http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFe4GKyd_R8
Sevanthi - FB
5 Biggest Hit In France All Time :
1. #Endhiran [#Rajinikanth - Dir.#Shankar - #ARRahman]
2. #Sivaji [#Rajinikanth - Dir.#Shankar - #ARRahman]
3. #Thalaivaa [#Vijay - Dir.#Vijay - #GVPrakashKumar] :smokesmirk:
4. #Thuppakki [#Vijay - Dir.#ARMurugadoss - #HarrisJayaraj]
5. #Nanban [#Vijay - Dir.#Shankar - #HarrisJayaraj]
Let me start with the negatives first. Thalaivaa may not be as entertaining as a Thuppakki or Ghilli but it is better than Velayudham or any recent action movies. ALV has borrowed ideas from many gangster movies but while entering the hall, should we not be expecting it, having known his past record? And Thalaivaa, I guess, should be his most racy movie till date.
On the other negatives, the comedy track featuring that old cook was needless and highly irritating. Mistaking rasam as black coffee, upma as curd rice.. ALV, Pls grow up. When Santhanam is able to tickle with his one liners, why do you even want a separate track? Heroine's introduction showing her catching a butterfly..Shabbaa.. And while Vijay is looking best with his underplay, why that sudden 'நாங்க கோயில்லதானே இருக்கோம்.எங்களை காப்பாத்துன சாமி அவரு' dialogue? Also, the Mathunga riot slowed the pace a bit.
On the pluses, as always Vijay. At 39, he looks unbelievably young (except in one frame, I saw a grey hair). The story starts in 1988 and Vishwa is shown as 3,4 year old kid. So he should be around 24,25 now. But no one would question Vijay playing a 25 year old. And his expression while he kills a man for the first time, CLASS!
I was not at all ready to watch Amala Paul sharing the screen with Vijay. But I should admit that she was passable. But the other girl was prettier.
Supporting cast was good too. It may not have extracted the best out of Sathyaraj, but still the role looked good on him. Ponvannan, Santhanam, Suresh and even the sidekicks were good. Villain and his meditation was hilarious though. :)
GVP's bgm was surprisingly good. Songs sounded bad before watching the film. Now the status has gone to worse. However the editor did a good job by retaining only 4 songs.
There were many interesting sequences throughout the second half which enabled it to be better than the first half. The transformation, the aruvaal thatting scene, chasing Nandhu, climax, etc.
I was very satisfied at the end but I had a doubt if it was because of favouritism. Hence I checked with my wife, who is not a fan of anyone in particular, but enjoys good movies.. She said, it was an above average movie but a bit lengthy.
I still don't understand why these people claimed it to be Sura Part 2. :scratchinghead:
Great Review Ajay :)
On the 'Sura Part 2' comment, i see 2 reasons:
1. He/she hasn't watched Sura and only rejoiced when the movie was bashed/mocked by all and sundry
2. He/she hasn't watched Thalaivaa either and as always hopes the movie to be as bad or even-worse than Sura
WEEK 1-2: BOX OFFICE (Minus TN)
THALAIVAA
- Kerala --------------- 5.50
- Karnataka ----------- 4.50
- Andhra Pradesh ----- 6.50
- Rest Of India -------- 2.50
- United Kingdom ----- 2.09
- United States ------- 1.68
- Malaysia ------------ 7.22
- Rest Of World ------- n/a
TOTAL---------29.99
Date
*Data updated, as and when available
+1 ...I understand if someone doesn't like the movie for whatever reason, but I didn't understand the rationale behind comparing it with Sura :idontgetit:.
The positive way to look at it is or a message to these select few is - If Vijay in his current form can make a Sura part 2 collect so much money, imagine the collections if he manages to churn out a Thuppakki part 2 :smokesmirk:
By the way, good review Ajay. I think one thing everyone seems to agree is that Vijay is getting younger and better each day.
Thalaiva darshan after long wait
Aboutrelease of Thalaiva in Tiruchi on Tuesday.
Jubilant Vijay fans celebrated Thalaiva with booming drum beats and dazzling fireworks in the city.
Paalabhishegams and breaking of coconuts heralded the film’s release. Life-size cut outs and huge posters of actor Vijay were seen at the theatres where the film opened to packed houses on Tuesday.
