View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 7

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16

sudha india
27th May 2013, 09:40 AM
HELLO K aka K.Yaanai

PM check pannunga.... apram neengale announce pannunga.

Madhu kudutha link MF odadha ??? Nice Madu...

Green appleaiyum vittu vaika maateengala? GA pickle. GA.

27th May 2013, 03:52 PM

என் மேல என்ன கோபம் ? ஏன் என்னை மாடு ஆக்கிட்டீங்க ? :cry2:

kugan98
27th May 2013, 06:37 PM
HELLO K aka K.Yaanai

PM check pannunga.... apram neengale announce pannunga.

Green appleaiyum vittu vaika maateengala? GA pickle. GA.

Thanks Sudha for your nice post.
I have answered your pm. Now I can breath freely.

Paarungga, Nama Madhu anneh's better half is a super cook.
Will post the green apple pickle soon.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
27th May 2013, 06:40 PM

Madhu Anneh! :rotfl3::rotfl3::rotfl3:

I have made the moor rasam.
Super taste with the omam.
Will post picture soon.
Thanks and take, Kugan

uwitiusoj
27th May 2013, 11:28 PM
Oh good to know that Madhu annehs wife is great cook and the blog.

Madhu Shree

The Bhindi Onion chukka taste abaram. Was skeptic that the raw onion flavor wont go but it got fried in the last few mins. Definetly will make this a lot more times. thanks for the recipe.

28th May 2013, 04:35 AM
Wow ! Kuganji.. waiting for the Green Apple picke recipe.
Once my chithi made pickle with left over small size green apples, without any preservatives.
As there was no fridge in the village, we finished it in 2 days :slurp:

Madhu Sree
28th May 2013, 02:50 PM
Wow sangeetha cool. Thanks for trying, enjoy... :)

Madhu Sree
28th May 2013, 02:51 PM
Madhu pappa, K... Green apple pickleaa... hmmmm heights of innovation.. epdithaan yosikkiraangaalo. :sigh2:

Try pannittu sollunga K :)

sudha india
28th May 2013, 03:36 PM

Oh. I am so sorry paps. I dont get angry with babies. Spelling mistake Maddhhuu, then, honey, wine, music

Madhu Sree
28th May 2013, 07:19 PM
I prepared sabudhana spicy kitchadi by browsing through various websites... it did come out well and yes it was yummy...
But wanted to taste the ones prepared by others appo thaan naan senjadhu correctaanu theriyum...
Am planning to do that again soon and post out the picture. K, neenga appo paaththu correctaa irukaanu sollunga..
If you have this recipe please share... :)

I have small sabdhudhana pearls only, looking forward to try with large ones, oorukku poi thaan try pannanum :sigh2: till then i will try with small ones...

28th May 2013, 07:22 PM
I prepared sabudhana spicy kitchadi by browsing through various websites....

mayilamma..

enakkum solli kodunga.. I want to prepare like this. :redjump:

Even Kuganji can prepare only with stove/oven or something like that. But eppadi ungalale mattum website browse senjE kichadi seyya mudinjadhu ? :shock:

( வம்பெல்லாம் இருக்கட்டும். சாபுதானா கிச்சடி சின்ன ஜவ்வரிசியில் செஞ்சாதான் டேஸ்டியா இருக்கும்னு பம்பாயில் இருக்கும் என் ஃப்ரெண்டு சொன்ன விவரம். ஆனால் அதுக்கு ஆதாரம் தெரியாது )

kugan98
29th May 2013, 08:11 AM
Oh good to know that Madhu annehs wife is great cook and the blog.

Madhu Shree

The Bhindi Onion chukka taste abaram. Was skeptic that the raw onion flavor wont go but it got fried in the last few mins. Definetly will make this a lot more times. thanks for the recipe.

Thanks Sangeetha for your nice post.
Yes I too cooked Madhu Sree's Bhindi Onion Chuka, the taste was yummy.
Try other recipes, when you have the time and post the feed backs.
Thanks and take care, Kugan

kugan98
29th May 2013, 08:34 AM
Wow ! Kuganji.. waiting for the Green Apple picke recipe.
Once my chithi made pickle with left over small size green apples, without any preservatives.
As there was no fridge in the village, we finished it in 2 days :slurp:

Madhu anneh, finally I managed to talk to the cook for the green apple recipe.
Kettavudan "chapunu poochi" just like our instant mango urukaai.
Anyway I got his recipe, tried it out and posting it in the forum.

Apuram I tried out the moor rasam and parupu thogayal.
Super poongga. My granny taught me parupu thogayal.
She had added little shallots, curry leaves and little tamarind, no coconut.
I will post the pictures of both. Try it out friends.

Moor Rasam:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3805/8873807127_3579a31bf8_z.jpg

Parupu Thogayal:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5454/8874425964_13af873c4a_z.jpg

kugan98
29th May 2013, 08:41 AM
Madhu pappa, K... Green apple pickleaa... hmmmm heights of innovation.. epdithaan yosikkiraangaalo. :sigh2:

Try pannittu sollunga K :)

Thanks Madhu Sree for your nice post.
Nowadays our caterers are trying to be very innovative.
All types of fusion cooking. Good for us.
I will post the recipe.

kugan98
29th May 2013, 08:45 AM
Dear P.S Tamby, thanks for the nice information.
All of us use the computer, at least we know what to do.

I too had , something like a fly flying in front of my right eye.
The doctors told me that are called floaters, nothing can be done.
Something to do with the retina.
Let me see how else God can punish me.

kugan98
29th May 2013, 09:05 AM
I prepared sabudhana spicy kitchadi by browsing through various websites... it did come out well and yes it was yummy...
But wanted to taste the ones prepared by others appo thaan naan senjadhu correctaanu theriyum...
Am planning to do that again soon and post out the picture. K, neenga appo paaththu correctaa irukaanu sollunga..
If you have this recipe please share... :)

I have small sabdhudhana pearls only, looking forward to try with large ones, oorukku poi thaan try pannanum :sigh2: till then i will try with small ones...

Dear Madhu Sree, let me show you how I make sabudana kitchadi.

SABUDANA (SAGO) KITCHADI

Ingredients:
2 cups sabudana
¼ cup green peas ( optional)
¼ cup dry roasted pea nuts (chopped roughly)
2 green chillies slit into 4 and cut across
1 big potato cut into small cubes and fried
2 tbs grated coconut

2 tbs oil
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tbs lime juice
Little coriander leaves chopped
Salt to taste

Method:

Wash the sabudana and soak it for 3 hours.
After 3 hours drain in a colander and keep aside.

Heat oil in a non-stick pan.
Add in the mustard seeds and cumin seedsand curry leaves.
When they crackle, add in the green chillies and green peas.
Stir for a second, add in the turmeric powder.

Now add in the soaked sabudana and salt.
Fry on a medium heat, stirring gently until the sabudana
becomes translucence. It will be about 5 to 6 minutes.

Now add in the grated coconut, fried potato cubes,
roasted peanuts, and the lime juice.
Give every thing a very gentle stir.
Remove and garnish with the coriander leaves.
Serve hot, taste will be very yummy.

This is how raw sabudana looks:

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-vpDSifIA8Wc/TbesPECyqbI/AAAAAAAAAfQ/Q4D8ALchLwE/s1600/img9063t.jpg

This is how soaked sabudana looks:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-x2FyKDiRI1M/TbesS6iCQFI/AAAAAAAAAfU/SqXR3Wkous4/s1600/img9061o.jpg

The cooked sabudana kitchadi:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-Shaj-Pps9fw/TbesIRPz6bI/AAAAAAAAAfM/KulfF6OD07s/s320/img9067.jpg

kugan98
29th May 2013, 09:09 AM
Ahemm! green apple oorukaai.

GREEN APPLE OORUKAAI

Ingredients:

1 tbs gingelly oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 inch ginger cut into sticks
6 pips of garlic cut into sticks
1 sprig of curry leaves

3 tsp of chillie powder
2 tbs of water
2 tbs of vinegar

3 green apples cut into small cubes
¼ tsp roasted fenugreek powder
A big pinch of asafetida powder
Salt to taste

Method:
Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add in the mustard seeds.
Let it splutter, add in the ginger , garlic and curry leaves.
Sauté till the ginger and garlic are little brown.

Add in the chillie powder, give a quick good stir.
Add in the water and vinegar, allow it to boil.
Add in the cut apple pieces, give a good stir.

Add in the fenugreek powder, salt and asafetida powder.
Combine well, and remove from the stove.
Let it cool completely , before storing in an air tight bottle

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2869/8873810563_747a81107f_z.jpg

kugan98
29th May 2013, 09:11 AM
Received mangoes from India.
Enna samaikalaam:think::think:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7301/8874428378_e6225cab26_z.jpg

sudha india
29th May 2013, 10:53 AM
Juice / milk shake pottu kudikkalaam

29th May 2013, 01:53 PM
Mango mousse (eggless) senju saapdalaam..

idhO internet-la thirudiya recipe....

Ingredients

one cake
Mango Pulp-1 1/2 cup
Condensed Milk-1/2 cup
Fresh Cream-1 cup
Mango Essence-1 tsp
Gelatin-2 tsps
(Those u r concerned about using gelatin,U can substitute same amount of pectin or 8.5 grams of agar-agar.)
Water-3 tbsps

Method
1.Grind the pulp into fine paste
2.Blend the mango pulp with condensed milk
3.Whip the cream till it reaches to stiff peak
4.Melt the gelatin with water and add it to mango pulp and mix it vigorously
5.Fold the whipped cream with the mango mix
6.Cut the cake using the mold itself,pour the mix and set it refrigerator for 2 hours

To make Mango glaze on top
Take equal amount of sugar and mango pulp and cook it until the bubbles settle down..Let it cool and then apply on top

To unmold ,slightly push the cake from the bottom and release the mousse....
Since the underneath is cake,u can easily unmold it...But if the mousse looks collapsed and not in form ,
reset the mousse ,keep the mold in freezer for 5-10 minutes...I am sure it works,After u unmold it,
place it in a tray until u need to u serve it

Thats a professional touch,keeping the mousse in cold mode for few minutes,
if your refrigerator temperature doesn't suit to set the mousse...

29th May 2013, 02:20 PM
I too had , something like a fly flying in front of my right eye.
The doctors told me that are called floaters, nothing can be done.

IF I am right , I think it is called Glaucoma, it can be serious pls regulalry consult your eye Dr !

sudha india
29th May 2013, 02:22 PM
Endha hotel-la mango mousse kidaikudhunu pakkanum. Recipe padikkave kashtama irukku.
Madhu has posted for Kugan.

29th May 2013, 04:50 PM
Egg illaamal mousse? Impossible!

29th May 2013, 05:45 PM

மௌஸ் ஒரு பாலூட்டி உயிரினம் (mammal). முட்டையில் இருந்து வருவதில்லை. so NO எக்ஸ் ஃபார் மௌஸ். :yessir:

29th May 2013, 05:46 PM
Endha hotel-la mango mousse kidaikudhunu pakkanum. Recipe padikkave kashtama irukku.
Madhu has posted for Kugan.

kavalai pada vENdam. Kuganji vandhu idhaiyE eppadi simple-a seyyalamnu solluvar. appuram senju saapidalam :slurp:

Madhu Sree
29th May 2013, 11:15 PM
K, thx a lot for sabhudhana kichdi, my version is little different, I ll post it soon sure.
Ungaloda versionum try pannittu solren.. Thx K <3...

Madhu pappaaaa ungalukku solli kudukkaaama Vera yaarukku solla poren, seekaram post panren :)

29th May 2013, 11:51 PM
Make mango kulfi ! :) Aunty makes kulfi for dinner parties! :lol: But, I like raw mango with salt. Mango must be picked by me from a mango tree! :lol:

Received mangoes from India.
Enna samaikalaam:think::think:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7301/8874428378_e6225cab26_z.jpg

30th May 2013, 04:18 AM
Make mango kulfi ! :) Aunty makes kulfi for dinner parties! :lol: But, I like raw mango with salt. Mango must be picked by me from a mango tree! :lol:

Mango kulfi !! wow ! I love it ! ( Usually ask the caterers to add it in the menu for the marriage feasts organized by me :slurp: )

adhu sari vathiyarayya.. mango.... from a mango tree ! :think: if not... then from where else ? :yessir: ( vathiyar adicha vali thaangaadhu ...)

30th May 2013, 05:09 AM
adhu sari vathiyarayya.. mango.... from a mango tree ! :think: if not... then from where else ? :yessir: ( vathiyar adicha vali thaangaadhu ...)

kuzhandhaikku padichchu purinjikka theriyalaiyaa? 'picked by me from a mango tree! :)

sudha india
30th May 2013, 09:28 AM
மௌஸ் ஒரு பாலூட்டி உயிரினம் (mammal). முட்டையில் இருந்து வருவதில்லை. so NO எக்ஸ் ஃபார் மௌஸ். :yessir:

POST OF THE DAY !!!!

Idhuvallava badhil !!!! arivu ! arivu !!! oru pachai kuzhandhaikku ivlo arivanu HUB is :think:

Raj uncle... arivu pappa apdithan kekkum.

30th May 2013, 11:47 AM
kuzhandhaikku padichchu purinjikka theriyalaiyaa? 'picked by me from a mango tree! :)

awwww.. Now you are picking AT me ! :cry2:

30th May 2013, 03:36 PM
When I was a kid, used to love Raw mango with a pinch of chillie powder and salt :slurp: But was always "vary" of picking it from s tree, for some reasons we used to get lots of snakes hanging around mango trees :shaking:

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:15 PM
Juice / milk shake pottu kudikkalaam

Thanks Sudha, mango milk shake pottu kudichaachi.
Thanks for the idea. Thanks and take care, Kugan.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2820/8891363392_5b034c9853_z.jpg

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:17 PM
Thanks Madhu anneh for the recipe.
I will try it out soon, and post it with picture.

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:18 PM
IF I am right , I think it is called Glaucoma, it can be serious pls regulalry consult your eye Dr !
Thanks P.S Tamby for your concern.
Will keep that in mind.

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:20 PM

NOV anneh, at least for Madhu anneh's sake,
I will try out the mousse without eggs.

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:22 PM
K, thx a lot for sabhudhana kichdi, my version is little different, I ll post it soon sure.
Ungaloda versionum try pannittu solren.. Thx K <3...

Madhu pappaaaa ungalukku solli kudukkaaama Vera yaarukku solla poren, seekaram post panren :)

Thanks Madhu Sree for your nice post.
Let us know your version of the sabudana kitchadi.

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:25 PM

Thanks Rajraj uncle for the idea of making mango kulfi.
The kulfi is already in the freezer. Will remove it tomorrow.
I will post the pictures then. Made few with the kulfi moulds.
The remainder in a bowl. Thanks and take care, Kugan

kugan98
30th May 2013, 08:27 PM
When I was a kid, used to love Raw mango with a pinch of chillie powder and salt :slurp: But was always "vary" of picking it from s tree, for some reasons we used to get lots of snakes hanging around mango trees :shaking:

Have to try one day eating raw mangoes with salt and chillie powder.
Wow, pallu kuusuum.
Kugan

Madhu Sree
30th May 2013, 09:17 PM
Have to try one day eating raw mangoes with salt and chillie powder.
Wow, pallu kuusuum.
Kugan

illa yummy aa irukkum... :slurp:

uwitiusoj
30th May 2013, 11:45 PM
K did ur recent post mushroom curry. went well with dosai as it had coconut milk

kugan98
2nd June 2013, 03:08 AM
K did ur recent post mushroom curry. went well with dosai as it had coconut milk

Glad you liked the mushroom curry.
TAKE CARE, Kugan

rose75
3rd June 2013, 04:41 AM
Kuganka, waiting for your kulfi picture and recipe.
I am sure the kulfi would have finished in your house by now.

kugan98
3rd June 2013, 06:56 AM
Rajraj uncle, thanks for the idea of making mango kulfi.
It turned out well.
I am posting the recipe and picture, the recipe is from my friend.
Please let me know if this is the way aunty makes the kulfi.
Otherwise let us know the recipe. Thanks, Kugan

Mango Kulfi

Ingredients:

500 ml fresh milk
1/4 cup powdered milk
1/2 cup condensed milk
1/4 cup sugar

1 cup mango pulp nicely blended
Method:
Combine all the ingredients, except the mango pulp.
Boil in a non stick pot, simmer for for about 10 minutes ,
to get a little thicker. Remove and cool completely.

Now add the mango pulp and whisk well.
If you freeze in a bowl, you can remove when it is a bit harden,
whisk again and let it freeze again.
You will get a creamy mango kulfi.
Or pour it into moulds in the beginning itself. and freeze.
Enjoy

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3747/8931219590_be35ffbea8_z.jpg

kugan98
3rd June 2013, 06:58 AM
Kuganka, waiting for your kulfi picture and recipe.
I am sure the kulfi would have finished in your house by now.

Sorry Rose, first flicker was not working the whole day yesterday.
I do not know how else to upload the picture.
If anyone knows please kindly let me know.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
3rd June 2013, 07:02 AM
Madhu anneh I made the mango mousse.
Athuvum, without eggs and gelatine.
I used agar agar powder.

NOV anneh ippa enna sollreengga:victory::victory:

Kugan

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7356/8931222094_59bb764d99_z.jpg

kugan98
3rd June 2013, 07:04 AM
The response is so great for mangoes.
Mango custard, ripe mango curry, mango pudding.
Apapa, I am running out of mangoes.
Kugan

3rd June 2013, 02:37 PM
The response is so great for mangoes.
Mango custard, ripe mango curry, mango pudding.
Apapa, I am running out of mangoes.
Kugan

Dont forget Mango pickle and Mango chutney :)

4th June 2013, 05:15 AM
Dont forget Mango pickle and Mango chutney :)

maampazha oorukaai? That is a new one ! :lol:

rose75
4th June 2013, 07:22 AM
Thanks Kuganka for the mouth watering kulfi picture and recipe.
Raj raj sir, how do you all make the kulfi?
Rose

vasudevan31355
4th June 2013, 11:12 AM
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_NedNenlsK9w/TU1-SWYiYFI/AAAAAAAAAAU/AR2JWx1Fi7Q/s1600/009.JPG

புளிக்காய்ச்சல் செய்வதை சொல்லித் தருகிறேன். Try பண்ணிப் பாருங்கள். ரொம்ப ஈஸி. கொஞ்சம் எள்ளு, கொஞ்சம் வெந்தயம், 5 காய்ந்த மிளகாய், இரண்டு ஸ்பூன் கடலைப்பருப்பு, ஒரு ஸ்பூன் கொத்தமல்லி விதை(தேவைப்பட்டால்) இவற்றை வாணலியில் கொஞ்சம் எண்ணெய் விட்டு தனித் தனியாக வறுக்கணும். அதற்கு முன் எலுமிச்சம்பழ சைஸில் புளியை எடுத்து தண்ணீரில் மூழ்கும் அளவு ஊற வைக்கணும். அதில் கொஞ்சம் பெருங்காயத்தூள், மஞ்சள் தூள் போடணும். கொஞ்சம் வேர்க்கடலையை தனியாக வறுத்து வைக்கணும்.

ஆச்சா! அடுத்து அடுப்பில் வாணலியை வைத்து இரண்டு கரண்டி நல்ல எண்ணையை ஊற்றணும். எண்ணை காய்ந்ததும் சிறிது வெந்தயம் போட்டு கிள்ளி வைத்த காய்ந்த மிளகாய் ஐந்தை அதன் தலையில் போடணும். கூடவே இரண்டு ஸ்பூன் கடலைப் பருப்பைப் போடணும். க.பருப்பு சிவந்ததும் கொஞ்சம் கறிவேப்பிலையை போட்டு புளித்தண்ணீரை வடிகட்டி ஊற்றனும்.

இடைவேளையில் அரைத்து வைத்த பொருட்களை மிக்சியில் போட்டு ஒண்ணும் பாதியுமா அரைக்கணும். (வறுத்த கடலையைத் தவிர) புளித்தண்ணீர் கொதித்து எண்ணெய் பிரிந்து வரும் போது அரைத்த பவுடரைப் போட்டு தீயை சிம்மில் வைத்து 10 நிமிடம் கொதிக்க வைக்கணும். வாசனை ஊரைக் கூட்டும். பின் வறுத்த வேர்க்கடலையைப் போட்டு, முந்திரி சிறிது வறுத்து அதையும் சேர்த்தால் சுவையான புளியோதரைக் குழம்பு ரெடி.

பின் சாதத்தை உதிரியாய் வடித்து ஆறவைத்து சிறிது நல்லெண்ணெய் ஊற்றி பின் புளியோதரைக் குழம்பை ஊற்றி கைபடாமல் சாதத்தை பக்குவமாக கிளற வேண்டும்.

அதற்குள் அக்கம் பக்கத்தில் உள்ளவர்கள் உங்கள் வீட்டு வாசலில் வந்து நிற்க ஆரம்பித்து விடுவார்கள்.

இது என் சொந்தப் பக்குவம். copy,paste பண்ணல.

செஞ்சு பார்த்துட்டு feed back கொடுங்க.

sudha india
4th June 2013, 12:11 PM
Vasudevan sir, neenga ezhudhi irukkira style is very delicious. Feed back will follow.

4th June 2013, 03:46 PM
maampazha oorukaai? That is a new one ! :lol:

Thaatha I meant Maangai :poke:

kugan98
5th June 2013, 07:10 AM
Rajraj uncle, P.S Tamby, ungga rendu per vambukku naan :yessir::yessir::rotfl::rotfl:

kugan98
5th June 2013, 07:22 AM
Thanks Rose, for the post.
No one has given me an alternative link other than flicker.
take care, kugan.

kugan98
5th June 2013, 07:29 AM
Vasudevan sir, neenga ezhudhi irukkira style is very delicious. Feed back will follow.

True, Vasudevan sirs, way of writing the recipe, itself,
would make one to try out the recipe.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
5th June 2013, 07:36 AM
அதற்குள் அக்கம் பக்கத்தில் உள்ளவர்கள் உங்கள் வீட்டு வாசலில் வந்து நிற்க ஆரம்பித்து விடுவார்கள்.
I like this sentence:-D

Vasudevan Sir, a very big warm welcome to Kugan's Kitchen.
You have made your appearance with a big bang, meaning with a picture.

Your recipe sounds very yummy, the way of putting them super.
I am cooking your dish tomorrow, to distribute to about 20 poor people.

This is my service every month, Thanks.
I will post the picture after cooking tomorrow.

vasudevan31355
5th June 2013, 08:14 AM
ரொம்ப நன்றி சுதா அவர்களே.

அருமையா வரவேற்பு குடுத்துட்டீங்களே குகன். நானும் என்னோட நன்றியை தெரிவிச்சுக்கிறேன். ஏழைகளுக்கு தாங்கள் செய்யிற உதவியை நெனச்சி பெருமைப்படறேன்.
நானும் தங்களைப் போல செய்ய முயற்சி செய்யறேன். உங்க நல்ல மனம் வாழ்க!

vasudevan31355
5th June 2013, 08:15 AM
சீக்கிரம் மீன் குழம்போட வரேன் :)

kugan98
5th June 2013, 08:49 AM
My son's classmate came to stay for the weekend. I served them, bread, baked beans and mashed potato, for breakfast.
He told me, " aunty, you serve the baked beans as it is, my mom makes masala baked beans"
"Why don't you ask her how to do? I felt :oops2: I did not think about that.
Here is the recipe.

MASALA BAKED BEANS

Ingredients:

1 tsp oil
2 pips of garlic chopped
1 onion chopped

1 tsp chillie powder
A pinch of turmeric powder
¼ tsp garam masal powder

¼ cup frozen mixed vegetables
1 big can of baked beans
Salt to taste

Little coriander leaves to garnish.

Method:
Heat oil in a non stick pan. Add in the chopped garlic.
Sauté well till a nice aroma comes, add in the chopped onions.
Sauté again till it turns lightly golden. Add in the all the powders.

Give a quick mix, add in the thawed mixed vegetables.
Give a nice stir, add in the can of baked beans with the sauce.
Add in the salt to taste, let it come to a quick boil.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves

Serve with bread, chapathi or any thing you fancy.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7312/8954432677_e6cbff4137_z.jpg

kugan98
5th June 2013, 08:54 AM

Thanks Vasu Sir, for your quick response.
I am sure many will benefit from your yummy recipe.

