20th May 2009, 07:04 PM

Prabhu Ram

i still hold that respect for Rajdeep, Pranoy roy and
Arnab Goswami 
The single most irritating person on TV.

Particularly his 'debates' are hilarious and annoying simultaneously. He usually has a strong viewpoint and harass those in the panel who disagree. BJP will contribute to the fun by sending choice specimens like B.P.Singhal to represent them in the panel

Sema comedian avan...he takes sides and argues with the people.
adhumattum illa...avana paathale aravekaadu maadhiri theriyudhu.dono why
and then burka dutt ....
rajdeep sardesai and pranai rai i feel better - may be due to the age factor...matured people apdingra effecto ennamo
20th May 2009 07:04 PM
20th May 2009, 10:16 PM
Thanks for this and the other posts Sir!
And fair enough....

podalangai

7. Yes, i also wonder why the Arundhatis dont talk about Kashmiri Pundits.
They do talk about Kashmiri Pundits. If they seem not to, it's because they don't think the Pundits' plight has any bearing on the question of whether Kashmiris have a right to "azadi". Here's a quote from Roy's Outlook article:

Arundhati Roy
Those who wish to turn to the Quran for guidance will no doubt find guidance there. But what of those who do not wish to do that, or for whom the Quran does not make place? Do the Hindus of Jammu and other minorities also have the right to self-determination? Will the hundreds of thousands of Kashmiri Pandits living in exile, many of them in terrible poverty, have the right to return? Will they be paid reparations for the terrible losses they have suffered? Or will a free Kashmir do to its minorities what India has done to Kashmiris for 61 years? What will happen to homosexuals and adulterers and blasphemers? What of thieves and lafangas and writers who do not agree with the "complete social and moral code"?
(...)
However, none of these fears of what the future holds can justify the continued military occupation of a nation and a people. No more than the old colonial argument about how the natives were not ready for freedom justified the colonial project.
i.e., what's happened to the Kashmiri pundits is bad, and it is is one of the questions an independent Kashmir will have to resolve. But it cannot be an excuse to hold on to Kashmir.
Incidentally, the impression I get is that she believes Jagmohan is equally responsible for the exodus of Kashmiri Pundits, I'll have to search for where she said that and why.
20th May 2009, 10:19 PM
Good point Sir.
Like i said, terrorism is not the only issue and the apathy towards that is not the only apathy we need to contend with. This is not to make light of the monster threat posed by it or the possible implications of leaving the problem unchecked.

podalangai

Prabhu Ram
Of course it was one in a string of intelligence failures. Similarly the train blasts in June 2005 in Mumbai, two blasts in Hyderabad in the space of a few months in 2007 add to that Guwhati, Bangalore etc. And we elect back the same government. So whose is the apathy ? It is very much the public which doesn't seem to care.
My impression is that the middle class upwards tend to be a lot more concerned about security from terrorism, perhaps because we're secure in many other respects. Other people get angry about it when it happens, but it simply isn't as significant or game-changing an issue for them, perhaps because their life is insecure in so many other ways or perhaps because their concerns are simply different.
Around 175 were killed in the attacks on Mumbai last year. More than twice that number die every month falling off local trains in Mumbai. This isn't an analogy I've pulled out of my hat, it's one I heard several times from locals after the 2006 train bombings when 200+ died. ("Train pe bomb futke mar sakte hai to train se girke bhi mar sakte hai. Ispe tension leke kya fayda?")
20th May 2009, 10:26 PM

i'm a big fan of TOI and read it for timepass only :P i look up to CNN-IBN, NDTV and Times now for real news and opinions......i dont know, i still hold that respect for Rajdeep, Pranoy roy and Arnab Goswami

Adhu seri! Mahavishnu is far better. And idhellam "news" channel nu yaar unga kitta sonna?
Arnab, Rajdeep!!!!!!!!!!! First ivanga rendu perayum seat la ozhunga appappa endhirikkaama ukkara sollunga pappom...
20th May 2009, 10:52 PM
Senior Hubber
For what it is worth..