Crowds thronged the theatres to catch the much-awaited film ‘first-day first-show’. In some theatres, screening started as early as 8.a.m. The film released in five theatres in the city – Sona, Meena, Ramba, Cauvery, and Vijay Cinemas.
Apart from the Gilli star, Amala Paul, Sathyaraj and Santhanam form the star cast of the movie written and directed by A.L.Vijay. G.V. Prakash has composed the music and cinematography is by Nirav Shah. The film was originally scheduled to hit screens worldwide on August 9, but was postponed in Tamil Nadu in the wake of bomb threats.
Die-hard fans, who could not wait to watch the film, headed to the neighbouring States of Karnataka and Kerala where the film released on August 9. “There is nothing like watching thalaivar’s film in the home turf with fanfare and fellow fans around ,” said Ramesh, who had travelled all the way to Bangalore to watch the film.
“Thalaiva is Vijay’s first release this year . Like his last movie Thupakki, this film too will be a huge box-office success,” said R.K.Raja, Tiruchi district president, Vijay Makkal Iyakkam. “Vijay’s performance is great. Scenes involving him and Santhanam are hilarious,” he added.
Pudukottai: A procession of fans proceeded from the old bus stand to Shanti theatre amidst drumbeats and fanfare to celebrate the release of Thalaiva in the district on Tuesday.
They performed paalabhishegam, manjal abhishegam, and paneer abhishegam to the banners and posters of the actor at the theatre and sacrificed a goat praying for the good run of the film. Kadiresan, district president of Vijay fans association, tonsured his head to celebrate the occasion.
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper...cle5043590.ece
Thalaivaa - Leading, Like Everytime!
=======================
Thalaivaa - The most awaited film of the year for Vijay fans. The film features Vijay and Amala Paul in the lead roles, Abhimanyu Singh as the main antagonist, and Sathyaraj, Santhanam, Ponvannan and Ragini Nandwani in supporting roles. The film, produced by Chandra Prakash Jain of Shri Mishri Productions, features background score and soundtrack composed by G. V. Prakash Kumar with cinematography by Nirav Shah. The film has released in Tamil Nadu on August 20th after a lot of political games and hurdles, after garnering positive reviews from all other locations where it was released. The film's release was a thriller matching the actual film itself, and has become "the story of a hit film which turns into a blockbuster". Let’s look at things that makes this film special and exciting.
Title to end credits enjoyable
The film takes off slowly, picks up and maintains a steady pace throughout that even though can’t be termed as racy, keeps you glued throughout. Not only the narration
is neat but also the right mix of all commercial elements in a good package is what makes the film entertaining. You cannot think of any scene or song that is unwanted, because everything moves the story forward in one way or the other. The love encounters between Vijay and Amala Paul in first half are a treat while the Quid pro quo sequences between Vijay and the Villain in second half are thrilling. The twists before the interval and climax make a big impact at the right time. A.L.Vijay has done his homework to near perfection this time, and even though it is a different genre from his usual films, he has maintained the essentials along with his own treatment in the right balance.
Heartening moments aplenty
There are lot of high points in the film, which gives you lot of happiness and warms up your heart. First being Vijay's dance in Thamizh Pasanga song. A western and ultra modern intro song of Vijay probably for the first time, it gives a royal feast for anyone who loves Vijay's dance. Not just this song, all songs in the film look fresh and offer a variety to the viewer. Yaar indha Saalai oram will be added to the list of best romantic duets of Vijay. Ecstasy of dance looks stunning onscreen with the visuals. Thalaivaa Thalaivaa song has been picturised with all grandeur required for a mass number. Vanganna Vanakanganna is the typical Vijay song we expect in a film. Guest appearances by G.V.Prakash, Radio Mirchi RJs and Dinesh master in the song are interesting to watch.
G.V.Prakash who gave a rocking album for the film, does a good job with background score too. Contrary to the opinion that his work was disappointing, I felt that he did full justice to the film and has set the tunes to go along with the mood of the scenes. His works in romantic and mass scenes is especially brilliant. There are many moments in the film where you would want to whistle and scream atleast in your heart. The short musical bit "Thaalaelo" played in moments between Vijay and Sathyaraj touches your heart.
