Quote Originally Posted by m_23_bayarea View Post
Glad that he came out and explained his side of the story. After hearing this, makes me wonder about the credibility of Mr. Singaravelan and more so his motives behind this. The question as to why he started his video propaganda on day-4 of release (and not wait for even a month) and hence his sabotaging the movie's success is worth considering from the producers' side.

This is exactly we have been saying over here from the beginning.
I have no problem in the movie being a colossal flop (which I doubt highly going by the response it had over here in US).
To come up with such an agenda driven negative propaganda from the 5th day of the movie release targeting Rajini personally & terming the whole Linga unit as a Mosadi gumbal (longing for cheap publicity via movie story cases) blah blah was all meant to defame Rajini, his origin, his age and everything. These perverted souls will only be happy if Rajini gives back everything that he has & leave to Karnataka for good.

The producer is definitely correct in saying that the agenda driven negative propaganda definitely should have impacted the movie's result.
I am not in India so can't comment that much, but to my knowledge it is doing pretty decent in Tuticorin. The first 3 days have been full with ticket prices flat Rs 200/.
From then it has been @ Rs. 120/. From what I heard even last weekend it had about 90% occupancy rate. Not sure how it is doing during the week though.

That pony Singaravelan has bought rights for 8 crores to screen in 55 theatres. I am pretty sure he must have then got atleast on an average 20 lakhs per theatre to screen the movie which amounts to 11 crores easily. Why is he not disposing how much he made in turn from theatre owners...

To say that in the first day there were only 60% occupancy across those 55 screens is just unbelievable (blatant lie). Souls living in that area can throw some light on it.