suvai,
enjoy cake weekend.
Printable View
suvai,
enjoy cake weekend.
Friends, just came home from Pournami pooja.
Today is also Pannguni Uthiram.
Selviem, wish your son a very happy birthday.
May the God grant him with all the best in the world.
Give my hugs and kisses to him.
Take care, Kugan98
Kugan...it must be soooo heart warming attending the poojai's.....:-)
selvi.....belated birthday wishes to your son!!! I bet he must have enjoyed all the baking that u have done for him..;-)
kugan ngo.....antha thaali thattula.....irukara items silathu therila...ennaanu konjam solareengaa......( ahaaa.... suvai ipadi kettutu.....recipeyum koodavey ketka poraangnu neenaikareengalaaa)................correctu...corr ectu......:rotfl:
bake cake cake bake nu....jamaichiten iniki........followed the recipe to the T & it turned out well....made one simple cake (kaalai vaari vitichey....athey cake) superrrrrr ah vanthidichi............i also made the carrot cake........adaa adaa adaaa thaaan...ponga......two cakes turned out well......phewwwww!!!!!.....thank u nga kugan...dev...selvi....for the nudge from the back to bake (again)...:noteeth:
u know....when u bake.....antha vaasanaiye thani thaaan.....mmmmmmmm ummmmmmmmmmmm...(noteeth icon pottukonga)
aarthi.......so bday ennaa special ;-)
thanks a lot kugan and suvai. exactly at 12 we cut cake for him, with our friends. he was so happy , all our friends kids gave him cards.
Cake was so delicious. absolutely u r right suvai, baking smell of the cake , is something different.
selvi....angeyum delicious cake...ingeyum delicious cake....aaga motham....cakealicious aaaga pannitom :noteeth:
glad yr son had a good time selvi :-)
suvai,
ithu cakekku varam.
Suvai and Selviem, thanks a lot for your nice post.
Suvai, I am very happy that both the cakes turned out well.
Yes, sometimes the ingredients will play us out.
I did not have problem while baking with eggs before.
Now vegetarian cakes gives me lot of trouble at times.
Singapore visitors just left this evening.
She gave me a simple recipe for toor dal and tomato subji.
Selviem, gald that your son was very happy.
He has a able mom, so nothing to worry.
I am sure all would have enjoyed your cooking.
Post the pictures when you have the time.
Will try your ingredients for sandwich soon.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98
Here is the recipe by the guest.
TOMATO TOOR DAL SUBZI
Ingredients:
3 red tomatoes cut into pieces
3 tbs toor dal cooked
2 green chillies slit into 4 and cut across
¼ tsp turmeric powder
Little asafoetida powder
1 tsp fenugreek seeds roasted and powdered
Little curry leaves
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
2 tsp oil
Salt to taste
Little coriander leaves chopped
Method;
Heat a wok with the oil. add in the mustard and urad dal.
When the mustard seeds splutter, add in the tomatoes,
turmeric powder, asafoetida powder and the curry leaves.
Cook till the tomatoes turn mushy on a low flame.
Add in the fenugreek powder, salt and mix well.
Now add in the cooked toor dal, and let it come to one boil.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5093/...2d625946_z.jpg
Ellor veetilum cake manakkudha!!!...:clap: Selvi, my belated wishes to ur son...:)
K, TOMATO TOOR DAL SUBZI appadiye eduththu saapitukiren naan... ;)
hello nga kugan....tomato subji sounds very simple....i totally like the idea of vendayam powder to be added...kanidpaaa ithu oru sooooper recipaya thaan irukanum ;-)
try pannitu sollaren....thank u!
selvika,thanks for ur wishes.
It went fine selvika.For the whole day we were outside.since it is weekend,my husband spend the full day with me and pranay.
Convey my birthday wishes to ur son selvika.
Just now only i saw the msg.
My best birthday wishes to him.
suvaika,
It went well and very good suvaika.
Morning we went to thriuchendur murugan temple in finch avenue west,but since some consruction works were going on,we were not able to pray properly.
Then by evening we went to Canfroth ,sri durga temple.Amazing temple suvaika.
Ange netru meenakshi thirukalayanam nadanthathu.Actually we didnt expect this,nanga chumma,morning ange kovila nalla kumbida mudithanala,inge ponom,we had a very ncie time suvaika.
full kalyana poojai parthom.romba thirupithiya irunthathu.
ennaku ange irunthappo,canadala irukura feela illa,etho namma oorla oru koilku pona feel thaan.
Lunch we had at saravana bhavan.Planned to go to little india,but went to saravana bhavan.Food ok suvaika.
selvika,waiting for the cake photos.
