aavin paal shop mattum illai! ration, maligai, matrum audio kadai ellaam setthuthaan !
i gave you my 'birds eye view' - thats all - plus am not privy to hardcore BO stats, nor do i claim to be a 'thillalangadi' in these matters - namakku andha alavu theatre business parichchayam kidayathu! for instance, i was of the understanding/conviction that 'sivaji the boss' was a BO success never heard of/seen before, until someone close to a chennai theatre owner (who is also close to AVM production house) told me otherwise! i was a bit confused, and then gave up thinking, 'namakku idhellaam puriyaadha vishayam'! yaar solradha namburadhunney puriyala - adhanaal, i am escaaappe
General Reference
http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/1719/bokumudam.jpg
This all time highest collection list itself is nonsense .. Ulagam sutrum Vaaliban , Vasantha MaaLigai appo collect panninathai just Rupee vachu eppadi compare panna mudiyum ?
Probably the profit percentage should be the ideal way to rate the biggies....The smaller films with lesser known actors sometimes do rake in the profits and these should be conveniently ignored...A good example is Subramaniapuram which released two weeks after Dasavathaaram....
I agree it should have been adjusted to inflation. BTW for sure I know Guna was very much profitable movie. Because I remember reading from the paper that it costed only 50 lakhs to that movie with out renumeration to Kamal. He basically got the money from the profit. OTOH Thalapathy costed 3.5 crores and also made decent profit. Runwise thalapathy might have enjoyed better run overall but profit wise no big difference because of much lower cost to Guna.