10th March 2009, 05:15 PM
Devoted Hubber
ICM Kannada lyrics
Here is another song by Shri Purandaradasaru, which narrates mischievous child hood of Krishna with beautiful lyrics.
rAga: tODi
tALa: CApu
racane: shrI puraMdaradAsaru
gAyana: shrI vidyAbhUShaNa
gummana kareyadire ammA nInu /pa/
summane iddEnu ammiya bEDenu
mammu uNNutEne ammA aLuvudilla /anupa/
heNNugaLiruvallige avara
kaNNu mucchuvudillave
ciNNara baDiyenu aNNana baiyenu
beNNeya bEDenu maNNu tinnuvudilla / 1 /
bAvige pOge kaNe amma nAnu
hAvinoLADe kaNe
Avina moleyUDe karugaLa biDe nODe
dEvaraMte oMdu ThAvili kUDuve / 2 /
magana mAtanu kELi gOpidEvi
muguLu nage naguta
jagadoDeyana shrI puraMdara viThalana
bigidappikoMDaLu mohadiMdalAga / 3 /
Meaning of the song:
Oh mother, don’t call the (gumma) bugbear (scarecrow)
(Gumma- imaginary picture, which mothers used to call to stop
Crying of a child)
I will keep quite and don’t ask for breast-milk
I will accept food and won’t cry.
I won’t trouble (harass) the girls/young ladies (heNNU)
I won’t beat small children and don’t scold brother
I won’t ask butter and won’t eat mud.
I won’t go to the pond and play with serpents (hAvu)
I won’t drink milk from cows (Avu) and won’t play with calves
I will sit in a place like a God.
Listening to son’s words mother Yashoda (gOpidEvi) with smiling
hugs (bigidappu) his son (Krishna) with love (mOha) who is master of the Universe (jagadoDeya) Shri Purandara viThala
Listen to the song:
by Shri Puttur Narasimha Nayak: http://ishare.rediff.com/filemusic-G...d-10007385.php
by Shri Vidyabhushana : http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/De...Kareyadire.ram
10th March 2009 05:15 PM
10th April 2009, 08:25 PM
Devoted Hubber
ICM Kannada
One more song by Shri Purandaradasaru, which narrates the conduct of bad/sinful people in the society.
Lyric goes like this:
rAga: mOhana
tALa: aTTatALa
jAliya maradaMte dhareyoLu durjanaru /pa/
mUlAgra pariyaMta muLLu kUDippaMte /anupa/
bisilalli baLali baMdavarige neraLilla
hasidu baMdavarige haNNu illa
kusuma vAsaneyilla kUDalu sthaLavilla
rasadalli svAdavu viShadaMte irutiha /1/
UrahaMdige ShaDrasAnnavanikkalu
nAruva durgaMdha biDaballude
GOrapApige tatva j~jAnava pELalu
krUra karmava biTTu sujananAguvane /2/
tanniMda upakAra toTakAdaru illa
binnANada mAtige koneyilla
annake sErida kunni mAnavaraMte
innivara kAryavu puraMdaraviThThala /3/
Meaning of the song:
Bad/sinful people are like jaliya mara on the earth (dhareyoLu).
having only thorns (like needle) from top to bottom (mUlAgra pariyaMta)
(Jaliya mara - is a thorny plant with tiny leaves that is used to get gum and also used for medicinal purpose. In Sanskrit-Babbula, botonical name is Acacia Arabica (Nilotica)
gives no shelter for people in search of shade in sunshine (bisilali)
gives no fruits for people with hungry
no fragrance of flowers and no place to sit (kUDalu sthaLavilla)
taste of its juice (leaves) is like poison/bitter
even if you treat village pigs with good/tasty food
they cannot avoid going to stinking places
if you teach philosophy (tatva j~janava) to wicked man (ghorapApi)
he will not become gentleman leaving his cruelty
Leave aside a small help from them (wicked men)
There is no end for their bluff (bragging)
Purandara vittala, their work/duty is of no use except eating food
like mean fellows (kunni mAnavaraMte)
Listen to the song by Shri Vidyabhushana: http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/De...na/Jaaliya.ram
1st May 2009, 08:28 PM
Admin HubberNewbie HubberTeam HubberModerator HubberPro Hubber
I request someone to tell me who the composer of the foll. song is , and also check if the words I have are correct. Thank you very much.
