View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 7

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16

meerra
9th November 2013, 07:45 AM
NOV uncle, very sorry to hear about your loss .
A mother's love can never be replaced.
May her soul rest in peace .

Lathz
15th November 2013, 06:09 AM
Nov...am so sorry to hear dis...... accept my heartfelt condolences bro...May God give you the strength to bear this...May amma soul RIP.....

19th November 2013, 06:18 PM
Thank you Ramrish, priyasri, meerra, Lathz. :bow:

19th November 2013, 06:18 PM
Why is this thread so quiet. Please, all come back. Let me invite you back with a mini feast. :)

http://jiboombaa.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/P1250725-Small2.jpg

kugan98
19th November 2013, 10:17 PM
Dear friends, NOV anneh's AMMA'S prayers are over.
Let us all pray for her soul to rest in peace.
I am sure she is resting at the Lotus Feet of Lord Siva.
AMMA rest in peace.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7365/10947020784_16bdbe52cd.jpg

kugan98
19th November 2013, 10:19 PM
Thanks all my friends for the messages.

Thanks NOV anneh for the mini feast.

Take care, Kugan

kugan98
19th November 2013, 10:23 PM
Dear friends, now is the season for cranberry in US.
They usually make a dish for THANKSGIVING DAY.

Our friend Sangeetha has made the cranberry thokku for us.
Enjoy, Kugan

CRANBERRY THOKKU

Ingredients:

¼ cup gingelly oil
½ tsp mustard seeds

350 grms cleaned cranberry, ground to coarse paste without adding water
2 tsp chilli powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
2 tsp salt

½ tsp asafetida powder
¼ tsp roasted and powdered funugreek seeds
2 tsp jiggery

Method:

Heat a non stick pan with the oil.
Add in the mustard seeds and allow to splutter.
Now add in the ground cranberry paste, chilli powder, turmeric powder and salt.
On slow flame keep on stirring, continuously, till the oil separates.

Now add in the asafetida powder, funugreek powder and the jiggery.
Stir well for another minute and remove from heat.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7298/10947106553_e6bdd95186.jpg

uwitiusoj
19th November 2013, 11:18 PM
thank u k for posting the picture. great combination for many things one of the best is curd rice.

uwitiusoj
19th November 2013, 11:26 PM
daily practice still going on K , tried a lot of ur recipes. singapore bay hotel tofu try pannen. arummai , husband told must dish when my cousin visits. snake gourd paal kootum arummai.

20th November 2013, 07:34 AM
Dear friends, NOV anneh's AMMA'S prayers are over.
Let us all pray for her soul to rest in peace.
I am sure she is resting at the Lotus Feet of Lord Siva.
AMMA rest in peace.Thank you very much for your prayers and kind words.
Allow me to repost what I posted in my facebook -

As I end the 16-day mourning period, my thoughts turn to the essence of Gita, which helps us understand our station in this mortal world.
We need constant reminders that the only thing constant in this world is Change.
Let peace prevail.....

http://www.vallamai.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/geethacharam.jpg

thanks to everyone for your prayers and consoling.
Please come back and post your recipes and feedback as normal. :bow:

chinnakkannan
20th November 2013, 11:15 AM
//Please come back and post your recipes and feedback as normal. //

அதானே.. சரீ ஈ ஈ.. குகன் ஜி.. க்ரான் பெர்ரி புளிக்குமோல்லியோ.. காரம் நிறையப் போடணுமோ..ஓ

ஆனா கார்த்திகைக்கு என் வீட்டில் கடலை உருண்டை செஞ்சாங்க.. நன்னாயிட்டு இருந்தது (கொஞ்சம் தான்..) ரெஸிப்பி வீ.கா கிட்ட கேட்டு வாங்கிப் போடறேன்..அப்படியே சைடில மசால் வடை பண்ணினாங்க..ம்ம் சரியா வல்லை !

rose75
20th November 2013, 12:45 PM
Kugan, so happy to see you post again in the forum.
The forum was very very quiet without you.
I love to read your small,small punches here and there.
Can you post a very good soya mate varuval, ( just like chicken varuval ) for me.
Thanks Kugan.

petston
20th November 2013, 04:52 PM
HI ,

I am new to this hub, but I usually follow your posts and tried some in my home.
I want mushroom curry or mushroom masala recipe.If possible with chicken or mutton.

please be kind to share some of your receipes.

Peter

kugan98
20th November 2013, 06:21 PM
daily practice still going on K , tried a lot of ur recipes. singapore bay hotel tofu try pannen. arummai , husband told must dish when my cousin visits. snake gourd paal kootum arummai.

Thank you very much Sangeetha for your nice post and feed backs.
You really inspire me to post more.

Sangeetha I owe you two recipes, green chilli panner and chocolate ice cream.
Both are coming very soon.
Thanks and take care.
Kugan

kugan98
20th November 2013, 06:23 PM
Thanks NOV anneh, beautiful words of Gita.

kugan98
20th November 2013, 06:31 PM
//Please come back and post your recipes and feedback as normal. //

அதானே.. சரீ ஈ ஈ.. குகன் ஜி.. க்ரான் பெர்ரி புளிக்குமோல்லியோ.. காரம் நிறையப் போடணுமோ..ஓ

ஆனா கார்த்திகைக்கு என் வீட்டில் கடலை உருண்டை செஞ்சாங்க.. நன்னாயிட்டு இருந்தது (கொஞ்சம் தான்..) ரெஸிப்பி வீ.கா கிட்ட கேட்டு வாங்கிப் போடறேன்..அப்படியே சைடில மசால் வடை பண்ணினாங்க..ம்ம் சரியா வல்லை !

Hello Kannan anneh, thanks for your nice post.
Anneh, the cranberry is just like our sour mango, so you can make the sweet patchadi, or thokku as one pleases.
Not necessary to add lot of kaaram.

So happy that the kadalai urundai came out nice in your house.
I just made pori urundai, sundal for prayers.

Adada, what happened to the masal vadai?
Sangeetha made it and it came nice for her, she posted the picture to me.
Kannan anneh, ungalukkum, masal vadaikum, etho oru prchanai irukku:-D
Take care anna.

kugan98
20th November 2013, 06:34 PM
Kugan, so happy to see you post again in the forum.
The forum was very very quiet without you.
I love to read your small,small punches here and there.
Can you post a very good soya mate varuval, ( just like chicken varuval ) for me.
Thanks Kugan.

Dear Rose, thank you very much for your nice post and comments.
I will post the recipe for you very soon.
Sangeetha madam is waiting for two of her recipes.
Bayam ma irukku avanglai paarkka.
Take care.

kugan98
20th November 2013, 06:38 PM
HI ,

I am new to this hub, but I usually follow your posts and tried some in my home.
I want mushroom curry or mushroom masala recipe.If possible with chicken or mutton.

Peter

Welcome to Kugan's Kitchen forum Peter Sir.
Very happy to know that you have tried few recipes.
I have posted few mushroom recipes, curry and masala.
Of course without chicken or mutton.
Since I am a vegetarian I can try with tofu or mock meat.
Hope you would be with us.
Take care.

kugan98
20th November 2013, 06:43 PM
CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM

Ingredients:

1 ½ cu[ps of whole milk
½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup sugar

2 cups heavy cream
50 grms of melted dark chocolate
1 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

Whisk together milk, cocoa powder and sugar to combine.
The sugar should have completely dissolved.

Stir in heavy cream, melted chocolate and vanilla.
Freeze it for at least 2 hours until firm.

Remove from fridge, use a fork to break out the mixture.
Blend it using a hand held beater for few seconds.
Return the mixture to the freezer for another 3 hours.

You might need to repeat the process at least twice for a smoother texture.
Freeze the mixture over night and you are ready for a scoop.
Store your ice cream in an air tight plastic container at the back of the freezer.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7315/10961236743_ccb1af6002.jpg

petston
20th November 2013, 06:50 PM
Welcome to Kugan's Kitchen forum Peter Sir.
Very happy to know that you have tried few recipes.
I have posted few mushroom recipes, curry and masala.
Of course without chicken or mutton.
Since I am a vegetarian I can try with tofu or mock meat.
Hope you would be with us.
Take care.

Thanks for the Warm Welcome Kugan Ji. :D :D :D

chinnakkannan
20th November 2013, 10:17 PM
Adada, what happened to the masal vadai?
Sangeetha made it and it came nice for her, she posted the picture to me.
Kannan anneh, ungalukkum, masal vadaikum, etho oru prchanai irukku:-D
Take care anna.

தெரியலையேம்மா...ம்..ம்ம்..ஒரு வேளை போன ஜன்மத்தில் எலியாய் பிறந்திருப்பேனோ என்னவோ.. :)

uwitiusoj
20th November 2013, 11:09 PM
thank u K :pink::pink::yes:

evlo simple recipeku, why there is so many unwanted ingredients in the store bought.they dont care for our stomach. i need to buy chocolate and heavy cream.

i recently saw the chocolate (meltable) u hav mentioned at the super market.

i dont have a hand held beater, shall i use the pulse button in blender K?

uwitiusoj
21st November 2013, 12:32 AM
HI ,

Peter

welcome to the forum Peter. Here are some mushroom masala recipes of K

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8793-Kugan-s-Kitchen-Part-6/page217

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?9796-Kugan-s-Kitchen-Part-7/page273

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?9796-Kugan-s-Kitchen-Part-7/page245

uwitiusoj
21st November 2013, 12:38 AM
Dear Rose, thank you very much for your nice post and comments.
I will post the recipe for you very soon.
Sangeetha madam is waiting for two of her recipes.
Bayam ma irukku avanglai paarkka.
Take care.

thanks for your request rose. me too interested. all your request are very useful for me.

:shoot::shoot::shoot: K bayapadathinga naan irukum oorukum ennakum enda sambadamum illai.

21st November 2013, 06:21 AM
kugan: Guess what? I was browsing the cook book section in a book store and found books on "Clay Pot Cooking". I thought of buying a book for aunty. Then, I remembered that she had installed an induction cook top requiring cast iron vessels ! :( If you want one I will send you one. You may have to import clay pots from India ! :lol:

kugan98
21st November 2013, 06:20 PM
Thanks for the Warm Welcome Kugan Ji. :D :D :D

You are welcome Peter. Sangeetha has given few links to the mushroom recipes.
What I will do is I will alter one recipe and add in chicken for you to show.

You can do this to all the mushroom recipes.
If you are adding mutton, just boil the mutton with little ginger garlic paste, salt and chillie powder.
see that there is not much liquid, add this to the cooking before adding the mushrooms.

The mutton or chicken have to be proportionate with the mushroom.
Thalai suthutha ? do not worry, I will write out the recipe for you.
Thanks and take care, Kugan.

kugan98
21st November 2013, 06:25 PM
தெரியலையேம்மா...ம்..ம்ம்..ஒரு வேளை போன ஜன்மத்தில் எலியாய் பிறந்திருப்பேனோ என்னவோ.. :)

Kannan anna, no chance of masala vadai going wrong.
Do not soak for long hours, drain completely of water.
grind to a coarse paste, add in the cut chilli, ginger , curry leaves and onions.
add salt little aniseeds, pat, pat into hot oil.
I am taking the next flight to your place.
See you then. Kugan

kugan98
21st November 2013, 06:29 PM
thank u K :pink::pink::yes:

evlo simple recipeku, why there is so many unwanted ingredients in the store bought.they dont care for our stomach. i need to buy chocolate and heavy cream.

i recently saw the chocolate (meltable) u hav mentioned at the super market.

i dont have a hand held beater, shall i use the pulse button in blender K?

Dear Sangeetha, thanks for your nice post.
Sangeetha you can melt the chocolate over steam and add also.

I am not sure about the pulse button.Your cake beater too can work.
Thanks for the links for Peter.
Take care, Kugan.

kugan98
21st November 2013, 06:32 PM
kugan: Guess what? I was browsing the cook book section in a book store and found books on "Clay Pot Cooking". I thought of buying a book for aunty. Then, I remembered that she had installed an induction cook top requiring cast iron vessels ! :( If you want one I will send you one. You may have to import clay pots from India ! :lol:

Rajraj uncle, cho sweet of you uncle.
It's the thought that counts.

Imm Rajraj uncle, engga ooril illatha clay pots ah.
How many types do you need:-D

Thanks uncle take care, Kugan

chinnakkannan
21st November 2013, 06:35 PM
//I am taking the next flight to your place.
See you then. Kugan//

குகன் ஜி..எப்போ வேணும்னாலும் வாங்க.:).ஆனா மசால் வடை மட்டும் பத்தாது.. மத்த அழகான உணவு வகைகளையும் பண்ணித்தரணும் :)

தாங்க்ஸ் ஃபார்த மசால் வடை ரெஸிப்பி ஒன்ஸ் அகெய்ன்.. நான் தான் களத்தில் இறங்கணும்னு நினைக்கிறேன் :)

kugan98
21st November 2013, 06:38 PM
Dear Rose, here is the soya chicken varuval for you.
Kugan.

SOYA CHICKEN VARUVAL

Ingredients:

(A)
2 cups soya chunks
2 pips garlic smashed
1 small piece ginger smashed
1 small stick of cinnamon
2 cloves smashed
Little milk
Little salt

(B)
2 tsp meat masala powder
¼ tsp salt
2 tbs oil

(C)
2 tbs oil
1 tsp aniseeds
1 stick cinnamon stick
2 cardamom pods
2 medium onions sliced
Little salt

1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
1 sprig curry leaves

(D)
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp Kashmiri chilli powder
¾ tsp coriander powder
1 tsp meat masala powder
¼ tsp pepper powder

(E)

1 cup of chopped tomatoes
Salt to taste

Method:

Add all the ingredients in (A) in a pot with water.
Boil everything for about 10 minutes.
Let it cool, drain and wash in lots of water and squeeze.
Slice into thin pieces and set aside

Now add all the ingredients in (B) into the soya chunks.
Let it rest for about 10 minutes.
Now heat about 2 tbs of oil in a non-stick pan.
Shallow fry the soya chunks till golden and crisp. Keep aside.

Now add in the ingredients in ( C ) except ginger, garlic and curry leaves.
Let the onions brown well, add in the ginger, garlic pastes and curry leaves.
Saute well for a minute, add in the ingredients in (D)
Stir fry till the raw smell goes. Add in the chopped tomatoes.

Cook till the tomatoes turn mushy. Taste for salt.
Finally add in the fried soya slices, give a very good mix.
Continue to roast for another 5 minutes.
Remove and serve with rice.

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5500/10977590844_4b85baf8ae.jpg

kugan98
21st November 2013, 07:04 PM
Dear Peter, here is the altered recipe.
Mutton mushroom masala, imm the name too sounds good:-D
This recipe is by Sumi.
Kugan.

MUTTON MUSHROOM MASALA

Ingredients
300 grms mutton cut into small pieces
2 tsp ginger paste
2 tsp garlic paste
1 tsp chilli powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
Boil the mutton with enough liquid, till the mutton is cooked, and little gravy remains.
Keep aside

2 tsp oil
1 small cinnamon stick
3 cloves
3 big onions grind them to a coarse paste
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste

Cooked mutton
300 grms fresh button mushrooms sliced
3 tsp masala powder
Salt to taste

Masala Powder:
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
½ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp pepper powder
A pinch of clove powder
A big pinch of cinnamon powder

1 big tomato chopped
Little coriander leaves for garnishing

Method:
Heat a kadai with the oil. add in the cloves and cinnamon stick.
Now add in the coarsely ground onions, ginger and garlic pastes.
Sauté them well till the raw smell goes.

Now add in the cooked mutton with the gravy.
Add in sliced mushrooms, and sauté them once.
Now add in the masala powder, and salt.
Mix well and allow it to cook for about 5 minutes.
The oil should separate from the gravy.

Now add in the chopped tomatoes and stir well.
Let it cook for about 3 minutes.
Remove and serve with rice or roti.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Cg0zOf2GLl4/TcmIg0XqIBI/AAAAAAAAJn4/TTyqmjIgRHM/s320/mushroommasalaone.jpg

21st November 2013, 10:44 PM
Belated Karthigai deepam wishes to all! Hope every one knows the legend behind such auspicious day! :)

I shifted from Kailesh to Thiruvanamallai for my devotees, I am taking a flight to Kailash, see you all later!

I hear Raj uncle coming :yessir:

gulabjamun
22nd November 2013, 07:53 AM
Hai, Kuganka, so nice to see you again in the forum.
Yummy recipes you have posted. I tried the chocolate ice cream.
Wow, supera vanthichi. Thanks akka.
Weekend is the chicken varuval. Thanks Rose for requesting the recipe.

Sangeetha, thanks for all your requests to.
You are a super pillar behind. Kuganka.
Thanks folks.

22nd November 2013, 09:26 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/q71/s720x720/184554_424348657663989_1901488414_n.jpg

kugan98
22nd November 2013, 06:38 PM
Belated Karthigai deepam wishes to all! Hope every one knows the legend behind such auspicious day! :)

I shifted from Kailesh to Thiruvanamallai for my devotees, I am taking a flight to Kailash, see you all later!

I hear Raj uncle coming :yessir:

Thanks P.S Tamby for your nice post.
Yes, I saw you sitting with a travel bag in Thiruvanammalli.
Have a nice time. Take care, Kugan

kugan98
22nd November 2013, 08:18 PM
Hai, Kuganka, so nice to see you again in the forum.
Yummy recipes you have posted. I tried the chocolate ice cream.
Wow, supera vanthichi. Thanks akka.
Weekend is the chicken varuval. Thanks Rose for requesting the recipe.

Sangeetha, thanks for all your requests to.
You are a super pillar behind. Kuganka.
Thanks folks.

Thanks Gulabjamun for your nice post. You tried the ice cream that quickly?
The ice cream will melt very fast as we do not use any gelatins or stabilizers.
Give us the feed back once you try the varuval.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
22nd November 2013, 08:20 PM
NOV , Anneh, thank you very much for the nice recipe. I will try it eggless and post the picture.
Thanks again. Kugan

kugan98
22nd November 2013, 08:23 PM
My dear Sangeetha! I wanted to post the green chilli panner for you.
Again my p.c, I cannot post any pictures. Something is wrong.
That,s why I am posting from my IPad.,I will post as soon as I can.
Thanks and take care. Kugan

uwitiusoj
22nd November 2013, 10:30 PM
nov annah thanks for the recipe. :bow:

K thanks for the varuval recipe. pakkum pode naa oorukinradu. 5 set of ing parkum podu bayama irundadu. but method quite simple let me try. rose ungalukum oru thx.

gulajamun adukulla icecream try pannitengala :omg: enna fasta erukenga.

PS thamby adan alla kannom ma. thanks for the wishes.

uwitiusoj
22nd November 2013, 10:35 PM
thanks K. rommba aasaya iruku as my hubby is a fan. running short of time. still not yet taken printout imagine my situation if internet doesnt work while guest are here. poor memory, i made one of ur paneer mushroom gravy day before after seing several times forgot to add curd. but still it was good and over also.

Dear Sangeetha, thanks for your nice post.
Sangeetha you can melt the chocolate over steam and add also.

I am not sure about the pulse button.Your cake beater too can work.
Thanks for the links for Peter.
Take care, Kugan.

uwitiusoj
22nd November 2013, 10:41 PM
K two request from me but not urgent . whenever u get time

1. do u know in kerala and taminadu they used to sell garlic, curry leaves flavored fried cashewnuts. can u please post its recipe. feel these things are little healthy than other snacks. i have lot of cashwes.

2. i love idli upma K but when ever i make its becomes soggy or too dry.

uwitiusoj
22nd November 2013, 10:47 PM
My dear Sangeetha! I wanted to post the green chilli panner for you.
Again my p.c, I cannot post any pictures. Something is wrong.
That,s why I am posting from my IPad.,I will post as soon as I can.

no worries K. I will wait until u give me the recipe. i am afraid to take risks anymore. posting with ipad is difficult so dont waste ur time. u have already given a lot of recipes to practice.

kugan98
23rd November 2013, 05:40 AM
nov annah thanks for the recipe. :bow:

K thanks for the varuval recipe. pakkum pode naa oorukinradu. 5 set of ing parkum podu bayama irundadu. but method quite simple let me try. rose ungalukum oru thx.

gulajamun adukulla icecream try pannitengala :omg: enna fasta erukenga.

PS thamby adan alla kannom ma. thanks for the wishes.

Dear Sangeetha, 5 sets of ingredients are all nothing.
The first set of things is how I boil my soya meal maker.
You will not have any form of smell of the soya meal maker.
Try and see. Kugan.

kugan98
23rd November 2013, 05:49 AM
thanks K. rommba aasaya iruku as my hubby is a fan. running short of time. still not yet taken printout imagine my situation if internet doesnt work while guest are here. poor memory, i made one of ur paneer mushroom gravy day before after seing several times forgot to add curd. but still it was good and over also.

Dear Sangeetha, I remember Meerra always keeps her laptop on when ever she cooks.
She will always keep running to her laptop, every time it closes:-D
Nalla joka irrukum. I always will print out my recipe and stick it on the fridge.
No super memory for me. Of course waste of paper and ink, but no choice:huh:
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
23rd November 2013, 06:01 AM
K two request from me but not urgent . whenever u get time

1. do u know in kerala and taminadu they used to sell garlic, curry leaves flavored fried cashewnuts. can u please post its recipe. feel these things are little healthy than other snacks. i have lot of cashwes.

2. i love idli upma K but when ever i make its becomes soggy or too dry.

Your cashew nut recipe is coming soon.

Why ma, why does it go soggy or dry.?
I will post a nice recipe for you soon.

Do you do it with old idlis or new ones.?
Kugan.

kugan98
23rd November 2013, 06:06 AM
Sangeetha, my p.c is a new one. At times every thing is o.k.
At times it will say, URL not found and things like that.
My son says that my anti virus, is very powerful, that's why it blocks your forum.
Maybe at times there are virus in the forum.
My head will go round when I see such things.
Hope to resolve all things soon.
Kugan.

kugan98
23rd November 2013, 06:21 AM
Dear Sangeetha, I have made the Green Chilli Panner with Tofu.
You can use panner instead of tofu. Ingredients look lot.
If you follow them it is very simple. Kugan.

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/attachment.php?attachmentid=2742&d=1385170003

GREEN CHILLI TOFU

Ingredients:

To Marinate:
3 green chillis
1 inch ginger
3 pips of garlic
Grind to a fine paste.

1 tsp dark soy sauce
1 ½ tsp red chilli powder
Little salt

250 grms tofu cubed

1 ½ tsp vinegar
3 tbs corn flour

2 tbs oil

The Sauce:

3 tbs of oil
1 inch ginger chopped finely
5 pips garlic chopped finely
2 onions sliced
6 green chillis slit
3 stalks spring onion whites sliced
1 capsicum, sliced

Whisk together:
3 tbs tomato sauce
1 tbs dark soy sauce
3 tbs red chilli sauce
1 tbs vinegar
1 tsp sugar
Little salt

1 tbs corn flour
½ cup of water
Dissolve to gether

Chopped spring onion greens.

Method:
Put the ground ingredients in a bowl, add in the soy sauce, red chilli powder and salt.
Mix well, add in the tofu cubes and toss well. Keep aside for 30 minutes.
Now add in the vinegar and corn flour, toss again gently.
See that the tofu is well coated with the mixture. Keep aside for about 20 minutes.
Now in a non stick pan heat the oil, and shallow fry for few minutes, till all sides are brown.
Remove and keep aside.

Now heat the oil in a wide mouthed non stick pan. Add in the chopped ginger and garlic.
Saute well till nice aroma comes, add in the sliced onions, slit green chillis,
And the sliced spring onion whites, cook on high heat for a second.
Add in the sliced capsicum and cook for another minute.

Add in the shallow fried tofu cubes and toss well for 2 minutes.
Now add in the whisked sauces and cook on high heat stirring till the tofu cubes are well coated with the sauce. Add in the corn flour water mixture.
Cook till the sauce thickens and coats every thing well.

Remove and add in the chopped spring onion greens. Toss well.
Serve with fried rice.

My goodness Flicker has changed its format and I do not know what to do.
I will post the picture to NOV anneh's email.
See if he can post it for me.:banghead::banghead:

kugan98
23rd November 2013, 11:36 AM
Thanks NOV anneh, you are great.
Take care, Kugan

uwitiusoj
23rd November 2013, 11:55 PM
Dear Sangeetha, I remember Meerra always keeps her laptop on when ever she cooks.
She will always keep running to her laptop, every time it closes:-D
Nalla joka irrukum. I always will print out my recipe and stick it on the fridge.
No super memory for me. Of course waste of paper and ink, but no choice:huh:
Thanks, Kugan

then meera is exactly like me. i just get annoyed even after running several times if i forgot some ingredient. i remember like for paste 5, for season 4, like that. if i dont do that i will forget. definitely i will take print outs. i am feeling possessive, because i gave yesterday a set of recipes for print out to my hubby (home one not working) and no boss yesterday for him at work as it was heavy rain over here. so all day he was reading all ur recipes now he knows all ur recipes better than me. he took a print out for himself too. :( . i am feeling very possessive .

uwitiusoj
23rd November 2013, 11:58 PM
Your cashew nut recipe is coming soon.

Why ma, why does it go soggy or dry.?
I will post a nice recipe for you soon.

Do you do it with old idlis or new ones.?
Kugan.

:redjump::redjump::pink::pink:

thanks K. new onena old onela pannale it become soggy for me. new one will become paste. i dont know the reason.

uwitiusoj
23rd November 2013, 11:59 PM
Sangeetha, my p.c is a new one. At times every thing is o.k.
At times it will say, URL not found and things like that.
My son says that my anti virus, is very powerful, that's why it blocks your forum.
Maybe at times there are virus in the forum.
My head will go round when I see such things.
Hope to resolve all things soon.
Kugan.

me too without PC head will be rotating 365.

uwitiusoj
24th November 2013, 12:01 AM
thank u very much K for the chille paneer/tofu recipe. :pink::pink:

no words to thank u. i will do it today itself. hotel sappadu veetlaye.

kugan98
24th November 2013, 02:50 PM
then meera is exactly like me. i just get annoyed even after running several times if i forgot some ingredient. i remember like for paste 5, for season 4, like that. if i dont do that i will forget. definitely i will take print outs. i am feeling possessive, because i gave yesterday a set of recipes for print out to my hubby (home one not working) and no boss yesterday for him at work as it was heavy rain over here. so all day he was reading all ur recipes now he knows all ur recipes better than me. he took a print out for himself too. :( . i am feeling very possessive .

Sangeetha, semma joke:rotfl::rotfl:
Ok, ok, next time I will send a separate copy to my brother:goodidea::goodidea:
Kugan

kugan98
24th November 2013, 02:53 PM
:redjump::redjump::pink::pink:

thanks K. new onena old onela pannale it become soggy for me. new one will become paste. i dont know the reason.

Do not worry, I will give you the tips to make good idli upma.
By the way what proportion do you use to make idlis?
Kugan.

kugan98
24th November 2013, 02:54 PM
me too without PC head will be rotating 365.

Apada, I found a solution.
Kugan.

kugan98
24th November 2013, 02:57 PM
thank u very much K for the chille paneer/tofu recipe. :pink::pink:

no words to thank u. i will do it today itself. hotel sappadu veetlaye.

Sangeetha nalla varalehna, Iam :yessir::yessir:

Kugan.

kugan98
24th November 2013, 03:05 PM
Dear Sangeetha here is the recipe for idli upma. Kugan.

IDLI UPMA

Ingredients:

10 , one day old idlis
2 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 dry red chillis, cut into small pieces
½ tsp urad dal
½ tsp channa dal

2 medium onions chopped
3 green chillies chopped
1 tsp ginger finely chopped
1 sprig curry leaves
Salt to taste

1 tsp lemon juice
½ tbs coriander leaves chopped

Method:
Take the idlis and with your fingertips, , crumble the idlis slowly
If your idlis are very dry just sprinkle little water. (I did not do it. )

Heat oil in a non stick wok, add in the mustard seeds and let it crackle.
Add in the dry red chillis, urad dal and the channa dal.
Roast them till they become golden brown.

Add in the onions, green chillies, ginger curry leaves and little salt.
Saute till the onions turn slightly brown.
Add in the crumbled idlis, lemon juice, and gently toss and mix well.
Cook over medium low flame to prevent the upma from sticking to the pan.

Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.
Serve as it is or with any chutney.

NOTE: some like to add in grated coconut, but it is optional.

SOFT IDLIS:

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2847/11024681626_cfc77eb537_z.jpg

CRUMBLED IDLIS:

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2838/11024752704_9d915c3aed_z.jpg

IDLI UPMA:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3700/11024594105_9c7d9772a0_o.jpg

24th November 2013, 05:48 PM
wow! both the idli and the uppuma look deliriously delicious! :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp:

and here is my treat for you :D

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/q71/1459719_649301338477705_792036503_n.jpg

rose75
24th November 2013, 07:23 PM
Kuganka, hats off to you. The soya chicken varuval was fantastic. Your method of boiling the soya to get rid of the smell is super. We had guests and they asked me how come your soya does not have that funny smell.

Every one enjoyed the dish very much Kuganka. Thanks a lot for the recipe.
Now I know how to boil the soya for different dishes.
Thanks again Kuganka.

uwitiusoj
25th November 2013, 12:03 AM
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7435/11032986725_03d39bc808.jpg

:banghead:banghead::banghead::banghead:

after several of these above using flickr

now

:yes::yes::pink::pink:

uwitiusoj
25th November 2013, 12:16 AM
Sangeetha, semma joke:rotfl::rotfl:
Ok, ok, next time I will send a separate copy to my brother:goodidea::goodidea:
Kugan

:cry::cry:

uwitiusoj
25th November 2013, 12:18 AM
Do not worry, I will give you the tips to make good idli upma.
By the way what proportion do you use to make idlis?
Kugan.

3 idli rice 1/2 cup raw rice and 1 cup urad dal. keep it for both idli and dosa. grind it in mixie. i have grinder but never used it on my own. so afraid.

uwitiusoj
25th November 2013, 12:20 AM
Sangeetha nalla varalehna, Iam :yessir::yessir:

Kugan.

supera vanduchu K. finally good chille paneer for hubby. but after started everything only i came to know i did not have capsicum.

uwitiusoj
25th November 2013, 12:22 AM
Kuganka, hats off to you. The soya chicken varuval was fantastic. Your method of boiling the soya to get rid of the smell is super. We had guests and they asked me how come your soya does not have that funny smell.

