View Full Version : YSR's New Albums - Version 2006

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

sgmsin
28th June 2007, 12:35 PM
Any one listen of yuvan latest "Thottal poo malarum" songs????!!!! no updates till now regarding this.....

vasanth2006
28th June 2007, 11:29 PM
Satham podathey......

its not an instant album.....(i also got disappointed during CD release function)
it requires multiple hearings to get the feel of the songs...

its really good album...

My pick of the album is "ohh intha kadhal". a typical U1 song....pure u1 style....

as usual yuvan rocks....

vasanth2006
28th June 2007, 11:34 PM
TPM....

poor marketing and promotion.... where can i get the songs??

hariprasadb23
29th June 2007, 10:21 AM
i got the cd of thottal poo malarum two days before itself in planet m music stores.i was out of station so i was not able to post the review.

basically i was not not intersted in buying this album since of p.vasu since he is an old guy.

two songs are good.one by hari charan, nd other by vijay yesudas.other songs r not good.

satham podathe was in 4 th place in planet m music stores.

hariprasadb23
29th June 2007, 11:19 AM
he guys anybody in orkut please give ur user names nd we shall become friends in orkut.

buddysathi
29th June 2007, 11:41 AM
do u know ysr is there in orkut? make him ur friend! :-)

vigneshram
29th June 2007, 02:04 PM
do u know ysr is there in orkut? make him ur friend! :-)

I think he's closed down his profile... recently

vigneshram
29th June 2007, 02:07 PM
he guys anybody in orkut please give ur user names nd we shall become friends in orkut.

That's a good idea.
Already myself (Vigneshram) and Vasanth are in touch through Orkut too. Also, I have seen our friends Sanjeevi and Karthik_SA there.

Let's gather ourself in orkut and start a community :)

karthik_sa2
29th June 2007, 07:07 PM
TPM dono y took up this project???vasu films general'aa konjam cheap'a dhaan irrukum..that too a debut hero yet again..lets see...

judge
i failed to make it to the sp audio release function...heard the songs though...as everbody said not so appealing on the first listen but now i feel three songs are really good. "oh indha kadhal", "peasugiraen" and "endha kuthirayil"" esp endha kuthirayil final loop is really good..

29th June 2007, 08:48 PM
judge
i failed to make it to the sp audio release function...heard the songs though...as everbody said not so appealing on the first listen but now i feel three songs are really good. "oh indha kadhal", "peasugiraen" and "endha kuthirayil"" esp endha kuthirayil final loop is really good..

Yeah, those 3 songs rock. Glad to hear that you also like them.

vasanth2006
30th June 2007, 12:11 AM
judge

Yeah, those 3 songs rock. Glad to hear that you also like them.

me also... i like "azhagu kutti chellam" also. its also good tune... only drawback is the starting bit and the noisy BGM. The recording of this song is poor...

"kadhal periyatha" not live up to the expectations, its not bad though. bottom of the album.

initially i thought "entha kuthiraiyil" song is bad. after multiple hearings i felt like the best techno orchastration song....highly stylish song... check the second interlude...

pesikintraen....nice song...the beautiful interludes, melting tune in the saranam makes the song more plesant....

Musically ok.....but movie reach anathan...pattu nalla hit agum...

1st July 2007, 08:16 PM
Any one listen of yuvan latest "Thottal poo malarum" songs????!!!! no updates till now regarding this.....

hey ganesh,

same pinch... am also surprised abt it yaar. usually, songs will be available at raaga, galatta portals the very 2nd or 3rd day. review will be posted in milliblog.com very quickly. nothing happend forthis album :(

i think this wil be another album like thamirabani which has not attracted ppl. if somebody listen to this album, pls post it soon...

Kreedam
1st July 2007, 08:17 PM
Coming up the mega release for yuvan

BILLA 8-)

2nd July 2007, 08:50 AM

BILLA 8-)

i have a feel that billa wil have only few quality songs. already news is coming up that it contains a remix. as an album it wil disappoint the mass.

2nd July 2007, 10:47 AM

BILLA 8-)

i have a feel that billa wil have only few quality songs. already news is coming up that it contains a remix. as an album it wil disappoint the mass.

eNNa ArUdamA? :banghead:

2nd July 2007, 10:54 AM

BILLA 8-)

Yes of course.... my predictions are correct most of the times... :lol:
wait and see.... :evil:

2nd July 2007, 10:59 AM

BILLA 8-)

Athathan naanum solren i.e. wait and see :twisted:

vigneshram
2nd July 2007, 11:12 AM

BILLA 8-)

Athathan naanum solren

wait and see :twisted:

Sanjeevi, Let's not lose hope. Yuvan never fails to deliver his best for his close pal, Vishnu.
I am sure, the songs of Billa are going to rock.
Thats what Premgi told me personally. :D

2nd July 2007, 11:16 AM

BILLA 8-)

Athathan naanum solren

wait and see :twisted:

Sanjeevi, Let's not lose hope. Yuvan never fails to deliver his best for his close pal, Vishnu.
I am sure, the songs of Billa are going to rock.
Thats what Premgi told me personally. :D

No vignesh :), I believe that Billa will contain definitely better music as you said, its a U1+Vishnu combo.

2nd July 2007, 12:39 PM

Let us verify that once the audio releases ! :lol:
Till then :shhh: :rant:

2nd July 2007, 01:12 PM
So far this Yuvan-Vishnu combo (except Kurumbu which was their first attempt) did not disappoint, so the audio will prove viraajan wrong for the first time who claims never went off-track predicting :)

karthik_sa2
2nd July 2007, 02:20 PM
songs eppadi irruko illayo..bgm pattaya kalapum..remember dhina???for the first time ajith was projected as a mass hero and bgm , humm.. played an important role in that ... billa conceplt kaekavae vaenom..will be yet another milestone for ajith and yuvan playing playing an important role in it :wink:

2nd July 2007, 02:32 PM
songs eppadi irruko illayo..bgm pattaya kalapum..remember dhina???for the first time ajith was projected as a mass hero and bgm , humm.. played an important role in that ... billa conceplt kaekavae vaenom..will be yet another milestone for ajith and yuvan playing playing an important role in it :wink:

Esp the DOOR SLAM BGM ! :D and the DHINAKKU DHINAKKU DHINA DHINA ! The whole bit was superb ! His BGM in the intro scene of THALA was :P ! :bluejump:

I think BGM nalla irukkum kirathu yuvan padathula eppavum irukkum. But inga songs romba nalla vanthirukku ! (as per premji)

Expecting 10 x Dheena ! I am 200% sure that YUVAN will deliver ! 8-)

2nd July 2007, 03:47 PM
SP songs are now busy in Chennai FM channels :). I listened 3 songs today.

3rd July 2007, 09:27 AM
Bought the TPM CD and listened to it couple of times. Yuvan's offerings with commercial/jaded directors are not up to his level. But to my surprise, four songs are good out of 6. There are 3 melodies, and 3 adithadi songs. Among the melodies, 'arabu naade' is easily the pick and among adithadis 'ennai pidichcha'. Both are sung by Hari charan. This album is much better than 'thamirabarani', overall another good album from yuvan.

sgmsin
3rd July 2007, 12:02 PM
Mr. Judge.

Thanks for your updates on TPM Songs

3rd July 2007, 01:44 PM

thats right selva. but my view is, when you expect much in u1's album, he disappoints (eg. satham podathey, which is not as good as poovellam kettupar). i dint expect much in deepavali, but he really rocked in that album with three unique songs...

lets wait...

3rd July 2007, 01:45 PM
Mr. Judge.

Thanks for your updates on TPM Songs

No problem.

For those who like to listen, I have just uploaded a 3-min sample clip of Arabu naade at Rapidshare:

http://rapidshare.com/files/40733838/TPM-ARABU-NAADE.mp3.html

3rd July 2007, 01:49 PM
So far this Yuvan-Vishnu combo (except Kurumbu which was their first attempt) did not disappoint, so the audio will prove viraajan wrong for the first time who claims never went off-track predicting :)

Mr. Judge, i agree in ur point that yuvan-vishnu combo wud not disappoint. even in kurumbu, he gave a master piece "Oviya". but there is no music director who can maintain consistency.

My personal feel is, yuvan should not try remix. he has remixed a song in billa. Thottal poo malarum remix in NEW by arr is a real remix. if yuvan does like this, it may work well in the mass.

Wait!!!!

3rd July 2007, 02:41 PM
but there is no music director who can maintain consistency.

I think Yuvan is the only director who is consistent nowadays.

My personal feel is, yuvan should not try remix. he has remixed a song in billa. Thottal poo malarum remix in NEW by arr is a real remix. if yuvan does like this, it may work well in the mass.

He has remixed not one but two for Billa (my name is billa and veththalaiya potendi). I am sure that he will do his part excellent. Also there is no rule for remixing, you can do however you want.

3rd July 2007, 03:02 PM
but there is no music director who can maintain consistency.

I think Yuvan is the only director who is consistent nowadays.

He has remixed not one but two for Billa (my name is billa and veththalaiya potendi). I am sure that he will do his part excellent. Also there is no rule for remixing, you can do however you want.

Not at all. Though am a craziest fan on Yuvan, i cannot deny the fact that Harris is better than yuvan in maintaining consistency. one main drawback of HJ is repetitive tunes. None of his of late albums has gone un-noticed.

But for yuvan, two albums Thamirabarani (u1 should not have tried his hands in a popular "karpura" song) and agaram (sunk without trace) went unnoticed. then how can you claim that u1 is maintaining consistency?

Doing 8-10 movies a year is not consistency. How successful are they? is what my point...

then,

No rule for re-mix: I agree, but, how long "adding flavors to the same tune, lyrics" will stand in listeners mp3 player. 3 months? re-mix are nothing but seasonal hits which is not at al a big deal. even imman, srikanth deva can do it. in fact they hav been doin it.

i dont say u1 should not try remix. but how unique is he????

3rd July 2007, 05:23 PM
Hey viraajan,

Just brush off these things, we will see how Billa comes out in a few months time.

Have you listened to TPM? What do you think of it? Let me know.

3rd July 2007, 05:47 PM

Wait!!!!

I don't want to go in detail about the other song you have listed here !
But reg REMIXES,
I think Yuvan should reduce the plain odd remixes that don't have any purpose in the movie and those that are getting added for commercial advantage. Out of the block, adding a remix to a new movie is what you are talking about. But reg billa, the movie itself is a remake of a old tamil movie. In that case, remix is something needed. I like few of his remixes except things like "karuppaana" :banghead: IF you take Arindhum Ariyamalum Thee pidikka song, though it was perceived as a remix, it was different.

Haven;t listened to Satham podaathey. I have diff of opinion on Deepavali. I agree songs were good compared to his previous thigns like Thaamirabharani, thimiru etc. With Vishal out of his way, hope u1 won't deliver such stuffs again. :)

I don't have any problems with his albums this year. PV - :) , deepavali - :) chennai - 28 ( :cool2: ) etc

4th July 2007, 09:18 AM
Hey viraajan,

Just brush off these things, we will see how Billa comes out in a few months time.

No MrJudge. Haven't listened yet. Have been trying to buy the cd. none of the shops in my area has got the cd. :huh: wil listen and post my reviews soon :)

4th July 2007, 09:21 AM

Wait!!!!

I don't want to go in detail about the other song you have listed here !
But reg REMIXES,
I think Yuvan should reduce the plain odd remixes that don't have any purpose in the movie and those that are getting added for commercial advantage. Out of the block, adding a remix to a new movie is what you are talking about. But reg billa, the movie itself is a remake of a old tamil movie. In that case, remix is something needed. I like few of his remixes except things like "karuppaana" :banghead: IF you take Arindhum Ariyamalum Thee pidikka song, though it was perceived as a remix, it was different.

Haven;t listened to Satham podaathey. I have diff of opinion on Deepavali. I agree songs were good compared to his previous thigns like Thaamirabharani, thimiru etc. With Vishal out of his way, hope u1 won't deliver such stuffs again. :)

I don't have any problems with his albums this year. PV - :) , deepavali - :) chennai - 28 ( :cool2: ) etc

Thats rite selva. as a craziest fan, i dont want u1 to be a commercial md. he should stand unique.

haven't listened to satham podathey yet???? what are you waiting for? listen to "Pesugiren" song soon. simple but extraordinary orchestration. :2thumbsup:

4th July 2007, 10:34 AM

thats right selva. but my view is, when you expect much in u1's album, he disappoints (eg. satham podathey, which is not as good as poovellam kettupar). i dint expect much in deepavali, but he really rocked in that album with three unique songs...

lets wait...

Musically, SP > Deepavali. This is my opinion and SP is the best of Yuvan in recent times beating Deepavai, Ch-28, etc. You will realize once after movie release.

4th July 2007, 10:38 AM

Mr. Judge, i agree in ur point that yuvan-vishnu combo wud not disappoint. even in kurumbu, he gave a master piece "Oviya". but there is no music director who can maintain consistency.

Wait!!!!

Nope. It was not remix, it is a new song with an existing lyrics. That's all. It had new tune and new music. But generally remix means wrapping a old tune with new music.

If you call "Thottal Poo Malarum" is ARR style of remixing then I would call "Thee Pidikka "(MKT song), "Saroja Saman Nikalo" (Annathae Adurar song) are Yuvan style of remixing. I support these kind of remix (both by ARR, U1). But definitely I can't suport general remix.

4th July 2007, 10:43 AM

lets wait...

Musically, SP > Deepavali. This is my opinion and SP is the best of Yuvan in recent times. You will realize once after movie release.

Yeah..i agree... i may like it after the movie releases. SP will be another milestone in Yuvan's career in term of BGM score. His BGM socre and re-recording in this movie wil be the talk of the town after the movie releases. Damn Sure!!! :thumbsup:

K
4th July 2007, 05:08 PM
U1 Even remixed Senthamil Then Mozhiyaal in chennai28 Jalsa pannunga da song

4th July 2007, 06:45 PM
Just uploaded the samples of TPM at

http://yuvan.wordpress.com/

vasanth2006
4th July 2007, 09:23 PM
Just uploaded the samples of TPM at

http://yuvan.wordpress.com/

judge,ur site is cool....am expecting more....all the best.... :D

4th July 2007, 09:59 PM
100 words. Finally!

http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2007/07/04/thottaal-poo-malarum-tamil-yuvan-shankar-raja/

popeye11
4th July 2007, 10:38 PM
Arabu Naade is just too good and so is valaiyil. Interesting that the kadathuren song has the similarity with U1s telugu song from happy or raam. Vaadi Vambu is good too. As usual U1 never fails to impress. Decent album

jegansavannah
5th July 2007, 07:53 AM
yeppa!inetk... i read your music review on TPM. but i hardly take that to account. personally i feel you dn't like yuvan's style. I have'nt seen any praise for U1's songs in recents times in your review. but 90% are huge hits. but you are ready 2 appreciate any1 who does 2% of worth work wht yuvan is doing these days....though your reviews are good.. but just try to be consistent..

5th July 2007, 08:22 AM
yeppa jegansavannah:

That 'I hardly take that to account' is the best thing you said and answers everything. Should we agree on everything we listen and enjoy it together? Cant our interests differ at all? I mean, why should the whole world like TPM music anyway? For those who do like it, its a great thing - as I always say, that there are very few things that give us joy and if TPM music is one of them, wonderful.

And this 90% huge hits in Yuvan's recent repertoire...is there a specific guideline that I must like those 90% hits?

Its not about consistency or agreeing with the market. Its simply about airing an opinion. If we do not seem to agree on that opinion - lets perhaps leave it at at and go on to the next topic, can we?

jegansavannah
5th July 2007, 08:34 AM
Hey dude.. Anyways good luck with your reviews. You may air your opinion . I am not agaistit.Its just my view. If you get offended by it . I am sorry abt tht. better leave the topic.

5th July 2007, 10:10 AM
judge,ur site is cool....am expecting more....all the best.... :D

Thanks, Vasanth. I will try to update it as much as possible.

5th July 2007, 10:26 AM
Absolutely no offense taken ma. Just that the 'praising others with 2% of Yuvan's work' was strange since its taken completely out of context! I loved Devi Sri Prasad's music in the just released Shankar Dada Zindabad, but that doesn't mean we can compare that with Yuvan's music - since the context is entirely different.

vigneshram
6th July 2007, 07:24 AM
One more remix
- Yuvan remixes T.R's "Raakaala velaiyila" for Simbu's Kettavan.

