View Poll Results: Which is your favorite song?

Voters
76. You may not vote on this poll
  • Munbe Vaa

34 44.74%
  • New York Nagaram

31 40.79%
  • Machakaari

4 5.26%
  • Kummi Adi

2 2.63%
  • Maricham

1 1.32%
  • Jillendru Oru Kadhal

4 5.26%
Page 40 of 118 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast

Thread: Sillunnu Oru Kadhal - A.R.Rahman - Vaali - Surya

Member Junior Hubber
    But the fact is that Surya is getting the best opening in cities from where most of the money flows.And coming to Mass Market as far as i know family audience prefers Surya ahead of both Vijay and Ajith.Aaru was just a decent hit coz his strength is not in tat kind of stupid movies..
    People(especially his fans) expect sensible movie from him. He might not have fans to brk coconut and build huge cut outs. But he definitely is one of the money spinners in Tamil Film Industry.Go and ask any College student whose movie they wud prefer to watch out of Vijay,Ajith and Surya...More than 75 % will say Surya.And this movie is directly targeted at young audience..
    I feel this movie is going to be a huge hit...Atleast tats the impression i get from Promo stills. And Finally dont compare him with Ajith..for last three yrs he had absolutely no hit..And in the current market definitely Surya is ahead of him...I have seen quite a few Ajith movies with jus 20 or 30 people in theatre on second weekend itself .Agreed Ajith has a huge fan base..But the way his movies flopped shows it clearly to every actor the importance of story and screen play..Even hard core fans wont come to theatre if the movie is bad.Tats where Surya and Vikram scores..U can go to their movies for sure expecting atleast some sense. Of course, Aaru was a exception..

Senior Member Devoted Hubber Renault's Avatar
    Great point sibi.... u hit the nail right on the head.. every aspect you have discussed is absolutely spot on and unbiased.

Let's hope the problem gets solved soon. I have seen posters of JEOK in Maayajaal and Satyam as a forthcoming release along with Vallavan.

ARR's music has always been a slow poison even in his hey days and the late release of the music will do Suriya no good. He is a decent actor along with Vikram as Sibi rightly pointed and I wish JEOK does well.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber dinesh2002's Avatar
    i gave up on JOK already...im not sure when r they gonna release it,im guessing Dec 30 2007.....
    Madhushree's HERO (Tamil Version) feat. Tale Spin, Lyrics by me : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqPYBSABOWc

Senior Member Diamond Hubber selvakumar's Avatar
    "sibicalls",

//But the fact is that Surya is getting the best opening in cities from where most of the money flows. //

I think you are living on Mars. That is the reason why you have forgot quite a few things. Read these things aloud

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-mov...-birthday.html

It was HINDU which gave AJITH the "KING OF OPENING" title.

BTW, I think as per your logic MAAYAVI should have got a TREMEMNDOUS, MIND BLOWING, SUPERB opening... Correct me if I am wrong.. ENLIGHTEN US

//And coming to Mass Market as far as i know family audience prefers Surya ahead of both Vijay and Ajith.Aaru was just a decent hit coz his strength is not in tat kind of stupid movies..
    //

Family audience like all type of movies which they can watch with the family rather than bloody gore violent movies. and don't claim AARU as if it is an intelligent movie from SURYA.. It is just a hit.. (Read it loud)

// People(especially his fans) expect sensible movie from him. //

Ya. That is why they watch AARU and have made it a hit

//He might not have fans to brk coconut and build huge cut outs. But he definitely is one of the money spinners in Tamil Film Industry.Go and ask any College student whose movie they wud prefer to watch out of Vijay,Ajith and Surya...More than 75 % will say Surya.And this movie is directly targeted at young audience..//

See... Every youngster can do this.. From Maddy to Arya.. But the one that you have mentioned in the first line goes to special people like Ajith etc .. NOt to surya

// I feel this movie is going to be a huge hit...Atleast tats the impression i get from Promo stills. //

Sure

//And Finally dont compare him with Ajith..for last three yrs he had absolutely no hit..//

If you could say AARU as a hit then I am afraid whether you read BO status of Ajith's last two movies..

//And in the current market definitely Surya is ahead of him...I have seen quite a few Ajith movies with jus 20 or 30 people in theatre on second weekend itself .//

I have seen 2 to 3 people for Maayavi in the second day itself. And read behindwoods article which covers on top TEN ACTORS..

//Agreed Ajith has a huge fan base..But the way his movies flopped shows it clearly to every actor the importance of story and screen play..//

Agreed.. But this fits for Surya as well.

//Even hard core fans wont come to theatre if the movie is bad.Tats where Surya and Vikram scores..U can go to their movies for sure expecting atleast some sense. Of course, Aaru was a exception..//

Ya..Atleast for Ajith his fans will watch even if the movie is bad.. But who ll watch Maayavi which is an ultimate
    Ponnu Vellai tholah? illai Karuppu tholah?
    RE: Aennn.. Puli tholu..

Use short words, short sentences and short paragraphs. Never use jargon words like reconceptualize, demassification, attitudinally, judgmentally. They are hallmarks of a pretentious ass. - David Ogilvy

surya is gr8 to watch..
    ARR will be having a gr8 opening too.. long time since a gud lovestory with a huge star value..

everything looks gud for the movie..
    Wish it releases soon and rocks.

regarding opening.. hmm

Senior Member Veteran Hubber Surya's Avatar

Surya's Opening for Mayaavi was an Impressive one, although the movie was a flop due to the time it was released. It was released with JI, which also flopped, because of bad timing.

