Page 36 of 406 FirstFirst ... 2634353637384686136 ... LastLast

Thread: Khan Saheb Kamal Haasan's Jamaat/Jeba Koottam/Devasthaanam - Part 8

Quote Originally Posted by SoftSword View Post
    ippo prachinayae adhu illa...
    friends'oda sendhu frequent visits to aavin paal shop??
    aavin paal shop mattum illai! ration, maligai, matrum audio kadai ellaam setthuthaan !
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"
    -Robert Frost

Quote Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
    One last post - amali thumali is a term used by 'fanboys' who you seem to completely detest. You would mainly see fanboys talk about BO / traffic jam etc., the ones who do anything for their star, waste time on unproductive activities and what not. And I found you using those fanboy-only terms funny, that is all to it. I don't doubt the BO success of any of the films you have mentioned, that is not the point - really.

This is just a general karuththu. And our *one-off* personal experiences can't make facts. For e.g. I saw Thenali 2nd day morning show and Maris 70MM was only half-full (Thenali was considered a huge hit) and PKS couple of weeks after its release, again weekend morning show and the theater was housefull. And PKS is considered a moderate hit.
    i gave you my 'birds eye view' - thats all - plus am not privy to hardcore BO stats, nor do i claim to be a 'thillalangadi' in these matters - namakku andha alavu theatre business parichchayam kidayathu! for instance, i was of the understanding/conviction that 'sivaji the boss' was a BO success never heard of/seen before, until someone close to a chennai theatre owner (who is also close to AVM production house) told me otherwise! i was a bit confused, and then gave up thinking, 'namakku idhellaam puriyaadha vishayam'! yaar solradha namburadhunney puriyala - adhanaal, i am escaaappe
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"
    -Robert Frost

General Reference

Senior Member Regular Hubber
    Quote Originally Posted by sakaLAKALAKAlaa Vallavar View Post
    General Reference

Sakala

U missed 7m Arivu. It is a 3rd biggest blockbuster in 80 years of tamil film history.

Quote Originally Posted by Srimannarayanan View Post
    Sakala

U missed 7m Arivu. It is a 3rd biggest blockbuster in 80 years of tamil film history.

Quote Originally Posted by Srimannarayanan View Post
    Sakala

..idhu solratthukkum chance irukku, as 7th sense came 9 months after this report.....

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber tamizharasan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by P_R View Post
    It should have been VHS instead of vcd.

Senior Member Diamond Hubber joe's Avatar
    This all time highest collection list itself is nonsense .. Ulagam sutrum Vaaliban , Vasantha MaaLigai appo collect panninathai just Rupee vachu eppadi compare panna mudiyum ?
    பாசமலருக்கு அழாதவன் மனுஷனாடே ! - சுயம்புலிங்கம்

Probably the profit percentage should be the ideal way to rate the biggies....The smaller films with lesser known actors sometimes do rake in the profits and these should be conveniently ignored...A good example is Subramaniapuram which released two weeks after Dasavathaaram....

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber tamizharasan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by joe View Post
    This all time highest collection list itself is nonsense .. Ulagam sutrum Vaaliban , Vasantha MaaLigai appo collect panninathai just Rupee vachu eppadi compare panna mudiyum ?
    I agree it should have been adjusted to inflation. BTW for sure I know Guna was very much profitable movie. Because I remember reading from the paper that it costed only 50 lakhs to that movie with out renumeration to Kamal. He basically got the money from the profit. OTOH Thalapathy costed 3.5 crores and also made decent profit. Runwise thalapathy might have enjoyed better run overall but profit wise no big difference because of much lower cost to Guna.