Enna kodumai sir idhu?

6th July 2007, 10:13 AM
One more remix
- Yuvan remixes T.R's "Raakaala velaiyila" for Simbu's Kettavan.

Enna kodumai sir idhu?

Simbhu :twisted:

Sure, the song will go to trash

7th July 2007, 12:05 AM
I haven't heard the remix of 'adiyEi manam nillunnA nikkAdhadi', though I've never thought that song needed a remix. It had sounds that will work at any point of time (and so are the youthful voices). If anything, there could be some recording quality issues that could be improved...even in that case, that should be only for the instrumental part, retaining the original voices (by getting whatever rights / permissions etc. from the original producer, who will only be too happy to get some money).

IMO, even that won't be necessary for 'rAkkOzhi koovaiyilE' which had fantastic recording quality as well. They can "re-play" it in the movie and it will still sound very good. Why re-mix or re-arrange? It cannot be made cooler, IMO...

7th July 2007, 04:04 AM
Does anyone else think that the beginning of the tune to "Azhagu Kutti Chellam" from Satham Podathey resembles the beginning tune of "Enakku Piditha Paadal" from IR's Julie Ganapathy?

Kreedam
7th July 2007, 01:26 PM
Arabu Naade from THOTAL POO MALARUM is rocking

7th July 2007, 10:42 PM
some awesome songs in Thottal Poo Malarum :thumbsup:

8th July 2007, 03:49 AM
Watched the chennai-28 on DVD...can't YSR compose a BGM on his own for the "Gavaskar bat" portions? ippadi pazhaya BGM'a (adhum song kooda illa, title music) play paNNi vidalAmA? asingam...

Agreed, the piece from aboorva sahOdharargaL is a classic, but since these scenes have no similarity, using that BGM - even in a comical way - cannot be justified at all...kaRpanai vaRatchi:-(

http://www.rakkamma.com/bgm.phtml?dir=Aboorva%20Sagodharargal/&file=Title%20score.mp3
has the evergreen score...

another interesting thing is playing almost 50% of 'poththi vachcha malliga mottu'...at least that's OK and such thing has been exisitng for a long time...I think YSR & other current MD's want to remix the song (or play the old song itself), copy the BGM (or play the original itself)....pEsAma ivanga stage troupe nadaththalAm...vetkakkEdu...

8th July 2007, 07:15 AM
App_Engine sir...bgm is by premgi amaren..and i guess this bgm is done more in a fun poking manner rather than a serious attempt....if they did this for a movie which required considerable amounts of input we can surely lash at them...but i agree with you about the copying instances of bgm...i dunt mind this but the more blatant attempts of remixing the bgm into their "own" bgm and using it as a score for the movie is sickening :evil:

8th July 2007, 08:28 AM
app sir, BGM of Chennai-28 has been done by Premji Amaran not by YSR. You can Premji's name in title also. Watch DVD again.

8th July 2007, 09:56 AM
I'm on a movie watching spree...to kill loneliness...the next one watched today was 'sandakkozhi' ...Here the repeated BGM for villain is the prelude of 'Asaya kAththula thoodhu vittu'...

Based on the few YSR movies that I watched, I'm convinced he cannot do decent BGM...ctrl-C/V fellow, esp. whenever it calls for innovative BGM...elsewhere, he fills in with standard "tangara-takkara" kind of stuff...I'm surprised that those who grew up with IR's music can even listen to this kind of trash and appreciate ...I see a number of them in this thread praising YSR's BGM...sigh:-(

8th July 2007, 09:58 AM
>>BGM of Chennai-28 has been done by Premji Amaran not by YSR<<

They could have better shown "BGM'kku nandRi - Ilayaraja avarkaLukku" in the titles instead:-)

8th July 2007, 10:43 AM
I'm on a movie watching spree...to kill loneliness...the next one watched today was 'sandakkozhi' ...Here the repeated BGM for villain is the prelude of 'Asaya kAththula thoodhu vittu'...

Based on the few YSR movies that I watched, I'm convinced he cannot do decent BGM...ctrl-C/V fellow, esp. whenever it calls for innovative BGM...elsewhere, he fills in with standard "tangara-takkara" kind of stuff...I'm surprised that those who grew up with IR's music can even listen to this kind of trash and appreciate ...I see a number of them in this thread praising YSR's BGM...sigh:-(

It is not a wonder because what can you expect from a guy who is growing with IR right from his birth :cool:

8th July 2007, 05:39 PM
Sanjeevi, I think I need to readjust my thinking in this way:

MSV & IR have probably attained the Bharathiyar like status that people can quote them (means copy/paste in whole or in parts) freely, without any acknowledgements (as thamizhargaL automatically recognize them like 'akara muthala ezhuththellAm', no need to say it's from kuRaL)...so, why bother? Take all these copying as silent tributes from next gen...I think the govt. can pay both these genius composers (and not their descendants many years later) some lumpsum and declare that their works are "nationalised" and are free to use by all and sundry:-))

8th July 2007, 11:26 PM
app_engine :lol:

"En paadalukku muzhu perumai enakku mattumthan kidaikka vendum (in music dept). Ethaiyum copy adikkum avasiyam enakku illai, Naan poduvathuthan paatu" - enra Veerappu, Irumappu IR-idam ullathu pol YSR-idam illai enru ninaikuren. If he has, why he is doing remixes....

9th July 2007, 09:01 AM
Hey viraajan,

Hey Judge,

Arabu naade is just awesome. Yuvan stands unique in this whihc i like very much. The song actually starts with hindi lyrics which is quite diff from usual songs.

Valayal karangal also good. lengthy lyrics is the only drawback of this song. but stil its ok.

Yuvan impresses with two unique decent songs.

You"won"!!!! Yuvan....

K
9th July 2007, 10:50 AM
Does anyone else think that the beginning of the tune to "Azhagu Kutti Chellam" from Satham Podathey resembles the beginning tune of "Enakku Piditha Paadal" from IR's Julie Ganapathy?

enakkum appadi thaan thonuchu

9th July 2007, 11:07 AM

enakkum appadi thaan thonuchu

am not sure abt it dragun.

you chek out this comparison.

"arabu nade asanthu pogum azhagiya nee" sounds like "neeyum azhagu nilavum azhagu... naalaiku nan azagu" lines from Vennila Siragadikka song of "Ponniyin selvan" movie...

this is just my opinion...

does any hubber feel this? if so post ur comments...

9th July 2007, 11:10 AM
Valaiyal Karangalai Parkiren :musicsmile:
Thamizh Arintha Isai Kalaignan
Enathu Sol Entha Naalum Thorkathu

Yuvan :notworthy:

Yuvan + Vijay Jesudoss combo :thumbsup:

BTW it looks like an IR song in Manasellam :roll:

tvsankar
9th July 2007, 11:15 AM
Which film is this?

9th July 2007, 11:19 AM
Which film is this?

Valaiyal KArangalai parkiren - Thottal Poo Malarum...

9th July 2007, 12:37 PM
I am shocked to hear that a film from P.Vasu has good songs :| :omg:

9th July 2007, 01:24 PM
I am shocked to hear that a film from P.Vasu has good songs :| :omg:

cool

only 2 songs are top class

BTW do you know IR+Vasu combination songs

Chinna Thambi (top class)
Walter Vetrivel (top class)
Kaakai Siraginilae (top class)
Sethupathi IPS (middle class)
Saathu (?? class)

and ARR+Vasu

Love Birds (top class)

vasanth2006
9th July 2007, 01:29 PM
Valaiyal Karangalai Parkiren :musicsmile:
Thamizh Arintha Isai Kalaignan
Enathu Sol Entha Naalum Thorkathu

Yuvan :notworthy:

Yuvan + Vijay Jesudoss combo :thumbsup:

BTW it looks like an IR song in Manasellam :roll:

I think it sounds like "poo poovai" from bala.

By the bye, why all peoples are saying that this song sounds like that song??? :roll:

I think 2 good albums from yuvan....as usual yuvan rocks... :D

ezy0265
9th July 2007, 04:37 PM
Vasanth,

Yuvan's recent hits are simply a class of its own and way above the normal standard produced by others.

There are many among us who could not tolerate the idea of Yuvan being so prolific and successful in producing high quality tunes and songs. They attempt lower the standard by repeatedly commenting like this sounds like this and that sounds like that remarks. They could be from some other camp, I can't comment on that.

9th July 2007, 06:16 PM
ezy0265, 'poonai kaNNai moodikkoNdAl..' is reminded by your post:-)

BTW, NOV avargaLai entha camp'il sErppeergaL? He has posted in the 'Copied songs' thread that 'jalsa paNNungada' of chennai-28 is a copy of 'senthamizh thEn mozhiyAL'...

YSR is today's Deva!

9th July 2007, 07:33 PM
YSR is today's Deva!

:P
So, shall we call IR as WCM "Deva" since he also has his own set of Inspirations and copies ? :lol2:
I agree on your points regarding the usage of IR tunes in BGM > just to satisfy the bunch of fans who are still remaining in the earth as IR fans and those who love to see a repeat of the trend but become much excited to criticize it as COPIES :)

It is high time U1 tries to leave such FANS who want to see such things in a u1 film :rant: Let us hope he avoid atleast using IR songs as BGM in movie like Paruthiveeran

and I do like many songs of DEVA and a comparison with DEVA will mean someone who indead stopped the success rate of a MD :lol2:

9th July 2007, 07:50 PM
selvakumar,
I've never supported IR's "copies" or "inspirations". Period. Simply because I love 100's of IR's songs (may be 1000's) does not mean that I'll close my eyes to his defects and treat him like a 'swamigal'. He is human, not infallible. And, if you want to call IR as WCM Deva, please go ahead!

However, if we go by that yardstick, we may have to find out a far-more deragatory term for today's MD's, whose percentage and shamelessness of copies / remixes / adapatations etc are beyond imagination! IMO, these MD's do not have that 'gift' of music but carry out their business like a number of "police-constable-turned-H1B-software-programmers" that one can see today in U.S.

Will you treat anopheles bite and cobra bite the same way? Well, veeRappukku 'reNdumE poison thAnE'nnu sonneengannA, it'll be time for me to decide, like, "no point in talking in this thread"...

9th July 2007, 09:28 PM
app_engine,

it seems you have Prakashraj syndrome in "Kadhal Sadukudu" hating vikram blindly

9th July 2007, 10:05 PM
Sanjeevi,
I haven't seen the film you're refering...still based on the words "hating blindly" "syndrome" etc., I can make out that you're trying to convey (probably) that I'm mentally challenged and cannot appreciate great musical talents...:-)

appadiyE irukkattum:-) I'm out of here...edhukku veeNA koovaththukkitta ninnukkittu 'nARudhu' 'nARudhu'nnu kaththanum...OdippoyiduvOm...ambuttu thAnE:-)

9th July 2007, 10:59 PM
app_engine payangaramana escape :)

Yes, yuvan has copied (some kadhal kondain songs). It is shame on him. I agree. But people do not need to hate him for entire life.

IMO, hereafter, he did not try the shameful thing but on the contrary he has given many wonderful songs originally and he has proved as a good MD. Whetever you have said, he has tremendous knowledge to do BGM and also surpassing ARR in this arena. Even an outside TFM watcher, dir Priyadarsan once said that "TFM has superb growing rate, IR, then ARR, now Yuvan....".

BTW see that film whenever you have time.

sgmsin
10th July 2007, 10:04 AM
[tscii:c99ef5b608]hi Guys,

Please stop talking about who copies whose tune. Hello Mr app_engine, finding flaw that every one can do. But every one has their own inspiration and also they may be inspired by some one. We can assume that what ever song you feel that yuvan copied, might be inspired from some one. But don’t forget that he provided so many nice songs. [/tscii:c99ef5b608]

vasanth2006
10th July 2007, 12:33 PM
yuvan is asking 1 crore for a movie....

after hearing this news HJ has increased his salary from 50 lakhs to 75 lakhs....

GVP is asking 50 lakhs for a movie...

sgmsin
10th July 2007, 12:44 PM
Where did you find this?!!!

I heared that HJ taking more than yuvan.

after hearing this news HJ has increased his salary from 50 lakhs to 75 lakhs....

karthik_sa2
10th July 2007, 12:48 PM
can u tell us the bgms yuvan copied from ir except johny-7g??? everyine here knows ir is a pillar in music and the substance he produced in his bgms were done by nobody in india so far..but can u name the next best md in bgm's .. am not saying yuvan is the second but i don think so even the legendry msv fits into this bill. when arr came he totally ignored the importance of bgms in a film.. undoubtedly some of his songs made him what he is now but as far as bgm is concerned it is yuvan who started giving importance and spent time on it.. 7g , kk, mounam paesiydahe ,pp had very good bgms but still don compare it with ir.. when ir can get inspired from furelise for mounaragam and used the piece most of the time y can't his son use ir's bgms..it is not that they lack creativity. they just like the music and thinks it best fits into a situation in a movie.. u cant claim them a deva who copies almost on an average one song in a film..
yuvan is a good md. i know his songs r not as evergreen as ir's works but it is as attractive as arr's.. that y after ir we started liking yuvan.
for people like u who just sticks to some preconceived notion will feel koovam wherever he goes..

10th July 2007, 01:29 PM
http://www.thuligal.com/index.php/thottal-poo-malarum-music-review

vasanth2006
10th July 2007, 02:06 PM

Thinathanthi.....

10th July 2007, 02:48 PM

Thinathanthi.....

http://www.dailythanthi.com/cn/cn_home.asp?issuedate=7/10/2007&secid=2

10th July 2007, 06:52 PM
Some personal attacks again ...I don't understand why people take comments on their idol so personally...so much that they jump to unreasonably brand fellow DF'ers insane...

...And hence one more post in this thread, for karthik_sa2, who happens to like IR's music like me:

karthik_sa2,
Before getting into personal attacks, you could have better checked a few pages back in this very thread for copied BGMs (even replayed) in sandakkozhi and chennai-28.

I watched 3 movies of YSR last week - chennai28, sandakkozhi and thamarabarani.

chennai28 - jalsa paNNungada is a copy of senthamizh thEn mozhiyAL ( T R Mahalingam classic, refer NOV's post in copied songs thread) + replay of pothi vachcha and another old song in the movie for situations where the crew ran short of imaginations + replay of aboorva sahodharargal title music for a couple of scenes

sandakkozhi - the villain theme is prelude of 'Asaya kAththula thoodhu vittu'...in addition, nothing earth shatteringly novel in the songs or BGM anywhere

thamarabarani - world knows about the asingamAna remix of 'karpoora nAyagiyE' and nothing else to write positive about (I don't think even most YSR fanatics liked this album, going by this thread)

pattiyal - I had a collegue whose sister sang a song with IR, namma kAttula - and so I heard that song...the singing was fabulous, esp. by the female voice Roshni and IR did decent as usual...but YSR? 'Adaludan pAdalaikkEttu' song'ai pichcu pichchu pOttirukkAr...kaRpanaippanjam:-(

By your own admission of Deva copying in "each" film, and my observation in the last few weeks (there are much more captured in this forum in other threads, like you yourself admitting 7G having Johny theme, and someone else telling paruththi veeran has IR's BGM replay), why can't I classify YSR in Deva's league? Especially since his total works is not even 50 projects and within this so many!

I don't have to prove to you that I'm NOT sticking to preconceived notions as I know only too well the differences between my personal preferences and objectively evaluating contemporary music. Of the works of YSR, I definitely liked 'poovellAm kEttuppAr' and 'dheenA' (thankfully I don't know whether there are any copies in these albums)...That way, even Deva or SAR would have surprised us with some good numbers here and there (whose originals were not identified)...

Such few numbers alone won't make someone to be considered in the league of MSV, IR and ARR! Yes I love a lot of ARR's works (that speaks for my closed eyes /ears, preconceived notions etc. very much, you see) and IMO, YSR may be called "poor man's imitation ARR", i.e. if you like that title better than "today's Deva"...May be both HJ and YSR compete for both these titles...