There is not much of humour in the film than what is required, since anything over this would have diluted the seriousness of the narration. Santhanam tickles your funny bones in first half, but more than that, the slight thread of fun woven into Vijay-Amala Paul sequences in first half was more enjoyable. Comparatively, there are only a few fun sequences in second half, nevertheless, the story had a serious mood and lot of incidents to be told, so you won't feel like complaining as you are kept engaged without distractions.
Action sequences neatly done
More than the first half second half has lot of action sequences all of which are well done without much exaggerations and unwanted matrix style effects. The climax fight of course had to be over the top to some extent for giving the mass portion a fitting finale, so we cannot complain on that. That one, the fight when Vijay gets a hold of the sword for the first time and the riot sequences are very well choreographed. Same for the short fight outside convention centre with rival dance group in the first half. Stunt Silvaa, who also does a brief appearance, has kept up his name from Velayudham very well.
Lovely camera work throughout
If there is a second hero who comes all along the film more than Vijay, it is Nirav Shah. The ace lensman has put all his talents to best use in contrasting the cool and colourful Australia and the rusty and rugged Mumbai very well to suit the two different moods of the film and the characters. The various landmarks of Sydney like Opera house, Harbor bridge etc have been captured in excellent views in songs and scenes, especially the ones from Vijay's house in the film. Same way, the earthy flavour of Mumbai has also been brought out to suit the theme of the film. The view of Sea Link Bridge from the place where Vijay meets Sathyaraj and the angles used are worth a mention. The distinct camera tones used for the two cities, the night light scenes that come often in the second half, the tonal variation used for flashback scenes everything creates a visually long lasting effect on the viewer.
Amala Paul - great job in a good role
I am not a big fan of Amala Paul but in this movie, she actually gave one of her best performances in a well written role. The changeovers in her character with respect to tender and tough aspects have been brought well by the actress who also does a good job with dubbing in her own voice too. In a mass commercial film, a heroine does not get a better role than this that goes along with the story till the end. Her different makeovers in first and second halves of the film suit her well and she does look cute in songs and most scenes in the first half. And after a long time, she is one heroine who matches well with Vijay in dancing too. The ecstasy of dance shows her hard work in keeping up pace with Vijay in dancing. On the whole, a complete heroine after a long time for a Vijay film.
Individually great supporting cast and crew
One of the strong points of AL Vijay's films is that he extracts the best out of every character and even a special appearance will have an impacting presence in the film. Sathyaraj fits the role of Anna like a tee and portrays the role of a tough leader and emotional father brilliantly. The supporting cast of Ponvannan, Manobala, Suresh and others does their roles to perfection. Ragini Nandwani is a good find and has a short yet solid role in which she leaves a lasting impression. The two henchmen who stay with Vijay in most of the scenes (one among them is Rajeev Pillai) and the guy who plays Vijay's cousin are among others who play their part very well. Nasser and Rekha have very short yet important roles. Abhimanyu Singh plays the main villan against Sathyaraj and then his son Vijay, and has done his role to satisfaction.
AL Vijay definitely has made best use of his team in making this film a product that would earn respect in its every aspect. Art director R.K. Naguraj has done a neat job throughout the film, including the outstanding Dharawi like sets made for shooting. The one thing that could have been done better is the editing work by Antony, especially since the transitions between scenes in few places are not crisp and smooth, but rather saggy or abrupt like in a mega serial. The dialogues are well written and sharp, even the best things are told in short and sweet words, meaningfully.
Vijay's one of lifetime best performance
Vijay had done better roles and performances than this, but this is an assorted collection of all his best works. So it is special in that way as you see his best in everything from dance, romance, comedy timing, sentiments, looks, mass feeling, action - everything in the film to keep it short. I can vouch that as a fan, one can watch this film any number of times for Vijay because of the following reasons:
- Terrific dance movements in the opening song, infact you can't imagine he dances with the same ease as guys almost half his age in the group.
- Handsome looks both as a joyful youngster and determined leader, especially first half reminds so much of Sachein Vijay, his cutest avatar ever for me.