Yamuna Kalyani/Adi
P:
ettirArati satyasadgati sukha
viTTu poreva ranganIga muttinArati
C1: gOvakAydagE hAva tulidagE
bhAmeyara mOhisidagE hUvinArati
C2: mangalAngagE bhujangashAyigE
mangalAnga rAmachandrage mangalArati
C3:kamalanAbhagE kamalanayanagE
kamalanAbha mUrutigE kanakadArati
15th May 2009, 09:18 PM
Devoted Hubber
ICM-Kannada
Here is a song on Krishna by Shri Purandaradasaru.
rAga: kalyANi
tALa: tripuTa
piLLaMgOviya celva kRuShNana
elli nODidiri raMgana elli nODidiri / pa /
elli nODidaralli tAnilladillaveMdu balla jANaru /anu pa/
naMdagOpana maMdiraMgaLa saMdugoMdinali
ceMda ceMdada gOpabAlara vRuMdavRuMdadali
suMdarAMgada suMdariyara hiMdumuMdinali
aMdadAkaLa kaMda karugaLa maMde maMdeyali / 1 /
shrI gurUkta sadA sumaMgaLa yOga yOgadali
AgamArthadoLage mADuva yAga yAgadali
shrIge bhAgyanAgi vartipa bhOga bhOgadali
bhAgavataru sadA bAgi pADuva rAga rAgadali / 2 /
I carAcaradoLage ajaMDada Ace Iceyali
KEcharEMdrana sutana rathada accha pIThadali
nAcade mAdhava kEShava eMba vAcakaMgaLali.
vIcukoMDada puraMdaraviThalana lOcanAgradali / 3 /
Meaning of the song:
where have you seen (my) Ranga with a flute (piLLaMgOvi)
where did you saw chelva (beautiful) Krishna
clever people say they have not seen him anywhere
nuck and corners of palace belongs Nandagopa
in the group of boys of Gokula(gOpabAla)
with attractive beautiful women
in the herd of beautiful cows and calves
Gurus says he is there in sumangala Yoga
He is available in the yaaga's done according to
the rules of aagama shaastra
He is there with Lakshmi in luxury (bhOga)
and in the melodeous raga sung by Bhagavathas
In and out of this universe
He is seated in the chariot of Arjuna,
the son of Lord Indra (KecharEndra)
He is there with whom calling Madhava, Keshava, without shyness
At the edge (agradali) of the eyes (lOchana) of purandara vithala of vIcukoMDa (vIcu - wave or tide, koMDa - Tank = kshIrasAgara)
Listen to the song by Bellur Sisters:
http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/De...llangoviya.ram
Listen here the song by Shri Kunnakudi Vaidyanathan (violin):
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=457...50054874371374
1st June 2009, 06:58 PM
Devoted Hubber
Indian classical music -kannada
Here is one popular song, (said to be) written by Guru Shri Raghavendra Thirtharu,
who is popularly known as Mantralaya Prabhu. This song is picturised in two kannada movies.
Mantralaya Mahatme (Story of Shri Rahavendra's life history) and also in the film 'Eradu Kanasu' (Your eyes become wet while viewing this song - beautifully rendered by S Janaki - Kalpana on the screen). 2nd stranza is not included in both the films.
Shri Rajan-Nagendra has provided the melodious tune to both the films.
