• Scintillating Seventies - Light & Semi-Classical

3 5.00%
  • Scintillating Seventies - Advent of WCM Technical Depth

4 6.67%
  • Exhilirating Eighties - Early 80's fusion

30 50.00%
  • Exhilirating Eighties - Mid 80's Auto-Pilot Smooth orhcestration

15 25.00%
  • Exhilirating Eighties - back to folk in the late 80's(Ramarajan etc)

2 3.33%
  • New Age Nineties - Early 90's classics(Devar Magan, Ejamaan etc)

3 5.00%
  • New Age Nineties - The Malayalam Majesty

1 1.67%
  • Maestro's Magic - 2000's

1 1.67%
Page 217 of 347 FirstFirst ... 117167207215216217218219227267317 ... LastLast
Results 2,161 to 2,170 of 3468

Thread: Raja's Gems - the latest one you heard...Part 3

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    @V_S and Suresh - love you guys Actually hanging with folks like you here has some 'rasanai' finally rubbed off on me.
    chirugaali and gaajula - childish ? - hmm. Just the oh oh humming in chirugaali is worth the album cost and I thought Vijay has done his father proud. gaajula - the singer does a good job..really enjoying it - not to mention you wont know what sort of a rhythm you are listening to any time.

kiru,

No rubbing off and all. You have always had great rasanai and honestly don't need any help in this direction

Yes, the humming in 'Chirugali' was worth the album cost. I personally feel this is one of the best songs of Vijay Jesudas. (He is good in 'Oru Chiri Kandal' as well). 'Gajula' is sung by Manjari. Her voice, not very malleable, suits such songs very well. ('ambum kombum', 'thamara kuruvikku' are other songs which suit her.) For some reason Raja has not been using her much. But she has done some superb songs under Raja's baton.

Senior Member Platinum Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by Sureshs65 View Post
    For some reason Raja has not been using her much. But she has done some superb songs under Raja's baton.
    IMG, she has stopped singing after marriage (i.e. for films)...I remember posting her marriage pic in one of the threads.

Well, here we have the contemporary Mallepoovu being discussed while the other thread is seeing some lovely poetry meeting classic tunes.
    Now, I’ve been tripping on another offshoot, quite tangential to these two - some spicy AP gonkura! After a sumptuous dose of Swarnakamalam, I happened to bump into one Mr. Kondaveeti Donga and from then on it’s been Chamaku Chamuku running in a loop. No poetic lyrics or soft romance here, instead what we have here is a celebration of love in pure kitsch form! Subtlety, take a moment’s rest please!

I haven’t seen the movie, but going by the lyrics, the movie title, Megastar and Vijayshanti listed as the lead actors, one can safely assume this one to be a dance number from a late 80s/early 90s potboiler. Raaja does what is expected of him in such a situation - a nice masala ‘beats’ song. But if that was all he had to offer, he wouldn’t be the Raaja of music, would he! The man lays down a beat worthy of a legshake and then sneaks in his magic. He selects a classical ragam and weaves the tune to it (MMG base, some site says MMG’s janya - Malahari of Lambodhara lakumira fame, in which case, would this be the only film song set to this ragam?). That isn’t all, he lets his bass do the talk right through the song - plucks and slides and taps - the bass is quite literally the 3rd singer in the song! A dash of intoxicating saxophones and violins, and the dish is ready to serve - piping hot, tear dripping spicy Gonkura rice!

Manjari, never been a big fan of her singing, but I love the song Ketkavillaya from Madhu in which she does fine. But it's Raaja who steals the show with his effortless singing.

Junior Member Devoted Hubber
    KV,

That Chamaku Chamaku is one amazing composition. It is probably the 'finest' example to show someone what kind of 'commercial' music did Ilaiyaraaja essentially give to telugu people. Ilaiyaraaja is probably the only composer, in Telugu film industry, who could strike that amazing balance between mass and class. This song, is actually a mass song because it was from a commercial potboiler film, with Chiranjeevi. The lyrics too underscore that. But what does this composer do? He chooses a classical raaga. Adds a thumping rhythm. inserts a mind-boggling slap-guitar and no, it is not just playing the same note - but its notes progress to higher scales and also lower. Bloody goose-bumpy. That slap-guitar is, according to me, the USP of the song. The interludes are stunning. And look at the way he allows the string orchestra to take an ascent as counter-melody in the background when the lines "Bandham vesthaava, alle andham tho". And the way he brings the charanam to a closure - ILAIYARAAJA ONLY! PERIOD! I am not much a fan of other songs in that film, but this particular song pretty much makes up for it!

PS: The outstanding opening of the song from 0:01...right to the point where vocals start... that entire portion - that piece is a ring-tone on my phone. And it is the first ringtone I ever made myself (i mean, cutting from a song), back in 2005.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber V_S's Avatar
    KV and aakarsh in terrific form. Wonderful write-up on chamaku chamaku. You have given me listening assignment in the evening.
    Thanks. I can already smell the hot venkaya pappu, mouth-watering gonkura pulusu, tomato perugu paccidi in chamaku chamaku and in your writings.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber jaiganes's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KV View Post
    Manjari, never been a big fan of her singing, but I love the song Ketkavillaya from Madhu in which she does fine. But it's Raaja who steals the show with his effortless singing.
    aahaa "ketkavillaya" and "nilavai sutri" - gems from Madhu - finally found someone who would stand up for these songs in these parts of the woods.. nandri hai KV.
    Apparently, a democracy is a place where numerous elections are held at great cost without issues and with interchangeable candidates.
    - Gore Vidal

Chamaku Chamaku is bloody awesome
    Drolling over those guitar slap bass , also feel there are some scale changes happening , absolutely terrific
    This man is astonishing

V_S ji , I think you are the best person who can answer this question , since you have this neat playlists.
    As i was listening to this song Darling I love You from Aaradhanai

Was wondering what are all the full fledged English lyrics songs composed by Maestro.
    Some which i can think of are
    1) Darling I Love You - Aaradhanai
    2) I Want to tell You Something - Anand
    3) Sing Swing - Moodupani
    4) Angel - Kaverimaan
    Im sure there should be much more.
    Please add to the list