View Full Version : Sir Sachin Tendulkar 4

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

28th January 2011, 02:21 PM
28 Jan, 2011, 12.28AM IST,

Sachin Tendulkar strikes Rs 40 cr, two villas in new endorsement deals

PUNE/BANGALORE: It must be the greatest start Sachin Tendulkar ever had: earning Rs 1.5 crore a day! In the first 27 days of 2011, the Little Master has won Rs 40 crore and two villas in new endorsement deals. If only he could match the strike rate on the pitch during this World Cup!

Indian cricket's little big man has signed deals with Pune-based real estate company Amit Enterprises for Rs 9 crore and apparel maker S Kumars Nationwide (SKNL) for Rs 12-13 crore, within days of Coca-Cola announcing a Rs 20-crore, three-year contract with the top batsman.

Tendulkar's deal with the Rs 250-crore developer includes two villas, priced at Rs 2.5 crore each, in Amit Enterprises' upscale housing project.

"We have taken Sachin as our brand ambassador because we are not known outside Pune, and his association with us should help when we start projects in Mumbai and Nashik," Amit Enterprises chairman and managing director Kishor Pate (Wani) said. The company plans to enter Bangalore, Hyderabad and Chennai, he added.

SKNL , which already has high-velocity brand ambassadors such as Shah Rukh Khan for Belmonte and Amitabh Bachchan for luxury suitings brand Reid and Taylor, believes Tendulkar can help its economy brand, World Player, break into the value segment for men and become a pan-Indian brand.

"The timing of the World Cup is purely coincidental to the endorsement," SKNL's apparel and retail director Ashesh Amin said.

Tendulkar's association with the brand will extend to incorporating his personal tastes with respect to colours as well as the look & feel of the brand. "Tendulkar is a go-getter. His dedication and attitude fits into World Player's brand values," Amin said.

Last week, Coca Cola signed Tendulkar as its 'happiness ambassador', laying the pitch for a Tendulkar-M S Dhoni face-off in the cola battlefield this season. "Sachin Tendulkar will play his part in the company's various strategic communication initiatives including its corporate, CSR and brand campaigns," Coca-Cola said in a statement.

PepsiCo has already released a high-visibility campaign featuring the Indian cricket captain Dhoni. Sachin had endorsed PepsiCo for close to a decade before being dropped two years ago as they felt he did not fit their 'youngistaan' campaign theme.

Tendulkar endorses 17 brands, including Adidas , luxury Swiss watch maker Audemars Piguet, Canon, ITC, Aviva Life Insurance , RBS and appliances major Toshiba. He charges about $1 million per year per deal. His endorsements are managed by sports management firm World Sport Group .

Other cricketers like Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli are also learnt to be on a signing spree, and are on the verge of signing two-three deals each. Details of the same were not available.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/news-by-company/corporate-trends/sachin-tendulkar-strikes-rs-40-cr-two-villas-in-new-endorsement-deals/articleshow/7375190.cms

[tscii:d0180f960b][/tscii:d0180f960b]

28th January 2011, 03:40 PM
Road in Gwalior named after Tendulkar

Gwalior, Jan 27 (PTI)

A new 3.55 km long road here namedafter master-blaster Sachin Tendulkar was inaugurated by theMadhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan hereyesterday.

The four-lane road constructed at a cost of Rs 2.89crore from the Madhya Pradesh High Court''s Gwalior Bench to Huravli village was named after Tendulkar to mark his historic double century in the one-day international match against South Africa in the city played on February 24, 2010.

The announcement in this regard was made by Chouhanwhen Tendulkar played his historic innings here on that dayclast year.

Chouhan inaugurated the road yesterday on the occasionof Republic Day.

http://news.oneindia.in/2011/01/28/roadin-gwalior-named-aftertendulkar-aid0126.html

[tscii:69e23a7252][/tscii:69e23a7252]

29th January 2011, 04:47 AM
[html:7833347a4b]<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/9hods4c20Ig" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>[/html:7833347a4b]

Sachin 143 VS Bangladesh 2010

29th January 2011, 04:48 AM
[html:2fbb950806]<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/pZl8Ahbaf2k" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>[/html:2fbb950806]

Sachin 100 VS SA 1st Test 2010

29th January 2011, 04:49 AM
[html:31fee9b28d]<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/sjSKDsgaAoM" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>[/html:31fee9b28d]

Sachin 105* vs Emg Natwest ODI Series 2002

29th January 2011, 04:50 AM
[html:44e6a69933]<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/RlJvt5s7v1I" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>[/html:44e6a69933]

Sachin Tendulkar 117* VS Aus CB Series Final 2008

30th January 2011, 02:19 AM
Tendulkar steals the show at awards ceremony

THE WINNERS: Sachin Tendulkar, Mohinder Amarnath, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag and Yusuf Pathan with their trophies at the Castrol awards function in Mumbai.

Sachin Tendulkar was the star attraction at the Castrol awards for cricketing excellence here on Friday night.

He was declared the Indian cricketer of the year, Test cricketer of the year and also felicitated for his remarkable feat of becoming the first batsman to score a double century in ODIs and score 50 Test centuries. He has, in fact, scored 51 Test centuries and 46 ODI centuries.

India captain M.S. Dhoni was declared the ODI cricketer of the year, Virender Sehwag batsman of the year and Harbhajan Singh, bowler of the year.

Rahul Dravid was felicitated in the special achievement category (highest number of catches in Tests), Yusuf Pathan (impact cricketer) and Jaydev Unadkat (junior cricketer of the year).

Mohinder Amarnath was given the Lifetime Achievement award.

“I feel extremely proud to be part of this team. To get there (to the No 1 spot) was not easy. We had to face a lot of challenges and stood together supporting each other. We had to work hard. Gary brought a remarkable change in the squad, Tendulkar said.

http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/article1137883.ece

[tscii:c7e43f02cf][/tscii:c7e43f02cf]

30th January 2011, 02:21 AM
Announcement: Hello All, This page now has 2 MILLION FANS. SACHINATION is truly making its mark on Facebook. We'd like to thank each & every fan who has liked this page. Like Sachin Tendulkar himself, we are all breaking records! - Admin

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/sachintendulkarfans

2 Million fans in facebook :clap: :clap: :clap:

31st January 2011, 08:14 AM
2011 could be Tendulkar's World Cup
Nitin Naik, TNN, Jan 29, 2011, 10.44pm IST

"Mushy, bas ye ek hi wicket hai," bellowed Pakistan's combative wicket-keeper Moin Khan as Sachin Tendulkar arrived at the crease in the World Cup clash at Sydney in 1992. Despite the presence of other stalwarts in the team, Moin felt it prudent to alert leggie Mushtaq Ahmed about the benefits Pakistan would reap if they dismiss the then 18-year-old Tendulkar early. That Pakistan couldn't and Tendulkar scored a match-winning 54, is mere statistic. What was more revealing was the attention he commanded even at such a young age.

Circa Centurion 2003, a raging Tendulkar was making a mockery of a sizeable target of 274 and a potent Pakistan bowling attack, en route to a regal 98. The knock wasn't without alarms though. While on 46, Akram deceived Tendulkar with a slower ball and the batsman checked his drive but Abdul Razzaq at mid-off jumped too late and dropped the catch. "B*****d, tereko pata hai batsmen kaun hai," was Akram's furious response to Razzaq. :lol:

Twelve years and three World Cups later, Tendulkar remained the man to get.

After graduating from a middle-order batsman to opening in ODIs, he was breaking records out of habit and had become the biggest scalp for bowlers and India's pulse. A Tendulkar ton had the potential to prompt even the most corrupt babu to work without accepting a bribe!

His legend though had started to gain root just before the 1996 World Cup came to the sub-continent for the second time. Tendulkar had just signed a $10million deal with World Tel. In the World Cup, he justified the hype and the billing, scoring the tournament's highest run tally (523 runs in 7 matches).

India's dependence on him was growing. And no where was it more prominent than in the semifinals .

Till he was at the crease, the Eden Gardens pitch appeared docile. The moment he fell for 65, the pitch metamorphosed into a minefield where every Sri Lankan bowler appeared to be hurling a bomb and India crashed out.

As the 1999 edition in England drew closer, Tendulkar had gone past Desmond Haynes' record for most centuries in ODIs. He had had by far his best year in international cricket (1998). He had gained and lost captaincy and had been introduced to injuries. An attacking and talented opening partner, Sourav Ganguly, had been unearthed along with a solid middle-order batsman in Rahul Dravid. The team's over-reliance on Tendulkar though remained a constant. But he failed to get going, barring the game against Kenya where he scored an emotional century after his father's death. Not surprisingly, India exited at the Super Six stage.

After another failed dalliance with captaincy post the World Cup, his game blossomed under the John Wright-Ganguly regime.

Success chased India and Tendulkar in the West Indies and England, but just months before the 2003 World Cup, a disastrous tour of New Zealand followed.

With Dravid being asked to keep wickets and acting as a finisher along with Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag finding his feet as ODI opener, Tendulkar was asked to bat at No. 4. Although he scored runs there, he was happier at the top. Post India's loss to a second-string South African side in a warm-up game, coach Wright sought a one-on-one with Tendulkar and restored his opening spot. The Kiwi realized that a happy Tendulkar was key to India's fortunes.

Tendulkar's massive stature prompted the team management to request him to address the nation prior to the match against Zimbabwe at Harare after fans attacked players' homes and families following India's humiliating defeat against Australia in the group stage at Centurion.

His reassuring words calmed them and India's campaign was up and running. Tendulkar ended the World Cup with a mammoth 673 runs and pocketed the man-of-the-series award.

In the Chappell era, insecurity and injuries didn't get the best out of the legend and the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies proved to be a shambolic campaign.

But the pieces have been put together now. The Master, now semi-retired from the ODI game, picks and chooses his tournaments. New strokes have been added and every move he makes is with keeping in mind the World Cup.

To achieve that, he's changed a few things. The crouched stance has given way to a more upright one, easing the pressure on his back. He doesn't play pre-meditated shots. While batting in the powerplays there is no more the reluctance to play lofted strokes, an affliction he suffered from between 2005 to 2007. His bat too appears lighter and that could be a reason why he is playing more horizontal bat strokes.

2011 could be Tendulkar's World Cup. Yes, India as hosts will be under pressure and the media will keep gloating over the fact that he is close to a hundred international hundreds. But hasn't Tendulkar lived his entire life meeting expectations?

Sachin at World Cups

1992: Still only 18, Tendulkar came to grips quickly on the bouncy surfaces of Australia. He won the man-of-the-match award in back-to-back games against Pakistan and Zimbabwe in winning causes.

M: 8; Runs; 283; Hs: 84; Avg: 47.16; 50s: 3

1996: At the peak of his powers, Tendulkar mastered most bowling attacks and led the team to the semis. His counter-attacking 90 against Australia and his ton at the Kotla against Sri Lanka were absolute gems. Finished as top-run-getter.
M: 7; Runs: 523; Hs: 137; Avg: 87.16; 100s: 2; 50s: 3

1999: Came to the tournament after a lengthy injury lay-off and had to rush to India after the first match against India after his father died. He scored a hundred on return against Kenya, but wasn't his fluent self.
M: 7; Runs: 253; Hs: 140*; Avg: 42.16; 100s: 1; 50s: 0

2003: With his opening spot restored, was at his very best. His knocks against Pakistan, England and Sri Lanka were the highpoints of the edition.
M: 11; Runs: 673; Hs: 152; Avg: 61.18; 100s: 1; 50s: 6

2007: Scored a scorching 50 against Bermuda, but looked insecure and scratchy at No. 4.
M: 3; Runs: 64; Hs: 57*; Avg: 32; 50s: 1

Total: M: 36; Runs: 1796; Hs: 152; Avg: 57.93; 100s: 4; 50s: 13.

Read more: 2011 could be Tendulkar's World Cup - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/world-cup-2011/news/2011-could-be-Tendulkars-World-Cup/articleshow/7386883.cms#ixzz1CZorU2yq

Moin Khan 8-)
[tscii:58877457f4][/tscii:58877457f4]

31st January 2011, 11:08 AM
Not a bad world cup record, eh? I hope it is not diminished this year.

2nd February 2011, 01:27 AM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs792.ash1/168272_175090719194507_108118799225033_336630_2286 257_n.jpg

Wow this is cool. I don't have to pester poor LM anymore :P/.

2nd February 2011, 09:14 AM
Wow this is cool. I don't have to pester poor LM anymore :P/.

Yes :lol: :thumbsup:

2nd February 2011, 11:51 AM
enna irundhAlum moderator kitta kEttu enable paNdra sugamE thani. I dont like this empowerment :evil:

2nd February 2011, 11:54 AM
Nalla velai neenga admin illai :poke:

2nd February 2011, 11:56 AM
adhu sari neraiya hubberrs profile-la moderator hubber, admin hubber-nu irukkE? adhuvum pudhusA varra Vijay fans ellAm by default Moderator Hubber-nu irukkuAnga?
EdhAvadhu guerilla operation paNNi Hub-ai kaipaRRittAngaLA?

2nd February 2011, 11:59 AM
That's a small glitch. Hubbers who recently joined are getting those titles. Will be fixed soon.

2nd February 2011, 02:05 PM
http://raptor.in/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/sachin-god2.jpg

2nd February 2011, 02:07 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_NJ_ucDN5HAI/THy0qQBEjfI/AAAAAAAAAco/vbx05r0lLps/s1600/Cricket-God-Sachin-Krishna.jpg

3rd February 2011, 02:26 AM
World Cup will be our biggest gift to Sachin: Dhoni

As Sachin Tendulkar gears up to play his sixth World Cup, the Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Indian team is desperate to make it a special one for him by gifting the champion batsman the trophy which has eluded the side for 28 years.

In his two-decade long illustrious career, during which he has featured in five World Cups since 1992, Tendulkar has virtually every batting record under his belt but a world title is the only trophy which is missing from his cupboard.

And Dhoni said his team will do whatever it takes to make it a memorable tournament for Tendulkar, who will turn 38 in a few months time.

“We all love him (Tendulkar) a lot. Most probably it is his last World Cup although we all want him to play many more World Cups. But practically speaking it seems impossible,” Dhoni told reporters during a promotional event here.

“So, that (the World Cup trophy) can be the biggest gift from the team to him,” he said.

“We believe in each others’ talent and we have a very good team. The environment in the dressing room is very good.

And if we perform to our potential we have a very good chance of winning (the World Cup),” Dhoni added.

Dhoni termed the 2007 inaugural World Twenty20 title in South Africa as the biggest achievement of his captaincy career so far, but refused to make any predictions for the upcoming mega-event.

“It (World Twenty20 title) is the most memorable moment of my career since I made my debut in 2004 and it will always be there up in the league.

“But I don’t want to make any predictions for the (ODI) World Cup. I can only assure all that we will give our best.

We play one game at a time. So at present I am just thinking about the Bangladesh game (on February 19 in Dhaka),” he said.

Dhoni praises WC format

Dhoni also hailed the format of this year’s World Cup and said it is a welcome change from the 2007 edition.

“It is a good format for us. It is a bit of relief from 2007. Here even if you lose a few games you have a chance to get into the quarter-finals,” Dhoni said.

“But it will be about playing consistent cricket. Whoever plays consistent cricket in the tournament will get into the knockout stage,” he added.

Four years ago in the West Indies, weighed down by the pressure of expectations, India crashed out of the World Cup at the preliminary stage but Dhoni insisted that the present outfit is well prepared to handle the burden in the upcoming event.

Now we call pressure added responsibility. We know the expectation level is high but we are prepared for it because we knew for long that the World Cup will be held in India. Expectations are something which is beyond our control,” Dhoni said.

‘Happy with the squad’

The Indian skipper was also satisfied with the 15 players he has got for the tournament.

“I am really happy with the squad. I know I am the lone wicket-keeper in the team but it is not a worrying factor. If anything major happens to me, we can always bring in the reserve wicket-keeper as it is happening in India. But one wicket-keeper gives us the liberty of having one more variation in the side,” Dhoni said.

“We also have variety in our bowling department. We have not got express fast bowlers but we have got decent bowlers who are very skillful,” he said.

Dhoni differed with England batsman Kevin Pietersen, who criticised the scheduling of the World Cup for having long gaps between matches.

“It is difficult to get a perfect schedule but I am quite happy with the schedule. Some of our players have got a few niggles and the gap will help them to recover,” Dhoni said.

Need to do our homework on UDRS: Dhoni

With the controversial Umpire Decision Review System (UDRS) to be implemented in the tournament from the quarter-finals, the Indian captain said the teams will have to do their homework on the subject.

“We have done our background check although we have not used it (UDRS). It’s not that every team will be pleased with the system at the end of the day but we need to do our homework right,” Dhoni said.

Dhoni also expressed his disappointment at not playing at the Eden Gardens where the hosts were scheduled to take on England on February 27. The fixture has been shifted to Bangalore “Playing in the Eden Gardens before one lakh people is always special. We will miss the passionate Kolkata crowd but it is out of our control,” he said.

http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/article1149133.ece?homepage=true

3rd February 2011, 02:31 AM
I personally do not like this talk of winning WC for Sachin. I mean it's great they have such respect for Tendulkar but play for yourself, the team and most importantly the country, dudes.

3rd February 2011, 07:42 AM
Amaam, idhaiye ellorum sollikkittu irundhaa eppadi :huh: These guys are putting unnecessary pressure on themselves.

3rd February 2011, 11:12 AM
It also reeks of "nAngallAm neniachAlE pOdhum. World Cup-lAm engaLukku birthday gift vAngaRA mAdhiri". More than the players, journalists posing the question to them are to be :hammer:-ed

jackamla
3rd February 2011, 11:49 AM
Indian batting maestro Sir Sachin Tendulkar is the greatest batsman in cricket. He known as God of Cricket. He held so many world record like most run scorer in Test & ODI, he hits highest centuries in Test & ODI. He made highest individual score 200 Not Out in ODI.

Sourav
3rd February 2011, 12:06 PM
Amaam, idhaiye ellorum sollikkittu irundhaa eppadi :huh: These guys are putting unnecessary pressure on themselves.
athey than... as plum said, press than ellorkittayum ithaiye kettu sensationalize panranuga..... but, wen asked to kapil, he responded differently... http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/world-cup-2011/news/World-Cup-is-not-about-Sachin-alone-Kapil-Dev/articleshow/7414510.cms

Arvind Srinivasan
3rd February 2011, 11:04 PM
athey than... as plum said, press than ellorkittayum ithaiye kettu sensationalize panranuga..... but, wen asked to kapil, he responded differently... http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/world-cup-2011/news/World-Cup-is-not-about-Sachin-alone-Kapil-Dev/articleshow/7414510.cms

intha media kaarangala thaan odaikannum. Summa usuppu ethiyae vedika paakavendiyathu. Nalla aadalana odanae oru criticism.....paavam kapil dev thaan. evlo interviewla athey kelvikku badil solvarunnu thaan theriyale

4th February 2011, 02:42 AM
this guy seriously deserves the honour of featuring in this thread...
watch it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lf5jtGPYsB8

5th February 2011, 04:55 AM
SACHIN 100* VS SRI LANKA 1ST TEST 2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuwGX64y0jg

5th February 2011, 10:54 AM
That forgettable World Cup 2007
By: Corrospondents
Date: 2011-02-05

Greg Chappell, India's cricket coach for three seasons, talks about his relationship with Sachin Tendulkar in Kolkata-based journalist Gautam Bhattacharya's book sach to be released soon

Greg Chappell says:
At the outset let me clarify I never ever doubted Sachin Tendulkar's commitment to the side. The only time I talked about him was in relation to the team's World Cup venture. If you talk about a breakdown in relations, that possibly happened only around this time.

Basically we differed on his batting order in the West Indies. We had toured West Indies the previous year and noticed that on the slow tracks there, you desperately needed a power hitter in the middle overs. Someone who would control the most vital part of the game from 20 to 40 overs and also hit the ball through the field. It wasn't just me alone. Rahul Dravid was also involved in the thinking which felt the matches were going to get decided in those middle overs and you needed the brilliance of either a Sachin or Sehwag to play in that position.

Sehwag didn't seem very keen. So we sat down with Sachin who in any case was the first priority. We put it down to him and he seemed reluctant. He thought top-of-the-order was the best place for him as it has always been.

But we were still in the discussion as Rahul and myself were convinced no other batsman in the team would be able to do it. Sachin finally agreed. Next day he got back to Rahul. Though he made it known that he was not happy doing it. He felt that his reputation demanded two places higher in the order. You must understand the scenario in that prevailing context.

Before I took over as the Coach, India had lost about 22 One Day games including few important finals. Especially the team was getting panicky while chasing. Through careful consideration of the failure pattern we suggested certain changes. We did reverse the trend as records would show and subsequently won 17 consecutive ODI matches while chasing. It was some kind of a record.

Strategy with Sachin was only an extension of the radical strategic moves we were making. Had the World Cup been held anywhere else ” Australia , England , India , Pakistan there would have been no discussion. Sachin would open. Always. But here in West Indies we badly needed a power-hitter and looked up to him for filling that vacancy. I even assured him, once the World Cup gets over you would revert back to your original position.

Lesson
But to be honest, that experience has taught me a lesson. Today confronted with a similar situation I would still put the idea across to him and explain. But if he shows any kind of discomfort I won't push. I would let him decide.

With Sachin, I later on had a face-to-face chat. There was an issue about a write-up which had come out in the Times of India. We spoke the next day and I would like to believe parted on good terms. As I said earlier the only disagreement we had was over his place in the batting order which now is a thing of the past.

If you talk about a historical perspective, I won't jump out of the window and say, hey Sachin is the best after Sir Don. Graeme Pollock averaging sixty in Test cricket played lot less. But played under much more trying conditions as a batsman in England and South Africa.

But skill-wise of course Sachin is brilliant. In my all-time-best World Eleven, he will surely be there but I may not put him at No 4. And I must admit here that he has handled greater expectations than Bradman over a longer period of time. During my years as the Indian Coach how people vied for a minute's attention from him irrespective of wherever he went!

Emotionally and physically it must be very draining to cope up with that sort of attention day in and day out. But he has handled it remarkably well. He must be the most single-handed devotee cricket has ever seen. Cricket has taken up so much of his life that at times you would wonder what is he going to do once he gives up the game!

I believe, as long as he can keep himself mentally fresh, he can play international cricket. I can see him playing till forty if he can refresh the mind again and again. Because his technical skills are fine and the relevant demands he will be able to meet. He has to only cope with the mental part. I remember having a discussion with him in Chennai.

This was a phase when he had just come back from an injury and begun doubting himself. Around that time we had a long chat on batting. He rang up later to say this was the best cricketing conversation on batting he ever had.

I had told him, as you grow older you experience more. But because of the experience you also get more cautious. More apprehensive. I told him that he has to recreate in his mind the imagery of a young batsman all over again. The same freshness.

I am sure even to this date he remembers the discussion. As last year or may be the year before, I read an interview of his on the net where he talked about the mental part associated in batting. And he repeated exactly the same things that were discussed that night.

I have also read interviews of his where Sachin has talked about a happy environment in the dressing room. I am willing to believe that just up to the lead-up to the World Cup, we had a fairly happy environment. I thought it was quite happy. Now Dhoni as a captain has contributed towards that enormously.

He has the special ability and is quite an unflappable guy. Dhoni during my time was acceptable in all quarters. He could mix with both juniors and the seniors. Dhoni keeps a very calm demeanor around the group and that has an effect on the dressing room.

No connection
Contrary to what people may think my decision to relinquish the post of the Indian Coach was made up much before the World Cup. I had presented the BCCI my roadmap for the project Commitment to Excellence and they approved it.

Yet, there was a clear philosophical clash as to which direction the Group needed to go. I for one wasn't prepared to compromise. If I had conceded then there would be no fight. But I wanted to remain true to my beliefs and cricketing thoughts bottomline - it wasn't going anywhere and whatever I had set out to do remained unattainable. That is why I decided to quit which was much before the World Cup.

So to set the record straight once again ” Sachin's statement in the press against me had nothing to do with my discontinuing as the coach. As I said earlier we had parted on good terms.

Extracted with permission from Sach by Gautam Bhattacharya. The book, published by Vikas Publishing, will be released soon.

http://www.mid-day.com/print.php?path=%27http://www.mid-day.com/sports/2011/feb/050211-Greg-Chappell-Indian-coach-Sachin-Tendulkar-book-released.htm%27

5th February 2011, 11:00 AM
http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/article1156178.ece

Another link for the same interview!!!

5th February 2011, 11:08 AM
What did Sachin say in press? I don't remember any statement by him against GC :?

jinju
5th February 2011, 11:20 AM
What did Sachin say in press? I don't remember any statement by him against GC :?

he told something like GC didn't allow freedom for players...like SRT wasn't happy being pushed down the order, etc...don't remember the exact statements.

jinju
5th February 2011, 11:41 AM

i cud find one link connected to this. this was there in rediff.com after the world cup i think. remember reading about it there. i think this statement by Sachin was the last straw for GC. Till then, SRT was quiet. i remember the resignation came after 1 week or so after this interview.

In a rare outburst, Sachin Tendulkar has also broken his silence to express his hurt and anguish to Chappell's quotes that a mafia of senior players were undermining Indian cricket.

In an interview given to The Times of India, Tendulkar said, "I have given my heart and my soul for 17 years. No coach had mentioned even in passing that my attitude was not correct. Cricket has been my life for all these years and will always be."

"Again, it's not that we are defending ourselves. We do realise that we played badly and, as a team, we take full responsibility for that.

But what hurt us most is that the coach has questioned our attitude."

These comments come in response to reports that senior members of the team ganged up against coach Greg Chappell and undermined captain Rahul Dravid's authority.

The article goes on to quote Sachin as saying "Tell me, the world has gone on talking about all this but has anybody spared a thought for us? Did they try to find out what we have been going through? I am shattered beyond words and I feel helpless."

The senior players are in fact hoping to express that disappointment and give their own side of the story on April 5. That is when they hope to meet BCCI president Sharad Pawar.

The Indian board will be meeting on April 6-7 to review India's disastrous World Cup campaign.

The working committee meeting will be attended by BCCI office bearers and seven former captains including Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Ravi Shastri.

http://www.eduqna.com/Quotations/743-quotations-4.html

5th February 2011, 11:45 AM
Thanks Jinju. I remember this now. Anyway, this cannot be deemed as against Greg, right? Reading Greg's interview, he makes it sound like Sachin told something harsh about him :?

5th February 2011, 11:51 AM
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/288710.html

"It hurts when the coach questions our attitude"

jinju
5th February 2011, 11:53 AM
Thanks Jinju. I remember this now. Anyway, this cannot be deemed as against Greg, right? Reading Greg's interview, he makes it sound like Sachin told something harsh about him :?

adhu thaan point-e! as i told, till then, there was not 1 word from SRT. ivangellaam pesamaattaanga, aanaal pesinaa correct-a pesuvaanga...like Kumble's "there was only 1 team that played in the spirit of the game" dialaak! as a fan, i was also thinking until SRT says something on this issue, these r just rumors, and once he mentioned the 'coach' word, that was it for GC.

remember reading another article that SRT was unhappy that Uthappa was batting above some of the seniors including him, which he felt was not the right combo for the team and he told GC so. i think this was misinterpreted as 'attitude not correct' 'seniors mafia' etc by GC.

5th February 2011, 12:22 PM
Yes, even in this interview, Greg says Sachin was not comfortable playing at no.4, because of his reputation :shock:

5th February 2011, 12:30 PM
Chappell brothers use interviews, books to rewrite histoery and paint themselves as mother teresa reincarnates. Their modus operandi is "anyway sachin will not speak about it now so let's say something placating to him but paints us in mother teresa light". Hence the lesson learnt and nesttu time i'll give him comfort talk. adhAvadhu ivaru uthamarAm. Sachinku attitude sari illainAlum adhai anusarichu pOi still indiavai jeyikka vekkara pakkuvam vandhuruchAm.
Chappell Bros = Cheap-fel(lows).

jinju
5th February 2011, 12:33 PM
Yes, even in this interview, Greg says Sachin was not comfortable playing at no.4, because of his reputation :shock:

he conveniently interpreted it so, one feels whereas SRT's version is that he told so because he felt it to be the right combo. but why raking this past issue at this important time thaan doubt-a irukku..whoz behind this?

5th February 2011, 12:49 PM
Ivanukkellam Bothamthaan layakku!!

5th February 2011, 06:38 PM
Clever ploy by veLLaikkaaran to distract the team just before WC :lol2:

6th February 2011, 12:37 AM
Sachin Tendulkar talks about Kumble, Dravid, Ganguly & Laxman

NEW DELHI: Sachin Tendulkar says Anil Kumble is the greatest bowler he has played with, finds Rahul Dravid’s technique and concentration excellent and VVS Laxman the most wristy, while Sourav Ganguly is one who figured out his game well.

Tendulkar, who has closely seen all the four who formed the Fab Five of the Indian team not long ago, elaborated on the the style and substance of the four players.

“From the manner in which Rahul and Sourav had batted in their debut Test match, it was quite evident that they were there to stay.” Tendulkar said in a book titled ‘SACH,’ by Gautam Bhattacharya.

“Rahul’s forte was excellent technique and he loved to occupy the crease for long hours. Rahul concentrated extremely well — I mean, still concentrates very well. Sourav was somebody who figured out his game well enough. He knew which bowler to hit and which one to defend. Sourav liked scoring runs in boundaries. He was a boundary hitter.

“Laxman depended on hand-eye coordination. He was the most wristy player. And Kumble, of course, is the greatest bowler that I have ever played with. Apart from being a champion matchwinning bowler, his greatness lay in the fact that he would bowl the last delivery of the day with the same amount of fire irrespective of his performance during the day.

Tendulkar, who has been witness to the various contraptions that came into the game, feels, the computer has been the most important as it gives the opportunity to study the opposition. He, however, insists the electronic gadget cannot substitute the “skills” of a player.

“Your performance is the biggest indicator that skill can march well ahead of the laptop! The computer does play an important role in today’s cricket. You forget so many things. With the computer you can store them. For me the biggest advantage is you can study the opposition. The computer helps and provides you with that vital two to three per cent difference. As far as I am concerned it is not overrated.”

http://tendulkar.co.in/index.php/2011/02/05/sachin-tendulkar-talks-about-kumble-dravid-ganguly-laxman/

sunnyg
6th February 2011, 02:51 AM
Guys

Sachin's 140+ was one of his top 5 centuries! Don't you guys think so?

It is sad that we could NOT force a win after getting 6 wickets in the second innings.

I personally dont think all this hyping up of the Indian team will do us any good in the World Cup.

The bowling is still very weak with Zaheer and Harbajan being the only two solid, dependable performers.
What about the other 30 overs? Munaf, Nehra and the part time bowling of Yuvi/Sehwag/Pathan/Sachin?

I hope we can WIN but I am not counting on it.

Remember, our Chika commented that we were FAVORITES before the last world Cup and guess what happened?

I am hoping India will make it to the playoffs and play New Zealand in the Quarters.

Good luck India!

Sunny G.

6th February 2011, 03:13 AM
1. Aahnn

2. May be

3. Ounandi

4. Vaasthavam dhan

5. Zaheer ok, Bhajji/others paakalam

6. Me too.

7. Old story

8. NZ can still play well and defeat us

9. Same here

Your's Truly.

6th February 2011, 06:34 AM
When I sledged to rattle McGrath, the ploy worked: Sachin
IANS, Feb 5, 2011, 05.59pm IST

Read more: When I sledged to rattle McGrath, the ploy worked: Sachin - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/When-I-sledged-to-rattle-McGrath-the-ploy-worked-Sachin/articleshow/7432146.cms#ixzz1D8W8lg5g

NEW DELHI: Sachin Tendulkar says he, too, has sledged, but only once and that as part of team strategy. The batting maestro needled Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath by telling he would go after his bowling and the ploy worked.

"I have never sledged per se merely for the sake of sledging. I did that only once as a part of team strategy. This was at the Kenya Champions Trophy. We were playing Australia." Tendulkar recollects in a book 'SACH' penned by Gautam Bhattacharya.

Tendulkar describes how he irked McGrath with a cheeky line.

"The match was played under overcast conditions. The wicket was also very damp. I had told Sourav before that I would do something to upset McGrath's rhythm. So, in the very first over, I stepped out to him. The first thing I said to him was: 'Today I will hit you out of the ground.' He got really angry and started spraying the ball around. This was exactly what we wanted. As on that surface, he may have been very dangerous. :lol:

"We did win that match ultimately and I felt very happy. My sledging did work for the team. My own experience of sledging came very early on my first tour to Australia. I remember having blocked a delivery and the ball landed near my foot. I tried picking it up when Allan Border shouted from gully. 'Don't touch the ball.' So I stopped immediately."

Read more: When I sledged to rattle McGrath, the ploy worked: Sachin - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/When-I-sledged-to-rattle-McGrath-the-ploy-worked-Sachin/articleshow/7432146.cms#ixzz1D8VtTy3g

7th February 2011, 12:12 AM
Saw Ind Vs Aus....sharjah 143 notout match..highlight.after long time..Sachins best ever innings smashes every change of bowling orders..be fleming,steve warne...
awesome .....

7th February 2011, 01:55 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QStliYDXSsY

7th February 2011, 02:03 AM
YouTube - Sachin Tendulkar 160 vs. NZ 42nd Test Century.flv

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if3Oykn9cnU

9th February 2011, 04:19 AM
SACHIN 109 VS AUSTRALIA 4TH TEST BG TROPHY 2008

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkGef2XwH1s&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

10th February 2011, 10:02 AM
Sachin Tendulkar arrives at the Chinnaswamy Stadium for practice, Bangalore, February 9, 2011

http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/128000/128036.jpg

11th February 2011, 02:46 AM
Sachin, the greatest sporting role model, says coach Kirsten

Bangalore, Feb 10, DHNS:

The encomiums kept flowing from the dais, but seated in the first row, the little man watched on almost stone-faced.

A gentle nod of the head and a slight occasional smile were the only reactions Sachin Tendulkar allowed himself as his former and current captains, as well as his current coach, paid heartfelt compliments to the little big man of Indian cricket.

Gary Kirsten hasn’t had too many opportunities to eulogise Tendulkar the cricketer and the man on a public platform which included Tendulkar himself. “To me, Sachin Tendulkar is the greatest sporting role model I have ever seen,” the South African, who revealed that he had begun to get ‘sick and tired’ of the sight of Tendulkar’s straight bat while fielding at mid-off and mid-on, told the gathering. “I have seen the humility with which he accepts such adulation from so many people, it is truly extraordinary.”

The gathering, of course, had assembled for the launch of a second book on the master in two days, ‘SACH’ by sports journalist Gautam Bhattacharya. A distinguished set of gentlemen, among them Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid and Mahendra Singh Dhoni, spoke at length on Tendulkar. That they all chose to focus more on the human side of the 37-year-old than his cricketing exploits showed just how dear he is to their hearts.

“I don’t think anyone has touched more people than Sachin has,” remarked Kumble. “He has touched a billion Indians, and he has touched Indians and cricket fans around the world. A true champion.”

Dhoni said he had been pleasantly surprised at having been asked to write the foreword. “I have written very little about Sachin’s cricket and more about what I have learnt from him in five years as an international cricketer, as well as the kind of human being, father, husband and role model he has been,” the Indian skipper added.

The evening began with a moving tribute from an unwell and absent Manna Dey, and ended with Dravid and Kumble wishing the Indian team and Tendulkar the very best for the World Cup. It was an evening of nostalgia and emotion, the book launch -- Kumble did the honours for the English edition, and Dravid and Dhoni for the Hindi one -- providing just the right platform.

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/136666/sachin-greatest-sporting-role-model.html

cinema
11th February 2011, 03:16 AM
IMO only two things left for Great Sachin. One is world cup and another one is completing 50 centuries in one day. Hopefully both happens in this world cup itself.

11th February 2011, 01:11 PM
Kirsten: I wanted to impress Sachin

Gary Kirsten has revealed how he tried to impress Sachin Tendulkar before taking up the role of India’s coach.

Kirsten, one of the most popular coaches India have had, is on the last leg of his tenure as he will be stepping down after the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup.

“I still remember in Adelaide (during India’s 2007-08 tour of Australia), Sachin came up to me and said ‘Can you throw a few balls at me?’

“I said to myself, I need to impress him. I threw from 16-17 yards and he missed a few balls. Next moment, he came to me and said, “Gary do you mind going a few yards back?” Kirsten recollected during the release of journalist Gautam Bhattacharya’s book ‘Sach’ on Thursday.

“After that, lovely cover drives flowed from Sachin’s bat. It was a good learning experience for me. I am fortunate to have had many net sessions with him and played alongside him.”

“It has been a humble privilege to have worked with him and the rest of the Indian team,” he continued.

Kirsten feels that it’s Sachin’s modesty that makes him the champion he is.

“Whenever Sachin comes out to bat, he does so with absolute humility. He is undoubtedly the greatest sporting role model.”

Tendulkar himself was present during the release of his biography, along with teammates Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan and Rahul Dravid. Former captain Anil Kumble was at the venue as well.

“I have never really got tired of watching Sachin bat. He has inspired so many generation of kids,” Dravid said.

Kumble echoed the sentiments of his erstwhile teammate.

“He has touched the lives of more people than anyone in the world. It’s been a privilege to have witnessed Sachin’s achievements.

The leg-spinner ended by giving his best to the Indian team for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup.

“The World Cup is one tournament that requires team effort. I wish Sachin, MS (Dhoni) and the rest of the boys all the best in their endeavour to win the Cup,” Kumble said.

http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/icc-cricket-world-cup/news/detail/item579516/Kirsten:-I-wanted-to-impress-Sachin/

11th February 2011, 01:50 PM
Book-ai bayangarama promote pandraanga :roll: Onnu vaangida vendiyadhudhan 8-)

Yerkanave vaangina Sachin book-e innum padikkala :oops2:

12th February 2011, 03:07 AM
Sachin Tendulkar 155 vs Aus 1st Test Channai , 1998 - Part 1 - 3.flv

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqcF54ubEec&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kEZRcTU42Zs&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUNHaNDqTl4&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

12th February 2011, 03:47 AM
Playing for Sachin won't get India the Cup: Waugh
New Delhi: Former Australia captain Steve Waugh does not believe in the refrain that the Indian cricket team should win the World Cup for Sachin Tendulkar, saying that a side cannot go on to lift the coveted trophy playing for just one person.

"I think that is not the right approach. You can't win the World Cup playing for just one person. You play for the team, for the country. The game is bigger than any individual," Waugh said here today.

Sachin is the greatest role model: Kirsten

Tendulkar, playing in his sixth and probably the last World Cup, holds almost every conceivable record in an illustrious career spanning over two decades, but the only thing missing from his impressive portfolio is the coveted trophy.

Waugh said that India are definitely one of the favourites and if the team does win, it will cap off a great career for Tendulkar.

The country has its hopes pinned on the champion batsman, and Waugh believed that Tendulkar's role will be crucial in tricky situations.

"Tendulkar may not be the star of the tournament but he is going to play key roles in crucial moments," he said.

14th February 2011, 11:11 AM
Sachin Tendulkar 138(133) India v Sri Lanka at Colombo Compaq Cup Final 2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXsIiPBNVjU&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

14th February 2011, 12:44 PM
Sachin Tendulkar 100 vs Australia 2003 TVS Cup

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egdTMUrh7pk

Arvind Srinivasan
14th February 2011, 08:18 PM
www.espncricinfo.com/awards2010/content/story/500092.html

14th February 2011, 10:36 PM
Bought Gautam Bhattacharya's "SACH". M.S.Dhoni has written the forward, yet to read that but he says that "If Cricket is Ram, Sachin is Hanuman, greatest disciple"

14th February 2011, 10:38 PM
Ohh, the book is released? Will buy it this week :)

14th February 2011, 10:40 PM
Yes LM, I saw a seperate chapter dedicated to Mr.Chappel :twisted:

14th February 2011, 10:42 PM
Probably as a dhrishti :mrgreen:

14th February 2011, 10:44 PM
No No about Chappel's cunningness...

14th February 2011, 10:44 PM
For those who would like to buy online: http://www.flipkart.com/sach-gautam-bhattacharya-book-8125945652

Cover design is so so :|

14th February 2011, 10:46 PM
No No about Chappel's cunningness...

Oh!! I'll reserve my comments till I read it, but I just hope there are no controversial things in the book.

15th February 2011, 12:17 AM
Laxman, Steyn, Tendulkar win ESPNcricinfo awards
The India-South Africa rivalry was the key contest of the year, one that the ESPNcricinfo Awards reflect

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 14, 2011

Steyn v Laxman: the contest of the year © AFP

VVS Laxman and Dale Steyn have won the top awards in the fourth annual ESPNcricinfo Awards, announced in Bangalore today. The other winners were Sachin Tendulkar, Umar Gul, Michael Hussey and Tim Southee.

Laxman won the Test batting award for his 96 on a seaming pitch in Durban, while Steyn took the bowling prize for his 7 for 51 against India in Nagpur on a flat batting track. That both players overcame unfavourable conditions and led their teams to historic wins was important in their beating some impressive competition. That the two Test winners emerged from India's series home and away against South Africa is a validation of the growing importance of the rivalry between the two teams, the top-ranked sides in Tests.

The one-day batting award also went to a performance from an India-South Africa game: Sachin Tendulkar's remarkable unbeaten double-hundred in Gwalior, the first in the 40-odd years of the existence of the format. A performance that Kepler Wessels, one of the members of ESPNcricinfo's awards jury described as "the perfect one-day innings", it brought Tendulkar his second consecutive win in the category. He won last year for his monumental 175 in a lost cause against Australia. Tendulkar's innings was run close by Abdul Razzaq's hyper-violent 109, which took his side to a win against South Africa after they were nine down and needed 30 runs to win.

Also winning his second award in two years was Umar Gul, last year's Twenty20 bowling winner, who took the ODI prize for 2010 for his 6 for 42, which undid England's modest chase of 242 at The Oval.

In Twenty20, Tim Southee's five-wicket burst in nine balls, which included a hat-trick - New Zealand's first in the format - at tiny Eden Park was the jury's overwhelming favourite for the bowling award. Michael Hussey's "freak" of a 60 in the World Twenty20 semi-final, which one of the judges, Ramiz Raja, called "the greatest Twenty20 knock of all time", beat Brendon McCullum's century, only the second in Twenty20 internationals, to the batting prize. Hussey's was a death-defying innings in which he scored 22 off the last four balls to drag Australia from a point of no hope against Pakistan into the tournament final.

Besides Ramiz and Wessels, the jury included former internationals Ian Chappell, Tony Greig, Geoff Boycott, Sanjay Manjrekar and Martin Crowe, and ESPNcricinfo's senior editors. The jurors picked their top three performances in each category out of shortlists compiled by the site's editorial staff. Each performance ranked No. 1 got five points, while Nos. 2 and 3 got three points and one respectively.

Tendulkar's and Gul's performances were ranked No. 1 by 10 jury members, Steyn's by eight and Laxman's 96 by five. The voting for Laxman was marked by dissent over what his best performance of the year was: three of his innings featured in the Test batting shortlist, the most by any player in a single category in the history of the awards. His 73 against Australia in Mohali, where he batted through back spasms to lead India to a one-wicket win, was picked by three jurors as their No. 2 and by one as the No. 1. Alastair Cook's Ashes double-century got four No. 1 votes.

Laxman's innings divided ESPNcricinfo's readers, too, who were invited to vote for their favourite performances of the year: his Mohali innings got just 871 more votes than his Durban one. The readers concurred with the jurors in all other categories except Twenty20 batting, where Suresh Raina's World Twenty20 century got nearly 40% of the total votes polled.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/awards2010/content/current/story/500425.html

15th February 2011, 12:20 AM
Southee and Tendulkar readers' favourites
ESPNcricinfo's readers differed with the jury in two categories: Test and Twenty20 batting

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 14, 2011

ESPNcricinfo's readers picked VVS Laxman's 73 against Australia in Mohali as the best Test batting performance of 2010, differing with the jury's pick, Laxman's 96 in Durban. The readers also preferred Suresh Raina's century against South Africa in the World Twenty20 to Michael Hussey's unbeaten 60 in the semi-final of the same tournament.

The rest of the picks matched the jury's: Dale Steyn got 27% of the votes for his seven-for in Nagpur. The bulk of the other Test bowling votes were split between Harbhajan Singh (5 for 59 v South Africa in Kolkata) and Mohammad Amir (5 for 52 v England at The Oval).

Sachin Tendulkar received more than half the votes polled for his one-day double century, the first in the format - a performance that was voted the top ODI innings of the year by 10 members of the jury as well. Coincidentally Tendulkar polled the same percentage of readers' votes last year for the same category last year, when he won for his 175 against Australia.

The one-day bowling award, which went to Umar Gul for his 6 for 42 against England, got about a third of the readers' votes for the category.

The largest margin of victory, though, was 61% of the votes polled, by Tim Southee, for his five-for, which included New Zealand's first Twenty20 hat-trick.

Readers' top three in each category
Test Batting Test Bowling ODI Batting ODI Bowling Twenty20 Batting Twenty20 Bowling

VVS Laxman (24%) (Mohali) Dale Steyn (27%) (Nagpur) Sachin Tendulkar (56%) Umar Gul (36%) Suresh Raina (39%) (World Twenty20) Tim Southee (61%)

VVS Laxman (21%) (Durban) Harbhajan Singh (18%) Abdul Razzaq (19%) Ryan Harris (16%) (Perth) Michael Hussey (21%) Shaun Tait (24%) (Dubai)

Azhar Ali(14%) Mohammad Amir (13%) Shahid Afridi (7%) Ashish Nehra (15%) Brendon McCullum (17%) Graeme Cremer (6%)

http://www.espncricinfo.com/awards2010/content/current/story/500678.html

© ESPN EMEA Ltd.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/awards2010/content/current/story/500678.html

15th February 2011, 12:24 AM
Sachin Tendulkar 141(135) - India v Pakistan Samsung Cup 2nd ODI at Rawalpindi 2004

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6iBhgeJ2KSE

15th February 2011, 01:33 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aP5xK3VjQ68&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

sachin 35 vs aus @ Bengaluru, 2001

15th February 2011, 01:35 AM
Tendulkar plays very well in the above knock before he gets run out at 35.

Sachin's 72 vs Aus @NAgpur,2007

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLRUKBCpskk&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

15th February 2011, 07:39 AM
Tendulkar plays very well in the above knock before he gets run out at 35.

Yes, he was particularly severe on McGrath. Thevai illama runout :sigh2:

15th February 2011, 07:54 AM
LM, We've gotta track videos of Australia tours to India, ODI's especially from the Titan Cup in 1996. Some great ODI matches have happened then.

15th February 2011, 08:06 AM
Yes. But, is there anyone uploading those videos? Ten Cricket is showing a lot of Sharjah matches played in 90's. I was watching this match (http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65828.html) last month. I don't even remember such a match was played :lol:

15th February 2011, 08:11 AM
Oh yeah I didn't watch this match per se as I was going for Communion classes on Summer 94. My father watched this one and he was all praise for Thalaivar. 10 fours and 3 sixers and the rest fuck up for a familar losing tale.

Aamanga Tendulkar run adicha naala dhaanga yindhiya thothuruchu :).

15th February 2011, 10:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRxabmv1jxg&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

15th February 2011, 11:00 AM
Oh yeah I didn't watch this match per se as I was going for Communion classes on Summer 94. My father watched this one and he was all praise for Thalaivar.

I only remember the semis and final of this series. Didn't have cable in our home then :|

15th February 2011, 11:40 AM
LM, We've gotta track videos of Australia tours to India, ODI's especially from the Titan Cup in 1996. Some great ODI matches have happened then.

Yeah that must have been the golden period for ODIs. In comparison, what passes off for 50 overs Cricket today is ordinary

18th February 2011, 12:27 AM
BANGALORE: As he opens the door to room number 2033 at the ITC Royal Gardenia hotel in Bangalore, the demigod who resides in it apologises for the mess inside. It is immediately evident that Sachin Tendulkar is every bit the unassuming man the world knows him to be.

"These guys are crazy," Tendulkar says softly, referring to his mates in blue who are now often talking about winning the cup for him. "They just talk about gifting me something."

The nation wants to win this World Cup - but this time, unlike his five earlier campaigns, they want it as much for him as they want it for themselves. Surely, this is Sachin's last chance.

He doesn't want to exaggerate his importance in India .s World Cup campaign, but the more he avoids talk on it, the more it returns to haunt him. "I just want to go out there and play. The rest is," he looks up as if there is someone else who decides.

And through his gestures he makes it obvious that he just can't wait to take it on.

Sachin tries an aggressive pose for the camera, but gives up. "It is all inside. It will come out when I am facing the ball," he says thumping his chest. "You will definitely see a lot of aggression during this edition."

If that statement is a hint of his strategy for the next 40-odd days, it will rouse the expectant nation that has only now, finally come to grips with his recent measured, cut-out-the-risks approach.

Could he go back to his old, swashbuckling ways?

"Sachin's aggression will be crucial to India's fortune this time," says former all-rounder Mohinder Amarnath.
Tendulkar made the most one-day international runs in 2010 (1,562) with an average of 55.90 and scored seven centuries. :Toilet of India :banghead:.

Check his strike rate between 2009 and 2011 before he returned from the recently-concluded series in South Africa with injuries: 95.15 in Sri Lanka; 134.21 against South Africa in India; 56.36 in South Africa.
"That has been because of the controlled aggression," says Amarnath.

"He has conquered everything, but the World Cup. I hope he does it this time," says John Wright . "I have seen him when he is the most aggressive. And he is at his aggressive best when he is determined. That determined aggression should work this time."

"I want Sachin to be a World Cup winner and you can see that in his intent. Our styles differ but I can see the same intent in his eyes," says former West Indies cricket legend Viv Richards.

Sachin holds the record for most number of runs (1,796) in World Cups, including four centuries and 13 fifties with a best score of 152 not out against Namibia (2003).

This time, the pressure is huge, Sachin says, because it is happening here in India. And, of course, there's all this hype about it being his last Word Cup.

"Is it?" Sachin asks. 8-)

He immediately looks the other way and stares into the camera lens as if he was more curious about hearing an answer rather than being asked that question.

"I feel Sachin has to do it for us. He has to win this World Cup for us and we are waiting for that," says Kapil Dev .

But the master blaster is more concerned about the mess in his room, than the chat around the cup. He remains apologetic.

The room really isn't in much of a mess. There is his kit lying in a corner, a few practice bats leaning on another, his travelling strolley too.

The bed has been removed from the room and the mattress laid on the floor. "It is better," he doesn't give too many explanations and seems to assume that we know what he meant. He moves towards his mobile phone that is hooked to a charger on the writing table. It rarely rings. "I like to listen to music," which he says helps him to unwind. He has a SoundDock set up in his bathroom for his ipod - demigods have quirks too.

As he poses for the camera he squints and keeps going to the photographer to check the shot. During one of those interjections he says that he can only blink with one eye...his right one. "But not always, when I am batting, I often don't blink with either," he says with an impish smile. "You know I always wonder about this even when I am batting. The one-eyed blinking makes it (the eye) look smaller."

What about the World Cup? "Ha, that can never get smaller." It is as big as ever.
"I don't think Tendulkar's records will be surpassed. But a World Cup will be the crowning glory among his enormous achievements," says Brian Lara. "And I am sure he knows it."

Tendulkar changes his attitude according to conditions, be it his fun-loving persona when bowling to his team-mates during net practice and the utterly serious poise when he is padded up and facing the bowlers. Other times might have him giving tips to a Kannada film star, Karthik, who is a regular at the nets whenever the Indian team is in Bangalore.

Training is one thing he couldn't be more serious about, his teammates being the other. His phone rings. He dives for it and rushes out to close the doors of the balcony. "I have to run. They are waiting for me in the bus downstairs. I can't keep them waiting," he says as he prances around to put his kit together.

The entire nation is waiting too, for the one thing that Sachin Tendulkar has not been able to give them yet - the World Cup.

Read more: Sachin Tendulkar promises more aggression this World Cup - The Times of India http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/news-by-industry/et-cetera/sachin-tendulkar-promises-more-aggression-this-world-cup/articleshow/7512023.cms#ixzz1EF9T5q4n

18th February 2011, 12:38 AM
Indian media creates a lot of pressure on its players: Imran Khan

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan feels that pressure could have a huge effect on Indian players as they embark on their journey to regain the cricket World Cup after 28 years.

“I must say that the Indian media puts huge pressure on the Indian players. It’s difficult for them to play freely. I can understand the kind of pressure that Sachin Tendulkar goes through, it’s unimaginable. Every time I watch something on television, I feel that Sachin must be needing tranquilizers with the kind of expectations that’s there,” Imran told a gathering during an event organised by CNN—IBN.

http://www.thehindu.com/sport/article1464610.ece

18th February 2011, 01:05 AM
The problem is we don't have enough Triangular/Quadrangular series(es) happening around the world now. The whole of 90's was a fantastic period for ODI's. Even in Australia they have stopped playing the yearly Carlton-United series which would have 3 teams which play each other 4 or 5 times and then have a best of 3 finals. The last one happened in 2008 which India won. Sharjah tournaments have gone with the wind.

For an indian fan, BCCI has to take the blame for killing ODI interest by playing 100 ODI matches with Srilanka in the last 3 years.

Yeah that must have been the golden period for ODIs. In comparison, what passes off for 50 overs Cricket today is ordinary

hamid
18th February 2011, 11:21 PM
http://www.shotpix.com/images/17329526935216301404.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/28901119551897924859.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/02051147265060581954.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/89491147062087460831.jpg

hamid
18th February 2011, 11:22 PM
http://www.shotpix.com/images/11370080561246247933.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/68056852146489713537.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/23965187802350476937.jpg

hamid
18th February 2011, 11:23 PM
http://www.shotpix.com/images/74772024191264831800.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/87896550287957047105.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/29622820081261450025.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/70954546207302939863.jpg

hamid
18th February 2011, 11:23 PM
http://www.shotpix.com/images/45566009038895810457.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/31707181043950237945.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/98727244731577660757.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/49008031334809160420.jpg

hamid
18th February 2011, 11:24 PM
http://www.shotpix.com/images/92101988855709581355.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/21489377487098288232.jpg
http://www.shotpix.com/images/76454692493528898311.jpg

19th February 2011, 04:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pvA6ykpMCF8&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1XVc3LygTM&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

19th February 2011, 07:38 AM
Lot of vids to catch up. Thanks AF :D

19th February 2011, 11:53 PM
Thalaivaa what is that running?. Thevai illama wicket ae thooki erinjutaaru. I went all the way to Delaware to see the match.

20th February 2011, 12:49 AM
I still maintain that single was on. Miscommunication between Sachin and Sehwag was the reason he was out. It's elementary to respond your partner's call and Sehwag didn't do that.

Anyway, this would make our batsmen more careful towards their running and I'm glad the runout didn't do any harm to our team's chances.

20th February 2011, 12:52 AM
:lol:. Yeah lm.

22nd February 2011, 01:44 PM
For Sachin Fans (http://sports.espn.go.com/extra/cricket/news/story?id=6142975)

The Indian Ronnie Woo Woo doesn't have a ticket. He rode a bike from India without a ticket. If Sachin knows he's at a match, though, he'll leave one for him at will call. The bus swings in. Gautam begins waving. Sachin always sits in the front left seat. Everything slows down. The two men -- the superstar and the obsessed fan -- make eye contact. It's stunning. Can you imagine Michael Jordan riding a bus to the NBA Finals, seeing a fan outside the stadium, recognizing him, remembering his name, then telling the team to leave him a pass?

Sachin waves.

Gods do answer letters.

22nd February 2011, 07:46 PM
It is good that he got out early. He didn't have to waste his energy against bangladesh. He avoided an injury possibility. The positive thing is that he looked in great touch. Infact, looking at how England has been playing, he need not play a long innings against them as well.

23rd February 2011, 10:28 PM
Tendulkar surprises at practice session by batting left-handed

Tendulkar sent the very first delivery he faced over the ropes before stepping out to hoist another six sixes, missing only one out of eight deliveries.

Senior India batsman Sachin Tendulkar on Wednesday surprised everyone when he opted to bat left handed during the team’s practice session at the M Chinnaswamy stadium here.

Indian cricket team, which has been camping here for their crucial Group ‘B’ league match against England on Sunday, had a rigorous batting session at the National Cricket Academy before shifting to the stadium.

Tendulkar grabbed everyone’s attention by choosing to bat left-handed with a few of his teammates and local bowlers bowling at him.

He also did not wear gloves, while all other batsmen, who faced two deliveries each, wore their cricketing gears.

Tendulkar sent the very first delivery he faced over the ropes before stepping out to hoist another six sixes, missing only one out of eight deliveries.

Besides the rigorous batting session, the team also went through a brief 10—minute catching practice session.

Today, for the second consecutive day, Virender Sehwag did not join the team for the training session while off—spinner Harbhajan Singh also skipped practice today.

Pacers Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra had light training session at the NCA gymnasium to strengthen their backs.

Like yesterday, Kirsten spent more time with youngsters such as Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli and Yusuf Pathan.

23rd February 2011, 10:28 PM
http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0gLYf5QdVfcSN/x350.jpg

http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0dE09TRf0p09N/350x.jpg

http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/78300/78370.jpg

http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/77900/77971.jpg

cinema
23rd February 2011, 10:32 PM
Tendulkar surprises at practice session by batting left-handed

Senior India batsman Sachin Tendulkar on Wednesday surprised everyone when he opted to bat left handed during the team’s practice session at the M Chinnaswamy stadium here.

Indian cricket team, which has been camping here for their crucial Group ‘B’ league match against England on Sunday, had a rigorous batting session at the National Cricket Academy before shifting to the stadium.

Tendulkar grabbed everyone’s attention by choosing to bat left-handed with a few of his teammates and local bowlers bowling at him.

He also did not wear gloves, while all other batsmen, who faced two deliveries each, wore their cricketing gears.

Besides the rigorous batting session, the team also went through a brief 10—minute catching practice session.

Today, for the second consecutive day, Virender Sehwag did not join the team for the training session while off—spinner Harbhajan Singh also skipped practice today.

Pacers Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra had light training session at the NCA gymnasium to strengthen their backs.

Like yesterday, Kirsten spent more time with youngsters such as Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli and Yusuf Pathan.
I heard that Tendulkar is ambidextrous and usually write with left hand.

23rd February 2011, 10:37 PM
I heard that Tendulkar is ambidextrous and usually write with left hand.

Yes. You can see in lot of pics where he is signing left handed.

cinema
23rd February 2011, 11:49 PM
Yes. You can see in lot of pics where he is signing left handed.

This brings up another point if all batsmen are asked to bat with other hand than they usually do, still tendulkar will be the best batsman in the world by miles right.

24th February 2011, 01:02 PM
It is exactly one year before that Tendulkar made 200 not out against South Africa today. Though that Innings is not a top favorite of mine but the phenomenon that it created was unbelievable. 30-40 pages were almost crossed in a day here in hub. Cricinfo servers crashed. It was even reported that their site received some more than 40 (??)million hits. Remembering that knock today :clap:.

24th February 2011, 01:06 PM
It is exactly one year before that Tendulkar made 200 not out against South Africa today. Though that Innings is not a top favorite of mine but the phenomenon that it created was unbelievable. 30-40 pages were almost crossed in a day here in hub. Cricinfo servers crashed. It was even reported that their site received some more than 40 (??)million hits. Remembering that knock today :clap:.

Adding to the above, Chennai was free of traffic jams when he was nearing 200. Unbelievable feat :clap:

26th February 2011, 04:55 AM
LM,
Have you ever seen the video of the 139 ODI Hundred against Australia in Indore. This is the one of the 100's I am dying to watch. Apparently Tendulkar crossed 10,000 ODI Runs in this match. Have you seen this video before. Robelinda2 has it but he says its way too down on his To-Do List.

26th February 2011, 05:24 AM
i was blessed enough to watch that 200 at home... oh ya... am part of history too....

26th February 2011, 11:01 AM
LM,
Have you ever seen the video of the 139 ODI Hundred against Australia in Indore. This is the one of the 100's I am dying to watch. Apparently Tendulkar crossed 10,000 ODI Runs in this match. Have you seen this video before. Robelinda2 has it but he says its way too down on his To-Do List.

No, haven't seen that :cry: I can't believe how many milestones/great innings of Sachin I have missed :| One of my friends who watched this innings said Sachin never played powerful shots but still managed to hit 19 fours. Like how Mark Waugh plays.

26th February 2011, 04:51 PM
He timed his 10000th run well, played a single of Warne towards mid-off / cover area. I went in-between classes when in college to watch this (almost 3-4 KMs outside to the nearby place) Awesome day :cool:

Arvind Srinivasan
26th February 2011, 05:47 PM
LM,

The innings has been shown many times in neo cricket. Dont know if neo cricket is available in your place though. Will try to record it if i see it again.

26th February 2011, 09:19 PM
The innings has been shown many times in neo cricket. Dont know if neo cricket is available in your place though. Will try to record it if i see it again.

Woww :cool2: Will try to catch it. Btw, how do you record TV programs? DVR with Set-top box?

Arvind Srinivasan
27th February 2011, 01:33 AM
Woww :cool2: Will try to catch it. Btw, how do you record TV programs? DVR with Set-top box?

I have a tv tuner card.....

27th February 2011, 03:33 AM
Please record it and upload on youtube.

27th February 2011, 04:15 AM
Sachin Tendulkar 55 vs Australia Mumbai 2004

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8k7E1NgMWQ

Hell yea. i GOT IT. :VICTORY:

27th February 2011, 04:16 AM
Sachin Tendulkar 101(140) vs Sri Lanka in the CocaCola Trophy 2000

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgaS_-c9QGE

27th February 2011, 06:23 AM
Sachin Tendulkar dismissed by BRILLIANT Adam Bacher catch 1996 2nd test

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uoEZ-pJjatA

One of the greatest catches in Test History to end a great Innings. Adam bacher pulls a blinder to end Tendulkar's Innings. Both Tendulkar and the commentator Gavaskar just couldn't believe that the catch was taken. A fairy tale end to an Innings.

27th February 2011, 07:19 AM
That catch! Schin has has several great fielding efforts dismiss him - notably, involving Rhodes - and not a few involving poor umpiring - but this one takes the cake. It is as if he wasnt destined to hit a 200 at some point then. Very frustrating. 200s were rare then unlike today when every jesse, thilan and ricky make them

Puliyan_Biryani
27th February 2011, 07:38 AM
In the same SA series , Kirsten pulled off this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXFQpqKNiXI) blinder to dismiss Sachin :sigh2:.

27th February 2011, 08:07 AM
Sachin Tendulkar dismissed by BRILLIANT Adam Bacher catch 1996 2nd test

One of the greatest catches in Test History to end a great Innings. Adam bacher pulls a blinder to end Tendulkar's Innings. Both Tendulkar and the commentator Gavaskar just couldn't believe that the catch was taken. A fairy tale end to an Innings.

I can never forget that "unbelievable" look on Sachin's face. Even then he just smiled and walked away :notworthy: After seeing this I'm thinking hard to remember if he had ever shown any disappointment after a freaky dismissal (kicking the turf, slamming the bat etc).

27th February 2011, 09:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXFQpqKNiXI

In the same SA series , Kirsten pulled off this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXFQpqKNiXI) blinder to dismiss Sachin :sigh2:.

27th February 2011, 01:00 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47jhkGWbt5E

27th February 2011, 01:04 PM
^^^^^^

Mcgrath shoulder before wicket decision.

27th February 2011, 01:05 PM
LM, or throwing your box at the kit bag, which then bounces off to smash the TV
<Family Audience switch off here>
Vadivel: box protectorE ivLO straangA irundhudhunnA...

27th February 2011, 06:57 PM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/129100/129129.jpg

GSV
27th February 2011, 11:07 PM
Century aditha thalaivarku vaazhthukal

27th February 2011, 11:12 PM
Sachin Anne,

Indha result paathu neenga manasu thalaraadheenga. Ungal sevai idhe maadhiri thodaratum. Cup win panrom.

28th February 2011, 12:31 AM
thalaiva :notworthy:

this would actually increase his thirst i believe...

28th February 2011, 12:32 AM
LM, or throwing your box at the kit bag, which then bounces off to smash the TV
<Family Audience switch off here>
Vadivel: box protectorE ivLO straangA irundhudhunnA...

i din know, is that what ponting justified like??? :lol:

28th February 2011, 01:18 AM
With this 100 today(actually 50 itself), Tendulkar makes it to 250 scores of "50 or above" in an International game.

Tests: 51 59

ODI's: 47 93

28th February 2011, 05:56 PM
http://www.espncricinfo.com/page2/content/site/page2/wc_quiz.html

1st March 2011, 06:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffMJployVrw&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

sachin tendulkar 148 vs Sri Lanka Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai December 1997.flv

1st March 2011, 06:21 AM
Sachin 120 vs England WC 2011/.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FV3rLaVLeA0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSgry_sheQo&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7e_cPScAOO4&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

1st March 2011, 09:25 AM
Another source: Sachin Tendulkar 120 runs - India vs England World Cup 2011 [High Quality]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyYZxYAdIQk

2nd March 2011, 04:12 AM
8 years ago on this very same day Tendulkar Possibly played his best knock against Pakistan. Remembering the day Today.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/501138.html

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

2nd March 2011, 04:16 AM
Sachin and Murali: two old masters still in their prime
Watching Sachin Tendulkar and Muttiah Muralitharan in front of their home crowds is one of the great World Cup pleasures

Sachin Tendulkar hits a boundary during India's World Cup match against England. Photograph: Tom Shaw/Getty Images

MAESTROS AT WORK
"About suffering they were never wrong, the Old Masters." WH Auden had it right all along. Just ask Graeme Swann and Jimmy Anderson, who suffered terribly at the hands of an old master last Sunday, their best efforts weighed, found wanting and then dispatched to the boundary rope by Sachin Tendulkar. "How well they understood its human position," Auden wrote. "How it takes place while someone else is eating or opening a window or just walking duly along." Or indeed screaming, shouting, prancing, dancing and waving flags.

I wrote about Tendulkar's innings yesterday, though I would have waxed on for far longer if it had not been for that pesky second-innings denouement. It was a supreme innings, from its stately, serene start through to its violent finish. Of Tendulkar's 47 ODI centuries, only two have been made against England, and neither won India the match. His only ton other came in 2002 at Chester-le-Street, in a game that was rained off. There have still been plenty of good innings, of course: Anderson and Swann join a lineage of English bowlers who have been humbled by Tendulkar that runs right back to John Emburey and Paul Jarvis in 1993, when he made 82 not out in Jaipur. But it has been a curious quirk of his career, a rare blemish, that in one-day cricket English fans had not often got see him strike that familiar pose, bat raised in one hand, helmet raised in the other, head tilted towards the sky in thanks and, perhaps, relief at another ton. It was a privilege to be there last Sunday.

Across the Palk Straight in Sri Lanka the only cricketer currently playing who could be said to share similar status to Sachin, Muttiah Muralitharan, has also been performing some equally awe-inspiring, if considerably less spectacular, deeds. Murali has bowled 108 balls so far in this tournament, and no one has managed to hit a single one of them to the boundary. He has given up one scoring stroke that went for three, a mis-hit by Colins Obuya that shot away to fine leg off the top-edge, and three more that went for two each. Otherwise each and every one of the 57 runs he has conceded have come in singles.

Partly, you guess, this is just because the opposition batsmen have reconciled themselves to the futility of attempting anything more ambitious than pushing the ball to one side of the wicket or the other. The one man who was young and impetuous enough to attempt to collar Murali's bowling was Umar Akmal, and he was duly caught at midwicket. So long, Umar, and thanks for all the flash. David Obuya tried something similar today, and the same fate befell him. Those have been his only two wickets so far. The cannier batsmen have learned that it takes self-restraint to play Murali on his home patch; they have to reconcile themselves to accepting that they take their three runs an over and by thankful for them. Done well, as it was by Younis Khan and Misbah-ul-Haq during their stand of 108, and this cat-and-mouse play can be engrossing to watch. Done badly, as it was by the Obuya's brothers in today's game against Kenya, and it is as torturous as watching a toenail being pulled.

Looking at the trajectories of Murali's spell on HawkEye is like staring into a jerry-rigged fuse box. You see nothing but a tangle of blue, red, green and yellow lines. Every one of his deliveries land in the space of a square foot or two, but other than that each is completely different from the other. The point of release, his position on the crease, the extent and direction of the turn, the amount of bounce, the dip in the flight - Murali twiddles with all these variables like an engineer on a sound-deck adjusting levels.

The ball may not fizz and hum as it rips through the air any more, but he compensates for that with the guile and cunning he has accumulated over his career. He is no longer Sri Lanka's strike bowler – it has been over two years since he last took more than two wickets in a ODI innings – but he has taken on a different role. He contains and creates pressure which can be exploited by the bowlers at the other end. Wickets are the currency of cricket, but these days Murali hoards dot balls like a miser. Just like Tendulkar, he has traded his youthful vibrancy for the more pragmatic and calculating approach that comes with a complete understanding of what is required for the situation.

Watching these two old masters at work in front of their home crowds is going to be one of the great pleasures of this tournament, so long as you can stomach the suffering they will inflict along the way.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/mar/01/the-spin-mural-tendulkar-andy-bull

2nd March 2011, 04:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyPFGHBAlyI

2nd March 2011, 04:46 AM
A new addition to Tendulkar's century bats . Most people may know by this time that during the last match Tendulkar asked for a new bat after he thought he couldn't middle/time the ball with the old bat(with which he scored 15 100's). Now this bat is a welcome addition. All the 5 sixers were from the new bat. Sema adi 8-).

http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/129100/129135.jpg

2nd March 2011, 08:05 AM
AF,

Highlights in HD quality is released in you know where :) Go grab it :D

2nd March 2011, 08:07 AM
Where LM, I am sorry I don't get it.

2nd March 2011, 08:27 AM
BwTorrents :D

3rd March 2011, 04:37 AM
17777*(Catchy Number) and counting.

18 grand seekiram adicha getha irukkum.

3rd March 2011, 04:45 AM
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Tendulkar-s-classic-a-lesson-for-all-batsmen/Article1-667917.aspx

3rd March 2011, 09:05 AM
AF, it is 1944 and Ponting's on something like 1600 and odd. There is a possibility Ricky will overtake Sachin during the course of this World Cup :)

5th March 2011, 05:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3uMXqLtuHA&feature=channel_video_title

1996 Delhi test

5th March 2011, 05:17 AM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/129400/129426.jpg

5th March 2011, 07:06 AM
Pannina pannitu pogattum. Who cares seriously?/.

AF, it is 1944 and Ponting's on something like 1600 and odd. There is a possibility Ricky will overtake Sachin during the course of this World Cup :)

5th March 2011, 07:11 AM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/128900/128985.jpg

5th March 2011, 07:15 AM
பெரிய ஆளுமைக்கு முன்பு பழுத்த அனுபவம் ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpiIogvteHw

இன்னமும் தொண்டையில் மீன் முள் மாட்டிக்கொண்டது போல உணரவைப்பது இந்த நிகழ்வுதான்.

5th March 2011, 07:21 AM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/128400/128483.jpg

Clloosssee appu.

5th March 2011, 02:43 PM
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/off-the-field/Tendulkar-says-no-to-honorary-doctorate/articleshow/7631321.cms

6th March 2011, 08:40 PM
Wasted a good start thalaivare. Wasted the good time spent in the middle.

7th March 2011, 08:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrN-CQU-r9M&feature=channel_video_title

9th March 2011, 04:10 AM
http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5j2N4VUsFEINIv32WZuHry8TpXhnQ?docId=CNG.b09b6 8ea979ffda897db2854fb9c493a.6e1

Tendulkar wicket a dream for Dockrell

Romba sandhosham thambi. Happy for you.

9th March 2011, 04:20 AM
oNNU7,815.

9th March 2011, 05:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fu9xloK9W7I&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

9th March 2011, 05:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKW4Nf6lJfA&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

LM, Did we have this before ??. Has anyone posted this before?.`

9th March 2011, 05:50 AM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/129500/129586.jpg

9th March 2011, 11:49 AM
LM!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKW4Nf6lJfA&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

LM, Did we have this before ??. Has anyone posted this before?.`

10th March 2011, 05:47 AM
Congrats Tendulkar on reaching 2000 runs in world cups (http://stats.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket_worldcup2011/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=12;type=trophy)

10th March 2011, 12:52 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2dEPTKT40g

Steve Bucknor awful LBW Sachin Tendulkar 2003 GABBA

Look at tendulkar's reaction at 0:10. Paradesi bucknor.

10th March 2011, 12:56 PM
On one hand, there are the extra ordinary fieldin efforts, and unbelievable umpiring that has cut Sachin innings short.
And then wee have the inexplicable rushes of blood like yesterday.

10th March 2011, 12:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tepsWgxCuuI&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Sachin Tendulkar dismissed by Peter McIntyre 1996 Delhi test

Sir plays a nothing shot actually.

10th March 2011, 01:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLGlzZk1tAE&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Inzmam's wkt by Tendulkar.mpg

10th March 2011, 01:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPoeXP2lYnQ&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fewXSSILLmE&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luC1m-hj0j0&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

10th March 2011, 02:04 PM
LM, Did we have this before ??. Has anyone posted this before?.

Sorry, missed the post :oops: No, this hasn't been posted before. Will add to the collection 8-)

11th March 2011, 05:54 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kALwIlqvh5s

Sachin Tendulkar 194 - India vs Pakistan 1st test Multan 2004

11th March 2011, 06:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILnA5mmJMCs

Arvind Srinivasan
11th March 2011, 12:45 PM
At last a chance to watch the epic innings.....Have very faint remembrance of the match even though i was at the stadium....:-D

12th March 2011, 05:15 PM
Congrats on 48th century.

GSV
12th March 2011, 06:33 PM
Congrats sachin..

World cup la ye 50 ODI centuries adichirunga..

Riyazz
12th March 2011, 07:25 PM
Congrats sachin :clap:

12th March 2011, 09:45 PM
Excellent innings from the master. :clap: The six off Steyn was terrific!!

12th March 2011, 11:31 PM
I have reached a stage where i don't even care anymore. Only awaiting the last innings and possibly the last ODI match of tendulkar next Saturday. See you folks then.

12th March 2011, 11:35 PM
Tension aavadheenga, AF. Good days are ahead!! Believe me.. :-)

13th March 2011, 10:01 PM
http://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/38170/The-myth-about-Sachin-ton-and-India-losing

And to all you -deleted- who believe that staying till the end to score the winning runs (inspite of hitting a back-breaking century) only makes a batsman a match winner, read the following sentence.
"Sachin also has stayed unbeaten the most number of times while leading a team's win. "

14th March 2011, 03:30 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpZ2jXy4IY0&feature=channel_video_title

Mcgrath dismissals of Tendulkar. DOnt get RILED UP by the video name.

14th March 2011, 03:49 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2lJcg5-5xM&feature=channel_video_title

Another rare video. Sachin Tendulkar 104 Benoni v ZIM 1997

14th March 2011, 05:25 AM
March 13, 2011, 1:30 AM IST.T

Tendulkar Magic Can’t Save India.

Who said 50-overs cricket is dead? This is fast becoming the best World Cup ever, although that’s little consolation to India, who threw away a great chance to beat key rival South Africa after Sachin Tendulkar had got the hosts off to a flying start with yet another century.

The match billed as the biggest of the tournament so far – two cricketing powerhouses with realistic aspirations for the title – didn’t disappoint, culminating in a nerve-wracking finale with South Africa needing 13 runs from the last over.

Cometh the hour, cometh the unlikely figure of Robin Peterson, who swatted Ashish Nehra for six and a four through covers to win it for South Africa and silence the home crowd. Maybe it would’ve been different if India’s captain Mahendra Donhi had asked the threatening Harbhajan Singh to bowl, but India shouldn’t dwell on that as its troubles stemmed from elsewhere – middle-order batting.

India’s batting performance was so bipolar it made Dr. Jekyl look like a well-balanced and rounded individual. Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir got the match roaring into life with some spectacular shots and at one stage the hosts were on 267 for 1, but then India let South Africa right back into contention with a horrific batting collapse in which it surrendered nine wickets in as many overs, scoring just 29 runs.

Dale Steyn was key to South Africa’s revival, ending with 5 for 50, after being on 0 for 32. By crumbling so meekly, India took its foot off South Africa’s throat and relinquished the advantage that Tendulkar, Sehwag and Gambhir had fought so hard for.

That’s a shame, particularly for Tendulkar, who scored 111 for a record sixth World Cup century and the 99th of his career. That century of centuries will surely come in the next few weeks, and nobody would begrudge him that.

His opening partner Sehwag is also a treat to watch, even if his risky play often leaves you with heart in mouth. Sehwag is in belligerent mood this World Cup and once again started his innings with a four, maintaining his wonderful record of hitting a boundary from his first ball in every match this tournament.

He got an early reprieve when he edged a Morne Morkel delivery behind, but South African wicket-keeper Morne van Wyk stayed rooted to the spot rather than stretching to his right for what could have been a fairly routine catch.

After that let-off, both Sehwag and Tendulkar set upon the opposition bowling with such a spectacularly brutal assault they were in danger of finding themselves in The Hague for crimes against the nation of South Africa. The capacity crowd, Bollywood starlets and all, was in raptures as the two Indian openers racked up 100 in just 71 balls.

At this rate it looked like India would go on to score close to 400, and Gambhir did little to change that prospect when he came in and joined in the fun, getting his 50 just moments after Tendulkar had reached his century.

Their performance had left the South Africans so demoralized it looked like they’d spent the last couple of hours having their faces slapped with a fish. But then came the Indian collapse, and hope returned.

The Proteas never looked truly comfortable chasing India’s total of 297, but with several players desperate to make amends for the loss to England in Chennai, they had enough grit and determination to get through the challenge.

Jacques Kallis and AB de Villiers were particularly impressive – the latter is having a great tournament – and kept the South Africans in the game long enough for Peterson to come in and deal India the final, painful blow.

Defeat isn’t the end of the world for India. The Men in Blue will be chastened by the result, but it could prove to be a valuable lesson for this World Cup and prompt them to search for that killer instinct before it’s too late.

For now South Africa has won the bragging rights, but India is more than capable of winning them back.

http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2011/03/13/tendulkar%e2%80%99s-magic-can%e2%80%99t-save-india/?mod=WSJBlog&mod=irt

14th March 2011, 06:09 AM
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/183400_1823634265674_1084756923_32123029_491336_n. jpg

99-48 (Thanks to TM for title)

14th March 2011, 10:35 AM
Another rare video. Sachin Tendulkar 104 Benoni v ZIM 1997

Woww, after watching this live, never seen it. Thanks AF. Thodarga ungal sevai :D

14th March 2011, 10:50 AM
I saw this match live. We had a 2 game final(the first one was washed out). Tendulkar scored less but he was batting very well.

14th March 2011, 06:39 PM
Who was the first captain for Thalaivar in an international match?

14th March 2011, 06:42 PM
Who was the first captain for Thalaivar in an international match?

Srikkanth.

14th March 2011, 06:44 PM
No its not Srikanth. He is not from India.

14th March 2011, 06:59 PM
Imran Khan was the first captain for Sachin

http://www.facenfacts.com/NewsDetails/4653/when-sachin-played-under-imran--khan.htm

Couple of Pakistan players did not play in that match so couple of local boys were given a chance to play for Pakistan. Sachin was one of them. Looks like Thalaivar had dropped a catch because of wrong field setting. He dropped the catch of Kapil Dev! :)

LM please read SACH it has many interesting news and 40 questions answered by Thalaivar.

14th March 2011, 08:23 PM
Imran Khan was the first captain for Sachin

http://www.facenfacts.com/NewsDetails/4653/when-sachin-played-under-imran--khan.htm

Couple of Pakistan players did not play in that match so couple of local boys were given a chance to play for Pakistan. Sachin was one of them. Looks like Thalaivar had dropped a catch because of wrong field setting. He dropped the catch of Kapil Dev! :)

LM please read SACH it has many interesting news and 40 questions answered by Thalaivar.

Woww, that's an interesting anecdote. Will buy the book soon :)

15th March 2011, 05:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=420nqwsTtOw&feature=channel_video_title

15th March 2011, 05:38 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNerIFjzquw&feature=relmfu

15th March 2011, 06:03 AM
Tendulkar highest contributor to our child fund: Rel Life

Private insurer Reliance Life today said that Sachin Tendulkar, who has just completed his 48th one-day century, also becomes one of the highest contributor for children in its philanthropic initiative.

The insurer has taken initiative to contribute Rs. 25,000 to underprivileged children for every ‘six’ scored in the cricket World Cup.

For this, it has joined hands with the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Room to Read — a global non-profit organisation promoting literacy and gender equality in education for this campaign.

Tendulkar has so far hit 8 sixes, just behind West Indies’ K.A. Pollard. Other Indian players who have contributed to the initiative include Virender Sehwag and Yusuf Pathan who hit 7 and 5 sixes, respectively.

“Over 5,000 children have already benefited under the Reliance Life Insurance ‘Boundaries for Books Initiative’ as players hit nearly 150 sixes in World Cup,” the insurer said in a statement.

Every single six will provide at least 30 underserved children with access to fully functional libraries with local language and English books as well as trained teachers.

In addition to contributing for every six hit in the world cup, Reliance Life also contributed Rs. 10,000 for every four in the India-England match to the NGO under the same initiative, the company said.

http://www.thehindu.com/business/article1534276.ece

15th March 2011, 07:10 AM
LM, Try this one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wnvxhq4UmhE

15th March 2011, 08:11 AM
Same error :cry: Anyway, I downloaded the full highlights of the match yesterday. May be I'll edit it only with Sachin's strokes when I get sometime.

15th March 2011, 03:43 PM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/DB/102004/054938.jpg

Sachin Tendulkar performs the 12th-man's duties, India v Australia, 1st Test, Bangalore, 5th day, October 10, 2004

15th March 2011, 04:32 PM
Indian fans rue Sachin Tendulkar's absence, Australia v India, 1st Test, Bangalore, 1st day, October 6, 2004

http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/DB/102004/054841.jpg

15th March 2011, 05:57 PM
Woww, that's an interesting anecdote. Will buy the book soon :)

Sure LM, Sachin's fav music director guess who? Its A.R.Rehman ;)

When ARR won the oscar Sachin sent a text message from NZ it seems.

15th March 2011, 06:28 PM

Is it? Have seen him mentioning RD Burman etc as fav MDs. That's a pleasant surprise.

15th March 2011, 06:46 PM
Righttu, apdiyE Maddy-ai namma settukku convert paNNidunga.
MS Dhoni fav music director yArunnu kaNdu pidinga - adhu namakku sAdhagamA irundhA, Maddya-ai cover paNNiralAM :)

15th March 2011, 06:50 PM
LM,

Not sure if u r aware of this.. Russel Radhakrishnan, in an interview, said that whenever Sachin goes for gymming, he takes the discman (no ipods then) with him and that too with only one album always. LAGAAN.

16th March 2011, 04:10 AM
Sachin Tendulkar has reason to wonder what's going on
Vaibhav Purandare, Hindustan Times
March 15, 2011

There seems to be a huge gap in the quality of cricket that Sachin Tendulkar is playing in the 2011 World Cup, and many of his team-mates are. And the gap is just as enormous in terms of thinking and approach. This was never as starkly evident as in the match against South Africa in Nagpur. <
P>Tendulkar batted against Steyn and Co. at what, in terms of fineness and brilliance, can be called the highest level possible on the global stage; some others came up with the kind of performance that would scarcely qualify as befitting a team competing for the sport's most prestigious trophy.

In the process of pulverising the South African attack, he hit his favourite straight drive with the elbow held high, the feet neatly placed and the body beautifully balanced, pivoted on the back foot and played the hook to perfection, smacked the ball once through the covers off Morkel at a speed his friend Schumacher would be proud of, hit powerfully and effectively in the air in the manner of the destructive Sachin of the 1990s, and outwitted one bowler who, having bowled a dot ball to him which was fielded at mid-wicket, bowled the next one at the same spot, by just slightly changing the angle of the bat and sending it through the gaps for four.

His command over the proceedings was complete, and his mind, ever responsive to the needs of the situation. He ran his singles quickly and gave Virender Sehwag a lot of strike when the Delhi hitter was at his destructive best, and took on the role of aggressor when Gautam Gambhir needed some time to get into his rhythm. Always, he batted along with his batting partner, not in competition with him. And, much as he toyed with the bowling, he did not for a moment breach the principles of sensible cricket. There was no blind hitting, no reckless aggression; the knock of 111 off 101 balls was full of purpose and focus, intended to take the match away from the opposition.

It did indeed take the team to an unassailable position: 267 for 1, with more than 10 overs to go. If India had got no more than just one run per ball from there on, the total would have been in excess of 330. If they had taken singles off most deliveries and hit at least some of them for 2s, 3s and boundaries, the total would have been in excess of 350.

So all the batsmen had to do was to play out the remaining overs. Which they couldn't. Casual cricket quickly wiped out a world-class effort.

The most intriguing response to the harakiri was Dhoni's. At the end of the match, he alleged that the batsmen had been trying to please the crowds. He was at the other end when this shoddy display was under way. Did he say anything to them in the middle? It is not clear. Also, after the major batsmen got out, Dhoni could have taken it upon himself to attack and to play out at least 4 balls every over. Instead, he kept getting the singles, and the batsmen at the other end attacked. What, really, was going on?

When Tendulkar was at the crease with Sehwag, and especially with Gambhir, the conversation between them was continual without being disruptive. What happened to the communication levels with the skipper in the middle?

In the field, again, Tendulkar's efforts surpassed those of younger members of the team. His intensity was fierce; he dived to save singles, ran and threw in briskly; and once, he picked up the ball at third-man and threw swiftly in one easy, uninterrupted action to prevent what would have been an easy two runs.

The Indian wicket-keeper struggled to effect stumpings; one fielder at mid-wicket, and another in the deep, dropped regular catches, and the fielding and throwing left a lot to be desired, so much so that almost every time, the SA batsmen could run one for the throw. The captaincy, of course, was thoroughly unimaginative.

Tendulkar has got two hundreds in the tournament so far, against two major teams in the group; both have been nullified by poor team effort, though he batted nearly 40 overs in each of the games. Even against Ireland, he batted with responsibility after Sehwag and Gambhir got out early, and had he not strung a partnership with Virat Kohli before being caught plumb by teenager George Dockrell - who was born after Sachin had played his first World Cup in 1992 - the game could, perhaps, have ended differently. In any case, India made the chase hard for itself after he had got out.

'After Tendulkar, the deluge' has become a reality once again for Indian cricket, in this tournament. And batting, apparently, is India's greatest (and, at the moment, only) strength.

This is not quite the way Tendulkar would have liked to be on the cusp of a hundred hundreds in international cricket. He would be disturbed.

(Vaibhav Purandare is the author of Sachin Tendulkar: A Definitive Biography, published in India and the UK. As a schoolboy, in 1987-88, he watched helplessly as Tendulkar and his partner-in-amassing-runs, Vinod Kambli, got a world record 664-run partnership against his school, St Xavier's, Mumbai. He is currently senior associate editor, Hindustan Times, Mumbai

http://www.hindustantimes.com/specials/cricket/world-cup-2011/Sachin-Tendulkar-has-reason-to-wonder-what-s-going-on/iccworldcup2011-sachintracker/SP-Article10-673770.aspx

HT writes pretty good on Tendulkar atleast better than TOI, The Sandhu etc....

16th March 2011, 06:39 AM
agree to each and every word of the above article..

16th March 2011, 06:40 AM
LM,

Not sure if u r aware of this.. Russel Radhakrishnan, in an interview, said that whenever Sachin goes for gymming, he takes the discman (no ipods then) with him and that too with only one album always. LAGAAN.

no wonder.

:notworthy: :notworthy: to both the legends.

16th March 2011, 07:07 AM
Harsha Bhogle on Sachin Tendulkar...On a serious note

by Swapnil Anil Bhurat

Remember when you failed an examination. How many people recall that, your class, friends, relatives? You failed to make it to the IITs or IIMs. Who remembers. How many times have you had the feeling of being the best in your class, school , university, state….., you failed to get a visa stamped this quarter…, you missed a promotion this year…, how did it feel when you dad told you in your early twenties that you are good for nothing…..and now your boss tell you the same...

You keep introspecting and go into a shell when people most of whom don’t matter a dime in your life criticize you, back bite you, make fun of you. You are left sad and shattered and you cry when your own kin scoffs at you. You say I am feeling low today. It takes a lot from us to come out of these everyday situations and move on. A lot??? really?

Now here’s a man standing on the third man boundary in the last over of a world cup match. The bowler just has to bowl sensibly to win this game. What the man at the boundary sees is 4 rank bad bowls bowled without any sense of focus, planning or regret. India loses, yet again in those circumstances when he has done just about everything right.
He does not cry. Does not show any emotion. Just keeps his head down and leaves the field. He has seen these failures for 22 years now. And not just his class, relatives, friends but the whole world has seen these failures. We are too immature to even imagine what goes on in that mind and heart of his. That’s why I would never want to be Sachin.

True, he has single handedly lifted to moods of this entire nation umpteen number of times. He has been an inspiration to rise above our mediocrity. Nobody who has ever lifted the willow even comes close to this man’s genius. His dedication and metal strength is unparallel. This is specially for those people who would have made fun of him again last night when India lost. They are people who are mediocre in their own lives. Who just scoff at others to create cheap fun. Who have lived in a small hole throughout their lives and thought they have seen the oceans.

Think about the man himself. He is 37 years of age. He has been playing almost non stop for 22 years. The way he was running and diving around the field last night would have put 22 year olds to shame. The way he played the best opening quickies in the world was breathtaking. He just keeps getting better which is by the way humanly impossible. Its not for nothing that people call him GOD.
But still I don’t want to be in those shoes. We struggle in keeping our monotonous lives straight, lives which affect a limited number of people. Imagine what would be the magnitude of the inner struggle for him, pain both mental and physical, tears that have frozen with time, knees and ankles and every other joint in the body that is either bandaged or needs to be attended to every night, eyes that don’t sleep before a big game, bats that have scored 99 international tons and still see expectations from a billion people.

Well I think its time that his team realizes that enough is enough. They have an obligation, not towards their country alone but towards sachin. They need to win this one for him. Stay assured that he himself will still deliver and leave no stone unturned to make sure India wins this cup.
This is not just a game, and he is not just a sportsman. Its much more than this. Words fail here...

16th March 2011, 08:04 AM
I don't like this do it for Sachin thingie. It is as if Yuvi-Raina-Pathan are better than Rahul-Lax-Ganguly and this team is the best chance for a world cup for Sachin.
Sachin has played alongside better batsmen and incredibly, better bowlers. Few months back, this team wqas said emphatically as the best Sachin ever played with and therefore will win the cup for him.
But even if they win now, it is clear they need a lot of things to go theor way. This team isn't much better than previous ones irrespective of results they achieve.
In a way, it will be a honour for Sachin for the story of his life to play out again. He was too good for his team - and he still is. It would be a tragedy if india wins now and people claim this team is worthy of sachin - as if the team that had rahul, kumble, srinath er al was less worthy of Sachin

16th March 2011, 11:51 AM
From elsewhere:

Would like to add an anecdote here...At Chepauk, against England, it was a very hot afternoon and Strauss and Collingwood were just blocking away to death. The post lunch session had just started.
All the people in the D Stand (Squatting Stand, which directly faces the sun in the afternoon) some 1000-2000 of them, moved up in the stand so that they come into the limited shade the roof offered. Then Sachin came to that boundary as a result of a feld change..THE Entire Stand came pouring down to grab the fence just to be near him facing the 38 degree Sun directlly.. Then Strauss takes a single and Sachin moves back to the infield, The entire crowd moves back up...
This happened for one entire session...
India is normally crazy about Cricket..but with Sachin, The craziness is something that can only be experienced and despite my meagre efforts cant be described with mere words

16th March 2011, 12:12 PM
Plum is this from guardian??

16th March 2011, 12:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZ3Mju4cr-I&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGLpzx7S_Yw&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

16th March 2011, 01:53 PM
Plum is this from guardian??
Yes, yes. It is.

17th March 2011, 12:54 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7VrsxaqDGc

Sachin Tendulkar 118 v Pakistan 1996

17th March 2011, 06:05 AM
LM, Very urgent - Please note. Linshakaleel (Zim Benoni 100 video uploader) has put this message in his channel. I tried uploading but it says its not permitted in the US.

Bulletin by linshakaleel (2 days ago) I have uploaded a torrent in isohunt You can download if you want http://isohunt.com/release/624813/Sac... It is a programme telecasted by ESPN Star and it is 18 innings in which sachin has made 90+ scores in Tests and ODIs i have 16 of them and...see more
I have uploaded a torrent in isohunt You can download if you want

http://isohunt.com/release/624813/Sac...

It is a programme telecasted by ESPN Star and it is 18 innings in which sachin has made 90+ scores in Tests and ODIs i have 16 of them and posted as a torrent in isohunt.com

17th March 2011, 02:30 PM
Thanks for the notification AF. Unfortunately, broadband is not working in my home from this morning. Hope it gets right by tonight. Will DL as soon as the connection is fixed.

17th March 2011, 02:38 PM
Please d/l and let me know the contents and the running time lm. Thanks.

17th March 2011, 11:42 PM
Found this on FB. The only way to win the WC :lol:

http://i52.tinypic.com/72st2o.jpg

18th March 2011, 12:12 AM
Amazing information.. antha book-a padichey aaganum pola. I have never seen Sachin mentioning ARR ever.

Maddy, inimelum neenga convert aagalaina, unga pechu kaa

LM,

18th March 2011, 12:32 AM

Ep1 - Old Trafford - ESPN.avi 132 MB
Ep10 - Sydney - Star.avi 388.3 MB
Ep11 - Dhaka - Star.avi 297.2 MB
Ep12 - Benoni - Star.avi 254.2 MB
Ep13 - Hobart - Star.avi 220.9 MB
Ep14 - Harare - Star.avi 305.5 MB
Ep15 - Johannesburg - Star.avi 217.9 MB
Ep17 - Durham - Star.avi 231.5 MB
Ep18 - Bristol - Star.avi 217 MB
Ep2 - Edgbaston - ESPN.avi 300.1 MB
Ep3 - Trentbridge - Star.avi 259.8 MB
Ep4 - Capetown - Star.avi 355.8 MB
Ep5 - Wellington - Star.avi 232.3 MB
Ep6 - Melbourne - Star.avi 231.2 MB
Ep8 - Trentbridge - Star.avi 177.3 MB
Ep9 - Leeds - Star.avi 325.1 MB

16 episodes x 20 mins approx. Should be around 5 hours in total.

18th March 2011, 05:25 AM
17,95 three.

47 for 18 Grand.

oNNU7,815.

18th March 2011, 05:29 AM
These are scores of 90's-99's???. ODI's??? Or Tests?. Looks like ODI's.

oNNU7,815.

18th March 2011, 08:18 AM
Looks ODI to me too. Will get the exact matches later.

19th March 2011, 04:45 AM
Sachin Tendulkar does 'blind' training
Dwaipayan Datta, TNN | Mar 19, 2011, 12.11am IST

CHENNAI: Sachin Tendulkar can get it right even with his eyes wide shut.

The Chennai heat was unbearable, most of the players had wrapped up the practice proceedings, but not Tendulkar. He put a couple of fielders within the net, asked bowling coach Eric Simons to give him throwdowns, and kept finding the gaps with his "eyes closed."

"He asked us to stand at short cover and short point and closed his eyes right at the moment of impact. We were supposed to say 'right' if the shot pierced the gap and 'wrong' if it didn't," one of the fielders who represented Tamil Nadu in the U-16 level and was fielding within the nets, told the TOI after the practice session. The player sounded really amazed when he said that Tendulkar kept getting it right, more often than not. "I don't know how he was doing it...But we couldn't believe our eyes as the ball went between us over and over again," the player added.

The pitch on which Tendulkar was batting was pretty similar to the Chepauk track, on which the match would be played on Sunday. "The ball was stopping and coming...The pace at which he asked the bowling coach to throw the balls, it appeared that he was getting ready to play Kemar Roach. And he is certain that there will be two fielders in short cover and short point to snap him up. That's why he was trying to play the shots along the ground and looked to find the gap with his eyes closed," the young player added.

When Tendulkar had started practising, some of the drives that he tried went into the air, which annoyed the Little Master. He had a talk with Simons and then asked the fielders to stand in those close in positions.

"It's an education watching him from so close. How on earth can a player get the shot right even with his eyes closed? Probably, it was a practice to ensure that he doesn't play a shot in the air on reflex on such tracks where the ball was stopping," the player added.

The 100th international century can very well come here, but the Little Master just doesn't want to talk about that milestone. The instruction was given strictly to all the practice bowlers that no one should ask him about the record for which the whole country is waiting.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/cricket-world-cup-2011/news/Sachin-Tendulkar-does-blind-training/articleshow/7739777.cms

19th March 2011, 04:46 AM
Peela vuduranugala nnu theriala.

19th March 2011, 04:47 AM
Sachin is ‘grateful’ to fans at Eden
LOKENDRA PRATAP SAHI

Chennai: Sachin Tendulkar, The Master, is touched that the 30,000-plus who attended the first World Cup match at the renovated Eden, on Tuesday, kept chanting his name.

“I’m thankful to those who remembered me that day (during the South Africa-Ireland match)... It means a lot to me... In fact, I’m grateful,” Sachin told The Telegraph on Friday.

Speaking at the Sheraton Park, Sachin added: “Through you, I would like to convey my good wishes to each one of them...”

Sachin’s last appearance at the Eden was 13 months ago, when he scored a typically outstanding 106 in India’s innings win over South Africa.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110319/jsp/sports/story_13736256.jsp

19th March 2011, 09:29 AM

These are scores of 90's-99's???. ODI's??? Or Tests?. Looks like ODI's.

http://i51.tinypic.com/2day7hd.jpg

Ep1 - Old Trafford - ESPN.avi -117 vs Eng 1990
Ep2 - Edgbaston - ESPN.avi - 122 vs Eng 1996
Ep3 - Trentbridge - Star.avi - 177 vs Eng 1996
Ep4 - Capetown - Star.avi - 169 vs SA 1997
Ep5 - Wellington - Star.avi - 113 vs NZ 1998
Ep6 - Melbourne - Star.avi - 116 vs Aus 1999
Ep8 - Trentbridge - Star.avi - 92 vs Eng 2002
Ep9 - Leeds - Star.avi - 194 vs Eng 2002
Ep10 - Sydney - Star.avi - 241 vs Aus 2004
Ep11 - Dhaka - Star.avi - 248 vs Ban 2004
Ep12 - Benoni - Star.avi - 104 vs Zim 1997
Ep13 - Hobart - Star.avi - 93 vs Pak 2000
Ep14 - Harare - Star.avi - 122 vs WI 2001
Ep15 - Johannesburg - Star.avi - 101 vs SA 2001
Ep17 - Durham - Star.avi - 105 vs Eng 2002
Ep18 - Bristol - Star.avi - 113 vs SL 2002

Episodes 1 to 11 - tests. Below them are ODIs. And we have some of these episodes in better quality dl-ed from BwT.

19th March 2011, 11:36 AM
Thanks lm :)

20th March 2011, 02:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZBfeBqICsg&feature=channel_video_title

Sachin Tendulkar 54* - India vs Pakistan 1992 World Cup at Sydney

22nd March 2011, 10:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gf9XCVQCpQ&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Never knew that sachin has taken laras wkt 4 times in ODI's.

22nd March 2011, 10:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gf9XCVQCpQ&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Never knew that sachin has taken laras wkt 4 times in ODI's.

He got Lara bowled in Hero cup final before Kumble ran through WI batting. Most memorable wicket taken by Sachin, for me :)

22nd March 2011, 02:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX3ZnrZHKpM

Sachin hitting McGrath all over the place in Nairobi, Champions Trophy 2000. At last Rob uploads it :redjump:

23rd March 2011, 12:19 AM
actually the next video after that was very exciting for me... :D Sachin Tendulkar 1st runs in ODI vs NZ in 1990.. playing against Hadlee... that too without wearning a helmet.. :redjump:

23rd March 2011, 12:34 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3NlgcCG7r8

Sachin Tendulkar 44 vs South Africa Johannesburg 2006

A very rare video.

23rd March 2011, 12:43 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fl0QcqDsn4Q

Sachin Tendulkar 111 vs South Africa CWC 2011.avi

23rd March 2011, 01:42 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX3ZnrZHKpM

Sachin hitting McGrath all over the place in Nairobi, Champions Trophy 2000. At last Rob uploads it :redjump:

when did they telecast this program?
that manja-sattai guy predicts that he will be the highest run getter in odi and test and more not of centuries in both the formats...

on the other hand, he doesn look like 16 yr... avlo chinnappayyanaa therilaa...

23rd March 2011, 02:13 AM
This is 2000 Champions trophy quarter finals in Kenya, Nairobi. Yuvaraasa's debut match where he scored 84*

25th March 2011, 09:35 AM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/130400/130464.jpg

Sachin Tendulkar got past 18,000 ODI runs, India v Australia, 2nd quarter-final, Ahmedabad, World Cup 2011, March 24, 2011

25th March 2011, 09:36 AM
http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/130400/130465.jpg

Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar have a chat, India v Australia, 2nd quarter-final, Ahmedabad, World Cup 2011, March 24, 2011

25th March 2011, 10:03 AM
18000 + :2thumbsup: Whenever he crossed such milestone (10000, 14000) against Australia, he ended up scoring centuries too.. This time missed.

25th March 2011, 10:08 AM
17,000 he scored 175(141) against Australia. But it doesn't matter we won.

25th March 2011, 10:13 AM
17,000 he scored 175(141) against Australia. But it doesn't matter we won.
yeah :p 9,10

25th March 2011, 10:46 AM
LM, Rob (Robelinda2)'s comments in his youtube page when a guy asks abt India touring australia this december for 4 tests.

robelinda2 (17 minutes ago) No way, India will SLAUGHTER US!!! It will be glorious for Sachin, he will get 150 in every test, based on his displays vs SA a few months ago, we will be pie chucking our way to a 4-0 loss

25th March 2011, 11:19 AM
AF, what do you think? That tour will be so easy? I dont think so. Last two years werer the best time to beat Australia in Australia. Unfortunately, we travelled one year too early when Gilly was still there and now will be travelling one year too late. By year end, Australia will be back to form, with Ponting back to form. It is Ponting who will have an easy 150 against India almost each test given our bowling attack. say, Zaheer conks out with injury. What bowling do we have?

25th March 2011, 11:42 AM
Congrats the the Master for 18000 ODI runs. :clap: We know that you have preserved your best for the next 2 matches.

25th March 2011, 12:03 PM
Too early to even talk anything Plum. It can be even-stevens also. I just posted it because that guy (robelinda2) is an australian and a very popular up-loader of cricket videos in youtube. He has like nearly 900 videos in youtube.

AF, what do you think? That tour will be so easy? I dont think so. Last two years werer the best time to beat Australia in Australia. Unfortunately, we travelled one year too early when Gilly was still there and now will be travelling one year too late. By year end, Australia will be back to form, with Ponting back to form. It is Ponting who will have an easy 150 against India almost each test given our bowling attack. say, Zaheer conks out with injury. What bowling do we have?

25th March 2011, 12:36 PM
LM, Rob (Robelinda2)'s comments in his youtube page when a guy asks abt India touring australia this december for 4 tests.

robelinda2 (17 minutes ago) No way, India will SLAUGHTER US!!! It will be glorious for Sachin, he will get 150 in every test, based on his displays vs SA a few months ago, we will be pie chucking our way to a 4-0 loss

:lol: :lol: Can't help the feeling that he is little sarcastic. He might probably be bitter too

25th March 2011, 01:12 PM
Or, his last name may be Chattopdhyay?

25th March 2011, 02:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHIdsJhZtuQ&feature=channel_video_title

Sachin Tendulkar Singing National Anthem - WC 2011

25th March 2011, 02:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eos9aZdP8Xg&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Sachin Tendulkar's First Interview To NDTV from 1992.

25th March 2011, 06:46 PM
18K!

Sachin - 18008

Jayasurya - 13428
Ponting - 13288
Inzy - 11739
Ganguly - 11363
Kallis - 11198
.................................................. .

Impossible at least for another 100 years!

26th March 2011, 12:51 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bx0IfH7PjE&feature=channel_video_title

Sachin Tendulkar 122 Vadodra v SA 2000

A very rare knock :clap:

26th March 2011, 12:57 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLGY_rRVRDs

Woww, This is the video I have been wanting to watch for a long time. Tendulkar scores a free flowing 100 against SA at Mumbai, Wankhede 1996. Fantastic innings this.

26th March 2011, 01:05 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bifprbCU-uc&feature=channel_video_title

Sachin 93 vs SA in 5th ODI 2000 - Another rare Knock. Hitting 93(7 4's and 4 sixers) while chasing 320. He was the most economical bowler also giving 31 runs in 10 overs taking a wicket and effecting a run out. Evvalavu senjalum sila adhimedhaviga enna velayandaarunu keppanuga.

26th March 2011, 01:24 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0Pp8_UThzo&feature=relmfu

Sachin 50 0f 88 vs Aus at Brisbane 2004

26th March 2011, 01:27 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9b1HDbKFv8&feature=channel_video_title

Sachin 115 vs NZ at Baroda 1994 - Sachin's 1st ODI 100 in India.

26th March 2011, 01:40 AM
World Cup India Pakistan match: Win is the only thing

Virender Sehwag had once come up with this highly entertaining tale about his sledging with Shoaib Akhtar during an India-Pakistan match: “Shoaib was repeatedly bowling bouncers and I kept ducking. He’d walk up to me and taunt `show me your hook shot’.

After a lot of this sort of talk, I told him pointing out at Sachin, `that’s your father at the non-striker’s end. Ask him to show you the shot.’ Next over Shoaib bounced at Sachin and he hooked him for a six. I walked by Shoaib and remarked, “Beta beta hota hai, baap baap hota hai”.

http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/comment_world-cup-india-pakistan-match-win-is-the-only-thing_1524471

26th March 2011, 02:48 PM
Flau, thanks for introducing us to Kartikeya Date (Maharashtrian names are the best :lol: )

http://cricketingview.blogspot.com/2011/03/tendulkar-and-his-odi-runs.html#more

First things first. Ricky Ponting, in the above charts, has played in 204 wins against top ODI teams and 89 defeats. Adam Gilchrist's record is even more impressive - 158 wins and 52 defeats. Mathew Hayden, 91 wins and only 28 defeats. Jacques Kallis has played in 165 wins and 94 defeats. By contrast, Tendulkar, Lara, Sehwag, Ganguly and Jayasurya have all played in fewer wins than defeats. And yet, Jayasurya has a better record in wins than Gilchrist, Lara has a better record than Kallis and Ponting, Ganguly and Sehwag a better one than Hayden, and Tendulkar possibly has the best record of them all. In fact, it seems as though the players who have played in weaker teams (i.e. in teams that have won less) have been more important to their teams winning, than the players who have played in strong teams like Australia and SA.

Since he started opening the batting in 1994, Tendulkar has made a century in every 6th India win against a top Test playing team, and a half century in every other Indian win. Only Lara comes close - making a century in every 8th West Indies win, and a half century in every other. Tendulkar's record in India's defeats (12 centuries, 25 fifties in 138 defeats) is nearly as good as Gilchrist's record in victories! I have added his record over the last 5 years, just to show that this hasn't changed recently. India have won more (35-30 in the last 5 years, as opposed to 125-138 over the last 17, when Tendulkar has played), but Tendulkar's contribution has remained steady. He has had one problem. Of his 12 half centuries, 8 have been 90s. These include 3 scores of 99, a 97, a 96, a 94, a 93 and a 91. Tendulkar has played three tournament finals in the last 5 years, and his scores in those have been 138, 117 not out and 91. India have won all three.

Not the record of one who doesn't make runs when it matters. The problem of the 90s suggests that Tendulkar would do well to take the great Gavaskar's advice seriously. I don't use the word great for Gavaskar in jest, he really is one of the great batsmen of all time. For Tendulkar making 110 is always better than Tendulkar making 95, superstitions notwithstanding.

Compared to the top Australians and Kallis, Tendulkar has had nowhere to hide. Gilchrist averaging 40 has been enough for Australia to win, but for India to win, Tendulkar has had to average over 60. There is no comparison between the top Australians and Tendulkar or Lara. Those two are in a different class.

Tendulkar himself is a modest man. Over the years, the most I've heard him say is "One has to keep trying". That, a fair minded individual free of psycho-pharmacological assistance should agree, is something Tendulkar does better than anybody else

26th March 2011, 02:54 PM
Digression but felt like posting it here nevertheless:
http://cricketingview.blogspot.com/2011/03/10-years-ago.html

It was Day 4 of the Kolkata Test of 2001. Since that day, the two men who batted all day against one of the best bowling attacks of all time, have made fifteen and a half thousand Test runs including 36 centuries for India. Both men have gone on to play 100 Test matches for India, VVS has played 99 since that Test, while Dravid has played 108.

It was a day that changed the fortunes of India and her cricket. Can you imagine an India in which cricket went into decline in the aftermath of the match-fixing scandals of the late 2000s? Would there have been the generation of the 2000s? Would there have been the IPL without that day?

On 15 March 2001, exactly 124 years after the first ball was bowled in a Test Match, a miraculous stand by two wonderful players changed the shape of India's decade. I hear on the grapevine that those two gents will be sharing a meal tonight.

Would it not be fitting if India were to fulfill the promise of the day by winning the World Cup?

28th March 2011, 04:13 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxJdPtlbXAQ

tendulkar walks on 97.

28th March 2011, 04:33 AM
18, 008 ......

17,95 three.

47 for 18 Grand.

oNNU7,815.

28th March 2011, 05:13 AM
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=294821&id=806559760&fbid=10150143127404761

some rare pics. sry if repost.

28th March 2011, 01:03 PM
MOHALI: Sachin Tendulkar is known to prepare assiduously before any match. He never leaves anything to chance and covers all bases before getting into the thick of the battle. Now that India are just two wins away from one of his most cherished goals - the World Cup crown - the batting maestro must be preparing even harder.

On Sunday, one got a sneak peak into his plans for the semifinal against Pakistan, and possibly the final on April 2, when he brought to the ground a fresh supply of bats. Tendulkar is very fastidious about his willows and wants them to be in perfect shape so that he can heap maximum damage on the bowlers.

The gleaming new bats needed some breaking up so he, after doing a few knock-downs himself, asked the yoga trainer Manoj Kumar to give them some hits.

Thus, while Tendulkar played football with teammates, Kumar kept hitting balls with the bats for close to an hour.

Tendulkar came back to continue the routine himself before Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli also got a taste of the master's new weapons of mass destruction.

Will Tendulkar be employing one of these new bats in the semifinal against Pakistan? We will know shortly. Maybe, his 100th international century (he is just one short) will come through a brand new bat.