Every one enjoyed the dish very much Kuganka. Thanks a lot for the recipe.
Now I know how to boil the soya for different dishes.
Thanks again Kuganka.

ellarum epdi tempt panrengale. i am ruuning out of time.

uwitiusoj
25th November 2013, 12:23 AM
K thanks for the idli upma recipe. i am dying for it, i just love idli upma.

gulabjamun
25th November 2013, 02:58 AM
Kuganka, your idlis look super soft and soo white. What is the recipe?
The upma too looks very nice. Thanks for posting the recipe.

Sangeetha, I really enjoy the conversation between you and our Kugan.
Very very enjoyable and nice to read. I am very very happy about it. Form your post I can understand that you are planning something.
A cook out or a very big party. Wish you all the success for the cook out. Our Kugan's recipes will not fail you.

I am very brave if I am trying out her recipes, all will turn out very well. Her recipe itself is so easy to follow.
She has every thing step up step , so easy to follow it. Post your picture of your cook out.
Gulabjamun.

kugan98
26th November 2013, 02:01 PM
NOV anneh thanks for the simple and quick method for the ice cream.

I owe you 2 pictures for the recipes, you posted.

Little busy with nephew's "Thevasam " and things.

Will be coming soon. Thanks and take care, Kugan.

kugan98
26th November 2013, 02:06 PM
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7435/11032986725_03d39bc808.jpg

:banghead:banghead::banghead::banghead:

after several of these above using flickr

now

:yes::yes::pink::pink:

Thanks ,thanks Sangeetha for the beautiful picture.
You see I am not a very good teacher when it comes to teaching things.
Athileyum, computer, mooch, very very illiterate.

Please pm our NOV anneh and ask him to explain as to how to post the pictures.
Slight change in Flicker format and naan aadipoyeten.

kugan98
26th November 2013, 02:25 PM
3 idli rice 1/2 cup raw rice and 1 cup urad dal. keep it for both idli and dosa. grind it in mixie. i have grinder but never used it on my own. so afraid.

Dear Sangeetha, the measurements for the idli and dosai, always will make our head go round.

My great grandmother, and all the down line use only this measurement.

2 cups of Ponni pulungal arisi
1 cup whole urad dal
1/2 cup cooked rice
1/4 tsp of funugreek seeds
salt to taste

Soak the rice for about 5 hours.
The urad dal and funugreek seeds for an hour.

grind the urad dal till fluffy, do not use lot of water.
use the water in which you soaked the urad dal.
once done remove and keep aside.

now grind the rice with the cooked rice.
grind smooth, but little grainy.
Mix the two batter with salt, beat well with your hand.
Let it ferment for at least 8 to 9 hours.
you get super soft idlis.

NOTE, I have not tried with idli rice.
Sorry if I confused you. You can continue your own method if you feel happy.

kugan98
26th November 2013, 02:31 PM
Kuganka, your idlis look super soft and soo white. What is the recipe?
The upma too looks very nice. Thanks for posting the recipe.

Sangeetha, I really enjoy the conversation between you and our Kugan.
Very very enjoyable and nice to read. I am very very happy about it. Form your post I can understand that you are planning something.
A cook out or a very big party. Wish you all the success for the cook out. Our Kugan's recipes will not fail you.

I am very brave if I am trying out her recipes, all will turn out very well. Her recipe itself is so easy to follow.
She has every thing step up step , so easy to follow it. Post your picture of your cook out.
Gulabjamun.

Thank you, thank you Gulabjamun foe all your compliments>:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

Yes Sangeetha is expecting visitors from the 25th to the 15th of Jan.
I will be missing her and her comments:cry2::cry2:

Glad that you feel safe trying out my recipes.
Careful at times it can oothikiran also.:rotfl::rotfl:

I am sure Sangeetha can post some of her cookings.
I know she will be very busy.

kugan98
26th November 2013, 02:51 PM
Dear Sangeetha I asked my aunt for the masala cashew nuts.
She gave me a recipe, where you roast the cashew nuts before adding the seasonings.
She told me if you want it healthy, you roast it, otherwise you can fry it in oil.
Well I roasted the cashew nuts in the oven. Try it out Sangeetha.
Kugan.

ROASTED MASALA CASHEW NUTS

Ingredients:

200 grms of whole cashew nuts
1 litre water
1 tbs salt

1 tsp butter
2 pips of garlic chopped
1 sprig of curry leaves.
Fine salt if needed

Method:
Bring the water to boil in a pot. Add in the salt and stir to dissolve.
Add in the whole cashew nuts, stir once.
Once all the cashew nuts start to float, remove and drain well.
Dry on a kitchen towel.

Spread the cashew nuts on an ungreased baking tray.
Bake in preheated oven at 120 degrees C, for an hour.
Give them a good stir every 20 minutes.

Mean while, heat a seasoning spoon or a wok.
Add in the butter, once it melts, add in the chopped garlic.
Saute until slightly brown with aroma, add in the curry leaves.
Stir fry and remove. Keep aside.

Remove the roasted cashew nuts from the oven, while still hot, add in the garlic seasonings.
Sprinkle little fine salt if needed, toss well.
Cool completely then transfer to airtight container.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7390/11064251326_2a3a3d97bb_z.jpg

26th November 2013, 05:05 PM
K, can you please send me the cashew nuts? I will pay as much cash for the cashews :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp:

I use this proportion for foolproof idli/thosai: 1 cup normal pulungal arisi, 1 cup pachai arisi, 1 cup kurna arisi, 1 cup ulundhu. Soak altogether and grind altogether. Add a bit cooked rice when grinding, that's it. The hand beating is very very important.

uwitiusoj
26th November 2013, 11:19 PM
yes gulajamun as Kugan said my cousin family is here. they bought us mixture halwa thattai all snacks, pulikachal, curry leaves powder etc from india :happydance::happydance:

i will take pics if i get time and post the pics once i am back all alone. they r here only until 15th dec not jan K. and more over while they shop alone i will get some time to peep into the forum.

uwitiusoj
26th November 2013, 11:26 PM
NOV anneh thanks for the simple and quick method for the ice cream.

I owe you 2 pictures for the recipes, you posted.

Little busy with nephew's "Thevasam " and things.

Will be coming soon. Thanks and take care, Kugan.

i dont know how missed the bannana icecream, after reading ur post i went back. super easya iruke icecream.

uwitiusoj
26th November 2013, 11:33 PM
Dear Sangeetha, the measurements for the idli and dosai, always will make our head go round.

1 cup whole urad dal
1/2 cup cooked rice
salt to taste

during diwali sale i bought 40 pounds of idli rice for a yr. last yr also i did the same. idhu paati valarpal vanda seemippu ennam. (paati will still not accept that i am saving she used to scold me for being laavish, which i am not)

sometimes they do sell rice in small packs if they sell i will try that in ponni parboiled rice. i will also try ur measurements using idly rice and post the feedback.

uwitiusoj
26th November 2013, 11:37 PM
Dear Sangeetha I asked my aunt for the masala cashew nuts.
She gave me a recipe, where you roast the cashew nuts before adding the seasonings.
She told me if you want it healthy, you roast it, otherwise you can fry it in oil.
Well I roasted the cashew nuts in the oven. Try it out Sangeetha.
Kugan.

ROASTED MASALA CASHEW NUTS

Ingredients:

200 grms of whole cashew nuts
1 litre water
1 tbs salt

1 tsp butter
2 pips of garlic chopped
1 sprig of curry leaves.
Fine salt if needed

Method:
Bring the water to boil in a pot. Add in the salt and stir to dissolve.
Add in the whole cashew nuts, stir once.
Once all the cashew nuts start to float, remove and drain well.
Dry on a kitchen towel.

Spread the cashew nuts on an ungreased baking tray.
Bake in preheated oven at 120 degrees C, for an hour.
Give them a good stir every 20 minutes.

Mean while, heat a seasoning spoon or a wok.
Add in the butter, once it melts, add in the chopped garlic.
Saute until slightly brown with aroma, add in the curry leaves.
Stir fry and remove. Keep aside.

Remove the roasted cashew nuts from the oven, while still hot, add in the garlic seasonings.
Sprinkle little fine salt if needed, toss well.
Cool completely then transfer to airtight container.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7390/11064251326_2a3a3d97bb_z.jpg

million million thanks K. :ty::ty::bow::bow: . we r giving u the tittle of kitchen Wikipedia. definitely will try and take pics. wow such a healthy version. cashew medakum podu sariya . gavanikanam. :think:

uwitiusoj
27th November 2013, 12:04 AM
K, can you please send me the cashew nuts? I will pay as much cash for the cashews :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp: :slurp:

I use this proportion for foolproof idli/thosai: 1 cup normal pulungal arisi, 1 cup pachai arisi, 1 cup kurna arisi, 1 cup ulundhu. Soak altogether and grind altogether. Add a bit cooked rice when grinding, that's it. The hand beating is very very important.

kurna arisi na? is it idli rice.

kugan98
27th November 2013, 05:41 PM
I use this proportion for foolproof idli/thosai: 1 cup normal pulungal arisi, 1 cup pachai arisi, 1 cup kurna arisi, 1 cup ulundhu. Soak altogether and grind altogether. Add a bit cooked rice when grinding, that's it. The hand beating is very very important.[/QUOTE]

Dear NOV anneh thanks for your compliments.
I would like to try out your proportion for making foolproof dosai.
NOV anneh, I used to remember my father in law buying a big sack of kurunai arisi to feed the birds.
Nowadays I do not think we can get the rice.
NOV anneh, where do you buy the kurunai arisi.
Thanks and take care, Kugan

kugan98
27th November 2013, 05:57 PM
NOV anneh, here is the picture of the yummy banana ice cream.

Thanks NOV anneh for the nice recipe. Kugan

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7434/11083431583_876fa6847b.jpg

kugan98
27th November 2013, 05:59 PM
My dear Sangeetha, hope you enjoy yourself with your cousin's family.

Do not worry about the forum. The forum can wait.

Take care and happy cooking. Kugan

chinnakkannan
27th November 2013, 09:04 PM
குகன் ஜி.. இட்லி உப்புமா மஞ்சள் வண்ணத்தில் இருந்தால் தானே அழகு :) எங்க வீட்டில அப்படித் தான் செய்வாஹ.. (பட் இட் ஷீட் நாட் பி டன் வித் புது இட்லி இஸிண்ட் இட்? :) )

ஊரிலிருந்து வரும் போது (ஆச்சி ப்ராண்ட் என நினைக்கிறேன்) ஒரு எள்ளு மிளகாய்ப் பொடி கொண்டு வந்தேன்..சுவை நன்றாக இருந்தது - ஒரு உப்பு தூக்கல் என்றாலும்.(கொஞ்சம் கருஞ்சிவப்பு நிறத்தில்) .என் வீட்டுக்காரியும் நன்றாகச் செய்வாள்..செய்யச் சொல்லிச் சொல்லியிருக்கிறேன்..எங்கே உங்கள் ரெசிப்பி சொல்லுங்கள்..

ஏன் திடீரென மி.பொ என்றால் - இட்லி உப்மாவிற்கு மிளகாய்ப் பொடி தான் சூட்டபிள் என்ப்து என் கருத்து.

28th November 2013, 07:35 AM
Happy Thanksgiving to all US residents ! :)

(பட் இட் ஷீட் நாட் பி டன் வித் புது இட்லி இஸிண்ட் இட்? :) )

Make the idli in the morning and leave it to dry a little bit till 4 PM and make idli uppumaa! :lol:

gulabjamun
28th November 2013, 09:16 AM
Kugan as I said I tried out the chicken varuval. As Rose has said, turned out so yummy.
Thanks for the recipe, it is a sure keeper.
Banana. Ice cream looks so smooth and yummy.

Sangeetha , your cousin brought so many goodies from India. Enjoy Sangeetha.

Kuganka, have you any recipes for cauliflower perattal. I have so much cauliflower at home.

WHAT IS Thanksgiving in US? What do they do?

28th November 2013, 09:19 AM
kurna arisi na? is it idli rice.no its not. It's broken rice. Also called noi arisi.

NOV anneh, where do you buy the kurunai arisi.almost everywhere.... Carrefour, Giant, Tesco, Mydin and of course at all Indian groceries, including in Brickfields.

kugan98
28th November 2013, 04:41 PM
குகன் ஜி.. இட்லி உப்புமா மஞ்சள் வண்ணத்தில் இருந்தால் தானே அழகு :) எங்க வீட்டில அப்படித் தான் செய்வாஹ.. (பட் இட் ஷீட் நாட் பி டன் வித் புது இட்லி இஸிண்ட் இட்? :) )

ஊரிலிருந்து வரும் போது (ஆச்சி ப்ராண்ட் என நினைக்கிறேன்) ஒரு எள்ளு மிளகாய்ப் பொடி கொண்டு வந்தேன்..சுவை நன்றாக இருந்தது - ஒரு உப்பு தூக்கல் என்றாலும்.(கொஞ்சம் கருஞ்சிவப்பு நிறத்தில்) .என் வீட்டுக்காரியும் நன்றாகச் செய்வாள்..செய்யச் சொல்லிச் சொல்லியிருக்கிறேன்..எங்கே உங்கள் ரெசிப்பி சொல்லுங்கள்..

ஏன் திடீரென மி.பொ என்றால் - இட்லி உப்மாவிற்கு மிளகாய்ப் பொடி தான் சூட்டபிள் என்ப்து என் கருத்து.

Shhhhh, Kannan anneh, I was taught to make idli upma with little tumeric powder only.
Konjam lazy, athoda, I like white color idli upma. Athuthaan:-D:-D

Kannan anneh, even in my house every one likes the sesame podi with gingelly oil.
There are so many styles of making this podi.
This is how we make. Thanks Kugan.

BLACK SESAME MILLAGAAI PODI

Ingredients:

1 tsp oil
50 grms of cleaned black sesame seeds
2 tbs of channa dal
2 tbs of urad dal
10 dry red chillies or as much heat needed
A pinch of hing
Salt to taste

1 pip of garlic (optional )

Method:
Dry fry the sesame seeds till they splutter. Remove.
Heat oil and roast the dals, red chillies and hing.
Let every thing cool.
Now grind every thing with the salt and garlic to a nice powder.
Remove and it is ready to eat.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3810/11099021374_1b43906d42_o.jpg

kugan98
28th November 2013, 04:47 PM
Happy Thanksgiving to all US residents ! :)

Make the idli in the morning and leave it to dry a little bit till 4 PM and make idli uppumaa! :lol:

Hello Rajraj uncle, Happy Thankgsgiving day to you too.

Uncle what is the menu in your house for the occasion .

Do you go for the midnight shopping?

Uncle, you can leave the idli in the fridge till 4 pm.
The idli would be hard and easy to crumble it.

kugan98
28th November 2013, 05:05 PM
Kugan as I said I tried out the chicken varuval. As Rose has said, turned out so yummy.
Thanks for the recipe, it is a sure keeper.
Banana. Ice cream looks so smooth and yummy.

Sangeetha , your cousin brought so many goodies from India. Enjoy Sangeetha.

Kuganka, have you any recipes for cauliflower perattal. I have so much cauliflower at home.