Prabhu Ram
Why are we pussyfooting when we 'know' camps exist in Pakistan ?
Is it only the nuclear threat or somthing more ? India-US getting involved in Pak will get all the sovereignty-defendants and anti-imperialists worked up. But what is the probability that Pakistan will do anything on its own. Very low.
We don't have the means to launch surgical strikes. Even our 'Cold Start' strategy developed after the almost embarrassing time taken to gather forces on the western front after the attack on parliament is not entirely practical and could very soon lead to an all out confrontation. We wouldn't want that for two reaons apart from the obvious nuclear dimension: we cannot risk the loss of progress in our economy and there is sufficient pressure on us not to enrage Pakistan when they are fighting US's war.

Prabhu Ram
I am glad that they are finally giving the Taliban the attention they deserve.
As for Taliban, the ones they are fighting is not necessarily the same that fled US bombardment in Afghanistan. This was homegrown, the threat they posed was very real in terms of safety to nuclear installations and growing power even in places like Karachi (with increasing Pashtun population) and they had to be taken out, with or without US pressure. I wouldn't find anything to be glad about it. Not when Punjabi groups like LeT are still let a free run.
"Why do we need filmmaking equipment?"
"Because, Marcel, my sweet, we're going to make a film. Just for the Nazis."
20th May 2009, 10:54 PM
PR nicely diverted the whole topic to a different port!!
Intelligence failure in mumbai is not so credible.
Amazing - the intelligence apparatus works incredibly to the delight of pointing out LTTE hideouts in SL to SL govt. The same intelligent apparatus and coast guard work like clock work to cordon off Thamizh nadu coast. As if LTTE is the biggest national threat. Whereas they are sleeping in the border with pakis - how believable is this? The point i am trying to highlight is the political will. If Sonia and Manmohan wish and apply their will, Intelligent apparatus, Coast guard, Indian defence everything will work fine - the problem is they worry more about helping SL govt to finishing off Eelam tamils than protect mumbaikars from Ajmals and kajmals. This is fact - better PR and C_F understand it. If they are pussyfooting on something, then there is pure political gain in doing so - All this hard posturing is perceivably against some vote bank in some part - I wonder what part is that in India. Whereas wiping out LTTE even with 50K people collateral damage is a easy one as the Tamil voters and pan indian political reading on this matter has been polarised cleverly. May 21 ai saakka vechu enna venumnaalum pannalaam, adikku adi ngara logic vechu prabhakaram nyaayam pesa koodadhu. Idhu dhaan logic sodhappal - false patriotism fuelled misinformation appadinnu naan solven.
Apparently, a democracy is a place where numerous elections are held at great cost without issues and with interchangeable candidates.
- Gore Vidal
21st May 2009, 10:26 AM
Platinum Hubber

kannannn
We don't have the means to launch surgical strikes. Even our 'Cold Start' strategy developed after the almost embarrassing time taken to gather forces on the western front after the attack on parliament is not entirely practical and could very soon lead to an all out confrontation.
Oho.

kannannn
and there is sufficient pressure on us not to enrage Pakistan when they are fighting US's war.
Hmm... are they doing enough is the question.

Prabhu Ram
As for Taliban, the ones they are fighting is not necessarily the same that fled US bombardment in Afghanistan. This was homegrown, the threat they posed was very real in terms of safety to nuclear installations and growing power even in places like Karachi (with increasing Pashtun population) and they had to be taken out, with or without US pressure. I wouldn't find anything to be glad about it.
I read (in The Dawn) that in places as close as 100 miles from Islamabad, Pak army units were laying down arms and that the Pakistan flag was lowered and Taliban flag hoisted instead. This was several months ago and was pretty scary. Thus I am glad that Pakistan is finally finally tackling the issue.

kannannn
Not when Punjabi groups like LeT are still let a free run.
Which is what I meant by Pakistan not doing enough.
மூவா? முதல்வா! இனியெம்மைச் சோரேலே
21st May 2009, 10:38 AM
Platinum Hubber

Hey ! Didn't mean to get of SL. But I found that India cares more about LTTE's extermination than being vulnerable to Jihadi attacks quite incredible.

