http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...cle/85737.html
He further added that the audio released by Sony are sold out in the market. Even before its release, over one lakh CDs were booked in advance.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...cle/85737.html
He further added that the audio released by Sony are sold out in the market. Even before its release, over one lakh CDs were booked in advance.
1st charanam of "Pudikkala maame" - there's some Van Halenesque keyboard work (not a big fan of VH adhu vera vishayam).
Second half IS a RIOT :musicsmile:
aiyyooo pudikkala maamu second half song - beats the first half - peter rock hands down -
Raasa saying 'veedhi pathaadhe' - is apt.... The playful sax has me in spllits...
kichu kichu nemba mootraar yuvar aanar.
Which (the part highlighted in bold) is exactly why I said that. Guitar work neat-nu dhAn sollittEnE. The thing is it doesn't overarch the whole song, organically add to or become the soundscape of the whole piece. The guitar in the first interlude operates more or less isolated, no? I don't think the same can be said of the Mumbai Xpress songs you're referring to. I might be off the mark, of course. #nowlistening
My colleague's comment on my take (usual la Raja-thu first timeae pudickum ji aana ithu appdi nallaruka maari therla) on NEPV album ...HC IR fan. Appo appo avar inga irukaarongaro doubt vera enakku varum. Thought of introducing this forum to him but privacy poirum-nu :noteeth:.
ji - neenga NEP pidikkalai-nu sonnadhu manasu romba novudhu ji... please listen a couple of times.. violin, guitar, flute, sax-nu pottu pinni eduthurukkaru... neenga tappunu nalla illa-nu solliteenga...
jai, dhool, really loved your way of narration. :clap:
Very well said! I have a slightly different take on Mudhal Murai and being non-IR'ish. The best part is he acheived this 'contemporariness' using the real instruments and big orchestra, and not using synth. There lies the biggest difference between him and others. Most young composers think using real instruments are outdated while Maestro clearly giving lessons to them how they are valuable even now and will be forever and they will never be outdated. The outdatedness is in your minds. Only difference I would like to make is he has already achieved this kind of melody and orchestration even with synth in recent Jaganmohini (2009), but it takes NEPV for everyone to take notice of it. Pon maNi thEril, nilavu varum nEram are strong examples of how to be trendy and atypical IR by IR himself.Quote:
Originally Posted by KV
Reg this 'atypical' rAsA...
apdi onnu may not exist, because he had always been an 'envelop pusher' IMVHO :-)
What's possibly 'atypical' about NEPV (that is, strictly w.r.t. recent works of rAsA) is the quality of instrumentalists / instruments used in orchestration, thanks to the spending by Gautam.
Historically, that had been the key USP of rAsA. For e.g., in a yAnai-centric movie, he gave that 'nilavu nEram' (sung by PS, annai Or Alayam) -absolutely no connection to any of his prior works / handled genres etc.
Or, take that more popular 'nAnE nAnA' of AUA. Or, compare the odd 'thOLin mElE bAram illE' with the other songs of the same album.
avaru eppavumE appadiththAn, 'atypical' is 'typical' of him :-)
groucho blog on NEPV
:lol2:Quote:
A very rich, layered, complexly composed album boasting great sound and awesome use of guitars, this album is to be cherished for years and should be sent to space in case for possible Alien invasion, so that they will go back in peace listening to it.
Now floating on Vaanam mella for i dont know how many times... the song has the lata mangeshkar - rafi/hemant kumar/mukesh old world charm accompanied by symphonic splendor... - Salilda would be jumping with joy in heaven!!!
I just listened vaanam mella few times. Wonderful composition, but yEn sir enakku Bela shinde voice and singing sutthamaa pidikkale. It is so thin for my taste. I may go for this one only last. Why can't Raja pair with atleast Sunidhi or Shreya in this masterpiece. May be I have to assume like that when getting into this one. :sad:
The haters repeatedly have an issue with Raaja Saab not being modern enough i.e. melody, instrumentation, sound fx, etc. But after NEPV release, I've read posts by these "haters" stating, the new change in style doesn't suit him. #alwayswinning
I am missing the trademark Tabla patches in this album. Any other ethnic percussion apart from Pudikale Maamu, even if it is subtle? :need to invest in some serious noise isolating in ear headphones:
app,
It was VinodKumar who referred to the drumming in detail first I think. The drummer is superb. Met one Raja fan who had come from Chennai and had tea with him. Walked back home for 1.5kms and all I did was listen to ONLY the drumming in 'mudhal murai' throughout the walk, multiple times. As Vinod had said, they have placed the mike perfectly so you can hear every part of the drum perfectly. This is like an album by Cream or LedZeplin. You can just concentrate on one instrument at a time and you will still be very very happy.