I can add in something else instead of fish.
We are vegetarians. Thanks again.
Take care, Kugan

5th June 2013, 09:08 AM

Cuddalore fish or Porto Novo fish? :)

vasudevan31355
5th June 2013, 10:29 AM
Cuddalore fish or Porto Novo fish? :)

http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00820/CUAVRHI-W048_GCG3L2_820311e.jpg

cuddalore old townil vaangum original kadal meenaakkum.

5th June 2013, 11:48 AM
Thanks Vasu Sir, for your quick response.
I am sure many will benefit from your yummy recipe.

I can add in something else instead of fish.
We are vegetarians. Thanks again.
Take care, Kugan

Kuganji..

can you list out some items which can be used instead of non-veg items. Coz in some recipes we can use potatoes and likewise some other vegetables.
But its better to keep a list so that we can refer easily. Plz prepare such a list and give us.

amitha
5th June 2013, 07:38 PM
Can some one translate the recipe of vasudevan31355 to english for those who do not understand tamil please? Thanks

uwitiusoj
5th June 2013, 09:52 PM
K

can you please give me the recipe of baked beans? instead of the can ones.

thanks

kugan98
6th June 2013, 07:40 PM
Kuganji..

can you list out some items which can be used instead of non-veg items. Coz in some recipes we can use potatoes and likewise some other vegetables.
But its better to keep a list so that we can refer easily. Plz prepare such a list and give us.

Thanks Madhu Anneh for your nice post and suggestion.
Give me some time, I will prepare the list.
Thanks and take care, kugan

kugan98
6th June 2013, 07:43 PM
Can some one translate the recipe of vasudevan31355 to english for those who do not understand tamil please? Thanks

Welcome to Kugan,s Kitchen Amitha.
I will translate Vasu sirs recipe in English soon.
I hope you can try our recipes and give us the feedback.
Thanks and take care, kugan

kugan98
6th June 2013, 07:46 PM
K

can you please give me the recipe of baked beans? instead of the can ones.

thanks

Thanks for your nice post Sangeetha.
I can give you the recipe to make baked beans.
They use navel beans to do.
You can get the beans in U S.
I will post the recipe soon for you.
Meantime take Care Of your Health.
Kugan

kugan98
6th June 2013, 07:52 PM
Vasu
sir, your puli satham came out super .
As you said my whole house was having the gama gama smell, after making the puli kaachal.
I made and distributed to the poor today. I have taken pictures.
I should say not as good as yours. I think I made the podi a bit finer.
The sadest part is that, my PC is giving me some problem again.
Hope to solve soon and post the picture.
Or I have to seek the help of my NOV Anneh for that.
Thanks and keep your recipes rolling.
Kugan

kugan98
7th June 2013, 05:27 AM
O.K Amitha, my son meddled a bit and pc working temporarily.
Here is the English version, not 100% but it works.
This is how I did. Kugan

PULI. SAATHAM

Ingredients:
Seasonings:

2 tbs gingerly oil
2 tsp channa dal
1/4 tsp fenugreek seeds
5 dry red chillies broken into pieces
1 sprig of curry leaves

1 lime sized ball of tamarind, soaked in 2 cups of water
1/4 tsp asafoetida powder
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
salt to taste
Squeeze the tamarind juice, strain, add in the turmeric and asafoetida powder.
Mix well and keep aside.

To Roast and made into coarse powder:
1/2 tsp gingerly oil
2 tsp channa dal
1 tsp sesame seeds
1 tsp coriander seeds. (optional )
5 dried chillies
1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds
Roast the ingredients one by one. When cool grind to a coarse powder.
Keep aside.

3 tbs peanuts, dry roasted and remove the skin
1 tbs cashew nuts, roasted ( optional )

1 kg rice, boiled with little salt, uthir- uthir and strained
1 tbs gingerly oil

Method:
Heat a wok with the oil,add in the channa dal, once it is brown,
Add in all the other ingredients and sauté for a minute.
Add in the strained tamarind water, sim the flame in the stove.
Boil for about 10 minutes, oil should separate from the gravy.
Add in salt to taste, remember that you will be adding salt in the rice.

Add in the coarsely ground powder, mix well and remove.
Boil the rice with little salt. Cook the rice uthir- uthir.
Strain the rice, add in the gingerly oil and mix well.
Once cooled, add in the tamarind mix, and mix gently.

kugan98
7th June 2013, 05:34 AM
PULI SAATHAM:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5329/8972799661_9d2b0a906b_z.jpg

THIS IS HOW I PACK:
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7312/8974235958_3bef3d335b_z.jpg

kugan98
7th June 2013, 06:07 AM
Dear Sangeetha here is your baked beans recipe.
I prefer to buy:-D Kugan

BAKED BEANS

Ingredients:

1 cup navy beans
4 cups of water

Sauce:
¼ cup tomato sauce
¼ cup maple syrup
2 tbs molasses
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
½ tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground perpper
1/4 tsp chillie powder
1 small onion chopped very fine or minced

Method:

Soak the navy beans over night in lots of water.
At least for 8 hours. Drain.
In a pot add 4 cups of water, and boil on medium heat,
For about an hour, drain and reserve the cooking liquid.

Mix all the sauces well in a 1 ½ quart casserole.
Add in the strained beans , mix well.
Add in the strained cooking liquid to cover the beans ¼ inch above.

Pre heat the oven to 190 degrees centigrade.
Cover the casserole and cook for 10 minutes.
Then reduce the heat to 95 degrees and cook for 2 hours.
Stir the beans after they have cooked for 2 hours.

Cook for another 2 hours, see that the beans are tender and the sauce has reduced
And is sticky. Remove from the oven, stir and allow to stand for 10 minutes.
Serve with bread or your choice.

NOTE: you can reduce the molasses if you do not want too sweet.

DRIED NAVY BEANS:
http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3708/8974154180_21fdc92baa_z.jpg

7th June 2013, 08:18 AM
Pack paNNiyaachchilla. enakku anuppi vainga! :lol:

PULI SAATHAM:
THIS IS HOW I PACK:

vasudevan31355
7th June 2013, 01:55 PM
Excellent kuganji... vaasanai indu varaikkum adikkuthu. udane saappidanum pola irukuthe.

7th June 2013, 03:58 PM

Seekiram annupunga , pasikuthu :slurp:

uwitiusoj
10th June 2013, 11:47 PM
thank you K for the baked bean soup, will try it on friday. looks heathy. me into lot of soups and salad based food to reduce weight.

I think in your blogspot Dev might have sorted it out category wise. It will be nice if she gives me access as I am searching soup salad keerai recipes from all your forums 1 to 7.

puli sadham tempting i dont think i will be able to stop with a small portion of it. Will complete two boxes which i am not allowed while losing weight.:cry2:

kugan98
11th June 2013, 02:59 AM
Rajraj uncle and P.S Tamby, did you both go to the airport,
to receive the p[acket of puli saatham that I sent?:rotfl::rotfl:

kugan98
11th June 2013, 03:05 AM
Excellent kuganji... vaasanai indu varaikkum adikkuthu. udane saappidanum pola irukuthe.

Vasu sir, I am not joking, or just telling you to please you.
My whole house was having the gama gama smell, after doing the puli kaachal.

Usually, my house would be crowded with relatives, children during the school holidays.
One relative who came to fetch his child, tasted the puli saatham, told ,me,
that he would be coming to my house next month again and wants the puli kaachal,
as well as the puli saatham.

Thanks Vasu sir, keep your recipes rolling.
Kugan

kugan98
11th June 2013, 03:09 AM
thank you K for the baked bean soup, will try it on friday. looks heathy. me into lot of soups and salad based food to reduce weight.

I think in your blogspot Dev might have sorted it out category wise. It will be nice if she gives me access as I am searching soup salad keerai recipes from all your forums 1 to 7.

puli sadham tempting i dont think i will be able to stop with a small portion of it. Will complete two boxes which i am not allowed while losing weight.:cry2:

Thanks Sangeetha for your nice post, you can try the puli saatham, you will not regret.
Good, diet for 6 days and on the 7th day, gift yourself with what you like.

Please see your pm regarding the blog.
TAKE CARE, Kugan

kugan98
11th June 2013, 03:29 AM
I am not joking, school holidays are usually very taxing for me.
My house will be filled with close relatives children.
All expect me to give them crash course during holidays.

Not only that I have to cook and bake their favourites and appapa.
Made mee curry, pizzas, spaggetti , paal aapam, cookies biryani and so on.
This happens every school holidays.

Well I feel very happy when the call me to say that they have done well in their exams,
and thanks to my coaching.:-D You feel satisfied for your hard work.

Thanks Kugan

kugan98
11th June 2013, 03:36 AM
Usually with avarakkai, we add them into sambar, or make poriyal.
Try this avarakkai curry. Kugan

AVARAKAAI CURRY

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp urad dal
1 sprig of curry leaves

1 big onion chopped
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
3 red tomatoes chopped fine

¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
¼ tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste

200 grms avarakaai cut into 1 inch pieces
¼ cup of water
1 tbs chopped coriander leaves

Method:

Heat a pan with the oil, add in the seasonings, let them splutter.
Add in the onions, ginger and garlic and sauté till the raw smell goes.
Add in the tomatoes, and cook till they turn mushy.
Add in all the powders and salt, stirfry for a second.

Now add in cut avarakaai, and stir fry well for a minute.
Add in the ¼ cup of water, lower the flame and cook for about 10 minutes.
The avarakaai should be cooked, remove and garnish with the coriander leaves.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7439/9010035731_ba0035f5f7_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8546/9010091239_288864f815_z.jpg

12th June 2013, 09:23 PM
What is AVARAKAAI ??? some sort of beans ? :roll:

amitha
13th June 2013, 12:16 AM
Thank you Kugan for your immediate response and translation. Will give the feedback.

13th June 2013, 12:21 AM
Paramashivan: Here is avarakkaai for you! :lol:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8546/9010091239_288864f815_z.jpg

13th June 2013, 02:28 PM
Paramashivan: Here is avarakkaai for you! :lol:

Thaatha , what I meant was, what is Avarakkai in English? :poke: :)

13th June 2013, 02:33 PM
Thaatha , what I meant was, what is Avarakkai in English? :poke: :)

edhukku vathiyarayyavai poking ? In English its AVARAIKKAI only.. in tamil its அவரைக்காய்... :noteeth:

sudha india
13th June 2013, 02:59 PM
Madhu is biting in each and every thread !!!!!

13th June 2013, 03:03 PM
Madhu is biting in each and every thread !!!!!

இல்லாட்டி போரடிக்கும் சுதாஜி...

You know I am really a very serious person ( Like Thirumaran :boo: ) :noteeth:

sudha india
13th June 2013, 03:32 PM
:lol: amam enge avara konja naala kaanum ? nijammave offila velai panraara ?

13th June 2013, 03:37 PM
:lol: amam enge avara konja naala kaanum ? nijammave offila velai panraara ?

எதுக்கு அவரை காய்றீங்க ?>

13th June 2013, 05:20 PM
edhukku vathiyarayyavai poking ? In English its AVARAIKKAI only.. in tamil its அவரைக்காய்... :noteeth:

Mudiyalla :rotfl:

Madhu anna

Do you know the English name for "Nellikai", "Naaval pazham" ?? :)

13th June 2013, 05:36 PM
PS...

nellikkai is Indian gooseberry I think.. the botanical name is Phyllanthus emblica
Naval pazham ? May be Indian blackberry... But they say jamun only everywhere..

13th June 2013, 05:53 PM
PS...

nellikkai is Indian gooseberry I think.

:clap: I knew gooseberry, but never heard of Indian Gooseberries, you are right check these images http://www.google.co.uk/search?gs_rn=17&gs_ri=psy-ab&suggest=p&cp=8&gs_id=n&xhr=t&q=gooseberry&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.d2k&biw=1280&bih=843&wrapid=tljp1371126001892014&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=9ri5Ua_EJMPYPeuigeAD.

:ty:

13th June 2013, 05:58 PM
P.S.

check these images for INDIAN GOOSEBERRY (http://www.google.co.uk/search?gs_rn=17&gs_ri=psy-ab&suggest=p&cp=8&gs_id=n&xhr=t&q=gooseberry&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.d2k&biw=1280&bih=843&wrapid=tljp1371126001892014&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=9ri5Ua_EJMPYPeuigeAD#um=1&hl=en&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=indian+gooseberry&oq=indian+gooseberry&gs_l=img.3..0l10.18251.22627.0.22884.33.19.6.0.0.9 .186.2109.12j7.19.0...0.0.0..1c.1.17.img.06CTo2hUo cg&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.bmk&fp=85f8b48d1fa54c60&biw=1600&bih=781)

13th June 2013, 08:26 PM
P.S.

check these images for INDIAN GOOSEBERRY (http://www.google.co.uk/search?gs_rn=17&gs_ri=psy-ab&suggest=p&cp=8&gs_id=n&xhr=t&q=gooseberry&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.d2k&biw=1280&bih=843&wrapid=tljp1371126001892014&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=9ri5Ua_EJMPYPeuigeAD#um=1&hl=en&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=indian+gooseberry&oq=indian+gooseberry&gs_l=img.3..0l10.18251.22627.0.22884.33.19.6.0.0.9 .186.2109.12j7.19.0...0.0.0..1c.1.17.img.06CTo2hUo cg&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.bmk&fp=85f8b48d1fa54c60&biw=1600&bih=781)
:ty: annah

Kugan akka

Indian gooseberry recipes please :)

13th June 2013, 11:19 PM
Do you know the English name for "Nellikai", "Naaval pazham" ?? :)

You should chew gooseberry and drink water. See how it tastes! :) If you get it from the tree yourself it tastes better. I used to do it! :lol:

Naval pazham is 'jambu' in Sanskrit and 'jambul' in English! :) jaamun is Hindi, probably a vriation of Jambu.

kugan98
14th June 2013, 08:31 AM
Thanks P.S Tamby, Madhu anneh, Sudha India and Rajraj uncle for your nice post.
Ammadi! avarakkaiku imputu discussiona?
Anyway I enjoyed reading all your posts.

You are right Madhu anneh, we need a little humour in our lives.

O.K P.S Tamby, avarakkai in English is broad beans.
Biological name is Vicia faba.
Tamby, the picture I posted is called naattu avarai.
we have avarakkai that is all green in colour.

http://food.sulekha.com/dishimages/24951.jpg

P.S Tamby, I remember posting a recipe of oorukkai made of gooseberry.
Let me check and let you know.

All these remind me of the song:
Athi kaai kaai kaai aalangai vennilave

ange kaai avarakkai kaathal konda paavaikaai:lol::lol::lol:

Take care every one. Kugan

kugan98
14th June 2013, 08:32 AM
Thank you Kugan for your immediate response and translation. Will give the feedback.

You are welcome Amitha, hope to see you more in the forum.
Kugan

kugan98
14th June 2013, 08:39 AM
Well, another ingredient, I will only think of adding it to a kulambu.
I was surprised when I was served that ingredient as a poriyal:roll:
It is our tatta payir, or black eyed beans.
My friend told me that the same method is used for pachai payir,
and also motchai. Interesting. Kugan

TATTA PAYIR PORIYAL (Black eyed beans )

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp fenugreek seeds
1 sprig curry leaves

To Roast And Grind To Paste:
1 tsp oil
¼ cup grated coconut, roasted till golden
5 shallots
2 pips garlic
2 tsp chillie powder
1 tsp coriander powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 sprig curry leaves

1 lime sized tamarind, exract 1 cup of tamarind juice
Salt to taste

1 cup tatta payir, soaked over night, boiled till cooked.

Method:

Heat oil in a pan, add in the mustard and fenugreek seeds.
Let them splutter. Add in the curry leaves.
Add in the smoothly ground paste, and tamarind juice.
Add in salt and give a good stir, let it come to a boil.

Add in the cooked tatta payir, and mix well.
Cook till a bit dry and remove from stove.
Serve as a side dish.

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5526/9037125543_b21812c0a5_z.jpg

kugan98
14th June 2013, 09:24 AM
P.S Tamby I found the gooseberry pickle picture.
The recipe I have to search again.
Meantime enjoy the picture Kugan.

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5466/9037349957_1dcfc30d7e_z.jpg

14th June 2013, 10:05 AM
Sudha: You asked me to write about our music party. I completely forgot about it! :( Here it is:

We finished dinner around 9:30 PM and started the music session. I opened with the Tamil song 'yEru mayil yEri viLaiyaadum mukam ondre'. Then our daughter in law sang. Then we let the children sing. People sang in Tamil,Sanskrit,Telugu, Kannada, MalayaLam, Hindi, Gujarati and English. There were people with origins in Tamilnadu,KeraLa, Andhra, Karnataka,Gujarat, Maharashtra,Haryana,Kashmir,UP,W.Bengal,SriLanka and Germany! :)
First half was devotional set to ragas. Second half was mostly cinema songs. I prompted singers with a few Hindi songs- Dekh Tere sansar ki haalat, Brindavan ke krishna kanhaiya, Bandh preeti phool dor,jhoome jhoome dil mera,....... By the time we finished it was 1:30 AM. We went to bed after 3 AM.

Tamil saying is 'sevikku uNavu illaadhapodhu siridhu vayitrukkum eeyappadum'. :) We reversed the order to provide energy for the singers to go for four hours or more! :lol: Aunty made idli,saambar,chutney, vegetable pulav, thayir saadham, vegetable curry and a sweet for dinner (as much as I remember). Tea after dinner. Idli saambaar was the main attraction for our North Indian friends!

You,kugan and others in this thread have a standing invitation for the party next year. Start practicing a few songs! :)
It is OK even if you sing 'karupputhaan enakku pudicha coloru'. :lol: One guest usually asks me to sing 'pambarak kaNNaale kaadhal sangathi sonnaaLe'. :)

14th June 2013, 10:24 AM
vathiyarayya...

I am waiting to taste aunty's ( vathiyaramma ? ) idli, sambhar.
You have mentioned about it infinite times till now... :slurp:

adutha varusham varen... enna song venum-nu sollunga ? I am ready.. ready.. ready...

14th June 2013, 10:31 AM
vathiyarayya...
adutha varusham varen... enna song venum-nu sollunga ? I am ready.. ready.. ready...

vaanga vaanga. ungaLai 'chief guest' aakki reNdu maNi neram paada vaikkurom ! :)

14th June 2013, 10:38 AM
I can sing "baa baa black sheep" or "twinkle twinkle little star" or "Jack and jill" or "Ding dong bell" ..

neyar viruppam !!

sudha india
14th June 2013, 02:21 PM
Thanks Rajraj uncle for sharing about your music party as well. Music therinja gang irundhaal neram povadhe theriyaadhu.
BTW karupputhan enaku pidicha colour and paattu. I like this song very much.
Oru chinna caution : Pappava paada vainga no problem, ana pesa mattum solladheenga..... Kadi thaanga mudiyadhu.
He will say pallu illadha pappanu. Risk edukadheenga.

14th June 2013, 02:38 PM
sudhaji...
Risk edukkuradhu namma vaathiyarayyavukku rusk saapidura madhiri..

namma kuganji vandhu Rusk recipes koduppanga.. adhaiyum party-kku use senjukkalm..
come on Kuganji....

Madhu Sree
14th June 2013, 03:07 PM
thatta payir curry looks tempting and inviting... thanks kugan... We call it kaaraamani... guess kaaraamani is another name for black eyed beans...
i prepared kuzhambu with black eyed beans... it came out well... :D

14th June 2013, 04:03 PM
You should chew gooseberry and drink water. See how it tastes! :) If you get it from the tree yourself it tastes better. I used to do it! :lol:

Naval pazham is 'jambu' in Sanskrit and 'jambul' in English! :) jaamun is Hindi, probably a vriation of Jambu.

Thanks uncle for your info :)

14th June 2013, 04:12 PM
O.K P.S Tamby, avarakkai in English is broad beans.

Athi kaai kaai kaai aalangai vennilave
Lovely song by PBS and PS, enjoy
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muWBARd3oAk&feature=player_detailpage

14th June 2013, 04:13 PM
Now, I want to know what this "Athikai" is? :yessir:

14th June 2013, 04:17 PM
Rajraj uncle

I am ready with "Shanakaraparanam" songs for your next part, arrange a band :)

14th June 2013, 04:19 PM
Kugan akka

Thanks for the Pickle Recipe:)

14th June 2013, 04:33 PM

athikkai is FIG in English Anjeer in Hindi

click here to see -> அத்திக்காய் (https://www.google.co.in/search?newwindow=1&safe=off&q=fig&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.bmk&biw=1454&bih=670&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=hPi6UZKxCsWxrgfOpIHADQ)

sudha india
14th June 2013, 05:30 PM
PS kindalukku kettaalum poruppa badhil solreenga Madhu....unga kuzhandhithanam enakku pidichirukku :yessir:

gulabjamun
14th June 2013, 05:31 PM
Kugan, thanks for the nice avarakai and blackeyed beans recipes.
They are all new recipes for me. Never heard of blackeyed beans poriyal.
I will cook them first and give you the feed back.

14th June 2013, 06:01 PM

We have an 'athi maram' in our backyard. Visit us and see for yourself! :)

If you are visiting us for the next party practice this song: 'athi marathile muttai ittu aavaarangkaattile kunju porithu......' ! :)
If you don't know ask madhu! :lol:

14th June 2013, 06:19 PM
PS kindalukku kettaalum poruppa badhil solreenga Madhu....unga kuzhandhithanam enakku pidichirukku :yessir:

Ileenga naa Nijama thaan KeatEn, I grew up in UK, hence I don't know the meaning of some tamil words :|

14th June 2013, 06:20 PM
athikkai is FIG in English Anjeer in Hindi

click here to see -> அத்திக்காய் (https://www.google.co.in/search?newwindow=1&safe=off&q=fig&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.47883778,d.bmk&biw=1454&bih=670&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=hPi6UZKxCsWxrgfOpIHADQ)

:ty: anna

14th June 2013, 06:22 PM
'athi marathile muttai ittu aavaarangkaattile kunju porithu......' ! :)
If you don't know ask madhu! :lol:

ippadi ellam paatu iruka :rotfl: , any way thanks uncle :)

14th June 2013, 06:46 PM
BTW karupputhan enaku pidicha colour and paattu. I like this song very much.

vaanga vandhu andha paattai paadunga. I will get some to dance for the song! :)

14th June 2013, 07:29 PM
கருப்பு கலர் பாட்டுக்கு பெசலா காங்கோ காட்டிலிருந்து ஆட்களை வரவழைக்க வேணும் :yes:

uwitiusoj
14th June 2013, 11:50 PM
thanks for the thata payir poriyal recipe K. new to me.

15th June 2013, 05:03 AM
கருப்பு கலர் பாட்டுக்கு பெசலா காங்கோ காட்டிலிருந்து ஆட்களை வரவழைக்க வேணும் :yes:

adhellaam koodaadhunnu Abraham Lincoln eppovo sollittare! :) karuppu sattai kodukkalaam! :lol:

kugan98
15th June 2013, 05:06 AM
Thanks Rajraj uncle for the nice summary of the musical party.
I am sure all would have had a gala time.
You should post some pictures for us to see.
Thanks and take care, Kugan.

15th June 2013, 05:06 AM
Oru chinna caution : Pappava paada vainga no problem, ana pesa mattum solladheenga..... Kadi thaanga mudiyadhu.
He will say pallu illadha pappanu. Risk edukadheenga.

paappaavukku reNdu pound Godiva chocolate koduthuttaa pEchchu eppadi varum? :lol:

kugan98
15th June 2013, 05:16 AM
thanks for the thata payir poriyal recipe K. new to me.

Thank you very much Sangeetha for your nice post.
Try out the recipe when you have the time.
Good way of taking protein.
Thanks and take care of your self.
Kugan

kugan98
15th June 2013, 05:22 AM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR RAMRISH A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY

A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY RAMRISH>

MAY THE LORD BLESS YOU WITH ALL THE BEST IN THE WORLD>

http://a1128.g.akamai.net/7/1128/497/0001/image.proflowers.com/is/image/ProvideCommerce/PF_12_00000000B316_VA0122_W1_PF

15th June 2013, 11:42 AM
:cheer: Wish you a very Happy Birthday Ramrish :cheer:

15th June 2013, 04:52 PM
http://sphotos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1016114_620137031331988_410518115_n.jpg

Chilli Chapati made with leftover Chapattis.

Ingredients:

-Chapati (leftover) – 4 (cut to small squares)
-Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
-Green chillies – 4 (slitted)
-Onion – 1 1/4 cup (finely chopped)-
-Ginger garlic paste – 2 tsp
-Tomatoes – 1 cup (finely chopped)
-Red chilli powder – 1 tsp (according to spice level)
-Coriander powder – 1 tsp
-Garam masala – 1/4 tsp
-Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
-Lemon juice – 2 tsp
-Oil – 2 tbsp
-Salt – to taste.

Method of Preparation:

1) Heat oil in a pan and add the cumin seeds.
2) Then add the green chillies followed by the chopped onions.
3) Fry till they become translucent and add the ginger garlic paste.
4) Fry for 2 minutes and then add the chopped tomatoes.
5) Add some salt and fry till the tomatoes become soft.
6) Now add the turmeric powder followed by red chilli powder, coriander powder and garam masala.
7) Fry till the raw smell goes and now add the cut chapatis. Fry for another 3 minutes until it is mixed properly.
9) Turn off the heat and add the lemon juice.
10) Serve hot with raitha or curd.

Text Copyright-spicytasty.com — at Image Courtesy-spicytasty.com.

kugan98
15th June 2013, 06:11 PM
Thanks NOV anneh for the chillie chapathi recipe.
I am sure it will taste more better than kothu parota.

kugan98
15th June 2013, 06:18 PM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES ALL FATHERS

A VERY HAPPY FATHER'S DAY.

ANY MAN CAN BE A FATHER
BUT IT TAKES A SPECIAL PERSON TO BE A DAD

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7298/9050055998_56c34563d4_z.jpg

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3759/9050043138_88754f6e09_z.jpg

rose75
16th June 2013, 04:33 AM
Wishing all fathers. A very happy Father's Day .
Rose

16th June 2013, 05:09 AM
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-29_Pu5P39-Q/Uaif7vZj7DI/AAAAAAAAI2k/04PxlMqvjys/s320/cake+03.jpg

HAPPY FATHERS DAY

( உம்ம்ம்.. இந்த கேக்கை எப்படி வெட்டி தின்ன முடியும் ? :think: )

16th June 2013, 09:26 AM
Happy Father's Day ! :)

gulabjamun
16th June 2013, 02:19 PM
Wishing all fathers in the forum a very happy father.s day.
Please post what you all cooked for the day.
Gulabjamun

16th June 2013, 05:47 PM
Please post what you all cooked for the day.since you asked.... :D

GHEE RICE
http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1002958_10151673944472629_676483788_n.jpg

VADAI
http://sphotos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/184498_10151673944687629_1582684447_n.jpg

MIXED VEGE
http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1017288_10151673944792629_1697596808_n.jpg

TAUHU SAMBAL
http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1017109_10151673944887629_1928021594_n.jpg

CUCUMBER PACHADI
http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/983951_10151673944997629_1800074117_n.jpg

POTATO VARUVAL
http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1000413_10151673945062629_1308762329_n.jpg

VEGE CHICKEN VARUVAL
http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/935930_10151673945137629_9651937_n.jpg

VEGE KURMA
http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1006193_10151673944587629_103964423_n.jpg

16th June 2013, 06:14 PM
NOV anna... idhellam hotel items-thane ! :redjump:

16th June 2013, 06:18 PM
:hammer: :rant: :angry2:

this was celebrations at HOME! :evil: :twisted:

gulabjamun
17th June 2013, 08:51 AM
Thanks Nov, wow lot of dishes for the day.
All look very yummy. You must be a very lucky man.
Hope others to would post what they cooked in their house.
Thanks, Gulabjamun.

Madhu Sree
17th June 2013, 02:37 PM
Nov, yummy pics.. thanks for sharing :D...

Naan father's daykku veetla cook pannave illa, full day shopping :lol2: appaakku oru perfume vaanginen ... I miss my dad... :cry:

17th June 2013, 03:39 PM
Nov, yummy pics.. thanks for sharing :D...

Naan father's daykku veetla cook pannave illa, full day shopping :lol2: appaakku oru perfume vaanginen ... I miss my dad... :cry:

ஆஹா.. டாட்டர்னா நீங்க்தான் டாட்டர் மயிலம்மா.. அப்பாவுக்கு ஒரு பெர்ஃப்யூம் வாங்க முழு நாள் ஷாப்பிங் செஞ்சதுக்காகவே உங்களைப் பாராட்டலாம் :clap:

Madhu Sree
17th June 2013, 06:30 PM
madhu, i didnt say tht i did shopping and got only perfume... :huh:

kugan98
17th June 2013, 06:41 PM
Thanks Rajraj uncle, Rose, Madhu anneh, Gulabjamun, NOV anneh, Madhu Sree,
for your nice posts.

Gulabjamun, you did not post what you cooked for Father's Day:-D

kugan98
17th June 2013, 06:56 PM
NOV anneh, thank you very much for the wonderful spread.
The spread looks very yummy.
You have given me the idea as to what to cook on the 13th of July.
It is my better halves birthday.

NOV anneh one request from you.
I am sure the spread was cooked by my niece or my akka.
I normally cook the mock chicken varuval, if having guests,
or something special in our house.
I want the recipe for the mock chicken varuval and tofu sambal.
I used to grind chillie to make the sambal.

kugan98
17th June 2013, 07:27 PM
Well Gulabjamun, here is what I cooked for Father's Day.
Sorry I did not take all the pictures. Kugan

Lunch:
Vegetable biryani,
Brinjal in peanut sauce,
Mixed vege poriyal
Cucumber raitha
Tofu sambal

For Tea:
Orange cake with orange butter icing,
Vadai,
Surul appam
Currypuffs
Onion pakoda
Plain agar-agar

VEGETABLE BIRYANI:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3789/9067881500_7df7ce7135.jpg

Brinjal in peanut sauce:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSRxfPsCs_x3vUAusw3xYhqPspFfn8vb UwL1enB7XcQcNWkrpDxBg

Cucumber raitha:
http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/196/ichickpeasalad.jpg

Orange Cake:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3709/9067880654_81cd2a6b99.jpg

Surul appam

http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3941/kuihdadarkv4.jpg

Vadai:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8147/7662268898_42d12a9eac.jpg

Onion Pakoda:

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2844/9066074007_8f96cac22a.jpg

17th June 2013, 07:36 PM
Kuganji..

surul appam sweet-a ? Or is it stuffed with spicy things ?

kugan98
17th June 2013, 07:51 PM
Kuganji..

surul appam sweet-a ? Or is it stuffed with spicy things ?

Madhu anneh, here in Malaysia, mostly it is stuffed with sweet fillings.
That is coconut and brown sugar mixture.

We can make spicy fillings and stuff it with it.

17th June 2013, 08:51 PM
Thanks Rajraj uncle for the nice summary of the musical party.
I am sure all would have had a gala time.
You should post some pictures for us to see.

kugan: I did not take any pictures. My son took some. I video taped the first three hours. I will transfer it to a DVD and send you. You can watch and have a good laugh at the riot ! :lol:

Next Father's day is at your place! :) Our dinner was in a Mexican restaurant ! :)

18th June 2013, 06:32 AM
I am sure the spread was cooked by my niece or my akka.No, I ordered from the neighbourhood caterer. Their food is very tasty. :slurp:
For tauhu sambal try using cili boh for authentic sambal taste.

18th June 2013, 08:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Cwok50fP6Hs

:slurp: :slurp: :slurp:

18th June 2013, 08:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhqnBA_j1Jk&feature=player_detailpage

:slurp: :slurp: :slurp:

uwitiusoj
18th June 2013, 08:42 PM
nov and K

U both created an opinion on me that Malalysia has more variety of food and it also has lot of celebrations like India. It also makes me think I should do a vacation there. Nice menu on fathers day and nice click.

Ramrish
18th June 2013, 09:38 PM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR RAMRISH A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY

A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY RAMRISH>

MAY THE LORD BLESS YOU WITH ALL THE BEST IN THE WORLD>

http://a1128.g.akamai.net/7/1128/497/0001/image.proflowers.com/is/image/ProvideCommerce/PF_12_00000000B316_VA0122_W1_PF
Thanx a ton Kavitha!
The flowers look wonderful:-)

Ramrish
18th June 2013, 09:43 PM
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-29_Pu5P39-Q/Uaif7vZj7DI/AAAAAAAAI2k/04PxlMqvjys/s320/cake+03.jpg

HAPPY FATHERS DAY

( உம்ம்ம்.. இந்த கேக்கை எப்படி வெட்டி தின்ன முடியும் ? :think: )

Bizarre cake!

18th June 2013, 09:59 PM
Belated wishes Ramrish :)

gulabjamun
19th June 2013, 06:11 AM
Kugan so super spread. Your homemade cake with icing is soooo nice.
We all went out and ate, no cooking Kugan.
It is so nice to serve home cooked food for our loved ones.

gulabjamun
19th June 2013, 06:12 AM
Paramasivam , thanks for the videos .

19th June 2013, 07:57 AM
BROWNIE IN A MUG:

1/4 cup of flour
1/4 cup of sugar
2 Tbsp of cocoa
2 Tbsp of olive oil
Pinch of salt
3 Tbsp of water

Mix in a mug and microwave for 1 min 30 sec

You're welcome :D

19th June 2013, 02:35 PM
Paramasivam , thanks for the videos .

You are welcome :)

kugan98
19th June 2013, 05:33 PM
kugan: I did not take any pictures. My son took some. I video taped the first three hours. I will transfer it to a DVD and send you. You can watch and have a good laugh at the riot ! :lol:

Next Father's day is at your place! :) Our dinner was in a Mexican restaurant ! :)

Thanks Rajraj uncle, for your nice post.
You are welcome next year.
Kugan

kugan98
19th June 2013, 05:36 PM
No, I ordered from the neighbourhood caterer. Their food is very tasty. :slurp:
For tauhu sambal try using cili boh for authentic sambal taste.

Oh I see, anyway thanks NOV anneh.
I usually soak the dried red chillie and grind it into paste.
Then I use it to make the tofu sambal.
Your sambal looks like they used chillie powder.
Thanks again NOV anneh. Kugan

kugan98
19th June 2013, 05:49 PM
Thanks P.S Tamby for the chilli oil videos.
The ones we buy will be strained clear chilli oil.
Lets try out to make our own chilli oil.

http://www.thai-food-online.co.uk/images/products/sauces/chilli_oil_large.jpg

kugan98
19th June 2013, 05:53 PM
nov and K

U both created an opinion on me that Malalysia has more variety of food and it also has lot of celebrations like India. It also makes me think I should do a vacation there. Nice menu on fathers day and nice click.

Sangeetha thanks for your nice post.
How are you keeping?

You are right, we have lot of celebrations in Malaysia.
You can get, Malay, Chinese, Indian and Western dishes here.
You are welcome to Malaysia for a vacation.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
19th June 2013, 05:55 PM
Thanks Ramrish for your nice reply.
Enjoy the summer holidays with your children.
Do drop in to the forum when time permits.
Take care, Kugan.

kugan98
19th June 2013, 06:07 PM
Kugan so super spread. Your homemade cake with icing is soooo nice.
We all went out and ate, no cooking Kugan.
It is so nice to serve home cooked food for our loved ones.

Thanks Gulabjamun for your nice post.
I have no basic training in cake icing.
Just tried a kolam design on it.:-D

Hope you would try home cooking for next Father's Day.

kugan98
19th June 2013, 06:23 PM
BROWNIE IN A MUG:

1/4 cup of flour
1/4 cup of sugar
2 Tbsp of cocoa
2 Tbsp of olive oil
Pinch of salt
3 Tbsp of water

Mix in a mug and microwave for 1 min 30 sec

You're welcome :D

Thanks NOV anneh for the recipe.
I tried it out, so simple and quick.
I just added few chocolate chips for fun.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2861/9085198530_8396139bf3.jpg

kugan98
19th June 2013, 06:25 PM
Try this simple brinjal masala. Kugan

SPICY BRINJAL MASALA

Ingredients:

(A)
2 tbs of oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp aniseeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp fenugreek seeds

(B)
¼ tsp asafetida powder
1 sprig curry leaves
1 tsp ginger paste
1 onion chopped
1 small tomato chopped
Salt to taste

(C)
½ tsp turmeric powder
¼ tsp cumin powder
2 tsp chillie powder
1 tsp coriander powder

250 grms of brinjals, cut into 1 ½ inches long

¼ cup water
½ tsp garam masala
1 tsp amchur powder or to taste
Little sugar to taste

Method:
Heat oil in a non stick wok, add in all the spices in (A)
Let them crackle, give a good stir.
Add in all the ingredients in (B), stir fry on medium heat.
Cook till the tomatoes are mushy.

Add in all the ingredients in ( C ).
Stir fry the spices for few seconds, add in the cut brinjals.
Mix them well so that every piece is coated well with the spice mix.
Add in the ¼ cup of water, garam masala, amchur and sugar.

Cover and cook on medium heat till the brinjals are cooked.
Do not over cook the brinjals till mushy. Stir once nicely.
Remove and serve

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3765/9082978593_d95a9a13a1_z.jpg

19th June 2013, 07:00 PM
Thanks NOV anneh for the recipe.
I tried it out, so simple and quick.
I just added few chocolate chips for fun.You are amazing K! :D

sudha india
20th June 2013, 09:45 AM
You are amazing K! :D

Believe me, when I read NOV's brownie recipe yesterday, I had a mind picture - brownie in a mug
made by Kugan, and here it is today. ... Is this de ja vu or ja mai vu ?

K, you are double amazing.

20th June 2013, 01:07 PM
Believe me, when I read NOV's brownie recipe yesterday, I had a mind picture - brownie in a mug

its jol in mouth !!

sudha india
20th June 2013, 06:01 PM
No Madhu... not for me... enakku brownie / choclate vagayara pidikkaadhu.

I just thought that Kugan will immly try out the brownie and post picture.
And it happened.

Since this is so easy, you can try and satisfy your J in M.

sudha india
20th June 2013, 06:03 PM
In PP section I asked NOV, chickenla kootu pannalaama ?

Just oru curiosity. NOV pakkalai andha postai. So I am repeating here.

kugan98
21st June 2013, 03:58 AM
You are amazing K! :D

Thanks NOV anneh for your post.
Amazing ellam onnum illai.
You gave me a simple recipe, I made that for tea for my children.
They all enjoyed something new for their tea.

kugan98
21st June 2013, 04:02 AM

I will look out for a butter mug cake recipe for you.
Enna manththiram athu, de ja vu, ennakum konjam solli kudungga.:-D

Sudha, you can do chicken kutoo,
Let me draft out a recipe for you.

kugan98
21st June 2013, 04:03 AM
its jol in mouth !!

Madhu anneh!:confused2::confused2::confused2::confused2:

kugan98
21st June 2013, 04:10 AM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR DEAR FRIEND SELVIEM

A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY

MAY THE LORD BLESS YOU WITH ALL THE BEST IN THE WORLD.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SELVIEM

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7454/9097232324_7f2b38e423_z.jpg

21st June 2013, 05:30 AM
Madhu anneh!:confused2::confused2::confused2::confused2:

Kuganji... it means thats a mouth watering recipe :slurp:

butter mug cake ??? :redjump:

kugan98
21st June 2013, 05:49 AM
Aiyoh Madhu Anneh , innimel kannil castor oil vittu thaan write pannanum.
What I meant was butter cake in a mug.
Tapu, tapu.inimel paarthu write panren.

Note: thanks for the nice joke. Keep it up
Kugan.

kugan98
21st June 2013, 05:39 PM
Sudha here is your butter mug cake oops
Butter cake in a mug. do and enjoy. Kugan.

CAKE IN A MUG

Ingredients;
(A)
6 tbs all purpose flour
1 tbs milk powder
4 tbs sugar
1/8 tsp baking powder
1 tsp flax seed powder

(B)
3 tbs water
3 tbs melted butter
little vanilla essence

Method:

Mix all the ingredients (A) in a mug.
Mix all the ingredients (B) in a container.
Pour the ingredients (B) into the mug.
Mix nicely, see that there is no flour sticking in the bottom.
Microwave high for 3 minutes.
Let it cool and enjoy.

NOTE: If you microwave the cake, it will be light white in colour.
If you bake the cake you can get a nice brown finish.

This cake was microwaved:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3752/9100644908_9485779bc4_z.jpg

This cake was baked:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3730/9098409003_f5b13297ff_z.jpg

kugan98
21st June 2013, 05:51 PM
Sudha you asked NOV anneh chickenla kutoo can be done.
I am here to help out my NOV anneh.

I did the kutoo the same way we do sorakkai kutoo.
Instead of the sorakkai, I marinated the mock chicken,
with ginger garlic paste, chillie powder and tumeric powder.
Little salt and pan fried the chicken pieces and kept aside.

Boiled pasipparupu, seasoned with onions, green chillies, curry leaves,
mustard seeds, cumin seeds, asafoetida, cinnamon stick.
When the kutoo was boiling, lastly added the pan fried mock chicken.
Removed and added little lime juice and cut coriander leaves.

The colour is a little darker due to the pan fried chicken.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2874/9098411275_2f3e3345d8_z.jpg

21st June 2013, 06:01 PM
namba mudiyavillai... illai... illai... illai.....

21st June 2013, 06:04 PM
as a present, here is a unique recipe for K :D

http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/q71/430099_622772997735058_1312704480_n.jpg

Maggi Noodles bhaji

Ingredients

1 packet maggi noodles
2 tbsp besan
2 green chillies, (cut into small pieces)
1 onion, (cut into small pieces)
Coriander leaves,
3/4 tsp chilli powder,
Salt to taste,
Oil for frying,
Tomato ketchup

Method

1) Boil the noodles and remove extra water.
2) Now mix all things together.
3) Make small ball with it.
4) Heat the oil, fry till brown.
5) Serve hot with tomato ketchup.

Image Courtesy-pattuspakashala

21st June 2013, 06:09 PM
In PP section I asked NOV, chickenla kootu pannalaama ?

Just oru curiosity. NOV pakkalai andha postai. So I am repeating here.

sudhaji...Kugan mock chicken kootu senju kaattittanga..
enakku sorakkai kootu pidikkum.

BTW.. sudhaji..neenga non-veg sapduveengala ? :noteeth:

selvieam
22nd June 2013, 11:03 PM
kugan,

thanks for ur wishes. noodles bhaji super, i have tried spring rolls. also mock chicken kootu awesome idea. will give a try.

rose75
23rd June 2013, 03:48 AM
Kuganka, what a fusion cooking. Chicken in a kutoo.
Must a try recipe, thanks too for the cake in a mug.
Asatureenga pongga.

rose75
23rd June 2013, 03:49 AM
Wishing you a very happy birthday Selviem.

kugan98
24th June 2013, 08:16 PM
Thanks Madhu anneh, Selviem and Rose 75 for your nice posts.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
24th June 2013, 08:20 PM
NOV anneh, very bad haze, children in the house.
So I tried out your maggie bajii, super hit pongga.
My son suggested that I add in a pinch of the maggie seasonings for a kick.
I will try it out next time. Thanks NOV anneh for the yummy snack.
Take care, Kugan.

Maggi Noodles bhaji

Ingredients

1 packet maggi noodles
2 tbsp besan
2 green chillies, (cut into small pieces)
1 onion, (cut into small pieces)
Coriander leaves,
3/4 tsp chilli powder,
Salt to taste,
Oil for frying,
Tomato ketchup

Method

1) Boil the noodles and remove extra water.
2) Now mix all things together.
3) Make small ball with it.
4) Heat the oil, fry till brown.
5) Serve hot with tomato ketchup.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3707/9127166958_2f9338afe4_z.jpg

25th June 2013, 04:31 PM
very bad haze, children in the house.
Still no improvements? I hear Singapore is affected more than Malaysia ..

25th June 2013, 05:11 PM
you are amazing K... :slurp:

gulabjamun
25th June 2013, 06:47 PM
Kugan I waited for you to try out the Maggie bajii.
I was scared that when I fry the bajii, the noodles might disintegrate.
Yours look so compact and beautiful . Hats off to you Kugan.
Truly you are amazing.

sudha india
26th June 2013, 10:59 AM
sudhaji...Kugan mock chicken kootu senju kaattittanga..
enakku sorakkai kootu pidikkum.

BTW.. sudhaji..neenga non-veg sapduveengala ? :noteeth:

Naan VEG thaan. Not non-veg.
In some context in PP, there was comment about kootu and NOV's comment about chicken.
So rendaiyum serthu chicken kootu panna mudiyuma-nu summa ketten.
sappatu vishyamgaradhale inge post pannen. Now you have got a new fusion recipe.

KK - Kugan's Kitchen is now KKK - Kalakkal Kugan's Kitchen / Kugan's Kalakkal Kitchen

uwitiusoj
28th June 2013, 12:33 AM
K

cake recipe evlo easya? nice mouth watering.

kugan98
30th June 2013, 03:42 PM
Still no improvements? I hear Singapore is affected more than Malaysia ..

P.S Tamby, thanks for your post.
our place is clear of the haze, children are going to sc hool.
Thanks and take care.
Kugan

kugan98
30th June 2013, 03:44 PM
you are amazing K... :slurp:

Thanks NOV anneh, thanks again for the recipe.
kugan

kugan98
30th June 2013, 03:45 PM
Kugan I waited for you to try out the Maggie bajii.
I was scared that when I fry the bajii, the noodles might disintegrate.
Yours look so compact and beautiful . Hats off to you Kugan.
Truly you are amazing.

Gulabjamun, thanks for your post.
Do not be scared, try out the recipe.
Children will love it. Kugan

kugan98
30th June 2013, 03:49 PM
Naan VEG thaan. Not non-veg.
In some context in PP, there was comment about kootu and NOV's comment about chicken.
So rendaiyum serthu chicken kootu panna mudiyuma-nu summa ketten.
sappatu vishyamgaradhale inge post pannen. Now you have got a new fusion recipe.

KK - Kugan's Kitchen is now KKK - Kalakkal Kugan's Kitchen / Kugan's Kalakkal Kitchen

Thanks Sudha, for your nice post.
you are right we have got a new recipe.
Thanks for the new title:ty::notworthy::notworthy:
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
30th June 2013, 03:51 PM
K

cake recipe evlo easya? nice mouth watering.

Try out the cake if you have the time.
Take care of your health. Kugan

kugan98
30th June 2013, 04:07 PM
My dear friends, the haze in Malaysia is better, but the heat is unberable.
the children scream if I make any curry in the house.
They are demanding for, ice cream, ice pops and things.
So I made this mild coconut kurma for them.
Every day "thalai suthuthu, as to what to cook mildly.
Kugan

MIXED VEGE PAAL KURMA

Ingredients:

1 tbs ghee
1 inch cinnamon stick
3 pods of cardamom
1 bay leaf
3 cloves

1 big onion sliced
5 pips of garlic crushed
3 green chillie, slit vertically and cut across

2 potatoes, boiled and cut into cubes
1 cup cauliflower florets
1 cup fresh peas
½ cup beans cut into I inch in length
1 cup of water
Salt as needed

1 cup thick coconut milk
5 cashew nuts , made into paste.

Method:
Heat the ghee in a pot, add in all the spices.
Let them crackle, add in the onion, garlic and green chillie.
Sauté till the onions turn lightly brown.

Add in the all the vegetables, give a nice stir.
Add in the water and salt, let it come to a slow boil.
See that the vegetables are cooked but not mushy.

Mix the cashew paste in the thick coconut milk.
Add the milk to the kurma, give a goot stir.
Do not let it boil, remove and serve with aapam or rice.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3779/9171805197_7f90fde7aa_z.jpg

kugan98
30th June 2013, 04:22 PM
Orange Ice Pops

Ingredients:

squeeze the orange juice from about 8 oranges.
add sugar to taste.
add little water to dilute the juice

method;
pour into popsicle molds
Freeze for about 5 hours.
to unmould, the popsicle, just dip it in warm water for a second.
remove the cover and enjoy.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2810/9171996741_f326bc9557_z.jpg

rose75
30th June 2013, 10:52 PM
Thanks Kuganka for the mild kurma. Yeh, it is good for the hot seasons.
Kuganka, I too make these types of pops. I use chocolate milk, fizzy drinks,
Cold coffee, to make different types of pop ices. Try and see.

1st July 2013, 08:37 AM
This page is quite quiet... how is everyone? What was your cooking over the weekend?
Mine was a simple chicken briyani...

http://sphotos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1044211_10151699985877629_760567705_n.jpg

sudha india
1st July 2013, 01:04 PM
Simple chicken biryani ?? Adhan this page is quite quiet !!! :yessir:

gulabjamun
1st July 2013, 09:14 PM
Kuganka,thanks for the kurma and pop ice recipes. Good idea to make pop ice with all the fruit juices and things. Well I usually ask you for recipes. Went to a dinner recently, they served mutton pickle, as a dish.
By the way do you know the recipe? The dish was a little " sotha sotha" not very dry.
I simply loved the dish. Thanks.

Yes, what happened to all our friends?

uwitiusoj
2nd July 2013, 03:21 AM
takecare K with the heat.

nice icecream and kurma.

the cake tempted me so much to try on this weekend, but i AM cutting my sugar/honey/jagerry completely tilll september end . can i make the same using equal or splenda?

Ramrish
2nd July 2013, 04:21 AM
Kugan
The orange ice pops are tempting me..here temp is 100 deg..so I have to get my Popsicle moulds out and try this...
Due to scorching temp,don't feel like cooking at all..Also my younger one has started school last week...So in spite of summer vacation,still busy in the mornings.

kugan98
2nd July 2013, 04:49 PM
Thanks NOV anneh for your post.
Nice chicken biryani for the weekend.

[QUOTE=NOV;1057158]This page is quite quiet... how is everyone?
Yes you are right:cry2::cry2::cry2:
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
2nd July 2013, 04:51 PM
Simple chicken biryani ?? Adhan this page is quite quiet !!! :yessir:

Sudha thanks for your nice post.
Chicken biryanikku, page kalakalappa illa irrukum:confused2:

kugan98
2nd July 2013, 04:56 PM
Kuganka,thanks for the kurma and pop ice recipes. Good idea to make pop ice with all the fruit juices and things. Well I usually ask you for recipes. Went to a dinner recently, they served mutton pickle, as a dish.
By the way do you know the recipe? The dish was a little " sotha sotha" not very dry.
I simply loved the dish. Thanks.

Yes, what happened to all our friends?

Thanks Gulabjamun for your nice post and request.
I remember posting a mutton pickle very long time ago, made with real mutton.:roll:
That was a dry version. Let me look it up.

I will post a "sotha sotha:rotfl::rotfl: version for you.
Actually, nowadays I make my own seitan, that is mock meat.
I will post how to make the mutton pickle soon. Enjoy

kugan98
2nd July 2013, 05:00 PM
takecare K with the heat.

nice icecream and kurma.

the cake tempted me so much to try on this weekend, but i AM cutting my sugar/honey/jagerry completely tilll september end . can i make the same using equal or splenda?

Good you are taking care of your health.
I have no idea how equal or splenda works with cakes.
Let me find out and come back to you.

kugan98
2nd July 2013, 05:41 PM
Kugan
The orange ice pops are tempting me..here temp is 100 deg..so I have to get my Popsicle moulds out and try this...
Due to scorching temp,don't feel like cooking at all..Also my younger one has started school last week...So in spite of summer vacation,still busy in the mornings.

Dear Ramrish, nice to see your post. yes, I heard that summer is very bad.
Well our friend has given us idea as to what we can use for pop ice.
Fruit juices would be best, like watermelon, strawberry and so on.

Oh school has started in US? I thought they are still in holiday mood.
I know to be in the kitchen, when it is so warm.
You all have AC in the whole house, but in Malaysia? Imm have to struggle in the heat.
Take care Ramrish, pop in when you have the time.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
2nd July 2013, 05:46 PM
MUTTON PICKLE 2

Ingredients:

(A)
250 grms mock mutton, cut into bite pieces
¼ tsp chillie powder
A pinch of turmeric powder
1 tsp ginger garlic paste
Little salt.
Oil for shallow frying

3 tbs of sesame oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 tbs ginger, sliced into sticks
2 tbs garlic sliced into sticks
1 sprig curry leaves
2 tsp chillie powder
1 tbs paprika powder or Kashmiri chilli powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder

¼ cup vinegar
1 cup water
Salt to taste
Little sugar
½ tsp roasted fenugreek powder

Method:
Mix all the ingredients in (A). let it marinate for 1 hour.
Shallow fry it in oil, remove and keep aside.

Heat the sesame oil in a non stick pan.
Add in the mustard seeds and let it crackle.
Add in the curry leaves, ginger and garlic, sim the flame.
Sauté till a nice aroma comes, add in the chillie, paprika and turmeric powders.
Roast it till oil separates, do not burn the chillie mixture.

Add in the water , vinegar, salt and sugar.
Let it come to a nice boil, add in the fried mock mutton and mix well.
You can cook it till dry or with little gravy.
Sprinkle the roasted fenugreek powder, mix well and remove.
Cool completely and store in a air tight glass container.

NOTE: For real mutton, add all ingredients in (A).
Marinate then boil it in little water till the mutton is cooked.
Then remove the pieces and shallow fry in oil.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7444/9192731610_768f2885eb_z.jpg

gulabjamun
3rd July 2013, 12:12 PM
Kuganka, thanks for the mouth watering mutton pickle. Feel like eating it at once from the bowl.
I will try it out with real mutton. The colour is so fantastic. Thanks Kuganka for the recipe.
You are always fast in doing things.

Madhu Sree
3rd July 2013, 05:41 PM
Hi K and K's kitchen members...

How r u all doing...

K, am back to my thaai naadu :D, not yet settled... but will be alrite soon ...
yesterday I went wtih my mom to Nilgiris store here in chennai, to get Mushrooms.
I saw amchur powder, china grass rendum vaangitten :redjump:
I prepared a curry with panneer, mushroom, capsicum, aloo. I added little amchur powder at the end of cooking.
It really added a great taste, very unique :slurp:. I prepared roti as well. My mom, dad, bro, cousin bro, my husband all enjoyed it very much... :D felt a kind of satisfaction yesterday :)

Am planning to prepare your jelly recipe soon, will post out the pictures once I prepare it... :slurp:

sudha india
3rd July 2013, 06:00 PM
Welcome back Mayilammaaaaaaaaaaa......

kugan98
4th July 2013, 12:07 AM
Kuganka, thanks for the mouth watering mutton pickle. Feel like eating it at once from the bowl.
I will try it out with real mutton. The colour is so fantastic. Thanks Kuganka for the recipe.
You are always fast in doing things.

I feel happy, if I could make some one happy.
Happy trying out the real mutton pickle:-D
Thanks Kugan

kugan98
4th July 2013, 12:16 AM
Hi K and K's kitchen members...

How r u all doing...

K, am back to my thaai naadu :D, not yet settled... but will be alrite soon ...
yesterday I went wtih my mom to Nilgiris store here in chennai, to get Mushrooms.
I saw amchur powder, china grass rendum vaangitten :redjump:
I prepared a curry with panneer, mushroom, capsicum, aloo. I added little amchur powder at the end of cooking.
It really added a great taste, very unique :slurp:. I prepared roti as well. My mom, dad, bro, cousin bro, my husband all enjoyed it very much... :D felt a kind of satisfaction yesterday :)

Am planning to prepare your jelly recipe soon, will post out the pictures once I prepare it... :slurp:

Madhu Sree, I am sooooooooooo happy for you.:happydance::happydance:
Nothing like being in your own country with your loved ones.
Good, your loved once will be enjoying all your yummy cookings, hereafter.

Yes Madhu Sree, even in Trichy you can get all these things now.
Then what about our Singgara Chennai.
There is one Nilgiris, just opposite my aunt's house in Tirumallai Pillai Road in Chennai.
Just a matter of crossing the busy road. Imm:think: I am missing Chennai.
Soon must make a visit:-D Take care, post all your new cookings.
Kugan

kugan98
4th July 2013, 12:22 AM
Welcome back Mayilammaaaaaaaaaaa......

Sudha, thanks for your welcome to our Madhu Sree.
Of course we all know, how happy she would be, with her loved ones.
Nothing like our home. " Sorgameh entrallum, athu namma oor pola aagumaa":-D
Kugan

kugan98
4th July 2013, 12:30 AM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR DEAR FRIEND

SANGEETHABALAJI

A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY

MAY YOU BE BLESSED WITH GOOD HEALTH,
AND ALL THE BEST IN THE WORLD.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SANGEETHABALAJI

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7392/9192958130_81fd64b2b1_z.jpg

http://images.fineartamerica.com/images-medium-large/life-is-like-a-box-of-chocolates-2-andee-photography.jpg

kugan98
4th July 2013, 12:40 AM
Dear Sangeetha, I cooked this specially for you.
Enjoy. Kugan

POTATO PULAO IN A RICE COOKER

Ingredients:

(A)
2 tbs ghee
½ inch cinnamon stick
3 cloves
3 caradamom pods
1 bay leaf
1 onion sliced
2 tsp ginger garlic paste
1 ½ cups of tomato puree made from 2 tomatoes

(B)
To dry roast and grind into paste:
2 tsp coriander seeds
2 red chillies
+
3 tbs grated coconut
2 green chillies
½ cup coriander leaves
½ tsp garam masala powder
Dry roast the coriander and chillie, then add the other ingredients.
Add little water and grind to a smooth paste

(C)
To marinate the potatoes:
10 small baby potatoes
3 tbs curds
2 tsp rice flour
½ tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste
Skin the potatoes, prick them all over with a fork.
Marinate them in the mixture for about 20 minutes.
Shallow fry them till they are nicely roasted. Keep aside

(D)
1 cup basmathi rice soak for 20 minutes, drain and keep aside.
1 ½ cups of warm water.
Salt to taste
Few mint leaves

(E)
1 big onion, sliced and fried till golden brown, keep aside
Little cut coriander leaves

Method:
Heat ghee in a wok, add in all the ingredients in (A)
Sauté till the raw the raw smell goes.
Add in the ground paste (B) and sauté well again.
Now add in the roasted potatoes (C ) and give a quick stir.

In a rice cooker, add in the cooked potato masala.
Add in the strained rice, water, salt and mint leaves.
On the switch and let it cook.
When cooked, you can fluff up the rice with a fork.
Garnish with the fried onions, coriander leaves and serve with a raitha.

NOTE: You can cook it in a pressure cooker too.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7336/9203345928_12d977e86b_z.jpg

4th July 2013, 05:08 PM
Belated wishes Sangeetha akka :)

Kugan akka

Just a doubt, when making chinese chillie oil, do you fry the chillie seeds before soaking them in the oil ?

4th July 2013, 09:44 PM
paramashivaan: Here is something about you. You asked about 'naaval pazham' (jambu). But, you forgot one of your own names. Jambulingam/jambukeswaran is the name of the deity in Thiruvaanaikaaval near Srirangam/Trichy. I suggest you visit thiruvaanaikkaaval to make see for yourself ! :lol:

5th July 2013, 08:00 PM
But, you forgot one of your own names. Jambulingam/jambukeswaran is the name of the deity in Thiruvaanaikaaval near Srirangam/Trichy.

Kuzhanthai

EmmakE UbathEsama :poke: , Ithai yaam arivOm maganE :poke:

I suggest you visit thiruvaanaikkaaval to make see for yourself ! :lol:

Thanks Uncle, Next year I am certainly planning a TN visit , only problem is booking a 4 week holiday from work :( , and my other concern is the heat in TN :shaking: , you see I am used to Cold climate in Kailash :lol:

kugan98
6th July 2013, 04:43 PM
Belated wishes Sangeetha akka :)

Kugan akka

Just a doubt, when making chinese chillie oil, do you fry the chillie seeds before soaking them in the oil ?

Dear P.S Tamby, thanks for your nice post.
We do not fry the chilli seeds when we do chilli oil.
The seeds are there for heat, what you can do is remove little of the seeds.
The seeds will be cooked when you pour the hot oil on the chilli flakes.

Try this way,

15 dry chillies, grind in a mixie to form coarse flakes.
put them in a heat resistant container with a cover.
heat olive oil or peanut oil till it starts to smoke..
let it cool for about 3 minutes or to 225 degrees F.
Pour the oil over the flakes. add 1 tbs of sesame oil.
let it cool , cover and use as you like.

