Page 8 of 28 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: House Hold Tips

Member Junior Hubber
    And yes R, I am a true - blue Chennai lady, at present residing in Dubai, UAE.

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    Hello sun,

There are many solutions available in American stores to clean the hardwood floors. Mine is murphy brand. When it comes to hardwood floor, monthly once should be enough becoz wood cant take too much of water as it will expand.

As per the instruction, you have to apply the solution directly on the floor and mop it hardly; otherwise, it will stick at our leg. So, it is ok to mix the solution with quarter bucket(depending on yr house size) of water and do the mopping.

About polishing, dont know how old is yr house? And, when we shifted to our new house, we called up a servant maid to do the polishing at the apartment. So, you can check at any maid cleaning service. Hope this helps.

Thanks Indu. Can we dip the used vilakku in water? did not know this..What you meant is, after 24 hrs of cleaning, take them out, wiping and do the painting, right?

My vilakku has more oil stains than the black. I dont think that pitambari is available here just like sambal and rock salt too. But, I can try this vinegar method..will let you know. BTW, which bleach I can use-the one we use for clothes or a different one?

More queries here- my brass vessels's coating is coming out. I didn't notice it till now. I thought that the lifetime is very long. Is there any way to use them ? Is there any alternative to use instead of brass vessels becoz it is meant only for doing pooja purpose; I dont know what are all the things available currently in the market just for pooja purpose.

Take yr time and revert to me back..bye..

Senior Member Regular Hubber

I used white toothpaste again for cleaning my silver kamakshi vilaku and all the blackness went off....it was really easy to use.jus apply tooth paste on the surface and keep rubbing with fingers. you can see the blackness coming out..This was the second time i used toothpaste for cleaning silver.It works fine...

Am pregnant and in last trimesters and To clean the bath tub it was becoming a huge task. I found this product Mr.Cleans Magic reach for cleaning shower and bath tub very useful.. It comes with a long wand (4feet) and with the scrub pads. Jus wet the pad, scrub the surface of the bath tub and shower tiles. rinse off with water...becomes clean....easy to use ...

Anitha

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    Hi R,
    I Got SoS and Pam spray..SOS works incredible..Thank u for that..Regarding the agal vilakku i'll ask my mother when i call her up and will revert back..

GVB

Good to hear gvb and am waiting to get a response from yr mother.

Can you atleast answer my question about ironing silk sarees/mysore silk sarees?

Bye.

Member Junior Hubber
    Hi R,

Ironing sari is a back breaking job --- literally! Esp. silk / mysore silk, it is better to use low heat [some iron boxes have switches like low, med. etc. depending on fabric to be used]. Ironing SHOULD be done only when the sari is a little damp, before it fully dries. Sprinkling water or using steam-iron for silk saris is very wrong method, it will spoil the weave, look of the sari. Care should also be taken to keep a cloth [like a towel] over the sari & then iron the cloth -- NEVER use iron directly on silk / expensive sarees.
    Regarding your query on brass vessels, am not clear what it is --- you want a good method for cleaning brass vessels ? What is the coating, from the vessel itself ? For worship only brass or silver vessels we use. For pouring water for tulsi plant, I use a copper small pot.

I have read your pm, will mail you shortly ok.
    Bye,
    Indu.

Senior Member Devoted Hubber
    Hi R,
    Well my mom said for "vengala" villakku she uses tamarind(wet) for scrubbing and then washes with regular detergent..For "mann" vilakku she soaks them in medium hot water with detergent b4 rinsing..I will get a detailed explanation and post it tomm..
    For ironing i pretty much iron the way Indu had said..I wasn't sure whether its the right way but now am glad..

Thanks, both of you for the tips.

Yes, Indu. The color of the thaambaalam is coming out and can see the inner color(how to call). Initially, thought that am not washing it properly; now, realized that the color is going away. So, I am confused whether to use or not and if I buy a new brass vessel, the same will happen, no?

Have not heard this kind of problem from my folks/friends.

Member Junior Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by rsankar
    Hello,

I just saw the "Hard Anodized" wok, what is this? (this is looks like non stick)and is this best for cooking?
    Hard Anodized is not a non stick cookware.
    It has a semi non stick feature plus better durability than non stick.
    that even lets you use metal spatula or stirrer
    If you have caution toward non stick, Hard anodized is much safer and durable !!

To learn more facts on Anodized cookware go to -
    http://www.perfectpeninsula.com/AnoDeepKadai220.html
    http://www.perfectpeninsula.com/AnoC...riddle275.html
    http://www.perfectpeninsula.com/AksAnoCoo5L.html

Anodized cookwares gains value for your money.

--Gayathri---

Page 8 of 28 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast