View Full Version : Song of the Open Road (Latest song heard - Part 10)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11]

15th April 2016, 06:49 AM
I met Rahman Ji in my dream prior to waking up today. It's been time since I saw him in one and in the last few I've had of him his presence has mostly been at a distance.

It was late night cum early morning, I believe Rahman Ji had just finished a concert and was walking beside a nearby park. I saw him from the other side of the road, I know he saw me too, he smiled shyly and carried on walking. I crossed the road, approached him leaning forward for a handshake but he seemed slightly hesitant, then I introduced myself and expressed I understand that he might want alone time. He looked to the ground and walked casually just in case a crowd started gathering but he still had a smile acknowledging me with a nod. I nodded back and let it be but followed him from a distance until we both ended in a residential area.

As I suspected a crowd flocked out of nowhere, I could see boss was getting overwhelmed and I expressed my sincere apology as I sensed his irritation as I never thought lots of people would turn up. My eyes moistened and I bowed to touch his feet to ask for forgiveness but before I could do that he lifted me up and gave me one of the warmest hugs I've ever received with a big smile and said, "It's OK!" He then personally asked my mum to take a picture of me and him and with the flash of the camera I woke up feeling more than 100% satisfied and positive!

It has been almost two years since I officially shared any new musical works online. I occasionally worked on a few projects but never had the courage to share them and I had nearly given up on making beats but thanks to the continuous encouragement and belief I got from Jkmarx Jeyapal and my brother Vimal Malhotra I finally persevered in committing to one piece and completing it.

I didn't name this piece as I usually end up making music not bothering to coin a name, I go from one step to other packing in elements of music that I personally enjoy as an average listener and here I left deciding the name till the end. After struggling to coin one, my great friend Amith Chandhran gave this piece the name of, "Dream Passage".

Lastly but most importantly considering I met A. R. Rahman Ji in my dream receiving his blessings, this name was ideal and so delighted to finally share it with everyone.

Dream Passage
http://sunilmalhotra.bandcamp.com/releases

Happy Listening!

15th April 2016, 05:57 PM
Iraivi Songs (2016 : Tamil : Variety)
Composed by Santhosh Narayanan for a film by Karthik Subbaraj

Super ji, Super ji.

#/ Song Name / Singer / Lyrics

1/ Kadhal Kappal / Santhosh Narayanan / Muthamil

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bx_R4smkV4

2/ Dhushta / Meenakshi & Dhee / Vivek

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5K3bXN7_I4U

3/ Manidhi / Brinda, Ananthu & Santhosh Narayanan / Vivek

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPYAwwdXX9o

4/ Solla Thudikudhu Manasu / R.K. Sundar / Muthamil

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgptHsC95Rc

5/ Onnu Rendu / S.J. Suryah / Vivek

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkyNSInlpX8

6/ Othaiyila / Anthony Daasan / Mani Amudhavan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JP-gGnmaqZw

But Santosh ji & Karthik ji, where is the Theme or that music bit from the Teaser (another version of Dhushta) which sounds like 'I'm a Man by Bo Diddley (reprise by Black Strobe)' ?!?

And Vivek really superb - Iraivi Devi Naan, Kodiya Paavi Nee - hats off.

http://i1.wp.com/www.stage3.in/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Iraivi-Track-List.jpg?w=600

Nasc
23rd April 2016, 09:46 AM
https://youtu.be/7-I42RqD3fY always had loved both the version ..spb n thalaivars rendition..

23rd April 2016, 05:01 PM
last song by the killer combo - raja and vairamuthu

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8POL-k1htgI

15th June 2016, 01:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsCngkQHRrI

60's kedda palaya paadalgal pol oru unarvu...adicttu....

17th June 2016, 10:58 AM
Avalum Naanum :bow: one single song enough to kick the entire album of kabali..

29th June 2016, 07:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdbHD86jhUM

6th July 2016, 04:02 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gmyyrzJIfx0

MOHENJO DARO another magical album after AYM from isaiyin eega iaraivan ARR

8th July 2016, 12:49 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gmyyrzJIfx0

MOHENJO DARO another magical album after AYM from isaiyin eega iaraivan ARR

Mohenjo Daro Music Review

Mohenjo Mohenjo

A voice inaugurates this song followed by multiple backing voices, one of which could possibly be Ashutosh Gowarikar. Everyone behind this track definitely give the impression they had the time of their life whilst recording and this aspect just gracefully shines through. This level of happiness truly reflects a world free of stress, much different to the one we’re currently in. It’s not known if that was the case then but this song comes as a reminder that if we choose not to dwell on petty conflicts with each other then we can easily attain harmony which is the core this song is emphasising in a widely friendly and much appreciable manner rather than the preachiness people are fed up of. The song’s message is ironic considering this is the titular track. Mohenjo-Daro either means Mound of the dead men or Mound of Mohan where Mohan is a synonym for Hindu Deity Krishna. We know Ashutosh, A. R. and Javed always deliver a Vaishnav devotional number when collaborating. Well this could just be that song this time ultimately expressing Vasudhaiva kutumbakam i.e. the world is one family. There is a bowed instrument which meanders throughout the song bringing a very distinct Rajasthani folk flavour. With the absence of synth A. R. puts a bassline fourth via those sliding Taiko sounding drums. After some really deep, sombre and love-struck songs, Arijit Singh sounds very young and happy go lucky here. Bela Shende and Sanah Moidutty perform their best in welcoming us and everyone out there to this global funfair of a song but at also take the song to greater strengths with a celestial quality akin to a loving mother singing a lullaby for her children. A. R.’s voice is also present, if you thought his voice couldn’t go higher and airier after Theera Ulaa then you’ll be in for a treat near the intro of the song.

Sindhu Ma / Tu Hai / The Shimmer of Sindhu

Despite not being known as Mohenjo-Daro during that specific era, this song begins on a homage for this ancient civilisation. Many triumphant civilisations are still made aware of in history lessons as they were situated around rivers, a resource for water and life and in this particular case, Sindhu which currently is known as Indus, is the river in context. Megh Shah (Megh surprisingly means Cloud) sings her heart out in the song’s prelude. Hard core A. R. Rahman fans can rejoice, they’ve been very fortunate with the continuous releases he’s been giving recently, if there’s any suspicion of a musical drought emerging round the corner then he’s provided these fans with enough supply to accommodate themselves and Sindhu Ma i.e. Sindhu the river – prelude emphasises the importance and need for water to survive. If music was water then the prelude is a real thirst quencher.
What follows is Tu Hai which reveals love in multiple ways, be it love that exists between a couple, for one’s land or for a divine presence, all these options are echoed in Tu Hai. A. R. croons a vocal modulation reflective of his romantic maturity witnessed in Dil Se, Rehna Tu, Kya Hai Mohabbat, and the odd other whilst balancing it with those earthy glorious octaves which emerged spontaneously from him in the Nineties. This popular trait has been associated with A. R. since the time he landed in the scene. Sanah sounds very much like Madhushree and stands tall against a veteran like A. R. with absolute soothing confidence. The first interlude starts off dark due to the presence of chants but a light flute comes to cause smiles and is followed by a ethnic male choir celebration. Jig elements are inserted here and there but they mellow before resuming the celebration which fades away with that quintessential humming and echoing possessed only by A. R.’s songs.
The instrumental version holds a renaissance feel, the fragrance of blossoming flowers in the season of spring are mediated as well as a gentle breeze which is kissing the face especially when the flute is heard. The Shimmer of Sindhu instrumental knocks the doors of the ears, from which it enters and travels to the mind creating a new world which looks beautiful even without having to visualise it.

Sarsariya / Lakh Lakh Thora

A complete dance feast that will definitely have the lead pair showing off their moves on screen and a song where Hrithik will definitely feel at home. Many nuances associated with the Roshans can be felt in this song, especially their admiration of hill stations which have featured in films like Koyla, Kaho Na Pyar hai and Koi Mil Gaya to name a few. A. R. is a true chameleon here, he brings the rustic and ambient charm that Rajesh Roshan has wonderfully displayed over the years in countless songs. The instruments and percussion are layered organically which make this the most Indian sounding song of the soundtrack but it’s nothing short of ideally defining what World Music should be and is, just for example there are Andean pan flutes, Oriental strings and a whole lot of other instruments made famous by other cultures including a Tabla and other percussion which might never be heard of before. Shashaa Tirupati sounds like a cross between a young version of Chithra and Jonita Gandhi. No doubt Shashaa and Jonita have completed some training together encouraging and giving each other tips along the way so it shouldn’t be a surprise that they easily transfer each other’s pros to listeners. Conversely, Shashwat Singh sounds very much alike Javed Ali and Kamaal Khan who featured in A. R.’s Dil Ne Jise Apna Kahaa. A. R. knows who the saviours of Indian Film Music will be and so has planted these young batch of singers like a true Gardener who leaps with joy after receiving satisfaction provided by seeing his successful cultivation.
There is definitely more of a Pahadi and Himachal feel in the instrumental and subtle Ghatam hits that support this feel. Pavements, footpaths, roads and the ground are all stationary and we are the ones who move but after listening to this instrumental it feels like they’re not the ones stationary any more. Stand still and feel the world orbiting you as an individual when hearing this.

Whispers of the Mind / Heart

I consider both these respective pieces prayers, prayers which are made by gazing at stars in isolation in the open. Arjun Chandy suggests connecting with nature at night could possibly pave a path to a heaven in the sky. He is remarkable here and in the second version the female choir sound as if angels are directly responding to one’s call from heaven. More than trying to connect with a divine presence, one will have definitely connected with their soul via some kind of supernatural activity which is best left unsolved. Some portions are auto-tuned which give these scores a bit of a Sci-Fi twist, further supporting the enigma which hovers from start to end.

Verdict

I know some listeners will be highly judgemental given the era in which this movie is set. This music review does not really intend to reflect the punctilios of the film’s era but rather concentrates on the musical context regardless of the era. Sometimes being too pedantic over the authenticity of a project will make us miss a gem where we will fail to realise the real beauty and worth of a song and soundtrack. Sparse or no evidence is available about instruments that existed those days and neither is there an idea about the language and culture but if history is anything to go by, then the idea of all humans spreading the globe starting from Africa is very much evident in the soundscape of this soundtrack. This kind of approach was somewhat witnessed in A. R.’s own soundtrack, Raavan. A. R. Rahman would have had to stretch his imagination to the wildest possible realms as well as Javed Akhtar who with creative freedom does not need to deliver the exact orthography of that era. Those expecting lyrics in the exact language from that era will be left crestfallen but there are indecipherable words in some portions of certain songs which will shall be gleefully welcomed. If listeners look beyond how authentic this album is then they can allow themselves to immerse in this soundtrack with a much more open mind. A. R. Rahman, Javed and team valiantly come with a much game changing experience and overall a cute package which befits this all four season, providing us warmth, a cool breeze and fragrance of mother nature’s soil, It will bound listeners to the earth like never before as such is connection created by A. R., Javed and Ashutosh’s belief in this project. It will make you realise the importance of the world we live in and collectively call home.

Happy Listening!
Sunil
source: https://caughtinthemusicalstorm.wordpress.com/2016/07/07/mohenjo-daro-music-review/

9th July 2016, 07:43 AM
Tu hai :musicsmile: :bow:

27th July 2016, 11:06 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzyWgNrXlqo

3rd August 2016, 04:18 AM
Irumugam Theme reminded me of this french song Le Petit Train (The Little Train) by Les Rita Mitsouko (Single from the Album Marc & Robert : 1989 : Pop Rock).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SHEwFoo_KA0

Irumugam Face Off (Theme) by Harris Jayaraj (OST : 2016 : Variety)

(the rhythm that begins around 43s ; the same is heard in the closing of the teaser too)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQkU1X6Ys2s

8th August 2016, 01:58 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyMeARXNz7c

superb melody

22nd August 2016, 04:35 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_IVLTDJemw

22nd August 2016, 04:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxDKZ6WfD7M

22nd August 2016, 04:39 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIOhJXUW2Cc

most worst song of 2016..

1st October 2016, 03:45 PM
Gold is Never Old - Col.2

Ratha Kanneer (1954)

Nalla gunathai izhappavan, irudhiyilae nalla sugathai adaivadh-edhu

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5iArFSRIfVE

Kavalai Illatha Manithan (1960)

Thannai arindhaal unmaiyil inbum, Thannalam marandhaal perumperinbam

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OslLZDX_rW0

Pattinathar (1962)

Madhiyum Azhindhu, Sevi thimir vandhu, Vai-ariyamal vidamal mozhindhu

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrL1mocPquQ

Harichandra (1968)

Arasanum aandiyum vidhiyin munnale, Amaithiyai izhappaar oozhvinaiyale

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6tfy5NK_kQ

Thozhilali (1964)

Iruppadhaik kondu sirappudan vaazhum, Ilakkanam paditthavan thozhilaali

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clgQjuCheWE

6th October 2016, 12:46 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFn_ZIS1pkg

Semma song..hats off to vailom vijayalaxmi

6th October 2016, 12:46 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Me1ZOBaNrbo

6th October 2016, 12:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxDKZ6WfD7M

kalakirukapla vijay sethupathi...semma kuthu...n yuvan ppaaah...

6th October 2016, 12:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeRjhmDS4fk

6th October 2016, 01:20 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_P5M-Un6-Y

padam ennamo marana mokka but songs ellam superb

cujoo
29th October 2016, 01:30 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyMeARXNz7c

superb melody
Really a superb one. I am glue it to the song :) Thanks Anand

11th December 2016, 02:48 AM
Story Songs - Vol.1

5/ Deiva Thirumagal - Kadha Solla Poren

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJryr489YFY

4/ Anne Anne Sipai Anne - Kozhi Koovuthu

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZfxPJ8gPoA

3/ Raja Chinna Roja

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WhKuKiTej9A

2/ Kaatil Oru - Anbukku Naan Adimai

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wBtFnNpeoM

1/ Ore Oru Oorilae - Padikkadha Medhai

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uh3980VY49Y

11th December 2016, 02:58 PM
u missed moonram pirai song - nari colour maari pochu

11th December 2016, 02:59 PM
yei gnanam seethavai kaanom too

11th December 2016, 04:08 PM
mexicomeat,

Similar to all the other previous series, I have initiated the first set, so that we can grow the list (for instance there is Katha Kelu Katha Kelu from MMKJ, etc.).

Starting the next one :

No Money No Honey - Vol.1

5/ Ada Kattu Katta - Coolie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=td5bi7TaxVs

4/ Kaiyila Kasu - Achamillai Achamillai

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHeAB0LHr28

3/ No Money No Honey - Vaanam

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8keHsuhyWk

2/ Kasu Panam - Soodhu Kavvum

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2MF7bTRreY

1/ Kasethan Kadavulada - Chakkaram

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oZHuhgYMMM

6th January 2017, 10:51 PM
Hits of ARR - Vol. 1

Jiya Jale - Dil Se

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rplIQ3t9xco

Minnale Nee - May Maadham

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QG5g-G-_nO8

Nahi Samne - Taal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2R9dznfY5Zc

Nila Kaikarithu - Indira

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_xsYnsNoIg

Sadda Haq - Rockstar

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9DQINKZxWE

Theera - OK Kanmani

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlOV3f5U6Ys

15th February 2017, 08:34 PM
Can the feelings of despair and joy exist mutually?

Both moods exist in a sublime discordance resulting in a haunting harmony when listening to Shashaa’s Vaan Varuvan. It’s as if a hypnotic voice has emerged from the heart forcing you to swing, sway and do waltz with yourself. This subject has already been dealt with by boss in Raunaq’s Aabhi Jaa. A lady is waiting for her heroic soldier to return so they can smother themselves in each other. Kadhal Rojave, anyone? Here the lady despite not knowing the fate of her love life is surprisingly living a high moment of love caused by the absence of her lover. (To hear the male counterpart, it might be worth revisiting Naan Varuven, which although in this case might be a reply to the former but released roughly seven years ago. Listening to both songs with the addition of Mannipaaya will either cure one’s limerence or passionately draw them towards love even more.) Thus, there is a solace coming from this desolation which reflects a Sufi connotation whereby one completely surrenders themselves to the almighty when all else fails

But hold on a moment, coming to the music, there’s a groove despite an element of sombreness and with the bass drops which usually are a trait of the Trap music genre, ironically make one wonder how awesome would this song be when blasted in a car causing the earth to tremble and further more causing distant lovers to rise and salute our Boss!
Lastly, I am a reminded of Kisna’s dialogue, “Judai toh bhi ek pyar hai” (Not a literal translation) Eng: Seperation can definitely make love grow stronger.

So I ask again, can the feelings of despair and joy exist mutually? Alas, happiness is a choice and not a result!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JVg8j9w7Mg

Happy Listening!

17th February 2017, 10:28 PM
Hi Sunil,

Wish I too write like you. So much emotion sparks in the choice of words and their arrangements as phrases. Please write whenever you find time keeping in mind that there is one guy among several others who loves to read your joy and float in the same space.

Of late I have been listening to Sanwariya Sanwariya from Swades, a CD I bought when I was in Banglore and never forget to put it in the inventory whenever I take long drives/trips. Here is the song (the sound is terrible on Youtube), and I would like to listen it through your words:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsnGhJy6Ibc

15th April 2017, 05:17 PM
Gold is Never Old - Vol. 4

5/ Vaanil Muzhu Mathiyai Kanden from Sivagami (1960)
[TMS / Ka.Mu.Sheriff / K.V. MAHADEVAN]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SoZcfZLAhA

Kovaippazha Niraththaipole,
Kumari Aval Udhattai Kandein.

Solaithennam Paalaipole,
Thogai Aval Sirikka Kandein.

Malai Thenin Inippaipole,
Maadhu AvaL Pesa Kandein.

Kanavileyum Andha Penne,
Kannedhire Nirkka Kandein.

Vaanil Muzhu Madhiyai Kandein,
Vanathiloru Pennai Kandein,
Vaanamuzhu Madhiyaipole,
Mangai AvaL Vadhanam Kandein.

4/ Aadai Katti Vandha Nilavo from Amudhavalli (1959)
[S.Janaki & PBS / Thanjai Ramaiah Das / Viswanathan-Ramamurthy ]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8QcPKPYc2Y

Unthi Unthi Vizum Neeralaiyil,
Odi vilaiyaadi Manam,
Sinthi varum thenral thaano,
Inbam Thantha Mayil Ival Thaano,
Aadai Katti Vantha Nilavo,
kannil Medai Katti Aadum Ezhilo.

3/ Azhagukkum malarukkum from Nenjam Marapadhillai (1963)
[S.Janaki & PBS / Kannadasan / Viswanathan-Ramamurthy ]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0mT67M2LCo

Naam Ondru Padum Naal Vandhu Vidum,
Andha Paadhaiyellaam Malar Thoovi Varum.
Azhagukkum Malarukkum Jaadhi Illai,
Nenjil Aasaikkum Uravukkum Baedham Illai.

2/ Paarthenn Sirithenn Pakkathil Azhaithenn from Veera Abhimanyu (1965)
[P.Suseela & PBS / Kannadasan / KV Mahadevan]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXtdRLIq99U

Oru Thuli Thenn Sindhamal Kalithenn,
Kaigalil, Anaithenn Azhaginai Rasithenn ...
Paarthenn Sirithenn Pakkathil Azhaithenn,
Anru Unai Thenn yenna Naan Ninaithenn ...

1/ Pon Enbane Siru Poo Enbane from Policekaran Magal (1962)
[S.Janaki & PBS / Kannadasan / Viswanathan-Ramamurthy ]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWAdXdnUPSY

Unnai Ninaitthiruppaen Yennai Marandhiruppaen,
Kannil Kalandhiruppaen Nenjil Niraindhiruppaen
Pon Enbane Siru Poo Enbane.

16th September 2017, 01:10 PM
Aruvi - Anbin Kodi

Composed by Bindhu Malini and Vedanth Bharadwaj
Lyrics Kutti Revathi
Illustration: Nivedita Sivaprakash
Animation: Somashekar Pushparaj

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVQJN6ATm5U

Anbin Kodi from Aruvi is one of the rare song teaser used for a promotion of a film that put a smile on my face. An excellent spiral graphics work using a high-end texture that creates a physical illusion and continues to play a leading role in modeling of all types of visual elements. In this competitive world where everyone carries a propaganda flag above their film advertisements, Aruvi flows like a stream of fresh water as a musical mind-reading. The moving images portray the reality as well as the dream of a child growing into a woman - sketching the dissimilarities between a thought and a feeling. The journey she takes inside her mind is expressed within the graphic animation coupled together with words enchanting the entire dream-like sequence. The acoustic guitar riffs & licks follow the entire song developing a mood essential for creativity, expression and liberation.

Aruvi: Anbin Kodi - Often a Woman

18th September 2017, 12:15 AM
Kangal Kathai Pesutho from Theru Naaigal (2017)

Singer: Vaikom Vijayalakshmi
Composors : Harish & Sathish
Lyrics : Muthamizh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOB-N7tW2VA

28th September 2017, 03:26 AM
Rathina Katti from Meyaadha Maan
Music : Santhosh Narayanan
Singer: Dhee
Lyrics : Vivek
Solo violins: Phil Hartl
Piano: Santhosh Narayanan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z01wXbI6JVc

Ey Sandakara from Irudhi Sutru has flirty violins accompanying the vocal and joined by the flute, together exploring the cinematic fondness of a student on her coach. Rathina Katti sounds more like a duet between the violin and the piano accompanied by the vocal. Dhee’s voice articulates emotion. Hats off Dhee.

Santosh Narayanan carries forward his unique style of blues minus soul music. He elegantly replaces it with our native folk (& classical) music emphasizing on the accent and picking up quintessential lyrics. With Rathina Katti, he explores ragtime piano.

This song took me straight back to Ben E. King's 'Stand by me' :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwZNL7QVJjE

Rathina Katti - Genie in a Trumpet