Thalaivaa - Music Review
"Thalaivaa" produced by Sri Mishri Productions Chandra Prakash Jain and directed by A.L Vijay is one of the most awaited films for the year 2013. IlayathalapathyVijay who is on a winning streak is paired with Amala Paul, costarring Santhanam, Sathyaraj and others. The film's music by G.V.Prakash Kumar was launched today in a simple function and even before the release, the promo versions of the song created a huge stir among the internet population of Vijay fans. Here is a brief review of the songs which are sure to top the charts in coming days.
Tamil Rap, techno sounds and a faster version of the beats of "All I wanna say" song of MJ makes up Tamil Pasanga song. The only element that stands out among all these is the dedicated singing of Benny Dayal. His crystal clear rendition of the song hooks us throughout. It is a totaly different version of an introduction song for Vijay and definitely a welcome change. The problem is that the rap is disjoint with the main verses of the song, so appears to be thrust for the want of it.
Yaar indha saalai oram is what G.V.Prakash usually excels in - Slow Melody duet. The very English orchestration of flutes, violins and tap music give the song such a pleasing appeal. This add-ons over the beautiful voices of Saindhavi and G.V.Prakash add so much romance to the song, good enough to melt your heart. Though the orchestration reminds you of couple of Prakash's earlier songs, it suits best for this songs, so there is nothing much to complain.
Vaanganna Vanakkangana sung by Vijay, which happens to be his 25th playback, is the highlight of the album. If you need one single reason to listen to this album, then this is it. Love failure songs in high spirits is not new to Tamil Cinema, but it is Vijay's voice here that makes it very very special. The song has high pitched parts, expressions and modulations almost equivalent to enacting a scene and the need to entertain through singing. And no one could have pulled it off so comfortably but an entertainer like Vijay, who is so much at ease. Till the last second of the song, it is Vijay who lifts the song to an unimaginable height.
Sol Sol is a fast paced melody complete with western and techno beats. Megha and Vijay Prakash do full justice to the song and its mood. You can spot Abhay Jodhpurkar in a short instant in the middle. There is nothing novel about this track as such, but you will grow to like it afterfew repeated hearings.
The violins and flutes of Yaar Indha Saalai Oram return to give an instrumental piece titled The Ecstasy of Dance. While much of it has to be given life by the dance onscreen, we can for the time being immerse in the joy provided by the music which is heavily inspired the works of Vanessa Mae and many western composers.
The album has an energetic finish with Thalaivaa Thalaivaa, a mass number glorifying the image of Vijay.The orchestration though reminds you of Ilayaraja gives you goosebumps as the song progresses. The awesome and excellent feel in the voices of Haricharan and Super Singer fame Pooja takes the song to an extremely different level. This is not just another mass song for glorifying the hero, every line and word of the song means so much about Vijay, his life and the enormous following he has all over. If there is ever to be an anthem for Vijay fans, this should be the one. It has Vijay written all over it with massive love and affection.
The previous films of Vijay with superand blockbuster hit music albums hasdefinitely put a heavy responsibilty on G.V.Prakash. But, there is no need to dispute if he met the expectations set on him, or rather set by him and how he carried out his responsibility.All that matters is that, Thalaivaa on the whole will be an album best suited for the film and it will have a universal acceptance, because there is nothing that you can complain about the album, while at the same time there is nothing you feel out of the world.
If you have time for some good music, some emotions and some fun, Thalaivaa is the best choice this season. It may not be the time to lead previous Vijay albums, but definitely the time to lead this season.
Reviewer : KSR