WHAT IS Thanksgiving in US? What do they do?

Thanks for your nice post Gulabjamun. Happy that you liked the dish.
My relatives too brought some goodies from India.
They brought fried moong dal, very crunchy and nice to eat.

I tried making and it turned out a bit hard.
I was scared that my teeth could break:rotfl::rotfl:

Gulabjamun, I will soon post a nice recipe for you.

Gulabjamun, in US, they cook special meals on the Thanksgiving day.
It is a long story, Google and read the matter.
All I know is special meals, and midnight shoppings

Meerra usually cooks, green beans casserole, candied yam, cranberry sauce, mashed potato, and other things.
I will post pictures if she forwards to me.

Here is the picture of the fried moong dal, made by me:confused2:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7308/11083273956_4ecee832b5.jpg

kugan98
28th November 2013, 05:10 PM
no its not. It's broken rice. Also called noi arisi.

almost everywhere.... Carrefour, Giant, Tesco, Mydin and of course at all Indian groceries, including in Brickfields.

Sangeetha here is a picture of kurunai or noi arisi.

Thanks NOV anneh, I will try and buy the noi and try out your proportion.

Another friend gave me her measurement.
4 cups raw rice, 1 cup urad dal and 1 cup poha.
Idli turned out kola, kola.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7293/11098990946_d89f8622d3.jpg

petston
28th November 2013, 09:28 PM
Super Kugan Ji.. thanks for the post.

U made my weekend Menu :D

Danq

28th November 2013, 10:10 PM
Hello Rajraj uncle, Happy Thankgsgiving day to you too.
Uncle what is the menu in your house for the occasion .
Do you go for the midnight shopping?

Thanks Kugan! :)

Thanksgiving is like Harvest festival in other countries (pongal in Tamilnadu) giving thanks for the year's harvest. :)

Aunty harvested some jasmine flowers ! :) A grandson arrived on Oct 3. :)

The menu is as usual baked stuffed(spicy) turkey, cranberry sauce and sweet potato! :lol: We are in San Francisco with our sons,daughter in law and grand children. Aunty will make whatever else they want. This is our family get together time! :)

It has been commercialized too much! We don't go shopping during Thanksgiving Holidays.

rose75
29th November 2013, 08:20 AM
Kuganka, thanks for the ellu podi and other visuals . Your moong dal looks good. I have not seen before.
Why is it hard any reasons?
Thanks Rairaj sir. for the nice explanation on Thanksgiving.
Kuganka looking forward for Meera's pictures.

chinnakkannan
29th November 2013, 09:42 AM
//Shhhhh, Kannan anneh, I was taught to make idli upma with little tumeric powder only.
Konjam lazy, athoda, I like white color idli upma. Athuthaan//

Thanks kuganji..for the recipe. Will ask her to make.. aamaa..2 spoon dhaal kku 10 chilli yaa..romba kaarama irukkaathu ?!

sudha india
29th November 2013, 10:05 AM
Hi friends and K

Visiting KK after a long time, but was missing this very much.
Read few posts.

1 Q : Kugan : Does adding cooked rice give the fluffyness to idlis ? We do get good idlis but have never added cooked rice.
cooked rice podaradhula enna advantage ?

Ellu milagapodi.... will do this tomorrow.

kugan98
29th November 2013, 05:31 PM
Thanks Kugan! :)

Thanksgiving is like Harvest festival in other countries (pongal in Tamilnadu) giving thanks for the year's harvest. :)

Aunty harvested some jasmine flowers ! :) A grandson arrived on Oct 3. :)

The menu is as usual baked stuffed(spicy) turkey, cranberry sauce and sweet potato! :lol: We are in San Francisco with our sons,daughter in law and grand children. Aunty will make whatever else they want. This is our family get together time! :)

It has been commercialized too much! We don't go shopping during Thanksgiving Holidays.

Thanks Rajraj uncle for the nice explanation.

WOW! congrats uncle, have a nice time with your grandson.

Yes, uncle, once I was with Meerra for Thanksgiving day, she cooked so many dishes.
She has posted to me her spread this time.
You are right, the Black Friday shopping was a mad rush.
We went for the fun of it. Thanks and take care, Kugan.

kugan98
29th November 2013, 05:40 PM
Kuganka, thanks for the ellu podi and other visuals . Your moong dal looks good. I have not seen before.
Why is it hard any reasons?
Thanks Rairaj sir. for the nice explanation on Thanksgiving.
Kuganka looking forward for Meera's pictures.

Thanks Rose for your nice post.
I do not know the reason why the moong dal was hard.
I just soaked it for about 3 hours, drained it and dried it with out moisture.
Fried it in hot oil, removed and added, fine salt and hing powder.

Any reasons any one knows?
Thanks, Kugan.

Here is Meerra's Spread:

Broccoli casserole, green beans casserole, candied yam, roasted butternut squash,vegetarian meat loaf,
mashed potato, homemade buns, vegetarian meat balls with cranberry sauce and spicy cake.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2820/11115364444_2711b95956_z.jpg

kugan98
29th November 2013, 05:43 PM
Super Kugan Ji.. thanks for the post.

U made my weekend Menu :D

Danq

Thanks Peter for your nice post. Nice to see you after a long time.
Do ask us if you need any recipes, we will gladly response.
Take care, Kugan.

kugan98
29th November 2013, 05:45 PM
//Shhhhh, Kannan anneh, I was taught to make idli upma with little tumeric powder only.
Konjam lazy, athoda, I like white color idli upma. Athuthaan//

Thanks kuganji..for the recipe. Will ask her to make.. aamaa..2 spoon dhaal kku 10 chilli yaa..romba kaarama irukkaathu ?!

Kannan anna, you are also adding 50 grms of sesame seeds.
Anneh, uppu, kaaram, pulipu ellam, up to your taste anneh.
The recipe is only a guideline as to how to do.

kugan98
29th November 2013, 05:51 PM
Hi friends and K

Visiting KK after a long time, but was missing this very much.
Read few posts.

1 Q : Kugan : Does adding cooked rice give the fluffyness to idlis ? We do get good idlis but have never added cooked rice.
cooked rice podaradhula enna advantage ?

Ellu milagapodi.... will do this tomorrow.

Dear Sudha, so nice to see your post.

Sudha, that's how my great grandma taught our family.
I am sure we get fluffy idlis, by using the cooked rice.
Even for aapam, we only use pachai arisi with with little cooked rice.
The aapam would come that fluffy.

The measurement that I gave gives fluffy idli every time.
You can even use idli rice with the measurement.

I have yet to try NOV anneh's measurement.
No time to go out to purchase the noi arisi.

Thanks Sudha, take care, Kugan.

kugan98
29th November 2013, 06:29 PM
My dear friends, if you say Mysore bonda, I will only think about urad dal bonda.
My relative who came from India told me that it can be done in maida too.
So she taught me how to do Maida Mysore Bonda. Try it friends. Kugan.

MAIDA MYSORE BONDA

Ingredients:

1 ½ cup water
1 cup curds
Use as needed to make the soft batter.

2 cups maida flour
½ cup rice flour
1 tsp cooking soda
Salt to taste

1 tsp cumin seeds
2 tbs coconut pieces cut into small pieces (pallu, pallu )
3 green chillies chopped fine
1 tbs ginger chopped fine
1 tbs coriander leaves chopped fine
½ tsp coarsely crushed black pepper

Method:

Whisk together the curd and water, keep aside.
In a bowl, add in the maida flour , rice flour, cooking soda and salt.
Mix every thing well, add in the curd water mixture slowly and mix well.
Make it into a vadai like batter.

Now add in the cumin seeds, coconut pieces, green chillies, ginger,
coriander leaves and crushed black pepper.
Mix well and keep aside for about half an hour.
Heat oil in a wok, make round bonds and drop them in the oil.

Cook on medium heat, and cook till it is golden brown in color.
Serve with chillie sauce or coconut chutney.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3720/11116040176_31cc1867f4_z.jpg

gulabjamun
30th November 2013, 09:41 AM
Kuganka, thanks for the Mysore bonda recipe.
I have eaten only in hotels in India, that too made of urad dal.
This recipe looks very simple to make .

I did not know much about Thanksgiving day.
Thanks for all the information about that.
Nice to see Meera's spread. So many new dishes.
Thanks akka.

1st December 2013, 04:37 AM
kugan,
Here is the menu for our Thanksgiving dinner. I sampled everything except the pies! :)

Our sons sprang a surprise on aunty and would not let her cook anything! :lol: My eldest son cooked everthing except the pies! :) He is a good cook and his specialty is pizza with dough from Italy ! :)

You are welcome to join us next Thanksgiving! :) I will search for vegetarian turkey ! :lol:

Appetizer
• Artichoke Dip
Entree
• Roasted Turkey
• Orzo Risotto
• Butternut Squash and Hazelnut Lasagne
Sides
• Stuffing
• Cranberry Jelly
• Rolls
• Sweet Potatoes
• Roasted Carrots
• Jalepeño Cornbread
• Sugar snap peas
Dessert
• Pumpkin Pie
• Apple Pie

chinnakkannan
1st December 2013, 05:39 PM
மைசூர் போண்டா - பார்த்தாலே பசிக்குது..வாவ்..செய்யச் சொல்லணும்..ம்ம் சைட் டிஷ் ஒண்ணும் சொல்லலியே.. நன்றி குகன் ஜி..

2nd December 2013, 04:25 AM
சிக்கா... வீ.கா. கிட்டே கேளுங்க....சைட்-ல ஒரு "டிஷ்"யூம் கொடுப்பாங்க.. அதிலேயே கன்னம் வீங்கி மைசூர் போண்டாவை முழுங்கின மாதிரி ஆயிடும்.

ஹையா... ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு அப்புறம் எட்டிப் பார்க்கிறேன். எக்கசக்காமான ஐட்டம்ஸ் பத்தி போட்டிருக்கு. மெதுவா படிச்சிட்டு வந்து :slurp: ம்ம்...

kugan98
2nd December 2013, 08:38 AM
Kuganka, thanks for the Mysore bonda recipe.
I have eaten only in hotels in India, that too made of urad dal.
This recipe looks very simple to make .

I did not know much about Thanksgiving day.
Thanks for all the information about that.
Nice to see Meera's spread. So many new dishes.
Thanks akka.

Thanks Gulabjamun for your nice post.

Try the maida mysore bonda and see. Very simple to make.
You can have it with coconut chutney or chilli sauce.
Taste will be very yummy.

Gulabjamun uncle Rajraj should have posted the picture of his spread.
So many items, should make a trip to his house next year:-D:-D

kugan98
2nd December 2013, 08:46 AM
kugan,
Here is the menu for our Thanksgiving dinner. I sampled everything except the pies! :)

Our sons sprang a surprise on aunty and would not let her cook anything! :lol: My eldest son cooked everthing except the pies! :) He is a good cook and his specialty is pizza with dough from Italy ! :)

You are welcome to join us next Thanksgiving! :) I will search for vegetarian turkey ! :lol:

Appetizer
• Artichoke Dip
Entree
• Roasted Turkey
• Orzo Risotto
• Butternut Squash and Hazelnut Lasagne
Sides
• Stuffing
• Cranberry Jelly
• Rolls
• Sweet Potatoes
• Roasted Carrots
• Jalepeño Cornbread
• Sugar snap peas
Dessert
• Pumpkin Pie
• Apple Pie

Rajraj uncle what a wonderful spread. I am sure all would have a gala time.
I am so happy that aunty was given a rest on that day.

Meerra made the dish with vegetarian turkey when I was there for one Thanksgiving.
I love to be in US during winter time, I love the snow and the chill:pink::pink:

Uncle, one request from you, I love to make pizzas for my children.
My pizzas are quite o.k, but not as good as the shop.
Can you ask your son for the base recipe for the pizza.

kugan98
2nd December 2013, 08:51 AM
மைசூர் போண்டா - பார்த்தாலே பசிக்குது..வாவ்..செய்யச் சொல்லணும்..ம்ம் சைட் டிஷ் ஒண்ணும் சொல்லலியே.. நன்றி குகன் ஜி..

Kannan anneh, thanks for your nice post.
Try the Mysore bonda, very easy. Side dish is coconut chutney or our ooru chilli sauce.
Do you get nice chilli sauce in your country?
Other wise I can post a simple recipe to make the chilli sauce.

http://www.britishcornershop.co.uk/images/large/QWOP2499.jpg

kugan98
2nd December 2013, 08:55 AM
சிக்கா... வீ.கா. கிட்டே கேளுங்க....சைட்-ல ஒரு "டிஷ்"யூம் கொடுப்பாங்க.. அதிலேயே கன்னம் வீங்கி மைசூர் போண்டாவை முழுங்கின மாதிரி ஆயிடும்.

ஹையா... ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு அப்புறம் எட்டிப் பார்க்கிறேன். எக்கசக்காமான ஐட்டம்ஸ் பத்தி போட்டிருக்கு. மெதுவா படிச்சிட்டு வந்து :slurp: ம்ம்...

Madhu anneh, welcome after a long absence. Take care of your health, very important.

Your work too is important to you, come to the forum when time permits.

I want all my brothers and sisters, and also my uncle to be always healthy and happy.

That's my best present from God.

Take care anneh, Kugan.

kugan98
2nd December 2013, 09:23 AM
Dear friends, I had two mullangi sitting in my fridge. My relative from India asked me what I would do with that.
I told her will make sambar or puli kulambu with it. She said she will teach me how to make a simple poriyal.
Imm, I still have lot to learn in this world.:exactly::exactly:
Try it out friends, Kugan.

MULLANGI STIR FRIED

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp channa dal
1 tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves
¼ tsp finely chopped ginger

A pinch of hing
1 big tomato chopped
1/8 tsp of turmeric powder
Salt to taste

1 tsp chilli powder
1 ½ cups of grated mullangi

2 tbs coriander leaves chopped
1 tsp roasted sesame seeds

Method:
Heat oil in a non stick wok, add in the mustard seeds to splutter.
Add in the cumin seeds, channa dal, urad dal and the ginger.
Stir fry till the dals are lightly golden in colour.

Add in the hing, tomatoes, turmeric powder and salt.
Cook till the tomatoes turn mushy.
Add in the chilli powder and grated mullangi.
Fry on high heat till the mullangi is cooked, and nicely coated with the masala.

Sprinkle the cut coriander leaves and the sesame seeds.
Give a good stir and remove.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7319/11165148185_d758923343_z.jpg

chinnakkannan
2nd December 2013, 10:12 PM
//மெதுவா படிச்சிட்டு வந்து :slurp: ம்ம்//கரண்டியைக் கையில் பிடிக்கப் போறீங்களாக்கும் :) மதுண்ணா..:)

//Take care of your health, very important.// ரெஸிப்பி ரெஸிப்பியா வாரி வழங்கிக்கிட்டு டேக் கேர்னு சொன்னா என்ன அர்த்தம்ம்ம்ம்ம் )

ஆமா மதுண்ணா என்னவாக்கும் உடம்புக்கு..- என்க்குத் தெரியாதே

ச்சில்லி சாஸ் நல்லாவே கிடைக்கும் எனக்குத் தான் பிடிக்காது..ஆனால் பானி பூரில கார பானி பிடிக்கும் (வயிறு என்னை முறைக்கிறது)

chinnakkannan
2nd December 2013, 10:14 PM
//I had two mullangi sitting in my fridge// அழகா தோட்டத்துல புதைச்சிருந்தா நிறைய முள்ளங்கி முளைச்சு அதை எடுத்து முள்ளங்கி வெங்காய சாம்பார் பண்ணிச் சாப்பிட்டா..ஆஹா சொர்க்கமாயிருந்திருக்குமே..:)

kugan98
3rd December 2013, 04:41 AM
//மெதுவா படிச்சிட்டு வந்து :slurp: ம்ம்//கரண்டியைக் கையில் பிடிக்கப் போறீங்களாக்கும் :) மதுண்ணா..:)

//Take care of your health, very important.// ரெஸிப்பி ரெஸிப்பியா வாரி வழங்கிக்கிட்டு டேக் கேர்னு சொன்னா என்ன அர்த்தம்ம்ம்ம்ம் )

ஆமா மதுண்ணா என்னவாக்கும் உடம்புக்கு..- என்க்குத் தெரியாதே

ச்சில்லி சாஸ் நல்லாவே கிடைக்கும் எனக்குத் தான் பிடிக்காது..ஆனால் பானி பூரில கார பானி பிடிக்கும் (வயிறு என்னை முறைக்கிறது)

Kannan anna, thanks for your post.

Anneh, Madhu anneh was missing for sometime, that's why out of concern, I asked him to take care of his health.
I thought , he maybe not well or very busy.
"athukula, oru kulapama?:confused2::confused2:

Madhu anneh, nallave irrukiraar, athuthaan, unggalai oru side dish vaangika sonaareh:rotfl::rotfl:

Kannan anna, ennakum, mullangi sambar romba pidikum.
Antha ooramma thaan poriyal seiya sonnaanga

Thanks anna take care, Kugan.

3rd December 2013, 05:52 AM
Kuganji...

Mayflower also prepares Mullangi poriyal with a slight variation.
( enakku masala othukkadhu :noteeth: )

idhu enga veetu mullangi recipe. ( Mostly people think its Cabbage poriyal :think: )

1 tbs oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves
2 green chilles finely chopped
¼ tsp finely chopped ginger
grated coconut (as required )
Salt to taste
1 ½ cups of grated mullangi
2 tbs coriander leaves chopped

Heat oil in a non stick wok, add in the mustard seeds to splutter.
Add in the urad dal and the ginger.
Stir fry till the dals are lightly golden in colour.

Add in the chilli and grated mullangi.
Add in the salt.

Fry on low flame closed with a lid with occassional stirs
Add the coconut and stir and remove from the flame.
Sprinkle the cut coriander leaves
( cooking time 5 to 7 mins)

குகன் ஜி,, I just cut and ottified lines from your recipe.

3rd December 2013, 05:57 AM
MAIDA MYSORE BONDA
http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3720/11116040176_31cc1867f4_z.jpg

Kuganji... This is called Mangalore Bonda here...

உளுத்தம் பருப்பு போட்டா மைசூரு... மைதா போட்டா மங்களூரு

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-sqVdfRg3Ntk/TltU510ny6I/AAAAAAAACDw/gmpGWri4HQY/s1600/M.png

3rd December 2013, 07:20 AM
Rajraj uncle what a wonderful spread. I am sure all would have a gala time.
Uncle, one request from you, I love to make pizzas for my children.
My pizzas are quite o.k, but not as good as the shop.
Can you ask your son for the base recipe for the pizza.

Thanks kugan ! :) It was fun. The grandchildren were more fun. :)

I will ask my son for pizza recipe. He is generally slow in responding. Besides, he makes pizza in a special oven made to his specifications. :lol:

He took some pictures and I don't know when he will upload and email me. When I get them I will forward them to you. :)

3rd December 2013, 05:00 PM
Vanakkam vathiyarayya..

pizza recipe mattum illa.. rendu pizza ( with cheese spurts ) and pineapple topping parcel senjudunga :slurp:
enakku ... enakku...

kugan98
3rd December 2013, 11:44 PM
Thanks Madhu anneh for the nice recipe.
I can visualize how the poriyal would look like.
Adthu, white color mullangi poriyal thaan.

kugan98
3rd December 2013, 11:50 PM
Thanks kugan ! :) It was fun. The grandchildren were more fun. :)

I will ask my son for pizza recipe. He is generally slow in responding. Besides, he makes pizza in a special oven made to his specifications. :lol:

He took some pictures and I don't know when he will upload and email me. When I get them I will forward them to you. :)

Thanks Rajraj uncle for your nice post.

I do make good pizzas:roll::roll: that's what my children say.

I just wanted to improve on it. Hope he sends the recipe and pictures.

This week I am going to try Alfredo Pizza.

The picture of pizza before baking and I have not added the cheese topping.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7452/11192931623_584f0ba955_z.jpg

This pizza with cheese toppings:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7418/11193384973_a058ec3818_z.jpg

kugan98
3rd December 2013, 11:56 PM
Vanakkam vathiyarayya..

pizza recipe mattum illa.. rendu pizza ( with cheese spurts ) and pineapple topping parcel senjudunga :slurp:
enakku ... enakku...

Madhu anneh, I always make pizza with, capsicum, mushroom, onions, pineapples, and tomatoes.
I do not like olives. The cheese is the only costly item in pizza making.
Otherwise pizza is that damn cheap if you make your own.

kugan98
3rd December 2013, 11:59 PM
Kuganji... This is called Mangalore Bonda here...

உளுத்தம் பருப்பு போட்டா மைசூரு... மைதா போட்டா மங்களூரு

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-sqVdfRg3Ntk/TltU510ny6I/AAAAAAAACDw/gmpGWri4HQY/s1600/M.png

Adada, Madhu anneh, I did not know the difference between the Mysore and Mangalore:banghead:
I just followed blindly as to what the relative told me.
Thanks for clarifying it for me.

kugan98
4th December 2013, 12:11 AM
Dear Rose, I think I owe you this recipe. I have not forgotten.
Just took little time more. This version is a bit creamy, but tasty.
Try it, ithuvoom, from my relative from India. Kugan.

CAULIFLOWER PRATTEL

Ingredients:

2 tbs oil
1 inch cinnamon stick
1 bay leaf
4 cloves
½ tsp aniseeds

1 big onion chopped
Salt to taste
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste

2 cups cauliflower cut into very small pieces
¼ cup fresh green peas
1 tsp red chilli powder
1/8 tsp turmeric powder

10 cashew nuts soaked and ground to smooth paste
1/8 tsp of amchur powder
1 tsp of garam masala powder
1/8 tsp of kasuri methi

Method:

Heat oil in a wok, add in cinnamon stick, bay leaf, cloves and aniseeds.
Let them crackle, add in the chopped onions, salt and saute well.
Add in the ginger and garlic pastes, stir fry well.

Add in the cauliflower, green peas, and stir fry well.
Add in the chilli powder and turmeric powder.
Give a very nice stir, sprinkle little water and cover and cook for a minute.

Now add in the cashew nut paste, garam masal powder, amchur powder.
Add little more water if needed and cook for a minute.
Lastly add in the kasuri methi leaves and remove.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3710/11099023474_3d4c472447_z.jpg

4th December 2013, 05:14 AM
enakku ... enakku...

vaNakkam madhu! :) anuppittaa pOchchu! aanaal aarippOidume. inge vandhaal chuda chuda saappidalaame ! :lol:

Godiva chocolate vENdaamaa? :)

4th December 2013, 05:20 AM
Thanks Rajraj uncle for your nice post.
I do make good pizzas:roll::roll: that's what my children say.
I just wanted to improve on it. Hope he sends the recipe and pictures.
This week I am going to try Alfredo Pizza.

kugan: Whatever you make will be very good and very tasty for sure! :)

In the US taste of pizza differs from region to region and restaurant to restaurant. I think the secret is in the sauce. I like pizza from a particular restaurant in Chicago ! :lol: But, it is too far! :(

4th December 2013, 07:27 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1231626_10201859268501066_258047142_n.jpg

Peanut Butter Cup Brownies (Makes 1 dozen brownies)

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 tablespoon water
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup milk chocolate chips
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium sized microwave-safe bowl combine sugar, softened butter, and water. Microwave on high for about 45 seconds or until butter is melted. Stir in 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips until melted. Stir in egg and vanilla extract, mix well. Add flour and baking soda, stir until combined. Allow the batter to cool to room temperature (doesn't take very long). Then, stir in 3/4 cup milk chocolate chips and remaining 1/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Spoon batter evenly into Reynolds Staybrite muffin cups.

Bake for 13-15 minutes or until top is set and a toothpick inserted into centre comes out slightly wet. After brownies are out of the oven, wait for centres to fall. This will happen upon cooling. If not then tap the centres with the back of a teaspoon to make a hole for the peanut butter.

Place peanut butter in a small microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 45 seconds then stir. While brownies are still war spoon about a tablespoon full of peanut butter into the centre of each brownie. Top with remaining 1/3 cup of milk chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Cool completely in pan.
Store at room temperature or in the refrigerator. To reheat the brownies just pop ‘em in the microwave for 10-15 seconds.

rose75
4th December 2013, 08:52 PM
Thanks Kuganka for the cauliflower recipe. Looks very yummy. Kuganka your pizza looks so nice.
Can you give the recipe for it? Is it foolproof recipe like all your dishes.
I like to try it out. Thanks

5th December 2013, 06:01 PM
vaNakkam madhu! :) anuppittaa pOchchu! aanaal aarippOidume. inge vandhaal chuda chuda saappidalaame ! :lol:

Godiva chocolate vENdaamaa? :)

varappo saptukkaren.. Godiva.. :slurp: :slurp:

kugan98
7th December 2013, 04:31 PM
kugan: Whatever you make will be very good and very tasty for sure! :)

In the US taste of pizza differs from region to region and restaurant to restaurant. I think the secret is in the sauce. I like pizza from a particular restaurant in Chicago ! :lol: But, it is too far! :(

Thanks uncle, I tried this time with white sauce and it came out yummy too.

kugan98
7th December 2013, 04:34 PM
Thanks NOV anneh for a super recipe.
Will be doing it for Christmas for children.

kugan98
7th December 2013, 04:38 PM
Thanks Kuganka for the cauliflower recipe. Looks very yummy. Kuganka your pizza looks so nice.
Can you give the recipe for it? Is it foolproof recipe like all your dishes.
I like to try it out. Thanks

Thanks Rose for your nice post.
Did you try the cauliflower dish? I will post my pizza recipe for you.
As for me it is fool proof recipe only:-D:-D

You can use any toppings of your choice.
This time I made pizza with white sauce. It turned out great, try it.
Thanks and take care Kugan.

kugan98
7th December 2013, 04:55 PM
Dear Rose here is the pizza recipe for you. Enjoy. Kugan

FOOL PROOF PIZZA

Ingredients:

2 tsp dry yeast
1 tbs sugar
¼ cup warm water
Mix all together in a covered container, and keep aside to become frothy

1 ½ cups all purpose flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbs milk powder
Little pizza seasonings
Mix all together in a bowl and keep ready

½ cup warm water
1 tbs oil
Mix together in the water

Little flour for kneading
1 tbs of vegetable oil or little more

Method:
Preheat the oven to 220 degrees C for 10 minutes.
Use the lowest part of the oven.

Make a well in the middle of the flour in the big bowl.
Add in the frothy yeast and stir with a wooden spoon.
Add in the ½ cup of warm water and knead it into a sticky dough.
Add little flour and the oil, and knead till not sticky to hands.
Now rub the top with little more oil, cover with a wet cloth, and keep in a warm place.

You can punch down the dough 2 times to get a softer dough.
Now on a floured surface roll out the dough, the shape and thickness are your choice.
Use a round baking sheet, oiled and floured.
Lay your pizza over it, you can use your fingers to spread to fit the tray.
Take a fork and prick all over the spread dough.

Now spread lightly with your pizza sauce, leaving a ½ inch all around the pizza.
Sprinkle little cheese on the top of the sauce.
Now you add the toppings of your choice over the pizza. Sprinkle little pizza seasonings on top. You can even put little sauce drops here and there over the toppings.
Brush the outer ½ inch pizza with melted butter for a brown finish.
Bake for about 20 to 25 minutes on a preheated oven.
Just lift the bottom with a fork to see if the bottom is lightly browned.

Remove from the oven, now sprinkle the grated cheese all over the pizza, covering all parts.
Bake again for few minutes, till the cheese is melted, remove, cut into slices.

Toppings:
Tomato, remove seeds and cut into strips or squares
½ capsicum also remove seeds and cut into same size
½ cucumber cut into thin strips
1 big onion cut into strips
Little tinned button mushroom, cut into slices
Little pineapple, cut into small chunks
Or you can dice the all the toppings, add little salt to it and mix well.
Or lastly you can cut the tomatoes into rings and cover the pizza

The toppings are your wish, you can add cooked shredded chicken.
Or anything that you fancy.
This dough is enough for 1 pizza.

NOTE: This pizza I made with white sauce>

WHITE SAUCE PIZZA BEFORE BAKING:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5502/11249990206_7d4f66625a_z.jpg

WHITE SAUCE PIZZA AFTER BAKING:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5524/11249953215_00490e0900_z.jpg

kugan98
7th December 2013, 05:15 PM
What happened to our P.S Tamby:confused2::confused2:

gulabjamun
8th December 2013, 10:36 AM
Kuganka, pizza looks very nice. Do you buy your pizza sauce. What type of cheese do you use?
What do you mean by white sauce? I am not that clever in making pizza.
Your recipe looks very simple to follow.

9th December 2013, 07:04 PM
What happened to our P.S Tamby:confused2::confused2:

yAm iruka bayamEn :)

Been busy with work akka, just moved to a new role, so I can only log in at lunch time :(

Hope every one is OK :)

rose75
10th December 2013, 05:14 PM
Kuganka. Thanks for the pizza recipe. I tried and it turned out super. First I was scared about the dough as it eas sticky.
I added little flour as you said and kneaded the dough and it turned out smooth.
I bought the pizza sauce from the supermarket. Do you have a recipe for pizza sauce?
I also used the mozzarella and Pamersone cheese that they have already grated in packet in the supermarket.
( I asked the sales girl there for it)
Thanks Kuganka, no more pizza buying. It is cheap to make at home.

10th December 2013, 05:31 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/q71/996664_649048058503033_1187592836_n.jpg

kugan98
11th December 2013, 07:08 PM
My dear friends, please first excuse me. I have some urgent personal matters to solve.
I will come back as soon as I can and answer every one's questions.
Please kindly excuse me. Take care, Kugan.

11th December 2013, 07:28 PM
Take you time K... your family and health comes first.
God bless!

chinnakkannan
11th December 2013, 09:27 PM
Take care kuganji.. Soon all your problems will be solved..

Nov.. Till then shall we take over.. I will give recipe for hot water and you give for curd rice :)

12th December 2013, 04:55 AM
Sure Kannan.
But you are unfair giving me the hard one :lol2:

12th December 2013, 04:46 PM
Take care Kuganji..

Chikka...

