7th November 2011, 08:11 AM
Please continue sir! Some scintillating songs shared from Seema, Ganga Jamuna and Janak Janak Payal Bhaje. JJPB yet another masterpiece from Vasant Desai. I dont' know who started this trend. Many songs that time fell into the same raaga category like in 'Naine so Naine'. Mayakkum maalai pozhuthe ne po po, Kalaiye en vaazhvinil and even one shankar-jaikishan song, I think sung by Talat ji, can't remember now.
Seema song was sung by lata ji in some outstanding fashion, especially the climax sangathis, what a control, yet elegant and what a life in the song!
7th November 2011 08:11 AM
12th November 2011, 10:56 PM
Shivaranjani for the weekend
Shiavaranjani is a raga used to express sorrow or longing. Here is a song from the 60s:
From ' Piya milan ki aas' (1961)
There are many songs in Shivaranjani. I will post some later.
" I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.
13th November 2011, 01:28 AM
16th November 2011, 07:14 AM
A song to dance to: Ek pardesi mera dhil le gaya (Phagun-1958)
Ek pardesi mera dhil le gaya - Phagun 1958
The tune was used in Alibaba and 40 Thieves=Tamil (alibabavum 40 thirudargaLum)
Chinnanchiru chitte en cheenaa kalkaNde
" I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.
17th November 2011, 08:34 PM

Ek pardesi mera dhil le gaya - Phagun 1958
The tune was used in Alibaba and 40 Thieves=Tamil (alibabavum 40 thirudargaLum)
Chinnanchiru chitte en cheenaa kalkaNde
hi rajraj
the original ,which came in 1954
composed by S.N. Tripathi
(Modern Theatres remade the same to Tamil with MGR in 1956
in which 'Veda' pretty much carried the same tunes )
your 'Ik Pardesi Mera Dil Le Gaya from Phagun which came 1958 ,
re-derived work by O . P Nayar ,so to speak
18th November 2011, 12:00 AM
Thanks tfml for reminding me. I have songs from both 'alibaba aur chaalis chor' and alibabavum 40 thirudargaLum' in my list to be posted later, particularly "maasilaa uNmai kaadhale"! 

tfmlover
hi rajraj
your 'Ik Pardesi Mera Dil Le Gaya from Phagun which came 1958 ,
re-derived work by O . P Nayar ,so to speak
18th November 2011, 06:24 AM
Darbari kanada for the weekend
There are many songs in Darbari kanada or a tune close to the raga. I chose this one because it happens to be a bhajan and also brings out the raga well:
Tora man darpan from kaajal kehlaye(1965) by Asha Bhonsle:
Have a good weekend!
21st November 2011, 09:04 AM
Afsana likh rahi hoon - Dard (1947)
Naushad Sahib 
Each word is pure soul, you don't get this kind of music anymore
21st November 2011, 09:43 AM
Here is the youtube link with lyrics! 

Afsana likh rahi hoon - Dard (1947)
Naushad Sahib
Each word is pure soul, you don't get this kind of music anymore
21st November 2011, 08:47 PM
Thanks raj raj
Pyara pyara yeh sama hai LATA FILM LAL QUILA 1960 MD S. N. TRIPATHI.avi
Those inter spaced instrumentations between the charanams e.g @1:06 are heavenly to say the least