Note: If you like you can add in 1 pip of crushed garlic in the container,
before adding the hot oil.
Enjoy, Kugan

kugan98
6th July 2013, 04:45 PM
paramashivaan: Here is something about you. You asked about 'naaval pazham' (jambu). But, you forgot one of your own names. Jambulingam/jambukeswaran is the name of the deity in Thiruvaanaikaaval near Srirangam/Trichy. I suggest you visit thiruvaanaikkaaval to make see for yourself ! :lol:

Rajraj uncle, you are bring back old memories of my visit to the temple.
Thanks uncle, Kugan

kugan98
6th July 2013, 04:47 PM
Kuzhanthai

EmmakE UbathEsama :poke: , Ithai yaam arivOm maganE :poke:

Thanks Uncle, Next year I am certainly planning a TN visit , only problem is booking a 4 week holiday from work :( , and my other concern is the heat in TN :Frightened: , you see I am used to Cold climate in Kailash :lol:

Do not worry P.S Tamby, with God's Grace, it will be raining dogs and cats during your visit.
So enjoy the cold:-D Kugan

kugan98
6th July 2013, 05:07 PM
PEAS MUSHROOM CURRY

Ingredients:

3 tbs oil

TO grind to paste:
1 inch ginger
1 big onion chopped
3 dry red chillies
2 green chillies
½ tsp cumin seeds
5 cashew nuts

4 tbs tomato puree
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp red chillie powder
½ tsp garam masala powder

1 cup of water
300 grms oyster or button mushrooms, quartered
1 cup fresh green peas
Salt to taste

1 cup whisked plain curds
Little cut coriander leaves

Method:
Heat the oil in a non stick pan.
Add in the ground paste, sauté well till the raw smell goes.
Add in the tomato puree, coriander, chillie and garam masala powders.
Sauté till oil separates. Add in the water and let it come to a boil.

Add in the mushrooms, green peas and salt to taste.
Do not over cook the vegetables. The gravy should be thick.
Remove from the stove and add in the well beaten curds.
Mix well, garnish with the coriander leaves and serve.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7358/9220321389_5f4a10a85e_z.jpg

8th July 2013, 06:56 AM
K, I think its time to introduce our friends to some of Malaysian delicacies...
Here is one all time favourite snack... Bak Chang Kueh or Appam Balik

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_3el-x0MKqNM/TEHDIRcqOZI/AAAAAAAAAaU/g4FrmC88d-k/s1600/IMG_7710.JPG

awaiting your recipe and photos :D

gulabjamun
8th July 2013, 12:55 PM
Belated happy birthday to you Sangeetha akka.
Hope you enjoyed yourself.
Gulabjamun

gulabjamun
8th July 2013, 12:58 PM
Aiyoh Kuganka, the mutton pickle came out so yummy.
I made with real mutton. Every one enjoyed it so much.
Thanks Kuganka, then do you have a nice recipe for arachivitta sambar.
Sorry ka , I always ask you for recipes only.

8th July 2013, 03:26 PM
Try this way,

15 dry chillies, grind in a mixie to form coarse flakes.
put them in a heat resistant container with a cover.
heat olive oil or peanut oil till it starts to smoke..
let it cool for about 3 minutes or to 225 degrees F.
Pour the oil over the flakes. add 1 tbs of sesame oil.
let it cool , cover and use as you like.

Note: If you like you can add in 1 pip of crushed garlic in the container,
before adding the hot oil.
Enjoy, Kugan

:ty: :notworthy: going to give it a go ...... thanks akka !

Ramrish
8th July 2013, 08:43 PM
Kugan,
Inga schools ku vacation than...But I've put my younger one in preschool...So summer school is there..

Is anybody trying to make vathal/vadam at home..Here the temp is very apt for it,but my patio doesn't get sunlight at all:-(..

Kugan have u tried making vathal at home?iam really missing my mom's vathal..I remember the old days when me and my mom used to make them during summer vacation..

uwitiusoj
9th July 2013, 05:46 AM
thank you all for the wishes. was a bit busy with visitors. K thanks for Pulav, looks so yummy. Nov the Bak Chang Kueh or Appam Balik looks mouth watering. Thanks for the share.

K tried ur SPICY TOFU IN MASALA very yummy.

kugan98
9th July 2013, 08:11 PM
K, I think its time to introduce our friends to some of Malaysian delicacies...
Here is one all time favourite snack... Bak Chang Kueh or Appam Balik

awaiting your recipe and photos :D

NOV anneh:smokesmile::smokesmile:

NOV anneh, I used to do this for my children.
Here is the recipe:

APOM BALIK

Ingredients:
250 grms plain flour
1 tsp salt
3 tbs castor sugar
1 egg (optional )
250 ml water
1 tsp alkaline water
1 tsp fresh yeast

Fillings
100 grms roasted groundnuts, pounded a bit coarsely.
75 grms coarse sugar
50 grms melted margarine

Method:
Sift flour and salt into a mixing bowl.
Add sugar, egg, yeast and water to mix.
Beat the mixture well until it forms a smooth batter.
Add alkaline water, mix, then cover and leave
Aside for 1 hour or more.
Heat a griddle pan until hot, pour a ladleful of
Batter into the pan. Smooth out evenly with the
Back of the ladle. Cover pan with a lid and cook
Until bubbles appear.
Spread a handful of groundnuts and some sugar.
Next add in 1 tbs of margarine. Cover and cook until
Apom begins to harden. Remove and fold in half.
Slice and serve.

Note: some like to add cream-style corn. I don't like it.
If you like add the corn after adding margarine.
For those who do not have the apom mould, try it in
A small non-stick pan.

Apom Cooking:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5443/9246196293_a6324ceba5.jpg

Sprinkle the sugar and groundnuts:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3774/9246197549_f3a09e20b0.jpg

Slices:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3749/9246201489_bebea739c2.jpg

kugan98
9th July 2013, 08:15 PM
Aiyoh Kuganka, the mutton pickle came out so yummy.
I made with real mutton. Every one enjoyed it so much.
Thanks Kuganka, then do you have a nice recipe for arachivitta sambar.
Sorry ka , I always ask you for recipes only.

I am so happy that the pickle came out nice for you.
Also happy that you all enjoyed it.

Well do not worry about asking for recipes.
If I know I will surely post it for you.
Arachivitta sambar ellam jujube:-D
Will post soon for you.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
9th July 2013, 08:17 PM
:ty: :notworthy: going to give it a go ...... thanks akka !

Thanks P.S Tamby for your post.
Please give us the feed back, when you try.

kugan98
9th July 2013, 08:26 PM
Kugan,
Inga schools ku vacation than...But I've put my younger one in preschool...So summer school is there..

Is anybody trying to make vathal/vadam at home..Here the temp is very apt for it,but my patio doesn't get sunlight at all:-(..

Kugan have u tried making vathal at home?iam really missing my mom's vathal..I remember the old days when me and my mom used to make them during summer vacation..

Thanks Ramrish for your nice post.
Oh I see, the school starts only in August.
How does your son likes the preschool?

Ramrish, I usually make my own vathals here. I do not like it from India because of the dust there.
We have sun throughout the year here, now the heat here is unbearable.
I think I have posted few vathals and onion vadagam before.
I have to look through the forum. Nothing like the vathals that our mom makes

kugan98
9th July 2013, 08:31 PM
thank you all for the wishes. was a bit busy with visitors. K thanks for Pulav, looks so yummy. Nov the Bak Chang Kueh or Appam Balik looks mouth watering. Thanks for the share.

K tried ur SPICY TOFU IN MASALA very yummy.

Dear Sangeetha, thanks for your nice post.
How did you cope with the visitors?
I am sure your birthday would have been grand because you celebrated with whole of US.:-D

Glad that you liked the tofu masala.
Take care of your health Sangeetha.
Kugan

Madhu Sree
10th July 2013, 02:35 PM
PEAS MUSHROOM CURRY

K, I use to do this often.... :D I love mushrooms... yummmm...

10th July 2013, 05:03 PM
excellent K... how about the smaller, crispier appam balik? :slurp:
Fasting month is here and so are the different kinds of kuih :redjump:

11th July 2013, 08:50 AM
http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/q73/s720x720/1011129_546487422080570_1931549201_n.jpg

kugan98
11th July 2013, 02:42 PM
K, I use to do this often.... :D I love mushrooms... yummmm...

Thanks Madhu Sreefor your nice post.
How is weather in India now? I am sure you are cooking lots of dishes now.
Post to us pictures, when you cook a new dish.

Yes, Madhu Sree, I too love mushrooms. Here in Malaysia fresh button mushroom are very expensive:(

kugan98
11th July 2013, 02:48 PM
excellent K... how about the smaller, crispier appam balik? :slurp:
Fasting month is here and so are the different kinds of kuih :redjump:

Thanks NOV anneh for your post and compliments.
The batter for the crispier version is also the same.
Just pour little batter to the pan, swirl pan so that the batter is coating the edge.
cook till the bottom of the apom is golden brown.
sprinkle with melted bitter and then chopped peanuts.
Fold the pancake into a half and leave to cool.
It will be crispy as soon as it gets cold.

Yes anna, too many kuihs now, but you know most of them have eggs in them.
So I make different every two days or so to satisfy my children.

kugan98
11th July 2013, 02:50 PM
Thanks NOV anneh for the orange milk popsicles.
Very easy to make, of course I will be using the moulds.
Will do and post with pictures.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
11th July 2013, 03:15 PM
Gulabjamun, here is the sambar that you wanted.
Cook and enjoy, Kugan

SAMBAR WITH MASALA POWDER

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp urad dal
½ tsp channa dal
1 sprig curry leaves

1 onion sliced
1 tsp salt
1 big red tomato chopped

½ cup boiled cubed potato
½ cup brinjal cut into cubes

½ tsp turmeric powder
A big pinch of asafetida powder
½ tsp chillie powder
1 cup of water

1 cup toor dal, soaked and boiled till cooked
1 lime sized tamarind, mixed with 1 cup of water, juice
Water as needed

To Roast And Grind To Powder:
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
2 tbs channa dal
3 dry red chillie
2 tbs grated coconut
Few curry leaves

2 tbs fresg coriander leaves chopped

Method:

Heat the oil in a pot, add in all the spices. Let them splutter.
Add in the onions and salt, sauté for a minute, add in the tomatoes.
Cook till mushy, add in the potato and brinjal, give a nice mix.

Add in the turmeric, asafetida and chillie powder, give a good stir.
Add in 1 cup of water and let it come to a boil.
Add in the tamarind juice, boiled toor dal and more water to make up the consistency.
Let it come to a nice boil, add in the ground masala powder.

Mix well, taste for salt and let it cook for another 3 minutes.
Remove from stove and garnish with cut coriander leaves.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3702/9261780302_5a420f2f81_z.jpg

16th July 2013, 08:48 AM
why is this kitchen so quiet? :roll:

here is an easy and quick recipe, using the microwave:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-IMHWwGTS2uQ/TbC34YKwKUI/AAAAAAAAAU4/TnmNbRLWkXg/s400/Carrot%2BHalwa.jpg

Grate two cups of carrot and add two tablespoons of ghee. Microwave for two mins. Add half cup evaporated milk to this and microwave for eight mins, stirring every now and then. Cook till milk is absorbed and the ghee starts separating. Add one cup (or less, if you prefer) sugar and some cardomon powder, together with almond slice. Microwave for a further one minute or so, until you get right consistency. Your carrot halwa is now ready!

kugan98
16th July 2013, 06:47 PM
http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/q73/s720x720/1011129_546487422080570_1931549201_n.jpg

NOV anneh I made the creamsicles. Since the base was coconut milk,
I made four of them and left them in the freezer.
When I came home from office, only the moulds were left.:-D
I will do again and post the pictures.
Kugan

kugan98
16th July 2013, 06:49 PM
why is this kitchen so quiet? :roll:

here is an easy and quick recipe, using the microwave:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-IMHWwGTS2uQ/TbC34YKwKUI/AAAAAAAAAU4/TnmNbRLWkXg/s400/Carrot%2BHalwa.jpg

Grate two cups of carrot and add two tablespoons of ghee. Microwave for two mins. Add half cup evaporated milk to this and microwave for eight mins, stirring every now and then. Cook till milk is absorbed and the ghee starts separating. Add one cup (or less, if you prefer) sugar and some cardomon powder, together with almond slice. Microwave for a further one minute or so, until you get right consistency. Your carrot halwa is now ready!

Thanks NOV anneh for another simple way of making carrot halwa.
Simple to make when you have unexpected visitors.
Will try that also. Thanks Kugan.

kugan98
16th July 2013, 07:00 PM
Well my dear friends, had a small party in our home.

We had, vegetable pulao, ghee rice, chapathi, fried noodles,
Vegetable achar, mock chicken curry, mock mutton varuval,
Stuffed tofu, green apple salad, fruit cake, syrup rava cake, cake custard fruit pudding,
Jelly , fruit punch and carrot cake with cream cheese frosting.

Later I will post the picture, one by one for clear viewing.
Some of the pictures are missing in the spread.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7417/9298312259_fab0fbbcc6_c.jpg