View Poll Results: Your most favourite song in the album is..?

Voters
72. You may not vote on this poll
  • Ennodu vA vA endRu solla mAttEn

34 47.22%
  • sAindhu sAindhu nee pArkum pOdhu adadA

30 41.67%
  • kAtRai konjam niRkach chonnEn

34 47.22%
  • vAnam mella keezhiRangi maNNil vandhu aadudhE

33 45.83%
  • muthal muRai pArtha nyAbagam

43 59.72%
  • satRu munbu pArtha mEgam mARi pOga

38 52.78%
  • pudikkala mAmu padikkaRa college

21 29.17%
  • peNgaL endRAl poiyyA poi dhAnA

21 29.17%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 166 of 247 FirstFirst ... 66116156164165166167168176216 ... LastLast
Results 1,651 to 1,660 of 2469

Thread: Neethane En Ponvasantham | Yeto Vellipoyindhi Manasu | Assi Nabbe Poorey Sau

Junior Member Junior Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by V_S View Post
    Suresh ji,
    As I said before, many could not even digest this success. They don't want this to happen. They are not seeing the music, they are seeing the man and his good old 80s. rediff is one among them, they want to intentionally play it down, so that that the soundtrack does not get its credit. Very cheap tricks. Let them be happy.
    Yaar enna sonna namakku enna saar? Namakku nalla music kidachirukku. Enjoy pannuvom. Public response is awesome.Cds sold outnu Sonye sollittanga. Nalla eriyuttum vayiru.

Quote Originally Posted by V_S View Post
    Suresh ji,
    As I said before, many could not even digest this success. They don't want this to happen. They are not seeing the music, they are seeing the man and his good old 80s. rediff is one among them, they want to intentionally play it down, so that that the soundtrack does not get its credit. Very cheap tricks. Let them be happy.
    Yaar enna sonna namakku enna saar? Namakku nalla music kidachirukku. Enjoy pannuvom. Public response is awesome.Cds sold outnu Sonye sollittanga. Nalla eriyuttum vayiru.

Superbly put V_S. My request to everyone is the same. This is an album at an entirely different level when it comes to film music and I see it as milestone in Indian film music, just like 'Guru' was.

Regular Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by MumbaiRamki View Post
    Enna ya solla vareenga . Naanga avaLavu pudhi saali illa
    Mannichidunge anne..got carried away by this magical album..just wanted to convey that proper respect and inspiration is a requisite element apart from paying salary to bring the best out of Isaignani.By the way thiru 'BRIGS' avargal should apply for a patent for that magnificent invention

Regular Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by ashivanji View Post
    IMHO (im a layman..no technical or scientific knowledge on music..just a listener) with 'MUDHAL MURAI' and to some extend 'PENGAL ENDRAAL' Ayya says "F O" loud and clear to all pseudo rockers,(com)Posers,baile funk importers and the schmucks who spend money and time on them as well as the reviewers who assume the role of the authorities in music

Quote Originally Posted by Sureshs65 View Post
    I see one side and suddenly I find someone seeing some other side and I am surprised how I missed it !!! That's why I urge more people to write their impression on Raja's music so that we will get an idea on the different ways he has impressed people.
    Good point. Most of Raja's songs has lot of depth in it. So it allows for more than one interpretation. He often uses one musical idea to express multiple things and color/contrast one emotion with a related emotion or different emotion. It is not easy to figure out all.
    My video blogs on storytelling in Ilayaraja songs --> http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...7EZL2qTp7nmqPH

Senior Member Platinum Hubber
    indha shankar kozhappam enna?

Hub Shank = BR Blog Shankar = BR's BITS Pilani mate. CorreettA?
    innoru shankar yAru?
    (andha innOnnu DhAnga idhunnE sollikittirukkInga :scratchead:

Its for everyone to see that Raaja does on the spot composing unlike those midnight wallahs. He never does anything behind the back of the directors and when they narrate the scene music is born right in front of them. That is his style for more than three decades now. So the accusations of getting inspired or ripping tunes from x,y,z are laughable and are best ignored.

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    ...This is an album at an entirely different level when it comes to film music and I see it as milestone in Indian film music, just like 'Guru' was.
    Agree ..after repeated listening .. this is in the filmy/popular genre..but a milestone it is ..
    I have always thought of "Indian Film music" as a genre.. and I said it "reached" its peak with IR (once - in the context of style shift after IR). But I have to say now he is taking this genre "higher".
    The fundamental composing style is still the same . With

* interludes (solo violin in muthan murai interlude is a Raja touch)
    * no percussion or atleast for a short time in the interludes
    * use of the orchestra in interludes
    * use of the strings/orchestra for the higher octave portions of pallavi-charanams
    * the use of "bridge" from pallavi-charanam to interlude and vice-versa
    * charanams much quieter with subtler rhythm so you can enjoy the lyrics/tune (muthan murai, pengal enRal have quiet charanams)

But different/more fresh with -

* more infusion of harmonic elements (vaanam mella, kaaRRai konjam)
    * conscious avoidance of oft-used guitar chords etc (saaindhu saaindhu)
    * avoiding same instrumental phrases (except the first charanam in ennodu vaa vaa instrumental usage sounds fresh throughout)
    * the non-annoying anglicized accented singing
    * there are some changes in tune composition too (cannot put my finger to it though)
    * heavy usage of rock elements which have only been seen in a very muted/minimal way in earlier works (pengal enRaal - interlude sounds Pink Floydish to me, the cello string/electric guitar prelude to muthan murai is awesome)

Consequently there is freshness and lack of familiarity to hard-core IR fans (including self).
    To echo venkiram - this is a "Renaissance of the Orchestra" in film music .. A revival of the genre (in my opinion).
    Last edited by kiru; 6th September 2012 at 11:27 PM.

Senior Member Diamond Hubber Nerd's Avatar
    My review of 'katrai konjam' : http://onlyraja.wordpress.com/2012/0...-ponvasantham/

cc; Bala (K)
    Super ji

The first interlude and the charanams are my favorite. So many things going on in the first interlude. Sax conversing with the electric guitar(?), followed by the chorus, flute and the violins with the piano playing a counter melody all this time. The piano continues without any accompaniments for a while till that pause. Then the oboe playing the piano's tune. Blissful. Also the pallavi after the charanam has delightful violin 'punches'.