1st May 2012, 12:08 PM
Platinum Hubber
Any maNNin maindhargaL lobby that is forcing England to do such things?
மூவா? முதல்வா! இனியெம்மைச் சோரேலே
1st May 2012 12:08 PM
1st May 2012, 12:25 PM
Platinum Hubber
First comment there..
You can be a British citizen after 4 years of legal stay in this country and why should we have a separate cut-off for professional cricketers?
idhai chonnA nammaLai paithiyakkArandrAinga
1st May 2012, 12:30 PM
might be do with Kolpak ruling with counties taking undue advantage in fielding overseas players
some more dope
Under the Kolpak ruling a player from any nation sharing an associate trading relationship with the EU is free to play as a professional within the EU. Since the ECB allows only two overseas players for each county, this ruling enables the counties to circumvent the limitation and hire professionals from outside England, especially from South Africa.
Speaking after 22-year-old Highveld Lions batsman Vaughn van Jaarsveld became the latest player to sign a Kolpak contract, Majola told the South African Press Association, "We are particularly worried about the young players taking up Kolpak contracts. We have invested a lot of money in them, through the national cricket academy and in other ways."
"Vaughn is a case in point. We have been watching him since he was at school. We could see he had something special, now he has indicated that he wants to try to qualify to play for England, and our investment in him is lost."
Majola said that England was as badly affected by the ruling as South Africa. "Because of the strength of the pound, they can get a better and cheaper Kolpak player than an English player. This means that English players are having difficulty coming through the system."
"
The whole Kolpak thing is affecting international cricket, with more and more players opting to play county cricket. If nothing is done, you'll find the world's best players on the county circuit, with second string players representing their countries, and international cricket will just go downhill."
Gaana Kalaadhara Gandharva Gaana Lola Kaliyuga Gaana Thilaga
Nadha Brahma Kochchappa Brother Seshappa
1st May 2012, 01:19 PM

First comment there..
You can be a British citizen after 4 years of legal stay in this country and why should we have a separate cut-off for professional cricketers?
PR.. the eligibility is 5 completed calendar years.. wrong info'nala correct pannen, nothing more
1st May 2012, 01:22 PM
Platinum Hubber

First comment there..
First question yourself - are you arguing here seriously with due respect to facts and logic. England-ai poRuththa mattilum ipdi logic pEsuvInga. adhE mAdhiri if we get a New Zealand or Aussie fast bowler legally here, adhukku matttum pre-emptiveA "not natural"-nu oru sambandamE illAdha argument koNdu varInga? Arent you ashamed of your illogic?
Secondly, artla democracy - is that to bait me? What kind of stupid thing to bring in here? Have you lost your sense of logic? Artla democracy koodAdhunuu sonnEn yes. endha contextla? enna meaningla? Lets take an example - I dont like Vijay so I'd say he is a bad actor irrespective of how many crore people say he is good. That is the extent of that argument. Would I (or you ) say that suppose Vijay-ai pidikkAdha oruththar avarai pOttu thaLLittA, it is good only because the net result - of that meaning that Vijay doesnt act in movies any more - is to my liking?
What you are saying is that you dont like IPL - that's fine. You are saying you will ignore it. Fine. You are saying no matter how many millions hail it, you'll call ti a tamasha only. Fine. But where you are crossing the line is that "if someone hurts the IPL, irrespective of the legality and professionalism of it, I will support it and call ti a sport-saving act". Arent you ashamed to claim this? Arent you ashamed to try and give that "Art democracy" quote as if you are kidukki pidichufying me by quoting me on that? idhellAm dhAn unga honest argumentA? ennamO ennai mattum nAn ungaLai bad-A kANbikka apdi pEsarEnnu sonnInga? idhellAm enna?
You keep saying "Show me examples of ECB doing wrong". But whenever we show, you pooh piooh it or bring some such stupid arguments to make it look "idhellam sarva saadharanam". idhula you think you are being perfectly reasonable here, eh?
Take the WI tour example - it is akin to your management getting you and your team to do work for a side-project over the weekends without paying you, asking you to do extra work outside your contract. You seem to be in full support of it just because it is Chris Gayle who is getting affected, not you. Would you do that? Arent you ashamed to support such an act by ECB just because it suits your opinions?
1st May 2012, 11:07 PM
Platinum Hubber

mgb
PR.. the eligibility is 5 completed calendar years.. wrong info'nala correct pannen, nothing more
Oh ok. adhu mAmbazham, idhu vAzhappazham, aanaa prachchanai ellAm oNNu dhaan.

Flau
adhE mAdhiri if we get a New Zealand or Aussie fast bowler legally here, adhukku matttum pre-emptiveA "not natural"-nu oru sambandamE illAdha argument koNdu varInga? Arent you ashamed of your illogic?
Not ashamed.
I think I myself told you the greatest contradiction of all. Sonia Gandhi becoming PM of India would not seem odd to me. Albie Morkel opening the bowling would.
idhukku mEla enna solla mudiyin? 
Racism-naalum oru consistency vENdAmA. enakku adhuvum kidaiyAdhu. Case-by-case basis.

Flau
Secondly, artla democracy - is that to bait me?
Nope.

Flau
What kind of stupid thing to bring in here? Have you lost your sense of logic?
What you are up against here is not illogic, but cold amoral logic. It is the decided amorality that you find staggering. I understand that.