Groucho,
Super. Wonderfully written. I have posted the link on twitter as well. I am sure more 80s Raja fans will start listening to his 90s music. Well, you see I am writing a thread on that and use the traffic :lol:
Man yuvan rocks when he says 'Kaadhal varum munnaale kanneer varum pinnaale Ho ho' and then the slow descent into 'enna solli enna seyya' - the guy gets the feel so right and emotes perfectly. In those places the bass guitar is hyper busy murmurring incessantly - need to change the bass and check that one out...
Once again..
Anbil seidha aayudhangal Pennidaththil EraaLam - muthu - nee periya soththu..
KV, Fair enough perspective to assuage my mild concern on this "neo wave" IR . I will give "Mudhal murai" song a few more listens . As you say , diversity of this album is making it all the more spicier and touching various people and even for the contemporary, Raja would have added his own lethal "sarakku" borne out of his experience and mastery of his art instead of simply aping the "cool" trends
Isn't 'Satru Munbu' a choreographer's dream come true? A slow burning ballet (Natalie Portman from Black Swan, may be?) for this would be a stunning visual accompaniment.
Gokul.
Vaanam mella this whole first half of the day...
Harps Harps and Harps - Raaja has composed some delicate and delectable sections for this beautiful instrument and
probably the first thamizh song with such a delightful harps section - hid Guru (Malayalam) had some soulful harps..
But this totally Detailed and spell binding... true word - no fanboy hype this..
Is it me or is anyone else hearing 'Mounaragam' theme in 'satru munbu' (hidden inside Deva sangeetham from Guru nicely...)
Brilliant as usual Suresh ji! :clap: Nicely brought out the night mood in your writing. Good to know similar type of songs especially S D Burman's chand phir nikla and relating it to adadaa. Adadaa! Thanks for linking my post there. DhanyanaanEn! :D Still I have to read your PengaL Endraal write-up.
Thanks Suresh ji, App and writeface for your comments.
Thanks sakala. Nicely written by BR, seems to have thoroughly enjoyed. On the contrary, happened to read vijayr's comments and could not hide my laugh when he said about Gummudipundi quartet is sufficient for these songs, amazing depth, understanding and insight, and what a love for music and Raja's songs. So much to learn from him. abaaram! :clap:
Satru Munbu is a masterpiece .I am convinced there is no other Indian film song like this before. AS Gokul indicated in the post above its like a slow building Ballet song. But GVM has a real challenge as he frankly admitted in the independence day program, to do justice to this epic composition. Also its refreshing to hear 2 female solos expressing anger/sorrow/pathos unlike the usual male solos which involved indulging in drinks and singing pathos numbers.
vangayya jai, konjam munnadi vanthirukkka koodathaa. Yuvan-aiyum, Na.mu.vaiyum pirichu menchuttaanga
ippathaane kaekkurOm.
accessible words naduvil nalla wordsai marachu vechi veLayandrukkaainga - puriyadha payaluvalukku ennatha solla.
They want sangam words but hummable and innum mela poayee 'danceable' song venumaan - idhukku nadula enna varthai irundhaa aaduvaaingalaam?
vidunga saar.
namma ALukku pudichchiruchchu!
:bluejump::bluejump::bluejump:
So, Shankar likes another IR album after pazhassi rAjA!Quote:
Originally Posted by Shankar, veteran DFer, in BR's blog
Trailer of gundello godari , looks promising
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_2y...eature=related
nice, BR chose to write about one of two stunning female solos from NEPV!:thumbsup:
symphonic :musicsmile:
so far IR's 2 offers to singer Karthik & two female solos are my favorites!
THANKS FOR BRINGING THE BLOG POST HERE!
thanks for GUNDELLO GODARI!
Actor Aadhi in retro 80s telgu set-up with Raja pattu not to mention bilingual!:)
I ended up listening to the version that has been released by Sony.. For people outside US, they should release them as HighRes format so that we need not wait ages for the CD. More observation on "Satru Munbu". The usage of BASS drum is amazing in this song (listen to the bass drum during the verses "vaangi pona enn idhayathin..." in first part after the interlude and similar bass drum being played in the second part after 2nd interlude). Also the effects they have applied during the mastering when the singer sings "Thannan Thani..." and "Thottu Thottu..", you could hear her voice distinctly (gives you the impression that 2 voices singing them separately) on both channels. The attention to such minute details is just amazing and hats off to Raaja and the mastering engineer.... ( I'm thoroughly enjoying it also from the technical aspect). If the YouTube is enjoyable this much, wondering how good the CD version will be. This song should be listened in a good system and in very little ambient lights. It sure would give you the feeling of listening to a live performance.
http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-...-05-09-12.html. Itharku thane kathirinthom ithanai nallaha.:-D
App_engine, not sure why you made that comment earlier. Raja na enakku uyir achche.... *confused*....why that comment about what I posted on BR's blog?
Also forgot to mention the usage of "mini hats" in "Saindhu Saindhu".. Its hard to explain.. but, I will try.. when Frenec strikes the mini hats, he bring down the top hat after a gap (pardon me.. I'm not a drummer). This is unusual and I have never heard this kind of beat before. Its hard to miss it. I think its played every 8th note?