Lyric goes here:
rAga: bhairavi
tALa: ChApu
racane: shrI rAGavEMdra tIrtharu
iMdu enage gOviMda ninna pAdAra
viMdava tOro mukuMda /pa/
suMdara vadanane naMdagOpiya kaMda
maMdarOddhAra AnaMda iMdirA ramaNA /anu pa/
noMdenayya bhavabaMdhanadoLu siluki
muMde dAri kANade kuMdide jagadoLu
kaMdanu eMdenna kuMdugaLaneNisade
taMde kAyO kRuShNa kaMdarpajanakane /1/
mUDhatanadi bahu hEDi jIva nAnAgi
dhRuDha bhakutiyanu mADalillavO hariye
nODalillavO ninna pADalillavO mahime
gADikAra kRuShNa bEDikoMbeno ninna /2/
dAruNiyoLu balu bhAra jIva nAnAgi
dAritappi naDede sEride kujanara
ArU kAyuvarilla..
sAride ninagayya
dhIra vENugOpAla pArugANiso hariye /3/
Meaning of the song:
Govinda, bless me today, show your
secred (lotus=araviMda) feet (pAda), Mukunda
Son (kaMda) of Nandagopa with beautiful (suMdara) face (vadana)
Indira ramana (Husband of Lakshmi) who saved mountain Mandara
Suffered by entangled (siluki) transient life
Not finding path, became weak in this world
Treat me like a child with out counting my sins/mistakes
Father, protect me Krishna, father of Manmatha (kandarpajanaka)
I became coward (hEDi) with foolishness (mUDhatanadi)
Hari I did not perform determined (dhRuDha) devotion (bhakuti)
I did not see; remember your greatness (mahime)
I pray you Krishna the creator (gADikAra)
My life became a burden (balu bhAra) on this earth (dhAruNi)
Selected the wrong way, joined with bad men (kujana)
There is nobody to protect me (kAyuvarilla)
Submitted (sAride) to you all (ninagayya)
Hari, Lord Venugopala rescue me
View the song here:
From the film ‘Mantralaya Mahatme’ (1966) by P B Srinivas - Actor Dr. Rajkumar
From the film 'Eradu kanasu’ (1974) by S Janaki - Actress Kalpana
20th June 2009, 09:49 PM
Devoted Hubber
ICM Kannada lyrics
Here is one more song by Shri Purandaradasaru.
Lyric goes like this:
rAga: sAraMga
tALa: JaMpe
I pariya sobagu innAva dEvarali kANe
gOpijanapriya gOpAlagallade /anu pa/
doreyatanadali nODe dharaNIdEvige ramaNa
siriyatanadali nODe shrIkAMtanu
hiriyatanadali nODe sarasijOdbhavanayya
guruvutanadali nODe jagadAdiguruvu /1/
pAvanatvadi nODe amaragaMgAjanaka
dEvatvadali nODe divijaroDeya
lAvaNyadali nODe lOkamOhakanayya
Ava dhairyadi nODe asurAMtaka /2/
gaganadali saMcaripa garuDadEvane turaga
jagatIdhara shESha paryaMka shayana
nigamagOcara puraMdara viThalagallade
migilAda daivagaLigI bhAgyavuMTe /3/
Meaning of the song:
I could not see this much scintillating shine (sobagu) in any other gods
except for Gopala, who is popular among gopalas (of Dwaraka-gopijanapriya)
If you see kingship (doreyatana), he is Lord of mother earth (dharaNI dEvi)
If you see wealth (siritana), he is husband of Shreelakshmi
If you see elderlyness (hiriyatana), born out of lotus (Brahma-sarasijOdbhava)
If you see teaching (guruvutana), mentor of whole world.