Flau
Lets take an example - I dont like Vijay so I'd say he is a bad actor irrespective of how many crore people say he is good. That is the extent of that argument. Would I (or you ) say that suppose Vijay-ai pidikkAdha oruththar avarai pOttu thaLLittA, it is good only because the net result - of that meaning that Vijay doesnt act in movies any more - is to my liking?
pOttu thaLLittA - rejected as analogy. adhellAm inciting-kaaga neenga solRadhu. idhai thaan invidious writing 'ngrEn. Even you don't mean that.
Get him/genre muzzled- is a more appropriate analogy. Let me respond to that..
You are far more democratic than me in saying 'each to his own'. I am not.
So if the powers muzzled the genius of Murali for their own politics, as you allege, it does not concern me. It keeps the game 'clean'.
If Ranatunga fights against the 'oppression' and thus gives everyone the leeway to chuck, then it annoys me because it messes with the game, regardless of what the balance-of-power implications are.

Flau
But where you are crossing the line is that "if someone hurts the IPL, irrespective of the legality and professionalism of it, I will support it and call ti a sport-saving act".
True. I agree I am aware of crossing the line when I enjoy what-I-don't-like being frustrated by political developments.

Flau
Arent you ashamed to try and give that "Art democracy" quote as if you are kidukki pidichufying me by quoting me on that? idhellAm dhAn unga honest argumentA? ennamO ennai mattum nAn ungaLai bad-A kANbikka apdi pEsarEnnu sonnInga? idhellAm enna?
Art in democ. was an expression equa. used when talking about multiple readings, intentional fallacy etc. That is where I picked it up.
I make it a point never to insinuate, show-opponent-in-poor-light in a debate. In fact I go out of the way to react so, even when juicy opportunities present themselves. idhellAm neenga thara vENdiya compliment, enakku naanE sollikka vENdi irukku. thalaiyezhuththu.

Flau
Arent you ashamed to claim this?
No. It gets worse, read the rest of the post..
adhukku munnAdi...irunga oru position-la pOyi ninnukkurrEn:
Real tolerance does not exist, what we do not value we make a virtue of tolerating in others - Chachaji Nehruji

Flau
You keep saying "Show me examples of ECB doing wrong". But whenever we show, you pooh piooh it or bring some such stupid arguments to make it look "idhellam sarva saadharanam". idhula you think you are being perfectly reasonable here, eh?
What arguments have I pooh-pooh'ed Plum?
Changing bouncer-rule, changing fielding rules arbitrarily, bias in refereeing, bodyline was invented by England - idhellAm oththukka dhaanE seyREn.
I will pooh-pooh switch-hit conspiracy-theories every day of the week. So?

Flau
Take the WI tour example - it is akin to your management getting you and your team to do work for a side-project over the weekends without paying you, asking you to do extra work outside your contract. You seem to be in full support of it just because it is Chris Gayle who is getting affected, not you. Would you do that? Arent you ashamed to support such an act by ECB just because it suits your opinions?
Totally agree. It is wrong in principle - assuming it is true, as it likely is. I just liked it that they attempted to mess with IPL.
If you call me unprincipled, selfish, objective maximizer - then I will take it without a whimper of protest, or - to use your word - shame.
But if you call me a 'blind' ECB apologist - then I disagree. avvaLo dhaan solREn.
Tomorrow if England wins several T20 worldcups on the trot(t) and India/Aus ally to ensure T20 gets derecognized as a format, I would like you to have no doubt in your mind, that I will be ecstatic.
You thought I was kidding when I say things like, I'd love to see the stock market bottom out?
ennOda petulance-ai humour-nu ninaichutteenga pOla.
That's a bit disappointing Plum. oru siladhu viLayAttukku solRavan dhaan. aanaa appappO seriousAvum pEsuvEn. adhai makkaL madhikkiRadhillai. Woody Allen also same problem.
1st May 2012, 11:13 PM
Platinum Hubber

Majola
"Vaughn is a case in point. We have been watching him since he was at school. We could see he had something special, now he has indicated that he wants to try to qualify to play for England, and our investment in him is lost."
Brain-drain argument. On every IIT-ian the exchequer spends...

Majola
Because of the strength of the pound, they can get a better and cheaper Kolpak player than an English player.
Not at all denying this. But what is special about cricket compared to other fields?

Majola
This means that English players are having difficulty coming through the system.
Onaai nanaiyudhEnnu aadu azhudhudhaam
1st May 2012, 11:17 PM
Platinum Hubber
Thanks - you are just like the Englishmen you support, then. No Wonder you like them. nInga 1900sla poRandhurndhA. Rao bahadur, Rai bAhadur (depending on whetehr you were born in South or North) vAngi iruppinga. Ofcourse, you'll take that as a compliment.
1st May 2012, 11:18 PM
Platinum Hubber
I am going to call you Rao Bahadur Prabhu Ramar henceforth. Her Majesty, the queenOda Indian representative adhigAri illaiyA?
1st May 2012, 11:44 PM
Brain-drain argument. On every IIT-ian the exchequer spends...
enna analogy edhu
pliss to compare the fees from early 00s to now..with abysmal state of research at all our esteemed institutes students are probably spending more..less said about the plight of students taking post-graduates in India the better also US can survive w/o them and they would probably get a competent Chinky/Filipino for every IITian but can't say the same about English cricket vis a vis mercenaries
your brain-drain argument would have hold some water had SA wasn't test nation 
Not at all denying this. But what is special about cricket compared to other fields?
lack of home grown talent/inherent laziness to find/groom a talent w.r.t cricket and with counties looking for shortcuts to championship.
Gaana Kalaadhara Gandharva Gaana Lola Kaliyuga Gaana Thilaga
Nadha Brahma Kochchappa Brother Seshappa