Finally, before pointing fingers at others and calling names, it is wise to check some facts...at least read the thread completely and then place your comments...And if you really want to hear what is contemporary music, trendy etc, please listen to 'munbE vA, munbE vA' and a couple of songs in "the boss":-)

10th July 2007, 07:09 PM
>>ir can get inspired from furelise for mounaragam <<

I haven't heard of this allegation before and unfortunately I didn't get a chance to see this movie.

http://www.rakkamma.com/bgm.phtml?dir=Mounaragam/
none listed here has any resemblence to fur elise

Let me watch the movie when I get a chance and comment. To my knowledge, 'fur elise' has been adopted into a TFM song sung by PS in the pre-IR era, 'en manadhu ondRu dhAN'...I'm not aware of IR using fur elise...(my son plays this almost every day and there's no way I can miss it from all the TFM I know of)

10th July 2007, 07:24 PM
App_engine,

About your complaints about Chennai-28, IR's BGM (and potthi vacha malligai mottu as well) was used for the fun quotient. I don't think that's because of Karpanai varatchi as you said.

I quite agree with your other points. Even then, I think YSR has got some talent. If he reduces the remixes, it would be good for him.

10th July 2007, 07:32 PM
littlemaster1982,
OK, agreed, we can ignore them as "fun" stuff, and remove other copies, like jalsa paNNungada etc. , then what 'kaRpanai seRindha' BGM / songs has the MD done in that film to get so much of noise by his fanatics? (Infact for most scenes, there were some bought-out sounds, keep keyboard stuff playing in a loop continuously, sheer irritating noise...e.g. the cricket match which runs for so much of time)...

IMO, the songs are below average as well...pinna En vAi kizhiya kaththaRanga?:-)

10th July 2007, 07:40 PM
>>If he reduces the remixes, it would be good for him.<<

Funnily enough, it's only increasing! In his next venture 'Billa", there will be TWO remixes of old Billa numbers (which were already below-average by MSV/TFM standards) ...

10th July 2007, 07:41 PM
App_engine,

I don't know what to say. All the three movies you watched have substandard stuff rom YSR (this is my opinion. Yuvan fans, dont jump on me).

But he has his share of good Albums too in the recent past. Eg: Paruthi Veeran, Pudhupettai, Ram, Arinthum Ariyaamalum, Kanda naal mudhal, 7GRC (if you leave out the theme music).

I'm not in defense of Yuvan, just wanted to share my opinion :)

10th July 2007, 07:50 PM

Funnily enough, it's only increasing! In his next venture 'Billa", there will TWO remixes of old Billa numbers (which were already below-average by MSV/TFM standards) ...

Yuvan will surpass those below-average numbers ! 8-)

Yup ! reg remixes, many have talked about it and as I said Billa as a whole is being remade. Athula remix irunda OK thaan and many will expect it as well 8-)

10th July 2007, 07:52 PM
Selva,

How about Yuvan coming up with better tunes instead of remixing those songs. Will you say no?

10th July 2007, 07:54 PM
selvakumar,
However, if we go by that yardstick, we may have to find out a far-more deragatory term for today's MD's, whose percentage and shamelessness of copies / remixes / adapatations etc are beyond imagination! IMO, these MD's do not have that 'gift' of music but carry out their business like a number of "police-constable-turned-H1B-software-programmers" that one can see today in U.S.

Will you treat anopheles bite and cobra bite the same way? Well, veeRappukku 'reNdumE poison thAnE'nnu sonneengannA, it'll be time for me to decide, like, "no point in talking in this thread"...

App_engine,
I never said that you are workshipping IR as saamiyaar and supports whatever he does. I think going by your yardstick i.e., putting YSR and DEVA on the same place, I think there is nothing wrong in branding IR as "WCM Deva" and I feel it is on a different plane as well ! And you have already used the relevant derogatory term for YSR and I feel what I used for IR is much lesser ! So, the arguement on anopheles bite and corba bite won't come here :-)
& Poison evvalavu irundaalum (no matter how large it is) impact will be same FYI

10th July 2007, 08:00 PM
Selva,

How about Yuvan coming up with better tunes instead of remixing those songs. Will you say no?

I won't. As I said, avoiding remixes is good. But just compare BILLA & his odd remixes. For billa, there will be a pressure in remixing. Few go for RE-TUNE ! For e.g., ARR did with Thottal poo malarum. So, ultimately we need to wait & see whether they are going for REMIX or RETUNE. Thsi we can conclude only after audio release ;)

I would be happy if he comes up with new tunes (Or re-tune with the same lyrics u can call) ! But again - remixes / re-tune ! let us see

10th July 2007, 08:26 PM
selvakumar,
To this date, there's nothing released by IR in WCM field, and how can we give him any title there? He has done mostly film albums, a couple of fusion albums (which are really classy) and an oratorio (that was acclaimed as well). Unless he releases his symphony #1 or something purely WCM in the future, we cannot give him any title in that area (whether Deva or otherwise):-)

And the inspirations / copies of WCM classics (and other sources) into his film scores have all been showcased / documented by IOKS, TFM-DF and people like itwofs Karthik. One can see that of the phenomenal array and quantum of scores (preludes, interludes, postludes, OST BGM's), these may be <1%. Still these cannot be ignored, but it is a fact he has been showcased and lashed for these mischiefs for a long time (right from IOKS days, believe me) and everywhere in the media. Enough bad publicity is given for these.

I still don't think he is "title worthy" in copying area, though, as his other works stand out HUGE in the total picture:-) People call Gandhi "mahAthmA" despite the well chronicled mistreatment of his wife. Why, because all have defects and when branding someone, we do "koottikkazhiththu final net sum". Are we going to learn how to lead a family life from him? Definitely not, but we do learn such higher principles as humility, simplicity, honesty etc.

By the same token, IR is fit to be called a musical genius, maestro, and not otherwise, IMO.

And by similar measures, the current TFM MD's (ARR excluded from this list as his works here are few and far between while he concentrates elsewhere), including YSR, don't merit a positive mention in the TFM history, again IMO. If he proves otherwise in the future, I'll be only too happy to welcome it. However, as of now, his quality has been very suspect, to put it mildly.

Liitle master,
neenga list paNNinadhula I've heard one song from aRindhum aRiyAmalum, which was a revised version of an old MKT number.

And 'kanda nAL mudhal' itself is not a YSR original (like 'alai pAyudhE kaNNA' used in movies but none can claim credit for that)...

Looks like if we keep looking a little closer, he'll have very few left on his plate, IMHO.

jegansavannah
10th July 2007, 09:57 PM
Ayyo peria manusangala. evalavu naala ippdiyae pesitae irrupinga... summa arachamaave arachitu irrukeenga... tfmpage na... bashing mattum kidayadhu.. .. be productive man.. konjam intrestinga pesungapa... just becoz... idhu online forum naale ellarum peria Bethovan , Mozart nenaipu..
There will be always inspiration.. sometime it goes overboard.. adhu tappu illae...bore adikudhu guys unga useless vadham especially app_engine... if u like IR .. good.. Even i am hightime IR fan ... so adhukaga i wont say others are bad.. the trend has changed a lot. understand that and this is YSR forum i think it is for discussing about his recent works.. if u wanna bash him better start one ysr bashing forum and write what all you feel so we wont waste our time in reading it.

10th July 2007, 10:43 PM

Funnily enough, it's only increasing! In his next venture 'Billa", there will be TWO remixes of old Billa numbers (which were already below-average by MSV/TFM standards) ...

I agree 100% and wondering why the team is going to remix My name is billa and Vethalaiya poteendi songs.

10th July 2007, 11:22 PM
neenga list paNNinadhula I've heard one song from aRindhum aRiyAmalum, which was a revised version of an old MKT number.
pattiyal - I had a collegue whose sister sang a song with IR, namma kAttula - and so I heard that song...the singing was fabulous, esp. by the female voice Roshni and IR did decent as usual...but YSR? 'Adaludan pAdalaikkEttu' song'ai pichcu pichchu pOttirukkAr...kaRpanaippanjam:-(

Vitta oru song naduvula, radio-la oru pazhaiya pattu varura mathi irunthuchuna - revised version / remix of that song - nu solluvenga pola. How can you forget, "Saroja Saman Nikalo" song? Call it as remix of "Annathae Adurar" song.

IMO, remixs won't help yuvan, yuvan may get some cheap fans but on negative side, it is damaging yuvan's name. But as selvakumar said, we may exclude Billa number becase the movie itself is a remake.

Such few numbers alone won't make someone to be considered in the league of MSV, IR and ARR!

Almost I agree and he should has to go long way to reach that level. Whether he will succeed or not, I don't have suspection on Yuvan's talent and I can't rate him as Deva level simply because of some shameful remixes and copies. I can forgive him 8-)

And if you really want to hear what is contemporary music, trendy etc, please listen to 'munbE vA, munbE vA' and a couple of songs in "the boss"

Yes, munbe va and newyork songs are extraordinary compositions and some Sivaji songs are scintillating stuffs many other MDs can't do the same even in their dreams. I think, you've lost interest on new songs after ARR. How can you ignore some YSR stuffs?. Do you need list of scintillating numbers (excluding PKP and Dheena) by Yuvan to rate him? :huh:

Oru naalil, Nizhalinai nijamum, Devadai kandein, Ninaithu ninaithu, Kan pesum varthaigal, Kana Kaanum, Anbae en anbae, Merke merke (KNM), Kadhal valarthen, Yemaindi (telugu, AMAV), Mun Paniya and very recent Arabu Naadae are some among them.

Did you hear?

11th July 2007, 01:45 AM
>>the trend has changed a lot<<
>>There will be always inspiration.. sometime it goes overboard<<

Definitely, jegansavannah!

What people used to do on "light music stage programs" (infact people still have these stage shows) has become what MD's do today for their new movies. Both groups do for their 'vayitRu pizhaippu' which is OK.

The main irritable difference is the stage fellows will acknowledge the original composer while YSR/Dhina/Iman/Bharadwaj/HJ (and their fanatics) do not and claim "what a great job is this" "what a creativity" etc...

enna oru change'ppA!

>>this is YSR forum i think it is for discussing about his recent works<<

adhu dhAnE seyyaROm, yAr kitta irundhu eppadi surutti irukkAr'nnu:-) If there's great work being done otherwise, why don't you guys talk about them? It was another person who dragged IR into this forum (calling him WCM Deva) and that had be straightened up...except for that, everything else was about YSR's "works" only...(yes, yes ctrl C/V'yum work thAnE?)

11th July 2007, 11:09 AM
http://www.buzz18.com/features/music/rahmans-got-competition-at-home/2942/0

A close second is Yuvan Shankar Raja's Satham Podaathay, which boasts of an impressive line-up of singers. With Shankar Mahadevan, Shreya Ghosal and Sudha Raghunathan lending their voices to Raja's tunes, this album is disappearing off the shelves just as quickly

11th July 2007, 11:23 AM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-slide-shows/movie-1/top-ten-songs/tamil-cinema-topten-songs.html

Pesugiren song ranked no. 1 this week by behindwood.

his that true this album so popular in TN ?

11th July 2007, 12:36 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-slide-shows/movie-1/top-ten-songs/tamil-cinema-topten-songs.html

yeah definitely, this particular song is busy in Chennai FMs

11th July 2007, 12:42 PM
http://www.buzz18.com/features/music/rahmans-got-competition-at-home/2942/0

A close second is Yuvan Shankar Raja's Satham Podaathay, which boasts of an impressive line-up of singers. With Shankar Mahadevan, Shreya Ghosal and Sudha Raghunathan lending their voices to Raja's tunes, this album is disappearing off the shelves just as quickly

& Chennai 28 is still in the list :)

11th July 2007, 05:05 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/yuvan_070711.html

yuvan becomes the 2nd composer to charge Rs.1 Cr after ARR. If this is true, is he worth it?? i feel, notworthy

11th July 2007, 05:22 PM
.. when ir can get inspired from furelise for mounaragam and used the piece most of the time y can't his son use ir's bgms.. :roll: :roll: i dont think so.....infact there is an pld kamal movie where this fur-elise une is used as is.....Marocharithra????

11th July 2007, 05:29 PM
........... and IMO, YSR may be called "poor man's imitation ARR", i.e. if you like that title better than "today's Deva"...May be both HJ and YSR compete for both these titles...
app, i think HJ is slightly above YSR in content, another good quality HJ has is his constantness. there is not great Ups and Downs and his hitrate is moderate, constant. his music has several nuances than BGM. but i know he is also an inspired. Did u listen to Unnaale Unnaale title track along with "If you had my love" - Jennifer lopez!!

11th July 2007, 06:35 PM
yuvan becomes the 2nd composer to charge Rs.1 Cr after ARR. If this is true, is he worth it?? i feel, notworthy

He deserves. 1) Cassette sales 2) Youth crowd puller to cinema halls.

i think HJ is slightly above YSR in content, another good quality HJ has is his constantness. there is not great Ups and Downs and his hitrate is moderate, constant

what are you trying to proove here. the game is finished. he (75 lakhs) is behind Yuvan (1 Crore).

11th July 2007, 07:22 PM
........... and IMO, YSR may be called "poor man's imitation ARR", i.e. if you like that title better than "today's Deva"...May be both HJ and YSR compete for both these titles...
app, i think HJ is slightly above YSR in content, another good quality HJ has is his constantness. there is not great Ups and Downs and his hitrate is moderate, constant. his music has several nuances than BGM. but i know he is also an inspired. Did u listen to Unnaale Unnaale title track along with "If you had my love" - Jennifer lopez!!

I don't think so. Both of them have their own UPs & DOWNs. Just take this year. So far it has been a good year for U1 :D

Chennai - 28
PV
Deepavali
AMAV

But for HJ it is just Unnalae Unnalae :)
But we need to wait and see on how both these guys go ! Indha varudam, YSR leads HJ :) (as of now)

11th July 2007, 07:22 PM
sanjeev i am not a teacher to prove anything, i just said my opinions and still i go by them, HJ is slight better than U1,NOWADAYS.........

11th July 2007, 07:24 PM
Beema vanhtappuram U1 is kaama sooma :lol:

just fot fun..

vasanth2006
11th July 2007, 08:37 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/yuvan_070711.html

Definitely yuvan deserves......yuvan has been improving..... :D

vasanth2006
11th July 2007, 08:55 PM

yeah definitely, this particular song is busy in Chennai FMs

not only that song, total SP is very busy in FM channels 8-) .....but TPM is missing....ithukkuthan intha mathiri padathukku poda vendamnu solrathu......no marketting....no publicity....even cd is not available in the shops.... :banghead: appuram eppadi??

According to me TPM is partially good album ( 4 out of 6 songs good). SP is complete good album ( 5 out of 5)....

vasanth2006
11th July 2007, 09:21 PM

chennai28 - jalsa paNNungada is a copy of senthamizh thEn mozhiyAL ( T R Mahalingam classic, refer NOV's post in copied songs thread) + replay of pothi vachcha and another old song in the movie for situations where the crew ran short of imaginations + replay of aboorva sahodharargal title music for a couple of scenes

App_Engine sir,

Ch-28 BGM by premji....not yuvan. moreover that are fun scenes...

then jalsa song.....yes the starting lines are similar to old song...
but very small portion(only jalsa pannunga line)....like "enna vilai azhage" from "thangapathagathin mele"......

then you forgot the gems like yarro, un parvai and blistering saroja, world cup songs....

sandakkozhi - the villain theme is prelude of 'Asaya kAththula thoodhu vittu'...in addition, nothing earth shatteringly novel in the songs or BGM anywhere

do u mean the theme music of sandaikozhi???, if yes then sorry..i dont find any similarity.....

thamarabarani - world knows about the asingamAna remix of 'karpoora nAyagiyE' and nothing else to write positive about (I don't think even most YSR fanatics liked this album, going by this thread)

basically remixes are not for musical fans...that is for front-benchers....so we (yuvan fans) all know that...and we are enjoying his original songs. period.

Then pattiyal pathi pesunathala solren.....pattiyal BGM ketturugeengala??....if no then check it out.....yuvan has blasted in western techno BGM....wit very good theme....he has taken the class.....

