Results 3,511 to 3,520 of 3993

Thread: The Golden Era of Dr.IR and Dr.SPB

Senior Member Diamond Hubber PARAMASHIVAN's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by groucho070 View Post
    Raghu, your "Ennadhu Ghandiya suttutAnggalA" reaction is always priceless
    AllOv,

I did not see this film
    Om Namaste astu Bhagavan Vishveshvaraya Mahadevaya Triambakaya Tripurantakaya Trikalagni kalaya kalagnirudraya Neelakanthaya Mrutyunjayaya Sarveshvaraya Sadashivaya Shriman Mahadevaya Namah Om Namah Shivaye Om Om Namah Shivaye Om Om Namah Shivaye

Quote Originally Posted by app_engine View Post
    Both will be from the "rich fellow" movie
    Panakaran ?
    Om Namaste astu Bhagavan Vishveshvaraya Mahadevaya Triambakaya Tripurantakaya Trikalagni kalaya kalagnirudraya Neelakanthaya Mrutyunjayaya Sarveshvaraya Sadashivaya Shriman Mahadevaya Namah Om Namah Shivaye Om Om Namah Shivaye Om Om Namah Shivaye

Senior Member Platinum Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by PARAMASHIVAN View Post
    Panakaran ?
    Yes sir!

"silence" & "ding ding dong" are the SPB duets from that album...

Appa anna , intha sir ellam romba over

BTW, I need some Tamil lessons, please tell me the meaning of the following words

Ponaram ???
    Poovaram ???
    Singaram ??

Param,

'Aram' means 'mAlai' or 'chain' (ponnAram = gold chain, poovAram = garland)...In math, 'Aram' means 'radius' (which is funny as the same word means 'circle/ ellipse' in the ornamental context).

singAram means beauty (have you heard the phrase 'singArachchennai', means beautiful Madras)...singAri means beautiful girl, singAra vElan is beautiful (handsome) Kamal

BTW, if you are talking about the SPB song from 'pagalil oru iravu', that word is not singAram - it is "srungAram", that means romance

#323 சைலன்ஸ், காதல் செய்யும் நேரம் இது
    (பணக்காரன், 1990 , ஜானகியுடன்)

'silence, kAdhal seyyum nEram idhu' of paNakkAran

Sugary SPB-SJ duet from a biggie Rajinikanth movie that had the pretty Gautami romancing him (possibly inside a library, and that's the reason for 'silence-silence'). I think this was the movie where we first noticed the "shake-head-only" dance movement, which was hilarious. The movie had some other funny things too - like Gautami doing imitation of Rajini style and rAsA singing for Rajini (uLLukkuLLa charavarthi). And, it had regular masAlA things like Vijayakumar having two women, Radharavi villaththangangaL, Gautami paNakkAriththimirththanangAL, the typical piRappu ragasiyam, rAsA singing title song (maraththa vachchavan) etc.

I think the movie was a hit (even me watched twice in Palakkad theaters, one time due to simble vettiness and the other time motivated by thaNNi). The songs were quite popular too. At the time of arrival of the album, SJ version of nooRu varusham was my top favourite (Mano does the male version which features Rajinikanth in saree on screen). Especially the anupallavi portion - onnukkonnu pakkaththulA - is so sweet! Over the years, however, it's the SPB-KSC duet that gets the top mark from me and very enjoyable. The silence song is ok kind - the trumpet sound is definitely enjoyable but the melody / drums / vocal harmony etc are strictly ok variety and not extra special.

P Vasu is the director - who has by this time proved to be a successful alternative to SPM. Wiki says story by "Prakash Mehra", so it must be another AB kalaichchelvam
    Last edited by app_engine; 19th March 2012 at 10:07 PM.

Senior Member Devoted Hubber genesis's Avatar
    Param,

'Aram' means 'mAlai' or 'chain' (ponnAram = gold chain, poovAram = garland)...In math, 'Aram' means 'radius' (which is funny as the same word means 'circle/ ellipse' in the ornamental context).

singAram means beauty (have you heard the phrase 'singArachchennai', means beautiful Madras)...singAri means beautiful girl, singAra vElan is beautiful (handsome) Kamal

BTW, if you are talking about the SPB song from 'pagalil oru iravu', that word is not singAram - it is "srungAram", that means romance
    AFAIK, Aaram (ஆரம்) is a Tamil word, so are Poo (பூ) and Pon (பொன்) - So Poovaram and Ponnaram are pure Tamil words. Where as Singaar is a Sanskrit word loosely translated as beauty or make-up. Per Tamil grammar "Am" or "An" added to Sanskrit words to Tamilify them - Ram becomes Raman, Raaga becomes Raagam. So, even though Singram rhymes with Poovaram and Ponnaram the etymology is completely different.

Moreover I think Singaar and Shrungaar mean the same thing.... but at some point Shrungaar somehow got associated with romance in South India.

singAra vElan is beautiful (handsome) Kamal
    அப்பனே, முருகா!! இதெல்லாம் கொஞ்சம் ஓவர்.
    Last edited by genesis; 19th March 2012 at 10:24 PM.

Yes, Laawaaris. Angrezi mein kehte hai I luv u is the 100 varusham equivalent

Quote Originally Posted by Plum View Post
    Yes, Laawaaris. Angrezi mein kehte hai I luv u is the 100 varusham equivalent
    nanRi, Plum!

I only know the AB-sung number 'mErE angnE mEin tumhAra kya kAm hai'

#324 இரண்டும் ஒன்றோடு ஒன்று சேர்ந்தது
    (பணக்காரன், 1990 , சித்ராவுடன்)

'iraNdum onROdu onRu sErndhadhu' of paNakkAran

This song is a karumbuththOttam!

Both SPB & KSC are at their sweetest and rAsa in top form as well, fixing an exclusive rhythm arrangement plus some new sounds (guitar or synth that follows each line of pallavi)! Spices with some exotic wind instrument concoction (like how they spice in karumbu juice stalls), in addition to a kombuththEn melody (typical situation of saraNam >> pallavi)! Easily the best song of the album and IIRC quite enjoyable visuals as well! (Smart-looking Rajini with gorgeous Gautami - it doesn't matter what setting & how they shake legs, body, hands & heads etc. Such a sweet song and a great pair guarantees enjoyment. Period).

Like I warned, some senti to follow - nothing romantic but related to the device shown on screen for the song - the clock!

Well, not exactly a clock but wrist watches

Today, they are considered jewelry and not the primary means of time keeping. (For many years now, I don't wear one at all - as we're surrounded by devices with digital clock all the time - PC / phone / dashboard etc ; so namma wrist romba free).

However, it wasn't so 3 decades back - one depended on them on everyday basis as well as for travels. So much so that the HMT company was advertising as "timekeepers to the nation"

There was this north indian college / hostel mate who had predominant body hair (> one cm long and very thick on wrist area) who was always wearing an old watch, very tightly strapped making the hair suffer / leave a mark etc and he used to talk about it to everyone (when & how his dad gifted him, how many years old, how valuable etc). I'm sure many boys of 70's & 80's had some kind of "watch tales" - even Thamizh movies featured scenes with them , like trading them in a restaurant for a meal they cannot pay, adaku vaikkal to tide over a crisis etc.

So, let me dedicate a few paras for my own "watch tale".

The first one I had was from my grandpa - a rectangular one with only 2 hands and a gray strap (possibly black when new and faded). I had it for my 6th-8th grade and by that time it was totally unreliable (ishtappattA mattum Odum) and had to be retired. That was no big issue as we lived inside school campus and 'maNi adikkum' sounds can help calculate the closest time. Then came an opportunity to get a new one!

Those days rural students had an option to write a national talent exam, based on their ranks in 8th grade and can win 2 scholorships per panchayat union. That merit scholarship can land them in selected "town schools" with all hostel & such fees covered upto 1K / year (which was more than adequate). I got it (when in 9th) but wasn't very thrilled to go to a "town school / hostel".

Well, that particular year, our school - though a village one - got added as a "host" and we were thrilled. Also, I had two options : (a) Stay in hostel & get 1K or (b) Stay day scholar & get 0.5K Without question, option (b) was chosen and it meant Rs 500 per year, until end of schooling and we could keep it! For the first year, they sent a "pro-rata" amount of Rs 350 and that was my first "earning" ever

A few days later, I went to school with a hmt avinash (beautiful white dial with a black circle, cost Rs 237) which had too long a chain and was worn over a handkerchief to hold in place The elderly asst-HM who took the first class (colleague & friend of appA) wasn't amused and took it to his table and worked on it for a few minutes with a safety pin obtained from a girl - removed a couple of chain segments and voila! It fitted perfectly now!

That continued till I got my first job, for about 9 years! (Then it became unreliable, pushing me to get an "automatic"). Then there were many watches / gifts etc over the years and now bare hand but that avinash cannot be forgotten

p.s. With the balance money, my ammA got a saree and that was my first gift to her, bought with my own money
    Last edited by app_engine; 20th March 2012 at 02:52 AM.