Hot water recipe ennodadhu.. copy rights reserved.
Already post senjirukken. Kuganjikkum theriyum.

chinnakkannan
12th December 2013, 05:26 PM
இது ரொம்ப அனியாயம்..நவ் தச்சு மம்மு ஹார்ட் டாஸ்க்ங்கறார் ..மதுண்ணா ஹாட்வாட்டர்க்கு காப்பிரைட்ங்கறார்..
சரி..நான் தக்காளி ரசம் பண்றேன்..(குடிக்கத் தயாரா :) )

12th December 2013, 06:50 PM
நீங்க எதை வேணுமானாலும் செய்யுங்க.. ஆனா நவ் ரசம் காபிரைட் நவ் அண்ணனுக்கே !

chinnakkannan
12th December 2013, 11:34 PM
என் தக்காளி ரசம் குடிச்சா மயங்காதார் மனம் கூட மயங்குமாக்கும்.. :) ஆனா ரெஸிப்பி சொல்லத் தெரியலை..எழுத ட்ரைபண்றேன்..

13th December 2013, 02:05 AM
Take care kugan and take your time. You have done a lot here! This thread can wait.

என் தக்காளி ரசம் குடிச்சா மயங்காதார் மனம் கூட மயங்குமாக்கும்.. :) .

Recipe-le enna podureenga? 'thaNNi'yaa? :lol:

13th December 2013, 04:41 AM
Recipe-le enna podureenga? 'thaNNi'yaa? :lol:

வாத்தியாரையா... அது ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு முன்னாலே செஞ்ச ரசமா இருக்கலாம்.. அப்புறம் மயங்கி விழாம என்ன செய்ய முடியும் ?

சிக்காவிடம் சிக்காமல் எஸ்கேப்பு...:yessir:

13th December 2013, 07:19 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1474537_709225169089840_1967094893_n.jpg

Hara Kara Kebabs :)

Ingredients:

Spinach 10 leaves
Green peas, shelled, boiled and mashed 3/4 cup
Potatoes, boiled ,peeled and grated 3-4 medium
Green chillies,chopped 3
Ginger, chopped 2 inch piece
Fresh coriander leaves chopped 2 tablespoons
Chaat masala 1 teaspoon
Corn flour/ corn starch 2 tablespoons
Cashewnuts for garnishing
Oil for deep-frying
Salt to taste

Method:

Blanch spinach leaves in two cups of boiling salted water for five minutes.Drain, refresh in cold water and squeeze out excess water,finely chop.

Mix chopped spinach, peas and potatoes. Add green chillies, ginger, coriander leaves, chaat masala and salt to taste.

Add cornflour for binding.Divide the mixture into twenty-four equal portions.

Shape each portion into a ball and then press it between your palms to give it a flat shape.

Heat the oil on a heavy-bottomed skillet and shallow-fry the kababs till crisp on each side.

Drain on paper towels. Garnish with cashews and serve hot with a chutney of your choice.

gulabjamun
13th December 2013, 06:54 PM
Kuganka, take nice rest and come back. As you always say family comes first.
You have done a lot for this forum, we are very very grateful for that.

Kuganka without you the forum supera poguthu.
I am sure you will laugh till you drop dead reading all the posts in this forum.
Come back and enjoy Kuganka. Take your time.
Gulabjamun.

rose75
14th December 2013, 06:41 PM
Kuganka missing you a lot in this forum. It is all right we all can wait. Finish your work first, that is important.
let me try out your recipes in the meantime. I hope Sangeetha too would come to the forum soon. We miss her too.
Rose

uwitiusoj
16th December 2013, 08:21 AM
hello all,

I back to home alone. but 2 days restu venum tireda erukku after all the cooking and moving in the winter :fatigue: . Thanks rose naa vandachu :cheer::cheer:

K i peeped in for something and saw the cauliflower piratal , and i had it in the fridge. made it immediately mine also came exactly like in the pic of urs, appa sema hit in front of the guest. i just cant thank u in one line for such great recipes :ty::ty::ty::ty::ty::ty::ty:

i got lot of praises for most of the dishes i prepared. i am so happy. for first time idli upma was very nice thanks for all the guidance.

i was missing the forum even though i was just doing so many things.

chinnakannan anna pls post the tomato rasam recipe.

K take your time to comeback.

nov anna i made the bannan icecream ( actually so simple) and no sugar. hubby is so happy because he loves icecream and i am so happy to serve a healthy icecream. thanks for the healthy kebab recipe too.

uwitiusoj
16th December 2013, 08:26 AM
வாத்தியாரையா... அது ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு முன்னாலே செஞ்ச ரசமா இருக்கலாம்.. அப்புறம் மயங்கி விழாம என்ன செய்ய முடியும் ?

சிக்காவிடம் சிக்காமல் எஸ்கேப்பு...:yessir:

hee hee hee romba siricha may be he will not be motivated to write.

chinna kannan anna unga manga recipe kachta pattu padicha engalukaga u have to post the tomato rasam recipe.

16th December 2013, 08:47 AM
nov anna i made the bannan icecream ( actually so simple) and no sugar. hubby is so happy because he loves icecream and i am so happy to serve a healthy icecream. thanks for the healthy kebab recipe too.:bow:
romba sandhosham :D

16th December 2013, 08:48 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1146710_579197278809584_1804832115_n.jpg

Single serving deep dish chocolate chip cookie!

FOR THOSE DAYS WHEN YOU JUST WANT TO MAKE ONE COOKIE!

1 tbsp butter melted
1 tbsp white sugar
1 tbsp brown sugar
3 drops of vanilla
pinch of salt
1 egg yolk
1/4 cup flour
2 tbsp chocolate chips

MICROWAVE 40-60 SEC IN A CUP OR BOWL
Viola! Single serving deep dish chocolate chip cookie!

16th December 2013, 10:18 AM

Anna... oru doubt ! one minute-la cookies ellam ready aaguma enna ? time thappa right-a ?

16th December 2013, 11:06 AM
Right thaan annaa.
Have to microwave.

16th December 2013, 11:13 AM
Ok anna.. I thought it may take 5 minutes. Egg illamal senju parka mudiyuma enru yosikkanum :think:

16th December 2013, 11:23 AM
Adhukku K varanum :lol:

uwitiusoj
18th December 2013, 01:59 AM
I learnt a new healthy thing from the guest. while making brownies or cake instead of maida flour or egg one can use fermented ulundu mavu. soak ulundu and grind it smoothly and fermant it for the effect of an egg. she made walnut chocolate brownies and it was so lickering and no one realized there was no maida or egg.

K i think u wud be happy to know this for replacing eggs. one day same craving and we did not have ulundu mavu she made it in idly mavu and it turned out good too.

uwitiusoj
18th December 2013, 02:05 AM
Sudha Vazhakai Fry:

in 1 tea spoon oil fry 1 tsp raw rice, 4 red chilles, 1 tsp kadalai paruppu and powder it. make round slices of vazhakai. boil it 75 % with salt and drain the excess water . mix the powder with little water salt and oil .marinate the boiled vazhakai in the mix for 5 mins. then in oil season mustard seeds urad dal and curry leaves fry the vazhakai for few mins.

uwitiusoj
18th December 2013, 02:10 AM
K small request when u r back. only at ur free time. i want more piratal recipes like the cauliflower with different veges. thank god u warned close lid for 1 min etc in that recipe thats why mine also looked like ur. otherwise it wud have turned thuvayal :-D which i normaly do :banghead:

I need 2 tindora (kovakai) dry curry recipe without coconut. pls i had it in my childhood and the net always give dry recipes with coconut, if not i sodapify.

rose, gulajamun, madhushree, madhu anna and nov anna nengalum please therinja share pannungo.

uwitiusoj
18th December 2013, 02:15 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1146710_579197278809584_1804832115_n.jpg

Single serving deep dish chocolate chip cookie!

FOR THOSE DAYS WHEN YOU JUST WANT TO MAKE ONE COOKIE!

1 tbsp butter melted
1 tbsp white sugar
1 tbsp brown sugar
3 drops of vanilla
pinch of salt
1 egg yolk
1/4 cup flour
2 tbsp chocolate chips

paravalla these kind of recipes can cut short the craving for that moment.

uwitiusoj
19th December 2013, 09:40 PM
since the forum is silent let me post some recipes from cook books i have

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3733/11452069856_7b55c32738_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
19th December 2013, 09:41 PM
http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3701/11452118416_24d97a9996_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
19th December 2013, 09:43 PM
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7439/11452194683_e725b744ca_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
19th December 2013, 09:44 PM
http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5492/11452151086_8621ff2018.jpg

chinnakkannan
21st December 2013, 11:02 AM
sangeethaa sister - hereafter I call sb thangachchi.. - All your recipes are good except cabbage salad.. I can make it but can;t eat it.. :) (muyal saappidarthellam manushan saappida mudiyumaa enna? ! :)

chinnakkannan
21st December 2013, 11:14 AM
Tomoto Rasam - CK Style..(Please do not try :) )

Requirements:

Cinthol Soap - 1
Red Tomotoes - 6
Paccha molagaai - 2
Sambar Powder - 3 Spoon
Red chilli powder - 1/2 spoon
turmeric powder - 1/4 spoon
Pepper Powder -1/2 spoon
Salt - As required
Mustard seeds - 25 nos (appx)
Ghee - 2 Spoons

Wash your hands with Cinthol Soap :).

Cut all tomotoes - each 8 portions - and put it in a vessel.- athaavathu oru chiina paathiram..
Then mix that tomotoes with hand so that all juices will come out in the vessel itself.
Keep that on the stove - Put Sambar powder (in our house we use sambar powder itself to make rasam) and other powders
Pour water on top - 500ml to 750 ml.. Heat it for 15 to 20 minutes.
As that rasam completely boils, swith off the stove..

Season mustard seeds with ghee and then pour it on the rasam. Rasam is ready..(Whenever I make it came out well (by gods grace :) )

O.K...

21st December 2013, 06:53 PM
(muyal saappidarthellam manushan saappida mudiyumaa enna? ! :)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/q71/1486707_10152060819167629_985491902_n.jpg

22nd December 2013, 04:18 AM
enna KODUMAI chikka idhu ?

Tomoto Rasam - CK Style..(Please do not try :) ) ( appadinna try seyyunga-nnu artham )

Requirements:

Cinthol Soap - 1 ( New or old ? ... edhukkum Cinthol talcum poweder-um vaangi vachukkalam )
Red Tomotoes - 6 ( inge kidaikkadhu.. but sivappu thakkali pazaham kidaikkudhu.. )
Paccha molagaai - 2
Sambar Powder - 3 Spoon ( rasathukku edhukku sambhar powder ? rasa powderthane venum ? mm.. idhukku answer pinnale irukku.. I mean unga seimuraiyil irukku)
Red chilli powder - 1/2 spoon (ellame English kadaiyil-than kidaikkum )
turmeric powder - 1/4 spoon
Pepper Powder -1/2 spoon
Salt - As required ( sariyana alavu sollunga )
Mustard seeds - 25 nos (appx) ( chinnadha ? perusa ? )
Ghee - 2 Spoons

Wash your hands with Cinthol Soap :). ( thanni vida venuma ? vendama ? )

Cut all tomotoes - each 8 portions - and put it in a vessel.- athaavathu oru chiina paathiram.. ( he he.. naan CHINA pathiramnu nenachutten )

Then mix that tomotoes with hand so that all juices will come out in the vessel itself. ( chinna vessel-la eppadi ella juice-um nirambum.. veliye kandiya vazhiyum .. vee.kaa-vai parthadhum neenga vazhiyara madhiri )

Keep that on the stove ( OWWWWWWWWW.... kaiyai aduppile vacha enna aagum ? ungalukku yen ippadi oru kodoora manam ?) :shaking:

Put Sambar powder (in our house we use sambar powder itself to make rasam) and other powders ( :yes: inclusive of Cinthol powder )

Pour water on top - 500ml to 750 ml.. Heat it for 15 to 20 minutes. ( lid pottu close senja piraga ? )

As that rasam completely boils, swith off the stove.. ( Already thanni vazhinju switch off ayiruchu.. veedellam gas smell )

Season mustard seeds with ghee and then pour it on the rasam. Rasam is ready. ( edhu season kadugu ? inge normal kadugu mattumthan kidaikkuthu )

(Whenever I make it came out well (by gods grace :) ) ( idhu onnuthan nijam... send me that God's grace to all )

O.K...

Chikka.. neenga oru Genius.
For me rasam is very very easy.
Just go out to the Mess in the back street and ask for Rasam.
He will pack it and give.
veetukku vandhu sadham ( already irundha OK.. illatti adhuvum vangikkalam ) mele vittu konjam ghee oothi
pisainju saapidalam.. :slurp:

Kugan-ji vandhu ungalaiyum ennaiyum ( ungalukku podhu mannippu kidaikka chance irukku ) Ban seyya poraanga.. naan escape :yessir:

22nd December 2013, 07:22 AM
http://res.mindbodygreen.com/img/crp/RawCashewFudge900-850x400.jpg

Raw Cashew Coconut Fudge

1 cup raw cashews
3 raw dates
2 tablespoons raw unsweetened coconut shreds, divided into two tablespoons
Soak cashews in enough water to cover for 1 hour. Drain and discard water.

Place cashews, dates, and 1 tablespoon of coconut shreds in a high powered blended and process until smooth. (If your blender has a tough time getting through it, add 1 tablespoon of raw coconut oil to thin.)

Transfer mixture to a bowl and refrigerate for 1 hour to solidify.

Use your hands to form small balls from the "fudge" before rolling in the remaining coconut shreds to coat.

Place raw cashew coconut fudge balls on a parchment-lined baking sheet and freeze for at least 1 hour. Remove from freezer 15 minutes prior to serving.

chinnakkannan
22nd December 2013, 10:34 AM
madhunna :) nov :)

rose75
22nd December 2013, 06:51 PM
Dear Sangeetha, sorry for not coming to the forum lately. December holidays, visitors and all these things made me very busy.
Kugan would be happy if we all could contribute something for the forum. Thanks Sangeetha for all your nice recipes.
Nov anna thanks too for all your recipes. We all are missing Kugan so much, also her nice recipes.
Sangeetha I am sure Kugan would come and fullfill your wish for the recipes. I tried few recipes of Kugan and all came out nice.
Our visitors were very happy with my cooking. Hope Kugan would come to the forum soon.

uwitiusoj
25th December 2013, 01:31 AM
chinna kannan and madhu annah :rotfl::rotfl:

thanks anna for the new name and the recipe.

rose very proud to hear that all your guests appreciated your cooking keep up the work :thumbsup::thumbsup:

nov anneh thanks for the recipe.

I wish all of you a MERRY CHRISTMAS

uwitiusoj
25th December 2013, 02:10 AM
Hi Ladies... how are you? Pongal is over, now waiting for thaipusam :D
anyway, here is my breakfast....

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/66466_548952881783737_1966512723_n.jpg

NOV ANNEH indha sambar recipe irunda podunga looks so mouth watering.

chinnakkannan
25th December 2013, 09:57 AM
நவ் அண்ணேஹ்.. எனக்குப் பாத்தாலே பசிக்குது.. :) ஆனால் உங்கள் இட்லி சாம்பாரில் பிழை இருக்கிறது..க்குட்டி க்குட்டி வெங்காயம் காணோம்+ பார்டர் போட்ட மாதிரி ஒய்ட் சட்னி எனச் செல்லமாகச் சொல்லப்படும் தேங்காய்ச் சட்னி மிஸ்ஸிங்க்..:)

bis_mala
25th December 2013, 03:25 PM
மலேசியாவில் செய்யப்படும் சாம்பார் பொடியில் சாம்பார் வைத்தால் வெகுஜோர். பேக்கட்டிலேயே எழுதப்பட்டிருக்கிறது செய்ம்முறை.