Post it soon.
kuganka,thanks for the tomato toor dal recipe.
Looks good!
ahaaa aarthi......super ah kondadineengala bday ya.....;-) awesome that u had a good dharshan at the Durga Temple......Durga Devi ...is soooo beautiful in it!...see birthday athuvumaa...Meenakshi Thiru Kalayana paarthathu enakey romba santhoshama iruku...I bet you must have been even more happy!.
Sounds like u had a perfect day aarthi ;-) good for u!
thanks dev and aarthi for ur wishes. i conveyed ur wishes to my son, he was so happy.
tomato subji looks tempting, will try for chapathi tomorrow and give u the feedback kugan.
Yes suvaika,it was a very perfect day for which i longed for so many days.
good to hear that ur son is happ yselvika.Kids facela santhosathai pakkarathe oru thani satisfaction thaan.
Hi All,
Belated birthday wishes to Aarthi, TM and Selviem's son :).
K - how are you keeping? how many more days on the strict diet?
Love to see so many recipes. I'm finding it difficult to keep up with these. Cakes look yumm! I'll be trying out the carrot cake soon :).
Take care dev, suvai-nga and all the KK thread'ers' and welcome to Groucho thamby :). Happy Cooking. Your wife will sure appreciate you! As I apprecaite my husband who loves to cook and try out new recipes :).
Raj-uncle - you are always welcome and I will be the only one who will cook for you :) or maybe Ananthiy will ... hee hee....
Aarthii, I am soo happy for you.
I am very glad that this year was a very memorable birthday for you. May all your future birthdays be like this.
Suvai, thanks for your nice compliments.
Yes, it was a bit of different taste. Thanks.
She has given me another recipe I will post it soon.
Thanks Selviem, your feed back will be very much appreciated.
NM, how are you:pink::pink: So glad to see your post.
I hope you are feeling better.
Well I have another 40 over days to finish my diet.:mrgreen:
The days are moving very slowly.
Take care NM, pop in when you are free.
Rajraj uncle, aunty has told me about your expertise in cooking.
Why uncle, the world's best cooks are men.
So do not feel shy:smokesmirk:
Just kidding, take care uncle, Kugan98
Here is the beans poriyal Something different to try. Kugan98
BEANS PORIYAL WITH PEANUTS
Ingredients:
250 grms French beans, cut into ¾ inch length
1 onion chopped
2 tbs grated coconut
A pinch of turmeric powder
2 pips garlic
3 red chillies
2 tbs roasted ground nuts
Salt to taste
1 tsp oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves.
Method:
Grind together, red chillie, garlic and half of the ground nuts coarsely.
Heat a wok, add in the oil, add in the mustard, urad dal and curry leaves.
Add in the chopped onions and sauté until a bit brown.
Now add in the French beans, salt, and the rest of the ground nuts.
Sprinkle little water , cover and cook till the beans are done.
Now add the ground masala, grated coconut, and turmeric.
Stir fry nicely and remove.
Serve as a side dish.
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5054/...ab8e1d93_z.jpg
My dear friends, I am leaving to Singapore today.
AMMA has come to Singapore. I am going to get her blessings,
and pray for all my friends, and betterment of the world.
I will be back on the 25th. Take care, Kugan98
Have a safe trip, Kugan. That beans looks fantastic!!!
Kugan, ungga tomato subzi and beans poriyal looks very yummy.
Going to cook both this weekend. All your recipes are very super.
I have given so many recipes to my friends. All are very happy with the out come.
Kugan, enjoy your trip to Singapore. Pray for us also.
Rose75
K, i can eat the bowlful of beans poriyal appadiye... avalo nalla irukku paarka...;)
Enjoy ur SG trip... :)
thanks NM for ur wishes.
kugan, made tomato subji today. it was super duper hit. friends pls try that. its goes well with dosa, chapathi and steamed rice.
thanks kugan.
Kugan your tomato subzi turned out very well. You are right Selviem. Every one enjoyed in my house. Good combo for thosai , chapathi or iddli.
I will try your beans poriyal tomorrow. Need not say the picture looks so yummy. Thanks Kugan. Have a safe journey. Pray for us too:-D
Gulabjamun.
Dear K,
Take care and have a safe trip.
Hi guys, haven't been coming here for quite some time. How's everyone? Just noticed the huge amount of recipes posted since the last time I came here. The pictures look really tempting :slurp: How I wish we have the technology as in Charlie & the Chocolate factory- where you can just grab the food from the screen and eat them too :mrgreen:
K sis, the carrot cake and tomato subji look super yummy and easy. I'll try out the carrot cake this weekend and let you know the results :-D Btw, if I need to put the eggs, when and how many do I have to put in the batter?