View Full Version : IlayaRaja's New Albums 2013-15 - Mahendran film/Thaarai thappattai/Mythri

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

V_S
28th April 2012, 04:21 AM
Aravind, Thanks for the details. Good to know Sunidhi Chauhan is singing. She was very good in Paa (Hichki Hichki) and Om Shanthi (Chinna POlike). I think she also sang in Mumbai Express Hindi Version. So this should her first Thamizh songs under Maestro, if she does or if she sang again for Hindi version.

krish244
28th April 2012, 06:43 AM
I was always curious about the fate of NEPV's hindi version as there were no concrete updates on hindi version. Here is an update. Gautham menon drops (for now atleast) hindi version of NEPV.

www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/apr-12-04/gautham-menon-vinnai-thaandi-varuvaaya-26-04-12.html

Krishnan

28th April 2012, 10:41 AM
Aravind, Thanks for the details. Good to know Sunidhi Chauhan is singing. She was very good in Paa (Hichki Hichki) and Om Shanthi (Chinna POlike). I think she also sang in Mumbai Express Hindi Version. So this should her first Thamizh songs under Maestro, if she does or if she sang again for Hindi version.
She also sang in MX Tamil version (Yele Nee Etti Po)

crvenky
28th April 2012, 12:09 PM
Sri Rama Rajyam (Tamil) audio released. Check out www.uyirvani.com for download.

V_S
28th April 2012, 08:05 PM
Oh Thanks Bala. Somehow I missed her name in the Yele Nee Etti Po song tag (which I have) along with Shreya Ghoshal. She had a very good voice. From the singers list (with Shaan too), it seems we can expect a monster and trendy soundtrack like Paa or MX. Still can't forget that slap bass (or pizzicato?) in Mudhi Mudhi (from the picture links it must have be played by Attila). I really loved the rock ballad version by Shaan too.

krish, So Hindi version is dropped? :sad:

V_S
28th April 2012, 08:09 PM
Sri Rama Rajyam (Tamil) audio released. Check out www.uyirvani.com (http://www.uyirvani.com) for download.
Thanks crvenky for the link. So Shreya is replaced by Chinmayee in Thamizh. Little weary for her thin voice, let us see. :smile:

teja
29th April 2012, 12:13 PM
On Tamil Sri Rama Rajyam.. As much as I like Chinmayi's voice, I'm afraid, it isn't a patch on Shreya's. Producer should have retained Shreya for the tamil version too. BTW, any one notice the difference in 'Seetha Seemantam' song? (In the initial few seconds). Wonder if it's faulty CD Rip.. or if it's done on purpose.

V_S
30th April 2012, 01:08 AM
On Tamil Sri Rama Rajyam.. As much as I like Chinmayi's voice, I'm afraid, it isn't a patch on Shreya's.
+infinity. While the lyrics literally translated from telugu which quite fitted to sandhams, singing wise it was let down, especially Shreya songs. The areas where there are not much aalapanais, she did quite well, but, in Sri Rama Lera (Sri Rama Vaarai), just before starting the charanam, Shreya does one heart-melting aalaapanai, which was totally killed by Chinmayee. Many places like this, where there are those beautiful sangathis, alaapanais and those beautiful extensions which gave life and soul to the compositions, all are well killed and swallowed.

V_S
10th May 2012, 05:01 AM
Finally, at last finally got my original Dhoni and Mayilu audio CDs after a long long time. I totally agree now, what people have been saying, what I have been missing, especially Dhoni's live recording. :notworthy: It makes a huge and hell a lot of difference. Experience of a life time!. :notworthy: Every bit of note and every bit of instrument is separately audible. You have to listen to the bass portions of Vaangum Panathukkum, nothing like that. In mp3 version (online), I used to hear the rolling drums @0.08 as some messed up sound. When listening to audio CD, that rolling drums is clearly audible to every note. :notworthy: Many things like that. SPB voice sounds absolutely fresh and stunning. Lke the voice of SPB which we used to hear in 80s. What a great miss! The songs reached greater heights and multiplied my liking to Dhoni as a whole soundtrack enormously. I will upload the original audio version soon. Highly recommended to listen to audio CD version only.

Still to listen to Mayilu soundtrack fully. Heard only one song; Yathae. Again what a contrast in listening experience. The song of the year clearly (so far)!

baroque
10th May 2012, 06:40 AM
Where did you buy?

krish244
10th May 2012, 01:29 PM
Audio rights for NEPV is expected between 1.5 and 2 crores:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/tamil/news-interviews/2-crore-for-NEP-audio-rights/articleshow/13065333.cms

"...Says an executive in the audio industry, "The soundtracks of Gautham's films have always done well in the market. And since he is collaborating with Ilaiyaraaja for the first time, there is an intense competition among top labels to bag the audio rights for 'NEP'
Considering that Ilaiyaraaja has a huge fan base in Tamil and Telugu, the rights of 'NEP' are much-contested between players in the music market....."

Krishnan

V_S
10th May 2012, 07:26 PM
vinatha,
My parents bought the CDs in Chennai and posted to me. I don't know which shop but, I can ask and let you know.

baroque
10th May 2012, 09:19 PM
sure...

skr
13th May 2012, 12:03 AM
V_S ,
Nice to know you got hold of the original cds of Dhoni and Mayilu ..Awaiting your detailed review on both these soundtracks ..
Do listen to Prasad also , the Oh Nana Kanda track is a lilting melody ..
Mudhalvar Mahatma too is an interesting and very likeable album..

And if you drop down to Chennai sometime, do let me know .. I would like to meet you :)

Baroque ,
You get Dhoni and Mayilu audio cd in every landmark store in Chennai..There are stores in Nungambakkam , Spencer Plaza etc ..
Prasad if you need , can get it from Star Track , Coimbatore ..Mudhalvar Mahatma audio is not released and can be downloaded legally on the net for free..

V_S
13th May 2012, 01:13 AM
Thanks skr. Both the soundtracks are great treat for ears. I also got Prasad CDs too, courtesy Suresh ji, many many thanks to him. Prasad has some wonderful songs; Nee nanna kanda and Naanu neenu. I liked couple of songs in Mudhalvar Mahatma too. Sure we will have to meet. It's been more than 6 years since I visited India, waiting for that day badly and eagerly.:smile:

baroque
13th May 2012, 06:41 AM
thanks SKR!

Sureshs65
13th May 2012, 10:46 AM
The Western world, atleast the alternate music circuits, seem to have discovered the Raja of the 80s and are celebrating him, going by the compilations that are coming out from various labels.

After the 'Solla Solla' and later the Chitra compilation, we now get the funky Raja of the 80s. Just check out the compilation. Someone has real good taste.

Here are the sound samples of the compilation:

http://soundcloud.com/experimedia/ilaiyaraaja-fire-star-synth

Here is the website for buying the album: http://www.experimedia.net/

(Got this from twitter thanks to @dwty and @Mayil__)

teja
13th May 2012, 11:05 AM
@Suresh,

Awesome! Just placed my order! Been looking forward to "Chittikurivi" in good quality from a long time.. and this CD's recordings quality seems to be promising!

Great find!

wizzy
13th May 2012, 11:39 AM
great find...digged a similar 80s vinyl compilation while ago..http://cartilage-records.bandcamp.com/album/va-play-that-beat-mr-raja-1-1984-1991

V_S
13th May 2012, 08:26 PM
Wow! Suresh ji, this is some amazing discovery. Thank you so much. :notworthy: But how did they achieve this much quality, when agi music (who is owning the copy rights of Raja's old soundtracks) and other companies is struggling to remaster the tracks, citing poor source. This is definitely a major breakthrough in terms of quality. First time hearing Maestro's songs in this crystal clear quality. Still not able to believe it! :D It's sold out when I was about to order. :sad:

wizzy, "Play that beat Mr. Raja #1" is another outsanding album with great tracks. It is also available in iTunes (purchased recently), but you will not get that vinyl quality. Thanks!

layman10
16th May 2012, 01:10 AM
Regarding these compilations, I was surprised by this one: http://www.rushhour.nl/distribution_detailed.php?item=63616 . Preview few other tracks first and listen of Raja's one, you can see the relation to the other anarchic ones in the list.

@suresh65 (BTW me is @dwdty)

Sureshs65
16th May 2012, 12:39 PM
Aah layman. So you are @dwdty !!! That's nice.

krish244
17th May 2012, 12:53 PM
Sathyan Anthikkad's new malayalam movie (Oru Karyam Parayanundu) will have IR's music:

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels/showbiz/mollywood/namitha-act-nedumudi-venu-212

Krishnan

raja_fan
17th May 2012, 02:26 PM
https://twitter.com/#!/nep_movie/

Hey Folks........Tune in to us tommorow....get ready to listen to the first strains of Nep's music..... #NEPmovie RT plzz....

raja_fan
17th May 2012, 02:27 PM
Which thread are we going to follow for NEPV ?
IR's new albums
or
News and updates ?

17th May 2012, 05:32 PM
New thread please.

17th May 2012, 05:57 PM
https://twitter.com/#!/nep_movie/

Hey Folks........Tune in to us tommorow....get ready to listen to the first strains of Nep's music..... #NEPmovie RT plzz....

Have decided NOT to listen to any of this teaser, bit songs, and wait ONLY for the kombleet, official release of the album. Pothum saar, mudiyala

Daai Photon Kathaas payaluvaLaa, ennadaa nenachitrukeenga engaLa pathi?!? We are waiting for the whole bakery. Don't put PoRai's

NaangaLum mothalla "Prabaa woyin saapp? Kada eppa saar thorappeenga?!" levella thaan irunthom. Not anymore

raja_fan
17th May 2012, 06:20 PM
I agree Vallavar !

These people think we are beggars ? eh ?

Ennamo kaanaathathai kandaa maathiri alaivom-nu ninaichitrukkaanga.

36 varushamaaa naanga paakkaathathaiyaadaa unga gowtham menon velila kondu vandhuda poraaru ?

P.S : Irundhaalum naalaikku mattum paathuduven :)

17th May 2012, 07:02 PM
Mhmm. Thalaivare (kanavula) vanthu kettukittaalum, I am only for Kombleet Album. No more thundu thukkadaa bits

17th May 2012, 08:00 PM
NaangaLum mothalla "Prabaa woyin saapp? Kada eppa saar thorappeenga?!" levella thaan irunthom.
:rotfl: :exactly:

San_K
18th May 2012, 10:34 AM
Neethaane En Ponvasantham Audio First Look
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhhpT59sIYs&feature=youtu.be (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhhpT59sIYs&feature=youtu.be)

18th May 2012, 11:55 AM
Sema sema sema ... Like a Jazz album !!

San_K
18th May 2012, 02:37 PM
Konjam puthusa oru thinusa nallave irukku. Can't wait to listen the full song/album

I believe this is bacground music (rhythm) and lyrics/voice will come with this after mixing (is not it?)

18th May 2012, 11:11 PM
NaangaLum mothalla "Prabaa woyin saapp? Kada eppa saar thorappeenga?!" levella thaan irunthom.

:rotfl: - nAn basically lazyngaradhAla enakku indha prachnai illai. padam vandhu release Agattum appuramA sAvagaasamA kEttuppEn.

K
18th May 2012, 11:19 PM
Neethaane En Ponvasantham Audio First Look
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhhpT59sIYs&feature=youtu.be (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhhpT59sIYs&feature=youtu.be)

The King Rocks n Jazz.

krish244
19th May 2012, 12:33 AM
Thanks San_K! Music sounds very nice and classy, especially the guitar parts and the way it ends (from 0:38). Liked it. Eagerly looking forward...

Krishnan

AravindMano
19th May 2012, 03:57 AM
New Thread for NEP / YVM (http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?9846-Neethane-En-Ponvasantham-Yeto-Vellipoyindhi-Manasu-Assi-Nabbe-Poorey-Sau) Pliss to discuss there.

skr
4th June 2012, 03:15 PM
Hello Jaihind songs finally
http://minmalar.blogspot.com/2012/06/blog-post.html

rajaalltheway
8th June 2012, 04:35 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/malayalam/article/82439.html

rajaalltheway
8th June 2012, 10:38 PM
HELLO JAI HIND-pulsating...if ayya wishes..can easily dethrone the current brat pack dominating mumbai music industry.this mans form has become completely unpredictable

V_S
8th June 2012, 10:47 PM
HELLO JAI HIND-pulsating...if ayya wishes..can easily dethrone the current brat pack dominating mumbai music industry.this mans form has become completely unpredictable
Exactly! Well Said! Hello Jai Hind is a silent killer, very pristine and original, but as usual, it will be forgotten. How many of such masterpieces went like that, still he is putting everything in whatever opportunity he gets.

krish244
12th June 2012, 11:59 AM
Sony Music has acquired the rights of NEPV:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/tamil/news-interviews/Sony-Music-acquires-Neethane-Enn-Ponvasantham/articleshow/14051528.cms

Krishnan

Devaraagam
12th June 2012, 01:55 PM
Ayya,

anybody found the audio cd/mp3 of hello jahind? i think dvd has come out need to buy and extract the songs. no idea where can i see the dvd too.

krish244
16th June 2012, 09:04 PM
GVM explaining how music of NEPV was made. You guys need to read it. Pretty interesting. GVM says, he got everything he wanted.

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/article3536499.ece

GVM is a hardcare guitar fan I guess. Yesterday, I watched VTV and songs/BGM was flourished with guitar!

Krishnan

8th July 2012, 01:29 AM
does anyone have any info as to what happened to HAPPI ??

rajaalltheway
4th August 2012, 08:37 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQMJp_mhkhQ

11th August 2012, 09:23 PM
Late pickup:
thukkam enna thuyaram enna...en kitta sollu sollu...

IR-E vandhu namma kitta solluRA mAdhiri irukku. :cry: :clap:

Sureshs65
12th August 2012, 04:55 PM

As far as Raja's 90s and 2000s and the Raja fan is concerned, I always get reminded of Shivaji's dialogue in "Devar Magan", "veruvaan, varuvaan, avan mella thaan varuvaan" :)

Devaraagam
14th August 2012, 02:24 AM
Friends relax... Here is the mayilu songs to reduce your upsets on NEP http

http://t.co/fe9qb9ZP
http://t.co/v2kQXFl4
http://t.co/pdi7EpKh
http://t.co/YhOUbdU4

14th August 2012, 06:56 AM
Mudhalvar Mahatma is releasing on 15th .

krish244
29th August 2012, 11:50 AM
Hungarian musicians for September 1 NEPV audio launch?

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/tamil/news-interviews/Raaja-on-a-Hungarian-note/articleshow/15892538.cms

Krishnan

29th August 2012, 11:58 AM
Late pickup:
thukkam enna thuyaram enna...en kitta sollu sollu...

:clap: Paattu vandha pudhusulerndhu koovikittrukkom. Mayilu album :thumbsup:

30th August 2012, 01:26 AM
Mudhalavar Mahatma songs !!
http://www.welcomebackgandhi.com/music.html

Gregorysab
1st September 2012, 12:02 AM
NEPV songs released on flipkart's flyte.

Telugu version: http://www.flipkart.com/yeto-vellipoyindhi-manasu/p/itmdcwzskk9uwuxj?pid=DGADCWYGFDTQQJEB&ref=97d2ec2b-d948-4c62-b742-32134fad1859

Tamil version: http://www.flipkart.com/neethaane-en-ponvasantham/p/itmdcwzwxpdfzvtr?pid=DGADCWYGZUED7PAH&ref=5456ab19-4f1d-49e8-8c6e-5b6c64418186

The wait is over!

6th September 2012, 02:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_2yil9RZCY&feature=player_embedded

Gundello Godavari - very very good trailr , although music i guess is from some Hollywood

rooky
11th September 2012, 06:56 PM
NEPV audio launch Telecast JayaTV @3.30 PM Sunday,16th September.

Sureshs65
11th September 2012, 09:31 PM
An audio teaser of Sathyan Anthikad's 'Puthiya Theerangal' : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7Zq4CzC3yU&feature=youtu.be

Really a teaser. Can't get to listen to even one line fully !!! Waiting for this to get me out of NEPV magic. Only 3 songs looks like, like most Sathyan Anthikad movies.

11th September 2012, 11:47 PM
An audio teaser of Sathyan Anthikad's 'Puthiya Theerangal' : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7Zq4CzC3yU&feature=youtu.be

Really a teaser. Can't get to listen to even one line fully !!! Waiting for this to get me out of NEPV magic. Only 3 songs looks like, like most Sathyan Anthikad movies.

I doubt if this will pull you - looks like standard structure for SA's movie . Aaaro paadum is yet to be matched

12th September 2012, 08:03 AM
I doubt if this will pull you - looks like standard structure for SA's movie . Aaaro paadum is yet to be matched

Problem is SA probably gives the same type of situations to thalaivar and the movie is usually based on a rustic background. Aaro Paadum is special because of the situation where the romance is free flowing. You can see from the visuals of that song that there is a more dreamy feel about the way the two lovers are featured.

12th September 2012, 08:13 AM

I am not sure about this but the preludes of the first and third song have beautiful usage of flute(first one) and harmonium/mridhangam(third one). You can hear them in the background as the guy is speaking. Second song is trademark SA styled song. Looks like there are some different situations this time round. Ithuvum moondru songs thaan polarakku.

csramasami
12th September 2012, 03:45 PM
After listening NEPV's "Satru Munbu" if you are drained emotionally, listen to the "Nan Petra Selvam" of Prasad (Tamil) in a sequence. A soothing calm variance of same Minor scale.

Here is the Kannada youtube visuals: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vo_OcWwkdEc

Let V_S & others take over for analysis of this melencholic beauty

(in-turn, it further takes you to "Pani Vizhum Iravu"-Mouna Ragam, you can continue the journey)

KV
12th September 2012, 05:58 PM
csr :thumbsup:
The most criminally underrated and overlooked (even in these portions of hub) song of 2012 so far. I haven't heard the Thamizh version (never even knew it existed), but the origiinal is pure bliss. Gets my vote for 'lullaby of the year' and 'father-kid song of the year'!

KV
12th September 2012, 06:41 PM
Just heard the Thamizh version (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00760&lang=en); surely not bad. The lines are mostly direct transalation of the original I think.
There's one line in Kannada which I'm particularly fond of - the 2nd line -
'nanagE prasaada yendhu, aa dEva ninnaa thandhaa' which loosely translates to 'enakku prasaadamaa andha kadavul unna thandhaan'.
Nothing extremely imaginative or poetic I admit, but IMO, it sits nicely with the situation. This is a kind of line that any father would generally relate easily to, and in this case his little one being a special kid (haven't seen the movie or video; only vaguely recall the movie's theme) the dad probably develops a special bonding with his child and sees him as a 'blessing' and not a burden. And with the boy's name being Prasad, it adds a subtle charm to the dad's expression. This line in Thamizh becomes 'unnai kaaakum nizhalaai naanum, mann mElE vaazhvEn selvam' which, although being relevant, doesn't quite evoke the bitter-sweet beauty and contentment of the dad like in the originial.

12th September 2012, 06:51 PM
Thanks CSR for sharing that kannada song. Wonderful melody.

KV
12th September 2012, 07:00 PM
And the way Raaja structures the tune there is so lovely.
oh nanna kandha, kandha --> tune
kElu maathondha; --> same tune as above; no change of notes
nanagE prasAdha endhu --> again, same tune
aa dEva ninnaa thandhaa --> here it starts from a lower note, then slowly ascends and again loops down beautifully. It's like as though the dad is really meaning what he's saying, that his child is a blessing, from the bottom of his heart. And the stretch and gradual fade out at the end of the line, feels to me, like he's really content with this blessing in his life and probably yearns for nothing more.

V_S
12th September 2012, 07:46 PM
Thank you csr sir for your confidence in me. Will surely listen to the thamizh version. As KV mentioned, this is a beautiful song in kannada and heavily under-rated even here. Very nicely written KV as always with great insight into the lyrics. Yes, he just descends only in the third line, but how sweet he is descending with no sluggishness, just like a smooth ice cream we swallow without any fuss. :smile:

Sureshs65
12th September 2012, 08:00 PM
'Prasad' is one album which, as people pointed out, did not get the ear of many hard core Raja fans. It will be 'discovered' in due course of time :) This song quoted by csr is easily the best in the album.

21st September 2012, 01:12 AM
padiththuRai in the news again (http://tamil.webdunia.com/entertainment/film/featuresorarticles/1209/20/1120920038_1.htm)

ஒரு சுபயோக சுப தினத்தில், இனி படித்துறைக்கும் எனக்கும் எந்த சம்பந்தமும் இல்லை என்று தாமிரபரணியில் முழுக்குப் போட்டார் சகா. அப்போதும் ஆர்யாவுக்கு அடைப்புதான். இப்போதுதான் அது சரியாகியிருக்கிறது.

படித்துறை நல்ல படம், சகா ரொம்ப நன்றாக எடுத்திருக்கிறார். சில காரணங்களால் படத்தை வெளியிட முடியவில்லை. நல்ல படங்களை தொடர்ந்து தயாரிக்கவே விரும்புகிறேன் என்று பேசியிருக்கிறார்.

ஆர்யா தேர்வு செய்திருக்கும் வார்த்தைகளைப் பார்த்தால் சகாவின் பிரசன்ஸ் மீண்டும் ஆர்யாவுக்கு தேவைப்படுகிறது என்பதை ஸ்மெல் செய்யலாம்.

சிக்குவாரா சகா?

crvenky
21st September 2012, 12:09 PM
Another 'first look' trailer for Puthiya Theerangal. Nice comical piece with Mriandangam & Harmonium, sounds very cool!

http://unimp3.com/CY_SBI-PQw4@Puthiya_Theerangal_-_First_Look.html

KV
21st September 2012, 12:17 PM
Here's what wiki says about this film:
"The soundtrack will be composed by Ilaiyaraaja (http://www.mayyam.com/wiki/Ilaiyaraaja), with lyrics penned by Kaithapram (http://www.mayyam.com/wiki/Kaithapram_Damodaran_Namboothiri). The album consists of three songs. The audio rights of the film were acquired by Mathrubhumi Music. The album was launched on 9 September 2012 at Kochi (http://www.mayyam.com/wiki/Kochi). The soundtrack received generally positive reviews from music critics."

:huh:
Was there a 'vaamma minnal' moment that we all missed to spot in the NEPV tide? :roll:

Sureshs65
21st September 2012, 01:27 PM
I have been watching for this movie's music for quite some time. I don't think any 'minnal' moment happened yet. Maybe only the music critics have heard it till now.

BTW, if someone knows Malayalam, here is some news about this movie's audio: http://www.mathrubhumi.com/movies/music/303619/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+mb4frames+%28Mathrubhumi+Movi es%29

21st September 2012, 06:48 PM
Rough translation of that :

'puthiya theerangaL' audio CD released

Kozhikkode : Audio CD of Sathyan Anthikkad's new movie 'puthiya theerangaL' was released in Kozhikkode by Mathrubhoomi music. Mammootty & Kavya Madhavan did the releasing with Director Ranjith, Reema Kallingal & Mathrubhoomi public relations senior manager K R Pramod taking part.

The movie is produced by Neeta Anto under Anne Mega Media banner. Ilayaraja has provided music for Kaithapuram's lyrics. Hariharan, Vijay Yesudas, Swetha (wrongly typed as Shetwa), Madhu Balakrishanan are the singers.

V_S
21st September 2012, 07:21 PM
Ennanga nadakkuthu. Namakku theriyaama audio release'A, athuvum vetta veLiyila, patta pagal'la. What a miss!

Sureshs65
21st September 2012, 08:04 PM
Thanks app for the translation. My guess we should get the songs over the weekend or on Monday via flipkart.

V_S
21st September 2012, 08:13 PM
We had an audio release with 4000 people last week, and we are now seeing an audio release with just 4 people. :lol: As I said, what a contrast even in non-musical ways, only IR possible.:smile:

Gregorysab
21st September 2012, 08:14 PM
Attention everybody!

Puthiya Theerangal for purchase on flipkart: http://www.flipkart.com/puthiya-theerangal/p/itmddm9jr6zet6gr?pid=DGADDM99ZQPHZYDT&ref=0e6c3ff0-dbc6-4d32-a223-8a17fee050ad

Enjoy!

KV
21st September 2012, 08:20 PM
:lol: Bring it on, baby!
Comrade Aakarsh, please keep a close watch on 'gundello godavari'. I'm sensing another guerrilla attack there!

V_S
21st September 2012, 08:26 PM
Only mp3 download? :sad:

raja_fan
21st September 2012, 08:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGokHEWu7yY&feature=youtu.be

What commerce they are doing with just 3 songs in a film ?!?!
Sathyan, ennaiyaa nee !

V_S
21st September 2012, 08:30 PM
What commerce they are doing with just 3 songs in a film ?!?!
Sathyan, ennaiyaa nee !
The funny part is neither the director nor the music director was present in the audio release event. Again only IR soundtrack possible!

KV
21st September 2012, 08:37 PM
Flyte ki jai! Got the songs! :yes:
Folks, forget the number of songs. Just cherish the moment I say!
Just got through with the first song. Absolutely lovely!

KV
21st September 2012, 09:02 PM
arumai ya, arumai! :musicsmile:
Note to P_R: You gonna love this album, I'll bet my buck!

KV
21st September 2012, 09:48 PM
The album's been on loop for about an hour now.
Initial reaction - best of Sathyan+IR so far!

V_S
21st September 2012, 09:51 PM
The album's been on loop for about an hour now.
Initial reaction - best of Sathyan+IR so far!

Wow! really? Even better than Snehaveedu, Bhagyadevatha? Great to hear. Looks like IR is on a rampage.

Sureshs65
21st September 2012, 10:03 PM
My internet connection sucks big time. Downloaded two songs. 'Rajgopuram' and 'Maari Peeli Katre'. Didn't think I would come out of NEPV magic but these songs are proving otherwise. Superb, both of them. Slowly trying to understand what Raja is doing here. Waiting for third song to download.

Amma Lakshi, 'gundello godavri' eppudamma. Please provide two weeks gap.

V_S
21st September 2012, 10:34 PM
Are we expecting Gundello Godari soon?. Having seen the trailer this year beginning, I was thinking this film on the lines of padithurai, SRK, Happi. Will be happy if this is false.
In that way, I really appreciate Sathyan Anthikkad. Every year 'taan'nu release pannidraar. :thumbsup: KathukOngayya ivar kittErnthu.

Senareb
21st September 2012, 11:00 PM
Any download link pls..

teja
21st September 2012, 11:12 PM
Are we expecting Gundello Godari soon?. Having seen the trailer this year beginning, I was thinking this film on the lines of padithurai, SRK, Happi. Will be happy if this is false.
In that way, I really appreciate Sathyan Anthikkad. Every year 'taan'nu release pannidraar. :thumbsup: KathukOngayya ivar kittErnthu.

V_S, It's definitely not going SRK, Happi way. Film is releasing for Dussera (End of October). So we can expect audio anytime in next couple of weeks.

V_S
21st September 2012, 11:23 PM
Thanks teja for this wonderful news.:D

Sureshs65
21st September 2012, 11:46 PM
All three lovely songs. Some more listens and then a review this weekend.

22nd September 2012, 12:05 AM
All three lovely songs. Some more listens and then a review this weekend.

உங்களை 90-கள் பக்கம் கொஞ்ச நாளைக்குப் போக விடமாட்டார் போல :-)

KV
22nd September 2012, 12:33 AM
Wow! really? Even better than Snehaveedu, Bhagyadevatha? Great to hear. Looks like IR is on a rampage.
Well, on the way back from work tonight, I listened to kadha thodarunnu. Frankly, aarO paadunna dhoorE alone is sufficient to blow away any competition for the top slot of IR+Sathyan, but the overall melodic content in puthiya theerangal and its earthiness adds a lot of meat to it. Lets give it some more time. Aana onnu, Raaja's superb form in 2012 continues!
maaripeelikkaattE - mandhu baliah.. ennama paadIrkkaan ya! :musicsmile:

KV
22nd September 2012, 12:35 AM
Any download link pls..
http://www.flipkart.com/puthiya-theerangal/p/itmddm9jr6zet6gr?pid=DGADDM99ZQPHZYDT&ref=0e6c3ff0-dbc6-4d32-a223-8a17fee050ad

V_S
22nd September 2012, 01:16 AM
Well, on the way back from work tonight, I listened to kadha thodarunnu. Frankly, aarO paadunna dhoorE alone is sufficient to blow away any competition for the top slot of IR+Sathyan, but the overall melodic content in puthiya theerangal and its earthiness adds a lot of meat to it. Lets give it some more time. Aana onnu, Raaja's superb form in 2012 continues!
maaripeelikkaattE - mandhu baliah.. ennama paadIrkkaan ya! :musicsmile:
Thanks KV. Could not hold my excitement, as IR's malayalam is always special. Raja, ennaikku sir form'la illa?. MakkaL thaan avar viLayaadratha paarka maattEngranga. This soundtrack will also go like 'pazhaya sOgangaL'. :sad: Atleast Malayalam media should take some efforts to make it reach to public as much they can. How many rich compositions like this went into drain?.

Today, incidently I was telling to one of my colleague (in late 20's) that one of IR's malayalam film audio is releasing today. He was asking, 'Oh Raja malayaalathula kooda music pOdaraaraa?' Naan OdiyE vanthutEn. Enna oru avamaanam.:twisted:

Gregorysab
22nd September 2012, 07:58 AM
:lol: Bring it on, baby!
Comrade Aakarsh, please keep a close watch on 'gundello godavari'. I'm sensing another guerrilla attack there!

We dont need to "keep an eye" for Gundelo godari. Its produced by Lakshmi Manchu and whatever be the quality of film - publicity is guaranteed :-D. I expect the audio release in October.

Sureshs65
22nd September 2012, 12:06 PM
உங்களை 90-கள் பக்கம் கொஞ்ச நாளைக்குப் போக விடமாட்டார் போல :-)

:) Very true. Want to write atleast one post of 90s Raja this weekend and he himself is coming to Bangalore !!! What can I do. Let me see.

San_K
22nd September 2012, 12:48 PM
Typical SA+IR combo album, no diffference. Did not like the songs much at initial listens. may give some more listens

22nd September 2012, 03:42 PM
LinkungO linkungO!

Sureshs65
22nd September 2012, 05:50 PM

http://www.flipkart.com/puthiya-theerangal/p/itmddm9jr6zet6gr?pid=DGADDM99ZQPHZYDT&ref=0e6c3ff0-dbc6-4d32-a223-8a17fee050ad

22nd September 2012, 11:32 PM
What SAN_K, you have simply doused my excitement with a bucket of cold water :(
I will be assuaged if I can get few songs of similar league as "Amruthamaay" ,"Chandrabimbathil" - Snehaveedu

KV
22nd September 2012, 11:48 PM
ada, dhairyamaa kEttu pArunga! For one, there's a nice mohanam here that got me thinking about the seemingly endless permutations that Raaja's able to make with this scale!
btw, please check your pm.

teja
23rd September 2012, 12:27 AM
Heard just one song so far - "Rajagopuram". Loved it! Very soothing melody. Loop worthy!

KV
23rd September 2012, 01:26 AM
Wait a minute! Make that two mohanams! Raaja gOpuram and Sindhoora pottumthuttu.
The other one, MarippeelikkAttE, which, so far, is my pick from the album, follows a scale similar to elankaatru veesudhE, but sans the Rishabam in the aarohanam. The whole song appears to fall within this structure - S G2 M1 P N2 S and S N2 D1 P M1 G2 R2 S (karaharapriya janyam; wiki gives it this name - Vajrakānti)
From the listening experience I've had so far, the best part of this album, for me, is that the tunes are extremely catchy but not pedestrian. To go with Suresh's 'peace theory' I think this album would fit in nicely there! In big contrast to intense and epic-sounding NEPV, this one's a simple, easy and soothing album.

Sureshs65
23rd September 2012, 02:13 AM
Not sure how far the have 'picked up' steam but good to know such promotions happening all over the place for Raja's music

http://www.nowrunning.com/news/malayalam/songs-of-puthiya-theerangal-turn-out-to-be-chart-busters/56591/story.htm

Sureshs65
23rd September 2012, 02:14 AM
KV,

Yes. The Sindhura Pottu Mohanam is definitely Mohanam. Not yet sure about Rajagopuram. Will need to listen more carefully to find out the scale of 'Maari Peeli Katre'. Overall a lovely album.

23rd September 2012, 08:44 AM
nInga solRadhai pArththA I Think the Vijayr types will go "again mohanam indhALukku vERa edhuvumE theriyAdhu pOla" :lol:

suresh
23rd September 2012, 10:09 AM
Textbook tunemaking at its simplest, most seductive. After a few weeks of "Vaanam Mella" on the loop, "Puthiya Theerangal" again brings to the fore why Raaja digs deep into his emotional well for Sathyan. Top-notch singing, though I wish Kaithapram could've found better words to fit the pallavi in 'Maaripeelikaatre'. Just 3 songs, but each of them woven so seamlessly to convey a clarity of theme, an emotional integrity so true to the setting of the script without trying too hard with 'yelelo' calls and artificial seabreeze sounds. Raaja must have done this in quick time given his connect with Sathyan, but this should give the very exciting talents like Shaan Rahman, Gopi Sundar and Rahul Raj (even the prodigious Sharreth) a lesson in how song composing is all about locating that soul in melodic content, that moment of simplicity, and all the layering and technical hijinks can only provide instant or short-term gratification that will wash away like the sand castle set upon by waves. Posterity resides in those pebbles, smoothened with age, passing from hand to hand in an unbroken chain of sharing and celebrating life's bittersweet moments.

Ok, returning to ground realities, given Sathyan's rather limp form in the recent past and his limited songmaking (on screen) skills, they may not make much of an impact in the current Malayalam scene that's been set afire by urbane, cliche-busting, sophisticated smart-budget films by the young talents - Anwar Rasheed, Aashiq Abu... Let's just brace ourselves with the (familiar) thought that, regardless of the box office fate of this, the music will resonate for a long time to come.

V_S
23rd September 2012, 10:17 AM
Textbook tunemaking at its simplest, most seductive. After a few weeks of "Vaanam Mella" on the loop, "Puthiya Theerangal" again brings to the fore why Raaja digs deep into his emotional well for Sathyan. Top-notch singing, though I wish Kaithapram could've found better words to fit the pallavi in 'Maaripeelikaatre'. Just 3 songs, but each of them woven so seamlessly to convey a clarity of theme, an emotional integrity so true to the setting of the script without trying too hard with 'yelelo' calls and artificial seabreeze sounds. Raaja must have done this in quick time given his connect with Sathyan, but this should give the very exciting talents like Shaan Rahman, Gopi Sundar and Rahul Raj (even the prodigious Sharreth) a lesson in how song composing is all about locating that soul in melodic content, that moment of simplicity, and all the layering and technical hijinks can only provide instant or short-term gratification that will wash away like the sand castle set upon by waves. Posterity resides in those pebbles, smoothened with age, passing from hand to hand in an unbroken chain of sharing and celebrating life's bittersweet moments.
:clap: :clap: Excellently written suresh. Very poetic, at the same time, very true. romba anubavichu ezhudhi irukkeeenga! Please keep writing more.

Sureshs65
23rd September 2012, 01:50 PM
Rajagopuram song video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PAbfK-XEIJY

Sureshs65
23rd September 2012, 03:39 PM
suresh,

:clap: Superb post. That has been Raja's style. His aesthetics do not permit him to go over explicit and the song must create the required effect rather than the synthesized special effects.

(Plum, now expecting your "Are you _that_ Suresh" post :lol:)

crvenky
23rd September 2012, 04:27 PM
Any other site for buying the mp3of Puthiya Theerangal? Flipkart is not available outside India for online purchase.

24th September 2012, 03:33 AM
The “Kasi” flavour emerges strongly in “Raja Gopuram’s” prelude and Raaja Saab plays it safe for the rest of the song by following his conventional Malayalam output pattern. The second interlude however is a revelation.

There’s a country feel in “Sindhoora Pottumthottu” and what time signature is the percussion playing at and which drums are they? Kanjira, Timbles, Darbuka :huh: Madhu Balakrishnan has definitely taken the baton from “Gandharva Gayakan”.

The album belongs to “Maripeelikaatte”. I prefer Madhu Balakrishnan’s version but I really miss Raaja Saab here as he would’ve taken this Celtic pathos track to an even more soaring level. That is him in the prelude right? I will add this to the compilation for “The Celtic King”. This song has to be felt and not heard.

The orchestration in the second interlude paints a misty hill station which can be found anywhere along the Western Ghats. It is songs like this which make me feel that Raaja Saab is an apt tour guide as you just need to stick in a CD of these kinda songs when you’re travelling on a long car or coach trip. You will be drowned in the stories and folk tales based on the surroundings and IMO you don’t need to even look out the window to judge the impact of such serene locales.

24th September 2012, 05:51 AM
//Plum - clear your inbox

Gregorysab
24th September 2012, 01:47 PM
I am in love with Puthiya Theerangal songs! Excellent ones! While NEPV is in a league of its own, PT will bring you back to known territories. I am surprised not many are talking about this album yet.

24th September 2012, 02:50 PM
After 3 weeks of a mega, mother of all marriage feast with all those creamy, sinful delicacies, I am so wary of narrowing down to a "fat free" diet. Raja , u have spoilt me :((

suresh
24th September 2012, 03:02 PM
V_S, S65,
Thanks!!!

skr
24th September 2012, 08:30 PM
Puthiya Theerangal is just fantastic ..
Listening to it from the original cd ..Another stunner from Sathyan - IR Combo after Sneha Veedu ..
Loving it like crazy , already developing fears of extreme addiction :D

V_S
24th September 2012, 08:51 PM
Puthiya Theerangal is just fantastic ..
Listening to it from the original cd ..Another stunner from Sathyan - IR Combo after Sneha Veedu ..
Loving it like crazy , already developing fears of extreme addiction :D
skr,
Have they released CD version also? If so, that is good to know.

skr
24th September 2012, 09:01 PM
V_S ,
I got the audio cd from Hakeem of Star Track Music , Coimbatore who brought along some copies in yesterdays Bangalore concert ..
One thing which is disappointing is its not a solo Puthiya Theerangal ACD , 2 other films of other MDs also come in the CD ..
Puthiya Theerangal - 4 songs Music by Ilaiyaraaja
Trivandrum Lodge - 3 songs Music by M Jayachandran
Bhoopadathil Illatha Oridam - 4 songs Music by Mohan Sithara

V_S
24th September 2012, 09:13 PM
Thanks skr. Please post your detail views.

Thanks Sunil for your review. Nicely written,especially the last part. :thumbsup:

Still waiting to hear in detail from Suresh ji, KV, aakarsh.

Gregorysab
25th September 2012, 02:35 PM
My take on Puthiya Theerangal: http://musicmavericks.blogspot.in/2012/09/puthiya-theerangal-malayalam.html

A copy-paste from there:

Maaripeelikaatte – Hariharan (another version by Madhu Balakrishnan)
The song begins on synth wind-instrument sounds and thumbing electronic percussion with a very poignant humming by Ilaiyaraaja himself (I think). A warm melody backed by guitar, this song’s tune bears Ilaiyaraaja’s signature all through. The quietly flowing string sections in the interludes aptly connecting to the charanams evoke a sense of calmness that some of Ilaiyaraaja’s compositions have. After Vilayatta Padagotti from Dhoni, this is perhaps the best soulful composition that Ilaiyaraaja reserved for Hariharan. Though there is another version by Madhu Balakrishnan as well, I liked up Hariharan’s version a lot.

Sindhoora Pottumthottu – Madhu Balakrishnan
The song begins with guitar strumming that makes us prepared for a country-music kind of song but Ilaiyaraaja quickly moves our attention to the native south-indian rhythms. The percussive elements in this song are a highlight. The melody, set in Mohanam raga, is more folkish in its execution with Madhu Balakrishnan and male chorus delivering it perfectly well. Ilaiyaraaja doesn’t keep it completely acoustic. The synth-elements he uses to fill-up the backgrounds when the pallavi comes to a close are typical Ilaiyaraaja ideas which vie for our attention just as he conjures up a brilliant closure to the taala pattern there. Interludes glide from one instrument to another while guitars and bass-lines stand-out in the charanams. Watch out for the 2nd interlude, which ventures into his recent “Neethane En Ponvasantham” orchestral sound.

Raajagopuram – Vijay Yesudas, Shweta Mohan
A weird combination of Mridangam and Harmonium set this hummable melody on roll and just as one begins to doubt if this song would ‘sound’ just this bland, Ilaiyaraaja abruptly changes the soundscape with violins, acoustic guitars and a swinging rhythm backed by some staccato effect. While the 1st interlude just warms up to the song, the charanams have impressive synth portions as the melody keeps changing the scale. In this song too, it’s the 2nd interlude that is goose-bumpy with just snapping of fingers as the rhythm while the guitars (and keyboard) play variants. This composition is lilting melody that many would like.

Like some of Ilaiyaraaja’s recent Malayalam films, this one too is very short but has remarkably wonderful music. It is difficult to pick the best one out of the 3 songs, although I personally feel that it’s a tie between Maaripeelikaatte and Raaja Gopuram. After the full-throttled music in Neethane En Ponvasantham, Ilaiyaraaja belts out a short, calmer and sweet album. Looks like he is back to his old ways – of not letting us completely soak in one album.

Sureshs65
25th September 2012, 02:52 PM
Aakarsh,

That saves me the need to write a review :) For you have covered the songs very well. (Left a comment in your blog as well.)

Gregorysab
25th September 2012, 03:35 PM
Aakarsh,

That saves me the need to write a review :) For you have covered the songs very well. (Left a comment in your blog as well.)

yeah right, I took it upon me so that you can now re-start the 90s series ;-)

Senareb
25th September 2012, 06:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLTG32WnfmoXKyImGr49m8vOtTUrBex4xs&v=S7KaGybvi3M&feature=player_embedded

V_S
25th September 2012, 08:33 PM
Thanks aakarsh for the nice review. I just listened Raja gopuram on youtube. As you said, delighted to hear the harmonium after a long time. Un paarvayil (Amman kOyil KizhakkalE) immediately came to mind where Raja starts with harmonium (that was an extended delight). Very soulful song as usual spoiled by the picturization. Very artificial acting and dance, did not suit the melody. Will keep this song for later once I come out of NEPV. :smile:

crvenky
25th September 2012, 10:59 PM
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star (Hindi) trailer. Was the Hindi audio released?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAXqFKQ3_ZU

There were some more trailers in the Wellgate's website (I couldn't find it on the net now). Any pointers?

crvenky
25th September 2012, 11:09 PM
Some songs from TTLS:

Magic Journey - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uFUq6Uvlpk

Manathe Thamara - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-nE526PI80&feature=relmfu

Malayalam trailer - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6iNYnuWszc&feature=relmfu

rajaalltheway
26th September 2012, 03:20 AM
NEPV it seems was like a shot in the arms for Ayya.Puthiya Theerangal takes Sathyan Anthikkad-Ayya combo to the next level.Maarippeelikkatte by MB is my pick for its contemporary yet avant garde feel.Hariharan fails with pronounciation,Kaithapram comes up with uninspiring mundane lyrics..most of the time meaningless.ONV would have done a great job for a song on Ahalyas' redemption(Raajagopuram).The father/mother-child lullaby genre(maaripeelikkatte),a favourite of the composer screams for better lyrics..Rafeeq Ahmed wrote some excellent lines in Amruthamaayi Abhayamaayi.The liveliness and energy of sindhoorapottum thottu has quadrupled my expectations for Gundello Godaari

Sureshs65
26th September 2012, 09:36 AM
rajaalltheway,

While I don't know much Malayalam, I was expecting some top drawer stuff from Kaithapram. Even someone like me could see that the lyrics are not that great and very mundane. I agree that Rafeeq Ahmed lyrics were quite good in Snehaveedu. I am also very enamored by Sindhoorapottum. What a lively and energetic song!!!

p
26th September 2012, 10:32 AM
Sindoora Pottum Thottu

Music : Ilayaraja
Lyrics : Kaithapram
Singers : Madhu Balakrishnan & Chorus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdwySARyapo&feature=g-hist

V_S
26th September 2012, 07:39 PM
cha! oru Raaja album vaangarthukku ennavellaam paNNa vEndiyirukku. Got hold off one of my offshore guy giving the flipkart link. Opened a screen sharing session, asked him to checkout the songs and buy and then asked him to put into shared drive and took it from there. :lol: Will listen in the evening.

As the name aptly states, 'raaja' gopuram is really it is. Why Vijay Yesudas is not singing nowadays much in Thamizh? I loved his singing in this one. We only have to go with Karthik (for melodies), sometimes his voice looks so monotonous to me. :sad: Leaving that aside, this composition is a bright one shining throughout. I don't know what instrument that is (I think it is a veena kind of sound from synth), which adds to every line of pallavi, very seducing. Oru inam puriyaatha mayakkam ithai kEkkum pOthu. What a beautiful sound that is and how beautifully played! These are the small details which captures our heart right from the first hearing. Same way the anu-pallavi ending where he tapers down the tune till that echo, I am lost with words there. I could not go beyond this atleast now.

teja
27th September 2012, 11:14 PM
@ MumbaiRamki

It's some other movie. Gundello Godari audio release details will be announced next week.

KV
1st October 2012, 04:35 PM
Lakshmi Manchu ‏@LakshmiManchu 26 Sep (http://www.mayyam.com/LakshmiManchu/status/251207102062809088)@bhavatharini (http://www.mayyam.com/bhavatharini) What an amazing voice u have. Thankq for being a part of my dream project #MM (http://www.mayyam.com/search/?q=%23MM&src=hash) #GG (http://www.mayyam.com/search/?q=%23GG&src=hash). from school 2 now. What a journey. Love u.

Bhavatharini ‏@bhavatharini @LakshmiManchu (http://www.mayyam.com/LakshmiManchu) thank u for giving me a beautiful song.. Really beautiful and good luck for ur dream project #MaranthenMannithen (http://www.mayyam.com/search/?q=%23MaranthenMannithen&src=hash)

http://twitter.com/LakshmiManchu/statuses/251207102062809088

Bhava strikes back! :shaking:

Gregorysab
1st October 2012, 11:08 PM
Lakshmi Manchu ‏@LakshmiManchu 26 Sep (http://www.mayyam.com/LakshmiManchu/status/251207102062809088)@bhavatharini (http://www.mayyam.com/bhavatharini) What an amazing voice u have. Thankq for being a part of my dream project #MM (http://www.mayyam.com/search/?q=%23MM&src=hash) #GG (http://www.mayyam.com/search/?q=%23GG&src=hash). from school 2 now. What a journey. Love u.

Bhavatharini ‏@bhavatharini @LakshmiManchu (http://www.mayyam.com/LakshmiManchu) thank u for giving me a beautiful song.. Really beautiful and good luck for ur dream project #MaranthenMannithen (http://www.mayyam.com/search/?q=%23MaranthenMannithen&src=hash)

http://twitter.com/LakshmiManchu/statuses/251207102062809088

Bhava strikes back! :shaking:

Abbaaa! :banghead: why raaja why! Why fall for this nepotism!

Sureshs65
2nd October 2012, 10:08 AM
KV / aakarsh,

Here again I think Raja was persuaded by Lakshmi to use Bhava. Ofcourse, he has used her on his own so many times. But this time due to twitter, you could see Bhava sending a tweet asking Lakshmi to recommend her name to Raja for atleast a song !!!

2nd October 2012, 08:06 PM
Sureshs65 - or maybe IR subtly asked Bhava to ask Lakshmi to reco her for a song for GG ! that way it cant be traced back to IR you see!

3rd October 2012, 02:44 AM
puthiya theerangaL movie review (http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels/showbiz/movie-reviews/puthiya-theerangal-review-all-about-paternal-love-707)

Soothing too is Ilayaraja's music, but it won't send you into raptures such as in olden days.

3rd October 2012, 02:52 AM
Sathyan Anthikkad's interview (http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/coast-of-good-hope/article3942322.ece)

Ilayaraja composes the music for this film as well, the tenth film they are working on. Sathyan Anthikad and the master composer have been on song since they first worked together for Kochu Kochu Santoshangal. “For almost 30 of my films, it was the late Johnson who composed the music. When I decided to work with Ilayaraja, I informed Johnson and he told me that since it was someone who so much greater than him, he had no complaints whatsoever,” reminisces Sathyan. He adds: “During the composing of songs for Manassinakkare, I invited him to Kerala. I was over the moon when he agreed and it was in a houseboat on the Vembanad Lake that the song ‘Mele onnu paadi nine’ was born. Over the years, our relationship has matured into a warm friendship. Moreover, I make it a point never to misuse any friendship of mine. Perhaps that is my bond with many in the film industry has remained alive all these years.” The songs of Puthiya Theerangal have also been composed in Kerala and Sathyan is confident that the songs will be chart toppers.

Gregorysab
3rd October 2012, 11:24 AM
KV / aakarsh,

Here again I think Raja was persuaded by Lakshmi to use Bhava. Ofcourse, he has used her on his own so many times. But this time due to twitter, you could see Bhava sending a tweet asking Lakshmi to recommend her name to Raja for atleast a song !!!

whatever the case may be - some of the best compositions of Raaja deserved a much better voice than her's. and my disappointment is that - this could be another good song which will become forgettable because of her voice.

rooky
14th October 2012, 10:58 AM
As per today's paper ADs, Mayilu movie is releasing on Oct26th.

KV
17th October 2012, 11:50 AM
http://pbs.twimg.com/media/A5TRZTQCYAAtJox.jpg:large

KV
17th October 2012, 12:19 PM
From Gudello Godari's DOP MR Palanikumaar's twit a/c:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/A3ygLlSCYAA5n9o.jpg

KV
17th October 2012, 08:52 PM
Gundello Godari Audio Launch
Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z156alVRXaA

(cant seem to find part 2)

Part 3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jni0k86sDbc

Song making
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbNJDVJiGTg

sivasub
17th October 2012, 08:58 PM
looks like machchana paarthingala is rehashed for this movie!!!

KV
17th October 2012, 09:05 PM
part-2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIVWeLho354&feature=plcp

part-5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pv6hoTiSKT4&feature=plcp

KV
17th October 2012, 09:10 PM
part-4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_493758&feature=iv&src_vid=Jni0k86sDbc&v=MnakV302WpA

sivasub
17th October 2012, 09:24 PM
some kuthu song... sounds a little like veedhi pathade, ooru pathade....

KV
17th October 2012, 09:32 PM
machchaana paathIngala morphed into an item number! raaja... :roll: :notthatway: :cry3:

sivasub
17th October 2012, 09:36 PM
title song sung by IR... looks like a hero introduction song..... sounds good with a good bass and looks a very catchy tune

KV
17th October 2012, 09:46 PM
I'm gonna stop stuffing the page with videos. Here's Maa TV's youtube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/maatv/videos?view=0

Oh, btw from just the teasers, as much as I'd hate to say, my synth blues are back.

sivasub
17th October 2012, 09:47 PM
ekkadundi ekddadundi naa kodi... by Mano. Sounds very familiar... but sounds very earthy, rural and grounded

sivasub
17th October 2012, 10:28 PM
Music CD launched formally!!!

17th October 2012, 11:04 PM
First teaser of the catchy hero introduction, kozhi song , dappanguthu ( aa veedhi which is so similar to veedhi paththathe ) this is very average album for me . Im guessing the saving grace would be Bhavatha song. And what an fall after NEPV !
Just for using the machana patheengala song for Mumaith Khan , Lakshmi manchu deserves a slap - i just hate it .

San_K
17th October 2012, 11:21 PM
^^ yEN indha avasara kudukkai thanam :sigh2:

KV
17th October 2012, 11:54 PM
^adhellaam avarOda trademark'nga! :razz:

The trailer's first half has some nice strings and flute work.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oBdr7mS6hc&feature=plcp

Gregorysab
18th October 2012, 11:12 AM
ekkadundi ekddadundi naa kodi... by Mano. Sounds very familiar... but sounds very earthy, rural and grounded

isn't it similar to a song that goes like "jinjinakku jinaku.." (in tamil). I cant recollect exact lyrics but it does remind me of a tune something like that.

KV
18th October 2012, 12:04 PM
Songs not available on Flipkart/Flyte yet? No other links? :roll: Will the real manavaadu please stand up? :wink:

Sureshs65
18th October 2012, 10:35 PM
KV,

I asked the Director on twitter and he said CDs will be available from tomorrow.

Gregorysab
22nd October 2012, 02:31 PM
Gundello Godari: Its been 5 days and still no signs of the cds!

Gregorysab
22nd October 2012, 02:35 PM
Meanwhile, listen to the songs online here: http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu/moviedetail.asp?mid=A0002965

kj
22nd October 2012, 03:19 PM
absolutely loved two songs...guess which :-)

teja
22nd October 2012, 08:49 PM
Great album.. Loved - Gundello, Nanu neetho, Ekkadundi, Raathri, Vechani... (I have no issues with remixes as long as they are safe (Raja's) hands). Lyrics could have been better though in the last 3 songs.

I'm glad they included Raathri in telugu album. There was a telugu version of 'aasaya kaathula' in an obscure 90s film Chakravyuham. No one noticed it back then. Hope it gets it's due now.

musiukunit
22nd October 2012, 09:16 PM
Great album.. Loved - Gundello, Nanu neetho, Ekkadundi, Raathri, Vechani... (I have no issues with remixes as long as they are safe (Raja's) hands). Lyrics could have been better though in the last 3 songs.

I'm glad they included Raathri in telugu album. There was a telugu version of 'aasaya kaathula' in an obscure 90s film Chakravyuham. No one noticed it back then. Hope it gets it's due now.

All songs are great!! I particularly like Jillumandi..Charanams are great

teja
22nd October 2012, 09:53 PM
>All songs are great!! I particularly like Jillumandi..Charanams are great

Agree. After round two, I loved all the songs, except for one item number. I'm glad that this album is a complete deviation from NEPV. I was worried that IR might get caught with London orchestra and complex tunes. GG is a simple, catchy album.. It has the kind of songs that connected Raja to a wider section of audience in Andhra during the 80s (instantly catchy tunes, rich orchestration with a hint of mass touch). I expect this album to be a huge hit with entire Andhra, and not just with Raja fans.

musiukunit
22nd October 2012, 10:25 PM
>All songs are great!! I particularly like Jillumandi..Charanams are great

Agree. After round two, I loved all the songs, except for one item number. I'm glad that this album is a complete deviation from NEPV. I was worried that IR might get caught with London orchestra and complex tunes. GG is a simple, catchy album.. It has the kind of songs that connected Raja to a wider section of audience in Andhra during the 80s (instantly catchy tunes, rich orchestration with a hint of mass touch). I expect this album to be a huge hit with entire Andhra, and not just with Raja fans.

True.. He brings earthiness in this album and that is his greatnes..Its alls based on what the movie demands
also NEPV would need crores..Heard raja didnt get a rupee for GG. But still gives such songs!!!

Sureshs65
22nd October 2012, 10:38 PM
Currently tripping on 'Gundello Godari', 'Jillumandhi Manasu' and 'Nannu Neetho' Will have to listen to the other songs now. Loving these three.

23rd October 2012, 07:38 AM
Gundello Godari - Orchestration is so KRish for me . Esp, the way 1st interlude is done and the orchestration in the middle of charanam . But why this much synth ? Looks a bit out of phase for the period and the tune . But nice, mallu feel song, except the beats

Jilumandi - Again, I feel its so KRish, dont know why. A recording with good studios might have helped . Didnt like andrea voice, hemachandra does a neat job and liked it more when he sang

Vechani Vayasu - No way, i will excuse this blunder - not the remix - but using Mumaith Khan for what we consider as devotional song ..somehow somehow i couldnt accept it

Nanu Netho - A song that Raaja would have sing otherwise - liked it very much - gave me that 'bomiikutty ammavuku ' feel for me ..The orchestrations are so cool ..

Ekkadhundhi - Superb song , after the 2nd listen ...

Aa Edhi - very similar to NEPV veedhi paththae ..

teja
23rd October 2012, 07:58 AM
> A recording with good studios might have helped .

Ofcourse. But note that Raja has done this film for free. Producer mentioned that they just paid rent for the recording studios. That's all they could afford. That could explain overdose of synth.

Gregorysab
23rd October 2012, 08:56 AM
It's a hugely disappointing album for me.

Gundello godari is good. Raaja's voice suited the song although I feel something went amiss in the 2nd half of the song. Jhillumandi seems as if he outsourced it to someone else. Neither a great tune nor great support elements (arrangements, singers). Ekkadundhi is is the only song that harks back to 80s feel (sounds good). Nannu neetho has a good tune , but sacrificed to the shallow-voiced bhavatharini (the tune is soulful enough for any other better singer). Item songs didn't impress me anyway.

While the rush of a new album makes me feel that some songs are good to ok (title song, ekkadundhi & just the tune of Nannu neetho), I don't find them that outstanding and I doubt if they will have that recall value over the years. I am not coming from NEPV standpoint but as such, I doubt if I will enjoy these songs passionately after sometime. And in raaja songs, if that recall value isn't promising, then something is definitely missing in them.

24th October 2012, 05:19 AM
"gundello godari" track is a rehash of "aala asathhum malliye malliye" !

Gregorysab
24th October 2012, 11:33 AM
"gundello godari" track is a rehash of "aala asathhum malliye malliye" !

Aah! I was waiting to see who else can connect this. While humming GG title song on the 1st day (when promos were out), i ended up going into aala asathum song. It is not just the raaga connection but also the phrases similarity.

24th October 2012, 08:05 PM
happened to listen to GRAMATHU MINNAL (jingu chikkan dress wearing Ramarajan's 1987 film) - the song 'vatti eduthha' bears striking resemblance to ARR's 1999 'taal se taal milaa' - felt something sounded similar in the beginning and when IR sings "thottukida onnum illaye" i go "adangoyyalaa - idhu suttadhu !"

did anyone notice that ??

24th October 2012, 08:08 PM
aaga mothhathhula, in the wake of NEPV, IR has given a 'yeno dhaano' album in Gundello Godari !

baroque
25th October 2012, 12:19 AM
oh..really, I yet to check out the album!

kiru
25th October 2012, 11:02 AM
aaga mothhathhula, in the wake of NEPV, IR has given a 'yeno dhaano' album in Gundello Godari !

It must be the pricing strategy :-)

kiru
25th October 2012, 11:35 AM
happened to listen to GRAMATHU MINNAL (jingu chikkan dress wearing Ramarajan's 1987 film) - the song 'vatti eduthha' bears striking resemblance to ARR's 1999 'taal se taal milaa' - felt something sounded similar in the beginning and when IR sings "thottukida onnum illaye" i go "adangoyyalaa - idhu suttadhu !"

I happened to have gramathu minnal in my collection. I think it is just a coincidence. Rahman is pretty straight with tuness. He is always on the lookout for unique rhythm arrangements though :-)

R.Latha
25th October 2012, 01:16 PM
Illayaraja's next album, Maranthen Mannithen coming out this Friday
IndiaGlitz [Wednesday, October 24, 2012]
0 Comments

After the huge success of Neethaane En Ponvasantham, Maestro Illayaraja's next album will be released this Friday. The film is called Maranthen Mannithen and the event will take place at Sathyam Cinemas at 9:30 A.M. on the 26th of October.

Maranthen Mannithen pairs Lakshmi Manchu and Taapsee Pannu opposite Aadhi and Sandeep Kishan. The film will be a bilingual and will simultaneously release in Telugu as Gundello Godari and Illayaraja's music for the film is one of the highlights. It will be directed by debutant Kumar Nagendra and is produced by Lakshmi Manchu herself. Will the album live up to the heights of Neethaane En Ponvasantham?

27th October 2012, 12:42 AM

Well, the vague similarity can't be termed as copy or even inspiration by ARR. Definitely NOT a 'sutta pazham' :)

musiukunit
27th October 2012, 07:32 AM
Well, the vague similarity can't be termed as copy or even inspiration by ARR. Definitely NOT a 'sutta pazham' :)

Yes i do think so. Same way Saiyyan Saiyyan from Nayak hindi..when the song started i started signing padagottum pattama..remember my HC ARR friends were cursing me for that..lolz..Again just a coincidence though..

krish244
27th October 2012, 07:55 PM
Mayilu movie review:

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/review/12880.html

"...The life and soul of the movie is Illayaraja's background score. He has ensured that there is life in every frame through his BGM. At places, he has allowed silence take the sequences forward..."

Krishnan

senthilv.com
28th October 2012, 03:51 AM

Nice catch. The way it is used is also similar. Usually the starting notes of main verse is the key phrase. In these songs, the notes build and lands on the key phrase. Rahman then goes to use that phrase as a hook. I think Rahman like this kind of structure more. Hard to know if it is inspired.

brigs
28th October 2012, 12:53 PM
Nice catch. The way it is used is also similar. Usually the starting notes of main verse is the key phrase. In these songs, the notes build and lands on the key phrase. Rahman then goes to use that phrase as a hook. I think Rahman like this kind of structure more. Hard to know if it is inspired.

Doesn't seem like an inspiration at all.

Taal-se-taal-mila is an astounding, timeless beauty from Rahman.

kameshratnam
9th November 2012, 09:57 PM
Download #ILAYARAAJA s marathi movie music for FREE FREE http://www.touringtalkisthefilm.com/music.e

10th November 2012, 12:17 PM
Download #ILAYARAAJA s marathi movie music for FREE FREE http://www.touringtalkisthefilm.com/music.e

I was able to register , but where to login .. sorry tried hard :)

krish244
18th November 2012, 11:26 AM
IR will be composing for Prakash Raj's new Telegu movie "Ulavacharu Biryani" (remake of malayalam movie "salt and pepper"):

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/telugu/news-interviews/Prakash-Raj-to-romance-Tabu-in-Ulavacharu-Biryani/articleshow/17255869.cms

Prakash Raj is planning to make the movie in telugu, tamil and hindi. In hindi, I doubt, if it will be made and/or released!

Krishnan

22nd November 2012, 04:14 PM
"MaRandhen MannithAEn" - kettavudan maRandhen :fatigue:
IrundhAlum Rajavai mannithAEn.

Looks like NEPV is Raja's swan song ? :( . May be legendary hubbers like appengine know it too well and decided to stay away from the hub

Chikatilomt
23rd November 2012, 07:52 PM
"MaRandhen MannithAEn" - kettavudan maRandhen :fatigue:
IrundhAlum Rajavai mannithAEn.

Looks like NEPV is Raja's swan song ? :( . May be legendary hubbers like appengine know it too well and decided to stay away from the hub

I liked Gundello Godhari. See the review (I think by Suresh65?) here. : http://onlyraja.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/gundallo-godari-a-review/

it's time now for me to quit the hub - due to personal reasons.

Please don't link app_engine's exit from the forum to this. It's one thing to say you do not like GG/ MM (that's your personal like/dislike), but please don't call something as a "swan song" (That's too heavy a word.).

krish244
11th December 2012, 04:49 PM
IR's second marathi movie for the same director (director of HELLO JAI HIND):

"...Tamil Maestro Illaiyaraja collaborates again with Gajendra Ahire after Hello Jaihind. One hopes, unlike the songs in Hello Jaihind which didn’t catch the attention of people, this album becomes very popular. Raja Sir has even roped in Hungarian musicians Béla Lattmann(bass), Attila László(guitar), János Nagy(keyboards) for recording his compositions for this film..."

The song featured in this trailer is the same as the popular tamil song (only little variation in the end). Forgot the lyrics. The tune sounds fine. Not sure why the lyrics are in English. Maybe the situation! Not sure.

http://www.madaboutmoviez.com/2012/11/trailer-gajendra-ahires-touring-talkies/

Krishnan

krish244
7th February 2013, 10:02 AM
IR to record songs for Rudrammadevi using London Symphony Orchestra:

http://in.omg.yahoo.com/news/ilayaraja-team-london-symphony-rudrama-devi-director-130606512.html

I sort of expected this to happen ! Exciting!

"Director Gunasekhar says music maestro Ilayaraja plans to record songs for upcoming Telugu period drama "Rudrama Devi" with the London Symphony orchestra.
"Since it's a period film, Raja sir insisted that we record the songs with the London Symphony orchestra. He has already composed six songs for the album and we will start recording very soon with the orchestra in London," Gunasekhar, who is directing and producing the film, told IANS..."

Krishnan

krish244
7th February 2013, 10:22 AM
Same news in IndiaGlitz. BTW, I see that good intention and good technical crew is working on this movie. Hope for the best.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/telugu/article/90710.html

"...'Maestro' Ilayaraja is composing the music for the film.

Gunasekhar, who has been well-known for massive sets in his movies, says that Ilayaraja has been inspired with the story of the film."Ilayaraja has been stimulated once he heard the story. He has been taking special interest in giving an international standard music for a film which is being done with global standards. The composing of six songs has been completed in the Temple Bay resorts in Chennai", he says.

He says that in addition to giving extraordinary songs, the music genius has decided to record the songs with 'Symphony' orchestra in London.

He adds that the movie is going to be prestigious, in terms of music..."

Krishnan

baroque
7th February 2013, 12:00 PM
:ty: Raja, We have been hearing about this project for the past few months!

Give us more songs songs songs:musicsmile:!

morning woke up with ORU KUNGUMA CHENGAMALAM...
naan sema mood le erukken!:-D

vssathish
7th February 2013, 12:36 PM
Another symphony style recording..

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/telugu/news-interviews/Gunasekhar-to-record-Rudramadevi-songs-in-London/articleshow/18366780.cms

http://news.yahoo.com/ilayaraja-team-london-symphony-rudrama-devi-director-131046616.html

Ilayaraja to team up with London Symphony for 'Rudrama Devi': Director

Chennai, Feb 6 (IANS) Director Gunasekhar says music maestro Ilayaraja plans to record songs for upcoming Telugu period drama "Rudrama Devi" with the London Symphony orchestra.

"Since it's a period film, Raja sir insisted that we record the songs with the London Symphony orchestra. He has already composed six songs for the album and we will start recording very soon with the orchestra in London," Gunasekhar, who is directing and producing the film, told IANS.

"Rudrama Devi" is about one of the prominent ruling queens of the Kakatiya Dynasty. Anushka Shetty has been roped in to play the queen in the film.

It has art direction by Thota Tharani, while Neeta Lulla will design the costumes and Sreekar Prasad will do the editing.

The film also boasts a list of international technicians. Gunasekhar and the crew recently travelled to Germany for a trail shoot.

"It's a very prestigious project and I wanted to get everything right before I start shooting. We've roped in international technicians who would help us with the Computer Generated Imagery (CGI) work to bring back long forgotten era on screen to perfection," he said.

kr
19th February 2013, 06:02 AM
Ilayaraaja signed to compose for Myskinn's new movie "Onayum AatuKuttiyum"

Jiishr
19th February 2013, 11:48 AM
Ilayaraaja signed to compose for Myskinn's new movie "Onayum AatuKuttiyum"

http://accesskollywood.com/photo-galleries/onayum-attukuttiyum-first-look-posters/images/onayum-attukuttiyum-first-look-posters01.jpg

krish244
26th February 2013, 03:13 PM
IR is scoring for "Megha" movie. Although not explicitly mentioned what language it is, all indications point it is a tamil movie. I vaguely remember hearing about IR 's association with this movie long back. Not sure if my memory is right though :)

http://newindianexpress.com/entertainment/tamil/article1478515.ece

Krishnan

26th February 2013, 05:36 PM
IR is scoring for "Megha" movie. Although not explicitly mentioned what language it is, all indications point it is a tamil movie. I vaguely remember hearing about IR 's association with this movie long back. Not sure if my memory is right though :)

http://newindianexpress.com/entertainment/tamil/article1478515.ece

Krishnan

amaam - paadal padhivu finished 6 months back . Na. Muthukumar thaan lyric .

krish244
27th February 2013, 02:58 PM
amaam - paadal padhivu finished 6 months back . Na. Muthukumar thaan lyric .

Oh ok. My memory is right then :)

Krishnan

rooky
6th March 2013, 07:23 PM
Looks like Raja is signing up quite a few biggies in 2013, notably these:
1) Balki-Amitabh-SRK-Sridevi
http://www.apherald.com/Movies/ViewArticle/16536/Shahrukh-Khan-Amitabh-ganging-again/
2) Gunasekar's telugu movie with Anushka-Rana
3) Kirsh's telugu movie with Pawan Kalyan

krish244
7th March 2013, 10:49 AM
Thanks rooky for the news link! Glad to know that IR will be composing for Balki's new film. Hope it is a confirmed news that the website has reported!

Krishnan

krish244
12th March 2013, 11:21 AM
"Megha" is about a forensic expert trying to solve a murder.

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/new-team-produces-megha/article4497222.ece

"...What is significant in their project as producers? Albert James says, “Signing up Ilaiyaraaja as music director. What can be more significant than this?”"

Krishnan

13th March 2013, 01:16 AM
"Megha" is about a forensic expert trying to solve a murder.

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/new-team-produces-megha/article4497222.ece

"...What is significant in their project as producers? Albert James says, “Signing up Ilaiyaraaja as music director. What can be more significant than this?”"

Krishnan

Ippadi solli solliyae story, screenplay, marketting yellam marandhiduvaanunga. hope this guys doesnt do the same mistake.

crvenky
13th March 2013, 10:31 AM
From Ju.Vi.

இளையராஜா இசையமைத்​திருந்த 'புத்தம் புதுக் காலை...’ பாடல் ஏனோ 'அலைகள் ஒய்வதில்லை’படத்தில் இடம்பெற​வில்லை. இப்போது அந்தப் பாடலை கார்த்திக் ரிஷி இயக்கிவரும் 'மேகா’ படத்தில் பயன் படுத்தியிருக்கின்றனர். 'மேகா’ படத்தின் பாடல்கள், பின்னணி இசைக்கு ஹங்கேரி சென்று அங்குள்ள இசைக் கலைஞர்களைப் பயன்படுத்தியிருக்கிறார், ராஜா.

krish244
13th March 2013, 12:16 PM
Ippadi solli solliyae story, screenplay, marketting yellam marandhiduvaanunga. hope this guys doesnt do the same mistake.

Yes, hope so!

Krishnan

krish244
13th March 2013, 12:20 PM
From Ju.Vi.

இளையராஜா இசையமைத்​திருந்த 'புத்தம் புதுக் காலை...’ பாடல் ஏனோ 'அலைகள் ஒய்வதில்லை’படத்தில் இடம்பெற​வில்லை. இப்போது அந்தப் பாடலை கார்த்திக் ரிஷி இயக்கிவரும் 'மேகா’ படத்தில் பயன் படுத்தியிருக்கின்றனர். 'மேகா’ படத்தின் பாடல்கள், பின்னணி இசைக்கு ஹங்கேரி சென்று அங்குள்ள இசைக் கலைஞர்களைப் பயன்படுத்தியிருக்கிறார், ராஜா.

Interesting to note that songs as well are getting done in Hungary! Eager for release of audio.

Krishnan

jmahesh
13th March 2013, 10:44 PM
Please listen to Ilayaraja's Sree Ramana Aaaram http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/album/TD02116.html

raaga_kann
14th March 2013, 09:34 AM
From Ju.Vi.

But this song has already been used with different lyrics in the film "Africavil Appu"!

krish244
16th March 2013, 09:35 PM
Just another news source about Balki's new movie having IR's music. He does not talk about AB or SRK though when asked about the cast. However, he says, the cast will be interesting one!

"...Speaking exclusively to TOI, the award-winning director says, "I feel great coming back together again with Ilaiyaraaja and P C Sreeram. Ilaiyaraaja has composed the music for my previous two films as well. For me, Ilaiyaraaja means music! As long as he decides to do music for my films, I'll only be too happy."

Ask him about the cast for this flick and he smiles and says, "We have not yet finalised the cast but it will not have south actors. This movie is a drama and it'll definitely have an interesting cast from Bollywood."
He refuses to disclose further details and signs off saying, "We'll announce the other details soon." The movie is set to go on floors in October."

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/tamil/news-interviews/Balki-teams-up-again-with-Ilaiyaraaja-and-P-C-Sreeram/articleshow/19001488.cms

Krishnan

17th March 2013, 03:49 AM
Please listen to Ilayaraja's Sree Ramana Aaaram http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/album/TD02116.html

I really appreciate the link share mahesh ji, it's been a while since I heard anything from the maestro and this should keep me busy for the weekend.

jmahesh
17th March 2013, 08:30 AM
I really appreciate the link share mahesh ji, it's been a while since I heard anything from the maestro and this should keep me busy for the weekend.

You are welcome Sunil_M88, I have noticed that its also available on flip kart
http://www.flipkart.com/sree-ramana-aaram/p/itmdgpp9vcjk7krx?pid=DGADGPP7BZV63YDF&icmpid=reco_lp_historyFooter_digital_album_1

stULana
21st March 2013, 08:52 PM
Watched Gundello Godari (Telugu) and liked the movie. Felt glad a Telugu movie was made thus, by the debutant Director Kumar Nagendra (and inspite of the Manchu link!). Flood scenes have been shot well (except for a couple of shots), the genuineness/originality can be seen in most scenes and the making refreshing for which the debutant Director should be applauded. :clap: Nannu Neetho Ninnu Naatho song starts showing one of the lead pair's childhood, somewhat justifying Bhava singing it ;) (waiting for another Mayil Pola Ponnu Onnu).
Taapsee's is a bold character offering enough glamour and the producer should have ideally avoided the two item songs, even though the Director attempts to make it part of the main screenplay (by staging a fight towards the end of a song). They were probably needed for the Telugu version, but would not help the Tamil version.

While 2-4 songs of IR have been liked by fans (in general, in Telugu), it is IR's apt BGM right from the first scene that holds your attention, creating the right impact to the on-screen happenings and elevating the viewing experience. Be it the marriage scene, Taapsee's scenes or the fights, I loved the BGMs.
There are atleast two scenes in the 2nd half where the BGM simply heightens their impact. Especially, the 2nd one when Lakshmi weeps, the BGM is supposed to reflect the shock+tragedy+hope+uncertainty of the situation, and IR surprises us with a killer BGM :bow: that would leave the viewers stunned..nenje appidiye arukkara maadhiri (adhaan, Lakshmi's crying+BGM listening impact to which Mohan Babu said during the audio release function that the movie can even go to the Oscars..apideengiradhu vere kadhai ;)). It reminded me of the Jaws BGM for the impact created, but indha IR BGM is what is needed for our/Indian movie.

Kodi punyams to whoever can please record and upload that BGM. I am hoping that Maranthen Mannithen (Tamil) would have a decent run at the BO. It is worth watching once, thanks to IR's soothing songs (2-4) and effective BGM.

raaga_kann
22nd March 2013, 09:35 AM
Watched Gundello Godari (Telugu) and liked the movie. While 2-4 songs of IR have been liked by fans (in general, in Telugu), it is IR's apt BGM right from the first scene that holds your attention, creating the right impact to the on-screen happenings and elevating the viewing experience. Be it the marriage scene, Taapsee's scenes or the fights, I loved the BGMs.
There are atleast two scenes in the 2nd half where the BGM simply heightens their impact.

Isaifan - You forgot to mention the haunting BGM at the fag end of the movie. The solo guitar followed by Haunting chorus brings the essence of the complete climax - Relief after coming out from jaws of death, calmness after storm, joy in uniting, throwing the past into the river, etc.

22nd March 2013, 01:32 PM
Interesting to note that songs as well are getting done in Hungary! Eager for release of audio.

Krishnan

Is this movie's song that IR played during BE with maestro ? It was (supposed to be ) sung by Yuvan .

22nd March 2013, 01:35 PM
Is this movie's song that IR played during BE with maestro ? It was (supposed to be ) sung by Yuvan .

Im referring to this song
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvI9me9X1l8&list=UUs6T9QjL4srjUm0bEJQrxIQ

stULana
23rd March 2013, 10:27 AM
raaga_kann,

Well said - "The solo guitar followed by Haunting chorus brings the essence of the complete climax - Relief after coming out from jaws of death, calmness after storm....".
IMHO, I feel TelFM listeners have lost the tolerance to listen to and appreciate such (climax) music. Was not sure how it will be received in TFM.

Also, many in Telugu like the 1st half more than the 2nd half. But, I liked the 2nd half more than the 1st half. Liked the locations and the way the story was told..was very satisfied seeing it in Telugu after a looooong time. Again, probably the only movie in a long time where both heroines wear half-sarees only :) The direction, art and camera work (debutant) and acting by the lead pairs (Adhi, Lakshmi, Taapsee, Sundeep) were impressive. After a long time, I like the way 2 songs were picturized (neatly!) in a Telugu movie - Nannu Neetho Ninnu Naatho and Ekkadundhi Naa Kodi (my favourite) - just what was needed. Needless to say, the BGM heightens the impact of the scenes in many places..especially, the killer BGM scene ;)

stULana
23rd March 2013, 04:49 PM
This Maranthen Mannithen movie review at galatta.com pretty much reflects my thoughts: http://www.galatta.com/tamil/reviews/maranthen-mannithen/829676475/

"One should say Adhi has literally carried the movie on his shoulders! Lakshmi Manchu's portrayal of the simple village girl Chitra, definitely needs a special mention! Her nonchalant acting is too good! Taapsee sizzles in her role as the naughty Sarala, and effects a sensual portrayal! Sundeep Kishan, though not too convincing as a rural lad, has given a commendable performance! Ravi Babu, Praveen and Dhanraj have played their roles to perfection!

Director Kumar Nagendra has taken a very touching storyline, with the 1980's Godavari Floods as the backdrop, and woven Maranthen Mannithen against it! Though the movie doesn't have comedy in it, the screenplay has been well handled to keep it interesting! The 80's feel has been recreated so wonderfully well not just in visuals, but also in the slang and choice of words! Maestro Ilaiyaraaja's music is heart-warming, and gives a major boost to the movie! The Computer Graphics depicting the rainfall and the floods have been wonderfully created! They create a visual splendour, on screen! The cinematography needs a special mention, and editing is perfect too! The art department, has proven to be a valuable asset to this movie!

Maranthen Mannithen, produced by Lakshmi Manchu, has lived up to its expectations, and touches people's hearts!"

Rediff review here: http://www.rediff.com/movies/report/south-review-maranthen-mannithen/20130322.htm

"Though the movie is average, music by Maestro Ilayaraja, the cinematography by M R Palanikumaar, and the CGI-aided visual effects should definitely not be missed. A must-watch."

kr
25th April 2013, 07:51 AM
Great news - Nilachoru audio release today

rajaramsgi
4th May 2013, 03:10 PM
Great news - Nilachoru audio release today

Can't find chithiraiyil nilachoru audio anywhere.. Raja sir's Sree Ramana Aaram is available with flipcart

http://www.flipkart.com/sree-ramana-aaram/p/itmdgpp9vcjk7krx?pid=DGADGPP7BZV63YDF

baroque
8th May 2013, 02:11 AM
From Ilaiyaragam - Facebook,
I found a post
'Nila Soru Original Audio CD will be available in Staar Traack Musicals, Coimbatore from tomorrow i.e. 8/5/2013. Contact Mr.Hakeem 9345580770 for your orders. Outstation orders are processed thro courier'

kr
13th May 2013, 06:28 AM
It is really strange that it has been really quiet since the audio launch function of Nilachoru regarding wither the availability and/or reviews of the album. I have been checking itunes everyday hoping to find it listed. if anyone has any information on the delay as to why it is not broadly available and when it is likely, pls. let me know.

rajaramsgi
13th May 2013, 03:28 PM
It is really strange that it has been really quiet since the audio launch function of Nilachoru regarding wither the availability and/or reviews of the album. I have been checking itunes everyday hoping to find it listed. if anyone has any information on the delay as to why it is not broadly available and when it is likely, pls. let me know.

அப்பறம் ஏன் ஆடியோ ரிலீசை இவ்வளவு அவசரமாக வைத்தார்கள் என்று தெரியவில்லை. இத்தனை வருடங்கள் திரைத்துறையில் இருந்து என்ன பயன்? நமக்கு பாடல்களை கேட்கும் அவரசம் என்பது ஒரு புறம் இருந்தாலும், ராஜா சாருக்கென்று இப்படி எல்லாம் ஆட்கள் வந்து மாட்டுகிறார்கள் என்று நினைக்கும் போது வருத்தமாக இருக்கிறது. இதெல்லாம் நல்ல அறிகுறியாக இல்லை. இவங்க ஆர்வ கோளாறுக்கு ராஜா சார் கூப்பிட்ட இடத்துகேல்லாம் போயிட்டு வந்துட்டு இருக்கார்.

raaga_kann
22nd May 2013, 12:40 AM
After a looong wait for the actual audio release after the audio launch, I was able to get a copy of the CD. It seems that the audio has been released by Raaja himself under the name "Raaja Digital Co.". Usually R.Sunderrajan's films will have atleast a minimum of six songs. But in this film, we have only 5 songs (one of them is a repeat). Whether R.Sunderrajan has still the old magic to deliver - we are not sure. But our man's magical music is intact!

Kallalae Senju Vacha - Pick of the Album. A refreshing Lullaby in Tamil after a very long time (Maybe after Nee Thoongum Nerathil from Manasellam). Haricharan has done a splendid job. As usual, Vaali's lyrics adds additional flavour to the melody. Again, Raaja has come out with a beautiful new rhythm pattern for the Pallavi. In the second portion of the Saranams, the continuous flow of Tabla which has a constant pause (silence) bowls you over. Interludes are sadly short.

Kalaiyilae Maalai vandhadhu - A new pattern song - Usage of Veena and Nadhaswaram brings a divine mood to the hearing. Sung by Sabthaparnar (Female). And his trusted lyricist Pulamaipithan does a neat job. Only experts from this forum have the eligibility to analyse this song.

Ungappan Perai Solli - A nayandi song (no compromise on melody front) with Raaja at his usual best. The chorus compliments his voice through out the song. Slow Drums pattern - still very enthuastic. Surprise - Gangai Amaran has penned this song for Raaja after a gap of many years!

Nandri Solla Vendum - Again a classy Divine feel duet. Sung by Karthik and Priyadarshini. Lyrics - Palani Bharathi. Usage of traditional instruments through out the song is refreshing. Can be compared to "Aagaya Vennilavae" category.

Kallalae Senju Vacha - Female version. Priyadarshini is brilliant. Tough to pick between her and Haricharan

Overall a refreshing Melody package - Hearing such melody songs in 2013 is something like finding a group of sparrows in our cities. Only Raaja can dare to deliver such pure musical form admist the garbage being dished out today. This Album will certainly going to haunt us for long...

Chelian
22nd May 2013, 08:14 AM
Here is another positive review! http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2013/05/21/chithirayil-nilachoru-music-review-tamil-ilayaraja/

Where can i here the songs? any links?

baroque
23rd May 2013, 09:04 AM
http://mp3tamilkey.com/chithiraiyil-nila-soru-2013.html

Checked out three compositions!
Kallale..... female version with a added pathos bhavam singing is appealing for me this evening! :musicsmile:

Hari charan's version is nice too!

Nandri solla..... really classy with mirudhangam & Karthik & Priyadharshini's alternating charanam lines!:musicsmile:

Wow! Ilayaraja is scoring high with milliblog :-D, Congrats, Raja!

though woke up with crazy Ilayaraja with Bala's peppy composition this morning, rhythmic Raja's ungappan.... I listen tomorrow!

digging the melodic Raja with Nilachoru!

rajaramsgi
23rd May 2013, 07:16 PM
http://mp3tamilkey.com/chithiraiyil-nila-soru-2013.html

Thanks you.. can't help downloading the pirated copy.. what can I do? I can't find the album anywhere in itunes or amazon; My wait for this almost pushed me too close to committing suicide..

kalaiyile malai vandhadhu reminds of "Oranjaram Usharaiyaa from Kakkai siraginiley"
Nandri Solla vendum reminds of "Sri Ranga Ranga nathanin from Mahanadhi"

All songs sounds good so far, I am waiting to hear the experts reviews.

Started enjoying Haricharan and Priyadarshini's voice from today :-)

23rd May 2013, 10:30 PM
Thank you very much for the initial positive reviews, raaga_kann and baroque. I need to partake in this Raja's moonlight feast soon. :)

jmahesh
24th May 2013, 09:25 AM
Very nice songs, kallaalae senju vecha will be loved by fathers( like me) who have daughters

baroque
24th May 2013, 11:58 AM
I checked in e-music, it's not available!

நன்றி சொல்லவேண்டும் இந்த நாளிலே for you ராஜா!:ty:
ராஜா is beautiful with his flute & strings fill -ins , sensual mirudhangam percussion, heart-tugging vocals by karthik & Priyadharshini , sweetly soaring melody in சரணங்கள்!
I can't snap out of சரணங்கள் ...SWEET SWEET SWEET:musicsmile:

24th May 2013, 01:14 PM
in the first listen, Kallalae Senju Vacha :thumbsup: after hearing the prelude (sAindhu sAindhu range), you will never bet that the song is going to be a lullaby..:-) refreshing melody...

Brianengab
24th May 2013, 02:19 PM
http://www.tamilcinema24.com/photo-galleries/naadi-thudikkuthadi-audio-release-poster/images/naadi-thudikkuthadi-audio-release-poster01.jpg

rajaramsgi
24th May 2013, 02:48 PM
in the first listen, Kallalae Senju Vacha :thumbsup: after hearing the prelude (sAindhu sAindhu range), you will never bet that the song is going to be a lullaby..:-) refreshing melody...

ஒரு வழியாக சித்திரையில் நிலா சோறு இசைத்தட்டு-ஒலிபேழை வெளிவந்து விட்டது. நமக்கு இந்த வருடத்தின் ஜாக்பாட் கீழே கொடுக்கப்பட்ட பாடல். ராஜா சாரின் இந்த பொக்கிஷம் இன்னும் பல ஆண்டுகளுக்கு ஒலிக்க போகிறது. வாலியின் வரிகள், ஹரிச்சரனின் குரல் - யாருக்கோ இந்த ஆண்டு இந்த பாடல் மூலம் ஒரு உயர்ந்த பரிசு கிடைக்கலாம். கிடைக்காவிட்டால் கூட, நம்மை போன்றோரின் மனதில் இன்னும் பல ஆண்டு காலம் நிறைந்து இருக்கும். இந்த பாடலை யாருக்கு வேண்டுமானாலும் பாடி பாருங்கள். - அம்மா, அப்பா, மனைவி, குழந்தை, தோழி, ஆசிரியர், ஏன்? தெய்வத்திற்கும் பொருந்தும் வகையில் இசைக்கப்பட்டு இருக்கிறது. செய்கூலி சேதாரம் இல்லாத தங்கம், கண்ணில் உள்ள கருவிழி, நீ வேணும் நிழலாக என்று கேக்கும் போது மணிக்கணக்கில் தியானம் செய்தும் கிடைக்காத அமைதி கிடைக்கிறது.

------------------
கல்லாலே செஞ்சு வெச்ச சாமியில்ல நீ
கற்பூர தீபம் காட்டும் தெய்வமில்ல நீ
எனக்காக மண்ணில் வந்த
எனக்காக இந்த மண்ணில் வந்த
என் தங்கமே வைரமே செல்லமே...
கல்லாலே செஞ்சு வெச்ச சாமி இல்ல நீ
கற்பூர தீபம் காட்டும் தெய்வம் இல்லை நீ

கன்னுகுட்டி நீ துள்ளி ஓடுனா
கண்ணு பட்டிடும் சொன்ன சொல்ல கேளும்மா
தேரு வந்து நின்னா கூட நீ அழகு
மின்னல் வந்து போனா கூட நீ தான் அழகு
அம்மான்னு உன்ன நானும் கூப்பிடுவேன்
எங்க அம்மாவ அப்போ அப்போ நெனச்சுக்குவேன்
அம்மான்னு உன்ன நானும் கூப்பிடுவேன்
எங்க அம்மாவை அப்போ அப்போ நெனச்சுக்குவேன்
நீ செய்கூலி சேதாரம் இல்லாத
என் தங்கமே வைரமே செல்லமே....

மண்ணில் விழுந்த மழை துளி நீ
என் கண்ணில் இருக்கும் கருவிழி நீ
பொட்டு வெச்ச சித்திரமே நீ எனக்கு போதும்
வட்ட நிலா நீ தான் என்று உன் அழக பாடும்
யானை மேல நீ அமர்ந்து வலம் வரணும்
நான் எப்ப எப்ப கேட்டாலும் நீ வரம் தரனும்
நீ வேணும் நிழலாக
வாழோணும் தங்கமே வைரமே செல்லமே...

எனக்காக மண்ணில் வந்த
எனக்காக இந்த மண்ணில் வந்த
என் தங்கமே வைரமே செல்லமே...
ஆராரோ ஆரிராரோ ஆரிராரிரோ..
------------------------

rajaalltheway
24th May 2013, 05:14 PM
After listening to CNC i cant help wondering how any movie maker who loves his craft can ignore this man.Wont they wish to adorn their baby with a rose garland like 'Kallale Senju vecha" and smear some perfume like 'kalayile malai vantha'.In my (ignorant layman) opinion the only album that can hold a candle against this waft in last 2 years is NEPV

25th May 2013, 10:03 AM
1) நன்றி சொல்லவேண்டும் - கொள்ளை கொள்ளும் மெலடி. முதல் இடையிசை பிரமாதம். பரபரவென்று ராகத்தோடு ஓடாமல், நின்று நிதானமாக ரசித்து பாடும் கார்த்திக்கின் லாவகம் ப்ரியதர்ஷனியொடு சரணத்தில் இணைந்து பாடலை வேறு தளத்திற்கு எடுத்துச் செல்கிறது. பழனி பாரதியின் வரிகள் சிறப்பா வந்திருக்கு. சாஸ்திரிய தோல்கருவிகளில் அமைக்கப்பட்ட தாளக்கட்டு கேட்கும்போதே அதற்கு ஏற்றார்போல தலையை அசைக்க வைக்கிறது. "தூங்கிடாத கண்ணோரம் தேன்தெளிக்கும் சொப்பனங்கள்" - "வாங்கிடாத உள்மூச்சு உன்னை வாங்கச் சொல்கிறதே! - பாடலின் அமைப்பில் உயிர்ப்பான இடங்கள்.

2) காலையிலே மாலை வந்தது - வீணை, நாதஸ்வரத்திற்காக கேட்கிறேன். மற்றபடி ராக அமைப்புக்கள் இன்னும் பிடிபடவில்லை. சரணத்தில் "கேக்கலையோ கேக்கலையோ" பாடலின் சாயல் அப்படியே ஒளிவு மறைவில்லாமல. பாடலின் வடிவம் சீராக செல்லாமல் பல குன்றுகளில் ஏறி பயணிக்கிறது. அதுவே பாடலுக்கு பலவீனம் என நினைக்கிறென். வரிகளும் சொல்லிக்கொள்ளும் படி இல்லை.

3) கல்லாலே செஞ்சு வச்ச - ஓரிருமுறை கேட்டவுடனே ராக அமைப்பு மனதில் சம்மணமிட்டு உட்காருவதிலேயே அடித்து சொல்லிவிடலாம் ஒரு இடம் விடமால் இப்பாடல் நீண்ட காலத்திற்கு ஒலிக்கப் போகிறதென. பாடல் வரிகள் இதிலும் சொல்லிக்கொள்ளும் படி இல்லை என்ற ஒரே குறை. இசையும், குரலும் ஆக்கத்தை உன்னதமாக்கிறது. இரண்டாம் இடையிசையில் கொஞ்ச நேரமே வந்துபோகும் புல்லாங்குழல் மனதை மயிலிறகால் வருடிச் செல்கிறது. ஹரிச்சரண் பாடியவைகளில் மகுடமாக திகழப் போவது இது. "சாமியில்ல நீ, தெய்வமில்ல நீ" என்ற உவமை ரிப்பீட்டுக்களை தவிர்த்திருக்கலாம். "செய்கூலி சேதாரம் இல்லாத" :) - ஆரம்ப இசையின் ஆரம்பம் கார்த்திக் ராஜாவை ஞாபகப் படுத்துகிறது. தொடர்ந்து ஹரிச்சரண் நிறைய பாடல்களை ராஜா இசையில் பாடணும். ( பிரியதர்ஷனி பாடுவதில் உச்சரிப்புக்கள் அங்க இங்கே இடிக்குது. ஹரிச்சரண் இந்த விஷயத்தில் பிரியதர்ஷணியை வேகமாக முந்திச் செல்கிறார். இரண்டாம் சரணம் "நிலவு இன்ற்ரிரி போனாலும் பூக்கள் இன்ற்றி போனாலும்" )

4) ஒங்கப்பன் பேர : ஆட்டம் போட வைக்கும் துள்ளலான தாளக்கட்டு. இதுபோல ஒரு ராஜா பாட்டு கேட்டு ரொம்ப நாளாச்சி. சந்தோசம் பல மடங்கு. "பேருவைக்க புள்ள வேணுமெனக்கு , அந்த புள்ளகொடு செல்லக்கிளியே" என முடிப்பதில் ராஜா குன்றிலிட்ட விளக்கு போல ஒளிர்விடுகிறார். ராஜாவின் குரலை தொடர்ந்து நிழல் போல வரும் கோரஸை தவிர்த்திருக்கலாம். பையன் பொறந்தாலும், பொண்ணு பொறந்தாலும் தன்னோட அப்பா - அம்மாக்களின் பெயர்களையே வைக்கும் அளவுக்கு ஒரு ஆணாதிக்க உணர்வினை வெளிப்படுத்தும் பாடல் வரிகள்.

** மென்மையான உணர்வுகளை நிறைய பாடல்கள் வெளிப்படுத்துவதால் புல்லாங்குழல் இசையை நிறைய இடங்களில் பயன்படுத்தியிருக்கலாம். லூப் இசைவடிவங்கள் இலைமறைக் காயாக வந்துபோகாமல் பெரும்பாலான இடங்களில் வியாபித்திருக்கிறது. இதையும் குறைத்திருக்கலாம்.

Joannepx
26th May 2013, 07:47 AM
I started listening to the songs and slowly getting used it. Guess its a slow poison :) I need to mention about publicity. Producer should start marketing the audio. otherwise, it will not reach properly.

Joannepx
26th May 2013, 07:53 AM
off topic, has any one listened to Raja sir's devotional album on Ramana Maharishi - "Ramana aaram". All the lyrics are penned by maestro and the songs are good..

Previews of the songs are available in the below link

http://www.amazon.com/Sri-Ramana-Aaram/dp/B00BLZJUNQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1369534777&sr=1-1&keywords=ramana+aaram

26th May 2013, 10:24 PM
My take on NilA chOru songs :

"Kalaale senju" , esp the Haricharan's very neat version[The female version is a let down] is a safe, minimum guarantee SindhuBhairavi. Though I may not go "ga ga" over it, the smoothness of the tune does give me a pleasant listen. Even the synth here is subdued , much to my relief.
I cannot say the same with "kaalaiyile maalai", though. The synth ridden veenai, nadhaswaram, thavil and the beats do bother me. For, it is the best composition in this album. The tune is intricate in Abheri. How lovely would it be if Raja were to use the real veenai and nadhas ! Sigh!!!
Is it that difficult to get decent veenai and nadhas artists in TFM for a reasonable budget? Rajavukke veLichham.
This complex tune only exposes the inexperience of the new singer Saptha. Her voice is definitely sweet. But so is Bela's voice . But this song demands the calibre of Shreya or Shwetha or Chitra.
I liked Saptha's rendition of "Kannan vandhu" and "muthumani". But "Kaalaiyile" 's charanams are unususual, free flowing and seem to unsettle her and her pronunciaion in pallavi , as V_Sji says needs to be worked on , if she wants to make a mark.
Need to listen to the rest and post.

27th May 2013, 09:51 AM
3) கல்லாலே செஞ்சு வச்ச - ஓரிருமுறை கேட்டவுடனே ராக அமைப்பு மனதில் சம்மணமிட்டு உட்காருவதிலேயே அடித்து சொல்லிவிடலாம் ஒரு இடம் விடமால் இப்பாடல் நீண்ட காலத்திற்கு ஒலிக்கப் போகிறதென. பாடல் வரிகள் இதிலும் சொல்லிக்கொள்ளும் படி இல்லை என்ற ஒரே குறை. இசையும், குரலும் ஆக்கத்தை உன்னதமாக்கிறது.True.. a bit let down from Vaali

crvenky
29th May 2013, 01:46 PM
Listen to Naadi Thudikkuthadi here:

http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/moviedetail.asp?mid=T0003673

baroque
30th May 2013, 01:32 AM
http://mp3tamilkey.com/naadi-thudikkuthuadi-2013.html

Naadi thudikkuthadi - ilayaraja! orey synth aa erukkudhu!

checking en devadhai.......
gorgeous tune with violin!

30th May 2013, 09:55 PM
"Naadi Thudikkudhadi" has to wait as I have not even soaked fully into "NilA chOru".

As all of you say, "Nandri solla vendum" is indeed a lilting number in Hamsadhwani. Majestic mirudhangam rules the song. The manner it accompanies the charanam flow is akin to small, rounded pebbles that are carried along with a stream tumbling down from a hill top. I have 3 issues with Priyadharshini.
1. She has range problem that is very evident in this song
2. Her pronunciation . I couldd decipher "koottal kaNakku" only after Karthik sings that.
3.Her voice is a tad too loud for Karthick's muffled nature. I would have infact preferred this song as a launch pad for newbie Saptha and reserve "kaalaiyile" only for ShreyaG.
I agree with V_SJi on the poetic lyrics in the charanams compensating for the rawness in the pallavi lines. It does taint and give a sort of incongruity to the classical flavour.

Ungappan - peppy pallavi and I even liked the "aha aha" chorus. Only if IR were to sing this one 2 decades back...."Ahaa Ahaa...."
The charam sags a bit losing some steam. Synth beats also weaken the song further.

rajaramsgi
31st May 2013, 07:33 PM
"Naadi Thudikkudhadi" has to wait as I have not even soaked fully into "NilA chOru".

ஏன் இப்படி சலிப்பை தருக்கின்றன என்று யாருக்கும் நாடி துடித்தால் அதற்கு ராஜா சார் பொறுப்பாக மாட்டார். அவரை நடிக்க வைத்ததற்கு பதிலாய் பிரசாத் ஸ்டுடியோவில் நன்றாக வேலை வாங்கி இருந்தால் நாடி துடிக்குதடி பட பாடல்கள் பழ.கருப்பையாவின் இன்று நீ நாளை நான் பாடல்களை விட நன்றாக இருந்திருக்க கூடும்.

யாரையும் டிஸ்கரேஜ் பண்ணும் நோக்கத்தில் இதை எழுதவில்லை. உங்களுக்கு பிடிக்கலாம். கேட்டு மகிழுங்கள்.

uvowefiyas
1st June 2013, 08:58 AM
where to get original audio cds in chennai?

krish244
1st June 2013, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the links guys!

En Devadhai: Pleasing tune and music. Loved everything about the song, be it the prelude, tune, interludes or singing.

En poo nenjai: Kind of relaxed music with good tune. Initial portion of first interlude is a little familiar.

Kadhale Illadha: Is that IR singing in false voice (or is it KR?) First interlude is impressive with those guitar and synth sounds. I liked the bass portions in charanams (somehow I felt it is more prominent in 2nd one)

Velinadu Giramam: Was not impressed with the pallavi tune. The interludes are contrasting, probably something to do with the situation onscreen. Also, most of it are synthesized!. I loved the charanam tune though.

O la la: Very nice to hear this genre of music from IR. I liked it. Liked the tune as well. The song ends in a mini flourish of music.

Krishan

krish244
1st June 2013, 03:55 PM
My thoughts on CNC:

1. Kaalaiyile maalai vandhadhu: Unusual pallavi tune, but sort of liked it. Both interludes are good, especially the first one. Somehow did not like a different beat/rhythms at the beginning of charanam. Later it changes though. "Moongil kaadu" portion of tune reminds me of some other IR's song. Don't remember now.

2. Kallale senju vecha: A very good melody. Fantastic. I loved Haricharan's version. Sings with lots of feel. I always felt his voice is a mix of Karthik's voice, Sonu nigam's voice and a little of his own.

3. Nandri solla vendum: Pleasing melody with nice music. IR classic. I may have used less words to describe this song, but it certainly is part of my IR melody collection :)

4. Ungappan: The beginning music reminds me of a little of his TTLS song. Nice rhythm laden interludes (with a mix of strings)

I hope the songs are picturized / promoted to at least a decent extent. The same goes even for naadi thudikkudhu. Feel bad when many of his promising songs goes unnoticed.

Amazed (BTW, I have been amazed for many years) how many rhythm / sound scapes this man can produce and even at this age. Very inspiring.

Krishnan

vigneshram
2nd June 2013, 10:05 AM
My thoughts on CNC:

1. Kaalaiyile maalai vandhadhu:"Moongil kaadu" portion of tune reminds me of some other IR's song. Don't remember now.

Krishnan

To me, it reminds of charanam portion of "Poo Poothadhu" (Mumbai Express)

2nd June 2013, 03:21 PM
Thank you for the nice reviews of "Naadi Thudikkudhadi" and "Chithraiyil NilA chOru".
Some interlude portions in " en poo nenje" reminds me of some interlude portions of "iLangaathu veesudhe" and "maasi mAsam ALAna poNNu".

vigneshram, "Spot On" on the "poo poothadhu" connect with "moongil kAdu". The melody construct is similar here even thouh the rAgAs of the songs are different.

krish244
2nd June 2013, 11:46 PM
IR at 70 composing for "Megha". Heartfelt birthday wishes to Ilaiyaraaja!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HiNq8rEWkU8

Yuvan singing "Chellam" song.

Krishnan

krish244
3rd June 2013, 02:01 PM
It seems, a track of Gustav Mahler (19th century austrian composer) has been used for the recently released trailer of "Onaiyum Aatukuttiyum".

http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-10/gustav-mahler-instead-of-ilayaraja-mysskin-ilayaraja-03-06-13.html

Not sure whose idea was it.

Krishnan

crvenky
4th June 2013, 10:39 AM
Maestro's song video from Nadi Thudikkuthadi:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBw7xia0Oug

Brianengab
5th June 2013, 01:53 PM
http://www.tamilcinema24.com/photo-galleries/mega-movie-posters/images/mega-movie-posters03.jpg

http://www.tamilcinema24.com/photo-galleries/mega-movie-posters/images/mega-movie-posters08.jpg

http://www.tamilcinema24.com/photo-galleries/mega-movie-posters/images/mega-movie-posters06.jpg

6th June 2013, 03:25 PM
My take on "nAdi thudikkudhadi" -

Ooo Laalaa... - I think the movie is filmed at Fiji islands. While the main tune itself tested my patience, I endured till the last only to be
surprised by a postlude with that caribbean brand beats and trumpets.

En devadhai - This is the song of the album IMO. A very fresh tune from Raja.
Fantastic guitar backing and groovy rythm add up to a very youthful number. Karthik at ease .
But the shrieky, loud lady voice that joins Karthik is giving me a head ache :(

veLinAttu grAmapurathil - Another bright melody in waltz style.. The simple but catchy tune well sung by the lead pair and very
vivid, imaginative interludes is sure to captivate the audience . Again Raja's fetish for
colloquial opeening lines adversely impact the smoothness and aesthetics of the song

En poo nenjai - An exquisitely crafted melody . Rita singing this is "kuruvi thalaila panankaai" case.
It is a song for Shreya or Shwetha or Saptha in that order. She adds no value by her thin, sharp voice that lacks modulation.
But a decent chorus, cool synth ambience sounds in pre and interludes cover up for the bothersome soap dabba[ Ubayam Nerd's coinage] beats and Rita.