- Awesome expressions in romantic sequences of first half, sentiment and commanding scenes in the second half. The scene when Sathyaraj gets arrested in front of his eyes, he shows shock, anger, pain of betrayal, confusion - all at once. Similarly, the scene when Amala Paul expresses her love to him and the best of the lot "Acchaa, Kidhar?"
- Lovely comedy timing with Santhanam, Sam Anderson and the cook in Amala Paul's house.
- Amazing changeover of body language between Vishwa of first half and Vishwa Bhai of second half.
- Inspiring as in every film to his fans, the problems behind the release of the film will make you love him in this film even more.
- Vijay, the director has made best use of Vijay for his script rather than few directors of the past who depended on Vijay to save their script.
- Amount of struggles and pains faced by Vijay in releasing the film, even worse than Kavalan would make any fan support this film by watching it again and again, it is worth the time spent.
A film for every cinema lover
If you love good cinema, Thalaivaa is definitely a film for you. You forget Vijay's past mass masala films, you come out of Thuppakki hangover - you consider this as the real story that can any day happen in Mumbai even today, you will love the film. The film is not slow or lengthy as many people feel. We have been so much accustomed to the running and zooming cameras of Hari movies and the likes, we have forgotten the means of fast narration. The transformation of an ordinary modern guy who has no damn idea of what his father was doing and how serious were the problems he was fighting against, to a leader who takes up all those on his shoulders and more, cannot be told just like that with a song or few sharp scenes. It is a metamorphosis and has to be shown in its completeness to look authentic. And AL Vijay does in his best possible ways. He is not AR Murugadoss or Shankar to give a film that will better Thuppakki. But, he deserves a pat on his back for giving the perfect follow-up film after Thuppakki.
A final word for haters and evil forces against the film
The film has politically inclined dialogues alright, but no other actor would have faced so much troubles and struggles if he had acted in the film instead of Vijay. You can remove the captions, cut the dialogues or even claim all nonsense reasons for denying tax exemption. At the end of the day, if only these make you triumphant against Vijay, then your insecurity is at heights. You can delay and postpone Vijay's success, but no amount of your influence or power can stop it. I pray that let this be the last time a film and people associated with it suffer in the hands of politicians.
The delay against the film made Vijay haters rejoice and celebrate that doomsday has arrived for Vijay. You, who make your day by writing crap about an actor, who watch films in downloaded prints and pirated dvds and write reviews, who watch a film only to spit your hatred against an actor, who feel happiness in others' troubles and tears, who cannot understand the lifelong brotherhood Vijay has with his fans - if you are still alive in this world and active, a person like Vijay who makes millions happy with his single smile will never have a doomsday. Your opinion and reviews about this film are as unimportant as you in this world - In Vishwa Bhai's style "GET OUT!"
Watched it last night.
Well I'm gonna write honest review and it is up to you how you take it.[coz as per my observation ppl here are very reactive]
Positives
- Vijay
- Cinematography
- Sathyaraj
Negatives
- Rest all
I felt movie is painfully long[realized movie is running close to 3 hours] mainly because there is no tight screenplay...after 1st twist i though movie may pick-up pace but again it slowed.I felt first half could have trimmed.
Expected a good sequence during transformation but again disappointed but should say vijay is showing some serious acting skills there....
Songs except of "Vanganna" all of them is amateurish.
Overall still cannot say movie is bad/worse but defntly not Good.
Verdict: Vijay Fans will enjoy
5 superb movies continuously from Vijay, so happy.
Mass still :smokesmirk:
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-g.ak/h...70206177_n.jpg
Vanganna was one song I didnt like in the initial hearings especially because I thought it was overpromoted (by GVP in his twitter.......), tune was not great, somehow strangely I was getting reminded of Kaasethan kadavulada song even though i dont get any link...... but on subsequent hearings started liking the song very much certainly not because of the tune, but the way Vijay sings it..... the peppiness, the nakkals, naiyyandis etc., one can easily get into the mood of the song...... VJ has delivered whatever is required out of this song without any additional gimmicks........expectations now increased on this song, not sure how it had been picturized on screen... may be even will get disappointed given the way this song has caught my imagination :)
:thumbsup::bow:
http://sphotos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphoto...49471644_n.jpg
padam release aagi 15 days thaane aaguthu (kerala)...