25th December 2013, 05:14 PM
NOV ANNEH indha sambar recipe irunda podunga looks so mouth watering. :shock: idhu aniyaayam Sangeetha, idhu eppa potta post? 2014 pongal kooda vara pOgudhE! :p

மலேசியாவில் செய்யப்படும் சாம்பார் பொடியில் சாம்பார் வைத்தால் வெகுஜோர். பேக்கட்டிலேயே எழுதப்பட்டிருக்கிறது செய்ம்முறை.

http://www.orderonline.sg/wp-content/uploads/magictoolbox_cache/d2b1f4c2e0393b4863c63e774dba21aa/original/f979c5491803c29baecda02f072eebc6.jpg

25th December 2013, 05:16 PM
anyway sangeetha, this is my breakfast today... please don't ask recipe next year Christmas :)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/q71/s720x720/1530328_10152089145857629_103931045_n.jpg

30th December 2013, 07:38 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/q71/s720x720/1526505_10201088610316705_1350459236_n.jpg

One Bowl Apple Cake - easy to make!!!

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup oil
6 medium Gala or Fuji
2 cups flour
2 tsp. baking soda

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix the eggs, sugar, cinnamon and oil. Peel and slice the apples and add to mixture in bowl, stir in apples as you go. Mix together flour and baking soda and add to the ingredients in the bowl. Mix well (I used a fork) until all of the flour is absorbed. Pour mixture into a greased one 9x13 or a 9 inch spring form. Bake for approximately 55 minutes.

*Tip: watch the last five min cake gets dark on the edges. Adjust the sugar if you have a sweet apple, you may want to use less sugar. I used 6 medium size Gala. Great with Ice cream!!

31st December 2013, 04:56 AM
enakku receipe venaam.. Bowl apple cake ( eggless ) venum..
Kuganji vandhu egg illadha recipe postattum

uwitiusoj
1st January 2014, 12:17 AM
sorry something bad happened in our family which was a complete shock to the whole family. thats why could not come to the forum.

Happy new year to all the forum members.

uwitiusoj
1st January 2014, 12:24 AM
thanks for the cake recipe. without flour it has come out well.

wow nov anna what is that? is it parotta. yummy and so soft. recipe kidaikuma :(

1st January 2014, 08:08 AM
May God be with you Sangeetha.

Yes, it is muttai parotta.

Happy New Year to all Kugan Kitchen fans!

kugan98
1st January 2014, 06:46 PM
Dear friends, this is Rubenee. Kugan asked me to post this.
She is recuperating after a surgery. She feels very sad to be away from the forum.
She will take some time before she can be active again.
She thanks every one for keeping the kitchen moving.
She thanks every one for all the messages and wishes.
Rubenee

kugan98
1st January 2014, 06:48 PM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES EVERY ONE A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR.

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5486/11685980286_4c11d7546f_z.jpg

1st January 2014, 07:10 PM
Hi Rubenee, please send our regards to your mum. Tell her to take care. Wishing all of you a blessed 2014.

2nd January 2014, 06:12 PM
Hi Rubenee, please send our regards to your mum. Tell her to take care. Wishing all of you a blessed 2014.
yes .. I repeat the same

2nd January 2014, 06:20 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1459234_10201079544730071_699546050_n.jpg

Easy Baked Berrylicious Oatmeal!!!

Ingredients:
1/4 cup quick oats or a Quaker Oats Instant Medley Cup
1 egg
Handful blueberries, raspberries or strawberries
Sprinkle brown sugar or Stevia
1 tablespoon plain soy or almond milk or even 2 % milk

Directions:
Take a little less than a quarter cup of quick oats, one egg, a small handful of blueberries and some brown sugar or Stevia if you like things sweet, and mix it all up in a coffee mug. If you want your muffin a little moist, add a tablespoon of plain soy milk or almond milk.

Place mixture in the microwave for 1 minute. Watch it carefully since this could overflow.

If the muffin top does not look firm, place back in the microwave 30 seconds at a time.

Once ready, flip mug upside down onto a plate and slice some fresh fruit to decorate.

uwitiusoj
5th January 2014, 05:42 AM
Oh my God! my prayers for K. Get well then come to forum K.

chinnakkannan
5th January 2014, 06:22 PM
அன்பின் ரூபிணி- எங்கள் பிரார்த்தனைகள் உங்கள் அன்னையைத் தொடர்ந்து வந்து கொண்டிருக்கும்..குகன் ஜி விரைவில் குணமடைந்து இங்கு வந்து எங்களையும் குணமடைய வைப்பார் - அவரது அசத்தல் உணவு ரெஸிப்பிகளால்..

5th January 2014, 06:48 PM
next week is thaipoosam... let us all pray to Kugan for K's speedy recovery...

http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/ECalL_Mi-44/0.jpg

http://static4.demotix.com/sites/default/files/imagecache/a_scale_large/200-2/photos/1265892737-thaipusam-in-batu-caves245112_245112.jpg

chinnakkannan
5th January 2014, 07:18 PM
Sure nov..

rose75
6th January 2014, 11:19 AM
Missing you Kuganka. Our prayers are with you.come back to the forum soon.
Take care of your health.

Lathz
7th January 2014, 06:59 AM
hope u r getting better now kugan akka.....my prayers for ur speedy recovery......

10th January 2014, 08:08 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/q71/1011503_575244209204891_1715499631_n.jpg

1 and 1/2 cups diced fresh pineapple,
1 banana,
1/2 cup Greek yogurt,
1/2 cup ice,
1/2 cup pineapple juice or water.
Blend to consistency of a smoothie.

uwitiusoj
10th January 2014, 10:13 PM
wow nice smooothie nov anna.

11th January 2014, 10:45 AM
Sangeetha, why aren't you sharing your recipes nowadays? :cry:

gulabjamun
11th January 2014, 06:14 PM
Kuganka, praying for your speedy recovery . We miss you a lot Kuganka. Get well and come back quickly to the forum. Yes Sangeetha please post any recipes that you cook.

12th January 2014, 05:18 PM
Curry Leaf Podi

http://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/Images/TSOL/Photos-Upload/Food%20and%20Drink/2014/curry%20leaf%20podi2.ashx/?w=620&h=413&crop=1&

Ingredients
1½ cups firmly packed curry leaves (stems removed)
1 tsp oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp asafoetida powder
2 tbsp black gram (urad) dhall, rinsed and drained
3-5 dried chillies, soaked to soften and drained
1 piece dried tamarind (assam gelugor)
Salt to taste

Method
Wash the curry leaves and drain well to remove as much water as possible. Dab with a kitchen towel. In a dry frying pan over medium low heat, toss the curry leaves until they are dry and slightly crisp. Set aside.

Heat the oil in a frying pan over a low flame. Add mustard seeds and sauté until they start to sputter. Add the asafoetida and dhall. Fry until the dhall turns reddish brown, about two minutes.

Add the dried chillies (use to taste and tolerance to heat) and tamarind. Stir until chillies start to colour and become crisp, one to two minutes.

Add curry leaves and toss together, one minute.

Take mixture off the heat and grind to a powder in a mini blender or food processor (how fine is up to individual taste). Add salt to taste. Cool and store in an air-tight jar.

chinnakkannan
12th January 2014, 08:59 PM
கறிவேப்பிலைப் பொடி ரெஸிப்பி ஜோர் நவ்...ஆனா எனக்கு கறிவேப்பிலைத் தொக்கு ரொம்பப்பிடிக்குமே.. (777 ஒரு பிராண்ட்ல வரும்) ரெஸிப்பீ இருக்கா...

uwitiusoj
13th January 2014, 07:26 AM
chinna kannan anna i made your tomato rasam today. rasam supero super. hubby also liked it and has been drinking it several times. thanks for the recipe. since i cudnt get the cinthol soap it got delayed :-D

you are a good cook so pls do not escape with uppu karam manga etc. :yessir:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3717/11920222246_f81e03674b_c.jpg

uwitiusoj
13th January 2014, 07:30 AM
nov anna curry leaves podi winter la poi anuparengale. i had lot of curry leaves at one time and did not know what to do. but thanks i can feel the smell till here.

uwitiusoj
13th January 2014, 07:50 AM
this recipe can be used for different purposes as an instant hand like pulikachal. but can be used in noodles too.

Chilli Masala rice mix.

Green Chilles - 30 nos

Ginger - 75 gms

grind the above both with water to a nice paste.

in 3 tbs oil season 2 bay leaf , 1 cinamon, 2 cloves, 1 black cardom and add the paste and salt . while frying it add 1.5 tsp biryani powder. fry until the oil floats on top. store it in a glass container.

1.you can mix this in hot rice and have it as such.

2. fry some onion and some boiled potatoes and add the masala then mix it with rice.

3. use it for indian street food style fried rice or fried noodles

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5526/11920047133_be88072e16.jpg

uwitiusoj
13th January 2014, 07:55 AM
gulabjamun unga veetu recipes edavadu podungo even if its simple. what ever i remember i will post.

13th January 2014, 08:01 AM
excellent sangeetha... I am planning to courier myself to your house soon ... bayappadaatheenga, koodavE karuveppilai eduthuttu vaaren :p

chinnakkannan
13th January 2014, 10:22 AM
sb t.. nisammaavE nalla vanthuchchaa rasam.. naan panRamaathiryE irukkE.. :)

13th January 2014, 05:16 PM
sb t.. nisammaavE nalla vanthuchchaa rasam.. naan panRamaathiryE irukkE.. :)

ஏய்.. சிக்கா... பொய்தானே !

chinnakkannan
13th January 2014, 08:56 PM
இல்லை மதுண்ணா :) ஓ.கே.. ஆமா :)

uwitiusoj
14th January 2014, 07:51 AM
Nov and chinnakannan anna thank you so much.

I wish all the forum members a happy ponggalo pongal

14th January 2014, 08:04 AM
on behalf of K, I would like to wish all members a great Pongal - may your lives be as bountiful as the overflowing pot of milk!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t1/q71/1532162_10152132588837629_950329918_n.jpg

14th January 2014, 11:47 AM
My Pongal day lunch ...

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1525344_10152132833367629_343449156_n.jpg

chinnakkannan
14th January 2014, 01:55 PM
haay nov anna.. pongal virunthu arumai..

petston
16th January 2014, 10:07 PM
Happy Pongal hubbers.... Hope all are fine... I had a mushroom mutter masala last week here in Geneva in one restaurant... I need that recipe Guys... such an awesome dish.....Goes well with roti and all.... if possible with final output screenshot...

19th January 2014, 06:17 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/q71/s720x720/13005_10201077504639070_2132037511_n.jpg

You Will Need:

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup of powdered sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. maraschino cherry juice
1/2 tsp. almond extract
6 drops of red food coloring
2 1/4 cups of all purpose flour
1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries
approx. 50 Hershey kisses

Preheat Oven to 350

In a large bowl beat your butter, powdered sugar, and salt...till well blended...add in cherry juice, almond extract and food coloring...Gradually Beat in flour...stir in cherries.

Shape into 1 inch balls. Place 1 inch apart on a greased baking sheet. Bake 8 to 10 min. or until bottoms are light brown. Immediately press a chocolate kiss into center of each cookie...it will crack around the edges...cool on pan for 2 min. then move to a cooling rack.

uwitiusoj
22nd January 2014, 03:57 AM
I got a hand blender :happydance:, It is grinding ok... :D, adha use panni naan pudhina leaves konjam araichu paaththen.
Yesterday I prepared pudhina rice :slurp:

Pudhina rice(serves two):

Pudhina - 1 cup
Onion - 1 medium
Tomato - 1 medium
Jeera - 1/2 tsp
Ginger garlic paste - 1 tbsp
Turmeric powder
chilli powder
coriander powder
Oil
salt to taste

Optional: (To get a masala taste)

Cloves- 2
Cinnamon stick - 1 inch
Bay leaves

Method:

Grind the mint leaves with little water.(Note: Semi grind it, not to a fine paste)
Heat a pan with oil. Add the optional items specified and jeera, fry for 1/2 minute.
Add ginger garlic paste, fry for ten seconds, add onion, fry till it becomes transparent.
Add tomato, salt, turmeric powder, chilli powder, coriander powder. Fry for about 2 mins.
Add ground mint leaves. Mix and fry till the raw smell goes and till the water drains out completely.

Add this mixture to rice and mix well(if salt is required you can add it and mix again). Pudhina rice is ready. Server with cucumber raitha .

Madhu Shree I made your rice. Came out so good was refreshing to the mouth. Thanks for the recipe. Please post some recipes whenever you get a few mins.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2846/12076036876_84626c94da_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
22nd January 2014, 04:02 AM
K this is your nut fry recipe. cant stop munching it. Never thought the nuts were boiled slightly.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7302/12076245236_ccf6bbc35f_c.jpg

uwitiusoj
22nd January 2014, 04:07 AM

1 cup whole urad dal
1/2 cup cooked rice
salt to taste

K I tried this method 2 times both time idly came soft and dosai came so good. but i used idly rice instead of ponni. still it works thansk for the recipe

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3747/12076112184_7b992dc7e4_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
22nd January 2014, 04:13 AM
enna forum ore silent where is PS thamby, Madhu annah , kannan anna, Rose, gulabjamun priyasri, ramrish :( :(

petston
22nd January 2014, 04:23 PM
Madhu Shree I made your rice. Came out so good was refreshing to the mouth. Thanks for the recipe. Please post some recipes whenever you get a few mins.

Hi.. Thanks for the recipe I have a doubt.. How about replacing Mint leaves with Coriander leaves ??..

petston
22nd January 2014, 04:24 PM
Hi.. Thanks for the recipe I have a doubt.. How about replacing Mint leaves with Coriander leaves ??..

gulabjamun
22nd January 2014, 06:52 PM
Sangeetha, thank you very much for all the recipes that you have posted. We miss our Kuganka a lot. You and Nov are posting recipes. I am sure Kuganka would feel very happy when she comes back.
I feel very bad when some one asks for recipe, Kuganka would have given the next day itself. I remember one Petston asking for mushroom recipe. I am not a good cook, I learnt my cooking all from Kugan's Kitchen. I asked all around and one friend gave me this mushroom recipe. Sorry I have no time to cook and take photo. I am posting the recipe as how my friend gave me.

MUSHROOM AND GREEN PEAS

Ingredients:

2 tbs of oil, 1 tbs of whole garam masala, 1 tsp cumin seeds.
½ cup onion made into puree, 1 tbs ginger garlic paste, 1 green chillii finely chopped.
½ cup tomatoes made into puree, ¼ tsp turmeric powder, 1 tbs red chilli powder,
½ tsp garam masala powder.
300 grms button mushroom, cut into quarters, ½ cup defrosted green peas.
Salt to taste, 1 tbs cashew nut powder.
2 tbs of heavy cream, 1 tbs finely chopped coriander leaves.