Whereas they are sleeping in the border with pakis - how believable is this?
It is not believable. That is the issue. I assume there will also - note: ALSO - be significant differences in the logistic challenges.
[quoteV]If Sonia and Manmohan wish and apply their will, Intelligent apparatus, Coast guard, Indian defence everything will work fine - the problem is they worry more about helping SL govt to finishing off Eelam tamils than protect mumbaikars from Ajmals and kajmals. [/quote] See, I do not deny Sonia's revenge motive theory. But to say that they can either eliminate the LTTE or fight the Jehadis but not both is quite simplistic.

This is fact - better PR and C_F understand it. If they are pussyfooting on something, then there is pure political gain in doing so
The political gains are not that obvious to me. As Kannan mentioned there are some reasons why their limitations to how aggressive India can be in Pakistan. Similarly podalangai mentioned the limitations in our capability to combat the insurgent outfits in the North East. Those things I understand.
மூவா? முதல்வா! இனியெம்மைச் சோரேலே
21st May 2009, 10:54 AM

Prabhu Ram

Hey ! Didn't mean to get of SL. But I found that India cares more about LTTE's extermination than being vulnerable to Jihadi attacks quite incredible.

Whereas they are sleeping in the border with pakis - how believable is this?
It is not believable. That is the issue. I assume there will also - note: ALSO - be significant differences in the logistic challenges.
[quoteV]If Sonia and Manmohan wish and apply their will, Intelligent apparatus, Coast guard, Indian defence everything will work fine - the problem is they worry more about helping SL govt to finishing off Eelam tamils than protect mumbaikars from Ajmals and kajmals.
See, I do not deny Sonia's revenge motive theory. But to say that they can either eliminate the LTTE or fight the Jehadis but not both is quite simplistic.

This is fact - better PR and C_F understand it. If they are pussyfooting on something, then there is pure political gain in doing so
The political gains are not that obvious to me. As Kannan mentioned there are some reasons why their limitations to how aggressive India can be in Pakistan. Similarly podalangai mentioned the limitations in our capability to combat the insurgent outfits in the North East. Those things I understand.[/quote]
What is so very incredible about this?
An organisation that works so efficiently to pin point and assist SL govt, is sleeping at the Paki and Bangladeshi gates not once or twice, but counting from the second Mumbai blast to Delhi blast to the recent one and the ones to follow all under the current regime of Manmohana and Sonia. If it can work efficiently in a foreign country in a setting so alien, then working in Pakistan and Bangladesh must be a piece of cake with the 'blending in' so easy to achieve. They are not ordered to that effect by political masters - As simple as it is - there is no need to be suspicious about this because it is politics.
Pachchaya solla pona, hard steps towards tracking and crushing panna pona idiotic parties like Left , SP and other mindless udhiris will raise hue and cry painting tough measures against ISI sponsored terrorism as 'anti minority' policy. This is the electoral fear that is preventing Congress govt to pussy foot. However Manmohan sonia group will not worry a little bit when they have to ask RAW to 'help' SLA to give location of School or Hospital that has to be bombed. As the article in rediff said - blood is on the hands of India - it is innocent blood - not that of prabhakaran and LTTE - they had anyways made their appointment with death since the days of cyanide - but that of the people who were in NE. This will prove costly not today or tomorrow - but some other day - Fortunately or unfortunately the sinners of today will not be in the top post then.
However varisu arasiyal is giving me hopes that atleast someone from their family will be there when the comeuppance comes calling.
Apparently, a democracy is a place where numerous elections are held at great cost without issues and with interchangeable candidates.
- Gore Vidal
22nd May 2009, 11:56 AM
இறுதி யுத்தத்தில் நடந்தது என்ன - அருட்தந்தை ஜெகத் கஸ்பார்.
http://www.paristamil.com/tamilnews/?p=10356
பாசமலருக்கு அழாதவன் மனுஷனாடே ! - சுயம்புலிங்கம்