If you see sacredness (pAvanatva), father of immortal water (amaragaMgAjanaka)
If you see divinity (dEvatva), master of all gods (divijaroDEya)
If you see elegance (lavaNyadali), loved by all mankind (lOkamOhakanayya)
If you see bravery (dhairyadi), he is killer (asurAMtaka) of demons
garuDadEva who travels like horse (turaga) in the sky
Lord who laid/sleep (shayana) on softbed (paryaMka) of Shesha
none other than PuraMdara vittala who is visible through Vedas (nigamagOcara)
who else will have this fortune (bhAgya)
View the song here:
Shri Bhimsen Joshi (for Raj kumar) and Shri M bAlamuralikrishna (for Ramachandra Shastry) have sung this song in this film
'saMdhyArAga' 1969.
Music by G K venkatesh and M Balamuralikrishna
7th July 2009, 08:30 PM
Devoted Hubber
Indian Classical Music
Here is a song from Shri Purandaradasaru which narrates that each one of us should learn from a good 'TEACHER'-guru.
rAga: nAdanAmakriye/haMsAnaMdi
tALa: Adi
guruvina gulAmanAguva tanaka..
doreyadaNNa mukuti.. /pa/
paripari shAstravanEkavanOdi..
vyarthavAyitu bhakuti.. /anu pa/
Aru shAstragaLanOdidarEnu mU
rAru purANava mugisidarEnu
sAri sajjanara saMgava mADade
dhIranAgi tA meredarEnu / 1 /
koraLoLu mAleya dharisidarEnu
karadali japamaNi eNisidarEnu
maruLanaMte sharIrake lEpava
oresikoMDu tA tirugidarEnu / 2 /
nAriyara saMgava aLidare Enu
sharIrake duHKava paDisidarEnu..
mAranayya shrI puraMdaraviThalana..
mareyade manadoLu bereyuva tanaka / 3 /
Meaning of the song:
Salvation is not so easy to get
until you become a slave of a Mentor/Master
no use of reading books of knowledge
all the devotion has become a waste
what is the use of becoming scholor by reading several books (Six shaastras)
what is the use by reading several(mUrAru) holy books
Not making of friendship with good/worthy men
no use of showing off (mere) like a braveman(dhIra)
what is the use of wearing (dharisu) garland around the neck (koraLu)
what is the use of counting rosary (japamaNi) with fingers (karadoLu)
No use of run around (tirugidarEnu) like a fool (maruLa) with smear(lEpa) of ash on the body(sharIra)
No use of refusing the friendship of women
No use of penalising one's own body
Until you remember Shri Purandaravittala
who is father of love (manmatha-mAranayya)
without forgetting him.
Listen to the song by Sri vidyabhushana:
http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/De...iVidyabhushana
Listen to the song by Shri KJ Yesudas:
http://www.devaragam.net/vbscript/Wi...ina_Gulama.Mp3
Listen to the song by shri Shimoga Subbanna:
http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/De...a/Guruvina.ram
By Radha Jayalakshmi: song will start after ugabhoga-santhatha gananatha: http://www.hummaa.com/search/search....athatha+ganana
20th July 2009, 12:57 PM
Devoted Hubber
ICM Kannada
In memory of Smt D K Pattammal, one composition of Shri Purandaradasaru sung by her
rAga: kAMbOdi
tALa: EkatALa
yAdava nI bA yadukula naMdana
mAdhava madhusUdhana bAro /pa/
sOdaramAvana madhureli maDuhida ya
shOde naMdana nI bAro /anupa/
kaNakAlaMdige GaluGalurenutali
JaNaJaNa vENunAdadali
ciNNikOlu ceMDubuguriyanADuta
saNNa saNNa gOvaLaroDagUDi bArO /1/
shaMKa cakravu kaiyali hoLeyuta
biMkada gOvaLa nI bAro
akaLaMka caritane (mahimane) AdinArAyaNa
bEkeMba bhakta (kiMkara jana)rigoli bAro /2/