Method:
Heat a pot, add in the oil, whole garam masala and cumin seeds.
Add in the pureed onion and cook till light golden.
Add in the ginger and garlic and the green chilli, cook for few minutes.
Add in the tomato, turmeric, red chili powder, and garam masala powder.
Stir nicely, add in the cut mushroom and green peas, add enough salt.
Reduce the heat and cook on low heat for 10 minutes.
Add the cashew nut powder and heavy cream, stir well for a minute.
Remove and add the coriander leaves, and serve.

Madhu Sree
22nd January 2014, 07:32 PM

Hi.. you can replace tht with coriander leaves. All same. Outcome: Coriander rice :)

Madhu Sree
22nd January 2014, 08:45 PM

woww yummmyyy.. thx sangeetha for believing me and for trying this recipe... :razz:... Yes it has a refreshing taste and aroma... I miss this rice... it has been a very long time... I ll do this sometime b4 this week... thanks a ton for reminding this one :D

uwitiusoj
24th January 2014, 09:13 AM
Sangeetha, thank you very much for all the recipes that you have posted. We miss our Kuganka a lot. You and Nov are posting recipes. I am sure Kuganka would feel very happy when she comes back.
I feel very bad when some one asks for recipe, Kuganka would have given the next day itself. I remember one Petston asking for mushroom recipe. I am not a good cook, I learnt my cooking all from Kugan's Kitchen. I asked all around and one friend gave me this mushroom recipe. Sorry I have no time to cook and take photo. I am posting the recipe as how my friend gave me.

MUSHROOM AND GREEN PEAS

Ingredients:

½ cup onion made into puree, 1 tbs ginger garlic paste, 1 green chillii finely chopped.

Method:

wow nice and rich recipe . thank you so much. good for parties too. i have no mushrooms now whenever i buy and try will post pics. but so tempting to try. yes gulab no one can do Kugans service of posting all requested recipes timely. i manage such a tiny family but still i get lost some where, she manages so many things, cooks for 12 people daily but stilll post for us . I will be thanking her from bottom of my heart my entire life.

uwitiusoj
24th January 2014, 09:18 AM
unga neriya recipes naan try panniyachu all r super hit in my family. u must be a great cook too. beleieving me appiyelam ungala thazhthi dont escape. i will be back of u for more recipes :-D . i think u have also posted one potato milagu kulambu recipe thats my next target. will post pic soon.

woww yummmyyy.. thx sangeetha for believing me and for trying this recipe... :razz:... Yes it has a refreshing taste and aroma... I miss this rice... it has been a very long time... I ll do this sometime b4 this week... thanks a ton for reminding this one :D

28th January 2014, 07:03 AM
http://www.stonehurstmanor.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Stonehurst-Manor-Chef-Avi-Infographic_sm.jpg

1st February 2014, 08:31 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/t1/q71/1453482_10152027262579684_10101745_n.jpg

5th February 2014, 08:05 AM
http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/2013-10/enhanced/webdr03/9/17/enhanced-buzz-755-1381354453-24.jpg

Madhu Sree
5th February 2014, 05:16 PM
Woww nov super... :) thanx for this simple, easy and yummy recipe :D

5th February 2014, 06:53 PM
You're welcome Sree... don't know what happened to the rest of Kugan Kitchen friends. :roll:

5th February 2014, 07:13 PM
Homemade chocolate truffles for Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is almost here, and if you’re planning on spending a small fortune on chocolates for your sweet, hold up! Consider making your own chocolate truffles.

Surprise your better half with a box of homemade chocolate truffles. Whether for Valentine’s or her birthday, she’ll be thrilled and even more impressed when she finds out that you made them.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Chocolate-Truffles-h.jpeg

Ingredients
155 ml Cream
350g 70% Dark Chocolate
1/3 Cup Belgium Cocoa
1/3 Cups finely Chopped Almonds
1 Tsp Vanila

Method
1. Melt chocolate on a double boiler.
2. Mix in cream. Stir and make sure there’s no lumps.
3. Chill for 2 hours.
4. Use a small ice cream scoop to form marble-sized balls of chocolate.
5. Put on sheet and chill for another 20 mins.
6. Just before serving, roll the chocolate balls in cocoa or chopped almonds.
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Serves: 1 greedy person

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/leisure/2014/02/05/homemade-chocolate-truffles-for-valentines-day/

uwitiusoj
6th February 2014, 04:25 AM
Today I prepared this yummy milagu kozhambu(chettinad kind of style). Please try this, it tastes yummy... :slurp:
My aunt use to prepare this.

Potato Milagu kuzhambu:

Onion: 1
Tomato: 2 medium
Potato - 4 small ones or 1 big one or 2 medium ones :oops:
Red Chilli - 3 long one
Garlic - 4 - 5
Turmeric powder - a pinch
Chilli powder - 1 tbsp
Coriander powder - 2 tbsp
Curry powder - 1/2 tsp
Pepper powder - 1/2 tsp
Tamarind - kuttiyaaa oru lemon ball size.
Mustard seeds
Channa dal - 1 tsp
Coriander leaves.
Oil

Method:

Extract nearly 3/4th cup of tamarind juice. Fine chop onion and tomato. Chop potato to have medium slices.
Heat a wok with oil. Put mustard seeds and let it splutter. Add channa dal fry till it turns brown.
Now add red chillies and garlic. Fry for 1/2 minute, then add onion, fry till it turns brown.
Add tomato, fry till it becomes little mushy. Now, add salt, and the remaining powders, give a good mix.
Add coriander leaves, potato, and 1 cup of water. Let it cook for 5 minutes. Now, add the tamarind water and mix well.
Keep it for about 10 - 15 minutes. The milagu kuzhambu is ready to eat.Mix with hot rice and eat. :slurp:.

posted a pic taken when i was packing it in my lunch box :lol2: pic may not be attractive... :razz:

I made this , went so well with hot rice. thanks madhushree for the recipe

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7457/12331291204_009eaf803b_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
6th February 2014, 04:30 AM
Here is one recipe which my mom use to prepare and it is my favourite.
I really dont know how my mom prepares, but this how I prepare and yes it tasted the same and looked the same as my mom's recipe.
I use to prepare this on the day when I dont like/want to have onion or garlic.

Simple Keerai poricha kozhambu:

Spinach - 1 bunch
Toor dal - I guess 4 tbsp. (3/4th handful :oops2: seriously this is how I measure :|)
Channa dal - 1.5 tbsp
Redchilli - 4
Coconut shreds - 1 tbsp(optional)
Turmeric - as required.
Salt - as required.
Oil - as required.

Tempering:

Panch puran seeds - 2 tsp or mustard seeds, jeera - 1/2 tsp
urad dal - 1.2 tsp

Method:

Fry channadal and red chille in oil and keep it aside to cool town.
In a wok, add toor dal and required water, cook till toor dal is mashable. Add turmeric powder, salt, spinach, mix it well. Let is cook for about 15 mins.
Now grind channa dal + red chillies +coconut shreds and add the powder to the spinach mixture.
Add a pinch of asofotida/perungaayam, tempered Panch puran seeds or mustard, jeera and urad dal. Mix well. Leave for about 2 mins.

Thats it. Keerai poricha kozhambu is ready. Enjoy as a main dish or a side for thengaai thuvayal rice.

Madhu Sree

thanks for this one too yes it was so simple and very tasty. made it twice already.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7379/12330969435_c339d5b69f_z.jpg

uwitiusoj
6th February 2014, 04:39 AM
Hello all sorry for being so off. I have joined some tough course (3 yrs) related to my field and will be preparing for those exams. I might not be very often but will try to keep in touch.

Tired of being at home for a yr and doing nothing but some errands.

hope all the members madhushree, gulabjamun, raj anna , nov anna , rose, ps thamby, chinnakannan annah and all others are doing good.

special regards to K.

PS. Thamby what happened to your health articles. Even if its very rare that you visit the forum please do post your health article. those were very helpful. I still follow the fermentated rice.

Madhu Sree
6th February 2014, 07:10 PM
K, miss u... seekiram vaanga... (rest eduthuttu vaanga)

Sangeetha... super kalakiteenga :D poricha kozhambu ... my favourite :D

Madhu Sree
7th February 2014, 04:52 PM
Hello, ellaarum epdi irukeenga?
chumma bore adikkudhu oru recipe podalaam :P This one is my favourite recipe from my mom.
She does this on some important viradham days like thai krithgai, thai poosam, like that. (when onion and garlic are not used in cooking).
This taste much much tastier than the ones with onion + garlic.

Kathrikkaai podi kari/Kathirikkai Koththamalli fry:

Brinjal (small or big) - 300 gms
Mustard seeds
Oil
Turmeric
Salt

To powder:

5 or 6 red chillies(adjust for spice) - long red chillies
3/4th tablespoon - coriander seeds
1 tablespoon - channa dal (kadalai paruppu)
1 tablespoon - cocunut shreds

Method:

Okies, first cut brinjal into small cubes (if small brinjal then can cut in vertical slices).
In a wok, dry fry channa dal, red chillies, coriander seeds for about a minute or till channa dal turns slightly orangish.
Keep it side and let it cool down. Grind to coarse powder, add cocunut shreds(for more taste, fry for few secs and add :slurp: ), dont grind more, juz put mixer grinder on pulse mode 3 times.

In a wok, add required oil(add more oil for more taste, use cocunut oil for lipsmacking taste :oops: )
Once oil is hot enuff, add mustard seeds, let it splutter.
Add brinjal slices, fry for 2 mins. Add turmeric powder and salt. Close the lid for 2 mins and then open, fry again for a minute(repeat the process till it gets cooked).
Once brinjal is spongy and kind of in a situation of getting mashed (:lol2: see this is how I check whether it is cooked or not),
add the channa dal + red chillies + coriander seeds + cocunut mix powder to brinjal and give a mix.
Thats it !!! Kathrikkaai koththamalli fry is ready to eat. Enjoy with sambar rice or hot paruppu rasam rice or tempered curd rice. :slurp:

Have fun. :thumbsup:

Photos:

Before grinding:

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2820/12457652203_c076511585.jpg

After grinding:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7418/12457646423_5029f1ecd8.jpg

Final pic, sorry about bad presentation :oops: :
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2869/12457981934_e25e638492.jpg

7th February 2014, 06:25 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/999960_743461875666169_1051318003_n.jpg

Vegetable Aloo Tikkis‬

Ingredients:

5 potatoes, boiled and mashed
3 bread slices, soaked and squeezed
1 bowl of green peas, blended in a mixer-grinder once
1 bowl of grated carrots
Coriander leaves
Salt to taste
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp jeera powder (cumin powder)
1 tsp garam masala
2-3 green chillies, finely chopped
Oil for deep frying

Method:

On a plate, add the mashed potatoes
Add the squeezed bread slices, peas, carrots, coriander leaves, green chillies, salt, lemon juice, jeera powder, garam masala powder. Mix well.
Pinch out a portion from the dough. Roll it into a ball. Keep pressing the rolled out mix with your palms till it becomes a patty. Repeat the same for all the patties.
Heat oil in a pan. Once the oil is hot, add the patties. Fry them till they become golden brown in colour.
Ready to serve with chutney or ketchup.

Madhu Sree
11th February 2014, 07:07 PM
Have update kathrikai koththamalli fry with pics.

chinnakkannan
12th February 2014, 11:03 AM
எம்.எஸ்.. கலக்கல்.. ட்ரை பண்ணச் சொல்றேன் வீ.கா கிட்ட..அதுசரி..கத்ரிக்கா பொடிக் கறி தெரியுமோ..அது எனக்கு ரொம்ம்ம்ப்ப்ப பிடிக்குமாக்கும்..:) நவ் ஜி இப்பத் தான் ஆலூ டிக்கி பார்த்தேன்.. பஸ்ஸ்ஸிக்குது :)

Madhu Sree
12th February 2014, 03:20 PM
CK, adhuvum idhu maadhiri thaan, except coriander seeds i think... :)

petston
17th February 2014, 07:26 PM

MUSHROOM AND GREEN PEAS

Ingredients:

Method:

THank u very much. So Kind of you :D :D

Madhu Sree
17th February 2014, 11:53 PM
CK, Am sorry, the one I posted is kathrikkaaai podi kari only ... :( I was in an assumption that podi kari is without coriander seeds but with channa dal. Amma thalaila kutti sonnaa that this is podi kari... :D Recipe title edit pannitten... :oops:

18th February 2014, 07:10 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/v/t1/1455984_225192837604424_1862094903_n.jpg?oh=5de650 7e1f8afc08e28ee119595ea640&oe=538C459F&__gda__=1400693681_8448fcbdc67141448fb39050522db70 a

20th February 2014, 07:52 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/1012542_10201480096183607_2101225248_n.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
1 Fuji Apple (cut into small cubes)
1 Granny Smith apples (cut into small cubes)
1 Seeds from pomegranate (about 3/4 cup)
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
11 ozs mandarin oranges (drained, reserve juice)
2 banana (firm, sliced)
1 teaspoon sugar or 1 teaspoon Stevia sugar substitute
1 lime

DIRECTIONS:
1. Prepare and mix all the fruit in a bowl.
2. Measure 1/4 cup of the reserved Mandarin orange juice, squeeze in the juice of the lime (apprx 2 tbsp) & stir in the sugar or (stevia).
3. Pour over the fruit, refrigerate 1 hour or until well chilled.
Serves:5-6

suvai
23rd February 2014, 04:56 AM
Hello hello.....Kugan ngo......:-) rombaaaa naaal aachi naan sign on panni....hope all is well.......ungalai marakaama.........i do try out a lot of your old recipes .......ipo i just brushed through some there seems to be too many & dont know where I left or where to even start....thalai suthuthu ngo...:mrgreen:

Nov ngovvvvvvv.........:-) epadi irukeenga....madhu sree / dev / madhu nga/ rajraj nga/ selviem...hope all is well with everyone...........

nov ngov....would surely like to try out yr power breakfast...sounds simple & filling too

I just realized that kugan has taken leave of absence for a bit......health is the foremost wealth...take plenty care nga kugan...

23rd February 2014, 07:41 AM
Welcome back suvai nga!
Special for you...

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/1656036_432915526842336_2002004379_n.jpg

suvai
23rd February 2014, 07:46 AM
ohhhhhhhhhh wowieeeeeeeeee.......ty for the special posting for me....kugan irunthaanganaa apadi thaan senji irupaanga......:-)

the muruku looks yummiluzzz....karakkkk murakkkk :mrgreen:

Madhu Sree
23rd February 2014, 10:09 AM
Suvaingo, I was thinking about you only yesterday. Romba naala aalai kaanumenu nenaichen....
Welcome welcome :) epdi irukeenga...

23rd February 2014, 06:20 PM
Thanks for the likes and thanks, Chinnakannan & Mappi :)

suvai
23rd February 2014, 08:47 PM
Suvaingo, I was thinking about you only yesterday. Romba naala aalai kaanumenu nenaichen....
Welcome welcome :) epdi irukeenga...

hello madhu.......nethiki neenga neenaicheenga naan vanthitenaa ??? :mrgreen: nalla iruken hope u r well too...i liked the ...kathirikai podi kari....kandipa pannitu sollaren epadi vanthichi nu okva??....

suvai
23rd February 2014, 08:48 PM
i still cannot get over the cone shaped parotta that nov ngov posted.....fab combo of talent & skill ;-)