Surya Opening for Gajini speaks for itself. Check Galatta.com and other articles that came out in that time. (October 2005)

http://sify.com/entertainment/movies...hp?id=13955670

Quote Originally Posted by Sify
    It was a clean sweep by Ghajini this week at the Chennai weekend box-office.. The film took 100 percent opening in five huge screens is turning out to be a big hit. The trade compares the opening with Anniyan! .
    And Later on It was declared as a blockbuster.

Surya's Aaru Opened @ #1 in Chennai. (Again, can check it in one of the old Chennai Box Office threads. (December 2005)

http://sify.com/entertainment/movies...hp?id=14046842

Surya gets one of the best openings in Cities (Maybe in rural areas. I have no idea about rural areas. But Cities generate the bulk of the profit.)

Now if ur gonna compare that with VJ or Ajith. Obviously not as impressive. JEOK is Surya's 16th movie. What was the opening Power of VJ of Ajith in their 16 movie? (Not any sort pun, it's an honest quesiton. I'm really wondering.)

Obviously VJ and Ajith have a bigger fan base, because they've acted in a lot more movies. They number is more than double of what Surya has acted in. So it's natural for them to have a bigger fan base, and to have better openings.

But make no mistake, Surya is one of the top 4 highest $$ Spinners in the Industry. (excluding Rajini and Kamal, but including other seniors like Sarath Kumar and VJkanth.)

Quote Originally Posted by Aruvi
    Ghajini was made for more than 8 crores. As far as I have read, it was a hit film, not a blockbuster.
    Aruvi,
    http://sify.com/entertainment/movies...hp?id=14126456

Gajini was declared a Blockbuster long before. It made a comback even after the Pongal Releases. Paramasivan and Aathi.

Quote Originally Posted by Sify
    The Chennai Box-Office has crashed this week as all the highly hyped Pongal releases have fallen like a ton of bricks. The big surprise is that the leftover's like Kanda Naal Mudhal and Ghajini have made strong comebacks as it was shifted to the second set of theatres.

Sibi,
    Make no mistake. Paramasivan and Thirupathi are both hits.
    Back after a while...

Senior Member Diamond Hubber selvakumar's Avatar
    What was the opening Power of VJ of Ajith in their 16 movie?
    To be honest.. I would say.. IT is AJITH AND VIJAY who broke the RK - KH syndrome that was in the industry.. I mean... They paved the way for other young actors to make inroads into the TF market. Their earlier films were outrun purely coz of other actors. Also, their initial movies were of different genre and they won't get any mass appeal .. be it whatsoever

In that way, both Ajith and vijay acted in Love stories without forcing themselves to join the action masala bandwagon.

Then over a period of time, and coz of the generation change, Ajith and vijay earned a Mass which even the current generation is unable to earn till now no matter how many number of hits they give. Fine eg would be vikram.

So, The initial movies of Ajith and vijay were purely for paving the way for others to capture a share in the TF market. It was these heroes who brought the say

RK-KH, AJITH-VIJAY etc. A lot of credit goes them for that. Had they acted in mass movies in that period, they would have been outrun by others. They stood as unique breed and challenged everyone.

ONly coz of a slight break in both these people's career, Others like vikram, surya understood the situation and started acting different movies rather than ordinary. coz they knew very well that they cannot pull out better opening like this combo. Even now vikram is failing hard coz of the lack of opening power.
    Ponnu Vellai tholah? illai Karuppu tholah?
    RE: Aennn.. Puli tholu..

Use short words, short sentences and short paragraphs. Never use jargon words like reconceptualize, demassification, attitudinally, judgmentally. They are hallmarks of a pretentious ass. - David Ogilvy

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    Neither Ajith nor Vijay had the benefit of working with big directors(or at-least say they avoided bid direc). Especially Ajith had no background or anything, but his ten fingers and confidence..

Surya is 30 now?

Ajith and Vijay were more popular at 30.. When Ajith and Vijay started, Rajini and KH were in their prime.. now it's the period of transformation so RK and KH aren't acting movies in regular intervals.. Ajith and Vijay are the only heroes that survived.. no wonder it took 18 years for Vikram.. nowadays Arya is famous after one hit and is called a hearthrob Ajith had undergone several operations, did any other actors have those problems

Acting in more movies does not neccesarily gurantee such a huge fan base.. in that case vjkanth must have equal fan base to Rajini or Kamal..

Simbhu is 22 or 23, was Rajini that famous at 23??.

It's hypothetical to talk about who was what at different stages..

After suffering betrayal, AJITH IS ALREADY BACK when Paramasivan became a hit ( and is very careful in choosing his scripts)

And please don't compare actors.. appreciate them for what they..

Senior Member Veteran Hubber rajasaranam's Avatar
    JEOK when manipulated becomes JOKE

How long they expect you to wait for an audio release when its pretty clear that its ready before two months itself

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber svaisn's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by rajasaranam
    JEOK when manipulated becomes JOKE

How long they expect you to wait for an audio release when its pretty clear that its ready before two months itself
    Just wanted a clarification

where did u guys see an official announcement of audio release...
    some one of some group would have given a date...
    and u guys start discussing on that date..

cmon yaar this is weird... lets wait for an official announce ment
    Karthik -Happy Illa

Page 40 of 118 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast