View Full Version : Super Star RAJINIKANTH IN AS Kochadaiyaan || ARR|| Directed by Soundarya Rajnikanth

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

25th July 2013, 10:51 PM
only recently they have started acknowledging that its an animation film ..

but to be fair to the team, Avatar took more than 5 years to arrive at such a product.. sitting out of Chennai and delivering an high quality within 2 years time is going to be near impossible.. if the story/screenplay is decent/gripping we have to acknowledge this as a good attempt irrespective of the animation quality ..

Yo that lady has taken more than 7 years ! Its just a lame marketing stunt to keep Rajini Brand alive. I have zero expectation from this venture.

25th July 2013, 11:10 PM
Yo that lady has taken more than 7 years ! Its just a lame marketing stunt to keep Rajini Brand alive. I have zero expectation from this venture.

Ditto.

26th July 2013, 11:26 PM
"Animation padam, rombe nerama eddukum ithu complete panrathukku" solran. It's becoming the new "Ennathu? Mahatma Gandhi Sethutaara?! "

Tintin didn't take this long to complete. I pity our Indian crew for delaying the project. Hope it doesn't repeat Sulthan/Hara's fate.

Brianengab
26th August 2013, 11:13 AM
http://tamilcinema24.com/news-id-rajinis-vikramasimha-kochadaiyaan-26-08-135802.htm

RAJINI'S VIKRAMASIMHA!

Director Soundarya has announced that Kochadaiyaan’s Telugu version has been titled as Vikramasimha. The newbie director is planning to release the film in Tamil and Telugu and is currently busy with the post production works.

She has also stated in a social networking site that the dubbing for the Telugu version has already begun and is going on in top speed to facilitate a speedy release.

Kochadaiyaan will be Rajini’s comeback film after a major health issue he suffered a couple of years ago and there are huge expectations on it.

Nasc
27th August 2013, 01:53 AM
http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/q71/s720x720/1011424_421919937922614_1985310428_n.jpg

cook kostin ....melkanda padthil yaar appa - yaar payyan ah irukum?
:-D:grin:

27th August 2013, 07:29 PM
Finally something from the movie!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CDErUyk55Q

27th August 2013, 08:06 PM
Exclusive : "Medhuvaaga thaan" sung by SPB and Sadhana Sargam Coming Soon !!

Label: SonyMusic.

27th August 2013, 08:17 PM
Exclusive : "Medhuvaaga thaan" sung by SPB and Sadhana Sargam Coming Soon !!

Label: SonyMusic.
appadi enna avasaram.. mela enna irukkunnu parkama post panna :lol:

27th August 2013, 10:17 PM
Glad ARR is still using SPB for all his Albums relating to SS!

27th August 2013, 10:18 PM

Romba Unarchi vasa pattutar pOla :)

28th August 2013, 04:52 AM

Avar "Time to Lead" Jaaze bhai !

28th August 2013, 07:32 AM
Looks like a semi classical number. Cant wait..

28th August 2013, 11:34 AM

It is a sentiment for SS... The intro song or the first song of his movies will be sung by SPB.. In some of the movies the first songs were sung by some other singers and they did not become hit...

narayanan
28th August 2013, 12:27 PM
It is a sentiment for SS... The intro song or the first song of his movies will be sung by SPB.. In some of the movies the first songs were sung by some other singers and they did not become hit...

Some movies'lam illa. The case of point was Baba. Infact the bubble burst when thalaivar says Brraaaa in the prelude :rotfl:

வரும், வரணும்.. "Life of Pi" படத்த ஒரு வருஷமா ஓட்டற அதே சத்யம் தியேட்டர்ல ஒரு தமிழ் படத்த ஒட்ட வைக்கணும்..

oru varusham'laam odaleenga. Life of Pi was released on end of November or start of December at best. Came a few days before Hobbit came. That said 4 months+ is a very good run for any movie these days that too in a Mount Road theater. But I guess Avatar was the longest run among recent days in Sathyam, the ran one show almost or more than a year.

Did Endhiran run 25 weeks at all?

28th August 2013, 12:49 PM
Some movies'lam illa. The case of point was Baba. Infact the bubble burst when thalaivar says Brraaaa in the prelude :rotfl:

Kuselan also I think...

oru varusham'laam odaleenga. Life of Pi was released on end of November or start of December at best. Came a few days before Hobbit came. That said 4 months+ is a very good run for any movie these days that too in a Mount Road theater. But I guess Avatar was the longest run among recent days in Sathyam, the ran one show almost or more than a year.

Did Endhiran run 25 weeks at all?
Summaa oru effect-ukkaaga oru varusham-nu sonnEnunga...

28th August 2013, 01:00 PM
@ Jaaze :confused:

28th August 2013, 03:07 PM

Yep, Typical examples are

1) Dippu Dippu - SMD
2) Ulagathukaga pirnthavan naanE - Mano :banghead:
3) Oru Maina maino - Mano :sigh2:

After SPB I think MSV was a good choice for SS intro song like "Pothuvaga en manasu thangam".

pushpak
28th August 2013, 05:37 PM
Yep, Typical examples are

1) Dippu Dippu - SMD

After SPB I think MSV was a good choice for SS intro song like "Pothuvaga en manasu thangam".

MSV??? You meant Malaysia Vasudevan?

28th August 2013, 05:49 PM
MSV??? You meant Malaysia Vasudevan?

Sorry I meant MV .

28th August 2013, 05:57 PM
la la la li la ....la la la li la .... sivasambo
ho
dum dum da di di da di di
dum dum da da di da da da
dum dim dum dum
da da di ....

narayanan
28th August 2013, 05:57 PM
1) Dippu Dippu - SMD

Isn't Dippu Dippu the worst of the lot, Maina Maina wasn't bad. Pandiyan was an awful movie, second worst to Baba maybe. SPB was the preferred singer by Superstar, take most of movies since late 80s that's been the trend. The opening song by SPB was something that Annamalai set the trend, 'Vandhenda Paalkaran', 'Naan Autokaran', 'Oruvan Oruvan Mudhalali', 'Singanadai' etc. None till that had such an mass opening song for him, Mannan that came the same year ahead of Annamalai had no such intro song. Infact the first song in Mannan is Amma Enrazhaikkadha by Yesudas.

28th August 2013, 05:58 PM
ho
dum dim dum dum
da da di ....

:lol: this is what sung by MSV?

28th August 2013, 06:06 PM
Oh! yeah : pallaakkai thookkaathe, pallaakkil neeyeru song.
A pure joy to hear, watch and experience : mathuvundu, pen undu, sor undu, sugam undu, manam kondu endraale - sorgatthil idamundu.

28th August 2013, 06:07 PM
The ALL TIME BEST intro song has to be none other than Naan Autokaaran from Baasha...my all time favorite.. :)

28th August 2013, 06:12 PM
Pandiyan was an awful movie, second worst to Baba maybe.

Yenna narayanan, pusuku-nu ippadi sollitinga !

Mr. Right la arambichi Baba counting is still going on.

By the way, Maina Maina & the Mike => super

28th August 2013, 06:20 PM
The ALL TIME BEST intro song has to be none other than Naan Autokaaran from Baasha...my all time favorite.. :)

I can tell you mine : its difinetely Annamalai - Intro scene-la 5 minutes+ku Thalaivara Katta matanga - sky, leg, grass, forehead, molam, cycle-nu sutha vittaduku apporam, thalaivar kan adiparu parunga, credit card ad mathiri chanceless, priceless - adhalam theatre screen kitta irrudhu parkanom - eppadiyum oruthan arathi edupan, avan pakathala ninnu parkanom. Athu oru kana Kalam ...

Sometime back people asked about how a FDFS looks like, the above is just a teaser.

28th August 2013, 06:34 PM
completely agree on the Annamalai intro....

narayanan
28th August 2013, 06:41 PM
Mr. Right la arambichi Baba counting is still going on.

venaam Baba pathi solli en vayitherichala kelappadheenga. paatu arambikkara varaikkum semma soundu. paatu mudiyara time'ku theater'la sathathaye kaanum. Almost all of us who went were terribly depressed, idhukku oru trip plan panni gumbala pona padam adhu. However many of my batchmates went in hordes (about 60-70 ppl), were giving popcorn as Babaji prasadam.

I can tell you mine : its difinetely Annamalai - Intro scene-la 5 minutes+ku Thalaivara Katta matanga - sky, leg, grass, forehead, molam, cycle-nu sutha vittaduku apporam, thalaivar kan adiparu parunga, credit card ad mathiri chanceless, priceless - adhalam theatre screen kitta irrudhu parkanom - eppadiyum oruthan arathi edupan, avan pakathala ninnu parkanom. Athu oru kana Kalam ...

Sometime back people asked about how a FDFS looks like, the above is just a teaser.

Awesome! ippadi thaan irukkanum. I had experienced something similar when I saw Mannan on 175th day in Madurai Solamalai. Annamalai had a great opening for him. In Baasha, the best scene is the one just before intermission :) Saw Endhiran on the second day in Mayajaal, went with expectations that there will be sound and fun, ellam anga fingers on the lips vechutu ukkandhirukkanga :( These days you can expect much more sound in a US/EU where you have tons of students and 20s folk seeing that you would get in Madras. thalaivar padam paakardhula irukkura enjoyment's audience sound dhaan. adhillama enna padamo.

omega
28th August 2013, 06:49 PM

+1000.... Nothing to beat it really!!!

28th August 2013, 07:04 PM

ithai front row tharaila okkanthukittu low angle pakkumpothu.... romba permippa irinthuchu....

28th August 2013, 07:47 PM
ho
dum dim dum dum
da da di ....

:lol: I love that song though!

28th August 2013, 07:50 PM
Isn't Dippu Dippu the worst of the lot,
Song is but SMD is a good singer

Maina Maina wasn't bad.

Song was good, but the singer is bad!

SPB was the preferred singer by Superstar, take most of movies since late 80s that's been the trend. The opening song by SPB was something that Annamalai set the trend, 'Vandhenda Paalkaran', 'Naan Autokaran', 'Oruvan Oruvan Mudhalali', 'Singanadai' etc. None till that had such an mass opening song for him.

Completley agreed

28th August 2013, 07:52 PM
:lol: this is what sung by MSV?

Indeed

28th August 2013, 07:56 PM
sky, leg, grass, forehead, molam, cycle-nu sutha vittaduku apporam,. so true! :rotfl:

Athanda ithanda was kind of energetic too for Deva's standards :)

Brianengab
28th August 2013, 08:04 PM
nobody should forget thalaivar intro in 'Chandramuki'..

28th August 2013, 10:33 PM
ho
dum dim dum dum
da da di ....

Excellent lyrics by kannadesan.... anubavichu ezhuthi irrukaru....

sambo sivasambo sivasambo sivasambo

jagamae thanthiram sugamae manthiram
manithan enthiram sivaSambo
nenjam aalayam, ninaivae thaevathai
thinamum naadagam sivasambo

manithan enthiram sivasambo

manitha un jenmaththil ennaLum nannaaLaam
marunaaLai eNNathae, ennaLum ponnaaLaam
pallaakkai thookkaathe, pallaakkil neeyeru
unnaayuL thoNNooru, ennaLum pathinaaru ..
dum dim dum dum
da da di ....

appaavum thaatthaavum vanthaargaL pOnaargaL
thappenaa sariyenna eppOthum viLayaadu
appaavi enbaargal thappaaga ninaikkaathe
eppaathai pOnaalum inbatthai thaLLaathe

kallai nee thindraalum jerikkinra naaLinru
kaalangaL pOnaalO thinraathe enbaargaL
ah mathuvundu
peN undu
sOr undu
sugam undu
manam kondu endraale
sorgatthil idamundu..
ho
dum dum da da di .. dim dim da da di...da..

la la la li la .... sivasambo

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/Lyrics.asp?lyrid=5354&sngid=SNGOLD1635

28th August 2013, 11:59 PM
oru koppai-yum, sivasambo padalum sorgam - padal varigal purindhavargaluku

Siva Sambo - adobe of joy - thats during the point of self realisation, where the whole universe becomes dumb. Its the joy between you and yourself. Thats what exactly the song is all about. Many have said contradictory things about the song, but the fruit of the song is not contraversy or philosophy, its spiritual. Its quite beautiful how the enlightened Kanadasan has throughly mixed the purity and impurity (Shiva and materialistic things). He has explained one has to attain a certain set of mind where he is the supremo. He translates the materialistic joys which seems like "don't-care-master" but its actually the experience that one attains by the unification of oneself 'manam kondu endraale, sorgatthil idamundu'. The cross lanes are quite deep and intervened. Soorgam here is earth on which yourSELF can find joy. Don't know how - here is the don't-care-list 'ah mathuvundu, peN undu, sOr undu, sugam undu ', but 'manam kondu endraale' you acheive the ultimate. Remember you have the power, "kallai nee thindraalum jerikkinra naaLinru" ... and so on ...

About these lines :

It starts with Mantiha - you are adressed by the supremo - its an assurance and not the literal 'live the minute" philosophy. The pallaku lines are self realisation, and finaly the 90 years is your body but your soul is ageless (indicated as 16 years).

This song is a seed, water it and it becomes a baniyan tree. Well, I wish not highjack Kochadayan thread, I stop here with A2A lines "anubavichu ezhuthi irrukaru"

29th August 2013, 02:25 AM

Siva Sambo - adobe of joy - thats during the point of self realisation, where the whole universe becomes dumb. Its the joy between you and yourself. Thats what exactly the song is all about. Many have said contradictory things about the song, but the fruit of the song is not contraversy or philosophy, its spiritual. Its quite beautiful how the enlightened Kanadasan has throughly mixed the purity and impurity (Shiva and materialistic things). He has explained one has to attain a certain set of mind where he is the supremo. He translates the materialistic joys which seems like "don't-care-master" but its actually the experience that one attains by the unification of oneself 'manam kondu endraale, sorgatthil idamundu'. The cross lanes are quite deep and intervened. Soorgam here is earth on which yourSELF can find joy. Don't know how - here is the don't-care-list 'ah mathuvundu, peN undu, sOr undu, sugam undu ', but 'manam kondu endraale' you acheive the ultimate. Remember you have the power, "kallai nee thindraalum jerikkinra naaLinru" ... and so on ...

About these lines :

It starts with Mantiha - you are adressed by the supremo - its an assurance and not the literal 'live the minute" philosophy. The pallaku lines are self realisation, and finaly the 90 years is your body but your soul is ageless (indicated as 16 years).

This song is a seed, water it and it becomes a baniyan tree. Well, I wish not highjack Kochadayan thread, I stop here with A2A lines "anubavichu ezhuthi irrukaru"

70's counter culturukku perfect song....

29th August 2013, 08:11 AM
:lol: I love that song though!

Hello Paramashivan anneh !! how are you nna?

29th August 2013, 08:16 AM

About these lines :

We wish it gets highjacked for good ! Very well written post mappi ! Question what's the actual meaning of "Mappi" (I know telugu meaning) not sure about Damil.

29th August 2013, 10:11 AM

About these lines :

ahaa... Yesterday Night idha padikkaama vittuttanE...

29th August 2013, 02:38 PM

Absolutley ! Only Kanadhasan possible with such philosophical lyrics!

29th August 2013, 03:41 PM
super post on sivasambo maappi... perfect for thalaivars look...
the extra badass look swallowed kamals extra charming look..

and the dippu dippu is bad in multiple layers...
a very folkish tune supported by pretty bad lyrics... atleast the first few lines...
and the visuals on screen with katchi kodi uniforms... disaster...

but for me, B-to the-A-to the-B-to the-A is thalaivar intro...
the best one can get... the guitar riffs were haunting..

29th August 2013, 05:08 PM
Apart from Rajini and Kamal, its MSV, Kanadasan and KB who have to be talked about. The allignement in thought between the 3 has resulted in producing this song. The 2 characters are there in the song lyrics, where Kamal runs behind materialistic things and Rajini takes the chair of the Master with wine. The song suituation also stresses on abondaning ones duty ... that really did not go well with Rajini resulting in this song. It sounds quite simple while reading the few lines, but the explanation that resulted in development and finaly meeting an accordance is a gem found by these 3 gentlemen. And as SoftSword (how are you ?) has said, the whole attire of Rajini, esp. the shoulder movements punches the lines/words when ever necessary. On the whole a song to cherish in which ever way its looked at. Even the movie goes on to explain the attachement and deattachement thru the 3 charater, giving the truthful repenting climax that cannot be avoided.

Baba - it has many ifs and if nots, leading a straight path to the drains. And thats on the cover. As we all know never judge a book by its cover. What baba has in it are the realms of life, simply put as the needs of life (a bit like Maslow's Pyramid of needs), fulfilling which you have the insight to achieve the most. Without touching the Baba encounter as it complicates even more the complications, the 3 phases of life talked about in Dipu Dipu song is just the trailer of the next 150 mins, where the implication of human desire on materialistic things are showcased. You start with not knowing what (baby - the kite episode), then you get dependent or influenced & confused (kid - kite episode, but this time quite specific), then money (young man 1 - "MirandaCan-kick-girl-save" episode), women (young man 2 - Market Nilambari), housing (young man 3 - Nambiar's request), reproduction or give life to (middle age and its fruit - saving Japanese + marriage). Now comes the ultimate question - Known is a drop, unknown is an oceane - the choice of the unknown is told in the commericiale climax with the turban and the knife - I allow you to look at Road not Taken suituation. And ofcoarse there are several references to chakras. The movie introduces it to us, but where they failed is to educate the audience where these chakras are referenced at, resulting in the "Manisha-exercise-Rajini-chakra-list" episode seeming to be a long punch dialogue.

For info : the whole kite episode are the first 2 pages from "Autobiography of a Yogi" by Paramhansa Yogananda – copyrighted material is available for free on internet. Basially many things told in the naration in this autobiography follows as a shadow throughout the film.

But here, one should not confuse with Naan Kadavul / Anbe Sivam. These 3 movies share a indepth sight on the unknown supermo (interpreted by the creator's belief, knowledge & understanding) where Baba is +1 giving a positive angle on the path to be taken, Anbe Sivam 0, does not dare to take a stand but gives clue that one for all - all for one, and Naan Kadavul -1, draws in all the dark shades of Gods and Demi gods but emphasing on the cosmic concepts under backdrop of an imaginary 7th world of Jeyamohan.

Lets not embark there for the moment. Lets explore it little by litte while correct subjects are brought into discussion.

The above is entirely my POV.

Fanboy Comment (the fanboy in me has been poping out since I started writing this ... LoL) : BABA Rap => Ulitimate, tharu maru. (that should calm him now)

29th August 2013, 06:24 PM
Known is a drop, unknown is an ocean

.. he who knows him self knows all :)
who ever wrote these lines is simply talking about self realisation in a simple way, but one has to "Experience" it to understand it!

Russellgdn
29th August 2013, 07:56 PM

Seems he waited for 1 year for SPB to compose this

29th August 2013, 08:28 PM
super post on sivasambo maappi... perfect for thalaivars look...
the extra badass look swallowed kamals extra charming look..

and the dippu dippu is bad in multiple layers...
a very folkish tune supported by pretty bad lyrics... atleast the first few lines...
and the visuals on screen with katchi kodi uniforms... disaster...

but for me, B-to the-A-to the-B-to the-A is thalaivar intro...
the best one can get... the guitar riffs were haunting..

Car stereola ithu ellam chumma athirum boss.

29th August 2013, 08:38 PM
unnaayuL thoNNooru, ennaLum pathinaaru

eppaathai pOnaalum inbatthai thaLLaathe

kallai nee thindraalum jerikkinra naaLinru
kaalangaL pOnaalO thinraathe enbaargaL
ah mathuvundu
peN undu
sOr undu
sugam undu
manam kondu endraale
sorgatthil idamundu..

thalivar itha padichi follow pannittu..... padam mudinjavudane..... directa hospital admit pannitaanga....(1979 episode)

29th August 2013, 08:43 PM
[

thalivar itha padichi follow pannittu..... padam mudinjavudane..... directa hospital admit pannitaanga....(1979 episode)

What episdoe? Actress latha ?? :lol2: :lol2:

29th August 2013, 09:41 PM
What episdoe? Actress latha ?? :lol2: :lol2:

I'm taking short break from HUB.

29th August 2013, 09:46 PM
relax bro, just joking :)

30th August 2013, 05:24 AM
I'm taking short break from HUB.

Take a long one ! ... Paramasivan anneha !! Hello again !!

Brianengab
1st September 2013, 11:43 AM
@sound_a_rajini has tweeted that #Kochadaiyaan teaser will b launched on Vinayaga Chathurthi - Sep 9. Good News, waiting 2 watch Superstar

2nd September 2013, 12:36 PM
Rajnikanth, Deepika Padukone's Kochadaiyaan teaser trailer to release on Sept 9 (http://www.indianexpress.com/news/rajnikanth-deepika-padukones-kochadaiyaan-teaser-trailer-to-release-on-sept-9/1163077/)- Indian Express

Russellfws
2nd September 2013, 12:50 PM
Entha sep 9th ennuthan solla maranthudaa ..!!

2nd September 2013, 01:02 PM

:lol: Teaser in September 2013... Movie in November I think...

2nd September 2013, 01:03 PM

Hope it happens @ 2013

Brianengab
2nd September 2013, 01:05 PM
eagerly waiting for thalaivar album.. oct soldraanga.. paarppom.. :roll:

2nd September 2013, 01:06 PM
'Kochadaiyaan' teaser to be released this month (http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/kochadaiyaan-teaser-to-be-released-this-month/article5082602.ece)- The Hindu

3rd September 2013, 04:54 PM
:lol: Teaser in September 2013... Movie in November I think...

Yes November 2015! lol

6th September 2013, 04:14 PM
Deepika Padukone in Fast the Furious 7?

Riding high on the success of Chennai Express, Deepika Padukone is all set to show her acting skills in Hollywood now.
According to reports, Deepika Padukone has apparently bagged a role in franchise Fast And Furious.

Deepika Padukone, who is curently shooting for Happy New Year, is likely to share screen space with Vin Diesel in the seventh part of Fast the Furious.
The actress will be soon seen in Tamil film opposite superstar Rajinikanth in Kochadaiyaan.

If all goes well then Deepika will make her Hollywood debut opposite Jason Statham and Dwayne Johnson besides Vin Diesel. The movie is likey to release next year. Deepika Padukone has in the past acted in action film Race 2.

If reports are true then Deepika Padukone will be following beauties like Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Tabu and Shabana Azmi by stepping into Hollywood. Since, Fast the Furious is a huge brand, it will make a big leap in Deepika's career. Deepika was unavailable for comments.

arulraj
7th September 2013, 01:25 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BTiPmlECYAAnN08.jpg

7th September 2013, 05:09 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BTiPmlECYAAnN08.jpg

:rotfl: orea comedy !!

Brianengab
7th September 2013, 06:29 PM
wt s the comedy here... :roll:

easygoer
8th September 2013, 07:48 AM
Soundarya Rajinikanth Ashwin About Superstar #Rajini's #Kochadaiyaan

Soundarya Rajinikanth Ashwin says "It will be a full-fledged commercial entertainer; nothing arty about this period film,” | Thanks to The Hindu

On Vinayakar Chathurthi, a bonanza awaits Superstar’s fans — the first visuals of Rajinikanth’s magnum opus are out today. His daughter and the film’s director Soundarya Rajinikanth Ashwin gives a glimpse of how the movie took shape

About two years ago, when Superstar was hospitalised and K.S. Ravikumar’s Rana got shelved indefinitely, fans prayed for his health and feared they would not see him in another film in a long time.

This Vinayakar Chathurthi brings good news for Rajini fans — the first visuals, a teaser of Kochadaiiyaan will be out. “There are heroes and superheroes. But there is only one Rajinikanth,” the teaser screams, showing a younger, healthier, photorealistic Rajinikanth walk in style, with dancers behind him and hundreds of extras in the background by a castle.

Commercial entertainer

“It will be a full-fledged commercial entertainer; nothing arty about this period film,” says Soundarya Rajinikanth Ashwin, in an exclusive interview. “It’s sad that when you say animation, people think of cartoons.

Kochadaiiyaan is the first photorealistic 3D film produced in India, through motion capture, performance capture through facial scanning, and intensive research and development of emerging technologies,” she says, showing us visuals of Rajinikanth with wires all over his face and a helmet.

“First, we scanned his face and made a 3D model to get the exact precision of his features, such as the scar on his nose. And then we corrected the 3D model by tightening his skin to make him look 25 years younger. They used that technology in Tron. So you will see a very young ‘appa’ as Rana, like how he looked in Muthu.”

Rana? “Yes, K.S. Ravikumar uncle wrote this as a prequel to Rana; the story of how he became Rana. Kochadaiiyaan is the father character, completely fictional, nothing to do with any Dravidian king. It’s just a name that means the king with the long hair, a lord Siva devotee.”

Superstar was flown to London to the studio at Centroid where they did performance and motion capture of his “takes”. “So I had to explain to the actors — Appa, Deepika, Sarath uncle, Shobhana, Jackie Shroff, Nasser, Aadhi and Rukmini — how they had to perform when they had nothing in front of them. They had to pretend there was an army rushing towards them, holding a pipe in hand for a sword. As difficult as it is for a director, it is even more difficult for an actor,” she explains.

“I was persistent. And you need patience when you are working with this technology because the process is like that. It’s about patience and reworking, and rework is death for us because it means you have to go back to step one. If there are 10 steps in the process, my 140-member team from Chennai did the first six steps. The last four steps are being done out of London and China, mostly China now. A lot of technicians from the U.S. have worked. At some point, we had 800 technicians working on the film at the same time.”

The most challenging part? “Well, many times the Rajini fan in me would come out during the shoot, and sometimes, the protective daughter. It was most difficult to split the roles of director, fan and daughter. It was like having a multiple-personality disorder.”

A Japanese version too!

Resul Pookutty has worked on the sound design and A.R. Rahman has completed the music in London for the orchestral background score. The film will be out in Dolby Atmos in three languages at the same time — Tamil, Telugu and Hindi. “We will also have an English and Japanese version soon,” she says.

“Projects such as this take six or seven years because of just the process. We have managed to get it done in record speed. The film will release by the end of this year. We have already locked the length — it’s about two hours and four minutes, quite long for a film made with this technology,” she adds.

A single composed by A.R. Rahman will be released later this month and the audio launch is being planned for October, around Navaratri.

Kochadaiiyaan Avatar

The biggest triumph for Kochadaiiyaan was bringing back late comedy actor Nagesh to the screen. “Even Imagemetrics who did the performance capture for Avatar was amazed because we brought an actor back to life. We used high-resolution images of Nagesh sir, scanned it and created a 3D model. We, in fact, could get a younger version of him. Since it’s a period setting, we needed somebody vintage like Nagesh sir. We then got actors who spoke exactly like him and those who looked just like him for the performance and motion capture,” Soundarya explains.

“This will open up a new market in the industry. This technology allows us to immortalise actors. For such films, you need experience, budget and time. Avatar Tintin We have broken some rules and managed to create a pipeline that will help us make films such as this within this time and budget.”

https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=579379675437425

8th September 2013, 12:12 PM
If (atleast) 50% of what we see in the teaser poster (the battle field) is brought on screen, the film is sure to make all possible "waves".
(and I am not saying it as a Rajini Fan)

9th September 2013, 01:23 AM
If (atleast) 50% of what we see in the teaser poster (the battle field) is brought on screen, the film is sure to make all possible "waves".
(and I am not saying it as a Rajini Fan)

My eyebrows are stuck in my hair with this statement :shock:

Shanker
9th September 2013, 06:49 AM
SS is doing 3 roles in Kochadaiiyaan. Father and his 2 sons. According to ARR on NDTV interview.

9th September 2013, 07:04 AM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=517935108294582&l=9e1fc55f8a

9th September 2013, 07:49 AM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=517935108294582&l=9e1fc55f8a

Soundaryaji - 80 out of 100 ji for the poster. !!

9th September 2013, 08:24 AM

https://twitter.com/sound_a_rajini

easygoer
9th September 2013, 09:13 AM
http://s16.postimg.org/vmdey640h/kochadaiyaan_1.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/vmdey640h/)

http://s16.postimg.org/5fc827lqp/kochadaiyaan_2.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/5fc827lqp/)

http://s16.postimg.org/fdx6oov69/kochadaiyaan_3.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/fdx6oov69/)

9th September 2013, 09:25 AM
why did you give 80%... i thought it doesn't carry the needed punch....

9th September 2013, 09:38 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=kyt_V_UZfvI

9th September 2013, 09:40 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyAGScPnE5Y

easygoer
9th September 2013, 09:49 AM
Had some hopes on the movie but the teaser totally shattered it. I will be happy if movie atleast recover its budget....
soundarya madam poi pesame family patthuthu veetoda irunga...

smaiitm
9th September 2013, 09:50 AM
Ok for a teaser. Looking forward to the movie!

Balaji.r
9th September 2013, 09:57 AM
padatha release pannama irrukarathey better.

easygoer
9th September 2013, 09:58 AM
This looks like an animated movie rather than motion capture. Thalaivar looks are artificial. Even the visuals are not an out of the world stuff. Video games have better visuals than this...

Thalivarku meendum oru agni paritchai

Ennavachu nadanthu sultan maari shelved aahita naal irukum

maniram_1234
9th September 2013, 10:12 AM
This looks like an animated movie rather than motion capture. Thalaivar looks are artificial. Even the visuals are not an out of the world stuff. Video games have better visuals than this...

correct thalivarkundana gethey ila

9th September 2013, 10:29 AM

I think for Indian standards its ok ! Namma pasengea kudukura 5-10 million-kku Avatar (400 Million + 4 year) Madhiri irrukunean
expect pannradhu over !!

For me it looks like a good kid's movie ! Adults (Fans / ACs) can also enjoy. Only regret Soundaryaji shouldn't have created so much hungama for this end product on CNN, BNN, BCC. :sigh2:

Happy to see him on Screen in some form ! :notworthy:

smaiitm
9th September 2013, 10:30 AM
Twitter World Trends

Worldwide Trends
· Change

#AndateBianchi
US Open
#PorUnChatEnTwitter
#BoardwalkEmpire
#Dexter
#MeGustaria
Serena Williams
Giants
Happy Ganesh Chaturthi
Zamboanga City

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi!

smaiitm
9th September 2013, 10:31 AM
India Trends· Change
Leander Paes
#MakeWayForRajiniSir
Happy Ganesh Chaturthi
Serena Williams
#Android
#UPriots
#PleaseTellMeWhy
Kochadaiiyaan - Official Teaser
Ganpati Bappa Morya
#Kochadaiiyaan

Kochadaiiyaan!

9th September 2013, 10:32 AM
I really loved last couple of secs , amazing smile THALAIVAA !!

9th September 2013, 10:33 AM
Totally ZERO expectations on the movie after seeing the teaser. Hope it turns out otherwise when the movie releases.

9th September 2013, 10:34 AM
One doubt, is Soundarya targeting Pogo channel audience? Bomma padam madhuri iruku.

Hope it's not next mottai for her after 3. 125C budget & Rajamouli as director would've been ideal (like Eega.)

9th September 2013, 10:38 AM
One doubt, is Soundarya targeting Pogo channel audience? Bomma padam madhuri iruku.

Hope it's not next mottai for her after 3. 125C budget & Rajamouli as director would've been ideal (like Eega.)

I remember in this very same hub some mindless souls who criticized Rajamouli's work! :rotfl2:.

arulraj
9th September 2013, 10:39 AM
Neutral audience can enjoy this flick ; but there is no neutrals for RAJINI all are hardcore fans ; biggest dissappointment ; even many rajini fans didn't like ENTHIRAN rajini too as TOY RAJINI ... :fatigue:

9th September 2013, 10:45 AM
http://i41.tinypic.com/260d92s.png

9th September 2013, 10:47 AM
Neutral audience can enjoy this flick ; but there is no neutrals for RAJINI all are hardcore fans ; biggest dissappointment ; even many rajini fans didn't like ENTHIRAN rajini too as TOY RAJINI ... :fatigue:

is zitt !!

9th September 2013, 10:48 AM
Nov Sir pl add "I" sir !!

Brianengab
9th September 2013, 10:58 AM
even many rajini fans didn't like ENTHIRAN rajini too as TOY RAJINI ... :fatigue:

i dont think so..

for me, villain robo > chitti > hero...

easygoer
9th September 2013, 11:10 AM
I think for Indian standards its ok ! Namma pasengea kudukura 5-10 million-kku Avatar (400 Million + 4 year) Madhiri irrukunean
expect pannradhu over !!

For me it looks like a good kid's movie ! Adults (Fans / ACs) can also enjoy. Only regret Soundaryaji shouldn't have created so much hungama for this end product on CNN, BNN, BCC. :sigh2:

Happy to see him on Screen in some form ! :notworthy:

I didn't expect the movie to be on par with Avatar, though Soundarya was keen in marketing the product in the international arena by over hyping it

Considering the budget constraints, I expected it alteast to be a decent one with some great visuals(something on the lines of immortals of meluha) and rajini resembling to alteast 50 % of his original structure. but here some video games visuals have been translated to the teaser and thalaivar is reduced to caricature...

9th September 2013, 11:55 AM
பெற்ற மகள் வாங்கின கடனை அடைக்கத்தான் ரஜினி இந்தப்படத்தில் 'நடிக்க' ஒத்துக்கொண்டார். இப்போ இந்த டீசரை பார்க்கும்போது கடன் இன்னும் அதிகம் ஆகிவிடுமோ என்ற பயம்தான் வருகிறது.

9th September 2013, 11:58 AM
http://i39.tinypic.com/2d7fo20.png

http://i39.tinypic.com/vgr2b4.png

Brianengab
9th September 2013, 12:11 PM
ennai ketta, 70 vayasukku appuram nadikka vendiya padam ithu..
rajini s still fit to act as young hero..

kaatrullapothe thottrikkondaal nallathu..

Shanker
9th September 2013, 01:14 PM
Caught the teaser a few secs after it was released. Gotta say I am disappointed. Visuals look as dated as the visuals of the unreleased Sultan from 2008. Budget wise, correct me if I am wrong but isn't replicating sets digitally much cheaper than actually building a physical set? This looks amateurish compared to 2009's Avatar or Tintin (Both of which were used by the makers as examples). I didn't have high hopes for this film but this was below what I expected. Let's hope K. S. Ravikumar's story and ARR's music helps offset the disappointing visuals.

To be clear, I am not saying this USD$19 million budget film should have comparable visuals to Avatar or Tintin. I'm just saying the visuals of this film looks like what a arts major did for his final year project.

arulraj
9th September 2013, 01:29 PM
I am sure , only KSR can save this movie with his screenplay ........:exactly:

9th September 2013, 03:03 PM

Russellfws
9th September 2013, 03:12 PM

Enna Shock :lol:

to be honest.. not for rajini.. take any actors.. Neutral fans ennu yaarum illai.. :-)

9th September 2013, 03:14 PM
Why so much negative views on the movie ?

9th September 2013, 03:16 PM
Neutral fans ennu yaarum illai.. :-)

:shock: :shock:

Russellfws
9th September 2013, 03:18 PM
Why so much negative views on the movie ?

Due to the maker.. !!

9th September 2013, 03:19 PM
Today (Sep 9) on Vinayaga Chathurthi day, the first look teaser of Superstar Rajinikanth’s Kochadaiyaan has been released. The producers Eros International released the teaser at 9.30 on Youtube, and it became an instant hit.

The teaser of Kochadaiiyaan says – “There are heroes and superheroes. But there is only one Rajinikanth.” The photorealistic Rajinikanth walks in style, with hundreds of dancers behind him against the background of a castle.

Kochadaiiyaan is the first photorealistic 3D film produced in India, through motion capture, performance capture through facial scanning, and intensive research and development of emerging technologies.

The teaser carries mixed reports from a section who watched it, as they feel the graphics are of poor quality and not up to international level. Anyway nothing to worry as there will be a huge audience for the film.

A single composed by AR Rahman will be released later this month and the audio launch is being planned for October, around Navaratri. The producers of Kochadaiiyaan is trying to release the film on 12/12/13, Rajinikanth's 63rd birthday.

9th September 2013, 05:18 PM
Let me not get into a "replying" spree but stick to be general and talk about the teaser. For me, Kochadaiiyan rests as a prestigious project and I will always take a precautious step while talking about it. I would like to first talk about some aspects that I saw in the teaser, before entering into budjet constrains - direction - music - story and all, moreover setting myself a bit back from making global conclusions that too after watching a 1m10s teaser.

In the teaser, $$-$$ => seconds interval

18-20 - ariel view of a palace (seagulls noise) => Rajini not seen
25-26 - the arena (crowd cheering) => Rajini not seen
28-30 - horse back (horse nahing + horse foot-step & dust noise) => Rajini not seen
32-33 - warrior back, warrior jump (sword swing noises) => 1st time you see Rajini for a macro second
36-40 - explosion, Fullframe warrior, zoom on angry-face warrior (explosion sound followed by war horns) => 2nd time Rajini seen, this time a full 1 sec
43-44 - 1 leg thavam (lightening sounds masked with war horn thunders and sword swing noises) => Rajini, but the low-angle-camera does allow you to pin him out
47-49 - Horse ride, group dance, kick-sword-&-brutal-kill-with-spear, thin bamboo logs falling, King-arthur-style-sword-burying (drum box - possibly a war theme music) => 1st and last frame you have a quick glimpse of Rajini
56-58 - Raja Nadai (theme music - possibly intro song) => Full 2 seconds Rajini

So you have only approx. 17 secs of hyper-fast-editted visuals in the whole 1m10secs teaser. In that 17secs, Rajini is present for 5 secs and in that 5 secs, you actually see him for 3 secs and those 3 secs are a flash. Well ... (don't wish to continue further, think the msg is passed)

A teaser is not from the final cut. But what I saw was an enormous amount of precision on the contrast. The 3D models are fabulous, yet there is a problem with the scope. The scope correction is post-production process and I beleive its ongoing. The above is just an icing analyse, but if I take one such frame "kick-sword-&-brutal-kill-with-spear" was completely briliant. Each movement was captured throughly and in this brief second, the RR was excellent.

Comming to the final 2 seconds that seems to have disappointed many. Again all the movements, including the shadows of the group artists, the lighting effect while Rajini is walking towards us, not to mention the hair and face of Rajini are captured excellently.

9th September 2013, 05:21 PM
Pinning the highest hope on ARR. Even computer games have better graphics than This.

I thought indians were some of worlds best computer graphics makers, correct me if im wrong.

Russellfws
9th September 2013, 05:24 PM
teaser looks mediocre at its very best.. 2007-le vantha sultan trailer looks better than this, then what work they doing for last 7 years? ithule comparing with tintin vera..

teaser release-ku before tintin mathiri irukkumnu solla vendiyathu.. release-ku appuram dont compare with hollywood, avanga budget vera apdinu solla vendiyathu :idontgetit:

deposit eh poyidum pola irukkey saar..

Russellfws
9th September 2013, 05:27 PM
Let me not get into a "replying" spree but stick to be general and talk about the teaser. For me, Kochadaiiyan rests as a prestigious project and I will always take a precautious step while talking about it. I would like to first talk about some aspects that I saw in the teaser, before entering into budjet constrains - direction - music - story and all, moreover setting myself a bit back from making global conclusions that too after watching a 1m10s teaser.

In the teaser, $$-$$ => seconds interval

18-20 - ariel view of a palace (seagulls noise) => Rajini not seen
25-26 - the arena (crowd cheering) => Rajini not seen
28-30 - horse back (horse nahing + horse foot-step & dust noise) => Rajini not seen
32-33 - warrior back, warrior jump (sword swing noises) => 1st time you see Rajini for a macro second
36-40 - explosion, Fullframe warrior, zoom on angry-face warrior (explosion sound followed by war horns) => 2nd time Rajini seen, this time a full 1 sec
43-44 - 1 leg thavam (lightening sounds masked with war horn thunders and sword swing noises) => Rajini, but the low-angle-camera does allow you to pin him out
47-49 - Horse ride, group dance, kick-sword-&-brutal-kill-with-spear, thin bamboo logs falling, King-arthur-style-sword-burying (drum box - possibly a war theme music) => 1st and last frame you have a quick glimpse of Rajini
56-58 - Raja Nadai (theme music - possibly intro song) => Full 2 seconds Rajini

So you have only approx. 17 secs of hyper-fast-editted visuals in the whole 1m10secs teaser. In that 17secs, Rajini is present for 5 secs and in that 5 secs, you actually see him for 3 secs and those 3 secs are a flash. Well ... (don't wish to continue further, think the msg is passed)

A teaser is not from the final cut. But what I saw was an enormous amount of precision on the contrast. The 3D models are fabulous, yet there is a problem with the scope. The scope correction is post-production process and I beleive its ongoing. The above is just an icing analyse, but if I take one such frame "kick-sword-&-brutal-kill-with-spear" was completely briliant. Each movement was captured throughly and in this brief second, the RR was excellent.

Comming to the final 2 seconds that seems to have disappointed many. Again all the movements, including the shadows of the group artists, the lighting effect while Rajini is walking towards us, not to mention the hair and face of Rajini are captured excellently.

intha analysis ellam public/fans panna mattanga...! they just want to see if they will enjoy the end product...if end product not enjoyable no point in talking about why it din't turn out okay...

9th September 2013, 06:25 PM
Pinning the highest hope on ARR. Even computer games have better graphics than This.

I thought indians were some of worlds best computer graphics makers, correct me if im wrong.

I am correcting you ! They are not. There own track record(s), stands as testimony.

Well Computer Games looks better because,Company like Sony spends anywhere between 150 to 300 Million for developing A Game.

9th September 2013, 06:28 PM
intha analysis ellam public/fans panna mattanga...! they just want to see if they will enjoy the end product...if end product not enjoyable no point in talking about why it din't turn out okay...

Which Fublic you are talking about ? Who enjoyed Singam II? This is a new product for Indian market, It will be either whole heartedly accepted or rejected by its Core audience (Age 8-14) anything beyond that would be a bonus. Given she is a new director.

9th September 2013, 07:12 PM
https://twitter.com/urstrulyNafras/status/377057448818786305/photo/1

her facial features are really good in the scene...

9th September 2013, 07:15 PM
soundarya ashwin ‏@sound_a_rajini 6h
@deepikapadukone @Kochadaiiyaan The beautiful princess "Vadhana Devi" :):):) next teaser just to reveal your look stunner!!! :):):)

9th September 2013, 07:23 PM
Which Fublic you are talking about ? Who enjoyed Singam II? This is a new product for Indian market, It will be either whole heartedly accepted or rejected by its Core audience (Age 8-14) anything beyond that would be a bonus. Given she is a new director.

Lol, If it is indeed aimed at Children, then the movie will do very good business,since it is aimed at Family audience!

9th September 2013, 07:25 PM
Who enjoyed Singam II? .

:lol: aZingam 2 was aimed at "Highly" Intellect Fublik!

9th September 2013, 07:49 PM
soundarya ashwin ‏@sound_a_rajini 6h
@deepikapadukone @Kochadaiiyaan The beautiful princess "Vadhana Devi" :):):) next teaser just to reveal your look stunner!!! :):):)

A2A I posted that image immediately after watching teaser ! why is madam creating for much noise for something this lame ? She just doesn't get it , does she?

9th September 2013, 07:51 PM
A2A I posted that image immediately after watching teaser ! why is madam creating for much noise for something this lame ? She just doesn't get it , does she?

do you like the trailer...

9th September 2013, 08:08 PM
do you like the trailer...

last few seconds was saving grace for me. I was happy to see his smile :) it was worth staying up nite till 1.00 AM!. Animation is little creepy in few places. I am 90% sure final product will be little better than what we saw in teaser. Entire teaser had too many slow motion Sequences you need stunning visuals to back it up , else it will fall flat just like this one.

9th September 2013, 08:10 PM
last few seconds was saving grace for me. I was happy to see his smile :) it was worth staying up nite till 1.00 AM!. Animation is little creepy in few places. I am 90% sure final product will be little better than what we saw in teaser. Entire teaser had too many slow motion Sequences you need stunning visuals to back it up , else it will fall flat just like this one.

You too........I was one among the few people who watched the trailer at 12.00 AM (EST).

Russellfws
9th September 2013, 08:34 PM

ippo ipdi you are telling.. but before teaser released soundarya/team members/fans etc ellarum rajini irunthale pothum, vera ethuvum thevai illai, records smash aagum et al was being said..

this is what i am referring to.. public out there are now expecting a RAJINI movie, esp becuz of how they marketed... even fans were expecting a Rajini movie..! but this is not what you are getting..

avanga panna hype-kum spend panna time/money-kum end product-kum sammanthame illatha mathiri irukku, IMHO..

9th September 2013, 08:54 PM
I am 90% sure final product will be little better than what we saw in teaser.

This is apparently the final product. Dubbing is going on and movie is slotted for 12.12.13 release.

9th September 2013, 08:55 PM
This is apparently the final product. Dubbing is going on and movie is slotted for 12.12.13 release.

?????

9th September 2013, 10:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGX5jqBDjmY&nomobile=1

He says there is two more levels of work which can happen only after dubbing.

9th September 2013, 10:52 PM
?????

Kochadaiyaan to release on Rajinikanth's birthday 12.12.2013
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/news/2104584/Kochadaiyaan-to-release-on-Rajinikanth%27s-birthday-12.12.2013

9th September 2013, 11:44 PM
That trailer is what they have done in seven years lol.

Brianengab
9th September 2013, 11:48 PM

:notthatway: sultan'ai maranthidunga...

9th September 2013, 11:49 PM

Trailer illainga teaser...

10th September 2013, 12:01 AM
Fine tune is the magic word that comes to my mind.
For ex : The horses : I don't think it was done using motion capture. Actually Rajini rocks (motion capture) as though he is on the horse, but the horse was added only after (3D animation). It has to be seen whether they make the horses look proportionate.
Well, I am not sure they have integrated all the images and models, also I do not have any clue on the softwares used - any info on that would be appreciated.
I also think that after the dubbing, there is tuning to be done on the animation to sink with the expressions and as usual some final touches.
The 2nd one, I don't know. Checking ....
What worries me is that, if the colorings are already done, its a pain to do a retouch on the corrections.
I sincerely hope they release the making off either in a book format or as a bonus material.

Arvind Srinivasan
10th September 2013, 12:16 AM
While its pretty apparent that the quality is of no match to the ones seen in Avatar or Tintin, I believe we need to cut some slack. An effort has been made and it needs to be appreciated. Plus as mappi said, I believe the motion capture was only for the actors. Even in the case of Avatar, the riding of the mountain banshee and the great leonopteryx were done using simulators. And there wasn't a single close up shot of Rajni. There were a lot of medium shots. I feel the CU shots would be sort of an indicator of as to how well the motion capture has turned out.

10th September 2013, 12:24 AM
oru vazhiya intha teaser expectationa koraichuthu....

10th September 2013, 12:40 AM
Yes, I totally agree with you on the CU. As I had mentioned, in the teaser there is only 17 secs of visuals, that was mistook by few as a technical analysis. But no, I just wanted to stress that with 17secs of (minimal) visuals what can we infer ? But still they have left behind some materials in the teaser that I personally felt that they have come out pretty clean. Another point to note is that there are no voice at all - no human sound, that puts some weird thoughts in me whether the dubbing is really completed or ... but it seemed as though ARR has finished his work. Avarum, Rasul Pookutti-um summa "chak-ting-sling-nu" RR la velaiyadi irrukanga.

On a personal Fanboy note : I would have mixed Billa2 + Rise of the titans for the teaser => the whole title card was a big draw back, nothing new in either color or fonts (see 2nd World for that). So, I would have cut those and showed only the visuals in a "eye-blink" manner, slowly increasing the interest and the momentum until the epic Rajini nadai. After the end title card, I would have closed the teaser with a soaring Rajini with a spear on top of a "red-eyed-evil-toothed-dolphin" with an epic ARR blast.
Actually, I was waiting for something like that in the end, but sat there just gazing the monitor !

Hope the trailer has some exiting stuff like that.

Russellfws
10th September 2013, 01:06 AM
if nothing much can be inferred from a 17 seconds teaser then what was the point of releasing that and killing the konja nanja expectation that kochadaiyan carried from 2007 [esp after undergoing numerous title changes lol]...?

Brianengab
10th September 2013, 01:30 AM
those who r teasing the teaser...

resul pookutty ‏@resulp 12h
@kamalraj058 this is a teaser, this is nothing, this is not even 0.00001% of what it is..!!!

10th September 2013, 02:22 AM

@kamalraj058 this is a teaser, this is nothing, this is not even 0.00001% of what it is..!!!

Appadiey adiengaya antha aala...expectationey vandamnu soldren...

10th September 2013, 06:20 AM
if nothing much can be inferred from a 17 seconds teaser then what was the point of releasing that and killing the konja nanja expectation that kochadaiyan carried from 2007 [esp after undergoing numerous title changes lol]...?

Give it a break will you? Rajini in any form / any quality is far more superior to other jujubees around!
An Army of Rajini Fans is waiting to prove again ! Why he is the emperor of Indian cinema.

Neengea peasarada patha , neengea vangea poora oru ticketla than indha padam ooda success adengerruka?

10th September 2013, 06:41 AM

Then why buildup teaser then? Saarugaan put crores to hire foreign technicians from states to give Ra 1 the richness (movie be damned.) Coincidentally, that too was under Eros's banner.

Anyways, all hopes on ARR & KSR. Let's see.

Russellfws
10th September 2013, 08:41 AM
Give it a break will you? Rajini in any form / any quality is far more superior to other jujubees around!
An Army of Rajini Fans is waiting to prove again ! Why he is the emperor of Indian cinema.

Neengea peasarada patha , neengea vangea poora oru ticketla than indha padam ooda success adengerruka?

Unga point ellam unmaithan.. but it simple to understand here.,. Rajni has been used as an Oorukai here...

Ennathan Rajni nadichaalum padam nalla illaina oothikkum.

oyivukac
10th September 2013, 10:31 AM
http://www.adrasaka.com/2013/09/blog-post_3466.html

Brianengab
10th September 2013, 12:12 PM

:exactly: i 100% hope kochadaiiyan wil beat Enthiran records in all manner

Brianengab
10th September 2013, 12:16 PM
Rajni has been used as an Oorukai here...

hw cn u say tat.. u jus saw a teaser nt a whole movie...

10th September 2013, 02:08 PM
Rajinikanth's 'Kochadaiiyaan' trailer is an instant hit, gets 1 million views in a day (http://www.indianexpress.com/news/rajinikanth-s--kochadaiiyaan--trailer-is-an-instant-hit-gets-1-million-views-in-a-day/1167106/)- Indian Express

10th September 2013, 02:53 PM
The story is based on Pandiya dynasty, it should be an interesting one!

10th September 2013, 04:02 PM
Motion Capture

Introduction :
Motion capture has roots starting from the 70's which was widely used in the military. Its normaly addressed as MOCAP. It has its own strengths and weakness - which I will not be covering here, neither will I talk about its origin keeping in mind the interest of the audience. We are interested in Kochadaiiyan and the MOCAP.

So, basically there are 3 types of mocap :
1/ Mechanical - The performer wears a gear (includes gloves, arms, helmet etc) where the imbedded structure is hooked to his back. It has its own limitations like position and pointing of the performer which degrades the calibrations and has a big drawback on the calculation of the rotations as there is no absolute position. What it means in simple sense is that - each and every movement must be pre-written, so that each position is defined and the performer must do the same action on the various positions he takes to globally capture a 3D (360°) movement.

2/ Optical - The performer wears reflective dots (markers) that are followed by several cameras. The information is then triangulated with the markers using the mocap technology innovators like Vicon (tools - Cara & Blade). Its uses the physics term "conducting" to capture the emittings or reflections. This method is more flexible than the Mechanical mocap as the performer is free to move without any cables attached to him. The main drawback are the dots (markers) - the performer has to be careful not to interrupt its transmissions, else, it would result in the failure of the capture for that particular body. In these cases the whole act has to be redone as there is no possible corrections if there is no image.

3/ Electromagnetic - The performer wears a set of magnetic receivers which tracks his position thru static magnetic transmitter. The major problem here is the restriction with respect to distance. The magnetism decreases when the distance increases. The technology improvement has produced wireless magnetic systems but still the performer has to wear a heavy and bulky suit. It can be noted here that it’s one of the basic and primary mocap which was used in the military.

There are sub categories for mocap, for exemple : biofeedback sensing which measures bodily movement from the heart, brain, retina, eyes, skin, and muscles extensively used in medical, sports & music (let’s not see all the various available ones as this post is already getting bigger)

How Motion Capture works :
In a full body motion capture, the performer is glued with sensors (markers) in selected places of the body. A collective set of markers are configured into segment bodies with respect to the performers weight, body structure and influence (degrees of freedom). The real-time movements of performers like blinking, breathing, hand gestures, or the secondary actions like walking, foot hitting the ground & all the minute movements associated with such actions are captured live. The most tedious part are capturing the expressions. The mocap technology used (like Vicon) has inbuilt program components which optimizes the capture of the expression making it look more interesting on screen. Finally you got the voice recognition systems which allow almost real-time synchronization of mouth movements with words. On real time capture it will be out of sync due to the lapse between movement’s capture and words (remember lightning strikes before thunder concept). So what they do is they store the sound in the audio banks for information and reproduce it (using Rasul Pookutti ... LoL) and mix it with the images. Here again they use the ancient methods of dubbing to correct the lags or put back the sync. These are 2 things talked about KSR in his interview. As the mocap is usually associated with movement and not sound waves, much attention should be given to the audio bank. If it goes missing or not recorded it would turns the whole situation upside down and I suppose you will not have another choice but reshoot that particular scene. This is why I was talking about the problems while corrections.

Kochadaiiyan connection (What I can come up with, keeping in mind the limited infos circulating about the making) :
Its Optical mocap. I would bet on the Vicon Capture Technology using Cara. Cara is designed to make motion pictures of any size to bring characters to life through advanced facial tracking and capture. It is well versed for producing high-quality character realism. Whereas Blade is its optimization. You could have seen the clips of making of the movie where the actors were roaming about in green suit with dots on their faces and something clipped before their face. So you have your Optical green suit, the markers and the camera. Using wireless technology the information triangulated between them is captured. And then using the softwares the audio bank is constructed simultaneously.

Synthesis
Mocap is nothing but capturing full body movements, facial expressions and tracking any movement of environmental objects connected in real-time. High accuracy 3D motion tracking are used to track the multitude of sensing every angle precisely and for high speed motions, 4-tracker system is used to continuous register calibration of the capture area thru sub-millisecond latency data output for perfect real-time capture.

This brief (Nov I again used this word ... just kidding) post is just a drop on mocap. Now we are all set to discuss about Kochadaiiyan without bringing in other movies as the only source of information.

omega
10th September 2013, 04:14 PM
The teaser gives some hope. I had absolutely given up on this movie long time ago.
Without going into too much details, thalaivar movie after 3 long years in itself is enuff!!

10th September 2013, 06:03 PM
Unga point ellam unmaithan.. but it simple to understand here.,. Rajni has been used as an Oorukai here...

Ennathan Rajni nadichaalum padam nalla illaina oothikkum.

oorukai , chicken kabab etc etc .. padam release anna perragu peasalam..

10th September 2013, 06:53 PM
Official teaser has viewed by 1.25 Million views in a day+ hours....

10th September 2013, 06:55 PM
Hubla psezahaya pagela padicha theirum... Chendramukhilam oothikichunu sonnanga....

10th September 2013, 07:23 PM
The story is based on Pandiya dynasty, it should be an interesting one!

Teaser is OK, at least we can get to see some kind of hope that the movie is going to be released soon within 2013.

Don't get it Params.. Chola Dynasty-na interesting-ah irukkaadhaa?

10th September 2013, 07:30 PM
In addition, Ambulimama & bala mithra storoies are great to make as a movie for kids.

Russellfws
10th September 2013, 07:32 PM
hw cn u say tat.. u jus saw a teaser nt a whole movie...

if so, then there is no point in releasing teasers/trailers for any movies..

besides, i was referring to the whole process of 7 years where the daughter just used rajini's name to get away with her laziness..

10th September 2013, 07:41 PM
Don't get it Params.. Chola Dynasty-na interesting-ah irukkaadhaa?

No bro, I did not mean it like that , Ayirathil Oruvan was "Primarily" based upon Chola dynasty, (though it had a pandian dynasty elements to it), so it would be interesting to see a story primarily based on Pandian dynsaty nu sonnEn that's all :)

10th September 2013, 08:42 PM
if so, then there is no point in releasing teasers/trailers for any movies..

besides, i was referring to the whole process of 7 years where the daughter just used rajini's name to get away with her laziness..

I'm not going to support each and every action of rajini and his family....

What does it mean? I do not know what's the reason behind the delay....problems may include finance, technology, incapability to handle technology, poor project management skill, personal commitment...it could be anything...

I think the primary reasons could be finance and incapability to handle the project... but i'm sure for one reason... the teaser is better than SUltan-the warrior... I expect the movie will follow the same.

Russellfws
10th September 2013, 09:15 PM
the teaser is better than SUltan-the warrior... I expect the movie will follow the same.

Legit comparison.. :-)

Russellfws
10th September 2013, 09:16 PM
oorukai , chicken kabab etc etc .. padam release anna perragu peasalam..

Vantha.. appuram pesalam :)

10th September 2013, 09:58 PM
I know "Exactly" where this discussion will end! :sigh2:

10th September 2013, 10:51 PM
I'm not going to support each and every action of rajini and his family....

What does it mean? I do not know what's the reason behind the delay....problems may include finance, technology, incapability to handle technology, poor project management skill, personal commitment...it could be anything...

I think the primary reasons could be finance and incapability to handle the project... but i'm sure for one reason... the teaser is better than Sultan-the warrior... I expect the movie will follow the same.

The Way I looked at this whole Sultan / Koachadiiyaannnn Project was , it was Rajini's daughter's pet project. As a father he ok-ed his daughter's dream project period. Funding, schedule, technological challenges, More players like EROS, KSR getting involved all happened because of various factors like success of shivaji and enthiran and his health issues Rana got shelf-ed.

May be the whole team underestimated challenges , thinking just like our Indian offshore teams :). We can do anything and everything attitude without understanding what they are getting in to.
To make matters worse , Soundaryji went around claiming , this will be in- par with Bewolf (which was crude hollywood attempt using MO-CAP) compared to what they have done with this technology over the years. She created more buzz by involving some renowned western studios and making videos, I told people than it was immature and I am telling you now it is an immature marketing. So people had higher expectation from end product (maybe). I am not one of them :)

Knowing Indian standards , this end product will never be close to "International Quality". We lack basics things like Discipline, Creativity, Passion". I sincerely hope future generations come out of these boundaries and create something we are proud of.

This project is in right direction for creating a new market in Indian cinema. I am not sure whether this will be a 100% perfect product which will wow the audiences, that only time can answer.

All I (most RK fans) care is to see him on screen in some form.

10th September 2013, 11:00 PM
A2A / Dilbert,
Yes, the problem could be anything. Given such a situation, I think Kochadaiiyan respected the TTM (time to market). Some "smoking smiley" poster exaggerated a bit pulling in the Sultan episode without knowing what to fish in which waters. That's a known syndrome when a person jumps from posting smileys to sentences.

I will not coin it as delay, but the time taken can be justified. As we don't have a proper data on the project execution, I would consider the lack of technology mastery playing a big factor. Secondly, the capturing part would have taken a while as its not the same type of screen-writing nor direction. Its a very demanding task for all the participants as "imagination" is the only clue given to them. Thirdly, the processing part which would have taken the most amount of time and as said by KSR each unit is placed around several corners of the world + one unit's final product is the next unit's initial requirement. So most of the units were paid to be on standby which shoots up the production cost. Add in the delay/errors which shudders down the project planning. Fourthly the major part is with the director to give in all the inputs to be integrated as the environment. Last but not least, coloring, corrections, music, RR and all. So the TTM is quite large and it would be interesting to see the road-map of the project, which we obviously can't.

If you take Sony, NaughtyDog or UBIsoft, they have their own technical team which could work round the clock for a year or 2 to bring out a final product. As a gamer, I followed few launch stuff through PS3 portal + followed the development of certain games. So I can see the delay when a project of this magnitude is taken up in India. Maybe Soundarya would open many doors for future aspects in TFI, but pathetically she got to take in all the criticisms too. I would support any director or film maker wrt illogical & personnel criticisms even though I am more towards the audience views.

In my POV a "lazy" director cannot even come out with a teaser and only a person who is "lazy" to understand could say au contraire.

11th September 2013, 01:27 AM
project like this needs a lot more preproduction work than regular movies including story narration and visualization....If they had started to do work on this script only after thalivar got ill (as KSR claims). Then I do not want to comment on their preproduction plan. I'm not sure how many years of experience she has in the industry to direct a full length movie or animation/cartoon/3D movie set aside the rajini factor which demands more from any technician. If she really wants to immortalize her dad, she should have started smaller project (like prototype) to test the water in terms of technical capability, financial viability and market reaction etc.
Comparing each and every movie with Hollywood is like comparing recent movies BO performance with enthiran in TFI....the bench marker is not going to change, at least for the near future.... It is rubbish to talk our movies is reaching the standards of Hollywood. slogans like "If we have money we could do better". Money is secondary in the world. As dilbert mentioned, we as Indians fundamentally lag few things.

11th September 2013, 01:35 AM
total no of official trailer views in a (day + hours) 1,573,217

easygoer
11th September 2013, 07:50 AM
No bro, I did not mean it like that , Ayirathil Oruvan was "Primarily" based upon Chola dynasty, (though it had a pandian dynasty elements to it), so it would be interesting to see a story primarily based on Pandian dynsaty nu sonnEn that's all :)

KSR is no selvaraghavan... IMO, KSR will not delve much into pandya dynasty lifestyle, their conquests, politics etc., I am just expecting a neat commercial package with some good punches thrown into the script

11th September 2013, 10:55 AM
KSR is no selvaraghavan... IMO, KSR will not delve much into pandya dynasty lifestyle, their conquests, politics etc., I am just expecting a neat commercial package with some good punches thrown into the script

where Selva showed the lifestyles of Chola dynasty? :huh: he showed totally a different culture...

11th September 2013, 02:24 PM

yeah agreed.

11th September 2013, 04:55 PM
For whatever it's worth, here are my 10 observations (actually 11!) on Kochadaiiyaan, based on the teaser: http://j.mp/17OGKWn

11th September 2013, 07:03 PM
NI media discusses the teaser

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkggODih68I&feature=youtube_gdata_player

11th September 2013, 07:40 PM
NI media discusses the teaser

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkggODih68I&feature=youtube_gdata_player

What are they saying? I dont understand hindi

11th September 2013, 07:50 PM
The video just briefs us about Kochadaiiyan by repeatedly telling us that its first of a kind film in India/Asia. Then ofcoarse the dish of the era - "Avatar-&-Tintin-same-technology-sucess". A bit about Photo Realistic technique - don't worry much, they just explain it in the lines of how to insert a pen drive in a computer and copy the file from it to the hard drive. Finally they sign of by saying that even their superstar SRK flopped Ra1, but can the god of Indian Cinema make a change with Kochadaiiyan.

If you wish to know the exact word-by-word details, let me know I can do it for you this evening.

And in the begining : Md. Tarik ... LoL. pesikittey irrukumbothu ... chup chup-nu off panitanga ammani ... LoL

easygoer
11th September 2013, 07:50 PM
Provided that the movie would release surely, I foresee the following possible scenarios

1.The movie would come up with a great quality and not like teaser. (In this case, all the stake holders would be happy)

2. The movie would come up with a decent quality, may not be perfect but still worth to be called as passable effort.(In this case, the reception would be a mixed bag, but still the movie might coverup its costs)

3. The animation part may be average but still KSR's screenplay,dialogues and Rahman's music might save the show upto larger extent(In this case, movie might coverup its costs)

4. The animation might be very bad with good story & screenplay (Hard to guess, the move might fall on any way)

5.Both the animation part and story part might be average(Hard to guess, the move might fall on any way)

6.As dilbert mentioned, this movie might appeal to age group of 8-14 alone.(In this case, movie might coverup its costs, thanks to the family audience along with kids)

7.The movie would be bad altogether,including story, screenplay and animation(In this case, movie would be a complete disaster)

My assumption is that any Rajini movie with atleast something worth mentioning would attract larger audience. So scenarios (2) and (3) would be enough for the movie to have a decent run. Scenario (1) would ensure repeated viewing which in turn would increase the revenue largely.

I think, Scenario 1 is unlikely, I am hoping the movie would fall somewhere between scenarios (2) and (3) because the investors would be much more concerned about the ROI than us

I completely agree with the technological challenges and all the limitations including budget, director being a first timer, difficulties in understanding the technologies and effective usage of it etc.,but soundarya should be careful with her marketing statements

The better option available for the team is to first completely analyze the product, identify all the unique points of the movie, have a positioning statement that would list the unique points alone, hire a good PR professional and make the unique points alone prominent in all the communications, So that audience would atleast have an idea of what to expect from the movie

easygoer
11th September 2013, 08:04 PM
where Selva showed the lifestyles of Chola dynasty? :huh: he showed totally a different culture...

:) What I mean to say is KSR would not get into so much detailing about pandiyan dynasty. To the maximum, he would have written the glorifying story of a warrior. SR would not fit into this format and whether he depicted the exact culture of cholas or not is a different story...

11th September 2013, 08:05 PM
The better option available for the team is to first completely analyze the product, identify all the unique points of the movie, have a positioning statement that would list the unique points alone, hire a good PR professional and make the unique points alone prominent in all the communications, So that audience would atleast have an idea of what to expect from the movie

Very well put, easygoer.

11th September 2013, 08:05 PM
If you wish to know the exact word-by-word details, let me know I can do it for you this evening
don't wrorry, thanks for the explanation :)

Arvind Srinivasan
11th September 2013, 08:33 PM
While the whole hullabaloo has been about the animations and its quality or the lack of it, people have conveniently forgotten the need for a good story and screenplay to back it up. I believe it is the single most important thing in a movie be it any genre. So hopefully the makers dont screw that up. The story from what I saw from the above posts sounds intriguing. So hopefully KSR and Soundarya have got their acts together on this.

11th September 2013, 09:13 PM
Very well put, easygoer.

As per me its little late for all this stuff.

11th September 2013, 10:22 PM
While the whole hullabaloo has been about the animations and its quality or the lack of it, people have conveniently forgotten the need for a good story and screenpay to back it up. I believe that it is the single most improtant thing in a movie be it any genre. So hopefully the makers dont screw that up. The story from what I saw from the above posts looks intriguing. So hopefully KSR and Soundarya have got their acts together on this.

Exactly, I'm seriously more skeptic about the story and screen play than the technical work. Those Hollywood animation movies had great story and visuals. If movie do not have good story and screenplay, people feel irritating after few awful scenes (????)

PS. I'm just thinking about the prowess of KSR. "police Giri"....

11th September 2013, 11:09 PM
Exactly, I'm seriously more skeptic about the story and screen play than the technical work. Those Hollywood animation movies had great story and visuals. If movie do not have good story and screenplay, people feel irritating after few awful scenes (????)

PS. I'm just thinking about the prowess of KSR. "police Giri"....

What he directed police giri??

Brianengab
11th September 2013, 11:31 PM
soundarya ashwin ‏@sound_a_rajini 53m
2 million thanks for 2 million views :) !!! Will make sure to give u all a great trailer & movie . .. Need all ur support!!!

12th September 2013, 12:01 AM
What he directed police giri??

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Policegiri

it's the tamil remake of SAAMI.

12th September 2013, 12:59 AM
teaser was on expected lines .. soundarya kitta irunthu expect panrathu evvalavu periya thappu .. she is tweeting as if she is super happy about the youtube views.. infact, she must be very worried abt the increasing views for this teaser..

12th September 2013, 03:20 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Policegiri

it's the tamil remake of SAAMI.

and it was a big washout.

Still, this is KSR's reunion with Rajni since Padaiyappa yes? We expect a racy movie then since duration is 124min.

12th September 2013, 05:18 AM
teaser was on expected lines .. soundarya kitta irunthu expect panrathu evvalavu periya thappu .. she is tweeting as if she is super happy about the youtube views.. infact, she must be very worried abt the increasing views for this teaser..

Vangea Anban , yeappadi irrukengea? We (Rk Fans) seriously bank on supporters like yourself to make any RK movie a success. This is no different :). I am sure Soundaryaji would have taken your criticism with some Sambar and rice :) (I am feeling hungry now)

How I wish

First round , with some chicken kabab, bangalore style briyani may couple of fish fries.
Second round, with white rice and sambar with chicken side dish
Third round white rice and rasam with some chicken kabab

I really miss India !!! :cry:

CEDYBLUE
12th September 2013, 08:53 AM
Vangea Anban , yeappadi irrukengea? We (Rk Fans) seriously bank on supporters like yourself to make any RK movie a success. This is no different :). I am sure Soundaryaji would have taken your criticism with some Sambar and rice :) (I am feeling hungry now)

How I wish

First round , with some chicken kabab, bangalore style briyani may couple of fish fries.
Second round, with white rice and sambar with chicken side dish
Third round white rice and rasam with some chicken kabab

I really miss India !!! :cry:

Since when did we start calling Superstar 'RK'? :)
There is one other actor in TN who goes by the name 'RK' :)

12th September 2013, 10:09 AM
Since when did we start calling Superstar 'RK'? :)
There is one other actor in TN who goes by the name 'RK' :)

Since when did , we need to answer some new-bees and honey bees?

12th September 2013, 10:19 AM
and it was a big washout.

Still, this is KSR's reunion with Rajni since Padaiyappa yes? We expect a racy movie then since duration is 124min.

KSR Rajni Combo will work Anyday. Not becos KSR is talanted(in fact its opposite ;) ) But its becos, his Asst.Directors would rush up with interesting storylines to impress KSR and thus Rajni, and obviously Rajni will easily choose a most interesting and commercially viable plot! So its becos of Rajni and the Aspiring Asst Direcotrs, KSR is just a tool and mere excecutor here! In Kamal movies, his role will be much more limited, hope that union doesn't happen in future

12th September 2013, 11:08 AM
KSR Rajni Combo will work Anyday. Not becos KSR is talanted(in fact its opposite ;) ) But its becos, his Asst.Directors would rush up with interesting storylines to impress KSR and thus Rajni, and obviously Rajni will easily choose a most interesting and commercially viable plot! So its becos of Rajni and the Aspiring Asst Direcotrs, KSR is just a tool and mere excecutor here! In Kamal movies, his role will be much more limited, hope that union doesn't happen in future

:goodidea:

Ramkumar86
12th September 2013, 11:55 AM

How do u know tat? Do u have any inside sources in KSR's unit? KSR directed many superhit movies not only with rajni and kamal but with many other heroes. I think his biggest mistake is his association with kamal. That too accepting direction to kamal's stories like manmathan ambu. Thats why you guys are interseted to shrink him to a puppet image like santhanabharathy and sangeetham had.

12th September 2013, 12:19 PM
Both villain and Varalaaru he brought story rights from some other. Surely he wud be having a decent team of ADs. Even without all this, i am not impressed by even his non Kamal/Rajni films. Just my opinion though!

Oh yeah he is surely above Santhanabarathi, he and Singeetham Srinivasa Rao cannot be compared. For me the later is a decent director.

12th September 2013, 12:54 PM
How do u know tat? Do u have any inside sources in KSR's unit? KSR directed many superhit movies not only with rajni and kamal but with many other heroes. I think his biggest mistake is his association with kamal. That too accepting direction to kamal's stories like manmathan ambu. Thats why you guys are interseted to shrink him to a puppet image like santhanabharathy and sangeetham had.

manmadhan ambu was a good film, only problem was that imho, Kamal was over qualified for that role, may be Maddy in Kamal's role and some one like Ajmal / Jeeva in maddy's role would have made ppl appreciate the film for its value...and not over expect from such a light story

Russellfws
12th September 2013, 01:02 PM
I guess those bees know all from super stars to power star... I guess he likes Superstar to be called "RK" :-)

Russellfws
12th September 2013, 01:05 PM
manmadhan ambu was a good film, only problem was that imho, Kamal was over qualified for that role, may be Maddy in Kamal's role and some one like Ajmal / Jeeva in maddy's role would have made ppl appreciate the film for its value...and not over expect from such a light story

Movie had is depth, execution (specially the second half) was poor to hell..

12th September 2013, 01:09 PM
சகல சொன்னது மாதிரி கே.எஸ்.ஆர் ஒண்ணும் பெரிய தில்லாலங்கடி இல்லைன்றது என் கருத்து. விக்ரமன் படங்கள் இப்போ பாக்குறதுக்கு காமெடியா இருக்குற மாதிரி இவர் படங்களும் ஆயிடுச்சு. நேத்து கே டிவில சமுத்திரம் பார்க்கும் வாய்ப்பு கிடைத்தது. இப்படி ஒரு 'உலக மகா உத்தம குடும்பத்தை' உருவாக்க இவரால் மட்டுமே முடியும். படையப்பா கூட ரஜினி இல்லைன்னா (இப்போ) பாக்குறது ரொம்ப கஷ்டம்.

Russellfws
12th September 2013, 01:11 PM
Pista.. eppa telecast pannalum paarkkalm... :-)

12th September 2013, 02:50 PM

OMG... Do you think KSR is a fool to join with Kamal if he is not getting anything..

Your first lines are fine as he is capable of giving a hit movie with any Actor..

12th September 2013, 02:52 PM

:shock: One of the most tedious films I have ever seen.

12th September 2013, 02:54 PM

enna koduma sir!!

12th September 2013, 02:54 PM
Take SS away from Padaiyappa, it would be a task to watch the movie

12th September 2013, 02:56 PM
enna koduma sir!!

I did not like it sir :) but really enjoyed Panchathanthiram though. it had the simmy factor :lol2: :yessir:

12th September 2013, 02:59 PM
Take SS away from Padaiyappa, it would be a task to watch the movie

do you think a story written for Superstar will click with any other hero doing that.. the story is written for SS only..

Russellfws
12th September 2013, 03:01 PM

one thing, kochadaiayan teaser has indeed created alot of especdations...just not the ones they had intended...! :lol2:

12th September 2013, 03:01 PM
do you think a story written for Superstar will click with any other hero doing that.. the story is written for SS only..

No you got me wrong :) , what I meant was that without Rajni, Padaiyappa would have sucked big time.

12th September 2013, 03:33 PM
No you got me wrong :) , what I meant was that without Rajni, Padaiyappa would have sucked big time.

edho namakku purinja varaikkum naan badhil sonnEn...

idhukku mEla idha vitruvOm... :D

12th September 2013, 04:02 PM
Bundling up all KSR laurels (you guys forgot Jaggubhai - the climax helicopter fight innum yen kannu munalaya irruku + Police giri partha adhirshtamum ennaku undu, full movie is there on youtube), so bundling up all KSR laurels, I feel that the theme they choose itself is a win-win suituation.

Let me explain : From time to time a period film takes a walk in TFI. And most of them were well received. Not going into other such movies in detail - if we take Chandramukhi, the Vettaiyan part was the biggest boost. When I saw it with my partner on the National French Television, she was completely hooked to the "lakakala" followed by the whole dance sequence. I got to constantly remind her that Rajini and Vettaiyan are 2 different persons where one is real and the other is reel, as she started to say that Rajini chopped the head off... LoL. So why I say that is - always an epic genre movie is welcomed. Each audience finds something interesting in it. If you take any dream-song sequence, a Historical backdrop visuals are instant hit than the swiss connection.

Taking Kochadaiiyan, for the mocap essay they could have gone for a complete fantasy or after the sucess of Endhiran they could have stuck with a sci-fi. But incarnating Rajini as a Prince adds more value (but ofcoarse I agree that the marketing strategy not being upto the point - they are hyping it as though Rajini is more than a super-hero - thats why I favored easygoer's crisp summary).

Actually, I wished not to talk about the fonctional parts and stick to the technical side as I found Mocap quite interesting and there is much much more to talk about. But as the arrows (posts) are pointing towards story-screenplay-direction, here is my guess (which comes with "maybe") : Kochadaiiyan is about a "chanakya-in-warrior-costumes". It could be about a Prince who with his manipulating technics gets back his kingdom, that which was forcefully taken from his ancestors. He gradually brings down the roof and exposes the throne upon which he claims his rights. I made that up after listening to several interviews. If its atleat 50% in these lines, it could be interesting, plus, add in 3 Rajinis : like (Muthu Style (a sageous calmness), Vettaiyan Style (an arogant one) + a Prince - that should come as a suprise (take Alaudinum Arputha Vilakkum as a reference). So, as my favorite star Uma Thurma says : Hey! what (else) did you expect, I suppose how the movie could proceed is already enough to keep "anyone" engaged.

What bothers me the most in the Mocap (accompanied with comparisons). Thats why I spent some time to talk about it so that we, atleast here, know its ups and downs. But what teaser has brought in (+ & -) will be doubled during the trailor release. Then you got songs release, promos, stills, posters before finaly the movie hits the screens. So lets get 'nitrogen booster pumps' installed to our fingers as there is much much more to type in.

Russellfws
12th September 2013, 09:32 PM
'கோச்சடையான்' ட்ரெய்லரை யூ டியூப்பில் லட்சக்கணக்கான மக்கள் பார்த்ததால் பூரித்துப் போயிருக்கிறார் சௌந்தர்யா.

'அப்பா படத்துக்கு நல்ல ரெஸ்பான்ஸ் இருக்கு. தீபாவளிக்குப் படத்தை ரிலீஸ் செய்யலாம்' என்று சௌந்தர்யா சொல்ல, ரஜினி தாடையைத் தடவியபடி சின்னக்கண்களால் மோட்டுவளையை மேய்ந்தாராம்.

'தீபாவளிக்கு வேணாம் பேசாம பொங்கலுக்குப் போயிடலாம்' என்று மகளிடம் சொல்லி விட்டாராம்

என்ன காரணம்? என்று ரஜினி தரப்பில் விசாரித்தால், ''ரஜினி, கமலுக்கு அடுத்தபடியான ஹீரோக்கள் விஜய், அஜித் ரெண்டு பேருமே தங்கள் படங்கள் ஒரேநாளில் ரிலீஸ் ஆகறதை விரும்பாம தெளிவா தவிர்க்குறாங்க.

அவங்களே அப்படி இருக்கும்போது, ரஜினி எவ்வளவு யோசிப்பார்? தீபாவளிக்கு கமலோட 'விஸ்வரூபம்2' ரிலீஸ் ஆகிறது.

அப்போ 'கோச்சடையான்' படத்தை வெளியிட்டு கமல் படத்தோட ரஜினிபடம் மோதறதை விரும்பலை. அதனால்தான் ரஜினி சௌந்தர்யா பேச்சுக்கு செவிசாய்க்கலை'' என்று விளக்கம் சொல்கிறார்கள்.

Source: Vikatan

guess they want a bigger release since teaser's response has been tremendous...!

thamiz
12th September 2013, 10:20 PM

If that is the case, KH does not know what his "real qualifications" are?! And he does not know how to choose the "what he qualified" to do? Whose problem is that? Not the audience problem!

He should know what he is qualified for. Or at least he needs to talk to shrinks like Rsubra before choosing any role and discuss whether he is overqualified or under-qualified or whatever. That's not our problem. We can only see what is presented in that movie. We are only going comment or criticize based on what was presented.

Some people can substitute different actors and watch that movie in their mind. Not everyone is as "gifted" as "Rsubra"! :lol:

12th September 2013, 10:22 PM
youtube hit record kodukkarathu oru periya vishayama...it all depends on the ppl involved in it....and in some cases, the kind of promotion that goes with it........ rather than quality of the actual product.....

12th September 2013, 10:23 PM
If that is the case, KH does not know what his "real qualifications" are?! And he does not know how to choose the "what he qualified" to do? Whose problem is that? Not the audience problem!

He should know what he is qualified for. Or at least he needs to talk to shrinks like Rsubra before choosing any role and discuss whether he is overqualified or under-qualified or whatever. That's not our problem. We can only see what is presented in that movie. We are only going comment or criticize based on what was presented.

Some people can substitute different actors and watch that movie in their mind. Not everyone is as "gifted" as "Rsubra"! :lol:

imho nu thaane sir sonnaen..athuku en ippadi varureenga... :)

thamiz
12th September 2013, 10:25 PM
youtube hit record kodukkarathu oru periya vishayama...it all depends on the ppl involved in it....and in some cases, the kind of promotion that goes with it........ rather than quality of the actual product.....

What if it have had only 1000 views so far. I think that would have been a BIG DEAL! :lol:

thamiz
12th September 2013, 10:28 PM
imho nu thaane sir sonnaen..athuku en ippadi varureenga... :)

Every comment is the commenter opinion only. It sounds redundant when you emphasize that! :)

12th September 2013, 11:35 PM

Which union? KSR-Rajni or KSR-Kamal?

I agree with you on KSR-Rajni. I think Ramesh Kanna (close associate of KSR) must have given inputs for Muthu/Padaiyappa. But given the background is historical subject, will KSR copy-paste from Magadheera (he's copied Athadu concept in Aadhavan, so not surprising.)

I agree that KSR should not work with Kamal for sometime now. That fellow Udhay spoiled MMA with his infusion of comedy in the latter half and then tweets that movie did not make enough at BO. Yet, this fellow is getting roles after that fluke hit in mOKkai mOKkai. <end dig>

Brianengab
12th September 2013, 11:47 PM
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Regional/Kochadaiyaan-will-be-a-game-changer-Soundarya-Rajinikanth/Article1-1121095.aspx?htsw0023

Kochadaiyaan will be a game changer: Soundarya Rajinikanth

13th September 2013, 12:36 AM

After seeing kamal in hefty roles...i did feel the same when i saw the movie.

13th September 2013, 12:38 AM
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Regional/Kochadaiyaan-will-be-a-game-changer-Soundarya-Rajinikanth/Article1-1121095.aspx?htsw0023

intha mathiri dialoguellam koraikannum....thalivar padathukku thaanavey hyper varum.... ivanga vera extrava ethuku......that too when planning to release the movie few months from now....

13th September 2013, 01:12 AM
intha mathiri dialoguellam koraikannum....thalivar padathukku thaanavey hyper varum.... ivanga vera extrava ethuku......that too when planning to release the movie few months from now....

Its not her fault , I think its more to do with Audi generation of India's attitude :) - Empty drums does make more noise !

Btw who the hell started 2 pages worth of unnecessary discussion about KSR and KH :sigh2: here?

Brianengab
13th September 2013, 05:06 PM
soundarya ashwin

Off to china !! Taken all ur feedback.Trailer Will be longer and have our thalaivar s voice :) No twitter there, Will tweet once I'm back!!

14th September 2013, 10:16 AM
http://www.eenaducinema.com/movie-news/kochadaiyaan-first-look-creating-waves-on-the-web/8948.html
The Telugu version of ‘Kochadaiyaan’ has been titled as ‘Vikrama Simha’ and the theatrical rights of this version have been bagged by Lakshmi Ganapathi Films at huge price of Rs 30 Cr.

16th September 2013, 03:58 PM
http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tamil/news/2013/kochadaiyaan-teaser-will-feature-rajinikanth-voice-soundarya-rajinikan-119959.html

ALWAR_AJITH
17th September 2013, 07:04 PM
Expecting atleast release songs by this deepavali.. :sad:

18th September 2013, 12:42 PM

Should be a Game changer... I think the trailer will be top notch one..

23rd September 2013, 03:40 PM
Superstar Rajinikanth's upcoming 3D animated film, Kochadaiyaan, is setting the internet on fire with its latest teaser.

The official teaser trended for two days and has been the most popular video on YouTube. In fact, for two days before the teaser launch, #MakeWayForRajiniSir, #Kochadaiiyaan and Kochadaiiyaan were trending on Twitter, within four hours of the start of the campaign. As soon as the teaser was launched, there were 5 trends on twitter that left everyone awestruck!

Now, the teaser has crossed over 2 million hits in 2 days!

23rd September 2013, 08:26 PM
Superstar Rajinikanth's upcoming 3D animated film, Kochadaiyaan, is setting the internet on fire with its latest teaser.

The official teaser trended for two days and has been the most popular video on YouTube. In fact, for two days before the teaser launch, #MakeWayForRajiniSir, #Kochadaiiyaan and Kochadaiiyaan were trending on Twitter, within four hours of the start of the campaign. As soon as the teaser was launched, there were 5 trends on twitter that left everyone awestruck!

Now, the teaser has crossed over 2 million hits in 2 days!

2 million-laam thaandi remba naal aachu paramu...

24th September 2013, 02:41 PM
2 million-laam thaandi remba naal aachu paramu...

Sari Ghandiya suttathu enaku ippa thaan theriyuthu :lol:

26th September 2013, 05:33 PM
Song : Engae Pogudho Vaanam
Singer : SPB
Composer : ARR
Film : Kochadaiyaan
Date of Release : 7th Oct,2013
Source : Sony Music South,Twitter Handle.

26th September 2013, 05:36 PM

yet another SPB song for SS intro!

26th September 2013, 05:38 PM

I am waiting...

26th September 2013, 05:40 PM
I am waiting...

Me too the Last SPB+ARR intro song for RK , which I liked the most is "Oruvan oruvan muthalali" .

26th September 2013, 05:42 PM
Me too the Last SPB+ARR intro song for RK , which I liked the most is "Oruvan oruvan muthalali" .

BallElakkaa-vukku enna korachal.. adhuvum nallaa thaanE irunchu..

26th September 2013, 06:55 PM

athu thaanga first....

26th September 2013, 08:19 PM
BallElakkaa-vukku enna korachal.. adhuvum nallaa thaanE irunchu..

Nothing wrong, it is just my preference :)

26th September 2013, 08:21 PM
athu thaanga first.... :lol: I know it was the first RK + ARR combo, what I meant was that is the song I liked ..

26th September 2013, 08:27 PM
i loved pudhiya manidhaa better than ballelakka... ofcourse oruvan oruvan is cult...

Brianengab
26th September 2013, 08:28 PM
Softu .. Welcum back yaa :)

26th September 2013, 08:56 PM
i loved pudhiya manidhaa better than ballelakka... ofcourse oruvan oruvan is cult...

English dorai , yeppadi irukegenea, remba nallachi!

27th September 2013, 10:05 AM

kalyanam aanadhukkappuram hub pakkam adikkadi varadhilla... romba busy-ah irukkeenga pOla..

27th September 2013, 03:02 PM
Softu .. Welcum back yaa :)

aiyO unga posting padichu padichu, ennaku therinja English ellam maranthu pochu ! :)

Brianengab
27th September 2013, 03:04 PM
aiyO unga posting padichu padichu, ennaku therinja English ellam maranthu pochu ! :)

ean'ga.. athu'na frnds'kku phone'la sms panni panni pazhagi potchu'nga.. so athuva varuthu.. :(

27th September 2013, 05:14 PM
Is Engae Pogudho Vaanam the same song in this clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CDErUyk55Q ? If so, then it will be the second romantic duet sung by SPB for SS composed by ARR, the first one being Suthi Suthi. If it isn't the same song in the clip then we can expect another song sung by SPB for the mass intro sequence.

Puthiya Manida is my favourite song too but its execution in the movie was non-existent so can we call it an intro song for SS. Just sharing my thoughts on the song from different thread http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8723-Boom-Boom-Robo-da-II-Shankar-Rajini-Aishwarya&p=593679&viewfull=1#post593679 I'm surprised why Shankar who delivered the best climax in Indian Cinema couldn't do Justice to ARRs song on screen. May be it was his choice or may be ARR's song so powerful that no cinematography will do justice to it.

In terms of execution than Balleileka stands tall any day

27th September 2013, 05:51 PM
If it isn't the same song in the clip then we can expect another song sung by SPB for the mass intro sequence. Of course! :)

easygoer
6th October 2013, 01:13 PM
You can hear the glimpse of enge pogutho vaanam

https://www.airtelhellotunes.in/tone/search-result/movie/@Kochadaiiyaan

easygoer
6th October 2013, 01:20 PM
Surely a great intro song for thalaivar...

6th October 2013, 02:13 PM
Surely a great intro song for thalaivar...

Some really great lines with ARR's Children's rhymeish tune... SPB :notworthy: even a lousy tune will sound heartwarming with his golden voice.

6th October 2013, 05:55 PM
Quickly hear it before it gets taken down...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMo2G1VQnT0&feature=share

6th October 2013, 06:52 PM
Full song vennum ji *ground-roll-crying*

7th October 2013, 01:38 AM
Full song vennum ji *ground-roll-crying*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8YWirNqtxwA

7th October 2013, 01:40 AM
What a song.
SPB and chorus singing fantastic.
ARR orchestration is xtraordinary
Vairamuthu's lyrics are gems.

I like this a lot better than the teaser.

7th October 2013, 02:11 AM
Thanks ajaybaskar.

(Thalaivar message received. Over.)

Epic. When it comes to Rajini, don't know from where ARR picks up these sounds. Spl. mention to the Choral. SPB pathi tomorrow this thread will overflow.
Waiting for other songs / CD.

7th October 2013, 02:24 AM
Grand Majestic Orchestration _/\_....almost like Warrior in battlefield feel trumphet blows you away....EPIC..What a Voice by SPB ....Rajini na Rahman always gives a special...

7th October 2013, 03:38 AM
http://caughtinthemusicalstorm.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/kochadaiiyaan-engae-pogudho-vaanam-review/

I’ve clearly let myself down. When the release date of the single was announced I thought to myself that I will enjoy the album as a whole and avoid temptation of being drawn to hear the single but the Rahman Ji fan in my mind lost the battle to the Rahman Ji devotee in my heart. If I spend more time with a single compared to the whole album that shouldn’t affect my likeness for the rest of the album, should it? Songs just come with the wind, some take you with them and some don’t.

I started listening to “Engae Pogudho Vaanam” with zero expectations as I’ve come to the stage where it makes me cringe if the fanatic inside me starts spurting pointless praise and also expectations create disappointments. It’s time for a superficial analysis and respect this song as ARR, SS & SPB’s debut. Impossible? No, never lol

So the song starts off like numerous Film scores from Disney but its SPB whose shoulders the song rides on. He carries the song from strength to strength. I’m no linguist but the pronunciation sounds so pure and so “Thamizh” unlike the “Madras Bashai” and “Tanglish” clogging up the scene these days. Rahman Ji has definitely taken the back seat this time and has let SPB take complete charge. By the way, whilst listening to this song did anyone else feel that SPB should have sung Arima Arima.

I’m not trying to say that Rahman Ji is completely overshadowed. The arrangement is very generic for this sort of song and there is no signature interlude that used be the highlight of his songs back in the day. But if we go beyond this retrospection then we can witness innovative elements in Rahman Ji’s composing style. Very Hollywood-ish is an understatement and I don’t want to sound defensive but no other song in the history of Indian Cinema has completely transported me to Hollywood. We don’t want him to be like them but who are we in deciding that? Conversely, the vocals sound very earthy reflecting the Royal Sangam Period. When SPB chants the lines, “Vetri Changoli Endrume. Oyaadhu… Oyadhu” then I cannot help but bow down the veterans calibre. The melody is very un-ARR-ish but immediately catchy and that itself proves the credibility that inspires many alike.

Rahman Ji has pushed the envelope for himself in giving full freedom to SPB. He squeezes in Carnatic and Medieval sounds in parallel that it’s hard to distinguish the two in this otherwise Complete Western Classical Score.

Where does Rajini Sir fit admits this? Rajini Sir is the skeleton and SPB is the flesh. The two are synonymous. Prior to SPB’s intro one can imagine him riding his horse at lightning speeds. To top this, in the film we will see him an animated avatar. Oh Gosh I’m really getting excited like a kid but I’m not going hang on to these excitement just yet.

Watch this space?

Happy Listening

Sunil Malhotra

7th October 2013, 05:23 AM
Wow Pearl Diamond !! your lyrics are rear diamonds indeed !Thalaivaar Thanking his fans put a smile and some tears in eyes :).

PS : John Williams :sigh2: we are NOT expecting next starwars until 2016 save your notes !

How I can forget SPB! thank you sir for another good intro song.

7th October 2013, 11:09 AM
ARR :bow: perfect intro song..

7th October 2013, 11:37 AM
Superb Orchestration ! Good Lyrics.. Surprise is the younger Voice from SPB. Hope to get the entire Album soon..

7th October 2013, 11:55 AM
The usage of brass brings all the grandeur to the song.. Pullarips

7th October 2013, 04:15 PM
Wow Pearl Diamond !!

Took a while to decipher it. LoL. good one !

The usage of brass brings all the grandeur to the song.. Pullarips

super ji. Same pullarips

So the song starts off like numerous Film scores from Disney ...

Firstly a sincere write-up speaking the experience you had while listening to the song. Last night I visited the site and read several articles. Good ones. Bookmarked it.
Just wanted to mention that the opening was like making Superman doing a u-turn and going back to Krypton to retire in a chair, giving way for the Warrior Prince. The grandeur is extraordinary.

7th October 2013, 06:35 PM
lol am good dilbert...