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.n...47876678_n.jpg
Exclusive: #Thalaivaa trimmed by 20 minutes from tomorrow..
The Ad says moving to 25 days... though 10 more days left.. its common in kerala for movies including malayalam to put posters like this.. in TN you have movie ads daily in newspapers.. but in kerala a movie ad comes on paper on release day only and next when it crosses 25 or 50 days.. or may be never after that..so you can see these kind of posters in street..
1 Fight Scene is also included in the movie in the new trimmed version !!
Amala Paul : Vijay was very encouraging while dancing and I have to confess that it was extremely taxing for me. I even sprained my back but we were able to give the best results. Vijay’s dancing is infectious, as he can be so motivating.
Thalaivaa-trimmed-by-20-minutes :victory::2thumbsup:
Thalaivaa has received excellent response despite the fact it was delayed 11 days in Tamil Nadu. The movies duration was 2 hours 56 minutes and it was considered to be lengthier and draggy. Now the makers has decided to trim the film by 20 minutes and there will be a fight included in the film which was not included previously :smokesmirk: as it will be more lengthier. This trimmed version will be screened from August 23rd all over Tamil Nadu.
http://www.kollybuzz.com/home/news/1...-by-20-minutes
correct'tana time la trim panni irukanga , so weekends la innum padam pattaya kelapum Thalaivaa :thumbsup: Time to watch again :cheer:
AndhraBoxOffice.Com @AndhraBoxOffice
#Thalaivaa theatrically successful one for Kerala/Karnataka but not in AP.
#Thalaivaa / #Anna 3rd Week in Karnataka in 20+ screens
Any review for trimmed version ..........?
Namma star live with director A.L.Vijay today at 7 p.m only on sunmusic ! Thalaivaa Spl :)
Thalaivaa first two days opening collection report in Tamil Nadu
With Thalaivaa into the 4th day of its run in the state, we decided to find out the response to the movie across TN, over the first 2 days. The producers of the movie, Sri Mishri Production, are happy with the response and though they admit that some of the smaller centres have experienced a dip in collections, the bigger theatres are still running close to full. On an average, they are expecting occupancies around the 90% mark till the end of the weekend in Chennai City.
Chennai : In Chennai City, we observed that the bigger theatres such as Sathyam are reporting good occupancies while occupancies at some of the other multiplexes have dipped after the first day, as it’s the middle of the week. Some of the multiplex proprietors in the City believe that despite the release of Desingu Raja on Friday, Thalaivaa is expected to report good figures this weekend. The gross collections in the first two days in Chennai are estimated to be around 1.68 crores.
Coimbatore : The distributor for the Coimbatore, Tirupur, Nilgiri and Erode districts, Mr. Velmurugan of Vel Films said “I released the movie in 75 screens in these 4 districts and the response over the first 2 days has been impressive and the 2 days gross has crossed 90 lakhs” When we contacted our correspondent in Coimbatore he said “The 10 days’ delay in the release and the burgeoning number of pirated copies have affected the collections. Also, the fact that the film was released bang in the middle of a working week has also not helped. But, exhibitors are optimistic about good weekend collections. Also since Kerala is closer to Coimbatore, hardcore Vijay fans have already seen the movie by crossing the border”
Trichy: In Trichy district, Thalaivaa has been released in 34 screens by G Films’ Shiva, and the first 2 days gross is close to 80 lakhs.
Salem: In Salem district, from 56 screens, Thalaivaa has grossed around 70 lakhs. Salem’s Vijay Rasigar Mandram Head, Thamizhan Parthiban has released the movie in this district. In both the above mentioned districts, the 1st day was full, followed by a lull on the 2nd day. Both the distributors are expecting a promising weekend.
Kanchipuram : In Kanchipuram, Thalaivaa has been released in 4 screens – Aruna, Babu, Karthikeyan and Balaji, and the collection after the first 2 days is close to 5 lakhs. Trade pundits feel that the response here has been average with occupancies around the 50% mark. The official numbers of Thalaivaa’s box-office gross are expected to be out in a couple of days and we will keep you posted.