I think u have pinpointed the negative things of yuvan.......but you ignored the gems of yuvan......please check all the yuvan songs and hear BGM of all the movies.....you will understand that y he is leading...
no offence sir..this is my stand....

vasanth2006
11th July 2007, 09:29 PM
SP is going to release in mid august....y they are delaying??

vasanth2006
11th July 2007, 09:34 PM

Talent wise yuvan is far better than HJ...... it is well known fact....HJe yuvanai parthu pramichu paraturaru.....but i like that competition....then only we will get good music....

vigneshram
12th July 2007, 09:26 AM
not only that song, total SP is very busy in FM channels 8-) .....but TPM is missing....ithukkuthan intha mathiri padathukku poda vendamnu solrathu......no marketting....no publicity....even cd is not available in the shops.... :banghead: appuram eppadi??

According to me TPM is partially good album ( 4 out of 6 songs good). SP is complete good album ( 5 out of 5)....

Vasanth,
I rarely lend my ears to FMs and recently I found that TPM's "Arabu nade" is busily doing its rounds in Chennai FMs.

Even I heard the mediocre "Vittaal suriyanai" in Radio mirchi...

Arabu naade is such a scintillating number that will reach the youth despite poor marketting :thumbsup:

vigneshram
12th July 2007, 09:43 AM

Agreed that HJ is more consistent and ensures that most of his songs are sure hits and are being telecast repeatedly in satellite channels.

But, look at the number of projects he had composed so far from Minnale,
I guess he would not have crossed even 25 and analysing the songs he had come out with so far...
1. Male solo -love song (e.g - "Azhagiya theeye- Minnale","Uyirin uyire - Kaaka kaaka",

2. Female solo love & intimate song (e.g.- Vaseegaraa, Ondraa irandaa, Unakkul naane)

3. Love duets (e.g. Paartha mudhal naale, Un siripinil, Ivan yaaro)

4. Pathos (e.g. Venmathi venmathi, Oh Maname)

5. Hero intro or admiring nature ( Thirunelveli alwa da, Moongil kaadugale, Karka karka)

To be frank, these 5 situations are being repeatedly given to any MD of TFM nowadays and they churn out such songs repeatedly. Any one with sound knowledge of technology can come out with such songs with help of available loops and softwares.

Only MDs like IR, ARR had the opportunity to score for variety films with several challenging situations.
Yuvan has the spirit of coming out with innovative compositions and he loves to experiment. Yuvan had handled mature subjects like "Nandha", "Ram", "Paruthi Veeran" and has come out with variety songs and quality BGMs.

Can you name a rustic, folk number by HJ? HJ's songs are so redundant. Initially his songs reminded of ARR's and now they have become worse and remind of his own previous compositions.

On the other hand, Yuvan comes out with variety everytime. Look at his releases in 2007 alone. Rustic Paruthi veeran t,to funky Chennai28 to melodious Deepavali to Soulstirring AMAV to o techno- Satham podathey...

NagaS
12th July 2007, 11:13 AM
Anybody noticed? All songs in TPM don't repeate the pallavi in between saraNam 1 and SaraNam 2 which is a usual pratice, Yuvan has adopted a Pallavi - Anupallavi - Humming / Repeat Portion - SaraNam 1 - Humming / Repeat Portion - SaraNam 1 - Pallavi - Anupallavi pattern for all songs, Wonder Why,

Only exception is 'vaadi vambup peNNe' which has one line of pallavi in between two saraNams .. All other songs follow this interesting pattern (ofcourse, its not new, Deva tried it in his Panjalankurichchi album already :)

NagaS

vigneshram
12th July 2007, 11:19 AM
Welcome back NagaS

Good to see you again after a looooooong time...

12th July 2007, 11:24 AM
Hi NagaS,

welcome back :D

12th July 2007, 11:28 AM
Hey Judge,

Arabu naade is just awesome. Yuvan stands unique in this whihc i like very much. The song actually starts with hindi lyrics which is quite diff from usual songs.

Valayal karangal also good. lengthy lyrics is the only drawback of this song. but stil its ok.

Yuvan impresses with two unique decent songs.

You"won"!!!! Yuvan....

8-)

12th July 2007, 11:35 AM
YSR is today's Deva!

:P
So, shall we call IR as WCM "Deva" since he also has his own set of Inspirations and copies ? :lol2:
I agree on your points regarding the usage of IR tunes in BGM > just to satisfy the bunch of fans who are still remaining in the earth as IR fans and those who love to see a repeat of the trend but become much excited to criticize it as COPIES :)

It is high time U1 tries to leave such FANS who want to see such things in a u1 film :rant: Let us hope he avoid atleast using IR songs as BGM in movie like Paruthiveeran

and I do like many songs of DEVA and a comparison with DEVA will mean someone who indead stopped the success rate of a MD :lol2:

are u telling abt the use of "kadhalin deepam" song when karthi falls in love with priyamani. if not which music are u talking abt? cos i really enjoyed the bgm score and re-recording of PV.

12th July 2007, 01:32 PM
Venkat prabu intreview in rediff...........................
read that when the film was ready, distributors did not want to touch it...

True. They were scared to buy it. The film had newcomers and the only known name was Yuvan Shankar Raja!

One big distributor after watching the film remarked that it would not do well. We were very disappointed. But Charan was confident that the film would work.

Finally many young and first time distributors bought the film. For example, Actor Simbu loved the film so much that he bought the Madurai area.

How was the first day of release?

It was a very tense day. We released it in six theatres in Chennai. We were in all the theatres. To our surprise, we found the first theatre we visited was packed. We were thrilled and shocked at the same time.

We didn't know why. Then, we heard people chanting the song Saroja Saamaan Nikalo and realised that it was Yuvan Shankar Raja who's responsible for the packed houses.

12th July 2007, 02:42 PM
http://anandhansubbiah.com/blog/?p=100

This is the title song and pick of all the songs in the movie Thottal Poo Malarum. Vijay Yesudaas did not impress me in the A.R Rehman concert but this dude can really sing and you will know I am spot on when you listen to the song. It is a beautiful and scintillating melody. This song is also a romatic song where the youth describes the beauty of his lover and expresses his love for her at the same time. Yuvan like his usual self has opted for a soothing fusion music.

12th July 2007, 02:44 PM
[tscii:777bf573c3]http://anandhansubbiah.com/blog/?p=99

This song is Yuvan all the way. The young prodigy is getting better everyday .Haricharan , the singer from the Joshua Sridhar School of music has renderes the song along with Yuvan himself . He has proved with this song that he is not a one film wondor.This song is about a youth describing the beauty of his lover. I don’t think the hindi lyrics were necessary but otherwise the lyrics is effective and simple.

It is a smooth number with a soft thabla score in the background. All the songs in this album are excellent and is a must have if you are a music fan
[/tscii:777bf573c3]

12th July 2007, 02:49 PM
http://anandhansubbiah.com/blog/?p=90

This is from the movie Satham Podathae . Yuva Shankar Raja is the composer. The awesome Shankar Mahadevan is the singer. This is a song about a little baby and he has sung the song with a lot of heart and passion. There is a beautiful rhythm to the song. Shankar is one of the very few singers who can effortlessly sing in high pitch without missing a beat. You will not be able to stop admiring the simple lyrics by Muthukumar

sgmsin
12th July 2007, 05:51 PM
Rediff review on TFM.

"Thottal poo malarum has ordinary music" and "Not a bad effort by Yuvan Shankar Raja, though nothing extraordinary"

http://in.rediff.com/movies/2007/jul/12sstho.htm

12th July 2007, 06:43 PM
NagaS, are these like the 'kodiyilE, malligappoo' format (the perfect 10 song as rated by guitar Prasanna)...
If so, that should be the predecessor...

NagaS
13th July 2007, 10:19 AM
Yes app_engine, Exactly the same format as 'kodiyile malligaippo' ... Good catch!

But I guess deva was the first one (and the only one may be) to do it for a whole album ... TPM comes close second (5 out of 6 songs)

NagaS

13th July 2007, 12:16 PM
Selvaraghavan's Idu Malai Nerathu Mayakkam's story
By Behindwoods News Bureau.
July 12, 2007

Selvaraghavan is in an upbeat mood these days thanks to Aadavari Matalaku Ardhale Verule (AMAV) recording emphatic success in Telugu Desam. If sources are to be believed, AMAV is on its way to becoming a blockbuster and perhaps the highest grossing non-action movie in Telugu industry.

Meanwhile Selvaraghavan announced his next Tamil movie as Idu Malai Nerathu Mayakkam (IMNM) with Karthi and Sandhya.

After his successful stint in his debut movie, Karthi pinned all hopes on IMNM. But the latest buzz is that, Selvaraghavan has commenced his next project with Reema Sen and is trying to rope in Karthi to co-star with her. But what happened to Idu Malai Nerathu Mayakkam? Is the movie shelved? Here is an inside story on what happened.

Selvaraghavan during the making of AMAV was struck with a story and had narrated the one liner to Karthi who was impressed with it. Not wanting to lose an opportunity to work with a celebrated director, the young actor accepted the offer right away. Things were moving as planned and Sandhya was paired opposite Karthi and two photo shoots were also carried out. And both the Director's and the Actor's fans were in a joyous mood. However, after the completion of AMAV, when Selvaraghavan sat down to write the script of IMNM, he was unable to materialize a convincing script but all the same came up with a whole new one. Hence the director decided to put aside IMNM for the time being and commence the work for the new story on hand.

So will Idu Malai Nerathu mayakkam materialize in the future? Only time will tell.

vasanth2006
14th July 2007, 11:05 AM

Vasanth,
I rarely lend my ears to FMs and recently I found that TPM's "Arabu nade" is busily doing its rounds in Chennai FMs.

Even I heard the mediocre "Vittaal suriyanai" in Radio mirchi...

Arabu naade is such a scintillating number that will reach the youth despite poor marketting :thumbsup:

yes yesterday I also heared the TPM songs in FM channels....but "vittal" song only....

vijay jesudoss number is awesome....simply addictive....

vasanth2006
14th July 2007, 11:08 AM
On the other hand, Yuvan comes out with variety everytime. Look at his releases in 2007 alone. Rustic Paruthi veeran t,to funky Chennai28 to melodious Deepavali to Soulstirring AMAV to o techno- Satham podathey...

exactly my views......

14th July 2007, 12:48 PM
[tscii:dd00d21f3d]Yaro Yuvan-ukkul Raja-voo!!!!!

This is my version of the popular Chennai-600028 song...Yaro Yaroukkul Ingu Yaaro...!!!!

It aint NEWS when I say that Yuvan Shankar Raja is one of my all-time favourite musicians....coz...thats an established fact....yeap...and you should have noticed me telling that Yuvan is fast becoming a benchmark for Like Father--Like Son....and time's up it seems for the apprentice-ship....

I dare say that Yuvan has indeed graduated to the standards of his father.....People may say that this is controversial...but put this in perspective....And lets try answering a few questions and may be we figure out the fact...

a) Is it because Yuvan is a major-hit like what his Dad used to be in his Heydays..???
Agreed Yuvan has been a hit with every movie of his..!!!! and mass-hits at that ...plus critical acclaim...not the typical remarks you associate with a millenia music director in Tamil Cinema.... but does just that propel him to Dad-dom...which is as elusive and not even ARR has reached at... NO...not the reason for Yuvan -> Raja transition...

b) Is it because of the family-blood...???
Partly YES...:)...Should be hereditary I thought..without which such talent is hard-to-come-by and genius personified....

c) Is it because of the class of music...that Yuvan churns out movie after movie...???

YES...this is the reason...I would say, that he graduated to his father's place...not just hereditary...but on pure merit....Reasons you might be interested...??!!!!

Answer: Have you heard the 4 songs in Chennai-600028, ??!!! *Vazhkaiyai Yosingada*, *Vazhkaiyai Yosingada - Remix*, *Yaaro Yarukkul Ingu - Version 1*, *Yaaro Yaarukkul Ingu - Version 2*....

when I first got to hear those songs....which was by the way pretty late after the song release....*I* for the first time felt that I was indeed listening to The Master(Maestro) instead of his musical-heir....

yes...the instrumentation...the melody component....the SPB -ism....the SPB Charan-ism....and the chitra-ism....the haunt factor...all made all the four songs a Illayaraja treat to me rather than a Yuvan roll-out...

I have enjoyed these songs for the *whole* of last week...and I know how enjoyable...and heavenly they have been and I still relish the experience...and the feel I went through after relishing them....I would wish everybody had that oppurtunity...time...and the eye for detail...that I enjoyed in that last week....

The raison d’être for this blog...is to
a) Sensitize people of the exhilaration I went through with these songs...
b) Wish everybody goes through
c) Self-declare unofficialy that the heir is well...already there....and the music world wouldnt repent throning the heir with the crown that the Maestro Illayaraja held proudly...and one we for sometime in between felt would be un-occupied for a generation at-least...

YES...this is it...Yuvan is the true;worthy;logical;biological heir/successor to the Master/Maestro Illayaraja....and

detractors/disapprovers/aruguers...please..please listen to those four songs...*with a pair of good quality headphones*...then you know what I am blah-blahing....:-)

http://rajeshprakasam.blogspot.com/2007/05/yaro-yuvan-ukkul-raja-voo.html[/tscii:dd00d21f3d]

14th July 2007, 04:50 PM
Anybody noticed? All songs in TPM don't repeate the pallavi .....................................Panjalankuric hchi album already :)

NagaS

Welcome back! :D

15th July 2007, 12:53 AM
Yuvan shankar rajas song "Valayal Karangal" from the movie Thottal Poo Malarum is the such a great song. You can listen to it again and again and never get tired of it.

NB: this is not an adverticement sponsored by P. Vasu

15th July 2007, 11:18 AM
Happy to see many likes my fav. "Valaiyal Karangalai" song.

Currently three top class songs from Yuvan rocking. Pesugren, Arabu Naadae and Valaiyal :cool:

16th July 2007, 09:06 AM
Sanjeevi,
Very good article on Chennai - 28 songs and IR-YUVAN factor ! As I said, I loved "Yaaro Yaarukkul ingu Yaaro" songs more than Saroja & Jalsa :) Plus - My favorite of the album "Un paarvai meethu pattal" has not got the attention of the people much :( ! Damn good song ! But timing was not so good !

16th July 2007, 11:16 AM
My favorite of the album "Un paarvai meethu pattal" has not got the attention of the people much :( ! Damn good song ! But timing was not so good !

Yeah, Selva. My favorite is Un paarvai too!

17th July 2007, 12:16 AM
Read on to find out what the mellisai mannar thinks about YSR doing Billa remix...
http://dinamalar.com/2007july16/vikatan.asp

17th July 2007, 08:18 AM
Read on to find out what the mellisai mannar thinks about YSR doing Billa remix...

:? Did he say anything on BILLA specifically? I don't think so. He has expressed his views on the present REMIX trend.

17th July 2007, 10:26 AM

app_engine,

I have been reading all your posts in this thread. I am also a big fan of IR, can I ask you one question? IR used remix kinda stuff long way back in Thaalattu paadava. Seems like you agree with MSV about remixers, what should we call IR then, a rapist too? Sorry for asking this :(

17th July 2007, 12:21 PM
YSR is the MD for Selva's new film with Karthi&Reema Sen

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=14493615

Karthi, the most promising actor in Kollywood has got the title every hero in Tamil films wants, for his Selvaraghavan film - Aayirathil Oruvan!
Remember that from Rajnikant to Simbu, all heroes were trying their best for this title, made memorable by the legend MGR with his swashbuckling adventure movie Aayirathil Oruvan.

The new title was registered with producer Kalaipuli.S.Dhanu. So when Selvaraghavan and his dad Kasturiraja, approached Dhanu with a request for the title, he magnanimously agreed to give it. Selva is making the film on first copy basis for a Chennai based auditor.

The modern Aayirathil Oruvan is said to be an edge of the seat thriller, with a great twist and has Karthi and Reema Sen in the lead. And the surprise packet is Dhanush in a stunning cameo appearance. The music is of course by Selva's most trusted man- Yuvan Shankar Raja.

17th July 2007, 12:39 PM
Good news. Alwasy Selvaraghavan is telling that one of his ambitions is to make a thriller movie. Before pudupettai he announced to start a thriller (named Oru naal oru kanavu - before the Fazil film) but the filme did not take off.

Thus I believe SR will try to give best from his brain.

BTW, will it find place in TFI history like Athey Kangal, Sigappu Rojakkal, etc

karthik_sa2
17th July 2007, 12:52 PM
Some personal attacks again ...I don't understand why people take comments on their idol so personally...so much that they jump to unreasonably brand fellow DF'ers insane...

...And hence one more post in this thread, for karthik_sa2, who happens to like IR's music like me:

karthik_sa2,
Before getting into personal attacks, you could have better checked a few pages back in this very thread for copied BGMs (even replayed) in sandakkozhi and chennai-28.

By your own admission of Deva copying in "each" film, and my observation in the last few weeks (there are much more captured in this forum in other threads, like you yourself admitting 7G having Johny theme, and someone else telling paruththi veeran has IR's BGM replay), why can't I classify YSR in Deva's league? Especially since his total works is not even 50 projects and within this so many!

I don't have to prove to you that I'm NOT sticking to preconceived notions as I know only too well the differences between my personal preferences and objectively evaluating contemporary music. Of the works of YSR, I definitely liked 'poovellAm kEttuppAr' and 'dheenA' (thankfully I don't know whether there are any copies in these albums)...That way, even Deva or SAR would have surprised us with some good numbers here and there (whose originals were not identified)...

Such few numbers alone won't make someone to be considered in the league of MSV, IR and ARR! Yes I love a lot of ARR's works (that speaks for my closed eyes /ears, preconceived notions etc. very much, you see) and IMO, YSR may be called "poor man's imitation ARR", i.e. if you like that title better than "today's Deva"...May be both HJ and YSR compete for both these titles...

Finally, before pointing fingers at others and calling names, it is wise to check some facts...at least read the thread completely and then place your comments...And if you really want to hear what is contemporary music, trendy etc, please listen to 'munbE vA, munbE vA' and a couple of songs in "the boss"

can u quote one personal attacks of mine on u in any of my posts?? dono what u meant there and i never called u names. all i said was u having a preconcieved notion. in one of ur post u said something like "koovam kitta vandhutu apporam smell varudhu'nu sonna enna use" it was like u meant this thread a koovam.. so i said don have preconcieved notions .if u do, then whereever u go u will feel negative vibs. pretty long exps on this cos i don want u to misunderstand or mistake me on personal attacks.
regd furelise i don understand how a die hard fan like u missed out on that. its def not a copy but its a heavy inspiration.. pls watch the movie and pls listen to furelsie also. the only thing is ir would have used in different rhtms..and ofcousre his own styles.
regd bgm's i think my friends would have clarified u. he is far far better than arr and harris.
regd ar rehman, buddy i thought u r a die hard fan of ir and thought u would love only quality songs. but the moment when u said u liked sivaji and munbe vaa i got ur music depth. i acept there r lot of good songs of arr but am afraid munbe vaa or sivaji had nothng in it when u talk about quality of music and ir standards of music. i know even yuvan is nowhere in the league of msv or ir but i rate yuvan and arr equal. they just give attractive music using software loops and few pieces that lasts long unlike ir or msv.
deva sir!!!common i understand u have come here to digress yuvan but not to this extent

[/quote]

17th July 2007, 12:53 PM

app_engine,

I have been reading all your posts in this thread. I am also a big fan of IR, can I ask you one question? IR used remix kinda stuff long way back in Thaalattu paadava. Seems like you agree with MSV about remixers, what should we call IR then, a rapist too? Sorry for asking this :(

Wat song in TP, Judge?

17th July 2007, 01:17 PM

app_engine,

Wat song in TP, Judge?

Sorry that I messed up the movie name, it is 'thaaikku oru thaalattu' *ing Sivaji and Pandiarajan. IR used TMS after so long for this song, it is a remake of 'unnai onru' from Pudiya paravai.

17th July 2007, 05:29 PM
Mr Judge,
To check my opinions on "remix", please visit this thread:
http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=9055

Here I simply posted the views of MSV, a composer I esteem...that's all. Though I may not agree with him 100%, this just gives us a perspective as to what the original creator of a tune feels when an immature fellow butchers it...

Another thing, it's not my duty to defend every act of IR. As mentioned earlier in this thread, I don't consider him some kind of "god man". He has his measure of errors but in the sum total approach, he gets A+. It's democracy here and he can always be compared with D (or less) graders and ridiculed. Please go ahead dragging him to justify every sin of other composers!

karthik_sa2,
I quoted 'munbE vA' as a trend setter song and YES I like it among a number of other works by ARR. I don't have to be defensive, it's way far above the works of next gen composers, IMO. It's ironical that while trying to disprove that "personal attack" angle, you do the same here by questioning someone's musical depth:-) Don't worry, I'm not offended. I've been around in the DF many years and can take this & much more:-))

17th July 2007, 08:43 PM
Mr Judge & others, let me clarify my intentions of visiting and posting in this YSR thread...

It's obvious that after MSV-IR-ARR, there's a gap in TFM. Each of the followers of HJ/VS/YSR may claim that their idol is the supremo but the fact is otherwise. It's anybody's game, there's no Australia in TFM right now. (If ARR chooses to actively compete here, may be he'll be but for obvious reasons we can't keep him in the reckoning... His output may not be >1 or 2 ventures in a year...which though making his significant presence felt, cannot keep him in the technical #1 spot as his songs won't be on the air around the year. He is like the TR of IR's days).

HJ is repetitive and VS is a big-time copy cat. The only promising guy to take that top spot seems to be YSR, who has so many advantages as of today - age, lineage, decent directors like Ameer to work with, some commercial successes so far to keep going.

With all these, unfortunately, he does not appear to focus on what he should be doing - learning music and doing something special year after year as his dad used to do in his time. Instead, he is heavily inspired, remixing too much and may be getting sidetracked by associating with half-baked guys like Premji & Simbu...

Unless he realizes the dangers in doing these and make changes quickly, he'll be another also-ran...He may not become "MSV-IR-ARR-YSR" but "HJ-VS-BW-SAR-YSR-XYZ"...

17th July 2007, 09:03 PM
So, the bottomline is don't get too defensive about YSR's misdeeds...you're not doing him any good that way (I know a number of you communicate to him through the net otherwise also). Call a spade a spade, help him weed out and grow. Too young to have the volume of success he had so far, it's quite easy to go the Jennifer Capriatti way...especially because he is a 'born with the silver spoon' variety...kashtam pAththadhillai life'il...and flattery is one of the worst kinds of drug...

17th July 2007, 10:19 PM
Interesting thread. I seem to have missed a few "sandaigaL" here :wink:

YSR seems to be following his father's way in the matter of quantity. The sad thing is that while IR is a genius who composed quality songs fast, the same is not the case with his son who is average in quality, IMO. Sons of tall fathers are mostly less than tall, right? In other words, this "regression to the average" is to be expected since IR is an outlier. Just like Prabhu cannot be a Sivaji, Yuvan is not IR and never will be.

I won't comment on other significant limitations of Yuvan, however :wink:

17th July 2007, 10:54 PM
Premji will be MD of next Venkat Prabhu's film. I think, it will be good for YSR to extract Premji from yuvan because Premji is a biggest fan of remix.

17th July 2007, 11:08 PM
good analysis app_engine :clap:

whatever it is, yuvan is next to IR, ARR

1) in experimentation : listen pudupettai and AIBI (Ilaiyuthir kalam esp)
2) giving variety : melody, folk, hip-hop, kuthu, western, fusion (again AIBI's orampo nina)

but he is far behind in karnatic and some other areas.

I agree you, yuvan has to go looooooong way

whether he will succeed or not, it is clear he is talented.

17th July 2007, 11:11 PM
regarding quality

IMO oru naalil is one of best of in recent times and Yuvan's AIBI album is better than ARR's sillunu oru kadhal

karthik_sa2
18th July 2007, 11:29 AM
karthik_sa2,
I quoted 'munbE vA' as a trend setter song and YES I like it among a number of other works by ARR. I don't have to be defensive, it's way far above the works of next gen composers, IMO. It's ironical that while trying to disprove that "personal attack" angle, you do the same here by questioning someone's musical depth:-) Don't worry, I'm not offended. I've been around in the DF many years and can take this & much more:-))

am sorry for that ..i shouldn have said that. but i couldn believe seeing ur other posts how much u like IR , msv and like an ordinary song like munbe vaa. but obviously arr has cmposed great songs too. apps i want u to ask one question?pls be honest.. do u think arr fits into the league of IR and msv in terms of quality,orchestration and variety of music??

sehnthan
18th July 2007, 06:06 PM
karthik_sa2,

am sorry for that ..i shouldn have said that. but i couldn believe seeing ur other posts how much u like IR , msv and like an ordinary song like munbe vaa. but obviously arr has cmposed great songs too. apps i want u to ask one question?pls be honest.. do u think arr fits into the league of IR and msv in terms of quality,orchestration and variety of music??

well said karthick_sa2..
IMO ARR is a master of synth sounds..one of my fren once said...most of the ARR songs cannot be played live..i mean with live instruments...but MSV n IR songs..hmmm sollavey venam...i dont mean to bash ARR. he is really a master in his creation...but that criteria alone is not enough...in hollywood films, eventhough they are thousands of keyboards which can produce good synth sounds...still the full scale orchestra is used for major BGM scoring.. in that way...sure yuvan gets a thumbs up..he is really rocking in BGM scoring...n sure he is inheriting his father....n he got a long way to go..i would say in next 5 years he will conquer TFM...this is just my humble opinion.....athukuthaney intha forum nadathuraanga.. ?

18th July 2007, 08:15 PM
karthik_sa2,
As I said earlier, don't worry:-) This is part & parcel of any music discussions:-))

About your question of whether I group ARR in MSV-IR league:

-I don't even club MSV in IR's league:-) In my personal scorecard of TFM, IR is 1 to 10 and MSV -no,no MSV-TKR combo- will come after that. Then MSV perhaps closely followed by KVM. ARR'll come much later as there may be other older composers (sometimes I may know songs and not the composers themselves) who'll precede him.

-While acknowledging the impressive improvements ARR has brought in the areas of sound engg. and pop/western "unadulterated" with Indian sounds (I don't think IR was interested in doing this even though he was capable of), to me he is like 'Alai illAdha oorukku iluppaippoo' as IR either lost interest or touch after Roja, and definitely not in his elements anymore around the time of "liberlisation (Rao/Manmohan)" and after, when he could have possibly created wonders -with so much of opportunities opened out. Instead, he chose to be in his own world (shell?) while the opportunities were utilised by less-capable yet more biz-savvy composers...of whom ARR is the top.

munbE vA? Well, I like its predecessor 'nenjinilE, nenjinilE' much more. ARR does not do such songs anymore and this is the best we could get. May be diluted version of "iluppaippoo", but that's the best TN gets today, unfortunately. And I do have a soft corner for Shreya's singing, which I love after SJ & KSC.

18th July 2007, 08:46 PM
Mr Judge,
To check my opinions on "remix", please visit this thread:
http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=9055

Here I simply posted the views of MSV, a composer I esteem...that's all. Though I may not agree with him 100%, this just gives us a perspective as to what the original creator of a tune feels when an immature fellow butchers it...

It's democracy here and he can always be compared with D (or less) graders and ridiculed.

app_engine:
I visited the thread you mentioned and I can understand your view. But when you post something, say a word or two about it if you don't agree with it. That way readers will understand your stand. Simply posting and giving others points always gives an impression that you agree with them. I don't want to bring in MSV into this picture. That is his opinion and lets leave it like that.

If YSR can be compared with D graders, then I don't have any problem comparing him with IR.

karthik_sa2
19th July 2007, 03:44 AM
I don't even club MSV in IR's league:-) In my personal scorecard of TFM, IR is 1 to 10 and MSV -no,no MSV-TKR combo- will come after that. Then MSV perhaps closely followed by KVM. ARR'll come much later as there may be other older composers (sometimes I may know songs and not the composers themselves) who'll precede him.

buddy u have clearly underrated msv. i accept that msv tkr combo gave wonderful compositions and massive hits but soon after they parted tkr utterly flopped. he gave very ordinary music. on the other hand msv gave wonderful compositions . this clearly proved that msv played the major role in msv tkr combo hits.
msv was the first one to give grand orchestration in tfm, great tunes, usage of flute, unbeliavable chordings<yaar andha nilavu is one o good example>the chord changes in the charanam - truly amazing>.the only ting that msv didn concentrate was background scores.
this was where ir was abs strong. but u can say ir has composed many brillaint heavy substance songs evn can go for research. ofcourse tr mahalingam had some good songs too but not great. mostly he did saami padam . but some great songs in it. he didn have the variety as of msv.
i think am posting irrelavant to this thread. what i wanted to say was ir msv r musical genious in tfm y in tfm in india itself. i would say ir is one of the best in the world. but where does arr come into this??do u think his clarity or sound engineering or western pop in indian sounds makes him fit into this leauge. ir has already done everything including the western pop in indian sounds u mentioned.
the only thing i found new with arr is some good tunes and crystal calrity in sounds. but he uses the same software may be a better softwate than yuvan uses. the same loops.. thats y i said they r equal..ths interantional fame kinda thing media lifted arr but i feel he has not done anything better than yuvan.

19th July 2007, 07:10 AM
I really dont understand why MSV has to be brought into the picture when comparison is among chinna pasanga like YSR.

Anway, as opinions go, MSV will ALWAYS be number 1. Till todate, one has ever beaten him and he is the perfect music director. Ilayaraja, AR Rahman, etc can only be in his shadows, as IR's heydays are long gone and ARR himself is getting diluted these days.

MSV'a vella, innum oruththan porundhu varanum.

Mark my words guys, as you grow older and realise the beauty of REAL music from the Emperor MSV.

Menaka
19th July 2007, 08:02 AM
karthik_sa2,
As I said earlier, don't worry:-) This is part & parcel of any music discussions:-))

About your question of whether I group ARR in MSV-IR league:

-I don't even club MSV in IR's league:-) In my personal scorecard of TFM, IR is 1 to 10 and MSV -no,no MSV-TKR combo- will come after that. Then MSV perhaps closely followed by KVM. ARR'll come much later as there may be other older composers (sometimes I may know songs and not the composers themselves) who'll precede him.

-While acknowledging the impressive improvements ARR has brought in the areas of sound engg. and pop/western "unadulterated" with Indian sounds (I don't think IR was interested in doing this even though he was capable of), to me he is like 'Alai illAdha oorukku iluppaippoo' as IR either lost interest or touch after Roja, and definitely not in his elements anymore around the time of "liberlisation (Rao/Manmohan)" and after, when he could have possibly created wonders -with so much of opportunities opened out. Instead, he chose to be in his own world (shell?) while the opportunities were utilised by less-capable yet more biz-savvy composers...of whom ARR is the top.

munbE vA? Well, I like its predecessor 'nenjinilE, nenjinilE' much more. ARR does not do such songs anymore and this is the best we could get. May be diluted version of "iluppaippoo", but that's the best TN gets today, unfortunately. And I do have a soft corner for Shreya's singing, which I love after SJ & KSC.Couldn't have said better!
It's the fact. No matter how others slice it, IR is the greatest. After him, there's a BIG gap.. followed by MSV & ARR. Both have to conjure up something special in BGM area to even inch toward the gap.
IR is the only COMPLETE MD. 'nuff said!

19th July 2007, 08:17 AM
Digression
ennamO, as I grow older, my appreciation for MSV is kind of going down...don't know why...last week saw Gauravam on dvd, couldn't stand any of the songs...simply loud and tasteless...FF thavira vazhi illa:-( idhellAmA chinna vayasil avvaLavu rasiththOm'nu lajjayAi irundhadhu... Can't attribute this to Shivaji's acting as I thoroughly relished the barrister Rajinikanth...(orE pErkkuzhappam, yAr Shivaji yAr Rajinikanth?)...lot of mannerisms by Shivaji Rao Gaekwad has its roots in gauravam Rajinikanth...

All those MGR-Shivaji songs, my childhood fav's by MSV , hmmm I simply cannot stand now...OTOH, songs that I didn't care much earlier -i.e. during childhood and even later during the Raja reign, like pudhiya paRavai, sound so lovely now...TKR disappeared, true and MSV reigned, but I still cannot compare those arrangements to anything MSV did alone...that's why MSV-TKR rate higher than MSV-individual, in my rankings...MSV's 80's compositions sound as pathetic as ever save a couple from ninaithAlE inikkum, VNS, pollAdhavan and here and there...I had rather come to identify so many great songs that I earlier attributed to MSV are actually by V Kumar & KVM, after coming to TFM-DF & dhool...
End-digression

Just finished watching "RAM"...good work by YSR...movie's presentation is excellent (beats Malayalam movies easily) but very predictable story and pathetic ending...still the director is head and shoulders above others currently in TF...

19th July 2007, 08:32 AM
more digressions: :lol:

it is all up to individual tastes.
when I hear songs of the 80s on the radio, I switch stations. it's called saturation. IR's songs of the 80s may be good, but they are all more of the same. after a while, boredom sets in.

end...

YSR is good by today's standards. he has given several memorable songs. whether they will remain or be washed over by the tide of times, remain to be seen.

karthik_sa2
19th July 2007, 11:44 AM
I really dont understand why MSV has to be brought into the picture when comparison is among chinna pasanga like YSR.

Anway, as opinions go, MSV will ALWAYS be number 1. Till todate, one has ever beaten him and he is the perfect music director. Ilayaraja, AR Rahman, etc can only be in his shadows, as IR's heydays are long gone and ARR himself is getting diluted these days.

MSV'a vella, innum oruththan porundhu varanum.

Mark my words guys, as you grow older and realise the beauty of REAL music from the Emperor MSV.

nov
we all know msv is an emperor in music. we brought him here not to compare him with yuvan. we cant do that also. it is just i wanted to know from peole if arr is really in the league of great msv-ir??is he really better than yuvan??am not saying yuvan is better than arr too. i rate them equal.

19th July 2007, 12:35 PM
Karthick,

I agree Yuvan is talented. But I won't say ARR and Yuvan are equal. Yuvan has to go a long way to be considered equal with ARR.

Simply put, If you think ARR is not in the league of IR, then defn.ly Yuvan is not equal to ARR.

19th July 2007, 01:19 PM
IR is 1 to 10

MSV will ALWAYS be number 1

MSVyum naane IRvum naane - A R Rahman :lol: :thumbsup: :notworthy:

Vaz
19th July 2007, 01:36 PM
Hi Karthik,

I'm pretty sure that even Yuvan would not like to be compared with ARR.

I could list all ARR's movies with amazing songs to show you his versatility and inventivity without any copies (apart from loop usage in 2 or 3 occurences)... But I'm not gonna do that.

Fortunatly everybody is entitled to have his own opinion. I consider Yuvan as the best MD in TFM among the current ones (after ARR of course)! Eventhough he resorts to copying/lifting some times he still can deliver some good tunes. But then to compare him with ARR and say that both are equal.... that is bit hard to digest.

The thing is that MSV, IR and ARR do not have to prove anything. They are in their own league. So there is no point in comparing any of those between themselves or even worse to compare them with the current crop of MDs.

19th July 2007, 03:01 PM
app_engine, Gauravam? Loud Songs? ALL songs loud? Why did you forward Yamuna Nadhi Inge? I agree it must have been pain watching 50+ Sivaji romancing with his wig and overcoat but why blame MSV for it when he gave a fresh lavender of a song Yamuna Nadhi inge ?

19th July 2007, 08:43 PM
MSV, IR, and ARR created their own brand of music, each different from his predecessor. When this happens, and the music is good, I believe people automatically lap it up and the aging MD who is the then Number 1 is ousted. It is as simple as that.

Now, although Yuvan is very good and talented and all that, what new kind of music has Yuvan created that people want him over Rahman? It is still not clear that Yuvan is the most preferred one or that everybody keenly anticipates his next offering. He keeps churning out for any number of movies and the style is just what ARR initiated. So, after MSV, IR and ARR we are still waiting for that breath of fresh air in TFM, IMO.

Having said all of that, I have started to like Yuvan's music in some films. His performance in arindhum ariyaamalum was good. Even ARR borrowed theepidikka intro music in NannarE nannarE song.

19th July 2007, 10:03 PM
M4E, while MSV and IR evolved from what was TFM prior, still mostly sticking to the convention and classical part, keeping them mostly local, ARR's trend was "imported" and not totally local...just about the time for "globalization":-))

And the next gen cannot -strictly IMO -bring an extraordinarily new thing immediately but continue the same in today's situation. (Ram BGM sounded much like an average Hollywood movie or that for a TV episode in a regular US channel)...

For a really novel trend, one of the two things below should happen:

a) Hollywood (or some foreign wood) should create a new trend...looks like not going to happen in the near future, again strictly IMO, as there are more sequels even in visual area, nothing new musically except some techie stuff, like HD...
b) Really creative new "local" composer...None today seems to have this in them, neither they seem to work hard to learn a lot of music and get out of the boxes and loops...

jegansavannah
19th July 2007, 10:21 PM
Yo!losers(for those who call themselves as critics) wht you mean by new trend . MSV followed indian style of Music. IR -known for his fusion of western and folk. they both were before computer era. so they followed traditional music composing while ARR is this generation guy.. It is just technology .. it is not trend.. Now everyone are using the technology... and lots of invention has taken place after computer invention.... offcourse the world has seen more inventions in this past 50 years than before... so please dn't compare musicians...Music is an art.. Just dnt waste your time in forums discussing about who is good... afterall everyone are good in their own so think something innovatively .and try to make india a better nation....

karthik_sa2
20th July 2007, 01:17 AM
MSV followed indian style of Music. IR -known for his fusion of western and folk. they both were before computer era. so they followed traditional music composing while ARR is this generation guy.. It is just technology .. it is not trend.. Now everyone are using the technology..

well said for all those who said he is a trend setter!! ofcourse arr has done some wonderful creations but even yuvan has done some good compositions . so in what way u think arr is better than yuvan??

20th July 2007, 01:20 AM
app_engine, all I am saying is that, whether by design or by accident, his music was novel at that time (and still continues to be, IMO), so people lapped it up. You can't deny that he created a sensation in 1992, something which Yuvan (again, IMO) hasn't done quite that well in the 2000's.

As you say, the next generation cannot bring in an extraordinarily new thing. However, do you believe they have given a signature album -- like Roja for instance? Maybe Minnale was a great album, but any others? If they did, why is Rahman still the guy to beat, even after he "retired" about six years back? Something is amiss.

20th July 2007, 02:36 AM
Total digression
M4E, what big thing have you seen in computers (& software) in the last 10 years? Supposedly the most happening field and consuming the most brilliant minds in the world...clock speeds? processing powers? terrabytes of disk space? huge bandwidths? These are all mere progressive changes...did you see anything like "Mobile phone" or "Internet" or "MP3"?...

Same goes with aviation, automobiles etc. Entertainment world is even more pathetic...chumma ipod, iphone'nnu existing technology vachchu gimmick mattum dhAn...what's really a new invention? medicine, another pathetic field where $$ is poured in like anything - why they take so many years to find a drug for HIV...

Something to think about when talking about trends...not necessarily in support of a mediocre MD...

End-digression

20th July 2007, 03:34 AM
app_engine, OK, you have a point. Aana, neenga romba dhooram poyitteenga. Still, one signature album from each of these new MDs? Something that transcends linguistic boundaries and gets appreciated India-wide (this is a valid requirement after globalization, mind you), if not the world. Is that too much to ask, when deciding on a best MD? Minnale was RHTDM or something like that in Hindi and got appreciated for tunes like vaseegara, ondra renda aasaigal (Yes, it appeared in the Hindi Minnale.). Any other great albums in the last seven years? Maybe Pudhupettai, which inetk praised? Kadhal kondein (and 7GRC?) had several rip offs so can't count it (them). Finally, who is the mediocre MD you referred? :wink: Maybe everyone after IR according to you.

jegansavannah
20th July 2007, 07:54 AM
-deleted-
no personal attacks!

guys why don't we discuss something about new songs rather than giving blind critics...

20th July 2007, 07:57 AM
MSV followed indian style of Music. IR -known for his fusion of western and folk. they both were before computer era. so they followed traditional music composing while ARR is this generation guy.. It is just technology .. it is not trend.. Now everyone are using the technology..

well said for all those who said he is a trend setter!! ofcourse arr has done some wonderful creations but even yuvan has done some good compositions . so in what way u think arr is better than yuvan??

There lies the answer for your question :D

20th July 2007, 08:06 AM
jegansavannah,
Nobody needs to invent a time machine...adhu dhAn namma movie makers senjittu irukkAngaLE:-)

A 20 year old song was #1 in Indian charts only a few weeks back (cheeni kum)...15 year old Malayalam classic, 25 year old Thamizh commercial - idhellAm Thamizh nAttin "thalai" seiyyaRa padangaL...adhilum, billA will also have 2 songs "remixed" by the new-age next-gen composer, YSR...ivangaLOda time machine'la jolly'A travel paNNunga sAmee:-))

karthik_sa2
20th July 2007, 11:46 AM
There lies the answer for your question

r u talkin about wonderful and good or creation and composition??ok i just used different words but meant the same.

itsmuls
20th July 2007, 12:06 PM
app_engine, OK, you have a point. Aana, neenga romba dhooram poyitteenga. Still, one signature album from each of these new MDs? Something that transcends linguistic boundaries and gets appreciated India-wide (this is a valid requirement after globalization, mind you), if not the world. Is that too much to ask, when deciding on a best MD? Minnale was RHTDM or something like that in Hindi and got appreciated for tunes like vaseegara, ondra renda aasaigal (Yes, it appeared in the Hindi Minnale.). Any other great albums in the last seven years? Maybe Pudhupettai, which inetk praised? Kadhal kondein (and 7GRC?) had several rip offs so can't count it (them). Finally, who is the mediocre MD you referred? :wink: Maybe everyone after IR according to you.

If you think Yuvan has not done a thing like signature album like roja or minnale kindly go and hear "Paruthiveeran".

I dont know why you people are discussing only about Pudhupettai, kadhal kondein, 7GRC, etc. kind of stuff which are (may be) appreciated in Urban TN only.

For your information, through out TN "Paruthiveeran" is the only Album which is heard by all kind of people irrespective of creed, location, etc.

This can be found any where in the Tea Stalls, Sat Channels, Ratings, entertainment shows, etc.....

karthik_sa2
20th July 2007, 12:26 PM
just now listened to thottal poo malarum completely. i liked 4 songs arabu naadae, kadatharaen nan unnai, vaadi vambu pennae and valayal karangalai. another good album from yuvan and yet another lovely song for vijay yesudoss 8-)

karthik_sa2
20th July 2007, 12:31 PM
If you think Yuvan has not done a thing like signature album like roja or minnale kindly go and hear "Paruthiveeran".

I dont know why you people are discussing only about Pudhupettai, kadhal kondein, 7GRC, etc. kind of stuff which are (may be) appreciated in Urban TN only.

For your information, through out TN "Paruthiveeran" is the only Album which is heard by all kind of people irrespective of creed, location, etc.

This can be found any where in the Tea Stalls, Sat Channels, Ratings, entertainment shows, etc.....

ah.. finally someone here in yuvan's thread to defend yuvan.. thanks itsmuls..

20th July 2007, 12:43 PM
please refer the site:
http://www.dinakaran.com/dncgibin/vannathirai.asp?imge=2007/jul/05/2

sehnthan
20th July 2007, 04:40 PM
paruthiveeran audio sales and sivaji audio sales are equal !!! wow.....appa yenpa sivaji audio cd vantha muthal naal aarpattukku mel arrpaattam ? 1 million copies sold out in first day....etc...???

20th July 2007, 04:40 PM

r u talkin about wonderful and good or creation and composition??ok i just used different words but meant the same.

I'm talking about the words good and wonderful. As far I know, wonderful is a superlative of good and I meant it that way.

well said for all those who said he is a trend setter!!

If everyone uses the technology, then why couldn't they give hit songs like ARR. He is the first person to use the technology to a good measure and the songs sounded different as never before.

Now you can count the songs with your fingers which do not have synth stuff. And that's why he is called as trend-setter.

Let Yuvan do something new and everyone follow him.Only then he is equal to Rahman.

sehnthan
20th July 2007, 04:42 PM

I'm talking about the words good and wonderful. As far I know, wonderful is a superlative of good and I meant it that way.

well said for all those who said he is a trend setter!!

If everyone uses the technology, then why couldn't they give hit songs like ARR. He is the first person to use the technology to a good measure and the songs sounded different as never before.

Now you can count the songs with your fingers which do not have synth stuff. And that's why he is called as trend-setter.

Let Yuvan do something new and everyone follow him.Only then he is equal to Rahman.

D.Imman is doin it......

20th July 2007, 05:04 PM
Sehnthan,

I don't get your point. Could you pls explain :D

karthik_sa2
21st July 2007, 12:53 AM

as far as i know best is the superlative of good. anyway what i meant was both had some good or wonderful compositions..

Let Yuvan do something new and everyone follow him.Only then he is equal to Rahman

technology was first used way back in punnagai mannan or vikram or evn before that itself..arr just had better sophisticated tecnology and used it thats it.. if yuvan had started his career during arr's roja or before that , even he wold have used that tecnology or maybe called a trendsetter for that.but am afraid that's not trend setting. tecnlogy was available to him so he used it . it made his work easier..

21st July 2007, 12:42 PM
Karthik,

You are missing the point altogether. I am talking about using technology to a good measure. Sure Punnagai Mannan and Vikram had those kind of songs but they are just one or two. And in the gap of 7-8 years between Punnagai Mannan and Roja, the technology was not used widely.

If you are denying that Rahman didn't change anything in TFM, I can't help it.

I just want to reiterate one thing. Not everyone having access to the technology can give music like ARR did.

I'm not gonna argue with you anymore. Guess it would be a futile exercise. Have a nice time.

21st July 2007, 12:46 PM
FYI, Both Punnagai Mannan theme and Vikram song had ARR playing a major part in it. Dhanraj Master said this in an interview at Kumudham long back. Let me check if i can get the link for that.

21st July 2007, 02:04 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/shakthi_070720.html

padam eduthu mudichuttanga

21st July 2007, 02:07 PM
its 16years since ARR came into the field and changed the course of TFM.

apparently, there are still some IR fans who are in a state of denial. leave them be.
it is not your duty to prove that the earth revolves around the sun. :roll:

please, let's get back to Yuvan and his music.

21st July 2007, 02:18 PM
I agree ARR changed the face of TFI. but still i think he has introduced music from x y z with some creativity

OK leave anything, lets stick to YSR and his albums :roll:

21st July 2007, 04:13 PM
FYI, Both Punnagai Mannan theme and Vikram song had ARR playing a major part in it. Dhanraj Master said this in an interview at Kumudham long back. Let me check if i can get the link for that.

You cannot get links and proofs for your own delusions :)

raja_fan
21st July 2007, 06:01 PM
ajaybaskar,

http://www.pvv.ntnu.no/~kailasan/interviews/perfection%20is%20his%20key%20to%20success.htm

"I was only a operator, not a composer. He composed and I programmed "

Podhumaa ?

If ARR had played major part, IR would NOT have been able to do 52 films in one year, it would have been 1 film in 52 years .

Last week saw the interview of ARR for "The making of Shivaji" .
ARR : "Sahana tune-a sedhukkinen. VM ezhudha aarambichittaaru. Apparum Shankar vera tune podalaamenu kettaar. Then first tune-e vacchukkalaam-nu sollittaar".

Ivaru sedhukkinaaraam :)
Adichadhu copy ! "Ore naal unai naan" from 25 yrs old IR film.......Shankar veruthu poi "nee aaniye pudunga venaam"nu first tune-kku ok sollittaar. Illainaa ARR innum Shivaji-ya oru varusham delay panni iruppaar :D

raja_fan
21st July 2007, 06:05 PM
Ajaybaskar,

Now take this from me. Harris Jayaraj was a key player in the music of Roja, Pudhiya Mugam, Gentle man, Kaadhalan, Bombay, Dil se, Iruvar, Minsara kanavu, Kadhal desam............................................. .............................................

When HJ was absent from work, ARR did Vandi solai chinrasu, Pudhiya mannargal etc..

:D :D

21st July 2007, 08:45 PM

apparently, there are still some IR fans who are in a state of denial. leave them be.

It took 9???years to give full-time retirement to MSV by IR but still couldn't repeat that to IR by ARR even after 16 years. MSV fans should keep it in mind :lol:

You know why?? IR is a complete musician for movie making. MSV and ARR are way below if you take the visual media into account.

raja_fan
21st July 2007, 10:11 PM
Mr.Judge,

One correction here !

I have utmost respect for MSV. Having said that I will not accept it took 9 years for IR to completely replace MSV. It should be even lesser than that. MSV was not active after I think 1982/83. May be he did one or two movies per year after that. But that is not really a market.

Also please don't include ARR in MSV's list. MSV taking in to consideration the state of the technology of his time and media ( absolutely nothing but AIR, tea shops and cinema theatres ), achieved a lot more than ARR can do even in the coming years.

Count how many songs of ARR people can remember in these 15 years and how many songs of MSV in the last 50 years and IR in the last 30 years. Then you will understand what a kind of giants MSV and IR were !

21st July 2007, 11:47 PM
ParavA illaiyE MrJudge, "annaachi", "Thundubhai" ellam vittuttu ippo pEr solla Arambichu irukkeengalE. Good progress :wink:

Sahana copy of Orey nAL song-aa? Enna siru-pilla-thanama irukku.
Enna kodumai idhu SaravaNaN?

There is no doubt that IR changed the course of TFM in 1976 (?) and ARR did the same in 1992. Does actual retirement time matter? Let's hope that the newer crop do the same in the coming years. I have my doubt though.

karthik_sa2
22nd July 2007, 12:20 AM
judge,
what's ur best song in tpm

22nd July 2007, 12:40 AM
ajaybaskar,

http://www.pvv.ntnu.no/~kailasan/interviews/perfection%20is%20his%20key%20to%20success.htm

"I was only a operator, not a composer. He composed and I programmed "

Podhumaa ?

If ARR had played major part, IR would NOT have been able to do 52 films in one year, it would have been 1 film in 52 years .

Last week saw the interview of ARR for "The making of Shivaji" .
ARR : "Sahana tune-a sedhukkinen. VM ezhudha aarambichittaaru. Apparum Shankar vera tune podalaamenu kettaar. Then first tune-e vacchukkalaam-nu sollittaar".

Ivaru sedhukkinaaraam :)
Adichadhu copy ! "Ore naal unai naan" from 25 yrs old IR film.......Shankar veruthu poi "nee aaniye pudunga venaam"nu first tune-kku ok sollittaar. Illainaa ARR innum Shivaji-ya oru varusham delay panni iruppaar :D

:rotfl: :lol: :rotfl: :lol:

Menaka
22nd July 2007, 12:55 AM

How irony is that when you say that? Aren't you, apparently a MSV fan, in a state of denial of the fact IR is head and shoulders above all MDs in tamil cinema history? Claiming MSV's works to be better than of IR's and smattering that IR fans are in denial of ARR's greatness highlightes the two-facedness and double-standard practised by you.

We'll see what you have in defence.. maybe taste varies? eh well you already told us MSV is an emperor as if what your taste prefers is a fact.

Menaka
22nd July 2007, 01:08 AM
ParavA illaiyE MrJudge, "annaachi", "Thundubhai" ellam vittuttu ippo pEr solla Arambichu irukkeengalE. Good progress :wink:

Sahana copy of Orey nAL song-aa? Enna siru-pilla-thanama irukku.
Enna kodumai idhu SaravaNaN?

There is no doubt that IR changed the course of TFM in 1976 (?) and ARR did the same in 1992. Does actual retirement time matter? Let's hope that the newer crop do the same in the coming years. I have my doubt though.

IR's retirement thing is a myth, propagated by the fans of pretentious MDs, to crown their favourite music director. A cursory look at it reveals IR has produced some of his best after 1992. Hey ram, Sethu, Bharathi etc instantly comes to mind. Does a Kamal entry into cinema put an end to Sevaliye Sivaji? :smile:

22nd July 2007, 08:17 AM

Roja was released somewhere in Aug 15 1992 AFAIK. Athugaatiyum painaaru vershom munjicha 8-)
Lets get to maths later, BTW what does one mean by Changing the course? It can be attributed only to people who creates and make history follow them not the other way around. All through the history of tamil films there were very few such legends who have made a significant impact and stay on people's mind for a long time to come. Few are NSK, Sivaji ganeshan, MGR, Kannadasan and Ilaiyaraaja. Undeniably their contribution and success are at such an height that others are dwarfed before them. These are the people for whom history will record and keep a few pages reserved while others may get a column or 'Petti seithi' at the most. Thank god that India Today on its 15th anniversary edition (from 1989-2004) selected Raaja for his significant contribution to Tamil cinema though as you say 12 years out them were ARR's period. :wink:
If it is about the trend change you are hinting at, listen to the songs from current crop of MD's and decide whether its influenced largely by Raaja's style or ARR's style.

raja_fan
22nd July 2007, 08:43 AM
Lets get to maths later, BTW what does one mean by Changing the course? It can be attributed only to people who creates and make history follow them not the other way around. All through the history of tamil films there were very few such legends who have made a significant impact and stay on people's mind for a long time to come. Few are NSK, Sivaji ganeshan, MGR, Kannadasan and Ilaiyaraaja.

Well said RS ! :clap

Netru Saalaiyil sendru kondirundhen. Enakku munne oru kural kettadhu "Raasaathi unnai kaanaadha nenju..".

Yaarendru paarthaal oru sirumi thaniyaaga paadi nadakkiradhu. First standard thaan irukkum ( andha sirumi adhu mudhugil sumakkum bag height thaan irukkum ). Viyandhu ponen..Indha sirumikku yen veru latestaana paadal edhum kidaikkavillaiyaa ?

Idhu thaan "time less creativity" alladhu "evergreen creation" enbadharkku niroobanam :)

22nd July 2007, 09:17 AM
apparently, there are still some IR fans who are in a state of denial. leave them be. and looks like the few of them are all at TFM Pages.

ok, I am serious now. please, let's get back to Yuvan and his music. if you want to discuss on any other issue, start a new thread.
NO MORE digressions here!

22nd July 2007, 10:54 PM
judge,
what's ur best song in tpm

My pick is 'arabu naade' and second choice is 'ennai pidichcha'.

23rd July 2007, 01:12 AM
My verdict on Arabu Naade -- Nice. Starts well in an HJ-ish Lahi la lahi la Lahi la lahi la and then goes into a pleasing "mugaththai eppodhum moodi veikkadhE, Enadhu nenjathil muLLai theikkadhE". Interludes and chorus are standard fare, but pleasing nevertheless.

Hey unnudaya netri unnai patri koorudhE hey hey hey hey
is definitely inspired from some IR song, which eludes me at present, but I will get it one of these days.

Overall, nicely packaged and well presented. Good on Yuvan.

vigneshram
23rd July 2007, 10:30 AM
Music Review of Satham Podathey -

http://vigneshram.blogspot.com/2007/07/satham-podathey-music-review.html

I know its a bit late & should have written it much earlier.
Better late than never I thought

"Thottaal poo malarum" music review to follow... :D

23rd July 2007, 10:38 AM
My verdict on Arabu Naade -- Nice. Starts well in an HJ-ish Lahi la lahi la Lahi la lahi la and then goes into a pleasing "mugaththai eppodhum moodi veikkadhE, Enadhu nenjathil muLLai theikkadhE". Interludes and chorus are standard fare, but pleasing nevertheless.

Hey unnudaya netri unnai patri koorudhE hey hey hey hey
is definitely inspired from some IR song, which eludes me at present, but I will get it one of these days.

Overall, nicely packaged and well presented. Good on Yuvan.

hahahahahahaha

Etho venda veruppa pukazhra mathiri irkkuthu

grow dude

23rd July 2007, 11:52 AM
namakku pidicha MD allathu song ah oruthar criticize panna, appo they need to grow up ah :D ennapa nyayam :)

antha nyayam apply panni paartha, namma Judge annan innum thavazhra kuzhandhai than.........he needs to grow a pretty lot :D

itsmuls
24th July 2007, 12:05 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/32529.html

Arya on 3 August
IndiaGlitz [Tuesday, July 24, 2007]

Madhavan's Arya and P Vasu's son Sakthi starrer Thottal Poo Malarum will hit the screens on 3 August.

With Sivaji releasing on June, several films had to postpone their release owing to lack of theatres. Ajith's Kireedom made it to theatres last week.

Now it is the turn of Madhavan's Arya and P Vasu's Thottal Poo Malarum to see the light of the day.

The former stars Madhavan, Bhavana and Prakash Raj in the lead roles. It is directed by Balasekharan.

The latter feature Sakthi and Gauri Munjal in prominent roles and P Vasu is wielding the megaphone. Music is by Yuvanshankar Raja.

Meanwhile Karan's Thee Nagar is slated for a release on 27 July.

kiru
25th July 2007, 02:00 PM
As an ardent fan of the music of IR, I hoped his sons would continue his legacy. For a long time, nobody could replicate the sound of ARR, when YSR came out with poovellAm kEttuppaar, my hopes got encouraged. Alas, till date, IMHO, YSR's melodies are not in the class of top rung MDs. Even HJ and Vidyasagaar are creating melodies which will appeal to the music savvy, older generation. Still YSR demonstrates a very good understanding of the techniques and technologies that ARR employs but the main thing in a song is the tune. Ironically, the other son Karthik, can really compose mature tunes, but his orchestration (to back up the main melody) leaves a lot to be desired. What a pity !!!
Again, feel free to flame me, but I am just airing my opinion. The day when YSR creates a mature melody, then all the youth will enjoy and the old will appreciate. He would then be a mainstream MD appealing to both the young and the old. Till then, he will be just a niche player.

rooky
25th July 2007, 08:06 PM
apparently, there are still some IR fans who are in a state of denial. leave them be. and looks like the few of them are all at TFM Pages.

ok, I am serious now. please, let's get back to Yuvan and his music. if you want to discuss on any other issue, start a new thread.
NO MORE digressions here!

Came thro' the discussions just now.Let me add my thoughts here before we get back to yuvan:)

Regarding retirements,there is no retirement for musicians and for geniuses like IR,that is not to be thought about.If the number of movies and hits matter,IR may not have the numbers (hit movies in tamil) for the past few years..I am considering only Tamil movies here..

And when that is the criteria,as media puts it,Yuvan and HJ are the top2 MDs in TFM.

By the way, how many Hit movies has ARR given in the last five years in Tamil, that too just after 10years of career :)..start counting..it is very easy:)..So, can we say,he too is retired?

Whether we like it or not,only Yuvan and HJ are ruling the roost in TFM and i personally like Yuvan simply 'cos his music is little different and that his music has a small % of IR :)

But, you cannot expect anyone to match IR,even by 10%.You should take IR out of picture and analyse Yuvan.Then, you would accept him more.

As per current tamil film music standards, he is second to none.He infact has given good melodies.no denying that.The other good aspect of Yuvan is his BGM.You cannot put VS or HJ above Yuvan in BGM,not even close to him.

Kiru,
In my point of view,there are no "Music" composers in TFM, after IR.
In my book, a music composer is one who can write,compose and conduct haunting musical Notes on his own.All the current crop of MDs are in "trial and error" generation.I cannot consider them as composers.

If Yuvan is a niche player,so are the others.

In simple words, if you can write for hundreds of pages,a wonderful write up in a language without corrections,that shows your command on that language..If you have to make corrections in them to look good,you are not considered as an expert.

26th July 2007, 09:08 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/32560.html

Is TFM's current trend setter YSR or Iman?:-)

kiru
26th July 2007, 11:17 PM
Kiru,
In my point of view,there are no "Music" composers in TFM, after IR.
In my book, a music composer is one who can write,compose and conduct haunting musical Notes on his own.All the current crop of MDs are in "trial and error" generation.I cannot consider them as composers.

rooky, to some extent I agree with you. When IR composes a tune, he does not necessarily give the tune to the lyricist. He will probably just give the sandham to him. Similarly, he can promptly figure out sandham from the given lyrics and then tune it. I have a feeling many MDs from the previous generation can do this. I am not sure the new MDs can. They are probably going by their ears/intuition, which is the reason I feel sometimes, the notes, dont really work with the lyrics well.

Anyways, my point is, YSR's melodies are not universally appealing. Rahman, became big, not because of his modern rhythms, but because of his ability to create tunes that even the old generation or musically savvy can appreciate. I just dont think YSR has come up with a tune like that. Maybe, I have not heard all his work, but please point out tunes that are like this.

26th July 2007, 11:19 PM
Nope! Yuvan is not MD for Malaikottai. Indiaglitz is wrong :roll:

A new film for yuvan

http://tamil.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/25072007-4.shtml

itsmuls
27th July 2007, 11:33 AM
[tscii:d085bf7839]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-04/26-07-07-kushboo.html

Kushboo among other actors at an awareness rally
July 26, 2007

Cycle rallies have long been a medium to drive in awareness messages, be it social or political, among the public. Director P. Vasu could probably be the first to introduce cycle rally as an advertisement gimmick to promote his movie. And the director has done it well, by clubbing it with public awareness messages.

Thottal Poo Malarum is P. Vasu’s forthcoming project in which he introduces his son Shakthi as hero. In an effort to publicize this film, a cycle rally was conducted wherein about 200 popular film personalities participated including Kushboo, Sibiraj, Vanitha Vijayakumar, Myilsamy, Madhan Bob, P Vasu and his son Shakthi.

The rally, headed by P. Vasu, was flagged off at 8:30 AM on 25th July. Starting from Anna Salai, Chennai, the rally was divided into 10 groups so as to enable them to cover as many places as possible. Those participated in the rally carried placards with messages such as “Kudi kudiyai kedukkum” “Salai vidhigalai madhippom” and the likes. These placards were later planted at important traffic signals to catch the public eye. A novel attempt indeed. Will this reflect in the movie too?

Why only in Chennai and not in any other part of Tamil Nadu - to promote the film. :roll: [/tscii:d085bf7839]

27th July 2007, 12:34 PM
Nope! Yuvan is not MD for Malaikottai. Indiaglitz is wrong :roll:

A new film for yuvan

http://tamil.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/25072007-4.shtml

I think Malaikoattai's MD is Mani Sharma..

27th July 2007, 02:44 PM
YSR sign another movie direct by Subramania Siva * Ameer & mammothy

Vaz
27th July 2007, 03:17 PM
Start disgression

Ameer a hero now!

Why are these guys so much interested in acting? Especially when they are talented directors...

Imagine what Shankar would have become had he followed his initial love for acting??? No more Indian, Mudhalvan, Jeans, Anniyan, etc.

Why aren't these guys thinking about it? For me it is all the fault of Cheran.... he's the one who started this bad trend, followed by Samanasu Justin Suryah, followed by Thangar bachan, followed by Sundar C, followed Praveen"kanth", etc.

Anyway this is just my opinion!

End disgression

27th July 2007, 03:30 PM
There r rumours that Lingusamy, Rajakumaran will also act soon. No problem with the former but I hope god calls me back before the latter happens...

Vaz
27th July 2007, 05:15 PM
Yep

Agree that Lingusamy may be OK.... But imagine a Run without Maddy.... A Sandakozhi without Vishal... can't imagine Lingusamy in any of those roles...

For Rajakumaran.... "when thangar bachan can act why not me"...
I'm sure that is what he thinks... unfortunatly for us!!!

jegansavannah
27th July 2007, 07:27 PM
i know ameer for years from my childhood..i couldn't able to contact him now...i am really amazed when i saw mounam pesiyathe ... yep it was surprisedshocking to me i didnt expect such a clean script 4rm him.. later on he proved he z a real talented guy with his later movies... but acting ... ammeer mama if you read this ... PLZ DNT SPOIL YOUR CAREER... ...BIG NO on my side... we want to see a movie directed by ameer and not ameer as a hero...

30th July 2007, 05:54 PM
Karthi has received best actor award in some film festival for PV, before catching what the festival name was, it was over. They showed it on CNN-IBN today, anyone knows what festival it was?

30th July 2007, 06:18 PM
MrJudge,

OSIAN awards

http://www.osians.com/cinefan/cawards.php?sfid=64

According to the above site, the film has won the award and Priyamani too but not Karthi. R u sure, Karthi awarded for PV???

itsmuls
31st July 2007, 11:23 AM
[tscii:736a5ee45b]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-04/30-07-07-yuvan.html

Yuvan sings to the tune of Shrikant Deva
July 30, 2007
Yuvan Shankar Raja, the popular music composer and son of Ilaya Raja will soon be crooning for Shrikant Deva’s tunes. This will be for the film Aayiram Nilave Vaa directed by Parthi Bhaskar which is scheduled to feature Bhaskar’s brother Hari in the lead role with Amritha.

Though Yuvan has lent his voice to his brother Karthik Raja’s tunes, this is the first occasion where he will be singing for a music director who is outside his family. However, an interesting trivia about this is Parthi Bhaskar happens to be maestro Ilaya Raja’s elder brother R D Bhaskar’s son. After all there is a family connection somewhere.[/tscii:736a5ee45b]

itsmuls
31st July 2007, 11:30 AM
9th OSIAN'S Cinefan, Festival of Asian and Arab Cinema

http://www.osians.com/cinefan/cawards.php

INDIAN COMPETITION SECTION
BEST ACTOR AWARD
KAY KAY MENON for SHOONYA (ZERO ZONE)
For his seering and restrained portrayal of a character whose struggle to overcome his personal vulnerability becomes an allergory of a nation in search of its conscience and values.

BEST ACTRESS AWARD
PRIYAMANI for PARUTHIVEERAN
For her intense and vivid portrayal of a character driven by obsessive love and for her performance in a broad range of acting prowess.

SPECIAL JURY AWARD
FROZEN by Shivajee Chandrabhushan
For pushing boundaries on various levels - cinematographic, political, psychological and geographical - creating an innovative cinematic experience that has universal appeal.

BEST FILM AWARD
PARUTHIVEERAN by Ameer Sultan
For its strong narrative that allows reality to be played out cinematically, rendered with visual energy to connect with a wider audience.

31st July 2007, 11:55 AM
MrJudge,

OSIAN awards

http://www.osians.com/cinefan/cawards.php?sfid=64

According to the above site, the film has won the award and Priyamani too but not Karthi. R u sure, Karthi awarded for PV???

Actually when I was browsing through the channels and I just caught Karthi saying 'it is great to receive an award for tamil movie'. So as itmuls message says he must have received the award for best movie not for best actor.

Vaz
31st July 2007, 04:55 PM
Agree that Priyamani did well... But Karthik deserved it even more considering the fact that it was his first movie. Excellent performance!

31st July 2007, 06:51 PM
If it was produced by Ameer alone, he would have taken it to other film festivals. He has energy to do it but it all depends on Studio Green now. I doubt they will reach out to other festivals.

Vaz
31st July 2007, 08:50 PM
Paruthiviran was such a good movie... for me the climax spoilt everything! Actually truck drivers could intent legal actions against Amir for depicting them as he did PV... Just kidding!

Anyway hope he does not continue to end his movie with such morbid climaxes and become another Bala! I just loved Mounam Pesiyathe... such a feel good movie! Ram was very good also... Hope his next will be less tragic!

31st July 2007, 10:03 PM
Got hold of paruthi veeran DVD and watched...(I liked the director after seeing Ram)...On a strange coincidence, I got Kamalahasan's virumAndi too the same day and watched over the same weekend and couldn't help comparing the two...

On Paruththi veeran:
-Definitely Priyamani takes the prize...her's is the best perfomance in the movie and credit should be given to the director for shaping up such a classic character...

-Karthi did an excellent job too, didn't feel like newcomer...impressed me with his talent even though the character failed to get any kind of attraction / sympathy from me...

-other characters on screen were by and large natural and real...
-the ending was probably most logical...though not impressive...too draggy a climax, couldn't help FFing...

-except 'aRiyAdha vayasu' & 'nee konnAkkooda kuththamilla' songs, others got promptly FFed after listening for a few seconds...horrors...Hopefully they'll edit those out if they send to any Int'l festival...IMHO, and I'm a puccA nAttuppuRaththAn, those were unimaginative...may be that reflects the actual standard of village singers / thiruvizhA's etc...but kills one's aesthetic senses...I don't think YSR contibuted anything in those scores, they looked like merely played by those troops themselves as they are so ordinary / common place stuff...no imaginative tune or rhythm or anything...that's where virumANdi scores much better as IR's unique contribution can be seen in every folk number (Oh, I was so glad that the villuppAttu wasn't there in the movie, smart Kamal, he should have thrown that out of the cassette as well which made me hate the whole album, without that NOW I feel that album is not too bad...and all the songs jelled so well on screen)

Overall, per my ratings, PV is just above average...even virumANdi is better than this (there too the actress did a fabulous job...agreed the virumANdi climax is such a laughing stock, but otherwise it's a lot more polished and engaging)...

31st July 2007, 10:32 PM
And why should song sequences be 'thiNichchified'? like the Muththazhagu teaching others music...and paruthi veeran forcing the folk troop to sing & dance for him? yArukkAga? Such decisions bring down Ameer...and I believe those were forced on him...If he can stand such pressures and mercilessly cut such horror sequences, he can be the next BR...(oru chinna doubtu, is there any thiruvizha song at all in BR-IR films? I don't think 'manjakuLichchu' fit in a thiruvizhA category...it's such an aesthetically appealing, village event involving many homes...not something involving 'AttakkArargaL/AttakkArigaL')....

rajaalltheway
31st July 2007, 10:46 PM
app_engine should stick to ingmar bergman or fellini if he is looking for sophistication.As for the Kuthu songs composed by YSR and rendered by the real gypsy troups of rural TN lacking aesthetic sense,they are meant to be just that,hard and earthy...look for aesthetics in the next Mani ratnam film.By the way u have missed half the charm watching it in DVD,the way Premji has caught the burning landscape is just amazing,it adds to the Gaspar Noe feel to the movie.
Doesnt matter.... you are watching Virumaandi now ,i remember a few tacky computer graphics from it,nothing much.
folks i talked to Venkat Prabhu over phone.I thought he may not answer these bothersome fans,but surprise,he was so patient and courteous.He said his next movie will be much bigger with even better music from YSR.he is coming to Kerala on the 10th of next month to co starr in a Madhavan movie.He gave me his mobile number too..I asked if i could talk to YSR once,he said ofcourse when he is back from malaysia where he is composing for selvaraghavan...i was so happy

31st July 2007, 11:07 PM
As for the Kuthu songs composed by YSR and rendered by the real gypsy troups of rural TN lacking aesthetic sense,they are meant to be just that,hard and earthy...

I don't think there was anything "composed"...if you've really heard the so called village songs in TFM from KVM days till now (excluding IR scores) and the 'pushpavanam kuppusamy' kind of cassettes that abound on "night-bus-stop-for-meal-stations", you can probably identify all the bits and pieces of PV from many such sources...(Unfortunately, that's how folk music had been typically treated in non-IR movies - just replay what you've heard from kuppan-suppan and don't use the composer's mind...)

It's like going to a carnatic sangeetha sabhA, record the whole proceedings, cut part of it and paste to a movie...romba real'A irukkum dhAN, but what about the contribution of composer?

IMHO, realism is not taking a camera, go sit in a village thiruvizhA, switch on for a few hours and later edit:-) Watching some PV songs feel that way...BTW, for rustics combined with aesthetics, the benchmark reference is BR movies...

zz
1st August 2007, 01:17 PM
I agree completely with AE. Infact I liked the movie but couldn't stand why the Dir what a long footage for the nattupura pattu. Infact they are natuarlly played with the MD only recording that. Again compare that with IR's out put in simlar nattuppura theme. The composer puts his mind there and comes out with a score, not recording.

If you have watched Swades , there is a ramleela sequence and having lived in North I knew about several traditional song dance things about that, but what ARR did was to compose some thing of his own but still pertaining to the ambience and the scene for which it was intentioned.

YSR could have done some thing like that. May be the Dir wanted only what is now there in the film as he would have liked to have some thing utterly natural and RAW. Remember, he took two versions of the same film, one for theatre and another for award festivals. The tactic is, generally these award jury, once they see some thing which arerawly rustic, increase their points for the particular film. One of the USPs of satyajit ray is this.

Anyway, in some other thread I was talking on Omkara and PV. Though I like PV, I still feel the former is way ahead of it as a aesthetic film.

1st August 2007, 02:27 PM
I agree completely with AE. Infact I liked the movie but couldn't stand why the Dir what a long footage for the nattupura pattu. Infact they are natuarlly played with the MD only recording that. Again compare that with IR's out put in simlar nattuppura theme. The composer puts his mind there and comes out with a score, not recording.

Anyway, in some other thread I was talking on Omkara and PV. Though I like PV, I still feel the former is way ahead of it as a aesthetic film.

In PV, it was for that scene (where Priyamani teaches the village people)
But Sivapathikaaram was :shaking: :cry3:

2nd August 2007, 12:17 PM
Ameer miffed!
By Moviebuzz | Thursday, 02 August , 2007, 11:03
Paruthiveeran, has put Ameer into the 'A' league of directors, who are promoting good cinema like a Mani Ratnam or Barathiraaja.

And after his much talked about Paruthiveeran won the best picture and best actress (Priyamani) award at the prestigious OSIAN-CINEFAN festival of Asian and Arab cinema in New Delhi, his stocks has risen further.

In a hard hitting interview to the local press Ameer lashed out at Paruthiveeran producer Gjnavel Raja, a cousin of Surya and his brother Karthi who runs their production house Studio Green.. He said that neither the producers nor the hero of the film (Karthi) bothered to call him, the creator of the film about this award.

Ameer says he got a raw deal from `Studio Green`, and also accuses them of having spoiled the chances of the film getting an award at the prestigious Cannes film festival. He says anybody with money can make a film, but only a creator like him can make good cinema.

Actress Priyamani who has also fallen out with the brothers, has come to her directors rescue. Says Priyamani: " All credit goes to Ameer sir. He had total faith in me and also went out of the way to ensure that I dub in my own voice for the film, which eventually clinched the award for me". The producers ignored her, as they were hoping that the hero will get the best actor award, which eluded him!

3rd August 2007, 07:40 PM
Sify is irritated either with YSR or P Vasu or with the album...(thottAl poo malarum)...
The film flounders as the music of Yuvan is a terrible let down. All love stories with newcomers require peppy tunes, a hummable number for the youth. There is not even one catchy number, probably some third assistant of Yuvan must have composed the songs!

3rd August 2007, 11:40 PM
hahahahaha :lol:

Yuvan is the only crowd puller into the theatre for this film. Thats why they are advertising with yuvan's picture with words "Yuvan at his best"

4th August 2007, 11:10 AM
I think sify is just irritated with the banner's media tie-up with Indiaglitz. The clowns at Indiaglitz are also worst, praising each and every movies/albums coming out from the Kollywood hoping to be their media partner next time. So no need to take anybody seriously these days, if you like it, buy it, listen to it and read, laugh at these guys!

6th August 2007, 09:10 AM
http://dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=354037&disdate=8/6/2007

Yuvan shankar Raja aacharyamaana thiramai saali. Antha padathirkku isai amaitha avar thaana indha padathukkum isai amaithaar endru aacharyappadum alavirkku thiramai saali

- Kamal hassan !

6th August 2007, 11:09 AM

Yuvan shankar Raja aacharyamaana thiramai saali. Antha padathirkku isai amaitha avar thaana indha padathukkum isai amaithaar endru aacharyappadum alavirkku thiramai saali

- Kamal hassan !

Aaha enna soll vararu kamal :confused2:

6th August 2007, 11:34 AM
http://content.msn.co.in/Tamil/Entertainment/FilmReview/0708-04-1.htm

vasanth2006
6th August 2007, 09:33 PM

- Kamal hassan !

Sanjeevi,

Deepavali music pottavara PV pottaru, PV mathiri music pottavara "ch-28" music pottarunnu achayaryapadararu.....yuvan always shows variety....

you can propably compare his recent albums....

PP
Pattiyal
Vallavan
AIBI
thamirabharani
Deepavali
PV
ch-28
SP

7th August 2007, 08:18 AM

- Kamal hassan !

I think he is commenting on the vareity he shows in each album :)

7th August 2007, 11:28 AM
Venkat Prabhu's next film 7 will have music by Yuvan. I read earlier that Premji would compose for VP's next film.

sgmsin
7th August 2007, 05:45 PM
சத்தம் போடாதே-பாடல் விமர்சனம் Source; Thatstamil.com

இளமை பொங்கும் யுவன் ஷங்கர் ராஜாவின் இசையில், ஜில்லென்று வந்திருக்கிறது சத்தம் போடாதே படத்தின் பாடல்கள்.

வசந்த் இயக்கத்தில், பிருத்விராஜ், பத்மப்பிரியாவின் நடிப்பில், யுவன் ஷங்கர் ராஜாவின் இசையில், நா. முத்துக்குமாரின் பாடல்களில் சத்தம் போடாதே படப் பாடல்கள் ரசிக்க வைக்கின்றன.

வசந்துத்தும், யுவனும் இணைவது இது 2வது முறை. முதல் ஜோடி பூவெல்லாம் கேட்டுப் பார். சத்தம் போடாதே படப் பாடல்கள் சத்தம் போடாமல், இசை ரசிகர்களை தாலாட்டிக் கொண்டிருக்கிறது.

நா. முத்துக்குமாரே படத்தின் அத்தனை பாடல்களையும் எழுதியுள்ளார். கவித்துவம் வாய்ந்த அவரது அழகிய வரிகள் குறிப்பிட்டுச் சொல்லக் கூடியவை.

''அழகு குட்டி செல்லம்'' .. சங்கர் மகாதேவன் வாய்ஸில் காதலைச் சொல்லும் பாடல். யுவன் பாணி இளமை இசையும், முத்துக்குமாரின் முறுக்கும் வரிகளும், பெண் மீது கொண்ட காதலை மென்மையாக சொல்கிறது. மனசுக்குள்ளும் எளிதாக செல்கிறது.

''ஓ காதல்'' ... யுவனே பாடியுள்ளார். கூடக் குரல் கொடுத்திருப்பவர் அட்னன் சமி. வெஸ்டர்ன் ராப் வகை பாடலான இதில், அட்னன் குரலே அதிகம் ஒலிக்கிறது. சப்போர்ட்டிவாக குரல் கொடுத்துள்ளார் யுவன். நல்ல ஃப்யூசன் பாட்டுக்கு இதை உதாரணமாகச் சொல்லலாம்.

''பேசுகிறேன்'' .. அதிரடி பாடல்களுக்குப் பெயர் போன விவா கேர்ள்ஸ் குழுவினர் பாடியுள்ள மெலோடி பாடல். ஒரு சினிமா பாடலை, ஒரு இசைக் குழுவினரை வைத்துப் பாட வைத்திருப்பது சினிமா வரலாற்றிலேயே இதுதான் முதல் முறை என்று தோன்றுகிறது. பாடலைக் கேட்கவே ஜாலியாக இருக்கிறது.

''எந்த குதிரையில்'' .. சிலிர்க்க வைக்கும் குரலுக்குச் சொந்தமான ஷ்ரியா கோஷலும், ராகுல் நம்பியாரும் பாடியுள்ள இந்தப் பாடல் மெதுவாக ஆரம்பித்து அதிர் வேட்டாக வெடிக்கிறது. இசைப் பிரியர்களுக்குப் பிடித்த மாதிரியான பாடல். மெலடியும், அதிரடியும் கலந்த அற்புதக் கலவையில் யுவன், இளைஞர்களைக் கவருகிறார்.

''காதல் பெரியதா'' .. யுவனுடன், சுதா ரகுநாதன் இணைந்துள்ள முதல் பாடல். வெஸ்டர்ன், ஹஸ்கி பாடலாக சுதா ரகுநாதனை பாட வைத்துள்ளார் யுவன். சும்மா சொல்லக் கூடாது, சுதா ரகுநாதனும் சொக்க வைக்கிறார்.

நல்ல பாட்டு, அழகான மெட்டு, யுவனுக்கு கொடுப்போம் பெரிய ஷொட்டு!

7th August 2007, 06:23 PM
Another group of clowns at thatstamil.com claiming the song 'azhaku kitti chellam' is meant for the ladylove and we can laugh at their comedy at best when reading 'paadalaik ketkave jolly-aga irukkirathu' for Pesigiren song. :)