Page 4 of 177 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast

Thread: Tamil Cinema Box Office

Senior Member Diamond Hubber VinodKumar's's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bill4u View Post
    Cedy, dont remember what I posted. Thuppakki downgraded because of what ? Kanchana2 and I ? For someone to prove otherwise, we need an exhaustive list from several sources to prove our claim! Just one or two links may not suffice. When I had to prove VR's box office, I posted about 7-8 links with numbers varying from 220-245 crs .. Its not straight forward if two movies are close to each other.
    Boss, Then Thuppaki collection was mentioned as 180cr but now its mentioned as 125cr. same link. We are saying that wikipedia can be edited with whatever references suit your needs.

Thats what thread starter has also done. He posted the list which fulfils his wish. So Cedy posted a list for us.
    Last edited by VinodKumar's; 16th June 2015 at 09:04 PM.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber CEDYBLUE's Avatar
    Cedy, dont remember what I posted. Thuppakki downgraded because of what ? Kanchana2 and I ? For someone to prove otherwise, we need an exhaustive list from several sources to prove our claim! Just one or two links may not suffice. When I had to prove VR's box office, I posted about 7-8 links with numbers varying from 220-245 crs .. Its not straight forward if two movies are close to each other.
    Billu Ji,

Here is a link to your post

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthrea...34#post1205534

The same wiki link.

How can Thuppakki downgrade from 187 crore in the same link you provided and now to 125 crore in the same link after a few months?

The link has been edited and references have been considered on convenience.

Lot's of media report a lot of numbers. For some movies, the highest figure and for some movies, the lowest figure is considered in that wiki page.

Convenience based table and purely based on the whim's and fancies of the individual who maintains the page.
    Last edited by CEDYBLUE; 16th June 2015 at 09:39 PM.
    In admiration of Mr. Evergreen Young, Mr. Box Office, Mr. Dance, Mr. MASS - | Ilayathalapathy VIJAY |

Senior Member Diamond Hubber PARAMASHIVAN's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by VinodKumar's View Post
    Mass will come in the list when it completes it run. I have heard all three versions (Tamil, Telugu and English) are running well.
    Anglo Saxons will watch this ?
    Om Namaste astu Bhagavan Vishveshvaraya Mahadevaya Triambakaya Tripurantakaya Trikalagni kalaya kalagnirudraya Neelakanthaya Mrutyunjayaya Sarveshvaraya Sadashivaya Shriman Mahadevaya Namah Om Namah Shivaye Om Om Namah Shivaye Om Om Namah Shivaye

Senior Member Veteran Hubber CEDYBLUE's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dammy R View Post
    As someone said earlier, anyone with an account can make a list to suit their needs in Wikipedia these days.

Having said that, here is another list which is directly from IMDb which is mostly used by all movie lovers to check for movie ratings etc. Again, I am not saying that this is also 100% genuine or to prove anything but just wanted to share another perspective. You will find many such examples all over the internet. Rentrak was being used to track overseas collections so that list am sure is genuine and has been shared in the previous box office thread. It is only the TN collections which no one knows the truth about. Few websites do track box office numbers but again, they can always be questioned depending on what side you are on.

Top Grossing Tamil Movies of all time

No. Movie Name
    1 Enthiran
    2 Ai
    3 Kaththi
    4 Thuppaki
    5 Vishwaroopam
    6 Lingaa
    7 Singam 2
    8 Sivaji
    9 Aarambam
    10 Kanchana 2

Source : IMDb
    Link : http://www.imdb.com/list/ls050231721/
    We don't have the luxury to post this in the first page of the thread, don't we?

Wiki is now the toast of the town
    In admiration of Mr. Evergreen Young, Mr. Box Office, Mr. Dance, Mr. MASS - | Ilayathalapathy VIJAY |

Senior Member Diamond Hubber ajaybaskar's Avatar
    English version of Masss? Idhu eppo?
    I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.

- Bernard Shaw

Dammy ..

couple of things. The site you quoted has no other references other than their own making their case a little weak. Just check the references and links provided by wiki from independent sources ...

Moreover no offense but Kaththi and Thuppakki did not gross more than VR which was in excess of 220c.

Senior Member Diamond Hubber VinodKumar's's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PARAMASHIVAN View Post
    Anglo Saxons will watch this ?
    No report on that dude.

Quote Originally Posted by ajaybaskar View Post
    English version of Masss? Idhu eppo?
    http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthrea...=1#post1231866

Ok guys understand. Need some time to dig up Thuppakki details ... 180 to 120 is not really that accurate

Senior Member Diamond Hubber ajaybaskar's Avatar
    Ok guys understand. Need some time to dig up Thuppakki details ... 180 to 120 is not really that accurate
    Eros International announced the release of financial results for the quarter ending 31st December, 2012. As per the announcement made by Eros, Thuppakki made a total box office collection of Rs. 180 crore (domestic) to become the fourth film to join the 100 crore club in Tamil films.

http://content.icicidirect.com/maili...ntl_Q3FY13.pdf

Certainly a better source than wikipedia or fanboy owned sites
    Last edited by ajaybaskar; 16th June 2015 at 09:22 PM.
    I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.

- Bernard Shaw

Junior Member Senior Hubber Dammy R's Avatar
    Dammy ..

couple of things. The site you quoted has no other references other than their own making their case a little weak. Just check the references and links provided by wiki from independent sources ...

Moreover no offense but Kaththi and Thuppakki did not gross more than VR which was in excess of 220c.
    Bill4u... They do reference "indianmoviestats.com" in those ratings and rankings. Not arguing here but even the links provided in Wikipedia are independent sources and we don't know where they get their information from.
    This is an endless discussion because there is no transparency as far as box office numbers are considered for Tamil movies.. within India.

Personally, I think the best way to judge or gauge is how a particular star movie is treated by trade during his next release...i.e. area wise distribution rights, TV rights, or any other pre-release business factors. I mean the speed at which a movie business gets done prior to release and not the amounts paid etc..cos that again is questionable.
    Last edited by Dammy R; 16th June 2015 at 09:41 PM.
    Haters are just confused admirers. Instead of talking about people they claim to admire, they will read, write, know and talk more about people they claim to hate.

Page 4 of 177 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast