick hit screens amid heightened hoopla, theatre owners from the Chengalpattu area went to their distributor and demanded compensation for heavy losses suffered. N Abu Thahir, manager at Mannan Films, who allegedly paid a whopping `14 crore for the film’s rights for the Chengalpattu area, said theatre owners witnessed dismal occupancy even during the first week. “They came to my office and asked that we give them some form of compensation. The film had been bought at a very high price, but wasn’t made with that much of a budget, so they’re asking for compensation,” he said. Incidentally, this was the same distributor who had a row with filmmaker Mani Ratnam over distribution losses for Kadal.

Thahir said he assuaged them by promising to speak to Vendhar Films, which had bought the TN distribution rights from Eros International — and had sub-sold it to them. “We will come to a decision after I speak to Madhan of Vendhar Films. Some theatres said they had been seeing only 250-300 seats being occupied,” he added.

Trade sources initially celebrated the fact that Lingaa took a whopping opening on release and grossed `100 crore in three days, but none of these claims have been verified.

Lingaa was purchased by Eros International for `100 crore and sold to smaller distributors at a rumoured ‘double that cost’ price. Though multiplexes and larger corporations snapped up the film, places like Chennai South, Chengalpattu and even Tiruchy had trouble up to 12 hours before its release on December 12. “Theatre owners did not want to take such a huge risk by putting down 70 per cent down payment for the film, so the number came down slightly. But with bad word-of-mouth about the film, the collections have been abysmal for us,” said a theatre owner in Chromepet.
    Last edited by kumarsr; 20th December 2014 at 09:20 AM.

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber hattori_hanzo's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dilbert View Post
    I refered you as "Naughty Boy" and said don't try to escape from few cups of filter kappi coming your way (at least 3 of em) !! By calling Mr, Hassar a modern dressed buddha!
    No I did not mean that. I said for his movies, he does many things singlehandedly. Right from promotions, interviews to finding distributors - at least thats what he says in many of his TV interviews. Whereas RK rarely speaks about those things and it appears as if the people around him, Latha/Sathyanarayana/directors and others take care of those activities.

Regarding Kamal's 3 movies, I am looking forward to his performance alone in Papanasam - would like to see him play the common man. Being a low budget movie which is already made in 3 other languages, its not going to take an earth shattering opening or break any records. Vishwaroopam 2 - even if it does the same level of business as its predecessor, RKFI would benefit a lot for all the troubles it faced in 2013. UV is the one which MUST do well BO-wise, for me.
    ஒரு ஆதிக்க நாயகன் சாதிக்க வந்தால் அடங்குதல் முறை தானோ..

Junior Member Senior Hubber
    No I did not mean that. I said for his movies, he does many things singlehandedly. Right from promotions, interviews to finding distributors - at least thats what he says in many of his TV interviews. Whereas RK rarely speaks about those things and it appears as if the people around him, Latha/Sathyanarayana/directors and others take care of those activities.

Regarding Kamal's 3 movies, I am looking forward to his performance alone in Papanasam - would like to see him play the common man. Being a low budget movie which is already made in 3 other languages, its not going to take an earth shattering opening or break any records. Vishwaroopam 2 - even if it does the same level of business as its predecessor, RKFI would benefit a lot for all the troubles it faced in 2013. UV is the one which MUST do well BO-wise, for me.
    Lets stop the BO numbers for any movie from now on..Lingaa is great example for that..
    In recent days people start looking after BO numbers and consider that as proud moment..becoz of which the makers are also thinking the same..Everyone right from selling the movie to distributors to BO collection they want to be on top to feel proud,,it happened with lingaa as well..Lingaa started with news "Movie sold at record price" ,"record prints" and then 100C in 3 days but finally we don't know what happened exactly..if the movie is sold at lesser price then it would have been mega blockbuster by now..
    Till 2000 movie is tagged as BB/superhit/Hit/flop based on profit at each stage from theaters/distributors/producers..
    But now fans are tagging based on collections only..please note making movie prints also has additional cost..more the prints more the cost..
    for me chandramuki is bigger blockbuster than enthrian..CM made at cost of 5 crore and collected 60c..everyone gained profit..

Movies like "I" can be released in record number of theaters because of production cost,etc but price quoted to distributors has to be reasonable..
    I watched dhrishyam Malayalam movie and based on that I can say papanasam movie budget will not exceed 5C..everyone can gain profit if its sold with genuine price and if they plan for 100C with more number of prints then result will be worst..like 100 days before 100C must happen genuinely after releasing and should not be planned in advance..
    Last edited by USV; 20th December 2014 at 04:02 PM.

Senior Member Devoted Hubber cm123's Avatar
    Liked Thalaivar the mass, great program in Vijay TV. It is Thalaivar everywhere , this program is top.

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by omega View Post
    You must be just trolling I guess. In case you are really interested, it is still running in both Edgewater & Bergen daily couple of shows thru' Wednesday 12/24.
    Movie is still running in 56 theatres across US. Pretty good this. Telugu version is still in 13 screens.

For full list visit http://pragathi.com/movies/Lingaa_%2...ets-schedules/
    What is there to troll? I live very close to Big Cinemas of Edison. For me, living so far away from my birth state, any good Tamil movie will give goosebumps and enjoyment. I was unable to watch last weekend because of work pressure, being that time of the year for the universities. I watched Enthiran three or four years ago at Edison after four weeks! It was running for that long, so assumed that Lingaa would do at least half that time. However, even on Wednesday, Google indicated only 8:45 show at Big Cinemas. As for watching it at other centers, I am not that crazy when the WoM indicates an average movie (such as by Bosskey: Instead of being a damn good movie, it is just a good dam movie). Same as Kaaviya Thalaivan which got mixed reviews and I dropped the idea of watching it!
    This year I watched Kaththi (Because of the Murugadoss factor, but felt somewhat deflated after watching) and Jigirthanda (felt good after watching) at Big Cinemas. That will give you an idea of my interest levels in watching movies at cinema halls.

Will watch I (if and) when it releases on Jan 9th.

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by Dilbert View Post
    My New found love for Linga Album..

Its like meeting your ex-GF after many years , you know she was cold hearted ruthless "B12335" for breaking your heart. But still your Heart skips a beat when your eyes see her and smile on her face. It was the feeling I got when I re-visited this album.

Enough said about Mona Gasolina, 2 other Songs which left me haunted

1) Indiane vaa : Song Starts of with cleverly reused tune of Rangeela " kya kare kya na kare" and Chorus. And when ARR starts sings "Indiane Vaa" Time stops and we are back in Pre-Independence era, every word in the lyrics so soulfully crafted takes listener through Importance of water and struggle people went through for securing natural resources under British rule . We as Indians can create a new dimension for future generations to come. At very end of the song Lyricist , MD and Singer ARR decided Now we have listeners on the rope, lets give them one last solid punch to their hearts. Oh my boy it was an overwhelming punch , when he starts singing Vellai irul(British Rule) neengi Gandhi desam Per pera vendum .Gangai kaveri thoda vendum, Nam paali vanathhil paalai vida vendum . Its pretty much summed up hopes of every Indian under British rule.
    Just Brilliant Master Stroke

2) Unmai Orunal Vellum : Song practically plays with your conscience stirring up memories of every battle in your life which you lost for wrong reasons. Lyricist decided to take to many animals ,reptile reference to represent the evil factor within Human mind interesting choice. Its such a soulful number with clean lyrics. ARR use of Instruments and orchestration is simply superb.

Menmakkal ennaalum menmakkal thaane
    Ketaalum nam thalaivan eppodum rajanada
    Veezhndhaalum vallam karam veezhaadhu thaane
    Ponnodu mannallellaam ponaalum
    Avan punnagai kollayitha mudiyadhu

Evil minds might have won the battle , with truth on your side you will eventually win the WAR. ARRji
    Nice post. I have been enjoying Lingaa songs during the long drive to work. Each song captivates me. The "Indiane vaa" song has interesting lyrics and the orchestration is super (I remarked earlier the rationalist saying "Iru malaigalai poruththi nadhigalai niruththi *vignaana* kovil ondru kattuvom) . En Mannava and Unmai vellum are highly enjoyable for their immediate catchy-ness.