Thread: IR News and Other Titbits Ver.2009

Threaded View

irir123,

Your views on films and novels being inspired and you being disappointed is fine. Mostly because the whole film or novel is taken and changes made to suit local taste, but the whole thread is taken from the movie. Case in point could be 9 to 5 and Magalir Mattum.

In case of these songs, I would rather think them to be similar to what many poets / lyricist do. That is, take a couple of lines of another poem and build a new poem / lyrics on that. For example, Gulzar takes Ghalib's couplet, "Ji Doondtha Hai" and then builds his song on that and it is beyond doubt an original song. Similarly, Veturi takes 'Dorakuna Ituvanti Seva' of Tyagaraja and builds his lyrics on that and it is original. I would take these songs in the same fashion.

(If you see the poster who had posted these samples, his intention is clear. I mean if someone can call MSV as 'Copy Cat' and put up a disclaimer when he talking about Rahman's 'inspirations', you can see where is his coming from.)

As dochu says lot of current MDs are masters in hiding their inspirations and also getting their 'inspirations' from far off and not oft heard places like Azerbaijan / Armenia etc. I listened to the links you posted and the other youtube links and could marvel at Raja's talent for seeing something that no one could possibly see. Like 'kadhal vandiduchu' in a hard rock number.