KagavAhanane bagebage rUpane
nagemogadarasane nI bAro
jagadoLu ninnaya mahimeya pogaLuve
puraMdaraviThThala nI bAro /3/
Meaning of the song:
Krishna (yAdava) come (bAro), (calling Krishna with intimacy-bAro)
son of yadukula, Madhava and Madhusudhana come
Son of Yashoda (Yashoda nandana) come who killed (maDuhu)
Father-in-law (sOdara mAva - kaMsa) at Madhure (mathura)
Making the sound of Ghal Ghal from anklet (worn on the ankle)
with sweet tune from the flute (JaNa JaNa vEnu nAda)
playing the games of Tip-cat (ciNNi kOlu), Ball (ceMDu) and Top (buguri)
come with little cowdrovers (gOvaLaru)
shining (hoLeyuta) conch (shaMKa) and wheel (cakra) in hand
conquetric (biMkada) cowdrover (gOvaLa), come
Adinarayana you are flawless (akalaMka) highworthy (mahimane)
who also fulfill the desires of devotees, come
having a bird (Garuda) as vehicle (KagavAhanane)
with different forms of appearance (bage bage rUpane)
king with smile (nagemogadarasane) you please come
I praise (pogaLuve) your greatness (mahime) in this world (jagadoLu)
purandara vittala you please come
Courtecy: raaga.com, saptaswaras.blogsot.com and smashhits.com
Only last 2 stranzas sung by DKP and Jayashri:
Listen to the song by Smt.D K Pattammal:
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=704...05858942177724
Watch the video of 'Yadhava nee' sung by Bombay Jayashri
http://sapthaswaras.blogspot.com/200...a-nee-baa.html
By Shri Pandit Bhimsen Joshi: (Hindustani style)
http://ww.smashits.com/player/flash/...m?SongIds=8314
31st July 2009, 06:06 AM
Devoted Hubber
ICM Kannada
Today is "Varamahalakshmi Vratham" festival. Second Friday of Shravana masam will be celebrated in honour of Shri Mahalakshmi. Here is a song by Shri Purandaradasaru which narrates Shri Mahalakshmi is lucky enough to serve Shri Mahavishnu, who is mentor of universe.
Lyric follows:
rAga: tODi
tALa: rUpakatALa
Enu dhanyaLo lakumi eMthA mAnyaLo
sAnurAgadiMda hariya tAne sEve mADutihaLu /a pa/
kOTi kOTi bhRutyariralu hATakAMbarana sEve
sATiyillade pUrNaguNaLu shrEShThavAgi mADutihaLu /1/
Catra cAmara vyajana paryaMka pAtrarUpadalli niMtu
citracaritanAda hariya nityasEve mADutihaLu /2/
sarvatradi vyAptanAda sarvadOSharahitanAda
garuDagamana (sarvavaMdya)
nAda puraMdaraviThThalanna sEvisuvaLu /3/
Couresy: Kannadaaudio.com
Listen to the song by Shri Vidyabhushana: http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/De...ushana/Enu.ram
31st July 2009, 09:34 PM
Devoted Hubber
ICM Kannada
Meaning of the song Enu dhanyaLo lakumi:
How fortunate (dhanya) and respectable (mAnya)
woman is Mahalakshmi (lakumi)
Serving (sEve mADutihaLu) Shri Hari herself(tAne)
with love/passion(sAnurAgadiMda)
There are servants (bRutya) in crores (kOTi-kOTi)
to serve hATakAMbara(Shri Hari with golden apparels)
excellent(shrEShTa)/unmatched (sAtiyillade) service (sEve)
done by noble-woman (pUrNaguNalu)
Catra-umbrella, cAmara-fan made of wool (animal's hair)
vyajana-another type of fan, paryaMka- Cot
serving Shri Hari, a marvelous historian (citra caritanAda)
daily (nitya) in various forms (pAtra rUpadalli)
Shri Mahalakshmi is serving Shri purandaravittala, who is
flawless/stainless (sarva dOSharahitanAda), having Garuda as
his vehicle (garuDagamana), worshipped by all (sarva vaMdya)
available everywhere (sarvatradi vyAptanAda)