Page 69 of 154 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179119 ... LastLast

Thread: Hindi songs of Emotional Impact - nostalgic, favorites etc

Senior Member Veteran Hubber V_S's Avatar
    Please continue sir! Some scintillating songs shared from Seema, Ganga Jamuna and Janak Janak Payal Bhaje. JJPB yet another masterpiece from Vasant Desai. I dont' know who started this trend. Many songs that time fell into the same raaga category like in 'Naine so Naine'. Mayakkum maalai pozhuthe ne po po, Kalaiye en vaazhvinil and even one shankar-jaikishan song, I think sung by Talat ji, can't remember now.

Seema song was sung by lata ji in some outstanding fashion, especially the climax sangathis, what a control, yet elegant and what a life in the song!

Senior Member Veteran Hubber rajraj's Avatar

Shivaranjani for the weekend

Shiavaranjani is a raga used to express sorrow or longing. Here is a song from the 60s:

From ' Piya milan ki aas' (1961)

There are many songs in Shivaranjani. I will post some later.
    " I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber Sunil_M88's Avatar
    SD Burman's Waqt ne kiya

A song to dance to: Ek pardesi mera dhil le gaya (Phagun-1958)

Ek pardesi mera dhil le gaya - Phagun 1958

The tune was used in Alibaba and 40 Thieves=Tamil (alibabavum 40 thirudargaLum)

Chinnanchiru chitte en cheenaa kalkaNde

" I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber tfmlover's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by rajraj View Post
    Ek pardesi mera dhil le gaya - Phagun 1958

The tune was used in Alibaba and 40 Thieves=Tamil (alibabavum 40 thirudargaLum)

Chinnanchiru chitte en cheenaa kalkaNde

hi rajraj

the original ,which came in 1954
    composed by S.N. Tripathi

(Modern Theatres remade the same to Tamil with MGR in 1956
    in which 'Veda' pretty much carried the same tunes )

your 'Ik Pardesi Mera Dil Le Gaya from Phagun which came 1958 ,
    re-derived work by O . P Nayar ,so to speak

Thanks tfml for reminding me. I have songs from both 'alibaba aur chaalis chor' and alibabavum 40 thirudargaLum' in my list to be posted later, particularly "maasilaa uNmai kaadhale"!

Quote Originally Posted by tfmlover View Post
    hi rajraj
    your 'Ik Pardesi Mera Dil Le Gaya from Phagun which came 1958 ,
    re-derived work by O . P Nayar ,so to speak

Darbari kanada for the weekend

There are many songs in Darbari kanada or a tune close to the raga. I chose this one because it happens to be a bhajan and also brings out the raga well:

Tora man darpan from kaajal kehlaye(1965) by Asha Bhonsle:

Have a good weekend!

Afsana likh rahi hoon - Dard (1947)

Naushad Sahib

Each word is pure soul, you don't get this kind of music anymore

Here is the youtube link with lyrics!

Quote Originally Posted by Sunil_M88 View Post
    Afsana likh rahi hoon - Dard (1947)

Naushad Sahib

Each word is pure soul, you don't get this kind of music anymore

Thanks raj raj

Pyara pyara yeh sama hai LATA FILM LAL QUILA 1960 MD S. N. TRIPATHI.avi

Those inter spaced instrumentations between the charanams e.g @1:06 are heavenly to say the least